(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Colonial and revolutionary families of Pennsylvania; genealogical and personal memoirs"

974.8 
C71J 
v.l 
1317989 



GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



/ 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 02143 8152 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 
in 2013 



http://archive.org/details/colonialrevolutiOOjord 










Jviu,M. '£, 



tz(aa+/ 



Colonial a nd Revolutionary 
Families of Pen nsylvania 






(Sweatogital anfo persona:! Hlmtnirs 



EDITOR 

JOHN W. JORDAN, LL.D. 

Historical Society of Pennsylvania 

Ex-General Registrar of Sons of the Revolution 

and Registrar of Pennsylvania Society 



VOLUME I 



^ 



New York Chicago 

THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 



Go i 9 i i 

T71t 



Copyright 

The Lewis Publishing Company 

191 i 



1317989 



THE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF PENNSYLVANIA. 



1300 Locust Street, 



Philadelphia, .j22^% ...1901. 





r AST* 




fa^ ^-y/^w; 



■$ (jL^C/UC^ C/ /i-&^*+ — *rO ' 



'Ct4 ^V^C <?Y~ fan) ^^f-^t^^yy^'J ^/^C^f 

cj <qjuuuj ^v-w^ tr~£^ «^W-, <ZVCw^ *c^a 









TABLE ON WHICH THE DECLARATION OF 
INDEPENDENCE WAS SIGNED. 




LIBERTY BELL. 






INTRODUCTORY 

The present work, "Colonial and Revolutionary Families of Pennsylvania," 
presents in the aggregate an amount of genealogical and personal information 
unequalled by any kindred publication. Indeed, no similar work concerning 
Pennsylvania families has ever been presented. 

Numerous voluminous histories of Pennsylvania have presented in fullness 
the political, social and material conditions, from the earliest times. In this 
work are contained chronicles of the people who have made Pennsylvania what 
it is. These records are presented in a series of independent genealogical and 
personal narratives relating to lineal family heads, and the most conspicuous 
representatives down to the present generation, thus giving it a distinct personal 
interest. These ends have been conscientiously and faithfully conserved 
through the assistance of those who have long pursued genealogical studies 
with intelligence and enthusiasm, with John W. Jordan, LL.D., as supervising 
editor. Much assistance was rendered by Mrs. Charles Custis Harrison, Miss 
Leach, Oliver Hough, Warren S. Ely, and others. 

THE PUBLISHERS. 




Arms of Perm 



Colonial Families 



PENN FAMILY 



Though everything relating to the life and works of William Penn, is, and 
always will be of intense interest to the people of the great Commonwealth and 
city which he founded, it is of course impossible, in a work devoted especially to 
the history of such Colonial families as have living descendants still resident 
in or near his city, to give anything like an adequate account of the Great Founder 
and his part in the founding of the Colony of Pennsylvania on the bed rock 
of personal liberty in the matter of conscience. Volumes have already been 
devoted to that purpose, and the many phases of his life, character, aims and 
attainments, and their influence in, and bearing on the founding and development 
of the institutions of a free and enlightened people, will prove a fruitful and 
interesting theme for future historians, so long as such institutions survive. It 
will be our purpose, therefore, after giving such account of the origin and ances- 
try of the family as is known, to devote our attention more especially to that 
branch of the family who have living descendants in America. 

The family of Penn was doubtless originally Welsh ; the name itself is dis- 
tinctly of Welsh origin, and a word in common use in that language, signifying 
a head, or highland. Penn himself is said to have stated that he was of Welsh 
origin, and that one of his ancestors had come from Wales into England. This 
ancestor, John Tudor, "lived upon the top of a hill or mountain in Wales" ; and 
was generally called John Penmunrith, or "John on the top of a hill," hence 
ultimately John Penn. The arms borne by William Penn the Founder ; Argent 
on a fesse sable three plates, are according to an old manuscript prepared by a 
member of the Penn family of Worcestershire, those of "the main stem of the 
family". This manuscript continues: "As for our beginning I own it to pro- 
ceed from the Britons, our estates lying amongst them, and in the Marches of 
the same, which anciently belonged to the Penn-House, before that it was divided 
and scattered by many branches into several counties." 

These arms were likewise borne by the Penns of Penn in Bucks, and by the 
Penne family of Shropshire, on the border of Wales, as shown, in the case of 
the former, in the Herald's Visitation of Bucks, 1575-1634: and in that of the 
latter, the Visitation of Shropshire, 1564-1620. The pedigree of the Shropshire 
family extending over fifteen generations given in the Herald's manuscript, 
begins with Sir William Penne, Knight Lord of Bryn, who married Joan, daugh- 
ter of Ririd Voel, of Lodfoll, and "bristles with Welsh names" throughout, the 
whole record being thoroughly Welsh. 

The Penns of Penn, county of Bucks, before referred to, had also among 
their family several distinctly Welsh names. It is from this family that William 
Penn the Founder descended, as shown by the inscription on the tomb of his 



2 PENN 

father, Admiral Sir William Perm, "of the Perms of Perm-Lodge, county of 
Wilts, and those Penns of Penn in the county of Bucks." Granville Penn, in 
his "Memorials" of the Admiral, says, "Relation of kindred was always mutually 
claimed and acknowledged between the family of Sir William Penn and the 
Penns of Penn in Bucks, now represented by Earl Howe ; but the genealogical 
connection does not appear of record." This is, of course, owing to the fact that 
the records of Mintye, the home of the immediate ancestors of the Founder, do 
not commence until after the Restoration. 

We must therefore begin the known ancestry of William Penn, with his great- 
great-grandfather, William Penn, of Mintye and Penn's Lodge, county of Wilts. 
Little is known of his life, but to quote from an old letter, "He lived in a genteel 
ancient House", viz : Penn's Lodge, and was of enough consequence to be buried 
before the altar of the church at Mintye, and there is a tablet to his memory in 
the same church. He died March 12, 1591-2, and his will, proved in 1592, is 
recorded in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury. It has been printed in full in 
the Pennsylvania Magazine, vol. xiv, p. 58. The parish of Mintye, though politi- 
cally in the county of Gloucester, was completely environed by Wiltshire, Penn's 
Lodge, was near Mintye, on the edge of Braden Forest, and a letter written by 
John Georges, M. P., to Sir William Penn, under date of January 27, 1665-6, 
urges the Admiral to purchase the ancestral lands at Mintye, "which were your 
ancestors, the Penns, for many generations, worth about £100 per annum, with 
a genteel ancient house upon it." The will of William Penn, of Penn's Lodge, 
dated May 1, 1590, shows that his son William was deceased at that date, and 
was survived by his wife Margaret and six children; George, Giles, William, 
Marie, Sara and Susanna. 

William Penn, the second, of Penn's Lodge, as shown by the letter of John 
Georges, above quoted, was placed by his father with Christopher Georges, a 
gieat-uncle of the writer of the letter, then a counsellor-at-law, "to be bred up by 
him, and with whom he lived many years as his chief clerk, till he married him 
to one of his sister Ann Georges's daughters by Mr. John Rastall, then one of the 
aldermen of Gloucester." As shown by the will of his father, he died prior to 
May 1, 1590. 

Of the six children of William and Margaret (Rastall) Penn, we have 
but little data, further than what pertains to Giles, the second son, and father 
of Admiral Sir William Penn. George, the eldest son, succeeded to the estates of 
his grandfather, at Mintye, and had a son William; and Susanna, the youngest 
child, is said to have married Richard Cusse, of Wooton Basset, in Wilts, in 
1633, though the record of that marriage in the diocesan office at Salisbury may 
refer to a daughter of George. 

Giles Penn, second son of William and Margaret (Rastall) Penn, married 
November 5, 1600, Joan Gilbert, of the Gilberts, of York. He became a captain 
in the Royal Navy, and afterwards was for many years a consul for the English 
trade in the Mediterranean, to which position he was appointed about 1635. He 
desired a commission as Vice-Admiral to lead an expedition against the corsairs 
of Morocco who were preying on the English trade vessels, but the impending 
civil war prevented his appointment. Capt. Giles and Joan (Gilbert) Penn, are 
known to have had at least four children: two sons; George, born 1601, died 1664, 
and the Admiral ; and two daughters : Rachel, baptized at St. Mary, Radcliffe, 



PENN 3 

February 24, 1607, and Eleanor, who died November 24, 1612. There must have 
been at least another daughter, as Admiral Penn, in his will mentions his "nephews 
James and John Bradshaw and William and George Markham," of whom Wil- 
liam Markham, first cousin to the Founder, was for many years his Lieutenant 
Governor of Pennsylvania. It is of course possible that Rachel Penn, above men- 
tioned, may have been twice married, and have been the mother of all the 
"nephews" above named. 

George Penn, eldest son of Giles and Joan, born 1601, was brought up to 
"Commerce", and Granville Penn tells us, "became an opulent merchant, in 
Spain." He resided many years in Seville, and having grown rich and being a 
Protestant, was pounced upon by the Spanish Inquisition in 1643 as a heretic, 
despoiled of all his estate, cast into prison, where for years he was subjected 
to torture and flagellation, and finally placed upon the rack for four days, until 
in his agonies he renounced the Protestant faith, whereupon he was taken through 
the streets of Seville to a church where his confession and sentence was pro- 
claimed "in the sight of thousands." His property was confiscated ; his wife, a 
Flemish woman, was divorced from him and ordered to marry a Spaniard, and 
he himself was expelled from Spain and told that if he either renounced the 
Romish faith or returned to Spain he would be burned at the stake. On his 
return to England he petitioned Cromwell, then Protector, for redress against the 
Kingdom of Spain for his wrongs. After the Restoration, Charles II. appointed 
him envoy to reside at the Court of the King of Spain in order to get satisfaction 
for his "sufferings, loss and damage", but he was prevented from going by his 
sudden death on July 31, 1664. 

Admiral Sir William Penn, father of the Founder, was probably the 
youngest of the children of Capt. Giles and Joan (Gilbert) Penn, having been 
born at Bristol, England, in 1621, (twenty years after the birth of his brother 
George), and was baptized in the Church of St. Thomas the Apostle, April 23, 
1 62 1. He was educated by his father "with great care, under his own eye, for 
the sea service ; causing him to be well grounded in all its branches practical and 
scientific, as is shown by sundry elementary and tabular documents, nautical 
journals, draughts of lands, observations and calculations, which still survive." 
He served with his father as a boy "in various mercantile voyages to the north- 
ern seas and to the Mediterranean, became a lieutenant in the Royal Navy, and 
thenceforward passed the whole of his active life in that service" under the 
Parliament, the Protector, and Charles II. after the Restoration, his services 
in the latter behalf being the foundation of the claim of his distinguished son the 
consummation of which was the grant to him of the Province of Pennsylvania. 
He became a captain in 1644 an d admiral in 1655, under Cromwell, for the expe- 
dition against Spanish America. His life can best be summed up in his epitaph 
over his tomb in Saint Mary's Church, Radcliffe, Bristol, which is as follows: 

"To the just Memory of S r Will m Penn.Kt. and sometime 
General: born at Bristol, An. 1621 : Son of Captain Giles Penn, 
severall yeares Consul for y e English in y e Meditteranean ; 
of the Penns of Penns Lodge in ye County of Wilts, 
And those Penns of Penn in y e C. of Bucks; and by his 
Mother from the Gilberts of ye County of Somerset, 
Originally from Yorkshire; Addicted from his 
Youth to Maritime Affairs ; he was made Captain at 
the yeares of 21 ; Rear-Admiral of Ireland at 23 ; 



4 PENN 

Vice-Admiral of Ireland at 25 ; Admiral of the Streights 

at 29 ; Vice-Admiral of England at 31, and General 

in the first Dutch Warres, at 32. Whence retiring 

in Ano. 1655 he was chosen a Parliament man for the 

Town of Weymouth, 1660; made Commissioner of 

the Admiralty and Navy; Governor of the Town and Fort 

of King-sail ; Vice-Admiral of Munster, and a Member of 

that Provincial Counseill ; and in Anno 1664, was 

chosen Great Captain Commander under his 

Royal Highnesse in y e Signall and most 

evidently successful fight against the Dutch Fleet. 

Thus, He took leave of the Sea, his old Element ; But 
continued still his other employs till 1669; at what 
time, through Bodely Infirmities (contracted by y e 
Care and fatigue of Publique Affairs) 

He withdrew, 
Prepared and made for his End ; and with a gentle and 
Even Gale, in much peace, arrived and anchored in his 
Last and Best Port, at Wansted in y e County of Essex, 
yei6 Sept. 1670, Being then but 49 and 4 months old. 
To Whose Name and merit his surviving Lady 
hath erected this remembrance." 

The Admiral married, January 6, 1643-4, Margaret, wid. of Nicholas van der 
Schuren, and daughter of John Jasper, his friend and colleague, Captain William 
Crispin, marrying her sister Anne Jasper. Lady Margaret Penn was buried 
March 4, 1681-2, in the church at Walthamstow, Essex. 
Sir William and Margaret (Jasper) Penn had issue: — 

William Penn, Founder of Pennsylvania, b. Oct. 14, 1644; d. July 30, 1718; m. (first) 

Gulielma Maria Springett ; (second) Hannah Callowhill ; 
Margaret, b 1651, d. Dec, 1718; m. Feb. 14, 1666-7, Anthony Lowther, Esq., of Maske, 
Yorkshire, who d. 1692, and bur. at Walthamstow, Essex, where a monument is 
erected in his memory. They had issue : — 

Margaret Lowther, b. Feb. 8, 1667-8; m. Benj. Poole; a daughter, Mary Poole, 
married Richard Nichols, and had a daughter, Margaretta Nichols, who married 
Henry George Herbert, Marquis of Carnarvon. 
Sir William Lowther, created baronet 1697 ; m. Catharine Preston, and had issue : 
Sir Thomas Lowther, m. Lady Elizabeth Cavendish, dau. of Duke of Devon- 
shire; had son William, who d. unm., 1756; 
Anthony Lowther was member Parliament for Appleby, 1678-79. A letter from 
Hannah Penn, second wife of William Penn, to Rebecca Blackfan, at Pennsbury, Pa., 
mentions her "cousin John Lowther" as married and having one child, a daughter ; 
who he was, does not appear from the "Penn Pedigree." 
Richard Penn d. 1673, unm. 

William Penn, the Founder of Pennsylvania, was born in the parish of St. 
Katharine, near the Tower of London, October 14, 1644, and was baptized at 
Allhallows Church, Barking, (London) October 23, 1644. Within a few weeks 
of his birth, his father sailed as captain of the "Fellowship," in the Parliament's 
navy, and his wife and child took up their home at Wansted, Essex, a suburb of 
London, where the Admiral and his family made their home during the greater 
part of his life. Young Penn received an excellent classical education at private 
schools and under tutors at home, and on October 26, 1660, was entered as a 
"gentleman commoner" at the University of Oxford, (Christ Church). His stay 
at the University however lasted less than two years ; having attended a meeting 
of the Society of Friends, where Thomas Loe, formerly of Oxford University, 
preached, he was strongly impressed with the simplicity and purity of the faith 
of that sect, and with a number of fellow students refused to attend the divine 



PENN 5 

services at the University or to wear the gown of a student; he was finally 
expelled from the University for insubordination. After two years spent in 
travel and study in France and Italy he began the study of law at Lincoln's Inn, 
February 7, 1664-5. At about the same time he was presented at Court, and 
attending his father in command of the fleet operating against the Dutch, was 
sent by the "Great Captain Commander" with despatches to the King. In the 
autumn of 1665 his father sent him to Ireland, where he was received at the 
court of the Duke of Ormond, then Lord Lieutenant, and remained about two 
years, serving under the Duke at the siege of Carrickfergus, in May, 1666. It was 
there that the "portrait in armor", of which the Historical Society of Pennsyl- 
vania has a copy, was painted. In Ireland he again attended meetings of 
Friends addressed by Thomas Loe, and became finally convinced in the doctrines, 
and on September 3, 1667, suffered his first arrest for his religious convictions, 
and was thereafter actively identified with the Friends and presently began to 
write and speak in their behalf. His "Sandy Foundation Shaken" was published 
in 1668, and he suffered imprisonment in the Tower therefore. He was later 
imprisoned at Newgate and in Wheeler street, London, for his activity in Friends' 
affairs. 

At the death of his father, William Penn became possessed of a goodly estate 
amounting to at least £1500 per annum. He married, April 4, 1672, at "a publick 
Assembly of the People of the Lord" at King's, Charle-wood, in the county of 
Hertford, Gulielma Maria Springett, daughter of Sir William Springett, (1620- 
1644) by his wife Mary Proude, (1624-82) daughter of Sir John Proude, by 
his wife Anne Fagge. At the time of her marriage Gulielma Maria Springett 
was residing with her stepfather, Isaac Pennington, who had married the widow 
Springett. After his marriage William Penn and his family resided for about 
five years in Basing House, Rickmansworth, in the county of Hertford, near 
the line of the county of Bucks, removing to Worminghurst, Sussex, a property 
inherited by his wife, in 1677, where he continued to reside until 1697, after his 
second marriage. In that year he removed to Bristol, and seems to have had his 
principal residence until 17 10, when he removed to Ruscombe Manor, in Berks, 
near Twyford. now on the Great Western railway, where he died, July 30, 1718. 

Of the four years spent in Pennsylvania by the Founder, in two periods of 
nearly equal length, the major part was doubtless spent in the city of Philadel- 
phia, laid out by his direction prior to his first arrival, though his Pennsylvania 
home was ostensibly at Pennsbury, Bucks county, from early in the year 1683. 

For several months after his arrival in Pennsylvania in the "Welcome," Octo- 
ber 28, 1682, Penn seems to have made his home at Chester, later residing in 
Philadelphia and at Pennsbury, until his return to England in August, 1684. In 
his second visit to his province of Pennsylvania, arriving in Philadelphia, Decem- 
ber 3, 1699, he was accompanied by his second wife, Hannah Callowhill, and their 
eldest child, John Penn, was born in Philadelphia, January 29, 1699-1700. This 
visit extended to September, 1701, and almost his last official act in Pennsylvania 
was the signing of the charter of incorporation of the city of Philadelphia. 
From the date of the grant of the province to him, February 24, 1680-1, to his 
death thirty-seven years later, practically his whole time and energy was devoted 
to her interests, and his great regret was that he was prevented from spending 
the greater part of his time in his beloved province. 



6 PENN 

Gulielma Maria, first wife of William Penn, died at Hoddeston, county of 
Hertford, February 23, 1693-4, at the age of fifty years, and he married (sec- 
ond) at the Friends' Meeting in Bristol, November 11, 1695, Hannah Callowhill, 
born at Bristol, England, April 18, 1664, died December 20, 1726. She was 
a daughter of Thomas Callowhill, of Bristol, linen draper, by his wife Hannah 
Hollister, daughter of Dennis Hollister, an eminent merchant of Bristol, England, 
and an early convert to the principles of Friends. 

William Penn and his first wife Gulielma Maria Springett had issue: — 

Gulielma Maria, b. at Rickmansworth, Herts, Jan. 23, 1672-3, d. there, March 17, 1673-4; 

William Penn, b. Feb. 28, 1673-4, at Rickmansworth, d. there May 15, 1674; 

Mary (or Margaret), twin with William, d. Feb. 24, 1674-5; 

Springett Penn, b. at Walthamstow, Jan. 23, 1675, d. at Lewes, on the south coast of 
England, where he had been taken by his father with the hope of saving his life, April 
10, 1696; 

Letitia Penn, b. at Worminghurst, Sussex, March 6, 1678; bur. at Jordans, April 6, 1746; 
m. Aug. 20, 1702, William Aubrey, of London, who was bur. at Jordans, May 23, 1731 ; 
no issue; lands granted to Letitia in Pa.; she bequeathed to Christian Gulielma (Penn) 
Gaskell, daughter of her nephew, William Penn (3d) of whom hereafter; 

William Penn Jr., b. at Worminghurst, March 14, 1680, d. June 23, 1720; m. Mary 
Jones, of whom presently ; 

Gulielma Maria Penn, b. at Worminghurst, Nov. 17, 1685, d. at Hammersmith, Middle- 
sex, Nov. 20, 1689; 

By his second wife, Hannah Callozuhill, William Penn had issue: — 

John Penn, "the American", b. Philadelphia, Jan. 29, 1699-1700, d. unm. at Hitcham, 
county Bucks, England, Oct. 25, 1746; under father's will and "a deed of appointment" 
thereunder by mother, he became vested in one-half of the Proprietary estate in 
Pennsylvania ; the Three Lower Counties and "elsewhere in Pennsylvania." He 
came to Pennsylvania in Sept., 1734, with his sister, Margaret Freame, and her 
husband and was ceremoniously received at Philadelphia, Sept. 29th, remaining a 
year, he gained the esteem of the people of Pennsylvania. He returned to England in 
Sept., 173S, to attend the litigation with Lord Baltimore over the Maryland boundary 
and never returned to America. An extract from the Oxford Flying Weekly Journal, 
Nov. 1, 1746, has this obituary notice of him: 

"On Tuesday night last, being the 25th of Oct., after a long and painful illness, 
which was borne with the greatest fortitude, resignation, and cheerfulness, died at 
Hitcham, in the county of Bucks, John Penn, Esq., the eldest of the surviving sons of 
William Penn. Esq., late Proprietor of the Province of Pennsylvania; a gentleman 
who from his strict justice and integrity, the greatness of his mind, his universal 
benevolence to all mankind, and his many other amiable qualities, was a worthy 
successor to his great father. In his life he was highly esteemed by all who knew 
him and in his death generally lamented. He dying without issue his estate in Penn- 
sylvania descended to his next brother Thomas Penn, Esq., who for many years 
resided in that Province for carrying on the settlement thereof, upon the foundation 
which was laid by their father." 
Thomas Penn, b. at Bristol, Eng., March 9, 1701-2, d. 1775 ; was joint proprietor with 
brothers John and Richard, and at death of former inherited life-right in the one- 
half interest held by John ; gave more attention to Proprietary affairs than either of 
his brothers; came to Pennsylvania in Aug., 1732, and remained until 1741, when he 
returned to England, and never again revisited the Province, though his letters show 
his intention to do so soon after his return, but business engagements prevented from 
time to time. He was an energetic, prudent, capable man of somewhat colder tempera- 
ment than his brothers. 

Thomas Penn m. Aug. 22, 1751, Lady Juliana Fermor, fourth daughter of Thomas, 
first Earl of Pomphret, of a family of great social distinction in Northamptonshire, 
that had the honor of knighthood as early as 1586, baronetcy 1641, and peerage 1692. 

Of the eight children of Thomas Penn and Lady Juliana, five died in childhood; 
one, Juliana, b. May 19, 1753, m. William Baker, Esq. of Bafordbury, Herts, and had 
one child, Juliana Baker, who m. Jan. 18, 1803, John Fawcett Herbert Rawlins Esq., 
but died without issue, Sept. 11, 1849, at Gunters Grove, Stoke Courcy, Somersetshire. 

The three remaining children of Thomas Penn, were, 



PENN 7 

John Penn, b. Feb. 23, 1760, d. unm. June 21, 1834; graduated at Cambridge, 1779; 
after coming into his inheritance travelled extensively in Europe; was a liberal 
patron of art, "something of a poet, an idealist and reformer." He came to 
Pennsylvania in 1783, and resided for five years, having a city house at the 
corner of Sixth and Market streets, and erected a small mansion which he 
called "Solitude," on the west bank of the Schuylkill, now in the Zoological 
Garden. He returned to England in 1788, and erected a handsome residence 
at Stoke; was Sheriff of Bucks, 1798; member of Parliament, 1802; Royal Gov. 
of Island of Portland in Dorset, from 1805 for many years, and was Lieut. Col. 
of First Troop, First Regiment Royal Bucks Yeomanry. He was the author 
of a number of literary works, and Cambridge University conferred upon him 
the degree of LL. D. in 181 1. 

Granville Penn, the Memorialist, was b. Dec. 9, 1761, and d. Sept. 28, 1844; he 
matriculated at Magdalen College, Oxford, Nov. 11, 1780; later entered the 
civil service and became assistant chief clerk in War Dept. ; he m. June 24, 1791, 
Isabella, eldest daughter of General Gordon Forbes, colonel of 29th Regiment 
of Foot, of the family of Forbes of Skillater, in Aberdeenshire, by his wife 
Mary, eldest daughter of Benjamin Sullivan Esq., of Cork, Ireland On his 
marriage, Granville Penn settled in London, and occupied his leisure with lit- 
erary labors, the result of which is the several substantial volumes which form 
one of the chief sources of knowledge and information in reference to the 
Penn family. He was a justiciary of Buckinhamshire, after his succession to 
the extensive estates there at the death of his elder brother John. He died 
at Stoke, Sept. 28, 1844, almost precisely two centuries after the birth of his 
grandfather, the Founder. 

Granville and Isabella (Forbes) Penn, had issue: nine children of whom only 
one married, and she left no issue. 

Granville John Penn, second and eldest surviving son, graduated at Christ 
Church, Oxford, and became a barrister-at-law ; was a Deputy Lieutenant and 
magistrate of Bucks ; he twice visited Pennsylvania, in 1852 and again in 1857 ; 
presented to the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, a large wampum belt pre- 
sented to the Founder at the "Great Treaty of 1683" by the Indian Chiefs. He 
died unm. March 29, 1867. 

Rev. Thomas Gordon Penn, second surviving son of Granville and Isabella, 
graduated at Christ Church College, and took orders in the Established Church 
of England. At his death, Sept. 10, 1869, he was the last male descendant of 
William Penn, the Founder, bearing the name of Penn, and the entail of the 
Proprietary estate passed to his Aunt Sophia, wife of Archbishop Stuart, of 
whom presently. 

Sophia Penn, only married child of Granville, became the wife of Sir 
William Maynard Gomm, Field Marshall, K. C. B., an officer of high distinction 
in the English military service, but d. without issue in 1827. 
Sophia Margaretta, b. Dec. 25, 1764, was the last of the children of Thomas and 
Lady Juliana (Fermor) Penn; she m., in 1796, William Stuart, subsequently 
Archbishop of Armagh, Established Church, and Primate of that church in 
Ireland. He was a son of John, third Earl of Bute, a famous figure in English 
politics, an early associate and adviser of George III, and for several years his 
Prime Minister, by his wife, daughter of Lady Mary Wortley Montagu. 

Mrs. Stuart d. April 29, 1847, having survived her husband, the Archbishop, 
twenty-five years. She was survived by three of her four children, two of 
whom have living issue, the sole representatives of William Penn, the founder, 
by his second wife, Hannah Callowhill. 

Mary Juliana Stuart, eldest child of the Archbishop by his wife Sophia Mar- 
garetta Penn, b. May, 1797, d. July 11, 1866; m. Feb. 28, 1815, Thomas Knox, 
Viscount Northland, later second Earl of Ranfurly, of Dungannon Park, county 
Tyrone, Ireland, by whom she had three sons and five daughters, the eldest of 
whom, Thomas, third Earl of Ranfurly, b. Nov. 13, 1816, d. May 20, 1858; m. 
Oct. 10, 1848, Harriet, daughter of James Rimington, of Broomhead Hall, 
county York, and his oldest son, fourth Earl of Ranfurly, was killed in a hunt- 
ing expedition in Abyssinia, 1875, and was succeeded by his younger brother, 
Uchter John Mark Knox, fifth Earl of Ranfurly, b. Aug. 14, 1856, who still sur- 
vives. He was educated at Harrow and Trinity College, Cambridge; was Lord- 
in-waiting to Her Majesty Queen Victoria, 1895-7 : Governor of New Zealand, 
1897-1904; is Knight of Justice of Order of St. John of Jerusalem, in England; 
K. C. M. G., 1897; G. C. M. G., 1901 ; P. C. 1905. He m. in 1880, Hon. Constance 
Elizabeth Caulfield, daughter of the Seventh Viscount Charlemont, and has 
issue, a daughter, Lady Constance Harriet Stuart Knox, m. in 1905, Maj. 
Evelyn Miles Gaskell. 

William Stuart, eldest son of the Archbishop by his wife, Sophia Margaretta 
Penn, b. Oct. 31, 1798, d. July 7, 1874. He was educated at St. John's College, 



8 PENN 

Cambridge ; was a Magistrate and Deputy Lieutenant of Bedfordshire, and 
High-Sheriff in 1846; was a member of Parliament for Armagh, 1820-26, and 
for Bedfordshire, 1830-34. His seat was Aldenham Abbey, near Watford, 
Herts. On the death of Rev. Thomas Gordon Penn in 1869, he became "tenant 
in tail general" to all the entailed Penn property in Pennsylvania, and in 1870 
"barred the entail" and confirmed all the Penn conveyances previously made in 
Pennsylvania. He devised his estate to his son, 

Col. William Stewart, b. March 7, 1825, d. Dec. 21, 1893, member of Parlia- 
ment for Bedfordshire, 1854-7, and 1859-68; Magistrate and Deputy Lieutenant. 
He m. Sept. 13, 1859, Katharine, eldest daughter of John Armitage Nicholson 
Esq., of Belrath, county Meath, Ireland, who d. Oct. 16, 1881. 

Their son, William Dugald Stewart Esq., of Tempford Hall, county of Bed- 
ford, b. Oct. 18, i860. Magistrate, late Captain in Kings Royal Rifle Corps, is 
present representative of the Stuart line of the Penn family. He has in his 
possession a "Portrait in Armor" of William Penn. He m. July II, 1893, Melli- 
cent H. C, eldest daughter of Capt. G. W. Bulkely Hughes, J. P. 
Hannah Margaritta Penn, third child of William Penn and Hannah Callowhill, b. at 

Bristol, England, July 30, 1703, d. there, in Feb. or March, 1707-8. 
Margaret Penn, fourth child, b. at Bristol, England, Nov. 7, 1704, d. Feb., 1750-1 ; m. 
1727, Thomas Freame, and had issue : Thomas, d. 1746, and Philadelphia Hannah 
Freame, b. in Philadelphia in 1740, who m. Thomas Dawson, Viscount Cremorne, and 
had two children who died in infancy; Margaret Freame and her husband came to 
Philadelphia with her brother, John Penn, in 1734, and resided in Pennsylvania for a 
number of years. 
Richard Penn, b. at Bristol, England, Jan. 17, 1705-6, d. 1771 ; m. Hannah Lardner; of 

whom presently. 
Dennis Penn, b. at Ealing, Middlesex, England, Feb. 26, 1706-7, d. unm. Feb. 6, 1722-3. 
Hannah Penn, b. in Ludgate Parish, London, Sept. 5, 1708, d. at Kensington, Jan. 24, 
1708-9. 

Richard Penn, youngest son of the Founder, who lived to mature years, 
was born at Bristol, England, at the home of his maternal grandparents, Thomas 
and Hannah Callowhill, January 17, 1705-6. He was apprenticed when a 
young man to the mercantile business in London, and seems to have resided 
there some considerable part of his life, though soon after his marriage he 
appears to have made his principal residence at Stanwell, Middlesex, a suburb 
of London. He married, in 1728, Hannah, daughter of Dr. John Lardner, of 
Gracechurch street, London, and Woodford, Epping Forest, Essex, and a sis- 
ter to Lynford Lardner, who came to Pennsylvania in 1740 and was Receiver 
General, Keeper of the Great Seal, etc. Richard Penn was joint Proprietary of 
Pennsylvania with his brothers John and Thomas, but took much less interest 
in the affairs of the Province than either of them. Richard Penn died February 4, 
1 77 1, and was buried at Stoke Poges. His widow Hannah, survived him until 
April 20, 1785. 

Richard and Hannah (Lardner) Penn had issue: — 

John Penn, b. July 14, 1729, d. in Philadelphia, Feb. 9, 1795, having spent the greater 
part of his life in Pennsylvania, since his arrival in 1752. He married when a school- 
boy, Grace, daughter of James Cox, of London, much to the displeasure of his rela- 
tives, especially his uncle, Thomas Penn ; after four or five years spent in studying at 
Geneva and in traveling on the continent with his uncle he came to Pennsylvania, in 
Nov., 1752, and directly afterwards was made a member of Provincial Council, and 
filled other positions under the Proprktaries until the fall of 1755, when he returned 
to England, returning in Oct., 1763, with a commission from his uncle and father as 
Deputy Governor of Pennsylvania, dated June 18, 1763. He was twice re-commis- 
sioned for three years each, and served as Governor of Pennsylvania continuously 
until his return to England, after the death of his father, May 6, 1771. His brother 
Richard succeeded him as Governor, Oct. 16, 1771, and served until John's return with 
a new commission as Governor, Aug. 30, 1773. He retained the position of Governor 
until the collapse of the Proprietary government in the Revolution, being the last of 
the Proprietary Governors. His first wife having died March 17, 1760, he married, 
May 31, 1766, Anne, eldest daughter of Hon. William Allen, Chief Justice of Penn- 



PENN 9 

sylvania, by his wife, Margaret Hamilton, daughter of Andrew Hamilton, the distin- 
guished Attorney of the Penn family, and sister to Governor James Hamilton, of 
Bush Hill. 

After his marriage to Miss Allen, John Penn made his city residence on the west 
side of Third street, in the house built for Col. Byrd, of Westover, but on his final 
return to Pennsylvania in 1773, he purchased an estate of 142 acres on west side of the 
Schuykill, erected thereon a mansion, and called his place "Lansdowne," now included 
in Fairmount Park. Here he resided the greater part of the later years of his life, 
though he had a town house on Pine street between Second and Third, from which 
he was bur. in 1795. He had no issue by either marriage. 

Hannah Penn, b. about 1731, was bur. at Stoke Poges, Oct. 2, 1791 ; m. July 19, 1774, 
James Clayton, who d. in Jan., 1790, without issue. 

Richard Penn, Gov. of Pennsylvania, Oct. 16, 1771, to Aug. 30, 1773, when he was super- 
seded by his brother John, was b. in 1735, and d. at Richmond, Surrey, England, 
May 27, 181 1. He came to Philadelphia with his brother John in Oct., 1763, and was 
made a member of Provincial Council, Jan. 12, 1764. He was the first President of the 
Jockey Club of Philadelphia, organized in 1766, and presided over that organization 
until 1769, when he returned to England, returning with his commission as Governor 
in Oct., 1771. He m. at Christ Church, May 21, 1772, Mary Masters, of Philadelphia, 
and took up his residence in the fine mansion on the south side of Market street, 
between Fifth and Sixth, erected by Mary (Lawrence) Masters, the bride's mother, 
and conveyed to the bride two days before the wedding. The house, one of the finest 
in Philadelphia, was the residence of Gen. Howe during the British occupancy of the 
city, by Arnold after Howe's departure, and later by Holker, French Consul, and 
subsequently by Robert Morris, Gen. Washington being entertained there during the 
Constitutional Convention, 1787, and it became his presidential residence in 1790-7. 
The original house, however, was burned in 1780, and was rebuilt by Robert Morris. 
In April, 1775, Richard Penn purchased the Pell Hall estate, on which Girard College 
now stands, and like his Market street house, it was also burned during his ownership. 
Richard Penn went to England with his family in the summer of 1775, carrying with 
him the petition of the Continental Congress, called the "Olive Branch", drawn up by 
John Dickinson, and when it was under consideration in the House of Lords, was 
interrogated as to the condition of the American Colonies. He continued to reside in 
England, and was a member of Parliament for Applyby, Westmoreland, 1784-90; for 
Haslemere, Surrey, 1790-96; and for the borough of Lancaster, 1796-1802, and again 
elected for Haslemere, in 1806. He came to Philadelphia with some members of his 
family and resided at 210 Chestnut street for about a year in 1808. He d. in Surrey, 
May 27, 1811. His widow survived him eighteen years, dying Aug. 16, 1829. 

William Penn, b. 1747, d. Feb. 4, 1760. 

Richard and Mary (Masters) Penn had issue: — 

William Penn, b. in England, June 23, 1776, d. there Sept. 17, 1845. He came to 
Philadelphia with his parents in 1808, and remained in Pennsylvania for many 
years, living for a time in Dauphin county, and later in Easton, Northampton 
county. He m. Aug. 7, 1809, Catharine Balabrega, of Philadelphia, but so far as 
known left no issue. He was a man of "trancendent abilities, an excellent 
classical scholar, and possessed of a wonderful memory, which he displayed by 
an extraordinary power of quotation in conversation. * * * When he chose 
he could transfix the minds of those with whom he associated with the depth 
of his research and splendid talents. He mixed with the highest ranks of 
society and was courted by every company. There was probably no elevation 
attainable which he might not have reached." (Gentleman's Magazine). 

Hannah Penn, d. unm. at Richmond, Surrey, England, July 16, 1856; she accom- 
panied her parents on the visit to Philadelphia in 1808. 

Richard Penn, b. 1783, d. at Richmond, Surrey, April 21, 1863; was many years a 
trusted and useful official of the Colonial Department of the English govern- 
ment ; was elected Fellow of Royal Society, Nov. 18, 1824 ; his portrait by E. W. 
Eddis was engraved in 1834 by M. Ganci. He was never married. 

Mary Penn, b. April n, 1785, d. March 26, 1863; m. in 1821, Samuel Paynter 
Esq., of Richmond, Surrey, J. P. for Surrey and Middlesex, and High Sheriff 
for Surrey, 1838, d. March 26, 1844; she had no issue. 

Daughter d. in inf., June 17, 1790. 

We now return to the elder line of the descendants of William Penn, the 
Founder, descendants of which still reside in Pennsylvania. 



io PENN 

William Penn Jr., only son of the Founder, by his first wife, Gulielma 
Maria Springett, who lived to mature years, married and left issue; was born 
at Worminghurst, in Sussex, his mother's estate, March 14, 1680-1, ten days 
after the grant of the Province of Pennsylvania to his father by Charles II. 
His mother died when he was less than thirteen years of age, and his father 
married Hannah Callowhill, a little over twenty months later. Of his child- 
hood, education and youth little is known. He married, January 11, 1698-9, 
when less than eighteen years of age, at a meeting of the religious Society of 
Friends, at Bristol, England, Mary Jones, four years his senior, daughter of 
Charles Jones Jr., of Bristol, merchant, by his wife Martha Wathers, and 
granddaughter of Charles and Ann Jones, of Redcliffe street, Bristol, who were 
among the early Friends of that city ; Charles Jones' name appearing among 
those mentioned by Besse, in his "Sufferings of Quakers", as early as 1663, 
and later. 

William Penn Jr., did not accompany his father on his second visit to Penn- 
sylvania in 1699, his young wife preferring to remain in England, and his first 
visit to his father's Province was in February, 1703-4, when he accompanied 
Lieut. Gov. John Evans. This visit was the result of a long cherished plan of 
his father, that his son might get acquainted with the new country as well as 
acquire a mode of living more in keeping with his income, he having developed 
extravagant tastes in England. In a letter to Logan, the father earnestly recom- 
mended his son to the society of Samuel Carpenter, Richard Hill and Isaac 
Norris, in whom he had the greatest confidence. The society of the young and 
dissolute Lieutenant Governor, however, proved disastrous, and young Penn was 
even more extravagant in Pennsylvania than in England, and finally broke with 
the Quakers altogether. He sold his Manor of Williamstadt, on the Schuylkill, 
including the site of Norristown, to Isaac Norris, and in November took passage 
on the "Jersey" for England. While here he officiated as a member of Pro- 
vincial Council, and the good friends of his father doubtless did their best to 
reconcile him to a life in the Colony. A portion of his time was spent at Penns- 
bury, Penn's Manor, in Bucks county, but during the greater part of the time 
he and James Logan, his father's secretary, kept bachelor's hall, in William 
Clark's newly built house, on Chestnut street at the southwest corner of Third 
street, where later Gov. Evans joined them. Prior to coming to Pennsylvania, 
William Penn Jr. and his family had resided at Worminghurst, which he had 
inherited from his mother, and on his return he again took up his residence 
there, but becoming involved in debt sold it in 1707. From this date he seems 
to have led a somewhat roving life, part of his time being doubtless spent on 
the Irish estates inherited from his grandfather, Admiral Sir William Penn, and 
some part of it certainly spent in France. After 1712 his wife and children spent 
the greater part of the time with their step-grandmother, Hannah Penn, at 
Ruscombe, in Berkshire, where William Penn, the elder, and his family made 
their home from 1710 until after the death of the Founder in 1718. 

William Penn Jr. had expected to succeed his father as Proprietor and Gov- 
ernor of Pennsylvania, and was much chagrined at the provisions of his father's 
last will, executed in 17 12. He even took measures to obstruct the proving of 
the will and sent instructions to Governor Keith to call the Council and Assembly 
together to have him proclaimed Proprietor and Governor, but later acquiesced 



PENN 1 1 

in the provisions of the will. He survived his father but two years, dying June 
23, 1720, either in the north of France or in Liege, Belgium, the place of his 
death being a matter of dispute. His wife survived him thirteen years, dying 
about December 1, and was buried December 5, 1733. 

Issue of William Penn Jr., by Mary Jones, his wife: — 

Gulielma Maria, b. Nov. 10, 1699, at Worminghurst, d. Jan. 17, 1739-40, "the Beauty", 
and "Sweet Girl", so often mentioned in her grandfather's letters. She m. (first) 
"early in life" Aubrey, son of Rees and Martha (Awbrey) Thomas, of Merion, Pa., 
and nephew of William Aubrey who had married her aunt, Letitia Penn. He did 
not long survive his marriage and left one son, William Penn Thomas, d- unm. 1742. 
Gulielma Maria (Penn) Thomas m. (second) Charles, son of George and grandson 
of Judge Thomas Fell, of Swarthmore, whose widow became the wife of George Fox; 
and had issue : 

Robert Edward Fell, of St. Martin's in the Fields ; bap. Nov. 29, 1726 ; Captain 
of Marines, 1756, later Lieutenant Colonel in the English Army; d. 1787, unm. 
and without issue. 
Mary Margaretta Fell, bap. Aug. 23, 1724; m. John Barron; residing in Leeds, 
England, May 26, 1750, when she writes to Thomas Penn ; said to have left no 
issue. 
Gulielma Maria Frances Fell, bap. Aug. 10, 1725; m. John Newcomb: in a letter 
to Thomas Penn, dated Oct- 22, 1750, Newcomb, announces birth of "fine 
little boy", who by his "dear little woman's particular desire" has been named 
Thomas Penn Newcomb. A former letter had referred to "our little girl". 
It has been commonly assumed that this line of the descendants of William 
Penn, the Founder, has become extinct. 

John Newcomb, husband of Gulielma Maria Frances, was a clergyman of 
the Established Church, and at the date of the marriage vicar of Leire, near 
Lutterworth, Leicestershire. They had issue, Gulielma Maria ; Susanna Margar- 
etta ; Philadelphia, who m. Thomas Brookholding, John Springett, and William 
Hawkins Newcomb. 
Springett Penn Fell died without issue. 
Springett Penn, b. Feb. 10, 1700-1, at Worminghurst, was the "little Saracen" so lov- 
ingly alluded to in his grandfather's letters. He spent much of his time after arriving 
at manhood on the Penn estates in Ireland, and d. unm. at Dublin, Ireland, Feb. 8, 
1730-1. He instituted Chancery proceedings over the will of his grandfather, the 
Founder, and while his suit was still pending, joined Hannah Penn, his step-grand- 
mother, in the appointment of Patrick Gordon as Lieutenant Governor of Pennsyl- 
vania in 1725. At the meeting of the Provincial Council of the Province, held at 
Philadelphia, June 22, 1726, the commission of Major Gordon, "from Springett Penn 
Esq., with the assent of Hannah Penn, and his Majesty's royal approbation thereof" 
was produced and read, and "was forthwith published at the Court House." This 
was his sole connection with the Province of Pennsylvania. 
William Penn (3d) was b. at Worminghurst, March 21, 1702-3, and through his first 
marriage was the ancestor of the Penn-Gaskell family. 

William Penn (3d) spent his childhood and youth under the care of his 
mother and step-grandmother. He was seventeen at the death of his father in 
1720, and from that time for several years spent most of his time in Ireland. 
On the death of his elder brother, Springett Penn, in 1731, he inherited the 
remaining estates of the elder line of the Penn family, of which he then became 
the eldest male heir. These included the estate of Shanagarry, granted to his 
great-grandfather, Admiral Sir William Penn, by the Protector in 1660, and 
an estate known as the "Rocks" in Sussex, a remnant of the estate of his 
grandmother, Gulielma Maria Springett, whose whole possessions of course 
descended in the elder line. Through the break with the Friends in Philadelphia 
by his father, William Penn Jr., the family seem to have entirely withdrawn 
from the Society, but on the approach of his marriage, William Penn united 
himself with the Society and was married under the care of "the people of God 



12 PENN 

called Quakers, in Wandsworth, in the county of Surrey, according to the good 
order used amongst them" * * * "on the 7th day of the month called 
December in the year 1732," to Christian Forbes, daughter of Alexander Forbes, 
of London, merchant, and Jane his wife, a daughter of Robert Barclay, of Ury, 
the author of the famous Quaker book, the "Apology", and through him a 
descendant of the royal family of Stuarts ; Robert Barclay's mother, the wife of 
Col. David Barclay, of Ury, (who served under Gustavus Adolphus, in the 
Thirty Years' War) was Lady Catherine Gordon, a daughter of Sir Robert 
Gordon, second son of the Earl of Sutherland, and a cousin of James VI. of 
Scotland, later James I., of England. Through this marriage of Col. David 
Barclay to Lady Catharine Gordon, their descendants trace their ancestry through 
all the English Kings back from Richard II. to King Alfred. 

The father of Alexander Forbes was John Forbes, of Auchorties, near Aber- 
deen, Scotland. Ury, the home of the Barclays, being an adjoining estate, the 
two families were closely associated, and both joined in the Quaker movement 
that invaded Scotland in the latter half of the seventeenth century, and the 
heads of both families suffered imprisonment at Aberdeen and were otherwise per- 
secuted for their religious faith. The life and works of Robert Barclay, of Ury, and 
his association with the colonization of New Jersey is too well known to need 
repetition in giving an account of his descendants through the Penn family. 

The married life of William Penn (3d) with his first wife was pathetically 
brief, as she died November 1, 1733, within a year of her marriage, and soon 
after the birth of her daughter, Christiana Gulielma Penn, and at the early age 
of eighteen years. She was buried among the Penn family at Jordans. In a 
sketch of her in "Piety Promoted", her religious character is highly extolled. 

William Penn (3d) married ( second), December 7, 1736, Ann Vaux, daugh- 
ter of Isaac Vaux, of London, and thereafter lived principally in Ireland, chiefly 
at the ancestral estate of Shanagarry, where he died February 6, 1746-7. He 
had by his second wife a son, Springett Penn, born at Cork, Ireland, March 1, 
1737-8, died at Dublin, Ireland, in November, 1766, unmarried, being the last 
survivor of the name descended from Gulielma Maria Springett. 

The widow, Ann (Vaux) Penn, to whom Springett had devised his estate, 
married (second) Alexander Durdin, and on her death bed willed to him the 
half of the Shanagarry estate devised to her by her son. A great deal of liti- 
gation followed between Durdin, (and later his heirs) and Christiana Gulielma 
Penn-Gaskell, daughter of William Penn (2d), by his first marriage. 

Christiana Gulielma Penn, only child of William Penn (3d), by his first 
wife, Christiana Forbes, and after the death of her half-brother, Springett Penn, 
the only surviving representative of the elder line of the descendants of William 
Penn, the Founder, was born October 22, 1733, and was brought up in the family 
of her maternal grandfather, Alexander Forbes, at Dowgate Hill, their London 
Home, and at Auchorties, Scotland, the ancestral estate of the Forbes family. 
Her father, William Penn (3d), seems also to have resided with his father-in-law 
until he contracted his second marriage with Ann Vaux, after which he resided 
in Ireland. Alexander Forbes died May 25, 1740, but Christiana Gulielma Penn 
continued to reside with the family until her marriage in 1761 to Peter Gaskell, 
of Bath, and Ingersley Hall, Macclesfield, Cheshire, England. 

Peter Gaskell was brought up in the family of his kinsman, the Earl of 



PENN 13 

Powis and Herbert, (his father having died when he was young, was buried at 
Presbury Church, near Macclesfield). He was a connection of the Gaskell fam- 
ily of Beaumont Hall, Lancaster, Kiddington Hall, Oxfordshire, and the Gas- 
kells of Rolf's Hold, in Bucks, as shown by the arms he bore, viz: Three bars 
engrailed vert, in chief of a rose gu. barbed and seeded ppr. between two tre- 
foils slipped of the second ; crest, a sinister arm embowed with an anchor 
with cable, sable. Motto, over "Spes". These arms, quartered with those of the 
Penn family, accompanied the engraving of the portrait of William Penn in 
armour, inscribed to Peter Penn-Gaskell, grandson of Peter Gaskell, above men- 
tioned, by the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, in 1877. 

Christiana Gulielma Penn inherited from her father a one-half interest in the 
Shanagarry estate in Ireland, that had descended from Admiral Sir William 
Penn, though it was involved in litigation for a period of forty years, between 
her and her heirs, and those of Alexander Durdin, the second husband of her 
stepmother, Ann (Vaux) Penn, the final decree to possess that and the other 
Irish estates involved, being obtained by her son, Thomas Penn-Gaskell, of 
Shanagarry. Mrs. Gaskell also inherited valuable lands and lots in and around 
Philadelphia, from her great-aunt, Letitia Aubrey, including the old Manor of 
Mount Joy and Fagg's Manor, the latter being a grant of 10,000 acres to Sir 
John Fagg, from whom it descended to her. It lay partly in Chester county and 
partly in New Castle county. A great part of this was sold prior to her mar- 
riage to Peter Gaskell by virtue of a power of attorney from her to William 
Peters and Richard Hockley, dated March 5, 1755. She likewise inherited con- 
siderable entailed estate in Philadelphia and elsewhere, from her father, her 
uncle, Springett Penn, and the Fell-Thomas branch of the family, being the 
sole surviving heir of the elder branch of the Founder's family. In 1774 pro- 
ceedings were begun to effect a common recovery in order to dock the entail, 
and considerable litigation ensued which continued until her death. 

Christiana Gulielma (Penn) Gaskell died at her house in Thornbaugh street, 
Bedford square, London, England, March 24, 1803, at the age of sixty-nine 
years, having survived her husband, Peter Gaskell, eighteen years. There are 
two portraits of Christiana Gulielma Penn-Gaskell, one in the possession 
of Alexander Penn-Gaskell, of London, and the other in possession of her great- 
great-granddaughter, Christiana Gulielma Penn-Gaskell Hall, of Philadelphia. 
Peter Gaskell and Christiana Gulielma Penn had issue: — 

Thomas Penn Gaskell, b. 1762, eldest son, inherited the Irish estates and those in Penn- 
sylvania. He m. in 1794, Lady Diana Sackville, daughter of the Dowager Countess 
of Glandore, who lived but a few years, and their only child died in infancy. He 
therefore died without issue, and his estates descended to his younger brother, Peter 
Penn-Gaskell, of Shanagarry. A contemporary obituary notice says, "Died at his 
house in Fitz William Square, Dublin, on the 19th of October, 1823, aged 61, Thomas 
Penn-Gaskell of Shanagarry in the county of Cork, Esq. This gentleman was the 
heir-general of the celebrated legislator William Penn. * * * His estate in the 
county of Cork Mr. Gaskell inherited by lineal succession from his illustrious ancestor 
Admiral Sir William Penn. * * * After being engaged for 40 years in a suit in 
the Irish chancery and expending upwards of £20,000. he obtained a decree to possess 
his estates. He married, in the year 1794 a daughter of the Dowager Countess of 
Glandore, who lived but a few years and had one son who died an infant". 

Peter Penn-Gaskell, b. 1763, d. July 16, 1831; m. Elizabeth Edwards; of whom 
presently. 

Alexander Forbes Gaskell, who d. s. p. 

William Gaskell, of London, England, later known as Penn-Gaskell, married; children: 



i 4 PENN 

William Penn-Gaskell, of London, b. Feb. 20, 1808; m. and had ten children, the 
youngest of whom, George Penn-Gaskell, resided in 1898, at No. 12 Nicoll road, 
Willesden, S. W. London. 

Elizabeth Penn-Gaskell, d. s. p. 

Jane Gaskell, d. s. p. 

Peter Penn-Gaskell, second son of Peter Gaskell and Christiana Gulielma 
Penn, born at Bath, England, 1763, came to Pennsylvania after the death of 
his father in 1785, and resided at "Ashwood" near Villanova, Delaware county, 
after 1796, in which year he purchased the estate there which remained in the 
family until 1888, when it was sold by Col. Peter Penn-Gaskell Hall, U. S. A., 
to whom it had been devised by his aunt, Eliza Penn-Gaskell, to Dr. J. M. 
DaCosta. On May 31, 1824, Peter Penn-Gaskell obtained a "Royal License" to 
assume the additional surname of his mother, Penn. At the death of his brother, 
Thomas Penn-Gaskell, he inherited Shanagarry and the other Irish estates. He 
died at "Ashwood", July 16, 183 1. 

Peter Penn-Gaskell married, in 1793, at St. David's, Radnor, Elizabeth 
Edwards, born 1772, daughter of Nathan Edwards, of Radnor, Delaware county, 
who survived him but three years, dying July 19, 1834. In her will she directs 
that three thousand dollars be expended in erecting tombstones over her hus- 
band, herself and her children in the Lower Merion burial ground (back of Bryn 
Mawr College). 

Issue of Peter and Elisabeth {Edwards) Penn-Gaskell: — 

William Penn-Gaskell, b. 1794, d. unm. October 12. 1817. 

Thomas Penn-Gaskell, "of Shanagarry", referred to in Burke's "Landed Gentry", 
edition of 1879, as "of Ballymaloe, County Cork, Ireland, and Penn Hall, Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania, born 1796." He was married Dec. 22, 1825, by Right Rev. 
Bishop White of the Protestant Episcopal Church, to Mary, daughter of George Blair 
McClenachan. He d. at his home "Penn Lodge" in Lower Merion, near Philadelphia, 
Sunday morning, Oct. 18, 1846, in his 52d year, and was buried in his vault at St. 
John's Roman Catholic Church, Thirteenth street, above Chestnut, where his wife, 
who died December 21, 1867, is also buried. A portrait of Thomas Penn-Gaskell, by 
the artist Henry Inman, is in possession of his grand-niece, Gulielma Penn-Gaskell 
Hall. 

Eliza Penn-Gaskell, b. 1798, d. unm. at "Ashwood", where she had always resided, Nov. 
23, 1865. By her will she devised "Ashwood" to her nephew, Col. Peter Penn-Gaskell 
Hall. 

Alexander Forbes Penn-Gaskell, d. unm. at "Ashwood" Sept. 8, 1829, "aged 29". 

Peter Penn-Gaskell Jr., b. April 3, 1803, d. April 6, 1866; m. Louisa Adelaide Heath; 
of whom presently. 

Christiana Gulielma Penn-Gaskell, b. 1806, d. March 29, 1830; married William 
Von Swartzbreck Hall ; of whom later. 

Jane Penn-Gaskell, b. 1808, d. unm. July 7, 1852, bur. at Lower Merion Baptist Church, 
beside her parents. 

Isaac Penn-Gaskell, b. 1810, named in Browning's "Americans of Royal 
Descent" as "Dr. Isaac Penn-Gaskell, of Paris", d. unm. Oct. 24, 1842. His 
will bearing date the day previous to his death was probated May 16, 1845, 
though letters of administration had previously been granted to his eldest 
brother, Thomas Penn-Gaskell, who in withdrawing them states his "belief of 
the mental incapacity of the decedent to make a will remains unaltered." 

Peter Penn-Gaskell, "of Shanagarry in the county of Cork, Ireland, and 1613 
Chestnut street, in the City of Philadelphia," as he styles himself in his will, 
was born at "Ashwood", Delaware county, Pennsylvania, April 3, 1803. At the 



PENN 15 

death of his brother Thomas in 1846, he became the eldest male representative 
of the elder line of the descendants of William Penn, the Founder, and as such 
inherited the Irish estate of Shanagarry, which at his death in Philadelphia, 
April 6, 1866, he devised to his eldest son William, and default of issue of him 
to his other son Peter Penn-Gaskell, 2d, to whom it descended. He married, Febru- 
ary 15, 1825, Louise Adelaide Heath, daughter of Charles P. and Esther (Keely) 
Heath, and a descendant, through her mother, from Capt. Anthony Wayne, 
grandfather of Gen. Anthony Wayne of the Revolution, the latter being a first 
cousin to her great-grandmother, Esther Wayne. 

Louisa Adelaide (Heath) Penn-Gaskell survived her husband twelve years. 
Her will dated at London, June 29, 1869, gives her residence as "of Philadel- 
phia, in the United States of America, but now residing at Eastbourne Ter- 
race, Hyde Park, London". Three codicils were later added, the last on March 
2 7, l &77> and it was proven in Philadelphia, July 30, 1878. 
Issue of Peter Penn-Gaskell and Louisa Adelaide Heath: — 

Elizabeth Penn-Gaskell, b. 1823, d. 1869; m. Samuel Ruff Skillern, M. D., of Huntsville, 
Ala., later of Philadelphia, a nephew of the famous international beauty and wit, 
Madame Claude Le Verte, of Mobile, Ala. Their only surviving child was, 

Penn-Gaskell Skillern, b. at Columbia, S. C, April 29, 1856, educated at Rugby 
Academy, Philadelphia, Andover Academy and Pennsylvania Military Acad- 
emy, He entered the Medical Department of Univ. Pa., and received his 
medical degree in 1877, and has since practiced his profession in Philadelphia, 
at 241 South Thirteenth street. 

Dr. Penn-Gaskell Skillern m. (first) Oct. 17, 1878, Anna, daughter of Robert 
Ralston Dorsey, of Philadelphia, by his wife Anna, who d. Oct. 8, 1900. He m. 
(second) June 25, 1903, Theodocia Hendrickson Hartman, daughter of Joseph 
and Theodocia (Imlay) Hartman. By his first wife Dr. Skillern had issue: 
Violet Skillern, b. Nov. 13, 1879; Penn-Gaskell Skillern Jr., b. March 26, 1882. 
Louella Skillern, the other child of Dr. Samuel R. and Elizabeth (Penn- 
Gaskell) Skillern, d. aged three years. 
Louisa Penn-Gaskell, d. 1853, without issue; m. May 15, 1845, at St. Stephen's Church, 

Philadelphia, William Gerald FitzGerald, of Ireland. 
Mary Gulielma Penn-Gaskell, d. in childhood. 
Gulielma Penn-Gaskell, d. unm. in 1852. 
Hetty Penn-Gaskell, d. unm. 

Mary Penn-Gaskell, d. Aug. 22, 1877; m. in 1855, Dr. Isaac T. Coates, of Chester 
county, Pa., who d. June 23, 1883 ; they had issue, one child, Harold Penn-Gaskell 
Coates, m. Jarvis, of Philadelphia. 

William Penn-Gaskell, born 1836, died December 6, 1865; entered the U. S. 
service, August 9, 1862, as Second Lieutenant of an Independent Company of 
Acting Engineers recruited under authority of the War Department ; was pro- 
moted to First Lieutenant, December 16, 1862, and to Captain, March 30, 1863, 
and after serving with great credit was discharged on surgeon's certificate, July 
5, 1864. He died December 6, 1865, after a lingering and distressing illness of 
consumption. An obituary notice in a New Orleans newspaper of January 13, 
1866, says he died surrounded by every member of his family, father, mother, 
brother and sisters and that his scholastic attainments for one so young 
were very great, being well versed in science, metaphysics, history, romance and 
poetry, "possessed of a modest and retiring character, yet when his sweet voice 
was heard dignity of speech, good sense and social eloquence accompanied it. 
He would have been the heir of Shanagarry, both as eldest male heir and devisee 
of his father's will, but died before his father. 



i6 PENN 

Jane Penn-Gaskell, married Washington Irving, U. S. N., a nephew of the 
famous author whose name he bore. She died without issue in 1863. 

Emily Penn-Gaskell, married, in 1864, John Paul Quinn, M. D., Surgeon 
U. S. N., and had issue — Granville Penn-Gaskell Quinn, born 1871, died 1893. 

Peter Penn-Gaskell, born October 24, 1843, succeeded to Shanagarry and the 
other Irish estates on the death of his father in 1866, and was the owner thereof 
until his death in 1905. He was educated at Heidelburg, and returning to Amer- 
ica, entered the United States Army, was commissioned Second Lieutenant of 
First Regiment New Jersey Cavalry, April 7, 1862, promoted First Lieutenant, 
November 7, 1862, and to Captain, October 23, 1863. He resigned the latter 
commission February 3, 1864, to become Major of the Second Battalion Louisi- 
ana Cavalry, in which position he served until September 7, 1864. After suc- 
ceeding to the Irish estates in 1866, he went to Europe, and July 6, 1869, was 
married to Mary Kathleen, eldest daughter of Charles Edward Stubbs, Sussex 
Square, Hyde Park, London. Soon after his marriage, Peter Penn-Gaskell and 
his wife made a visit to the United States, but he lived almost entirely abroad until 
his death, mostly in London, where his mother resided with him for some years. 

In 1877 the Historical Society of Pennsylvania inscribed to Peter Penn-Gas- 
kell the engraving after the painting of William Penn in armour. Accompany- 
ing this engraving are the arms of Penn-Gaskell of Shanagarry, which as 
described by Burke, are : — 

Quarterly: 1st and 4th or., three bars engrailed vert, in chief a rose gu. barbed 
and seeded ppr. between two trefoils slipped of the second, for Gaskell, (being 
practically the arms born by the Gaskells of Beaumont Hall, Lancashire, Kid- 
dington Hall, Oxford, and those of Rolfe's Hold, in Bucks.) 2d and 3d, the 
arms of Penn, viz: — arg. on a fesse sable three plates a canton, gu. there on a 
crown, ppr. representing the royal crown of Charles II. ; crests : for Gaskell, a 
sinister arm embowed with an anchor erect with cable, sable; motto-over 
"Spes"; of Penn, A demi-lion arg. gorged with a collar sa. charged with three 
plates ; motto-over, "Pennsylvania." 

Peter Penn-Gaskell and Mary Kathleen Stubbs, had issue : William Penn- 
Gaskell, unm., Winifred Penn-Gaskell, unm., Percy Penn-Gaskell, unm. 

Christiana Gulielma Penn-Gaskell, second daughter of Peter Penn-Gas- 
kell ( 1st), by his wife Elizabeth Edwards, born at "Ashwood" ; Delaware county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1806, married, January 2, 1827, William Von Swartzbreck 
Hall, born at Wavertree, Lancashire, England, in 1799. He was the second 
son of Richard Hall of Wavertree, a prominent Liverpool merchant and vessel 
owner, extensively engaged in the South American and West Indian trade, and 
also interested in the " Straff ordshire Potteries", the management of a branch 
of which, brought William Von S. Hall, his son, to America, in 1826. 

William Von Swartzbreck Hall's mother was Elizabeth Von Swartzbreck, of 
whom her son. Dr. Edward Hall, of St. Bartholomew's Hospital, London, wrote 
in his diary in 1823: "Our mother's family was originally German; our great- 
grandfather, by name Edward Von Swartzbreck, was the first that settled in 
England. He came over with his cousin, Arnold Yost Von Keppell, in the reign 
of William III. Keppell was created Earl of Albermarle, and his descendant 
now sits in the House of Lords, and is third cousin to our mother. Edward 
Von Swartzbreck married Ann Gaunt, of Singleton, Lancashire (Von Keppell 



PENN i 7 

had been made Viscount of Bury, near Singleton), descended from John of 
Gaunt, Earl of Lincoln. Their son, James Von Swartzbreck, married Alicia 
Porter, and was father of Elizabeth Von Swartzbreck, who married Richard 
Hall, of 'Small House', Broughton, Yorkshire, in 1796. James Von Swartz- 
breck had four brothers who suffered on the scaffold for abetting Charles 
Stuart, 'the Pretender', during the uprising in Lancashire." 

The American branch of the Hall family has been of Gargrave, in the West 
Riding of Yorkshire, since the latter part of 1500, where it was established by 
John Hall, son of Robert Hall, of "Leventhorpe" (an estate five miles east of 
Leeds, York). The pedigree of Robert Hall, of "Leventhorpe", which traces 
back through the Leventhorpe family, from 1531, was compiled by "Beckwith" 
from deeds, wills, and parish records. From 1531 to 1700, Hall of Leventhorpe 
is contained in Dugdale's visitation of Yorkshire, edited by Foster. The Skipton 
and Gargrave branch of the family is mentioned in the Herald's visitation of 
London, 1568, and Foster has continued the East Lieling branch to its living 
representative, Maj.-Gen. Hall-Plumber, of the English army. 

The first mention of the family in the Herald's book states that "Robert Hall 
married the heiress of Sir John Leventhorpe in 1394," and founded the family 
of the Halls of Leventhorpe. 

A claim made by the Skipton and Gargrave branch of the family, but not 
proved to date, makes Robert Hall, married 1394, the great-grandson of Sir 
Francis de Halle, of Halle, in the Tyrol, who entered the service of Edward III. 
of England. His pedigree, as passed by the Heralds' College in 1545 (see visi- 
tation Shropshire Hall of North Hall), shows Francis de Halle to have been one 
of twenty-one children, issue of Albert I. (Hapsburg), Emperor of Austria, died 
1303, whose descent is traced to 760 A. D. and Elizabeth, Countess of Halle, died 
1313, (see Robinson's "Royal Pedigrees," and Coxe's "House of Austria.") Prob- 
ability, at least, is leant to the Hapsburg claim by the most possible origin of the 
Hall arms, as will be seen from the following pedigree of Hall of Northall. 

Sir Francis De Halle, of Halle, in the Tyrol, son of Albert I. of Austria, and 
Elizabeth, Countess of Halle, entered the service of Edward III. of England, and 
was joint marshal with Sir Walter Manny of the army of "the good Duke of Lan- 
caster," in the war in Guienne, in 1544; was one of the heroes of Poitiers with 
the Black Prince; 40th Knight of the Garter; Governor of Calais, etc., etc. (Frois- 
sart's Chronology.) He married Blanche, daughter of Robert de Artois, of 
Richmond, North Riding of Yorkshire, and had issue : 

Robert Halle, a Knight in the Westminster Roll, reign of Richard II ; m. Maria, sole 
heiress of Robert A. Ketfield, Knight de Orleton (or Moreton?), of county Hereford, 
and had issue : — 

Henry Hall, Master of the Horse under Richard II., and Governor of Ross in 
Ireland. (His brothers were: Francis, John and Alexander, of county Here- 
ford). He married Margaretha, daughter of John de Eureux, and had issue: — 
Robert Hall, who is claimed to have married the heiress of Sir John Leven- 
thorpe, in 1394. 

Sir Francis de Halle's arms, as placed on his Garter Stall in Westminster, show 
the Dragon of Halle, etc. His son, Robert Hall, married into the A. Ketfield de 
Orleton (or Moreton) family, whose arms were: Argent, a fess, between two 
greyhounds, courant, sable, and may have been adopted by him. 
2 



18 PENN 

Henry Hall, his son, was Governor of Ross, in the south of Ireland, which had 
recently been taken by the English. The badge of Ross is a greyhound and stag, 
courant, since the English occupation, and may have originated with its first gov- 
ernor. 

Robert Hall (claimed son of Henry) bore arms of Leventhorpe: Argent, a 
f ess, between two greyhounds, courant sable — crest ; on a chapeau, gules, turned 
up argent, a greyhound, sejant, ermine. Motto: Quo fata vocant (where ever 
Fate may call). There is a painting of these arms in the Swillington Parish 
Church, near the estate of Leventhorpe, dating from the ' sixteenth century, 
which has the word "Haste" written over the crest. The motto would seem an 
appropriate one for an adventurer such as Francis de Halle appears to have been. 
The arms of Leventhorpe were : Argent, a fess, between three fleur-de-lis. 

While Henry Hall was Governor of Ross and "Master of the Horse" to Rich- 
ard II., John Leventhorpe was also high in favor with that monarch. In fact, 
both families were very prominent prior to the Reformation. They were of 
those Yorkshire and Lancaster families who retained their Catholicism and re- 
mained faithful to the House of Stuart, and suffered much in consequence. 

Sir John Leventhorpe, a cadet of the family, whose heiress Robert Hall mar- 
ried in 1394, is stated to have come from "Leventhorpe Hall," near Swillington, 
West Riding of Yorkshire, in the fifteenth year of Richard II. (1392), and set- 
tled at Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire (it will be remembered that the North 
Hall pedigree states that Henry Hall, Governor of Ross, had brothers : Francis, 
John, and Alexander, of Hereford, or Hertford?), where the family have left 
many interesting monuments in neighboring churches. Sir John Leventhorpe rep- 
resented his shire in several parliaments, and was one of the executors of the will 
of Henry V., and held several other offices of honor. He died in 1433, leaving 
issue. He was granted freedom to hunt in all the King's lands in Hertfordshire 
and Essex, also "fair markets" in the principal Hertfordshire towns, and per- 
mission to embark or inclose four hundred and eighty acres of land, forming part 
of the town of Sawbridgeworth. 

The descendants of Robert Hall, of Leventhorpe, were equally fortunate, and 
became one of the most prominent families in the country. In 1394 none but 
ducal families were allowed to use a "chapeau" in their crests, and the heralds of 
the present day consider it a great honor. The "Leventhorpe Arms" are found 
quartered with others in a number of churches of Southern Yorkshire. Whitkirk 
Church, in particular, contains a large memorial window erected by a member of 
the family in the sixteenth century. 

The county of York has been represented in Parliament by the following mem- 
bers of the family: In the reign of Queen Mary, 1553, by Robert Hall once; in 
Elizabeth's reign, 1562, by Ralph Hall twice, and by Henry Hall once. The 
following have been Lords Mayor of York, at that time the second city in the 
kingdom : in the reign of Henry VIII., John Hall and Robert Hall, the latter be- 
ing again Lord Mayor in Queen Mary's reign ; Henry Hall, Lord Mayor in Eliza- 
beth's reign, and again in James I's reign. 

From records in the possession of the Gargrave and Skipton branch of the 
family, it is known that Robert Hall, of Leventhorpe, died in 1565 ; had issue, 
among others, John Hall, died 161 1, who was possessed of estates on the south 
bank of the river Aire, midway between Skipton and Gargrave, known severally 



PENN 



19 



as "Coppy Plantation", "Small House", "Hall's Close", and "Hall Field", all in 
the parish of Broughton, about seventeen miles from "Leventhorpe Hall." John 
Hall was succeeded by Roger Hall, Sr., born 1635, died 1720, who had issue, 
among others, John Hall, Jr., born 1671, died 1717, who had, among others, Henry 
Hall, born 1698, died 1762. This Henry Hall "came into the family Estates when 
he was 19 years of age" * * * "through gambling and other means he lost 
all the family property except a part known as "Hall's Close", about one mile 
north of the village of Broughton, which he left to his son John Hall, born 1734, 
died 1807, who was compelled by misfortunes to part with it. "Hall's Close" was 
worth £2300 per annum in 1827. 

John Hall of "Coppy House" had issue, among others, his second son, 
Richard Hall, who removed to Wavertree, Lancashire, when a young man, 
and became a prominent merchant and ship owner of Liverpool, carrying on an 
extensive trade with South American and West Indian ports. He married, as 
before stated, Elizabeth Von Swartzbreck, like himself of ancient German an- 
cestry. The pedigree of the Gargrave branch of the Hall family shows intermar- 
riages with several prominent families of York and Lancashire. 
Richard and Elisabeth (Von Swartzbreck) Hall had issue: — 

James Hall, of Liverpool, succeeded his father, and d. Sept. 2, 1850; 

William Von Swartzbreck Hall, of whom presently; 

Richard Hall Jr., of "Caernarvon Hall", county Essex, b. April 21, 1800; m. April 25, 
1831, Frances, daughter of Dr. John Latham, who was Court Physician and Dean 
of St. Bartholomew's Hospital, London; their only surviving son is John Oswald 
Hall, of Buenos Ayres, Argentine, where he went to take charge of his uncle James's 
shipping interests. He is a well known collector of orchids, and has a large country 
seat near Buenos Ayres; he is interested in charitable affairs and has erected a 
church on his estate. 

John Hall, a planter in Venezuela, who had sons, John and Edward, at college in Eng- 
land, in 1879. 

Edward Von Swartzbreck Hall, b. May 13, 1804, d. July 30, 1881 ; was youngest resident 
physician of St. Bartholomew's Hospital, London ; was member of Royal College 
of Surgeons, and corresponding member of a number of English medical societies ; 
was a prolific writer, especially in the field of vital statistics, and on the manage- 
ment of hospitals. (See "Catalogue Phila. College of Physicians"). He m. June, 
1831, Mary Latham, sister to his brother Richard's wife, and she being threatened 
with consumption, he removed to Hobart Town, Tasmania, where he resided until 
his death, July 31, 1881 ; he was sixteen years on the Tasmania medical staff of the 
Imperial government ; was Health Commissioner at Hobart, member of the Board 
of Charities, etc., until his death. He was author of "Climate and Vital Statistics of 
Tasmania", "Epidemic Diseases of Tasmania", "Medical Topography and Vital 
Statistics of Hobart Town", etc. His later years were spent in philanthropic work, 
and in collecting different translations of the Bible. His book, "Who translated the 
Bible", is considered a standard work. He is survived by one son, Leventhorpe Hall, 
in the British Civil Service, and four daughters, one of whom, Anastasia Hall, is an 
authoress of considerable merit. 

Henry Hall, b. March 11, 1807; was ordained a priest, June 5, 1830, and a number of his 
sermons have been published in various Roman Catholic journals ; d. at Louth, Lin- 
colnshire, England, July 9, 1878. 

Alicia Hall, married Capt. May. 

John Hall, D. D., a first cousin of the above mentioned family, was "The Priest 
of Macclesfield", who founded St. Albans and a number of Roman Catholic chap- 
els. Another relative, Rev. William Hall, was Vicar of Gawsthorpe, Cheshire. He 
was an uncle to William Latham. 

William Von Swartzbreck Hall, second son of Richard Hall, of Liverpool, 
and his wife Elizabeth Von Swartzbreck, born 1799, came to America in 1824, as 



20 PENN 

his father's business representative, in connection with the pottery and shipping 
business. Through the marriage of his brothers to the two daughters of Dr. 
John Latham, and his own distant relationship with the Latham family, who were 
settled near the Gaskells of Macclesfield, in Cheshire, and were on intimate terms 
with them, as is shown by letters from Alexander Forbes and William Gaskell, 
Mr. Hall was introduced to the family of Peter Penn Gaskell, of "Ashwood", on 
his arrival in Pennsylvania, and January 2, 1827, as before stated, he married 
Peter Penn-Gaskell's daughter, Christiana Gulielma at Christ Church, Phila- 
delphia, Right Rev. Bishop William White performing the ceremony. William 
Von Swartzbreck Hall had received a liberal education, and was a portrait 
painter of no mean ability, and followed his profession with success, until his 
death, September 26, 1862. He is buried at Lower Merion. Mrs. Hall died 
March 29, 1830, at the age of twenty- four years. 

Issue of William Von Swartzbreck and Christiana Gulielma (Penn-Gaskell) 
Hall:— 

William Penn-Gaskell Hall, b. Nov. 26, 1827, d. unm. May 2, 1862; was student at Univ. 
Pa., College Dept, 1842-43, and Medical Dept, 1844-46; devoted much time to literary 
and scientific studies ; was author of a number of poems published in the Bizarre 
and newspapers of the day ; most of his life was spent in foreign travel ; 

Peter Penn-Gaskell Hall, of whom presently. 

Peter Penn-Gaskell Hall, of "Ashwood" and 906 Spruce street, Phila- 
delphia, second son of William Von Swartzbreck Hall by his wife Christiana 
Gulielma Penn-Gaskell, born in Philadelphia, March 16, 1830, died February 1, 
1905. He studied at Dr. Crawford's School and under tutors abroad, and en- 
tered Princeton University, and on his graduation took up the study of law in 
Philadelphia, and was admitted to the Philadelphia Bar. At the outbreak of 
the Civil War he entered the service of the United States, and May 31, 1861, 
was commissioned Second Lieutenant in 26th Pennsylvania Volunteers ; pro- 
moted to First Lieutenant, August 25, 1861 ; was with the Army of the Potomac 
throughout the Peninsular Campaign of 1862, and participated in the various 
battles in the advance of the army upon Richmond, Virginia. On November 6, 
1863, he was commissioned Major, and appointed Paymaster of Volunteers, 
serving in that capacity until November 15, 1865. At the close of the Civil 
War he entered the regular army, and January 17, 1867, was appointed Pay- 
master, with rank of Major, and continued in that position until July 2, 1891, 
when he was honorably retired after thirty years' service. He was brevetted 
Lieutenant Colonel for gallant and meritorious service. At the time of his 
decease he was President of the Colonial Society of Pennsylvania; a member 
of the Society of Colonial Wars ; of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, and 
of the Philadelphia and other clubs. 

Colonel Hall married (first) December 24, 1861, Annie M., daughter of 
Philip and Sarah (Deihle) Mixsell, of Easton, Pennsylvania; granddaughter of 
Philip Mixsell, of Easton, Pennsylvania, born in Williams township, North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania, March 10, 1777, died in Easton, July 26, 1870; 
and great-granddaughter of Philip Mixsael, born in Conestoga township, Lan- 
caster county, Pennsylvania, November 23, 1731, died in Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, May 13, 181 7. The latter was a nephew of Jacob Mixsell, of 



PENN 21 

Leacock township, Lancaster county, who came from Germany in the ship 
"Mortonhouse", which arrived at Philadelphia, August 24, 1728. 

Philip Mixsell (2d) (1770-1870) married, April, 1804, Mary Wagner, born 
April 30, 1786, died February 26, 1856, daughter of Daniel and Eve (Opp) 
Wagner, of Easton, and granddaughter of Judge David Wagner, by his wife 
Susanna Umstead, born February 2, 1734, died April 22, 1819, daughter of John 
Umstead, of Skippack, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county, and his wife 
Deborah. John Umsted, who died in December, 1759, was a son of John 
Umsted, who died at Skippack, December 31, 1747, and grandson of Hans Peter 
Umsted, or Umstat, who with Barbara his wife and three children — John; Eve 
(married Hendrick Pannebecker), and Anna Margaretta — came from Crefeld, 
on the Rhine, arriving in Philadelphia, October 12, 1685, in the "Francis and 
Dorothy", settled in Germantown. John Umsted and Hendrick Pannebecker, 
his brother-in-law, were among the pioneer settlers on the Skippack. Annie 
Hall, died at Vicksburg, Mississippi, February 14, 1869, and September 13, 
1871, Colonel Peter Penn-Gaskell Hall married (second), at San Antonio, 
Texas, her sister, Amelia Mixsell. 

Issue of Major Penn-Gaskell and Annie M. {Mixsell) Hall: — 

Christiana Gulielma, b. at "Ashwood" April 19, 1863 ; unm. ; living at 906 Spruce street, 
Philadelphia, 1909. 

Eliza Hall Penn-Gaskell, b. at Baltimore, Md., Feb. I, 1865; m. July 1, 1892, Henry James 
Hancock, of the Philadelphia Bar, son of George W. and Elizabeth (James) Hancock, 
and 8th in descent from John Hancock, one of the Proprietors of New Jersey, through 
Judge William Hancock, of Hancock's Bridge, Salem Co., N. J., killed in his house 
by Col- Mawhood's Tory raiders, 1778; 7th in descent from Marmaduke Coate, of 
Wivelscomb, Somersetshire, who was in Wadham College, Oxford, with William 
Penn, and later his secretary in Pennsylvania ; 8th in descent from Nathaniel Allen, 
one of Penn's Commissioners ; 7th in descent from James West, one of the earliest 
grantees of land in Philadelphia, and first ship-builder there ; also descended from 
many early settlers in New England, and on maternal side descended from Morgan 
James, of Narbeth, Wales; Evan ap Thomas, of Laufkeven, Wales; Capt. John 
Seaman, of Hempstead, Long Island ; of Giles Knight, and his wife Mary English, 
of Horsley, Gloucestershire, who came over in the "Welcome" with William Penn ; 
and eighth in descent from Robert Lloyd and Lowry Jones, his wife, an account of 
whose descendants is given elsewhere in these volumes; Henry J. and Eliza (Hall) 
Hancock, had issue : — 

Jean Barclay Hancock, b. March 24, 1893. 

Edward Von Swartzbreck Hall, b. "Ashwood," Jan., 1867, d. at Vicksburg, Miss., Jan., 
1869. 

Amelia Mixsell Hall, b. Vicksburg, Miss., Jan., 1869, d. at Holly Springs, Miss., May, 
1869. 

Issue of Major Peter Penn-Gaskell Hall, and his second wife, Amelia Mix- 
sell: — 

William Penn-Gaskell Hall, b. January 16, 1873; of whom presently; 

Peter Penn-Gaskell Hall, b. in New York City, March 14, 1875; living at 906 Spruce 
street, Philadelphia, unm. in 1909; 

Amelia Penn-Gaskell Hall, b. in New York City, Feb. 9, 1877; m. Dec. 10, 1902, Richard 
Philip McGrann, of Grandview Farms, Lancaster county, Pa., at the Cathedral of 
St. Peter and St. Paul, Philadelphia, by Archbishop Ryan; they have issue, Bernard 
Penn-Gaskell McGrann, b. at "Grandview," Nov. 20, 1903. 

Philip Penn-Gaskell Hall, of New London township, Chester county, Pa., b. at "Ash- 
wood," Delaware county, Pa. ; Sept. 10, 1878; educated at Forsythe School, Philadel- 
phia; m. at Wilmington, Del., Dec. 21, 1901, Mary Eloise Fulton, of Philadelphia, 
of the family of Robert Fulton, of steamboat fame ; they had issue : — 
Mary Eloise Hall, b. at 906 Spruce street, Philadelphia, Oct. 4, 1902 ; 
Amelia Hall, born at 906 Spruce street, Philadelphia, Nov. 27, 1005. 



22 PENN 

William Penn-Gaskell Hall, of 1118 Spruce street, Philadelphia, and 
"Leventhorpe", Chester county, Pennsylvania, eldest son of Colonel Peter Penn- 
Gaskell Hall, by his second wife, Amelia Mixsell, was born at San Antonio, 
Texas, January 16, 1873. He was educated at Dr. Ferris' and the Forsythe 
Schools, in Philadelphia. He is a member of the Racquet Club, of the Society 
of Colonial Wars, Colonial Society, etc. He was married at St. Luke's Church, 
Philadelphia, by Rev. David M. Steel, December 8, 1904, to Caroline Hare Davis, 
daughter of Sussex Delaware Davis Esq., of the Philadelphia Bar, and his wife. 
Mary Fleming Hare, on account of whose ancestry in England and America is 
given in these volumes. 

Issue of William Penn-Gaskell, and Caroline Hare {Davis) Hall: — 

Mary Fleeming Hare Hal" b. at 11 18 Spruce street, Philadelphia, Dec. 31, 1905; 
William Leventhorpe Penn-Gaskell Hall, b. at Atlantic City, N. J., October 9, 1908. 







LOGAN ARMS. 



LOGAN FAMILY 

James Logan, William Penn's Secretary, confidential friend and adviser, 
as well as of his sons and grandsons, and for nearly half a century the factotum 
of the Colonial government of Pennsylvania, and one of its most prominent 
officials, Provincial Councillor, Judge, Assemblyman, Surveyor General, and 
at times all of these and more; came of an ancient and honorable family of Scot- 
land, and is thought to have been a grandson or great-grandson of Logan of 
Restalrigg, who in the year 1600 conspired with the Earl of Gowrie to kidnap 
James VI. of Scotland, later James I. of England, for which complicity, dis- 
covered after his death, his estate was confiscated and "his name, memory, and 
dignity abolished ; his arms cancelled, so that his posterity be excluded from any 
offices, honors, lands, tenements, etc." 

The Barony of Restalrigg, Scotland, originally was vested in the Leith family, 
and in the reign of Robert the Bruce came into the Logan family by the mar- 
riage of an heiress of the Leiths with a Logan. Sir Robert Logan, of this 
family, accompanied Sir James Douglas on his way to the Holy Land with the 
heart of their royal master Bruce, and with Douglas was slain by the Saracens, 
in Andalusia, Spain, in 1330. 

In 1398 Robert Logan, of Restalrigg, who married a daughter of Robert 
II., of Scotland, and was Admiral of Scotland, etc., bore the coat-of-arms 
granted to the family in commemoration of the heroic services and death of 
Sir Robert Logan, before mentioned, viz. : "Three passion nails piercing a 
man's heart." 

Sir Robert Logan, son of the Admiral, married Geilless, daughter of the 
fourth Lord Seton, and a descendant, another Sir Robert Logan, married about 
1650, Agnes, daughter of Patrick, Lord Gray. Another Logan of Restalrigg, in 
the sixteenth century, married Elizabeth, daughter of David Magill, of Cranston- 
riddel, King's Advocate ; and the attainted Logan of Restalrigg married a daugh- 
ter of Patrick Home, of Fastcastle, in Berwickshire. They had at least four 
sons — Robert, who succeeded his father as Laird of Restalrigg, and was sum- 
moned to answer his father's treason ; George ; John, and Archibald. 

Patrick Logan, the father of James, of Pennsylvania, was born in East Lothia, 
Scotland, and is said to have been a son of George and grandson of Logan 
of Restalrigg. He graduated with the degree of M. A. from the University of 
Edinburgh, and became a clergyman of the Established Church, but becoming 
a convert to Quakerism, in March, 1671, he removed to Lurgan, county Armagh, 
Ireland, and had charge of a Latin school there until the landing of William of 
Orange in 1689, when he removed with his family to Edinburgh, and soon after 
to Bristol, England, where he took charge of a Latin school under the care of 
Friends. He had married while in Scotland, Isabel, daughter of James Hume, 
a younger son of the House of St. Leonard's in the south of Scotland, by his 
wife Bethia Dundas, sister to the Laird of Dundas, of Didiston, about eight 
miles from Edinburgh, and a descendant of Lord Panmure. James Logan says, 
"The Earl of Murray assisted my grandfather to carry off my grandmother." 



24 LOGAN 

William Logan, eldest son of Patrick and Isabel (Hume) Logan, became an 
eminent physician at Bristol, England, and his nephew, William Logan, son 
of James of Philadelphia, was sent to his uncle by his parents at the age of 
twelve years and was educated under his supervision. At the death of the 
uncle, his nephew and namesake received under his will a legacy of considerable 
estate. 

James Logan was born at Lurgan, Ireland, October 20, 1674, and was edu- 
cated in his father's school there, acquiring a fair knowledge of Latin, Greek and 
Hebrew before he was thirteen years of age. In his fourteenth year he was 
apprenticed to a linen draper in Dublin, but he writes in his autobiography, "the 
Prince of Orange landing before I was bound, (tho I served my Master for 
6 Months) in the Winter of 1688, I went down to my Parents, and the wars 
in Ireland coming on, in the Spring I went over to Edinburgh with my mother, 
after which my father soon followed, who being out of employment, repaired to 
London & was there gladly received by our friends, Deputies to the General 
Meeting from Bristol in that city, as their School Master for the Latin language, 
and I followed him the next year." Patrick Logan returned to Ireland in 1693, 
leaving James in charge of the school. He retained his position there, continu- 
ing his studies until 1697, when he engaged in the shipping trade between Dublin 
and Bristol. His father died in 1702, and his mother married again "out of 
Meeting", and in 1717, again a widow, came to Pennsylvania and lived with her 
son until her death, January 17, 1722. Logan, when invited by William Penn 
to become his Secretary and accompany him to Pennsylvania, had in prospect 
a successful business career. The promise and prospects of material advance- 
ment in the new country, however, induced him to accept the offer, and he sailed 
with "The Founder" and his family in the "Canterbury," for Pennsylvania, 
September 9, 1699. 

James Logan was born and reared a Quaker, and held to that faith through 
life; but, aristocratic by birth and tendency, ambitious and courageous by nature, 
and always tenacious of his rights, the stricter tenets of the faith of his sect 
had little hold on his outward life; particularly was this so in reference to the 
defence of inherent rights and liberties by force if necessary. These traits, 
which marked his whole after career, were thus early made manifest to his dis- 
tinguished patron before their arrival in America. The vessel in which they 
were passengers being attacked by pirates, Logan took an active part in its 
defense, while Penn, the great apostle of peace, retired "below". After the 
pirates had been driven off and Penn reappeared, he reproved Logan for engag- 
ing in force of arms. Logan, with characteristic bluntness, entered into no lengthy 
defence of what he considered a perfectly natural action, but contented him- 
self with inquiring of his patron and master, since he did not wish that he 
should take part in the sanguinary struggle, "Why then did you not order me 
down too?" 

They arrived in Philadelphia in the early part of December, 1699, and Logan 
took up his residence in the family of William Penn, in Anthony Morris' "slate- 
roof house", on Second street, and remained there after Penn had returned to 
England two years later. Penn at once made him Secretary of the Governor's 
Council, and when about to depart for England made him also his Commissioner 
of Property and Receiver General, and he thereafter had principal charge of the 



LOGAN 25 

making of titles to lands, and the collection of quit rents, and had a general 
supervision of the vast business interests of Penn and his family in America. 
He gained and held the confidence of the Founder, and that of his heirs and suc- 
cessors in the proprietary interests, and his recommendations, as to the policy of 
government, the selection of members of Council, and other high officials, even 
the Deputy or Lieutenant Governors of the Province, as well as in all matters 
pertaining to the proprietary interests, had great weight as abundantly evidenced 
in the correspondence with Penn and his family. 

Logan became a voting member of the Governor's Council, April 21, 1702, 
and after the arrival of Lieutenant Governor John Evans was formally quali- 
fied as a member, February 8, 1703-4; and he continued an active and often a 
dominant member of that body until his voluntary retirement, May 29, 1747, 
and during nearly two years, after the retirement of Gov. Patrick Gordon, 
August 4, 1736, to June 1, 1738, as President and senior member of Council, he 
was acting Chief Executive of the Province. 

At the time that Logan became an acting member of Council and assumed 
the administration of the business affairs of the Proprietary, troubles were 
crowding about his great patron on both sides of the ocean. He was involved 
in various disputes with the Crown, and had quarreled with the settlers on the 
question of quit rents, large arrearages of which remained unpaid, and Logan's 
insistence on a perhaps too rigid enforcement of his master's rights and per- 
quisites, further aggravated the trouble with the anti-proprietary party, and on 
him as the confidential clerk and devout friend of Penn devolved cares too mani- 
fold for his youthful shoulders. By nature and inheritance an aristocrat, he 
resented the pretensions of the democratic element in the Assembly, always too 
ready to ignore the prerogatives of the Proprietary, and his haughty manner 
and want of diplomacy embroiled him in a quarrel between the young and dis- 
solute Governor Evans and the Assembly, which culminated in the articles of 
impeachment against him, exhibited February 26, 1706-7, charging him with 
inserting in the Governor's commissions, clauses contrary to the Royal Charter. 
He was also charged with holding two incompatible offices, of Surveyor Gen- 
eral, which he had held since its vacation by the death of Edward Pennington 
in 1702, and that of Clerk of the Council. The Governor notified the Assembly 
that he could find no warrant under his commission or the Royal Charter, to 
conduct a trial of impeachment, and Logan having sent to the Assembly a spe- 
cific answer to the several charges separately, the Assembly still clamored for 
an impeachment. Logan petitioned the Governor and Council to permit the 
Assembly to present their charges, but since the Governor declined to act in a 
judicial capacity at the trial the controversy continued with much bitterness 
for over two years, Governor John Evans having in the meantime been super- 
seded by Colonel Charles Gookin. The controversy was more in the nature 
of a contest between David Lloyd, Speaker of the Assembly and the leader of 
the anti-proprietary party, and James Logan as the direct representative of the 
Proprietary. Lloyd having issued addresses abusing and maligning Logan, he 
replied with some spirit, the Assembly on November 25, 1709, issued an order 
to Peter Evans, High Sheriff of Philadelphia, to take Logan into custody and 
confine him within the county jail "& him therein safely to detain & keep until 
he shall willingly make his submission to the satisfaction of this House &c." 



26 LOGAN 

Evans communicating with the Governor was directed by him, "that you suffer 
not the said James Logan to be in anywise molested by virtue of any order, or 
pretended order of Assembly whatsoever; and in case any of the said Assem- 
bly or others under pretense of any authority derived from them, shall attempt 
to molest or attach the said James Logan in his person, I do hereby Command 
you to oppose such attachment; &c." 

Logan had been long making preparation to sail for England, having about 
concluded his arrangements when the attachment was issued and soon after 
sailed. He remained abroad for over two years, and on the eve of his return 
to Pennsylvania, under date of November 30, 171 1, was commissioned by the 
trustees to whom William Penn had made over all his interests in Pennsylvania, 
as their Commissioner of Property and Receiver General. 

To these trustees, Henry Gouldney and Sylvanus Grove, he writes from 
"Spitthead, 19th iomo. 171 1," after beginning his journey homeward, urging 
them to use their utmost endeavors to have Penn execute "a good substantial 
will, such as may be seen to the honor of his name after he is gone wch. is not 
yet done." He arrived in Philadelphia, March 11, 1711-12, and at once resumed 
his seat in the Provincial Council and the duties of Clerk, as well as the many 
other duties in the interest of the Proprietary. In a letter to Hannah Penn, 
under date of April 27, 1716, he recommended the appointment of Sir Wil- 
liam Keith as Governor to succeed Gookin, and he arrived and assumed his 
duties, May 31, 1717, from which date Logan relinquished the duties of clerk 
to his deputies, Ralph Asheton and George Barclay. He was elected a member 
of the Board of Aldermen of the city of Philadelphia, October 17, 1717, and as 
Mayor of the city, October 2, 1722. He and Governor Keith did not get along 
very smoothly after the first few years of the latter's governorship, for the 
reason that Keith began to ignore the recommendations of Council and the 
interests of the Proprietaries to propitiate certain wealthy and influential mem- 
bers of the anti-Proprietary party, whose interests and friendship he thought 
it to his personal interest to cultivate, and Logan always true to his trust as the 
representative of the family, resented any abrogation of these rights or inter- 
ests. The breach widened and on May 20, 1723, Keith appointed his private 
secretary, Patrick Baird, Secretary of Council, to succeed Logan. On his 
retirement from the active work of Secretary of the Council in 1717, Logan 
engaged extensively in mercantile business and in the Indian trade. He had 
always been on intimate terms with the leading Indian chiefs and had negotiated 
many important treaties with them in the Proprietaries' interest, almost from 
the time of his arrival in Pennsylvania. He always retained the friendship 
of the Indians, and it was their custom to pay him periodical visits, late in his life, 
while residing at "Stenton", where he frequently entertained large numbers of 
them, as many as three and four hundred of them being hospitably entertained 
at "Stenton" for days at a time. 

On the expiration of his term of office as mayor of Philadelphia, he again 
went abroad, and as a result of his conference with Hannah Penn, and the trus- 
tees of the Penn estate, Keith was withdrawn and Patrick Gordon was com- 
missioned Deputy Governor, June 22, 1726, with instructions to immediately 
re-instate James Logan as Secretary of Council, and to "be ruled by him." 
Gordon also named him, on August 25, 1726, as one of the Justices of Phila- 



LOGAN 27 

delphia county, and he was recommissioned September 2, 1727, and became one 
of the Judges of the Court of Common Pleas. 

On August 25, 1 73 1, he was appointed Chief Justice of the Supreme Court 
of Pennsylvania, on the unanimous recommendation of Council, to succeed his 
old adversary, David Lloyd, who had recently died. He "filled this position 
until August 9, 1739, with marked ability. A volume of his decisions and 
charges to juries was published in England in 1736. 

On the death of Governor Patrick Gordon, in August, 1736, James Logan 
as senior member of Council, became its President, and as such filled the posi- 
tion of Chief Executive of the Province until the arrival of George Thomas, 
the next Deputy Governor, June 1, 1738, Logan having been offered the posi- 
tion of Deputy Governor, but declining. His two years administration of the 
affairs of the Province as Chief Executive were marked by the Border War, 
resulting from the dispute over the boundary between Maryland and Pennsyl- 
vania. 

It was at Logan's urgent request to be relieved from the burden of the gov- 
ernment of the Province, that George Thomas was sent to take the position of 
Deputy Governor. Down to this time his untiring industry had been taxed 
to the utmost by the cares of many offices, he having for many years been the 
general factotum of the government, bringing to bear upon its multifarious 
affairs all the force of his intellectual and business capacity. His correspond- 
ence with the Penn family, covering a period of nearly forty years, during 
which he had been actively employed in their interest and during the greater 
part of which he had been the most prominent figure in the government, are 
a mine of historical information, and reveal his marvelous industry, carefulness 
in all the details of the business, and an intellectual breadth and capacity for 
business that demand the admiration of posterity. An amateur in every act 
he was called to perform, when he undertook the work on the departure of Penn 
in 1701, having no private means, he espoused the cause of the then much abused 
founder of the Province, and undertook the herculean task of protecting and 
husbanding his interests and those of his family, against the opposition of 
some of the most prominent and influential men in the Colony, and for years 
carried the heavy burden of clerk, agent, book-keeper, steward, Surveyor and 
Receiver General, Councillor, and later Judge and Governor. 

In the midst of all this business and official activity, he found time for 
reading and the most exhaustive researches in the realms of science, letters, 
history and languages. Nearly all his business letters abroad contained orders 
for books, and he carried on an extensive correspondence with many of the 
most learned men of Europe, and there was no topic of science or literature 
that he was not qualified to discuss with the most learned scholars of his time. 
He sometimes indited a lively Greek "Ode to a friend", and often his letters 
were indited in the Latin tongue. 

He was an intimate friend and correspondent of Linnaeus, who, in com- 
pliment to the botanical knowledge transmitted to him by Logan, named for 
him an order of herbs and shrubs "Loganiaceae", containing thirty genera 
in over three hundred and fifty species. He was a close student of scientific 
phenomena and contributed a number of papers, now in the Transactions of 
the American Philosophical Society, on the result of his scientific observations 



28 LOGAN 

on lightning; "Apparent increase of the magnitude of the Sun and Moon near 
the horison", "Davis' Quadrant", "Experimenta et Meletemata circa Planarium 
Generationem", etc. He published Latin essays on reproduction in plants, and 
the aberration of light, translated Cato's "Distich", and Cicero's "De Senectute" 
and issued many other works many of which still remain in manuscript. 

With his withdrawl from the governorship in 1738, he retired almost entirely 
from public business and passed the remainder of his days at "Stenton", his 
country seat near Germantown, erected in 1728, on a plantation of five hun- 
dred acres. The mansion house, raised on the very day his son James was 
born, is still to be seen on an eminence a short distance east of Wayne Junc- 
tion, and is still owned by his descendants. 

This picturesque and dignified old mansion is rich in historic associations, 
and is one of the finest specimens of Colonial architecture. The Pennsylvania 
Society of Colonial Dames have recently restored it, and under their guardian- 
ship it is open to the public. It is built of variegated brick, two stories, sur- 
mounted by a pyramidal shaped roof, pierced by dormer windows, and is 
approached by a long avenue of grand old sycamore trees. The Colonial door- 
way is reached by three curious circular stone steps firmly clasped together with 
iron. The doorway opens into a great hall, paved with brick and wainscoted 
in white to the ceiling, with an open fireplace on the right, and a stately double 
staircase ascends through an archway in the rear. On either side are lofty 
rooms also wainscoted in white. Over the large fireplace in the room to the 
left is an ornamental iron back plate inscribed "J. L. 1728." In another room 
some of the original blue and white Dutch tiles, in grotesque pattern, still adorn 
the fireplace. 

One of the most attractive rooms in the house is the library, where the 
illustrious book-loving statesman and scholar spent most of his time during his 
declining years. It is a fine room, recently taking up half of the front of the house, 
on the second story, and once contained the finest collection of books of any 
private library in Colonial America, later presented by the collector to the city 
of Philadelphia, through the medium of the Loganian Library, founded by him, 
and later merged with the Philadelphia Library. The ancient house, so long 
inhabited by the Logan family, is full of interest to the lover of the oldentime. 
From cellar to garret there are all sorts of quaint nooks and corners, and lead- 
ing from the cellar to the stables is a long underground passage, which is the 
subject of many a strange legend. No longer surrounded by its ample estate, 
"Stenton" at this time presents a pathetic appearance, as to surroundings. 
Within a few hundred yards of the mansion on the south and west terminate 
the rows of brick houses and intervening streets — the built up portion of the 
city of Philadelphia once miles away — on the northwest overshadowed by the 
elevated tracks of the Philadelphia and Reading Railway, at Wayne Junction, 
and beyond, to the north and east, encompassed by the irregular gradings and 
elevations of new streets and buildings of a great city which in its onward 
march of expansion has leaped over this little oasis of faded Colonial grandeur 
and pushed for miles beyond, leaving "Stenton", the old home of the departed 
statesman with only a pathetic semblance of its departed grandeur and mag- 
nificence. 

James Logan, at the time he settled at "Stenton", had acquired a fortune 



LOGAN 29 

in commerce, in trade with the Indians, and by the purchase and sale of desir- 
able tracts of land in all parts of the Colony, which his position as Surveyor 
General gave him opportunity of securing. He was therefore able to live in 
princely style, and entertain with a free-hearted hospitality. For more than a cen- 
tury "Stenton" as the home of the Logan family was the resort of notable and dis- 
tinguished persons of the Colonies and from abroad, and its mistresses were among 
the most accomplished women of their time. 

James Logan voluntarily retired from the Provincial Council, May 29, 1747, 
having taken little part in its deliberations for several years previously. He 
died at "Stenton", December 31, 1751, and was buried at the Friends' Bury- 
ing Ground, in Philadelphia. 

James Logan married, at Friends' Meeting, Philadelphia, December 9, 17 14, 
Sarah Read, daughter of Charles Read, a prominent merchant of Philadelphia, 
by his second wife, Amy (Child) Stanton, widow of Edward Stanton, and a 
half-sister of Charles Read, the Provincial Councillor. 

Amy Child, "of Hertford, in the County of Hertford, Spinster", by lease 
and release, dated January 24 and 25, 1681, purchased of William Penn five 
hundred acres of land to be laid out in Pennsylvania. After her purchase she 
married Edward Stanton, who obtained a warrant of survey for the said five 
hundred acres of land, dated 9mo. (November) 1686, and it was surveyed in 
Solebury township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania. Edward Stanton died, and 
Amy was married to her second husband, Charles Read, at Middletown Monthly 
Meeting, in Bucks county, September 23, 1690. He joined her in a conveyance 
of the Solebury plantation to John Scarborough, December 19, 1698, and the 
resurvey to Scarborough, with the information above noted, is mentioned in 
the Minutes of the Commissioners of Property, under date of May 19, 1702. 
Amy Child was probably of the same family as Henry Child, of Coleshill, Amer- 
sham, county Hertford, who purchased one thousand five hundred acres of 
William Penn, at about the same date, and came to Pennsylvania, but later 
returned to England, leaving here a son, Cephas Child, who has numerous 
descendants in Bucks county, Philadelphia, and elsewhere in Pennsylvania. 

Charles Read, father of Mrs. Logan, was a member of the Board of Alder- 
men of Philadelphia, under the Charter of 1701, and represented Philadelphia 
in the Assembly in 1704. Charles Read, the Councillor, is said to have been 
a son of a former marriage, while Sarah Logan and Rachel Pemberton were 
the daughters of Amy (Child) Stanton, the second wife. 

James Logan had many years prior to his marriage been an ardent suitor 
for the hand of Anne Shippen, the beautiful daughter of Edward Shippen, 
but she rejected his suit and married Thomas Story, Logan's colleague in the 
Board of Property, with whom he seems to have had considerable contro- 
versy, as evidenced by his correspondence with Penn, probably owing largely 
to their rivalry for the hand of Anne Shippen. Under date of umo. 16, 1704-5, 
Penn writes Logan, "I am anxiously grieved for thy unhappy love for thy sake 
and my own, for T. S., and thy discord has been for no service here any more 
than there; and some say that come thence that thy amours have so altered 
or influenced thee that thou art grown touchy and apt to give rough and short 
answers, which many call haughty. I make no judgment, but caution thee, 
as in former letters, to let truth preside and bear impertinence as patiently as 



30 LOGAN 

thou canst." Logan in his reply 3mo. 17, 1705, represents himself as very much 
abused and maligned by Thomas Story, whom he says, "in the middle of a 
pleasant discourse broke out into such a Thunder as if he carried ye whole 
magazine of anathemas in his breast, and so continued for 5months his blow 
at Meetings." After further explanation of their differences he concludes, "I 
am sorry I spent so much paper on it & therefore shall close ye subject when 
I have added that I wish he had some more Honour to season his religion, it 
would keep much ye sweeter." 

Issue of James and Sarah (Reed) Logan: — 

Sarah; b. Dec. 9, 1715, d. Dec. 13, 1744; m. Isaac Norris; 

James ; 

William, b. July 14, 1718, of whom presently; 

Hannah, b. Feb. 21, 1719-20, d. Dec. 18, 1761 ; m. John Smith, of whom later ; 

Rachel, d. young; 

Charles, d. young; 

James Logan Jr., b. Dec, 1728, d. Sept. 25, 1803; resided in Philadelphia; was sur- 
viving trustee of Loganian Library, and as such agreed with directors of Library 
Company of Philadelphia, for union of the two collections, and in 1792 secured an Act 
of Assembly vesting the collections of the Loganian Library in the directors of the 
Library Company and in himself and two associates to be by him appointed, who 
with said directors were to hold the same in trust for the uses and purposes of the 
Library. At the death of the said James Logan Jr. the next heir male of his father, 
resident within seven miles of Philadelphia was to succeed him as trustee, always 
preferring issue of eldest son in male line to that of the female line ; with power to 
fill vacancies, etc. Under date of Dec. 5, 1743, Richard Hockley writes: — "Mr. Logan 
has given the Corporation (of Philadelphia City) his lot opposite the Governor's 
Garden & books to the value of iooo£ & intends a building 60 feet front to put the 
books in, for the use of the city." The Library then placed at the service of the 
public was the beginning of the Loganian Library. The building referred to by Mr. 
Hockley was constructed, but the deed therefore was afterwards withdrawn and 
cancelled by the elder Logan, who contemplated placing the trust on different terms, 
but he died before accomplishing his object. Under his will certain funds were set 
apart for the permanent support of the Library, among which were the proceeds of a 
permanent ground rent secured on 500 acres of land in Solebury township, Bucks 
county, known as the Great Spring Tract which the Library still receives. He m. 
Sarah Armitt, but left no issue. 

William Logan, second son of James Logan, born in Philadelphia, July 
14, 1 7 18, at the age of twelve years was sent to England to be educated under 
the care of his uncle and namesake, Dr. William Logan, a prominent and 
wealthy physician of Bristol, England, and remained there until he arrived 
at manhood. On his return to Philadelphia, he engaged in the mercantile trade 
with his father, and was made attorney of the Penn family on the death of 
Andrew Hamilton in 1741. He was actively engaged in trade until the death of 
his father in 1751, when becoming the owner of "Stenton" he took up his resi- 
dence there and devoted himself to agriculture. 

He was elected to the Common Council of Philadelphia, October 4, 1743, 
and remained a member of that body until the municipal government of the 
city was suspended by the Revolution in 1776. When his father on May 29, 
1747, sent word to the Governor's Council that he no longer considered himself 
a member of that body, William Logan was immediately called to take his 
place, and he continued a member of Council until his death on October 28, 
1776. He was a far stricter Quaker than his father, and was always actively 
opposed to war on any pretext. He voted against the proposition to Council 



LOGAN 31 

to pay for Indian scalps, on April 6, 1756, and against the declaration of war 
four days later. 

With his cousin, Israel Pemberton, and others, he formed the Peace Asso- 
ciation, and offered to go at his own expense to the Delaware Indians to per- 
suade them to lay down their arms and enter into a treaty of peace. Sir Wil- 
liam Johnston, Governor of New York, being already negotiating a peace 
with them, the argument of the Peace Association carried considerable weight, 
and William Logan was one of the delegates to the Conference with the Indians 
at Easton, when peace was declared. 

William Logan cared less for literary and scientific pursuits than his father. 
He was an extensive traveller and left a Journal of some of his rambles, nota- 
bly that of a visit to Georgia. With his brother James and sister, Hannah 
Smith, he on August 28, 1754, deeded library property, designed by his father 
for the use of the people of Philadelphia, to a board of trustees, consisting of 
himself, his brother James, Israel Pemberton Jr., his first cousin, William 
Allen, Richard Peters and Benjamin Franklin; William Logan acting as librarian 
until his death. He also bequeathed to the library thirteen hundred volumes 
bequeathed to him by his uncle, Dr. William Logan, of Bristol, England, with 
the provision that such as were duplicates of what the library already contained, 
should be given to the Philadelphia Library. 

Conscientiously opposed to war, and deeply attached to the Penn family 
whom he had long represented in America, William Logan naturally held aloof 
from active part in the revolutionary struggle, and like many others of his ilk, 
was often an object of suspicion, and had he lived until the British threatened 
Philadelphia, would doubtless have been arrested and subjected to considerable 
annoyance as were many other wealthy and influential men of his class. He 
lived quietly at "Stenton" during the inception of the national struggle, and 
attended the meetings of Provincial Council long after the battle of Lexington. 

Like his father, he was a great friend of the Indians, travelled among them 
frequently without an armed escort, even in days when Indian atrocities had 
alarmed the whole frontier; and frequently entertained large delegations of 
the aborigines at "Stenton". He lived a life of activity and good deeds, thor- 
oughly consistent with his religious belief. He died at "Stenton", October 29, 
1776, and was buried at the Friends' Burying Ground. He married, March 
24, 1740, Hannah Emlen, daughter of George Emlen, born in Philadelphia, June 
1, 1722, died at "Stenton", January 30, 1777. 

Issue of William and Hannah (Emlen) Logan: — 

Sarah, d. young; 
James, d. young; 

William, b. 1747; studied medicine, graduating at Univ. Edinburgh, 1770; d. in Philadel- 
phia, January 17, 1772, in his twenty-fifth year ; m. Sarah, dau. of Dr. Portsmouth, 
who d. March, 1797; 
Sarah, b. Jan. 6, 1751 ; m. Thomas Fisher; 

George, b. Sept. 9, 1753, m. Deborah Norris (See Norris Family) ; of whom presently; 
Charles, d. in Virginia, 1794; married at Friends' Meeting, Philadelphia, July 8, 1779, 
Mary Pleasants, and had issue : — 

James Logan, merchant of Philadelphia ; lost at sea ; will probated April 29, 1805 ; 

d. s. p. ; 
Sarah Pleasants Logan, m. Dr. James Carter, of Prince Edward county, Va. ; 
Maria Virginia Logan, m. (first) Robert Woodson, a Virginia lawyer; (second) 
William F. Carter, of Virginia; 



12 LOGAN 

Harriet M. Logan, m. (first) John St. John, of Virginia; (second) David 

Howard ; 
Juliana Logan, m. Neil McCloud, merchant, of Virginia ; 

Charles Franklin, b. Jan. 3, 1793; m. Sarah W. Robeson, daughter of Jonathan 
Robeson, of Philadelphia, and had issue : — 
James Logan, d. s. p. Dec. 19, 1866; 
Charles; 

Sally Robeson Logan, d. April 6, 1877 ; m. James S. Newbold, of Philadel- 
phia, broker. 

George Logan, son of William and Hannah (Emlen) Logan, and who 
survived his parents, was born at "Stenton", September 9, 1753. He is said 
to have been the last Pennsylvania Quaker to attain eminence in public life, and 
the only strict member of the Society of Friends that ever sat in the United 
States Senate. 

When a boy George Logan was sent to school in Worcester, England. His 
father destined him for a mercantile career, and on his return from abroad he 
was placed in the counting house of John Reynolds, an eminent merchant and 
shipper of foreign goods in Philadelphia. He, however, soon decided to study 
medicine, and after the death of his father, entered the University of Edin- 
burgh, from which he graduated in 1779, and then crossing to the continent, 
spent some time perfecting himself for his profession in Paris, where he was 
kindly received and introduced by Dr. Benjamin Franklin, then Minister to 
the French Court. From the distinguished philosopher and patriot he possibly 
imbibed the democratic principles that marked his subsequent career, and which 
he certainly did not inherit from his austere and aristocratic grandsire. He 
returned to Philadelphia in the autumn of 1780, and finding the old family 
home, "Stenton", laid waste by the Revolutionary war, bought the interest 
therein of his brother and sister, and turning his attention to its restoration and 
improvement, took up his home there and devoted himself for some years to 
agriculture. He became a member of the American Philosophical Society, and 
two contributions to their "Transactions" published in 1797, on "Experiments 
in Gypsum" and "Rotation of Crops", show that he had become a scientific 
and practical farmer. He was elected to the Pennsylvania Assembly in 1785, 
and regularly re-elected for the next three years. He was an intimate friend 
of Thomas Jefferson, and warmly espoused the cause and doctrines of the 
Democratic party. He was again elected to the Pennsylvania Legislature as 
the nominee of that party in 1795, and re-elected the following year. Like his 
father, an ardent advocate of peace, he went to France in June, 1798, in an 
effort, on his own responsibility, to prevent a war between that country and 
the United States. Landing at Hamburg, he met Lafayette, who enabled him 
to make his way to Paris, where he arrived on August 7, 1798. Learning from 
the United States Consul General, that President Adams' Commissioners had 
left without accomplishing their mission, and that all negotiations were at an 
end, and that an embargo had been laid on all American shipping in the ports 
of France, and many American seamen confined as prisoners, he presented 
to Tallyrand his letter of introduction from Thomas Jefferson, and made a 
strenuous effort for the relief of his countrymen. Finding the minister obdur- 
ate, he obtained an introduction to Citizen Merlin, one of the Directory, and 
securing a footing of warm friendship with him was able through him to save 



LOGAN 33 

the property of a number of persons from confiscation, and secured the release 
of a number of the imprisoned seamen. His interference was resented by the 
Federalist officials, and on his return in 1799, as the bearer of despatches from 
the Consul General, he found them duplicated before his arrival, and the 
Federalist majority in Congress passed in that year an act later known as the 
"Logan Act", forbidding any private citizen to take any part in diplomacy, or 
to treat with a foreign country, without the authority of the government. He 
was re-elected to the Pennsylvania Assembly in 1799, and in 1801 was appointed 
to the United States Senate to fill a vacancy caused by the resignation of Peter 
Muhlenberg, serving out the full term which expired March 4, 1807. In 1810 
he again went abroad on a mission of peace, this time in an effort to prevent 
the second war with Great Britain, which followed in 1812. He died at "Sten- 
ton", April 9, 1821, in his sixty-eighth year. 

George Logan married, September 6, 1781, Deborah Norris, born October 19, 
1761, died at "Stenton", February 2, 1839. She was the second child and eldest 
daughter of Charles and Mary (Parker) Norris and was the "Debby Norris" 
to whom Sally Wister indited her "Journal". She was an exceedingly hand- 
some and gifted woman, and as the mistress of "Stenton" "drew around her the 
most eminent and illustrious men and women of the then leading city of the 
young Republic," as well as distinguished visitors and diplomats from abroad. 
President George Washington was frequently entertained there while Philadel- 
phia was the seat of the national government, and here Citizen Genet met and 
dined with the prominent men of this country, and intrigued to secure their sup- 
port of the struggling French Republic. 

Issue of Dr. George and Deborah (Norris) Logan: — 

Albanus Charles, of whom presently; 

Gustavus George, b. Oct. 6, 1786, d. Aug. 20, 1800; 

Algernon Sydney, d. s. p. at "Stenton", Dec. 10, 1835. 

Albanus Charles Logan, eldest son of Dr. George and Deborah (Debby) 
(Norris) Logan, born at "Stenton", November 22, 1783, was also a physician. 
He succeeded his father as Trustee of the Loganian Library. He died Febru- 
ary 10, 1854. He married his second cousin, Maria Dickinson, born November 
6, 1783, died 1854, daughter of John and Mary (Norris) Dickinson, and grand- 
daughter of Isaac Norris, and his wife Sarah Logan, daughter of James Logan, 
the famous secretary. Her paternal ancestry, as well as that of her husband's 
mother, "Debby" Norris, is given elsewhere in these volumes, under the title of 
the "Norris Family." 

Issue of Albanus Charles and Maria (Dickinson) Logan: — 

Mary Norris Logan, d. unm. October 3, 1886. 

Sarah Elizabeth Logan, b. Nov. 6, 1812, d. March 18, 1859; m. Oct. 10, 1833, Thomas 

Forrest Betton, M. D., of Germantown, d. May 24, 1875. 
Gustavus George Logan, b. May 15, 1815 ; of whom presently. 
John Dickinson Logan, b. June 21, 1817; of whom presently. 

Gustavus George Logan, eldest son of Albanus Charles and Maria (Dick- 
inson) Logan, born at "Stenton", May 15, 1815, as eldest male representative 
of James Logan, the Provincial Councillor, was Trustee of the Loganian Library 
3 



34 LOGAN 

until his death, December 17, 1876. He married, October 29, 1846, Anna Arm- 
att, daughter of William and Jane Caroline Armatt, of "Loudon," Philadelphia 
county. 

Issue of Gustavus George and Anna (Armatt) Logan: — 

Dickinson Norris Logan, b. Oct. 5, 1848, d. Jan. 28, 1851. 

Albanus Charles Logan, b. Sept. 19, 1850, the present owner of "Stenton" with his 
sister Maria Dickinson Logan, and eldest male representative of the great secretary. 
William Armatt Logan, b. Dec. 1, 1852, d. March 31, 1859. 
Fannie Armatt Logan, b. Oct. 14, 1854. 
Maria Dickinson Logan, b. May 30. 1854. 
Jane Caroline Armatt Logan, b. Sept. 22, 1859. 

John Dickinson Logan, second son of Albanus Charles and Maria (Dick- 
inson) Logan, born at "Stenton", June 21, 1817, graduated from Medical De- 
partment of the University of Pennsylvania, and lived first at "Somerville", 
later at Baltimore, Maryland, where he died April 25, 1881. He married, April 
28, 1846, Susan Wister, of the well-known Wister family of Germantown, an 
account of which is given elsewhere in these volumes, three or four members 
of which intermarried with the Logan family. 

Algernon Sydney Logan, son of John Dickinson and Susan (Wister) Logan, 
born May 17, 1747, married, November 4, 1873, Mary Wynne Wister, born Feb- 
ruary 2, 1847, daughter of William Wynne and Hannah (Lewis) Wister, and 
they reside at "Somerville". They had issue, one son, 

Robert Restalrigg Logan, b. Dec 3, 1874, who m. June 6, 1898, Sara Wetherill, and had 
issue : 

Deborah Logan Wetherill, b. Feb. 16, 1900. 

Hannah Logan, second daughter of James Logan, the distinguished Pro- 
vincial Secretary, born February 21, 1719-20, and named in honor of Hannah 
Penn, the second wife of her father's honored patron, married, December 7, 
1748, John Smith, then a wealthy and prominent young merchant of Philadel- 
phia, and a member of the Pennsylvania Assembly. Their courtship as gleaned 
from the diary of John Smith, is the subject of a delightful book, entitled "Han- 
nah Logan's Courtship", recently published, which gives us the best picture of 
Colonial life in Philadelphia to be found in our later day literature. The intro- 
duction to the diary opens with an account of the visit to "Stenton", June 1, 
1744, of the Indian Commissioners from Virginia, on their way to meet the 
Iroquois chieftans at Lancaster to negotiate a treaty, and quotes from the Jour- 
nal of William Black, the Secretary of the Commission, published in the Penn- 
sylvania Magazine; and the merry young Secretary thus describes his impres- 
sions of Hannah Logan, "At last the Tea Table was set and one of his daugh- 
ters presented herself in Order to fill out the Fashionable Warm Water; I was 
really very much surprised at the appearance of so Charming a Woman, in a 
place where the seeming moroseness and Goutified Father's Appearance Prom- 
ised no such Beauty, tho' it must be allowed the Man seem'd to have some Re- 
mains of a handsome enough person, and a Complection beyond his years. 

"But to return to the Lady, I declare I burnt my Lips more than once, being 
quite thoughtless of the warmness of my Tea, entirely lost in Contemplating her 
Beauties. She was tall and slender, but Exactly well shap'd, her Features Per- 



LOGAN « 

1317989 

feet and Complection, tho' a little the whitest, yet her countenance had some- 
thing in it extremely Sweet. Her eyes press'd a very great softness, denoting a 
compos'd Temper and Serenity of Mind. Her Manner was Grave and Resev'd 
and to be short, she had a Sort of Majesty in her Person and Agreeableness 
in her Behavior, which at once Surprised and Charmed the Beholders." 

On her removal to Burlington, New Jersey, with her husband in the year 
1756, Hannah (Logan) Smith, entered the ministry of the Society of Friends 
and conformed to the "meek and lowly" habits she conceived to be consistent 
with her professions, refusing to ride as formerly in her "four wheeled Chaise, 
with Driver & horses," and travelled to and from the meetings where she min- 
istered on horseback. She died at Burlington, January 15, 1762, at the age of 
forty-two years. Her husband writes of her: "In the relation of Child, Wife 
and Mother, she was tenderly and anxiously careful to fill her place." 

John Smith was born at Burlington, New Jersey, March 20, 1722, and was 
the second son of the Honourable Richard Smith Jr. by his wife Abigail Rapier 
or Raper, daughter of Thomas Raper, who was born at Sindersby, near Thursk, 
Yorkshire, and came to New Jersey in 1681, where he married Abigail Perkins, 
daughter of William and Mary Perkins, who in 1677 came from Seilby, in one 
of the first English vessels that came up the river Delaware; the father dying at 
sea, and the mother settling with her family at Burlington. 

The "Burlington Smiths" from whom John Smith descended were of a 
Quaker family of the name that had been residents of Bramham, in the West 
Riding of Yorkshire, since the sixteenth century. Richard Smith, the great- 
grandfather of John, was baptized at Bramham in 1626, and was a son of Rich- 
ard Smith of Bramham, born 1593, died 1647, the first ancestor of the family of 
whom we have any record. Richard (2) was educated for the Law. He joined 
the Friends when a young man, and in 1660 was with five hundred other Quakers 
imprisoned in York Castle. He was the author of a tract called "A Christian 
Directory." He was married in 1653, before Alderman Paul Peale, of York, 
to Anne Yeates, daughter of William Yeates, a Quaker resident of Albrough. 
She was also imprisoned in York Castle in 1688, the year of her husband's 
decease. Richard Smith was one of the first purchasers with William Penn and 
Edward Byllinge of the West Jersey lands, and his eldest son John came over 
in 1677 to look after it. The other sons, Daniel, Joseph, Emanuel, Samuel and 
Richard following later. 

Samuel Smith, the grandfather of John Smith, first above mentioned, was 
a son of Richard and Anne (Yeates) Smith, and was born at Bramham, York- 
shire, in 1672, and in 1694 emigrated to New Jersey and settled at Burlington, 
where he became prominent in local and Provincial affairs, serving in the Pro- 
vincial Assembly. He married Elizabeth Lovett, daughter of Edmond Lovett, 
of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and had one son Richard Smith Jr. and a daugh- 
ter Mary, who married Joseph Noble, a son of Abel Noble of Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania. 

Richard Smith Jr., born in Burlington in 1699, was a prominent member of 
Burlington Friends' Meeting, and a prosperous merchant, being extensively en- 
gaged in the West India trade, and owning a number of vessels, some of which 
were built at his own shipyard at Burlington. His extensive wharves were at 
Green Bank, where he received grain, lumber, and other products of New Jer- 



36 LOGAN 

sey for shipment to the West Indies in exchange for sugar, rum, molasses and 
other products of those isles. He erected in 1720, shortly after his marriage 
to Abigail Raper, a spacious town house, on Main street, Burlington, not far from 
the river, and also owned a country seat, near Green Hill, once the seat of Gov- 
ernor Samuel Jennings. He was for nearly twenty years a member of New 
Jersey Assembly, and was held in high respect by the prominent men of the 
Province. According to James Alexander, one of the Councillors of New Jer- 
sey, Governor Belcher relied chiefly on his counsel in state affairs, and he was 
"by much the Man of the best Sense and Interest in the Assembly." His eldest 
son was Samuel Smith, (1720-1776) the historian, member of Provincial Assem- 
bly and Council, and with his brother John, and Charles Read the Custodian of 
the seal and acting Governor during the absence in England of Governor Wil- 
liam Franklin, and subsequently Provincial Treasurer. His "History of New 
Jersey", issued in 1765, is still the standard history of the state during Colonial 
times. He was also in a sense the first historian of Pennsylvania, as the final 
compiler of the "History of the Quakers in Pennsylvania", authorized by Phil- 
adelphia yearly meeting from which Proude and later historians drew largely 
in compiling their works. He was further associated with Pennsylvania by his 
marriage with Jane Kirkbride, in 1741, daughter of Joseph Kirkbride, one of 
the largest land owners and most prominent men of Bucks county. 

William Lovett Smith, third son of Richard and Abigail (Raper) Smith, born 
1726, died 1798, was early in life also a West India merchant, but later engaged 
in agricultural pursuits, near Burlington, naming his estate "Bramham" after the 
ancestral estate in England. He married, in 1749, Mary Doughty, daughter of 
Daniel and Amy Doughty. 

Richard Smith, youngest brother of John, first mentioned, and the fourth 
son of Richard and Abigail (Raper) Smith, born 1735, died 1803; studied law 
in the office of Joseph Galloway at Philadelphia, and practiced there and in New 
Jersey. He took an active part in political affairs and was Recorder of Burling- 
ton county, Assemblyman and Provincial Treasurer of New Jersey. At the 
outbreak of the Revolution he was elected to represent his state in the Continental 
Congress, and became its first Secretary, his portrait appearing in Molleson's 
painting, "The First Prayer in Congress". He devoted much time to literary 
pursuits. He married Elizabeth Rodman, daughter of John Rodman, and resided 
at his seat called "Bramham Hall". He died at Natchez, Mississippi, in 1803, 
while on a tour of the southern states. 

John Smith began his diary before referred to, in 1736, when a youth of 
fourteen, residing at his father's house in Burlington, and continued it with a 
few interruptions for fourteen years. He removed to Philadelphia in 1743, and 
his notes of everyday life in the metropolis of the American Colonies for the 
next nine years present a clear picture of Colonial life at that time among the 
wealthy and governing class to which he belonged and with whom he was in daily 
and intimate association, presenting an interesting personal view of nearly every 
one of consequence in the Province at that time, as well as of many notable visi- 
tors, and records many interesting and important events. 

John Smith had just attained his majority when in 1743 he located in Phila- 
delphia and engaged in the mercantile and shipping trade, in which he was 
very successful, and being a man of wealth, education and refinement enjoyed 



LOGAN 



37 



the best society of the aristocratic Quaker City, and belonged to the most exclu- 
sive social organizations. In 1746 he purchased a fine country seat at Point-no- 
point, on the Delaware above Philadelphia, on which was a fine brick mansion, 
and employing a gardener devoted much time to its beautification and in agricul- 
tural and horticultural pursuits. He was intimate with John Bartram, the great 
American botanist, and the leading scholars and scientists of the day, and gave 
much time to reading and literary pursuits. He published in 1747 a little book 
entitled. "The Doctrine of Christianity, As held by the People Called Quakers, 
Vindicated: In Answer to Gilbert Tennent's Sermon on the Lawfulness of 
War." 

In 1746 he was one of the promoters of the Philadelphia Contributionship, 
one of the first insurance companies in the country, and in 175 1 helped to found 
the Pennsylvania Hospital. He was a trustee of the Philadelphia Library Com- 
pany, a member of the American Philosophical Society, and took a prominent 
part in the Philadelphia Quarterly Meeting of Friends, of which he served for 
a time as clerk. He was elected to the Pennsylvania Assembly in 1750, and 
re-elected in 1751 and 1752, and his diary shows that he was in almost constant 
attendance and took an active part in its deliberations. His courtship of Hannah 
Logan began almost with his first appearance in Philadelphia and ended with 
their marriage five years later. Isaac Norris, who had married Hannah's elder sister 
Sarah, many years Speaker of Assembly and referred to by James Logan as 
the "most learned man in Philadelphia", went to his father-in-law and sought 
the hand of Hannah for his younger brother Charles, and was very much 
offended when John Smith carried off the prize, refusing to attend the wedding 
or to hold further communication with the Smiths. 

John and Hannah (Logan) Smith resided in Philadelphia until 1756, when 
John gave up trade and removed with his family to Burlington, taking up their 
residence in the house erected by his father in 1729. He continued to take 
active interest in public affairs, and in 1757 was a subscriber to the "New Jersey 
Association for Helping the Indians". On December 15, 1753, he was appointed 
a member of the King's Council for New Jersey. In 1761 he was named as 
one of the Commissioners to try pirates, and in 1768, with his brother Samuel 
and Charles Read, was commissioned to take charge of the Seals of the Province 
of New Jersey, during the absence of Governor William Franklin in England. He 
died at Burlington, March 16, 1771, in his forty-ninth year. 

Robert Proude, the historian, says of John Smith, "He was engaging, open, 
friendly and undesigning in his address and behavior: of a cheerful and benev- 
olent disposition, well skilled in the laws of his country : and very ready, gen- 
erous and serviceable in giving his advice and assistance. In his religious char- 
acter he exhibited an excellent example of true practical Christianity, free from 
affectation and narrowness of mind. He was in several relations one of the best 
of neighbors and men." 

Issue of John and Hannah (Logan) Smith: — 

Sarah Logan Smith, b. Aug. 29, 1749, d. April 23, 1769; m. May 9, 1768, William 
Dillwyn, of Philadelphia, later of Higham Lodge, county Middlesex, England, and 
had issue : 

Susannah Dillwyn, b. March 3, 1769, d. s. p., Nov. 24, 1819; m. April 16, 1795, 
Samuel Emlen, of Philadelphia. 



38 LOGAN 

James Smith, b. Oct. 15, 1750, d. in Philadelphia, 1833; m. Jan. 13, 1772, Esther 
Hewlings, daughter of William Hewlings, of Burlington ; was for many years a 
merchant of Burlington county, New Jersey. They had issue : 

Hannah Smith, b. Nov. 26, 1773; m. Dec. II, 1794, Henry S. Drinker, of Phila- 
delphia. 
Sarah Logan Smith, b. Sept. 28, 1778, m. Hugh Roberts, of Philadelphia. 
John J. Smith, b. July 26, 1780; m. Nov. 6, 1805, Mary Roberts, daughter of 

George ; lived in Philadelphia. 
Elizabeth Smith, d. young. 
William Smith, d. young. 
James Smith, d. young. 

Charles Logan Smith, b. March 16, 1787, d. May 14, 181 1. 
Abigail Bowne Smith, b. Dec. 2, 1788; m. Feb. 18, 1813, John Drinker. 
Elizabeth Smith, b. August 25, 1790; m, Mordecai Lewis, of Philadelphia. 
Susannah Dillwyn Smith, b. March 5, 1792; m. Samuel Allinson, of New Jersey. 
James Logan Smith, b. Sept. 14, 1793; m. (first) Elizabeth Alden ; (second) 
Mary Couper, daughter of Dr. James Couper ; settled at New Castle, Del. 
Hannah Smith, b. Oct. 29, 1753 ; m. Jan., 1780, John Coxe, of "Oxmeade", Burlington 
county, N. J.; had a daughter, Hannah Coxe, m. George Davis, M. D., of Ostego, N. Y. 
John Smith, of Green Hill, b. Nov. 2, 1761, d. April 18, 1803; m. April 8, 1784, 
Gulielma Maria Morris, of whom presently. 

John Smith Jr., youngest son of John and Hannah (Logan) Smith, lived 
at "Green Hill", the country seat established by his grandfather, Hon. Richard 
Smith, in Burlington county, New Jersey. He married Gulielma Maria Mor- 
ris, born 1766, died 1826, daughter of William Morris, by his wife Margaret 
Hill, daughter of Dr. Richard Hill, of the island of Madeira, by his wife Deborah 
Moore. The children of John and Gulielma Maria (Morris) Smith were there- 
fore descended from at least five Provincial Councillors, viz : Thomas Lloyd, 
first President of Penn's Council ; James Logan, both acting Governors of Penn- 
sylvania ; Anthony Morris, of the Provincial Council of Pennsylvania, and Rich- 
ard Smith and John Smith, of the Governor's Council of New Jersey. Among 
their ancestors were also nearly twice that number who served in the Provincial 
Assemblies and held high positions in the Provincial affairs of the two Provinces. 
Issue of John and Gulielma Maria (Morris) Smith: — 

Henry Hill Smith, d. young. 

Margaret Hill Smith, m. Samuel Hilles, of Wilmington, Del. 

Richard M. Smith, b. June 27, 1788; became the owner of "West Hill", Burlington 
county, on the death of his cousin, Susannah (Dillwyn) Emlen, in 1819, and d. there 
Feb. 11, 1826; m. Susanna Collins, daughter of Isaac Collins, the celebrated printer 
of Trenton, N. J. 

Rachel Smith, b. May 26, 1792, d. Oct. 7, 1839; m. George Stewardson, a Philadelphia 
merchant, had issue. 

Milcah Martha Smith, d. young. 

John Jay Smith, b. June 16, 1798; m. Rachel C. Pearsall, of whom presently. 

Morris Smith, b. Aug. 29, 1801, d. March' 28, 1832; m. Caroline M., dau. of Robert 
Smith, of Abington, Montgomery county, Pa., and was the father of Richard Morris 
Smith, of Philadelphia, author of the "Burlington Smiths" ; m. Anna Kaighn. 

John Jay Smith, son of John and Gulielma Maria (Morris) Smith, born 
June 16, 1798, was for many years Librarian of the Philadelphia and Loganian 
libraries, and lived a life of literary activity, being the author of a number of 
books, papers and addresses, among which were, "A summer's Jaunt Across the 
Water", Philadelphia, 1846, two volumes: 'American Historical and Literary 
Curiosities", and various letters, biographical sketches, etc. He was for a time 



LOGAN 



39 



conductor of the Pennsylvania Gazette, Saturday Bulletin, Daily Express, Littcl's 
Museum, and Walsh's National Gazette. He also edited "Letters of Dr. Rich- 
ard Hill", the "Recollections of John Jay Smith", and a number of other works 
of merit. He resided at "Ivy Lodge" in Philadelphia county, where he died Sep- 
tember 23, 1881. He married Rachel C. Pearsall, daughter of Robert Pearsall, 
of Flushing, Long Island. 

Issue of John Jay and Rachel C. (Pearsall) Smith: — 

Lloyd Pearsall Smith, b. 1822, d. 1886; succeeded his father as librarian, and was for 
some years conductor of Lippincott's Magazine; m. Hannah E. Jones, daughter of 
Isaac C. Jones, and a descendant of Samuel Preston, Provincial Councillor. 

Albanus Smith, b. Sept. 30, 1823, d. March 29, 1842, while a student at the U. of Pa. 

Robert Pearsall Smith, m. Hannah Whitall, dau. of John Whitall, a Philadelphia 
chemist, and now a resident of Oxford, England, her husband being deceased ; she 
was for some years a prominent speaker in Philadelphia and elsewhere on religious 
and social subjects, and is the author of "Frank, The Record of a Happy Life", "The 
Christian's Secret of a Happy Life", "Bible Readings on Progressive Development 
of Truth in the Old Testament", "John M. Whitall, The Record of his Life", and 
a number of other works; Robert Pearsall was also the author of a number of books, 
one of which was "Account of the Union Meeting for the Promotion of Scriptural 
Holiness, August 29, to September 7, 1874". 

Gulielma Maria Smith, d. young. 

Horace John Smith, b. in Philadelphia, Dec. 9, 1832 ; was educated at the U. of Pa. ; 
engaged in importation of china and pottery; in 1865, being in poor health, engaged 
in farming at George's Hill, Philadelphia; was actively interested in the agricultural 
department of the Centennial Exposition in 1876; in that year went to California; 
during years 1883-97, he travelled extensively in Europe; in 1897 took up his resi- 
dence at Mosely, a suburb of Birmingham, England, where he resided until his death, 
May 19, 1906; he, however, maintained an active interest in the affairs of his 
native country and was for many years an active advocate of the establishment of a 
postal savings bank system in the United States. He m. Oct. 8, 1857, Margaret Long- 
streth, daughter of William and Mary (Bringhurst) Longstreth, of Philadelphia, and 
they had four children. 

Elizabeth Pearsall Smith, now residing at "Ivy Lodge", Philadelphia, who edited 
"Recollections of John Jay Smith", and presented to the Philadelphia-Loganian 
Library some 4000 papers of her father, John Jay Smith. 

Rachel Collins Pearsall, wife of John Jay Smith, and mother of the above 
named children, was a daughter of Robert Pearsall, of Flushing, Long Island, 
and his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Isaac Collins, of Burlington, and his wife 
Rachel Budd, an account of whose ancestry is given elsewhere in these volumes. 



LLOYD FAMILY 

Thomas Lloyd, Deputy Governor of Pennsylvania, 1684-88, and 1690-93, 
though a consistent member of the Society of Friends and a typical representa- 
tive of that good old Quaker stock of solid respectability and sterling worth 
without the ostentation of pomp and display, whose home life lent such a peculiar 
charm to social life of the City of Brotherly Love, in Colonial days, was never- 
theless of Royal descent, and traced his ancestry on both maternal and paternal 
lines back to Edward I., of England, and on more remote paternal lines back through 
a long line of princes of ancient Britain. The surname of Lloyd had its original 
with Owen, son of Ievan Teg, otherwise, "Evan the handsome", whose family 
had owned and occupied Dolobran, Wales, since 1496, and like all the old Welsh 
families traced its ancestry back to the Dark Ages. Owen Lloyd married Kath- 
erine Vaughn, and his brother, David Lloyd, of Dolobran, married Eva, daugh- 
ter of David Goch Esq., and David Lloyd, son of David and Eva, had son 
John Lloyd, grandfather of Governor Lloyd, who married Catharine, daughter 
of Humphrey Lloyd Wyn, whose father, John Lloyd, was a son of Ievan Lloyd 
and grandson of Owen Lloyd and Katherine Vaughn. John Lloyd, grandfather 
of Catharine, married Margaret Kynaston, who was a lineal descendant of 
Edward I., through the following line: Jane, "the fair maid of Kent," grand- 
daughter of Edward I., and daughter of Edmund of Woodstock, Earl of Kent, 
married (first) Sir Thomas Holland, who was thereupon made Earl of Kent, 
and (second) Edward, the Black Prince, becoming by the second marriage the 
mother of Richard II. Her eldest son, Sir Thomas Holland, who succeeded his 
father as Earl of Kent and was later Marshall of England, had a daughter Elea- 
nor who married (first) Roger Mortimer, Earl of March, from which mar- 
riage descended Edward IV., and (second) Edward Cherleton, Lord of Powys, 
by whom she had a daughter Joane, who married Sir John Grey, who in 1418, 
was created Earl of Tankerville. Henry Grey, Earl of Tankerville, son of Sir 
John and Joane, married Antigone, daughter of Humphrey, Duke of Gloucester, 
who was a son of Henry IV., and had a daughter Elizabeth, who married Roger 
Kynaston Esq., and their son, Humphrey Kynaston, was the father of Mar- 
garet Kynaston, who married John Lloyd, as above noted, and whose grand- 
daughter Catharine married another John Lloyd, the grandfather of Thomas 
Lloyd of Pennsylvania. 

Charles Lloyd, of Dolobran, Montgomeryshire, Wales, son of John and Cath- 
arine, and father of Governor Thomas Lloyd, was born at Dolobran, in 1613. 
He was a magistrate of Montgomeryshire, and had emblazoned on a panel at 
Dolobran, his coat-of-arms, with fifteen quarterings, impaled with the arms of 
his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Stanley, of Knockden, and a descend- 
ant of the Earls of Derby. The paternal or Lloyd arms were, "azure, a chevron 
between three cocks argent", and the different quarterings show the descent of 
Governor Lloyd from the ancient male lines of the Lords of Powys, the Cherle- 
tons, Greys and Kynastons. The first quarter of the maternal arms is the shield 
of the Earls of Derby, differenced with a crescent charged with a crescent, 



LLOYD 4I 

which indicates that Thomas Stanley was descended from a second son of a 
second son. 

Issue of Charles and Elizabeth (Stanley) Lloyd, of Dolobran: — 

Charles, inherited Dolobran, and was ancestor of the Lloyd who founded Lloyd's Bank- 
ing House, in London ; 

John, was a clerk in chancery; 

Thomas, came to Pennsylvania, in 1683 ; 

Elizabeth, m. Henry Parry, of Penamser, Merionethshire, Wales. 

Thomas Lloyd was born at Dolobran, Montgomeryshire, Wales about the 
year 1640, and was sent to Jesus College, Oxford, where he graduated with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts, January 29, 1661. Both he and his elder brother, 
Charles, with several others of the gentry of Montgomeryshire, became con- 
verted to the faith of the Society of Friends, under the teachings of George Fox 
in 1663, and both were imprisoned in 1664, and continued nominally prisoners 
until 1672, when Charles II., by letters patent, dispensed with the laws inflicting 
punishment for religious offences, when, according to Besse, Charles Lloyd, 
Thomas Lloyd and others "were discharged from Montgomery Gaol." Thomas 
Lloyd seems, however, to have enjoyed a nominal liberty during at least a por- 
tion of this period, as it covers the date of his marriage, and his wife was permitted 
to visit him while in prison. Thomas Lloyd was a physician while residing in 
Wales, and had a large practice. Belonging as he did to the gentry class, and 
being a man of high intellectual ability, he exercised a wide influence in matters 
of state, though of the proscribed sect religiously. According to "The Friend", 
it was at his solicitation that Parliament was induced to abolish the long unused 
writ "de heretico comburendo", with the operation of which the Friends were 
threatened. He was tendered high place and influence if he would renounce 
his religion, but adhered to the faith. In 1681 he and his brother Charles held a 
public disputation at the town hall of Llanwilling, with Right Rev. William 
Lloyd, Bishop of Asaph, one of the noted prelates whom James II. committed 
to the Tower. 

Thomas Lloyd and his wife and children embarked from London for Pennsyl- 
vania, June 10, 1683, on board the same ship with Francis Daniel Pastorius, 
the "Sage of Germantown," then on his way to take possession of the lands pur- 
chased by the Frankfort Company of William Penn, on which was planted the 
first German Colony in Pennsylvania. Lloyd and the distinguished German 
scholar discoursed in Latin and discussed religious and political questions on the 
voyage, and cemented a friendship that continued through life. They arrived 
at Philadelphia 6mo. (August) 20, 1683. On December 2, 1683, William Penn 
appointed Thomas Lloyd Master of Rolls, the office having been created by the 
Assembly at the request of Penn, its object being to keep an exact record of the 
laws enacted for the Province, as well as a record of transfers of real estate 
and other legal documents. Thomas Lloyd was elected a member of the Gov- 
ernor's Council, qualified on imo. 20, 1684, and was elected its president. Be- 
fore sailing for England, in August of the same year, William Penn executed 
a commission to his Council to act as Governor in his absence, made Thomas 
Lloyd Keeper of the Great Seal of the Province, and made him, with James 
Claypoole and Robert Turner, Commissioners of Property, with authority to 



42 LLOYD 

grant warrants of survey and issue patents to purchasers of land. The commis- 
sion, vesting the governing power in Council, terminated in 1688, and though 
Lloyd desired to be relieved from office, Penn's commission arrived i2mo. 9, 
1687-8, vesting the powers of Deputy Governor in Thomas Lloyd, Robert Turner, 
John Simcock, Arthur Cooke and John Eckley, and this arrangement continued 
for ten months, when Penn, having offered Lloyd the Lieutenant Governorship, 
on his declination of the honor, appointed Capt. John Blackwell, then in New 
England, the Lieutenant Governor, Thomas Lloyd still retaining the positions of 
Master of Rolls and Keeper of the Great Seal. The administration of Blackwell 
was far from satisfactory to the Friends, and there was considerable clash be- 
tween him and Lloyd as Keeper of the Seal, so that when Thomas Lloyd was 
returned as a member of the Council by Bucks county in March, 1689, Blackwell 
presented articles of impeachment against him, and, failing to eject him from the 
Council, adjourned that body from time to time whenever Lloyd was present. 
On Penn's return Blackwell resigned, and on nmo. 2, 1689-90, the Council 
accepted Penn's ultimatum that the whole Council act as the governing body, 
elected Thomas Lloyd its president, and made him, as Keeper of the Seal, a 
member of the county court, ex-offkio. He was later commissioned Lieutenant 
Governor and served until the arrival of Governor Fletcher, when he was offered 
the second place in the government, but declined. Thomas Lloyd died Septem- 
ber 10, 1694, after eleven years residence in Pennsylvania, during eight of which 
he had served as her chief executive. He was twice married. His first wife, 
Mary Jones, whom he married 91110. 9, 1665, at the Friends' Meeting in Shrop- 
shire, Wales, died in Philadelphia, and he married (second) Patience Story, a 
widow of New York, who survived him. 

Issue of Thomas and Mary (Jones) Lloyd: — 

Hannah, b. Sept. 21, 1666, m. John Delaval, Provincial Councillor, 1692, (second") 

Richard Hill, Provincial Councillor, 1704-28; 
Rachel, b. Jan. 20, 1667, m. Samuel Preston, Provincial Councillor, 1714-43; 
Mordecai, b. Dec. 7, 1669, d. s. p. 1694, lost at sea ; 
John, b. Feb. 3, 1671, d. s. p. at Jamaica, 1692; 
Mary, b. March 27, 1674, m. Isaac Norris, Provincial Councillor, 1709-34, Speaker of 

Assembly, etc. ; 
Thomas, b. Sept. 15, 1675, d. 1718, m. Sarah Young; of whom presently; 
Elizabeth, b. March 1, 1677, d. July 22, 1704, m. April 9, 1700, Daniel Zachary. Her 

son Lloyd Zachary, b. 1701, was first physician of Pennsylvania Hospital; 
Margaret, b. May 5, 1680, d. Sept. 13, 1693 ; 

Deborah, b. March 1, 1682, m. Mordecai Moore; his second wife; 
Samuel, b., Philadelphia, 1684; d. young. 

Thomas Lloyd, son of Governor Thomas and Mary (Jones) Lloyd, born in 
Great Britain, September 15, 1675, was a merchant of Goodmansfield, London, 
and died there prior to i2mo. 17, 17 17, at which date his widow obtained a 
certificate from London Meeting to Philadelphia. She was Sarah Young, born 
November 2, 1676, and died in Philadelphia. 
Issue of Thomas and Sarah (Young) Lloyd: — 

Peter, b. in London, came from Bristol, England, to Philadelphia, 1718, Common 

Councilman 1729-44, merchant; m. Mercy Masters, 1729; d Feb. 16, 1744-5; 
Mary, d. unm., Sept. 17, 1775; 
Thomas, of whom presently; 



LLOYD 43 

John, d. s- p., Philadelphia ; 

Mordecai, b. Sept. 6, 1708, m. Hannah Fishbourne ; 

Anne, m. John Mathews, d. s. p. ; 

Charles, d. s. p., June 8, 1745. 

Thomas Lloyd, second son of Thomas and Sarah (Young) Lloyd, born in 
London, England, came to Philadelphia with his mother, in 1718, married, i2mo. 
23, 1734, at Philadelphia Monthly Meeting, Susannah, widow of Dr. Edward 
Owen and daughter of Philip Kearney, of Philadelphia, by his wife, Rebecca, 
daughter of Lionel Britain, who came from Almy, Bucks county, England, and 
settled in Bucks county in 1680, removing later to Philadelphia, where he died 
in 1 72 1. Thomas Lloyd was a prominent merchant of Philadelphia, and died 
there, May 4, 1754. 

Issue of Thomas and Susannah (Kearney-Owen) Lloyd: — 

Sarah, d. Aug. 9, 1788, m., Dec- 13, 1757, William Moore, native of Isle of Man, Member 
Council of Safety, 1776, Board of War, 1777 ; Delegate to Continental Congress, 
1777; Member Supreme Executive Council, 1779, Vice-president, 1779, President, 
1781 ; Judge High Court of Appeals, 1783; Member Assembly, 1784; died 1793; 

Susannah, m. Thomas Wharton, President Supreme Executive Council, 1777-8; d. 
Oct. 24, 1772. 

Deborah Lloyd, daughter of Lieutenant Governor Thomas Lloyd, born 
March 1, 1682, married, September 12, 1704, Mordecai Moore, of Anne Arundel 
county, Maryland, "practitioner in Physick and Chirurgery", who had come to 
America with Lord Baltimore as his family physician. He received through 
Lord Baltimore, large grants of land, and held under him various offices of honor 
and trust. Deborah Lloyd was his second wife, and his son by the former mar- 
riage, Richard Moore, M. D., at one time engaged in mercantile pursuits in 
Philadelphia, and member of Common Council of that city in 1716, had married 
Deborah Lloyd's niece, Margaret, daughter of Provincial Councillor Samuel 
Preston by his wife Rachel Lloyd, sister of Deborah, as shown in narrative of 
the Preston family. Mordecai Moore died in Maryland in 1721. 
Issue of Mordecai and Deborah (Lloyd) Moore: — 

Deborah Moore, b. June 2, 1705, m. Dr. Richard Hill, Jr., of whom presently; 

Hannah Moore, b. Oct. 18, 1706, d. Oct. 26, 1706; 

Mary Moore, b. Aug. 29, 1708, d. Nov. 3, 1760, unm. ; 

Hester Moore, b. Aug. 30, 1710, d. young; 

Elizabeth Moore, b. Oct. II, 1712, d. young; 

Rachel Moore, b. June 18, 1714, d. July 16, 1796, unm. 

Deborah Moore, eldest child of Mordecai and Deborah (Lloyd) Moore, 
born in Maryland, June 2, 1705, died on Island of Madeira, December 19, 1751. 
She married, at South River, Maryland, February 9, 1 720-1, Dr. Richard Hill, 
son of Henry Hill of Maryland, by his wife Mary, daughter of Levin Denwood, 
and nephew and heir of Richard Hill of Philadelphia, Provincial Councillor, 
1 704- 1 728, who had married Hannah Lloyd, another daughter of Thomas Lloyd. 
Dr. Richard Hill was born at South River, Maryland, in 1698. He studied medi- 
cine, practiced at his native place for some years, and also engaged in the ship- 
ping trade at that point. He met with severe financial losses, became heavily 
involved in debt, and with the hope of retrieving his fortunes, removed with his 



44 LLOYD 

family to Funchal, Island of Madeira, and engaged in the wine trade there. He 
was very successful in this venture, and in addition to paying his creditors in 
full of principal and interest, and establishing his sons and sons-in-law in a 
thriving business, acquired a comfortable competence, and returned to Phila- 
delphia to live with his daughters, and died there January 29, 1762. 
Issue of Dr. Richard and Deborah {Moore) Hill: — 

Richard Hill, b. Jan. 28, 1721-2, d. unm. in Madeira, March 18, 1754. Was a merchant 
at Philadelphia a number of years, and a large landholder there, in Bucks county 
and elsewhere, having with his sister Hannah been named as residuary legatee under 
will of his granduncle Richard Hill Sr., before mentioned, Provincial Councillor; 

Hannah Hill, b. Feb. 25, 1723-4, d. s. p. Jan. 27, 1799; m. her cousin, Samuel Preston, 
M. D., son of Richard and Margaret (Preston) Moore, and grandson of Samuel 
Preston, Provincial Councillor, by his wife Rachel, dau. of Thomas Lloyd. Samuel 
Preston Moore was treasurer of Province of Pennsylvania, 1755-1768. Left no issue; 

Mary Hill, b. Oct. 28, 1725, d. s. p. in London, England, Feb. 11, 1799; m. Thomas 
Lamar, of Madeira, member of firm of Hill, Lamar & Brissett, merchants, Philadelphia 
and Madeira, composed of sons and sons-in-law of Dr. Richard Hill. Mr. Lamar d. 
Madeira, April 1, 1792, his widow joined her sister Harriet in London, and d. there 
1799; 

Deborah Hill, b. Feb. 9, 1727, d. Feb. 22, 1728; 

Deborah, b. Aug. 31, 1728, d. at Madeira, April 23, 1763; m. Robert Brissett, another 
member of firm of Hill, Lamar & Brissett; d., Madeira, Nov. 3, 1801 ; 

Harriet Hill, b. Dec. 31, 1729, d. at Bath, England, Feb. 22, 1795; m., July 21, 1755, John 
Scott, merchant, of London, England; 

Rachel Hill, b. May 8, 1731, d. July 10, 1731; 

Henry Hill, b. Sept. 18, 1732, d. Philadelphia, Sept. 15, 1798; sent to Scotland to be 
educated, on coming of age joined his father in Madeira, and engaged in trade with 
his brothers and brothers-in-law, returning later to Philadelphia as representative of 
firm of Hill, Lamar & Brissett ; an original member of the First City Troop ; 
became Member of Assembly, etc. M. Anne, dau. of Reese Meredith, of Philadelphia; 

Rachel Hill, b. April 2, 1735, d. May 17, 1796; m. April 17, 1759, Richard Wells, of 
Philadelphia, merchant, b. near Hull, England, July 22, 1734, son of Dr. Gideon Wells, 
of Cottness, by his wife Mary, dau. of Richard Partridge, Esq., of London, at one 
time Agent for the Colonies of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Rhode Island and Con- 
necticut, at London, England. Richard Wells came to America in 1750, and resided 
some time in Burlington, N. J., later removing to Philadelphia, where he was a 
prominent merchant. Was Secretary of American Philosophical Society, Director of 
Library Company, member Pennsylvania Assembly, and for a long time cashier of 
Bank of North America. 

Margaret Hill, b. Nov. 2, 1737, m. William Morris, of whom presently; 

Sarah Hill, b. Feb. 14, 1738, d. s. p. Nov. 30, 1826; m. Oct. 16, 1759, George Dilwyn, 
and resided at Burlington, N. J. 

Milcah Martha Hill, b. at Madeira, Sept. 29, 1740, d. s. p. Aug. 24, 1829 ; m. Charles 
Moore, M. D., of Montgomery county, Pa., a grandson of Samuel Preston Moore. 

Issue of Richard and Rachel {Hill) Wells: — 

Richard Wells, b. June 10, 1760, d. June 20, 1760; 

Samuel Preston Wells, b. July 7, 1763, d. Aug. 26, 1763 ; 

Mary Wells, b., Burlington, Sept. 4, 1764, m. Benjamin Wistar Morris, son of 
Captain Samuel and Rebecca (Wistar) Morris of Philadelphia, and their son 
Samuel Wells Morris, was Judge of District Court, of Tioga county, Pa; 

Gideon Hill Wells, of Wellsborough, Pa., b. Sept. 20, 1765; m. Hannah Wain; 

Hannah Wells, b. Nov. 10, 1769, d., Philadelphia, June 29, 1790; 

William Hill Wells, d. 1829; m. Elizabeth Dagworthy ; U. S. Senator from Dela- 
ware, 1804 and 1813-17. 

Margaret Hill, daughter of Dr. Richard and Deborah (Moore) Hill, of the 
Island of Madeira, born November 2, 1737, spent a portion of her girlhood in 
Philadelphia. She married there, September 1, 1758, William, son of John and 



LLOYD 



45 



Mary (Sutton) Morris, of Spring Mill, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county, 
grandson of Anthony and Phoebe Guest Morris, of Philadelphia, great- 
grandson of Anthony Morris, member of Provincial Council, 1695-6, early 
Colonial merchant and Mayor of Philadelphia. William Morris was the eldest 
child of John and Mary, and was born in Philadelphia, June 27, 1735. Prior 
to his marriage to Margaret Hill, in a letter written to her father, then in 
Madeira, he states that he is engaged in the dry-goods trade, but purposed going 
into the "general trade" in the near future. He was an enterprising and public- 
spirited man of good education and fine intellectual traits. He was a signer of 
Provincial paper money in 1757, an early contributor to the establishment of 
Pennsylvania Hospital, and was admitted a member of colony in Schuylkill, 
October 7, 1761. He died April 14, 1766, less than eight years after his mar- 
riage, and four months before the birth of his youngest child. On June 7, 1770, 
Margaret (Hill) Morris removed from Philadelphia to Burlington, New Jersey, 
with her four surviving children, and took up her residence with her sister and 
brother-in-law, Sarah and George Dilwyn. She later bought the house of Gov. 
•William Franklin on the bank of the Delaware, sold under the confiscation acts, 
and lived there to old age. In her later days she was much afflicted with rheuma- 
tism, finally becoming practically helpless. After the death of her son Dr. John 
Morris, in 1793, she took her granddaughter, Margaret Morris, to live with 
her and she was her constant companion until her marriage in 1810, after which 
her place was supplied by another granddaughter, Martha Milcah Smith. Mar- 
garet Morris was a lifelong attendant of Friends' Meeting, being frequently car- 
ried to the Meeting House, but a few doors from her Burlington home, by her 
grandchildren, after she had become helpless, in a wicker chair. She was a 
woman of excellent mind and character, and universally revered. The daughter 
of a skillful physician, she possessed considerable knowledge of medical science, 
and frequently ministered to her family and others in an emergency. 
Issue of William and Margaret (Hill) Ad orris: — 

Richard Hill Morris, b. Sept. 28, 1759, d. Sept. 29, 1760; 
John Morris, M. D., twin to above ; of whom presently ; 
Deborah Morris, b. Nov. 29, 1760, d. March 17, 1822; m. (first) Nov. ii, 1789, Benjamin 

Smith; (second) Nov. 9, 1809, Isaac Collins, of Trenton, N. J., printer; 
Richard Hill Morris, b. Sept. 5, 1762, d. Dec. 6, 1841 ; m. (first) March 17, 1786, Mary 

Mifflin; (second) Oct. 25, 1798, Mary Smith; 
Mary Morris, b. June 19, 1764, d. Feb. 14, 1765 ; 
Gulielma Maria Morris, b. Aug. 18, 1766, d. Sept. 9, 1826, m., April 8, 1784, John 

Smith, Jr. 

Dr. John Morris, eldest son of William and Margaret, born in Philadelphia 
September 28, 1759, lost his father at the age of seven years, and was reared 
under the care of his noble mother, principally at Burlington. Making choice 
of the medical profession, in which his maternal ancestors had excelled, he took 
up his studies with Dr. Charles Moore, of Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, 
who had married his mother's sister. On obtaining his degree, he began the 
practice of medicine at Burlington, and was quite successful from the start. 
However, he soon after located in Philadelphia, where he became an exceedingly 
popular and successful physician. He was located in 1785 at No. 27 Chestnut 
street, but by 1791, had removed to No. 11 Pear street, where he died of yellow 



46 LLOYD 

fever, September 8, 1793, in the arms of his devoted mother, who had come from 
Burlington to nurse him and remained to close the eyes of his wife, also a victim 
to the pestilence, eight days later. 

Dr. John Morris was one of the founders of the College of Physicians insti- 
tuted in 1787, and incorporated in 1789, and his name is one of those engraved 
on the tablet erected there to commemorate that fact ; it also appears on another 
tablet, as one of those who "fell a martyr to the pestilence." Dr. Morris mar- 
ried at Philadelphia Friends' Meeting, October 8, 1783, Abigail, daughter of 
Benedict and Sarah Dorsey, of Philadelphia, who followed him to the grave, 
September 16, 1793, at the age of twenty-eight years, leaving four small children. 
Issue of Dr. John and Abigail (Dorsey) Morris: — 

Sarah, b. 1784, d. 1794; 

William Stanton, b. Nov. 24, 1785, d. unm. in 1819; 

Benedict, b. March 27, 1787. d. Nov. 13, 1790; 

Martha Milcah, b. Aug. 24, 1788, d. Jan. 26, 1826; m. (first) Thomas Lawrie ; (second) 

Jacob B. Clarke ; 
Mary, b. 1790, d. inf. 
Margaret Morris, b. Aug. 18, 1792, d. April 22, 1832, of whom presently. 

Margaret Morris, youngest child of Dr. John Morris, who was but a 
little over a year old at the death of both of her parents, was taken and reared 
by her grandmother, Margaret (Hill) Morris, at Burlington, New Jersey, where 
she married, October 4, 1810, Isaac Collins Jr., eleventh child of Isaac and 
Rachel (Budd) Collins. He was born at Trenton, New Jersey, October 31, 
1787, and was reared to mercantile pursuits, serving an apprenticeship of six 
years with the well-known firm of Mott & Bowne, at New York. At the age 
of twenty-one, he went as supercargo on the brig "Dean", to St. Mary's on 
the Georgia coast, and probably made a few subsequent trips in the same capac- 
jty for his old employers. He then returned to New York city, and entered 
into partnership with Samuel Mott, in the manufacture of flour for the whole- 
sale market, and did a large and profitable business. He made a trading voyage 
to Eastport and the Bay of Fundy, having charge of ten vessels. 

On his marriage to Margaret Morris in 1810, Isaac Collins Jr. took up his resi- 
dence in New York City, and engaged in the publishing business. The well 
known firm of Isaac Collins & Company, printers and publishers of books, etc., 
were so successful that, at the age of thirty-four years, Isaac retired from the 
business and devoted himself to philanthropic and charitable enterprises. He 
was largely instrumental in establishing the Eye Dispensary in New York, and 
the Just Saving Fund of that city. 

In 1828, he removed to Philadelphia, principally on account of his wife's 
failing health, and at once became prominently identified with various institu- 
tions there. He was a member of Board of Managers of House of Refuge ; 
director of public school system ; one of the founders of Haverford College, for 
the higher education of the children of Friends ; was identified with all leading 
Charitable institutions of the city, and took a prominent part in the temperance 
and anti-slavery cause. He was one of those who instituted the Institute for 
Feeble-Minded Children. 

Margaret (Morris) Collins died in Philadelphia, April 22, 1832, and Isaac 
married (second) January 28, 1835, Rebecca, daughter of John Singer, a prom- 



LLOYD 



47 



inent merchant of Philadelphia. She was an eminent minister of the Society of 
Friends, and died in April of 1892 at the age of eighty-seven years. He died 
January 15, 1863. 

Issue of Isaac and Margaret {Morris) Collins: — 

William Morris Collins, b. July 19, 181 1, d. Oct. 30, 1864; m. Nov. 7, 1839, Eliza C. Cope; 
Martha Lawrie Collins, b. July 21, 1813, d. May 6, 1887; m. Oct. 3, 1833, John B. 

Bispham ; 
Gulielma Maria Collins, b. Aug. 28, 1815, d. Feb. 4, 1867; m., June 5, 1839, Philip B. 

Chase ; 
Henry Hill Collins, b. March 3, 1818, d. s. p. July 20, 1840; 
Alfred Morris Collins, b. Jan. II, 1820, m. Nov. 22, 1843, Hannah Evans; 
Frederic Collins, b. Jan. 21, 1822, d. Nov. 27, 1892; m. Letitia Poultney Dawson; of whom 

presently; 
Isaac Collins, Jr., b. May 2, 1824, m. Dec. 9, 1847, Elizabeth B. K. Earl ; 
Theodore Collins, b. July 27, 1826, d. Sept. 4, 1826; 
Margaret Morris Collins, b. Aug. 18, 1829, d. April 6, 1863; m. June 1, 1853, Oliver K. 

Earle ; 
Percival Collins, b. Dec. 19, 1831, d. May 7, 1872; m. Oct. 5, 1856, Sarah Levick. 

Frederic Collins, sixth child of Isaac and Margaret (Morris) Collins, born 
in New York City, January 21, 1822, came with his parents to Philadelphia, at 
the age of six years, and resided there the remainder of his life. He was edu- 
cated at Haverford, and on his marriage, in 1844, became a member of firm of 
M. L. Dawson & Co., of which his father-in-law, Mordecai Lewis Dawson, 
was a member of board of managers and president of the House of Refuge, 
from 1869 until his death, November 27, 1892. 

Mr. Collins later withdrew from the firm and started the brokerage business 
with Samuel Huston, but in a short time returned to his old firm, the name of 
which was changed to Massey, Collins and Company. He remained a member of 
this firm until 1866, achieving eminent financial success. He later became pres- 
ident of the McKean and Elk County Land and Improvement Company, was 
also a member of banking firm of Elliott, Collins & Company, until 1873. He 
was a member of board of managers, House of Refuge, from 1869 until his 
death, November 27, 1892. 

Frederic Collins married, August 28, 1844, Letitia Poultney Dawson, daughter 
of Mordecai L. Dawson, a descendant of Robert Dawson, an early Colonial mer- 
chant of Philadelphia, who came from Ireland in 1735, and married at Christ 
Church, Philadelphia, March 5, 1738, Mary Warner. He died August 2, 1746. 
His widow married, August 6, 1751, George Morrison, and through this mar- 
riage was the grandmother of George Morrison Coates, one of Philadelphia's 
prominent business men of a later date. 

Issue of Frederic and Letitia Poultney (Dazvson) Collins: — 

Elizabeth Dawson Collins, b. 1847, m. June 3, 1869, Charles F. Hulse, who d. Aug. 28, 
1876 ; they had issue : — 

Letitia Collins Hulse, b. June 1, 1870, m. April 28, 1892, Samuel Bowman 
Wheeler, had issue, Samuel Bowman Wheeler, Jr., b. Feb. 22, 1803 ; Frederic 
Collins Wheeler, b. March 30, 1894 ; and Elizabeth Dawson Wheeler, b. May 7, 
1897; 
Margaret Morris Hulse, b. April 22, 1873, who m. Nov. 2. 1892, Burnet Land- 
reth, Jr., and had issue: Burnet Landreth 3d, b. Sept. 25, 1809; Letitia Land- 
reth, b. Aug. 7, 1903; 
Anne Morrison Collins, b. July 26, 1849, m. April, 1890, Morris Earle; had no issue; 



48 LLOYD 

Frederic Collins, Jr., b. Feb. 4, 1868, m. June 19, 1895, Lillie Moffit Brown, who d. 
April, 1896, by whom he had issue : — 

Frederic Collins, 3d., b. March 25, 1896; 
He m. (second), Nov. 17, 1897, Janet Rae, who d. Feb. 15, 1906; by her he had 
issue : — 

Dawson Rae Collins, b. Dec. 21, 1898; 
Marjorie Janet Collins, b. April 1, 1900. 



MORRIS FAMILY 

Anthony Morris, founder of the American branch of the prominent Phila- 
delphia family of the name, was born in Old Gravel Lane, Stepney, London, 
England, August 23, 1654, baptized August 25, 1654, at St. Dunstan's Church, 
Stepney. He was a son of Anthony Morris, mariner, of Welsh origin, who at 
the date of birth of his son Anthony, was residing in Old Gravel Lane, Stepney, 
but later removed to Barbados, and was lost at sea when on his return voyage 
in 1655 or 1656. He was born about the year 1630, and probably was a son of 
another Anthony Morris, of Reading, Berkshire, born about 1600. He married 
Elizabeth Senior, who soon after her husband's death made a voyage to Bar- 
bados, in connection with the settlement of his estate, and died there in 1660, 
when her only child, Anthony Morris, first above mentioned, was aged six 
years. Anthony Morris spent his boyhood days in the city of London, and, 
prior to arriving at his majority, united himself with the Society of Friends, 
becoming a member of Savoy Meeting, in the Strand, which was connected with 
the Westminster Monthly Meeting. On i2mo. (February) 2, 1675-6, he declared 
intentions of marriage with Mary Jones, belonging to the same Meeting and they 
were married, imo. (March) 30, 1676. They continued to reside in London 
until near the close of the year 1682, and four children were born to them there, 
Susanna, Mary, and two who were named for the father, all of whom died there 
except the last. On 8mo. (October) 4, 1682, they laid before the Meeting at 
Savoy their intentions of removing themselves to America, and asked for a cer- 
tificate to Friends' Meeting at Burlington, "New West Jersie." The certificate 
was granted on o,mo. (November) 1, 1682, and they embarked for the Delaware 
river, in which they arrived in the latter part of February, 1682-3, and took up 
their home in Burlington. Anthony Morris purchased two hundred and fifty acres 
in Burlington county, fronting on the Delaware, two miles below the town, and also 
owned several town lots. In the latter part of 1685, or early in 1686, he removed 
to Philadelphia and began his successful career as a merchant. Three more 
children were born by his first wife to him in America, John in Burlington, 2mo. 
17, 1685, and Samuel and James in Philadelphia. His first wife died in Philadel- 
phia, 8mo. (October) 3, 1688, and he married (second) at Philadelphia Monthly 
Meeting, 8mo. (October) 28, 1689, Agnes, widow of Cornelius Bom, who had 
been married three times previously. She died 5mo. (July) 26, 1692, and he mar- 
ried (third) at Newport, Rhode Island, nrao. (January) 18, 1693-4, Mary, widow 
of Thomas Coddington, son of Gov. William Coddington, of Rhode Island, and 
daughter of John Howard, formerly of Yorkshire, England. Anthony early 
became identified with the affairs of the embryo city, and on its incorporation, 
3mo. 20, 1691, was named in the charter as one of the first aldermen. On Septem- 
ber 6, 1692, he was commissioned Justice of the Courts of Common Pleas and 
Quarter Sessions of the Peace, and Orphans' Court. On February 10, 1697-8, 
he was one of the applicants for the charter of the public school, and was after- 
ward named in the charter as one of first Board of Overseers. When the new 
charter was granted in 171 1, he was named as one of the Overseers, and the 
4 



5 o MORRIS 

family has been represented on the board for many generations. He was elected 
a member of the Provincial Council in 1695, an d re-elected in 1696. He was 
named as one of the original Board of Aldermen in city charter of 1701, and 
October 5, 1703, was elected Mayor, serving one year. He was elected to 
Colonial Assembly, May 10, 1698, and served until October 1, 1704. He was 
closely associated in business and official circles with his brother-in-law, Edward 
Shippen, who had married Rebecca, widow of Francis Richardson, formerly 
Rebecca Howard, a sister of Anthony Morris' third wife, Mary Coddington. 
In 1687 Anthony Morris established a brewery in Philadelphia, and he and his 
descendants carried on the brewing business on an extensive scale for many 
years. Anthony Morris was a preacher among Friends and travelled exten- 
sively in the ministry in New England and other parts of the colonies, and 
also visited the meeting in London, where he first became a member of the 
Society. He died of apoplexy, October 23, 1721. His third wife died September 
25, 1699, and he married (fourth) October 30, 1700, Elizabeth, daughter of Luke 
and Sarah Watson. In the old family Bible of Anthony Morris is the following 
entry : 

"May 16, 1677, Was baptised three children of Luke and Sarah Watson art 
the Fort att New York, by the Dutch Minister, viz: — Sarah, Elizabeth, and 
Isaac, the aforesaid Elizabeth being then about three and a half years old. This 
note sent hither by Samuel Bowne, who searched the records for the same." 

Elizabeth (Watson) Morris survived her husband over forty-five years, dying 
February 2, 1767, in her ninety- fourth year. 

Issue of Anthony and Mary (Jones) Morris were: — 

Susanna, b. in London, d. there at age of six years ; 

Mary, d. at age of one year; 

Anthony, d. at age of one year ; 

Anthony, b. at London, March 15, 1682, d. at Philadelphia, Sept. 23, 1763; m. May 10, 

1704, Phoebe Guest; 
John, b. at Burlington, N. J., April 17, 1685, d. June 12, 1690; 
Samuel, b. Philadelphia, February 28, 1686-7, d. Nov. 2, 1689; 
James, b. July 8, 1688, d. Dec. 31, 1747, at Duck Creek, Del.; m. March 8, 1709-10, 

Margaret Cook. 

Issue of Anthony and Mary (Howard-Coddington) Morris: — 

William, b. July 23, 1695, d. Nov. 6, 1776; m. (first) Feb. 14, 1718-19, Sarah Dury; 

(second) Nov. 2, 1752, Rebecca Cadwalader ; 
Elizabeth, b. 4mo. 28, 1697, m. (first) iomo. 13, 1716, Samuel Lewis; (second) William 

Dury; 
Joseph, b. May 12, 1699, d. July 25, 1699. 

Issue of Anthony and Elisabeth (Watson) Morris: — 

Isaac, b. Dec. 24, 1701, d. Philadelphia, after Oct. 24, 1755 ; 

Sarah, b. Feb. 16, 1703-4, d. Oct. 24, 1775, unmarried ; 

Israel, b. Dec. 25, 1705, d. Philadelphia, 1729; 

Luke, b. Oct. 25, 1707, d. Philadelphia, Nov- 17, 1793; m. April 1749-50, Mary Richards; 

Hannah, b. July 4, 1717, d. Philadelphia, Aug. 25, 1741, unmarried. 

Anthony Morris, eldest son of Anthony and Mary (Jones) Morris, born 



MORRIS 51 

in London, England, imo. (March) 15, 1681-2, came to New Jersey with his 
parents when less than a year old, and removed with them to Philadelphia, 
(where he was destined to take an important part in city and Colonial affairs ) at 
the age of four years. At the age of fourteen years, according to the custom 
of the times, he was apprenticed to Henry Badcock and Mary, his wife, to learn 
the brewing business. Under the terms of his indenture, he was to serve seven 
years from February 29, 1695-6. Soon after attaining his majority he became 
associated with his father in the brewing business, and continued to carry on that 
business, probably during his whole life, but he early became interested in other 
business ventures, notably, that of owner and proprietor of iron furnaces and 
forges in various parts of Pennsylvania and New Jersey. He was one of the 
founders of the Durham Iron Works in 1727, which commenced operations in 
the autumn of that year. He was one of the founders and owner of two six- 
teenth shares in the Pool forge on Manatawny creek in Berks county, 1731, and 
also owned one-twelfth interest in a large furnace at Colebrookdale on the Mana- 
tawny, which supplied the forge. On June 20, 1729, with Thomas Lambert, 
John Porterfield and James Trent, he founded a forge on the Assunpink, at Tren- 
ton, New Jersey, which was probably supplied from the Durham furnace, in 
which both he and Trent held an interest. He also purchased at about the same 
date a tract of land on the Assunpink, with privilege of erecting corn mills, grist 
mills and saw mills. In 1724 he became part owner of the mills, and a forge 
with 400 acres of land, at Wells Ferry, now New Hope, Bucks county, and in 
1736, with Benjamin Canby, who conducted a forge there for several years, 
was granted by proprietaries' Commissioners the privilege of a tract of land in 
the Manor of Highlands, on the Delaware river, for erecting a storehouse and 
wharf below the ferry, with privilege of a road thereto, for convenience of carry- 
ing flour and other goods and merchandise by water on the said river. He was 
one of the largest land owners in Pennsylvania, continuing until late in life, 
eitiher alone or in association with others, to purchase large tracts of land in 
different parts of the Province. He was elected a member of Common Council 
of Philadelphia, October 4, 1715, but does not seem to have taken his seat until 
July 30, 1716; the term at that date was for life, and when he was elected by 
Council as an Alderman, September 29, 1726, he declined, preferring to retain his 
seat in Council. He was, however, again chosen, October 2, 1733, as Alderman 
and then accepted and served until elected Mayor of the city, October 3, 1738, 
which latter position he filled for one year. He was commissioned Associate 
Justice of the City Courts, October 2, 1733, and on his retirement from the 
mayoralty became Justice of the Orphans' Court. He was elected Overseer of 
Public Schools, 3mo. 18, 1725, and served in that capacity until his death, Sep- 
tember 23, 1763. He was elected Mayor a second time, October 6, 1747, but not 
desiring to serve, absented himself from home, and after a vain attempt to find 
him, in which those charged with serving the notice upon him visited his iron 
works in Berks county, New Jersey, and elsewhere in search of him, William 
Atwood was selected in his stead. In Colonial affairs he filled the same prom- 
inent position as in city affairs. He was elected to represent Philadelphia in 
Colonial Assembly in 1721, first taking his seat on October 14, 1721, a few days 
before the death of his honored father. Like his father, he at once took a prom- 
inent part in affairs of state. He was actively identified with the issue of paper 



52 MORRIS 

currency, and was, March 23, 1723, named by Assembly as one of the signers 
of "Bills of Credit", as this early issue of paper money was designated. He was 
re-elected to the Assembly for years 1722-3-4-5, and sat until the close of the 
session 6mo. 6, 1726. In endeavoring, as an Alderman and Magistrate, to sup- 
press a riot in the streets of Philadelphia, during the exciting and bitter contest 
for election of members of Assembly in 1742, he was knocked down, "and nearly 
murdered" as shown by numerous depositions presented at the next Assembly. 
He was a prominent member of the Society of Friends, and the old Mansion 
House, on Second street above Arch, where he and his family resided for many 
years and where he died., was the scene of many notable gatherings of the elite 
of the city and colony, with whom the family were prominently associated, where 
he and his estimable wife dispensed the broadest hospitality. 

Anthony Morris married in Philadelphia, 3mo. (May) 10, 1704, Phoebe, 
daughter of George and Alice (Bailyes) Guest, born 7 mo. (September) 28, 
1685, died March 18, 1768. She was for many years an elder of Philadelphia 
Monthly Meeting, and a woman of many rare and exalted virtues. "She died 
on the same spot on which she was born and was buried in the same grave with 
the husband with whom she had lived upwards of sixty years in the highest 
degree of conjugal affection." Among the "Pemberton Papers", in the library 
of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, (vol. viii, p. 2), is a deed dated March 
14, 1672, by which Joane Guest, of Birmingham, county Warwick, England, 
relict of John Guest, late of Birmingham, deceased, conveys to William Bailyes, 
of Birmingham, and William Whyton, also of Birmingham, a tract of land in 
county Warwick, in trust for George Guest, son of said Joane and John 
and Alice his wife, a daughter of the said William Bailyes, which deed recites 
that said John Guest by will devised to his second son, George Guest, land pur- 
chased by him of Nicholas Farkson and William Bailyes, father of the above 
mentioned William, married, January 26, 1612, Alice Sommerland, and had the 
following children : — 

Joane, bap. June 15, 1617; 

Margerie, bap. Feb. 27, 1619; 

William, bap. Dec. 15, 1622, of whom presently; 

Alice, bap. Jan. 14, 1626; 

Ann, bap. May 17, 1629. 

William Bailyes, only son, married Alice, dau. of Thomas Chanders, and had 
two sons and six daughters, viz : — 

William, d. y. ; 

John, m. Feb. 20, 1671-2, Sarah Dyke, of London, at Peel Mtg., and had John, d. unm., 

Samuel, of Evesham, d. s. p., and Hannah, m. Samuel Freeth ; 
Mary, m. Barnet Parks, surgeon of Dudley, d. s. p. ; 
Sarah, m. John Guest ; 

Elizabeth, m. June 17, 1673, William Hard, of Kingston ; 
Rebecca, m. Thomas Rose, or Ross, of Birmingham; 
Phoebe, m. Constantine Young, of Leominster; 
Alice, m. George Guest, before mentioned. 

George and Alice (Bailyes) Guest emigrated to Burlington, New Jersey, 1680, 
and were neighbors of Anthony Morris Sr. and his wife, during the residence of 



MORRIS 53 

the latter at Burlington. Having heard that her sister, Elizabeth Hard, was on 
the way to America, and "designed to Philadelphia", Alice Guest prevailed upon 
her husband to remove to Philadelphia, and, the ancient chronicles of the family- 
recite, "had just got settled in a cave on the bank of the Delaware, when the 
sister Elizabeth arrived." Here Phoebe Guest, who later became the wife of 
Anthony Morris Jr., was born September 28, 1685. Her father died in the lat- 
ter part of the same year, and the widow, Alice Guest, later built a house near 
the spot of their first rude domicile and resided there until her death in August, 
1705. Her elder sister, Elizabeth Hard, lived to the age of ninety-three years. 
Both were members of the Society of Friends. 

Issue of Anthony and Phoebe (Guest) Morris were: — 

Anthony, b. Feb. 14, 1705-6, d. Oct. 2, 1780, of whom presently; 

James, b. Sept. 8, 1707, d. Jan. 29, 1750-1; m. March 12, 1729-30, Elizabeth Kearney; 

John, b. June 23, 1709, d. Feb. 3, 1782; m. April 18, 1734, Mary Sutton; 

Samuel, b. Sept. 20, 1710, d. October 7, 1710; 

Samuel, b. Nov. 21, 1711, d. March 31, 1782; m. May 26, 1737, Hannah Cadwalader; 

Mary, b. Oct. 13, 1713, d. Oct. 31, 1759; m. Nov. 9, 1732, Samuel Powell; 

Joseph, b. March 10, 1714-5, d. July 1, 1785; m. Feb. 18, 1741-2, Martha Fitzwater; 

(second) Nov. 7, 1765, Hannah Mickle. 
Elizabeth, b. Oct. 21, 1716; m. Sept. 6, 1739, Benjamin Shoemaker; 
Benjamin, b. Dec. 30, 1717, d. Sept. 7, 1719; 
Phoebe, b. July 4, 1721, d. May 5, 1722; 
Susanna, b. Sept- 27, 1722, d. Aug. 13, 1724; 
Deborah, b. Feb. 13, 1723-4, d. March 31, 1793, unm. ; 
Benjamin, M. D., b. May 7, 1725, d. May 14, 1755, unm.; 
A daughter, d. unm. July 19, 1726. 

William Morris, eldest son of Anthony Morris by third marriage with Mary 
Coddington, born in Philadelphia, 5mo. (July) 23, 1695, died there November 
6, 1776, was one of the most prominent members of the family, but his long 
career of usefulness and honor was largely spent outside of the city of his 
birth. Early in life he engaged in mercantile trade with the West Indies, and 
removed to the island of Barbados, where he married zuno. (June) 14, 1718, a 
rich heiress, Sarah Dury, of Speightstown, Barbados. On 7mo. (September) 
5, 1728, he brought a certificate from the Monthly Meeting at Heathescoate 
Bay, Barbados, to Philadelphia, but soon after located at Trenton, New Jersey, 
where his half sister, formerly Mary Coddington, daughter of his mother by first 
marriage, now the widow of Col. William Trent, was largely interested in real 
estate, purchased by her distinguished husband, who had died in 1724. William 
Morris purchased of the Trent estate 500 acres of land on the Assunpink, includ- 
ing mills thereon erected, and made his permanent home in Trenton for nearly 
the whole of the remainder of his life and is there buried. He, however, sold 
a large part of his valuable real estate there in 1733 to Col. George Thomas, of 
the island of Antigua, and again engaged in West India trade, with Joseph Cal- 
lender, a prominent West India trader, taking his certificate from Chesterfield 
Friends' Meeting dated Qmo. (November) 1, 1733; he sailed for Barbados, and 
was absent for two years, returning by way of England, bringing certificate from 
Bristol Meeting, England, produced at Chesterfield Meeting, 8mo. (October) 
2, 1735. He took an active interest in the affairs of the growing Jersey city; 
was one of a committee to build the Friends' Meeting House at Trenton in 1737; 



54 MORRIS 

was appointed by Governor Lewis Morris in 1739 Judge of the Hunterdon 
County Courts, a position he vainly sought to be relieved from ; was one of the 
first Council of the city of Trenton at its incorporation in 1746, and four years 
later was unanimously chosen by the Governor and Council for a position in the 
Council, but was never commissioned. His wife Sarah died August 26, 1750, 
in her fifty-sixth year, having been born i2mo. 26, 1694. He married (second) 
November 2, 1752, Rebecca, daughter of John and Martha Cadwalader, sister 
of Hannah Cadwalader, who had married in 1737 his nephew, Samuel Morris. 
She died October 9, 1764, and he November 6, 1776. 
Issue of William and Sarah (Dury) Morris: — 

William Morris, b. Barbados, Oct. 18, 1719; m. Oct. 5, 1752, Rebecca Peters; 

Mary Morris, b. Barbados, May 30, 1721, d. June 5, 1721 ; 

Sarah Morris, b. Barbados, Sept. 9, 1722, d. 1746; m. 8mo. (October) 1745, Joseph 

Richardson, of whom presently; 
Mary Morris, b. Barbados, Dec. 15, 1724, d. Aug., 1726; 

Anthony Morris, b. Oct. 31, 1727, d. March 10, 1804; m. Dec, 1746, Sarah Cramner ; 
Mercy Morris, b. Trenton, N. J., June 9, 1731, d. Feb. 15, 1775; m. Dr. Horton; 
Joseph Morris, b. Trenton, Nov. 25, 1733, d. Feb. 15, 1733-4; 
Israel Morris, b. Trenton, April 13, 1738, d. April 3, 1818; m. (first) Feb. 19, 1761, 

Phoebe Brown; (second) Sarah Bond; 
Joseph Morris, b. Trenton, July 19, 1739, d. Aug. 14, 1739. 

Joseph Richardson, who married, October, 1745, Sarah, eldest surviving 
daughter of William and Sarah (Dury) Morris, was a son of John and Ann 
Richardson, and was born at the family residence on Christiana creek, iomo. 
(December) 6, 1706. His father had expected him to join him in the West 
India trade and had built him a house at Christiana, but he settled in Philadel- 
phia, where he became a prominent business man, filling many positions of trust 
and representing the city in the Colonial Assembly from 1763 to his death, No- 
vember 17, 1770. His wife, Sarah Morris, died about a year after her marriage 
and soon after the birth of their only child, and he never remarried. 

Sarah Richardson, only child of Joseph and Sarah (Morris) Richardson, 
born October 11, 1746, died March 13, 1825; married, May 22, 1771, Nicholas, 
son of Nicholas and Mary (Shoemaker) Wain, and grandson of Nicholas Wain, 
who came from Chapelcroft, near Settle, Yorkshire, and was a member of the 
first Provincial Assembly, 1682-3, and served for many years thereafter in the 
Assembly, first from Bucks county and later from Philadelphia. The descend- 
ants of Sarah Richardson Wain will be given in this volume under the head of 
Wain Family. 

Anthony Morris, eldest son of Anthony and Phoebe (Guest) Morris, born 
in Philadelphia, February 14, 1705-6, on arriving at manhood became associated 
with his father in the brewing business, to which the father, owing to the 
multiplicity of his business interests, was able to give but little attention. Becom- 
ing interested in a business venture in the Barbados, he took a certificate from 
Philadelphia Monthly Meeting to the Monthly Meeting at Barbados, dated i2mo. 
(February) 28, 1728-9, and remained on the Islands six months. Returning to 
Philadelphia, he again gave his attention to the brewing business, and became 
a partner with his father, December 10, 1741. He was a large land owner in 
Philadelphia and elsewhere, and like his father was actively associated with the 



MORRIS 55 

business and official life of the city, and held a high place in the social life of 
Philadelphia in the palmy days of her prosperity during the years preceding the 
war for independence. He maintained a city house and two country seats, one, 
"Peckham" in district of Southwark, and the other, "Solitude" in the same dis- 
trict, and numbered among his friends and associates the most aristocratic fami- 
lies in America. He was admitted a member of the "Colony in Schuylkill," May 

1, 1748, of which his son, Capt. Samuel Morris, was later a distinguished member 
and Governor for a long term of years. He was elected an Overseer of Public 
Schools, 8mo. 8, 1742, and resigned 2mo. 23, 1758, to be succeeded by his 
brother, Joseph Morris, and also served for a number of years as one of the city 
assessors. He was a contributor to Pennsylvania Hospital, 1751, of which his 
brother Joseph was one of the original managers. He was from the first a 
champion of the Colonies against the oppressive measures of the mother country, 
and a signer of the non-importation agreement, November 7, 1765. He and his 
second wife, Elizabeth, took an active interest in benevolent and philanthropic 
work in the city and elsewhere, and were members of the Society of Friends. 

Anthony Morris died at his country seat, "Peckham", in Southwark, October 

2, 1780, aged nearly seventy-five years. He married (first) i2mo., 1730, Sarah, 
born June 29, 1713, daughter of Samuel Powell, a rich builder, by his wife, 
Abigail Wilcox. She died April 10, 1751, and he married (second) April 30, 
1752, Elizabeth, born February 20, 1721-2, daughter of William and Jane 
(Evans) Hudson, and granddaughter of William Hudson, member of Colonial 
Assembly and Mayor of Philadelphia, 1725-6, by his wife, Mary Richardson. 
Elizabeth Morris survived her husband, dying May 23, 1783. 

Issue of Anthony and Sarah {Powell) Morris were: — 

Anthony, b. Nov. 25, 1731, d. Feb. 28, 1732-3; 

Capt. Samuel, b. June 24, 1734, of whom presently; 

Deborah, b. Nov. 15, 1736; m. Sept 8, 1756, John Franklin, of New York; died Nov. 23, 

1787; 
Anthony (Major), b. Oct. 8, 1738, killed at Princeton, Jan. 3, 1777; 
Israel, b. April 6, 1741, d. Oct. 30, 1806; m. Mary Harrison; 
Sarah, b. July 2, 1743, d. Jan. 20, 1830; m. April 11, 1771, William Buckley; 
Thomas, b. Jan. 25, 1745-6; m. Mary Saunders, of whom later. 

Issue of Anthony and Elizabeth (Hudson) Morris: — 

William Hudson, b. March 10. 1753, d. Sept. 14, 1807; m. Sept. 5. 1776, Sarah Warder; 
Luke, b. April 10, 1760, d. March 20, 1802; m. May 9, 1786, Ann Willing; 
Isaac, b. Nov. 28, 1761, "died the following week". 

Captain Samuel Morris, eldest surviving son of Anthony and Sarah (Pow- 
ell) Morris, born in Philadelphia, June 24, 1734, usually referred to on the 
early records as Samuel Morris Jr. to distinguish him from his uncle, Samuel 
Morris Sr., both being members of the Board of War during the Revolution, 
was one of the most prominent of this prominent family in public affairs. On 
January 8, 1750, he was apprenticed to Isaac Greenleafe, merchant, to serve until 
he attained his majority, a period of four years, five months and two weeks. 
Greenleafe had married as his second wife, Catharine, daughter of Caspar and 
Catharine (Jansen) Wistar, and through her their young apprentice was brought 



56 MORRIS 

in close association with her sister, Rebecca Wistar, whom he married only a few 
months after the close of his apprenticeship, December II, 1755. 

Samuel Morris was a keen sportsman, very fond of outdoor sports and an 
excellent horseman. He was an original member of the Colony in Schuylkill 
in 1748, was elected its governor in 1766, and served until his death, a period 
of forty-six years, being a member for sixty-four years. He was also a member 
of the "Society of Fort St. Davids", of which the membership was principally 
Welsh, of the "Order of Ancient Britons." The "Fort" was a building on the 
east bank of the Schuylkill, near the falls, where the members resorted to fish 
and feast and entertain their friends, it being principally a fishing club. Samuel 
Morris was also one of the most ardent members of the Gloucester Fox-Hunting 
Club, of which he was president from its organization, October 29, 1766, until 
his death forty-six years later. It was from this organization, composed of the 
aristocratic youths of Philadelphia, that he organized, November 17, 1774, the 
Philadelphia Troop of Light Horse, of which he served many years as Captain, 
and which rendered such efficient service in the early days of the Revolutionary 
War. Twenty-two of its twenty-eight members being members of the Gloucester 
Fox-Hunting Club, it had its inception while the first Continental Congress 
was assembled in Philadelphia, and Abraham Markoe was elected its first Cap- 
tain ; Andrew Allen, First Lieutenant ; Samuel Morris, Second Lieutenant, and 
James Mease, Cornet. Their first flag, presented to them by Captain Markoe, 
and still a prized possession of the Troop, was the first known flag to contain 
thirteen stripes, and is thought to have suggested the adoption of the striped 
Union Flag at Cambridge, six months after the City Troop had escorted General 
George Washington, accompanied by Lee and Schuyler, to New York, when on 
his way to take command of the army at Cambridge, June 21, 1775. Captain 
Markoe had then resigned and Samuel Morris was unanimously elected as Cap- 
tain. Captain Samuel Morris and his brother, Major Anthony Morris, were the 
most ardent of patriots from the time of the earliest protest, the signing of the 
Non-importation Resolutions, October 25, 1765, the latter being one of the dele- 
gates to the Provincial Convention of July 15, 1774, eventually gave his life 
to the cause of liberty, being killed in the battle of Princeton, January 3, 1777. 

Samuel was selected a member of the first Committee of Safety of the State, 
appointed by Assembly, June 30, 1775, and when this body was merged into the 
Council of Safety, he was elected a member of that body, July 24, 1776, but 
declined, preferring to give his attention to more active service. He was appointed 
by a resolve of the Committee of Safety, January 22, 1776, chairman of a com- 
mittee to survey the Jersey shore of the Delaware from Billingsport to Newtown 
creek, to determine what posts it would be necessary to fortify against any 
attempted invasion of the enemy. He interested himself in the equipment of and 
organization of the army and was energetic in completing the naval defenses of 
the city and blocking the channel of the Delaware. When the Hessians embarked 
from Staten Island, October, 1776, the Council of Safety ordered that a letter 
be sent to "Samuel Morris Junr. requesting him to send up the Ammunition Sloop 
and to supply himself with a shallop in her stead, to assist in making the Chevaux 
de Frize, at Billingsport." His City Troop was kept constantly drilled, and its 
services tendered to the government at the breaking out of hostilities, and it 
served as a body guard of General Washington through the campaign of 1776-7. 



MORRIS 



57 



In November, 1776, several of the troop were at the headquarters at Morristown, 
New Jersey, and on report of General Howe's advance, the whole troop, under 
Captain Morris, joined Washington at Trenton, December 3, 1776, and marched 
with him to Princeton, and covering his retreat, five days later, were the last to 
cross the Delaware into Pennsylvania. On Christmas night, 1776, they re-crossed 
the Delaware in the storm and sleet, and participated in the historic battle of 
Trenton, several members of the troop distinguishing themselves by special acts 
of bravery, though this was the first time they had been under fire, in active ser- 
vice. On December 30, 1776, the troop again crossed the Delaware and marched 
with Washington to Trenton, where was fought the battle of Assunpink Creek ; 
both of these battles being fought on land that had belonged for a half century 
to the Morris family. When Washington decided to move off during the night 
to Princeton, it was the City Troop who were selected to keep up the camp 
fires to divert suspicion from his movements and to follow him to Princeton, 
where they especially distinguished themselves, being at the front with Wash- 
ington when he drove the enemy over fields and fences. Here it was that Major 
Anthony Morris was killed in action. 

After the battle of Princeton, the troop remained in headquarters at Morris- 
town, New Jersey, for about three weeks, and the campaign being over were 
honorably discharged, January 23, 1777, with the highest praise of General 
Washington, the letter of discharge being still in possession of the Morris family. 
This troop was the only cavalry in the Jersey campaign, and served entirely at 
their own expense. After its discharge, it, however, maintained its organization, 
and with its valiant captain took part in the battles of Brandywine and German- 
town, camped at Valley Forge, and served in the operations around Philadelphia, 
until the evacuation of Philadelphia by the British in June, 1778, and for the 
next two years was in the service of Congress and under State authority ; was 
again at Trenton in June, 1780, but the enemy having left the state, returned 
to Philadelphia and again received the thanks of Washington. The troop again 
received his thanks for services during the Whiskey Insurrection of 1794. The 
organization has been maintained to the present time, it being now known as 
"First Troop, Philadelphia City Cavalry." Captain Samuel Morris continued 
with Washington until the close of the Revolution, and was constantly employed 
as the bearer of confidential messages, and his troop was always held in readi- 
ness to perform special duty. Captain Morris was elected to the Provincial 
Assembly in 1776, and served in that body until February 21, 1777; was again 
elected to the General Assembly of the Commonwealth in 1781-82-83. He pos- 
sessed a strong but gentle personality, and was known as "Christian Sam." He 
died at his residence in Philadelphia, July 7, 1812, universally loved and lamented. 
His wife, Rebecca Wistar, had died January 22, 1791. 

Issue of Captain Samuel and Rebecca (Wistar) Morris: — 

Samuel, d. y. ; 

Sarah, b. Jan. 19, 1758, d. Jan. 7, 1831 ; m. March 14, 1782 ; Richard Wistar ; 

Benjamin Wistae, b. Aug. 14, 1762, d. April 24, 1825 ; m. Nov. 24, 1785, Mary Wells, of 

whom presently ; 
Caspar W., b. Sept. 12, 1764, d. Feb. 27, 1828; m. Nov. 24, 1795, Elizabeth Giles; 
Anthony, b. Feb. 10, 1766, d. Nov. 3, i860; m. May 13 1790, Mary Smith Pemberton ; 
Luke W., b. June 25, 1768, d. June 4, 1830; m. March 24, 1791, Elizabeth Morris Buckley; 

(second) April 4, 1800, Ann Pancoast; see forward; 



58 MORRIS 

Isaac W., b. July 19, 1770, d. May 8, 1831 ; m. i2mo. 17, 1795, Sarah Paschall; 

Catharine W., b. April 22, 1772, d. Dec. 10, 1859, unm. ; 

Samuel, b. March 4, 1775, d. Sept. 17, 1793, of yellow fever; 

Israel Wistar, b. Feb. 27, 1778, d. Aug. 17, 1870; m. 6mo. 12, 1799, Mary Hollingsworth. 

Benjamin Wistar Morris, eldest son of Capt. Samuel and Rebecca (Wistar) 
Morris, born at Philadelphia, August 14, 1762, married at Market street Meet- 
ing, Philadelphia, November 24, 1785, Mary, born at Burlington, New Jersey, 
September 4, 1764, daughter of Richard and Rachel (Hill) Wells, and about 
1800 removed with his family from Philadelphia to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, 
where the town of Wellsborough was named for Mrs. Morris, and her brother, 
Gideon H. Wells, and where they were among the earliest settlers. Benjamin 
Wistar Morris died at Wellsborough, April 24, 1825, and his wife, November 6, 
1819. They had issue : — 

Samuel Wells, b. Sept. 1, 1786, d. May 25, 1847, of whom presently; 
Sarah, b. Sept. 2, 1788, d. May 18, 1862; m. Aug. 5, 1804, Jacob Shoemaker Wain; 
Rebecca, b. Dec. 23, 1789, d. Dec. 8, 1871 ; m. July 11, 1810, William Cox Ellis; 
Richard Wells, b. Feb. 18, 1791, d. Oct. 4, 1791. 

The Wells family, from which Mary (Wells) Morris was descended, traces 
back to John, Lord Wells, of Alford, 1380, whose son, Lord Wells, was Lord 
Lieutenant of Ireland, 1433, and a lineal descendant was Anthony Wells, Cap- 
tain of York Castle, 1635. His son, Anthony Wells, "of Cottness on the River 
Ouse, near Howden," had a son Nathaniel, buried at York, 1734, who married, 
August 13, 1693, Abia Burden, died 1735, and had issue: — 

Anthony, b. Oct. 2, 1694, d. Oct. 2, 1746; m. July 5, 1723, Abia Dickinson, b. June 4, 
1703, "d. July 2, 1743; 

Elizabeth, b. Feb. 22, 1695-6; 

Gideon, M. D., b. March 3, 1700, d. 1759; married at London, Oct. 2, 1730, Mary 
Partridge, b. Feb. 26, 1707, d. 1789, dau. of Richard Partridge, of London, agent at 
the court of Great Britain for Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware. 

Richard Wells, son of Dr. Gideon Wells, born July 22, 1734, at Cutthorp, Eng- 
land, came to America, 1750, and settled in Philadelphia; married, April 17, 
1759, Rachel Hill, born April 2, 1735, died Philadelphia, May 17, 1796, daughter 
of Dr. Richard and Deborah ( Moore ) Hill, a descendant of Alfred the Great, 
through her great-grandfather, Thomas Lloyd, President of Provincial Council, 
1684, Deputy Governor of Pennsylvania, 1691-3. Children of Richard and 
Rachel (Hill) Wells were: 

Richard, b. June 10, 1760, d. June 29, 1760; 
Samuel Preston, b. July 7, 1763, d. Aug. 29, 1763; 

Mary, b. Burlington, N. J., Sept. 4, 1764; married Benjamin W. Morris; 
Gideon Hill, b. Sept. 20, 1765; m. May 11, 1790, Hannah Wain; 
Henry, b. 1766, d. 1767 ; 

Hannah, b. Nov. 10, 1767, died, Philadelphia, June 29, 1796; 

William Hill, b. Jan. 7, 1769; m. Oct. 9, 1790, Elizabeth, daughter of Gen. John Dag- 
worthy, of New Jersey, later of Delaware. 

Samuel Wells Morris, eldest son of Benjamin W. and Mary (Wells) 
Morris, born in Philadelphia, September I, 1786, died at Wellsborough, Tioga 



MORRIS 59 

county, Pennsylvania; was educated at Princeton, studied law, and was admitted 
to the bar of Tioga county, where he practiced for some years ; became Judge of 
the District Court, September 4, 1837, and served until March 3, 1841. He 
was one of the founders of Wellsborough Academy, where his children were edu- 
cated, and was a man of considerable prominence in that section. He married 
at Muncy, Pennsylvania, Meeting, December 5, 1810, Anna, born May 7, 1791, 
died at Germantown, Philadelphia, January 26, 1858, daughter of William and 
Mercy (Cox) Ellis, granddaughter of Benjamin and Ann (Swaffer) Ellis, great- 
granddaughter of Ellis Ellis, born in Pembrokeshire, Wales, who married Lydia 
Humphrey, and great-great-granddaughter of Thomas Ellis, Register General of 
the Province of Pennsylvania, July 28, 1687, to July 25, 1689. 
Issue of Judge Samuel Wells and Anna (Ellis) Morris: — 

William Ellis Morris, b. Jan. 29, 1812, d. Oct. 15, 1875; m. May 7, 1839, Mary Nancy 

Burnside, of whom presently; 
Mary Wells Morris, b. 1813, d. Oct., 1896; m. 1834, James Lowrey; 
Sarah Ellis Morris, b. Oct. 14, 1815, d. Jan. 4, 1898; m. Nov. 2, 1836, Joseph P. Morris; 
Susan Marriott Morris, b. July 29, 1817, d. Sept. 3, 1891 ; m. May 4, 1841, John W. 

Guernsey ; 

Benjamin Wistar Morris, D. D., Bishop, b. May 30, 1819; d April 7, 1906; m. June 22, 

1852, Hannah Rodney; 
Rachel Wells Morris, b. 1821, of Portland, Ore.; d. August 30, 1906; 
Ellen, b. 1823; d. 1885; m. 1846, Judge Henry Booth, LL. D. ; 
Charles Ellis Morris, b. 1825, d. 1883; m. 1851, Elizabeth Holstein Amies; 
Anna Ellis Morris, b. Aug. 28, 1827; m. Aug. 3, 1853, George R. Barker; 
Louisa Morris, b. 1829, d. 1864, unm. ; 
Samuel Wells Morris Jr., b. 1835 ; m. 1863, Charity Payntar. 

William Ellis Morris, eldest son of Judge Samuel Wells and Anna (Ellis) 
Morris, born at Muncy, Pennsylvania, January 29, 1812, received an academic 
education, and at the age of sixteen years left his parents' home at Wellsborough, 
Pennsylvania, to accept the lowest position in an engineering party, having in 
charge the building of canals in Western Pennsylvania. He rose rapidly in his 
chosen profession and became first assistant engineer of the West Branch Canal 
Company, later Engineer-in-chief of Bald Eagle Canal Company, and was ap- 
pointed by Gov. David R. Porter, one of the State Engineers of the Canal Com- 
mission. He became very eminent in his profession and constructed many im- 
portant works, among them the reservoirs at Hollidaysburg, Spring Garden 
Water Works at Philadelphia, Water Works at Athens, Schenectady, Rondout 
and Oswego, New York, Vicksburg and Meridian, Mississippi, as well 
as erecting works and improvements at Morristown and Trenton, New Jersey, 
Easton, Bristol and Doylestown, Pennsylvania, and Wilmington, Delaware. In 
January, 1843, ne was called to the presidency of Philadelphia, Germantown 
and Norristown Railroad Company, which position he filled for ten years 
and then was elected president of the Long Island Railroad Company, where he 
also served ten years, and was then made Vice-president and Acting President 
of the New York and Harlem Railroad Company, but at the end of one year 
failing health induced him to resign, and he returned to Germantown in 1864, 
and was employed as consulting engineer and in erecting various water works 
and other municipal improvements until his death. In June, 1875, ne was nom- 
inated by the Franklin Institute and appointed by Mayor of Philadelphia as one 



60 MORRIS 

of the commission of five experts to report to councils of Philadelphia upon 
the present and future supply of water for the city of Philadelphia. He died 
at his residence, No. 1225 Spruce street, Philadelphia, of heart disease, October 
15, 1875. He married, May 7, 1839, a t Belief onte, Pennsylvania, Mary Nancy, 
born 1813, died September 4, 1891, daughter of Hon. Thomas Burnside, Jus- 
tice of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, and President Judge of the Bucks 
County Courts, 1841-4. 

Issue of William Ellis and Mary Nancy (Burnside) Morris: — 

Anna Maria Morris, b. Hollidaysburg, Pa., March 31, 1840, d- March II, 1875, unm. ; 
Thomas Burnside Morris, b. Wellsborough, Pa., May 13, 1842, of whom presently; 
Charles Ellis Morris, b. Philadelphia, March 7, 1844, d. Feb. 10, 1879; m. May 17, 

1877, Ella Graham Benson ; 
William B. Morris, b. Germantown, Dec. 18, 1850, d. October I, 1864. 

Thomas Burnside Morris, eldest son of William Ellis and Mary Nancy 
(Burnside) Morris, born at Wellsborough, Pennsylvania, May 13, 1842, fol- 
lowed the profession of his father and was chief engineer, having in charge 
erection of 250 miles of the Union Pacific Railroad over the Rocky Mountains, 
and also of several of the more important sections of the Northern Pacific Rail- 
road. In 1874 he gave up regular practice of his profession and engaged in coal 
business in Washington Territory, now the State of Washington. Two years 
later he removed to San Francisco, California, and became president of the 
Renton Coal Company, which position he filled at the time of his death, Novem- 
ber 8, 1885, having been a resident of California for nine years, making his home 
at San Rafael, Oakland, where he was ruling elder of the Presbyterian church, 
and superintendent of the Sabbath school. He married, October 3, 1871, Sarah 
Arndt Sletor. 

Issue of Thomas B. and Sarah Arndt (Sletor) Morris: — 

Mary Burnside Morris, b. Nov. 8, 1872; m. June 14, 1899, Russell Duane ; 

Roland Sletor Morris, b. March 11, 1874; m. Augusta Twiggs Shippen West, of 

whom presently; 
Anna Lloyd Morris, b. Aug. 16, 1876; m. April 14, 1904, Benjamin Coates. 

Roland Sletor Morris, only son of Thomas Burnside and Sarah Arndt 
(Sletor) Morris, born March 11, 1874, graduated at the Lawrenceville (New 
Jersey) School, 1892, and entered Princeton University, from which he gradu- 
ated with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, 1896. He then entered the Law 
Department of the University of Pennsylvania, and received the degree of LL. B., 
1899, and has since practiced the legal profession in Philadelphia. Roland Sletor 
Morris is a member of the Law Association of Philadelphia ; Society of Colonial 
Wars ; Philadelphia Club, Philadelphia Barge Club, Philadelphia Racquet Club, 
president of the Democratic Club of Philadelphia. He married, April 20, 1903, 
Augusta Twiggs Shippen, daughter of William W. and Sarah (Shippen) West, 
of Philadelphia. Mrs. Morris is a member of the Society of Colonial Dames 
of America and Daughters of the Confederacy. 

Issue of Roland Sletor and Augusta T. S. (West) Morris: — 

Sarah Arndt Morris, b. May 25, 1904; 
Edward Shippen Morris, b. Feb. 14, 1906. 



MORRIS 61 

Luke Wistar Morris, fourth son of Capt. Samuel and Rebecca (Wistar) Mor- 
ris, born June 25, 1768, died June 4, 1830; was associated with his brother, Isaac 
Wistar Morris, in the brewing business at Dock and Pear streets, until 1810. In 
1 81 7 he purchased the house at 225 South Eighth street, now known as the Mor- 
ris Mansion, where he thereafter resided. He married (first) March 24, 1791, 
Elizabeth Morris, daughter of William and Sarah (Morris) Buckley, and grand- 
daughter of Anthony and Sarah (Powell) Morris. She was born July 17, 1772, 
died August 21, 1797, and (second) April 4, 1800, Ann Pancoast, born Sept. 12, 
1764, died Feb. 17, 1858. 

Issue of Luke Wistar and Elizabeth Morris: — 

Samuel Buckley Morris, their only child, b. Dec. 27, 1791, d. Jan. 23, 1859; 
m. June 16, 1825, Hannah Perot, dau. of Elliston Perot, b. June 12, 1792, d. July 
6, 1831. He was a member of the widely known shipping firm of Wain & Morris ; 
was one of the first directors of the Philadelphia Saving Fund ; one of the found- 
ers of the Pennsylvania Institution for the Deaf and Dumb ; manager of Friends' 
Asylum for the Insane, at Frankford ; one of the founders of Haverford College ; 
and founded in 1854, the Saving Fund Society of Germantown and its Vicinity. 
From 1834 till his death he resided in the house owned by him at 5442 German- 
town Ave., Philadelphia, which was occupied by President Washington during the 
yellow fever of 1793 and 1794. He was widely known for his benevolence, 
Christian politeness and geniality. 

Issue of Samuel Buckley and Hannah (Perot) Morris: — 

Samuel Morris, b. Oct. 7, 1827, d. Oct. 17, 1905; m. Lydia Spencer, Feb. 17, 1853, b. 

March 22, 1829, d. Dec. 22, 1903 ; 
Beulah Sansom Morris, b. Jan. 4, 1829; m. March 24, 1870, Charles Rhoads. Issue: 

Mary, b. June 8, 1871, d. March 27, 1872. 

Elliston Perot Morris, b. May 22, 1831, m. March 21, 1861, Martha Canby, of Wilming- 
ton, Del. 

Samuel Morris resided for fifty years at Olney, Philadelphia, was a minister 
and prominent member of the Society of Friends, widely known for his many 
Christian virtues. He was an original director of the Saving Fund Society of 
Germantown and its Vicinity, and for many years a director and president of 
Friends Asylum for the Insane at Frankford. 

Issue of Samuel and Lydia (Spencer) Morris: — 

Hannah Perot Morris, b. Feb. 20, 1854; 

Luke Wistar Morris, b. June 11, 1858; d. 1873; 

George Spencer Morris, b. July 11, 1867, m. June 1, 1895, Lydia Ellicott. 

Issue of George Spencer and Lydia (Ellicott) Morris: — 

Samuel Morris, Jr., b. June 12, 1896; 
Nancy Morris, b. April 3, 1898 ; 
Edith Ellicott Morris, b. Aug. 12, 1899; 
Lydia Spencer Morris, b. Nov. 2J, 1900 ; 
Hannah Perot Morris, b. May 14, 1006. 

Elliston Perot Morris, one of the founders of the Germantown Dispensary 
and Hospital ; an original director of the Saving Fund Society of Germantown 
and its Vicinity ; manager of Friends Asylum for the Insane ; an overseer of the 



62 MORRIS 

Public School under Charter of Wm. Penn ; for a time member of Board of 
Managers of Haverford College ; director of the Philadelphia Contributionship 
for the Insurance of houses from loss by Fire; and a member of the Historical 
Society of Pennsylvania. 

Issue of Elliston Perot and) Martha (Canby) Morris: — 

Marriott Canby Morris, b. Sept. 7, 1863; m. June 8, 1897, Jane Gibbons Rhoads; 

Elizabeth Canby Morris, b. Oct. 4, 1867 ; 

Samuel Buckley Morris, b. Oct. 10, 1868; d. June 20, 1886. 

E. Perot Morris, b. May 31, 1872, d. March 16, 1881 ; 

Marriott Canby Morris is a graduate of Haverford College ; a director of the 
Provident Life and Trust Co. of Philadelphia, director of Saving Fund Society 
of Germantown and its Vicinity ; president of the Germantown Boys' Club, 
founded 1887, and a member of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. 
Issue of Marriott Canby and Jane (Rhoads) Morris: — 

Elliston Perot Morris, Jr., b. May 17, 1899; 
Marriott Canby Morris, Jr., b. Dec. 29, 1900; 
Janet Morris, b. April 7, 1907. 

Issue of Luke Wistar and Ann (Pancoast) Morris: — 

Elizabeth Buckley Morris, b. June 12, 1801, d. 1863; m. Jan., 1821, Thomas Wistar; 

an account of whom and his ancestry appears elsewhere ; 
Mary Luke Morris, b. Jan. 28, 1803, d. April 28, 1884; m. Sept. 25, 1832, Charles 

Ellis ; 
Sarah Wistar Morris, b. Aug. 22, 1807, d. March 7, 1855; m. June 5, 1827, Joseph 

Perot ; 
Hannah Ann Morris, b. Sept. 24, 1812, d. Sept. 17, 1889; m. June 11, 1833, Effing- 
ham Lawrence Buckley ; had issue : 

Edward Morris Buckley, b. April 29, 1834, d. May 13, 1866 ; m. June 6, 

1855, Gertrude Underdonk; 
Annie Morris Buckley, b. Jan. 13, 1836; m. Dec. 3, 1855, Israel Wistar Morris, 
second son of Dr. Caspar and Annie (Cheston) Morris, and grandson of 
Captain Samuel Morris. An account of their descendants is given later. 

Rebecca Morris, second daughter of Benjamin Wistar and Mary (Wells) 
Morris, born in Philadelphia, December 23, 1789, removed with her parents to 
the present site of Wellsborough, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, about 1800. She 
married, July 11, 1810, William Cox Ellis, of Muncy, now Lycoming county, 
son of William and Mercy (Cox) Ellis, brother to Anna Ellis, who married her 
brother, Samuel Wells Morris. William Cox Ellis was born at Fort Muncy, then 
Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, May 5, 1787, and became a prominent 
attorney-at-law at Muncy, and served in Pennsylvania Legislature and represented 
Lycoming county in Congress. He died December 13, 1871, and his wife Rebecca 
Morris, December 8, of the same year. 

Issue of William Cox and Rebecca {Morris) Ellis: — 

Mary Morris Ellis, b. May 7, 1811, d. April 15, 1831, unm. ; 

William Ellis, b. June 20, 1813, d. Oct. 13, 1881 ; m. (first) Hannah Lownes; (second) 

Agnes Boyd, of whom presently; 
Richard Wells Ellis, b. June 18, 1815, d. May 21, 1832, unm.; 
Mercy Ann Ellis, b. Oct. 11, 1817, d. Aug. 23, 1843, unm.; 



MORRIS 63 

Benjamin Wistar Morris Ellis, b. Jan. 27, 1820, d. Dec. 5, 1881 ; m. Elisabeth Masters; 
Sarah Ellis, b. Jan. 27, 1822 ; m. April 25, 1842, Rev. Edwin Nathaniel Lightner ; 
Anna Morris Ellis, b. April 9, 1824; m. Sept. 26, 1848, William Hayman Holstein; 
Joshua Alder Ellis, b. April 28, 1826, d. Aug. 4, 1896; m. (first) July 14, 1852, Henrietta 

Ashmead; (second) June 10, 1856, Mary Cheyney; (third) Mrs. Courtney; 
Alfred Ellis, b. Dec. 19, 1828, d. Oct. 1, 1829. 

William Ellis, eldest son of William Cox and Rebecca (Morris) Ellis, mar- 
ried (first) Hannah A., daughter of Edward and Hannah Lownes. She died 
1857, and he married (second) Agnes, daughter of Rev. George and Elizabeth 
(Livingston) Boyd. 

Issue of William and Hannah (Lownes) Ellis: — 

Rebecca Ellis, b. Sept. 9, 1842, d. Nov. 13, 1843; 

Sarah Byrnes Ellis, b. Nov. 4, 1844; m. Dec- 17, 1884, William Kerr Merritt Groverman, 

who died in Baltimore, Md., 1893; 
Frances Lownes Ellis, b. Oct. 19, 1846; m. 1871, George Harrison Wiltbank, who 

changed his name to MacPherson ; 
Catharine Morris Ellis, b. May 8, 1848, d. July 6, 1849; 
Edward Lownes Ellis, b. 1851, d. unm. ; 
William Lownes Ellis, b. Aug. 4, 1855; m. Apr. 20, 1881, Nellie Huntingdon, of 

Brooklyn, N. Y. 

By the second marriage William Ellis had three children : George Boyd Ellis, died 

in infancy, and Agnes Boyd and Alder Morris Ellis. 

Israel Wistar Morris, youngest child of Capt. Samuel and Rebecca (Wis- 
tar) Morris, was born at Reading, Berks county, Pennsylvania, where Capt. Mor- 
ris had removed his family, during the occupancy of Philadelphia by the British 
forces, February 27, 1778, died in Philadelphia, August 17, 1870. As a young 
man he was a member of Philadelphia City Troop, organized by his distinguished 
father, becoming a member May 31, 1798, and made an honorary member in 
1803. He was for several years a prosperous broker and commission merchant 
of Philadelphia, but removed in 1815 to his farm called "Green Hill" in Lower 
Merion township, and his Mansion House there was his home at the time of his 
death. He married, 6mo. 12, 1799, Mary, born 4mo. 19, 1776, daughter of 
Levi Hollingsworth, and a descendant of Valentine Hollingsworth, one of the 
earliest English settlers in New Castle county, and of a very distinguished family 
in that section and Delaware county, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Morris died 6mo. 23, 
1820, after an illness of but a few hours, her husband surviving her a half 
century. 

Issue of Israel Wistar and Mary (Hollingsworth) Morris: — 

Stephen, b. 6mo. 3, 1800, d. 8mo. 13, 1865; m. 2mo. 21, 1827, Rachel Johnson; (second) 

i2mo. 9, 1854, Mary Ann Cope ; 
Henry, b. imo. 27, 1802, d. i2mo. 20, 1881 ; m. 1830, Caroline Old; 
Samuel, b. nmo. 25, 1803, d. 6mo. 18, 1804; 
Caspar, b. May 2, 1805, d. March 17, 1884, of whom presently; 
Levi, b. 41110. 24, 1807, d. 2mo. 26, 1868 ; m. 1830, Naomi McClenachan ; 
Hannah, b. 3mo. 20, 1809, d. imo. 3. 1892 ; 

Israel, b. iomo. 22, 181 1; d. i2mo. 13, 1905; m. 9mo. 25, 1839, Elizabeth Longstreth ; 
Jane, b. 8mo. 13, 1813, d. 31110. 12. 1897; 
Wistar, b. 9mo. 6, 1815, d. 3mo. 23, 1891 ; m. imo. 22, 1863, Mary Harris. 

Caspar Morris, M. D., fourth son of Israel Wistar and Mary (Hollings- 



64 MORRIS 

worth) Morris, born in Philadelphia, May 2, 1805, was but an infant when his 
parents removed to "Green Hill" farm, and his mother dying there when he was 
but five years of age, much of his early life was spent at the home of his maternal 
grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Levi Hollingsworth. His earliest education was 
acquired at the school at Pine Street Meeting House, later under David Ellis, at 
Church Alley, and finally at the Penn Charter School, in the management of 
which his paternal ancestors had taken a prominent part for over a century. He 
took up study of medicine with Dr. Joseph Parrish, then the leading physician of 
the city, and aided by a legacy of $1,500, from his aunt, Miss Sarah Wistar, 
entered the University of Pennsylvania, from which he graduated with high 
honors in 1826. He served as resident physician at Pennsylvania Hospital, and 
later made a voyage to India as a ship's surgeon. On his return he began the 
practice of medicine in Philadelphia, and lived there until he retired from pro- 
fessional pursuits in 187 1. He achieved high rank as a practitioner as well as a 
lecturer and author of medical works. He lectured for many years successively 
on theory and practice of medicine at Philadelphia Summer School of Medicine,, 
and on diseases of children at Blockley Hospital. He was also Professor of 
Theory and Practice of Medicine at Philadelphia Medical Institute ; was founder 
of Protestant Episcopal Hospital and its manager from i860 to 1880; vice-presi- 
dent of the Institute for the Blind, and one of the first to urge the establishment 
of the House of Refuge. He was a frequent contributor to medical and general 
literature, among his miscellaneous publications being, "Life of William Wil- 
berforce", (Philadelphia, 1841), "Memoirs of Margaret Mercer" (Philadel- 
phia, 1848); "Letter to Bishop Alonzo Potter, on Hospital Needs" (1851); 
"Lectures on Scarlet Fever" (1858) ; "Essay on Hospital Construction and Man- 
agement" (Baltimore, 1875); "Rilhet and Barthol, on Diseases of Children";. 
"Heart Voices and Home Songs", for private distribution; and a great number 
of contributions to medical journals. Pie died at his residence, 1033 Spruce 
street, Philadelphia, March 17, 1884, after a long illness and a period of twelve 
or thirteen years of failing health. A memorial brass tablet was erected in the 
chapel of Episcopal Hospital in his memory. He was a member of the Protestant 
Episcopal church, and one of the principal promoters of the Church of Epiphany, 
at Fifteenth and Chestnut streets. 

Dr. Caspar Morris married, November 12, 1829, his cousin, Anne, eldest 
daughter of James and Mary (Hollingsworth) Cheston. She was born May 9,. 
1 810, died November, 1880. 

Issue of Dr. Caspar and Anne (Cheston) Morris: — 

James Cheston Morris, M. D., b. May 28, 183 1 ; m. (first) March 8, 1854, Hannah Ann- 
Tyson; (second) Jan. 11, 1870, Mary Ella (Johnson) Stuart, a widow; 

Israel Wistar Morris, b. June 1, 1833, d. Dec. 18, 1909; m. Annie Morris Buckley, of 
whom presently ; 

Mary Hollingsworth Morris, b. Nov. 1, 1835; m. 1856, Henry M. Murray; 

Galloway Cheston Morris, b. June 26, 1837; in. 1861, Hannah Perot; 

Cornelia Morris, b. June 26, 1840, d. April 12, 1842 ; 

Daniel Corrie Morris, b. May 17, 1842, d. July 21, 1845. 

Israel Wistar Morris, second son of Dr. Caspar and Anne (Cheston) Mor- 
ris, born in Philadelphia, June 1, 1833, died there December 18, 1909. He was 



MORRIS 65 

known as one of the country's pioneer mining experts, and was intimately asso- 
ciated with the history of anthracite mining in Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Morris became interested in coal mining in Schuylkill county, Pennsyl- 
vania, at about the time he attained his majority, and was one of the most far- 
sighted pioneers in the development of Pennsylvania's great anthracite indus- 
try. At that period the domestic use of anthracite was very limited, and Mr. 
Morris' part in bringing its utility for general use before the public forms one 
of the most romantic chapters in the state's early industrial history. 

Mr. Morris became associated with Robert Hare Powell in the anthracite and 
bituminous coal trade during the Civil War. At the close of the war, he became 
president of the Locust Mountain Coal Company, a corporation embraced in the 
activities of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, of which Mr. Morris was 
mining expert, and much of the present wealth of that company is due to his 
far-sightedness and expert knowledge on the subject of coal deposits. He pur- 
chased many of the coal properties which have since enhanced to fabulous 
value. 

Israel Wistar Morris remained in charge of the mining branch of the Lehigh 
Valley's operations until seventy years of age, when he retired from active busi- 
ness. He was also for many years a director of the Girard Trust Company ; 
succeeded his father as the active manager of the Episcopal Hospital ; and was 
connected with a number of other institutions of his native city. 

During his later years Israel W. Morris devoted himself to literary, scientific, 
historical and charitable work. His knowledge regarding all matters concerning 
old Philadelphia was encyclopedic. He was in possession of many rare volumes 
relating to the annals of the city a century and more ago, and spent much time 
in adding to his store of knowledge by historical research. He was a member 
of the American Philosophical Society, Society of Mining Engineers, Historical 
Society of Pennsylvania, and a great many other literary, scientific and historical 
associations. 

Israel W. Morris married, December 3, 1855, his cousin, Annie Morris, born 
January 13, 1836, daughter of Effingham Lawrence Buckley, late of New York 
City, and his wife, Hannah A., daughter of Luke Wistar Morris, by his second 
wife, Ann Pancoast. Her ancestry has already been given in this family sketch. 

Israel W. Morris and his wife resided in the old Morris Mansion at 225 South 
Eighth street, from the time of their marriage to his death, December 18, 1909. 
The wife still survives. In spite of the gradual encroachment of the city's active 
business center, they never thought of removing from the old family mansion, 
despite the fact that most other fashionables of Philadelphia had long since 
migrated further west. The neighborhood has materially changed since the 
previous generations of the family occupied the house, but no changes have been 
made in the furniture or decorations of the interior, which stand today in the 
same places they occupied a century ago. The famous Wistar parties, originated 
by Dr. Caspar Wistar, ancestor of both Mr. and Mrs. Morris, were often enter- 
tained in the old mansion, Mr. Morris being long a member of this historic 
organization. 

Effingham Buckley Morris, only child of Israel W. and Annie M. (Buck- 
ley) Morris, was born August 23, 1856, in the old family mansion at 225 South 
Eighth street, Philadelphia. He received his preliminary education in the well- 
5 



66 MORRIS 

known school of Dr. J. W. Faires, and entering the University of Pennsylvania, 
class of '75, and received his classical degree of Master of Arts in 1878 at the age 
of twenty-two. He immediately entered the Law Department of the University, 
and in 1878 received the degree of Bachelor of Laws, and was admitted to the 
Philadelphia bar. He was associated with his distinguished cousin, Phineas Pem- 
berton Morris, LL.D., in the practice of his profession until the latter's death and 
succeeded him. He was for some years General Attorney for the Lehigh Valley 
Railroad Company, and as receiver of the Schuylkill Navigation Company, in 
1888, materially assisted in the reorganization of the Philadelphia and Reading 
Railroad Company. He filled position of counsel for the Girard Trust Company 
until 1887, and since that time has been its president. When the Girard Trust 
Company was made receiver of the Pennsylvania Steel Company in 1893, Mr. 
Morris was Chairman of the committee having charge of the tangled affairs of 
the company and brought about its reorganization on a safe financial basis ; he 
served for a time as its president and is now a member of the board of directors, 
and chairman of its executive committee. 

He is also chairman of executive committee of Cambria Steel Company, 
which gives employment to twelve thousand men. He is director of the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad Company, and holds the same position with the Philadelphia 
Savings Fund Society, Philadelphia National Bank, Franklin National Bank, 
Fourth Street National Bank, Pennsylvania Fire Insurance Company, and Mu- 
tual Life Insurance Company of Philadelphia, and other corporations. 

Mr. Morris was a member of Common Council from the Eighth Ward, 1880- 
81, being elected to that office during the crusade of the Committee of One 
Hundred for better politics. He was director of the Union League for three 
years ; is member of Philadelphia Club, Rittenhouse Club, University Club, 
Racquet Club and Merion Cricket Club. 

Effingham B. Morris married, November 5, 1879, Ellen Douglas, daughter 
of Nelson Burroughs, of Philadelphia. An account of her ancestry is given 
elsewhere in these volumes. 

Issue of Effingham B. and Ellen D. {Burroughs) Morris: — 

Rhoda Fuller Morris, b. Nov. 5. 1880; m. Feb. 12, 1901, George Clymer Brooke; had 
issue : 

Rhoda Morris Brooke, b. Nov. 12, 1901 ; 
George Clymer Brooke Jr., b. Oct. 29, 1905 ; 
Eleanor Burroughs Morris, b. Oct. 6, 1881 ; m. Oct. 25, 1902, Stacy Barcroft Lloyd ; had 
issue : 

Ellen Douglas Lloyd, b. Aug. 7, 1903 ; 
Caroline Mitchell Morris, b. Nov. 6, 1886; m. Dec. 6, 1905. John Frederic Byers Esq.; 
had issue: 

Carolyn Morris Byers, b. Nov. II, 1906; d. Sept. II, 1907; 
Effingham Buckley Morris Jr., b. Aug. 26, 1890. 

Isaac Wistar Morris, sixth son of Capt. Samuel and Rebecca (Wistar) 
Morris, born in Philadelphia, July 19, 1770, on attaining his majority became 
a partner with his brother, Luke Morris, in the conduct of the brewery at Dock 
and Pear streets, but retired from business in 18 10, and lived a retired life in 
Philadelphia until his death, May 18, 1831. He was a member of the company 
organized in 1789 to prosecute the enterprise of perfecting the Fitch steamboat. 



MORRIS 67 

He married at Philadelphia Meeting, i2mo. 17, 1795, Sarah, born imo. 22, 1772, 
died iomo. 25, 1842, daughter of Isaac and Patience (Mifflin) Paschall. 

Sarah Paschall, wife of Isaac Wistar Morris, inherited from her grandmother, 
Elizabeth (Coates) Paschall, "Cedar Grove", which with its quaint and vener- 
able stone mansion on the northwest side of the old road near Harrowgate Sta- 
tion was the country home of the Morris family until the present generation, 
and is still the property of John Thompson Morris and his sister, Lydia Thomp- 
son Morris, though the encroachment of modern improvements induced them to 
erect their present summer home "Compton" at Chestnut Hill, where they have 
spent the summer months since 1887. "Cedar Grove" was erected in 1748 by 
Elizabeth (Coates) Paschall, wife of Joseph Paschall, on property taken by 
her father, Thomas Coates, in 1714, and was inherited by her granddaughter, 
Sarah (Paschall) Morris, and somewhat enlarged in 1790. It is a delightfully 
antique old Colonial dwelling, with a hipped roof, dormer windows and wide 
piazza. The interior with its wide hall and spacious rooms, with their old fash- 
ioned wainscoting, broad window seats and wide fireplaces, when garnished with 
the solid old furniture and quaint bric-a-brac of by-gone generations, presents 
all the delightful charm of the old time home now so rarely met with. 
Issue of Isaac Wistar and Sarah (Paschall) Morris: — 

Paschall, b. June 1, 1797, d. March r8, 1802: 

Anthony Paschall, b. June 26, 1798, d. Feb. 6, 1873 ; m. Sept. 14, 1820, Anna Hus- 
band, of whom presently; 

Elizabeth Paschall, b. March 2, 1800, d. July 1, 1800; 

Catharine, b. Aug. 15, 1801, d. Jan. 1, 1888; married, March 10, 1847, Moses Brown, 
who died in 1878; 

Isaac Paschall, b. July 24, 1803, d. Jan. 11, 1869; m. Nov. 17, 1841, Rebecca Thompson; 

Susanna, b. Feb. 15, 1805, d. Oct. 17, 1888; m. Nov. 11, 1829, Caleb Johnson; 

Martha, b. March 20, 1807, d. Dec. 8, 1879, unm. ; 

Joseph Paschall, b. Feb. 8, 1809, d- Dec. 17, 1892; m. Nov. 2, 1836, Sarah E. Morris; 

Beulah, b. Feb. 2, 181 1, d. Jan. 20, 1892; m. Nov. 10, 1830, Jeremiah Hacker; 

Paschall, b. March 19, 1813, d. April 11, 1875; m. Nov. 5, 1834, Thomazine R. Pennell; 
(second) 1873, Anna Reeve; 

Sarah Paschall, b. Feb. 5, 1815 ; d. Feb. 6, 1905. 

Anthony Paschall Morris, second and eldest surviving son of Isaac W. 
and Sarah (Paschall) Morris, born in Philadelphia, June 26, 1798, entered West- 
town Boarding School, Chester county, at age of fourteen years, and finished 
his elementary education there. He was all his life a member of the Society 
of Friends. He resided for many years at 1425 Arch street, but late in life 
removed to 620 North Fifteenth street, where he died February 6, 1873. He 
also had a country residence in Montgomery county. He married, 91x10. 14, 1820, 
at Deer Creek Meeting, Maryland, Anna Husband, of an old and highly respected 
family. 

Issue of Anthony Paschall and Anna (Husband) Morris: — 

Mifflin, b. May 30. 1821, d. 2tno. 1, 1887; m. June 14, 1848, Jerusha K. Howell; 
Joshua Husband, b. Sept. 12, 1822, d. Dec. 23, 1885; m. Nov. 18, 1847, Anna Morris, 
dau. of Thomas and Elizabeth Buckley (Morris) Wistar; had issue: 

Elizabeth B. Morris, b. May 30, 1849; m- Sept. 13. 1871. Dillwyn Wistar, Esq., of 

Philadelphia bar ; 
William Canby Morris, b. Feb. 26, 1856, d. Mch. 8, 1856; 



68 MORRIS 

Joshua Husband Morris m. (second) Elizabeth, dau. of Dr. John and Tabitha (Jenkins) 
Stokes ; had issue : 

Stokes Morris, d. y. ; 
Joshua H. Morris Jr., d. y. ; 

John Stokes Morris, b. 6mo. 24, 1873; m. May 23, 1894, Mary Eastburn Fox; 
Anna Stokes Morris, b. Aug. 28, 1879; 
Charles Wistar, b. Oct. 27, 1824, d. Nov. 4, 1893; m. Aug. 24, 1848, Frances E. Skerrett; 
Sarah, b. June 26, 1826; m. Nov. 3, 1852, Henry Haviland ; 
Anthony P., born July 24, 1828, drowned May 13, 1844; 
Edward S. Morris, b. Dec, 1830, d. Dec. 20, 1890; merchant of Philadelphia; Consul 

for Republic of Liberia, West Africa; m. 6mo. 5, i860, Hannah L. Pennock; 
Thomas Husband, b. Dec. 29, 1832, d. Jan. 19, 1834; 

Margaret Husband, b. Nov. 3, 1834; m. Apr. 27, 1886, Dr. Robert C. Moon; 
Anna Husband, b. Dec. 6, 1836, d. May 15, 1898; m. (first) Nov. 27, 1856, John S. 
Powell; (second) Nov. 6, 1867, John H. Carels. 

Isaac Paschall Morris, third son of Isaac Wistar and Sarah (Paschall) 
Morris, born at "Cedar Grove", July 24, 1803, was educated for a druggist, and 
in 1826, with Charles Ellis, purchased of Elizabeth Marshall, the old Marshall 
drug establishment at No. 56 Chestnut street, Philadelphia, established by her 
grandfather. Christopher Marshall, 1740. The new firm of Ellis & Morris at 
once took front rank in the drug business in the city, but Isaac P. Morris found 
the business distasteful, and at the end of one year sold his interest to William 
Ellis and the firm of Charles Ellis & Son Company continued the business. 

Mr. Morris took up the business of manufacturing machinery in 1827, and in 
1828 with his brother, Joseph Paschall Morris, entered into partnership with 
their cousin, Levi Morris, who a year previous had started the iron works at 
what is now Sixteenth and Market streets, and founded the firm of Levi Morris 
& Company, which later became the prominent firm of I. P. Morris & Company, 
of which Isaac Paschall Morris was for many years senior member and became 
one of the leading ironmasters of Pennsylvania. Lewis Taws became a member 
of the firm in 1834, Joseph P. Morris retiring, and removing to Tioga county, 
Pennsylvania, and in 1841 Levi Morris retired, at which time the firm name 
changed to I. P. Morris & Company. In 1847 John J- Thompson, a brother-in- 
law, became a member of the firm, and they removed to Port Richmond and 
erected the plant since known as the Port Richmond Iron Works. In the man- 
agement of the company and throughout his life, Mr. Morris displayed and 
exercised that rare business ability and judgment that had characterized his fam- 
ily for many generations, and continued his personal interest in the affairs of 
the company to his death, though in his later years his health was much impaired. 
He was a highly esteemed citizen, of great public spirit, taking a deep interest 
in all that pertained to the interest and prosperity of his native city. He mar- 
ried, nmo. 17, 1841, at the Friends' Meeting House, on Orange street, Rebecca, 
born February 4, 1811, daughter of James B. and Lydia (Poultney) Thompson. 
Mr. Morris died at his residence, 826 Pine street, January 11, 1869, his wife 
surviving until March 22, 1881. 

Issue of Isaac Paschall and Rebecca (Thompson) Morris: — 

James Thompson, b. Sept. 18, 1842, d. Sept. 23, 1874; m. Dec. 5, 1872, Jane Glover 
Montague. He with his brother, John T., and Lewis Taws, continued the iron busi- 
ness after the death of his father. He was a very eminent engineer ; 

Isaac Wistar, b. July 14, 1844, d. Nov. 5, 1872, unm. ; 



MORRIS 69 

John Thompson, b. July 1-2, 1847, unm. ; living with his sister, Lydia T., at the old 
home, 826 Pine street, and the country home at "Compton". He continued one of 
the proprietors of the Port Richmond Iron Works until its sale to the Cramps in 1891 ; 

Lydia Thompson Morris, living at 826 Pine street and at "Compton". "Compton", the 
country seat of John T. and Lydia T. Morris, at Chestnut Hill, erected in 1887, and 
their residence during the summer months since 1888, is an imposing structure in Nor- 
man style of architecture. It is situated on an elevation overlooking the beautiful valley 
of White Marsh and is surrounded by tastefully arranged grounds. A portion of it 
has been furnished almost entirely with the antique furniture removed from "Cedar 
Grove", most of which had been in the family for centuries. 

Thomas Morris, fifth son of Anthony and Sarah (Powell) Morris, and 
brother to Capt. Samuel Morris, born nmo. (January) 25, 1745-6, in Philadel- 
phia, died there October 2, 1809. He was associated with his brother Joseph in 
the ownership and operation of the brewery on Second street, and occupied 
the old family Mansion House on Second street above Arch, where he received 
the corpse of his elder brother Anthony, after the battle of Princeton. He was 
elected an Overseer of the Public School, November I, 1782; was one of the 
Commission having charge of the building of Philadelphia Library in 1789; was 
a contributor to Pennsylvania Hospital in 1780, and a member of its board of 
managers from 1793 to his death in 1809; was one of the Committee of Friends 
to build the Westtown Boarding School, 1800, and a Director of the Hand in 
Hand Company, 1791. He was member of Philadelphia Monthly Meeting of 
Friends, and was married under the auspices of that Meeting, October 6, 1768, 
to Mary, born April 14, 1748, died July 22, 1774, daughter of Joseph Saunders, 
who was born at Farnham Royal, Buckinghamshire, England, February 8, 
1712-13, and died in Philadelphia, by his wife, Hannah Reeve, born at Whitby, 
Yorkshire, England, 9mo. 15, 1717, died in Philadelphia, February 8, 1788. 
Issue of Thomas and Mary {Saunders) Morris: — 

Sarah, b. Aug. 3, 1769, d. May 10, 1780; 

Anthony S., b. Feb. 28, 1771, d. of yellow fever, Sept. 10, 1793 ; 

Joseph S., b. Sept. 15, 1772, d. Feb. 16, 1817; m. 6mo. 18, 1795, Abigail Marshall; 

Thomas, b. July 13, 1774, d. April 14, 1841, of whom presently. 

Thomas Morris, youngest son of Thomas and Mary (Saunders) Morris, 
born at the old Morris Mansion, Second street above Arch, Philadelphia, July 
13, 1774, resided at the place of his birth and at his country seat called "Swarth- 
more", on the Old York road, near Philadelphia. He was member of State in 
Schuylkill, March 18, 1800, and became its fourth Governor, May 1, 1828, serv- 
ing until November 6, 1834. He was a member of Common Council ; manager 
of Pennsylvania Hospital, 1817-40; treasurer of Philadelphia Library; prison 
inspector, and filled a number of other positions of trust and honor. He and his 
wife were members of Society of Friends. 

He married at Philadelphia Meeting, June 8, 1797, Sarah, daughter of Charles 
and Patience (Parrish) Marshall, and granddaughter of Christopher Marshall, 
who was born in Dublin, Ireland, November 16, 1709, came to Philadelphia, 
1729, joined Society of Friends, and married, June 1, 1735, Sarah Thompson. 
He was a druggist in Philadelphia, and served as a member of the Committee of 
Safety, 1775, and was a Justice of the Philadelphia Courts. He later joined the 
Society of Free Quakers. Had sons, Christopher, Charles, above mentioned, 
born May 8, 1744, died, 1826, Philadelphia; married, August 15, 1765, Patience 



70 MORRIS 

Parrish, born Baltimore, Md., November 10, 1745, died Philadelphia, 1834, — two 
daughters married Morrises, Sarah becoming wife of Thomas, and Abigail, wife 
of his brother Joseph. Sarah (Marshall) Morris died in Baltimore, Maryland, 
4mo. 2, 1824, and her husband died 41T10. 14, 1841. 
Issue of Thomas and Sarah {Marshall) Morris: — 

Sarah Saunders Morris, b. Nov. 22, 1799, d. Feb. 26, 1883; m. (first) Oct. 19, 1819, Elisha 

Tyson; (second) Clement Biddle ; 
Elizabeth Marshall Morris, b. Feb. 2, 1802; m. Francis Perot, of whom presently; 
Anthony Saunders Morris, b. Dec. 5, 1803, d. March 25, 1885 ; m. June 13, 1837, Anne 

Emlen Jones ; 
Samuel Powel Morris, b. April 18, 1807, d. Oct. 23, 1808; 
Powel Morris, b. Dec. 25, 1809, d. y. ; 

Lewis S. Morris, b. Nov. 19, 1813, d. Oct. 8, 1872; m. Oct. 15, 1845, Lucy Tucker; 
Charles Marshall Morris, b. Oct. 22, 1816, d. Dec. 30, 1816. 
Mary Ann Morris, d. inf. 

Elizabeth Marshall Morris, second daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Mar- 
shall) Morris, born February 2, 1802, married, June 17, 1823, Francis Perot, 
born August 23, 1796, son of Elliston Perot and Sarah Sansom. The Perot fam- 
ily were of French extraction and were among the Huguenot refugees who, at 
the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, 1685, embarked from Rochelle and sought 
an asylum in America, and landing at New York formed a settlement at New 
Rochelle, New York. James Perot, born in New York, 1710, migrated from 
there to Bermuda and married there Frances Mallory, born in the Bermudas, 
1712. He died there February 29, 1780, and his wife March 1, 1780, of putrid 
fever. They were the parents of eight children : Martha, Mary, Elliston, John, 
James, William, Frances and Angelina. Elliston Perot, born on island of Ber- 
muda, May 15, 1747, was sent to New York to be educated under the care of his 
uncle, Robert Elliston, then the Comptroller of Customs, when seven years of 
age. When he had been five years at school at New Rochelle, his uncle died, 
and he returned to Bermuda and remained there until of age, when he returned 
to New York and embarked in West India trade, 1772, in partnership with his 
brother John, under the firm name of Elliston and John Perot, and located on 
island of Dominica, where he remained until 1778, when he removed to St. 
Christopher and soon after to island of St. Eustacia, then under the Dutch 
government. In 1781, when the island was captured by the British fleet, the 
Perots were taken prisoners and their goods confiscated and sold at public auc- 
tion. Elliston went to England in the hope of obtaining restitution from the 
English government and remained in Europe three years, visiting Holland, Ire- 
land and France. John Perot came to Philadelphia, 1781 ; married there in 1783, 
Mary Tybout ; purchased land on Water street, between High (Market) and 
Mulberry streets, and his brother Elliston joined him in 1784. The latter was 
admitted as member of Society of Friends, 1786; married at Bank Meeting 
House, imo. 9, 1787, Sarah, born 1764, daughter of Samuel and Hannah San- 
som. He became a prominent business man of the city ; was a manager of the 
Pennsylvania Hospital, 1789-1806; president of Philadelphia and Lancaster 
Turnpike Company; director of Philadelphia Insurance Company. His wife 
died 8mo. 22, 1808, and he on November 28, 1834, in his eighty-eighth year. 
They had issue : — 



MORRIS 7 i 

Hannah, b. June 12, 1792, d. July 6, 1831 ; m. June 16, 1825, Samuel B. Morris; 
Sansom, b. Nov. 24, 1794, d. unm. ; 

Francis, b. Aug. 23, 1796, d. March 24, 1885; m. June 17, 1823, Elizabeth Marshall 

Morris, above mentioned ; 
Joseph, b. Feb. II, 1799, d. Jan. 19, 1876; m. June 5, 1827, Sarah Wistar Morris; 
William S., b. gmo. 23, 1800, d. 3mo. 14, 1833 ; m. iomo. 9, 1822, Mary Williams Poultney. 

Francis Perot was apprenticed "to learn the art and mystery of brewing," 
with Thomas and Joseph Morris ; his indenture showing that he paid to them 
$1,000, previous to entering upon his apprenticeship, and was to serve five years 
without compensation. This was in 1812. Soon after the close of his appren- 
ticeship, he started a malt house and brewery on Vine street, between Third 
and Fourth streets, the present location of the establishment that still bears his 
name, and a year later, 1819, took his brother, William S. Perot, into partner- 
ship, under the firm name of Francis & William S. Perot. In 1823 he married 
Elizabeth Marshall, daughter of his old employer, Thomas Morris, and the 
latter and his son, Anthony S., who had been operating the old Morris brewery, 
founded by Anthony Morris in 1687, soon after gave up business at the old 
place on Second street and turned the business over to the Perot firm. The 
Perot brothers carried on brewing until 1850, when they abandoned that branch 
of the business and turned their attention entirely to malting. Francis retired 
from the business in 1868, and was succeeded by the firm of Francis Perot's 
Sons, which some years ago became incorporated under the name of Francis 
Perot's Sons Company, who continued a business founded by the ancestors of 
the leading members of the firm over two centuries before. T. Morris Perot, 
of the present firm, represents the eighth generation in descent from the founder 
of the firm. 

Both Francis Perot and his estimable wife, Elizabeth Marshall Morris, lived 
to a serene old age. They celebrated their golden wedding in the old home at 
1032 Arch street, June 17, 1873, when five generations of the family were pres- 
ent, "Aunt Mary Ann Marshall" being the first and little Elliston Perot Bissel, 
the fifth. Francis Perot died March 24, 1885. 

Issue of Francis and Elizabeth Marshall (Morris) Perot: — 

Elliston Perot, b. July 24, 1824, d. Feb. 25, 1865; m. April 2, 1845. Caroline R. Corbit; 
Thomas Morris Perot, b. May 8, 1828; m. Nov. 3, 1858, Rebecca C. Siter; 
Sarah Morris Perot, b. Nov. 6, 1831 ; m. Dec. 1, 1853. Edward H. Ogden. 

Issue of Edward H. and Sarah Morris [Perot) Ogdcn: — 

Francis Perot Ogden, b. Jan. 4, 1855, d. Jan. 10, 1887; 

Elizabeth Morris Ogden. b. May 19, 1856; m. Dec. 7, 1876. Henry Howard Ellison, 
of Philadelphia, and has one child, Henry Howard Ellison, b. Dec. 31, 1877; 
Harriet Middleton Ogden, b. Sept. 7, 1859; rri. October II, 1888, Rev. Charles 
Wordsworth Nevin, b. 1857, son of Rev. Edwin H. and Ruth Channing 
(Little) Nevin, of Philadelphia.; children: 
Dorothy Nevin, b. Aug. 31, 1889; 
Ogden Nevin, b. May 10, 1891 ; 
Charles W. Nevin Jr., b. June 24, 1895; 
Perot Nevin, b. April 27, 1897. 

Luke Morris, second son of Anthony and Elizabeth (Hudson) Morris, born 



72 MORRIS 

in Philadelphia, April 10, 1760, died March 20, 1802, was commissioned Cap- 
tain in the Fifth Batallion, Philadelphia Militia. He was a gentleman of high 
standing in the early days of the Republic. He died at his residence, "Peck- 
ham", district of Southwark, March 20, 1802. He married, March 9, 1786, 
Anne, born August 28, 1767, daughter of Charles and Elizabeth Hannah (Car- 
rington) Willing, who resided for many years after her husband's death in a fine 
old Colonial house at the southeast corner of Main and High streets, Germantown. 
She was a lady of remarkable attainments and of great energy. She died Janu- 
ary 11, 1853, and was buried in the graveyard of St. Luke's Church, Germantown, 
of which she was one of the originators, her name appearing on the list of first 
subscribers for its erection in 181 1. 

Issue of Luke and Anne {Willing) Morris: — 

Abigail Willing, b. March 20, 1787, d. Aug. 18, 1858; m. March 27, 1815, Justus Johnson; 

Elizabeth, b. Feb. 15, 1789, d. April 15, 1789; 

Anne Willing, b. March 30, 1790, d. July 9, 1820; unm. ; 

Thomas Willing, b. Oct. 23, 1792, d. May 12, 1852; m. June 19, 1823, Caroline Maria 

Calvert, of whom presently ; 
Elizabeth Carrington, b. July 7, 1795, d. Feb. 12, 1865, unm., was a scientific botanist; 
Margaretta Hare, b. Dec. 3, 1797, d. May 29, 1867 ; unm. ; was a naturalist of high 

attainments ; 
Susan Sophia, b. Aug. n, 1800, d. July 15, 1868; m. March 13, 1832, John Stockton 

Littell. 

Thomas Willing Morris, only son of Luke and Anne (Willing) Morris, 
was born in Philadelphia, October 23, 1792. He studied law and was admitted 
to the Philadelphia bar, July 3, 1819, and practiced his profession there for 
a number of years. He was appointed an aide-de-camp to Gen. Cadwalader, 
May 15, 1819, with the title of captain, and was promoted to major, May 30, 
1824, and was appointed Inspector of the Pennsylvania Militia, August 3, 1828. 
He was elected to General Assembly of Pennsylvania, October 13, 1829. He 
later removed to Maryland and died at "Glenthorne", his country seat in How- 
ard county, May 12, 1852. He married, June 19, 1823, Caroline Maria Calvert, 
born July 15, 1800, died November 25, 1842, at Baltimore, where she had gone 
for medical treatment. She was a daughter of George and Rosalie Eugenia 
(Stier) Calvert, of Riverdale, Prince George county, Maryland, and grand- 
daughter of Benedict Calvert, by his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Hon. Charles 
Calvert, Governor of Maryland, 1720-27. Benedict Calvert was a son of Charles 
Calvert, fifth Lord Baltimore, and both he and his wife were direct descendants 
of George Calvert, first Lord Baltimore and Proprietor of Maryland. 
Issue of Thomas Willing and Caroline Maria (Calvert) Morris: — 

Rosalie Eugenia, b. May 5, 1824, d. July 17, 1878, unm. ; 

Anna Maria, b. March 23, 1826, d. March 6, 1900; m. Sept. 7, 1848, Captain Francis 

Key Murray, U. S. N. ; 
George Calvert, b. Oct. 16, 1828, d. April 29, 1882; m. July 15, 1856, Elizabeth Kuhn; 
Julia Meta, b. Dec. 27, 1830, d. June 8, 1857, unm.; 
Henry Thomas, b. Oct. 10, 1833, d. Dec. 17, 1833 ; 
Carrington, b. March 29, 1835, d. Aug. 23, 1835 ; 
Eugenia Carrington, b. Feb. 12, 1836, d. April 11, 1837; 
Caroline Maria, b. March 5, 1838, d. same year. 



MORRIS 73 

George Calvert Morris, eldest and only surviving son of Thomas Willing 
and Caroline Maria (Calvert) Morris, was born in Philadelphia, October 16, 
1828. He was educated at St. James Hall, an educational institution near 
Ilagerstown, Maryland. He read law with Henry Williams Esq., and was ad- 
mitted to Philadelphia bar, May 31, 1851 ; he received degree of Bachelor of 
Laws a*t University of Pennsylvania, July 6, 1852, and practiced his profession 
until failing health compelled him to relinquish it. He died of consumption at 
his home, 1600 Locust street, Apfil 29, 1882, and is buried at West Laurel Hill 
Cemetery. He was deeply interested in church work, was vestryman of St. 
Peter's Protestant Episcopal Church from April, 1870, until his death ; served 
for some years on the standing committee of the Protestant Episcopal Diocese 
of Pennsylvania. He was a manager of Christ Church Hospital, and a director 
of Philadelphia Contributionship from 1871. He married at St. Peter's Church, 
July 15, 1856, Elizabeth, born April 24, 1833, died October 13, 1890, daughter 
of Hartman and Ellen (Lyle) Kuhn, of Philadelphia. 

Issue of George Calvert and Elisabeth (Kuhn) Morris: — 

Julia, b. Sept. 10, 1857, d. April 3, 1859 ; 

Ellen Lyle, b. March 6, 1859, d. April 1, 1900; m. Oct. 26, 1885, Pierre Camblos; 

Hartman Kuhn, b. Dec. 30, i860, d. July 29, 1861 ; 

Caroline Calvert, b. May 19, 1862; m. Sept. 21, 1892, James Cheston Jr.; 

Rosalie, b. Jan. 17, 1864, d. Aug. 5, 1903 ; m. Nov. 10, 1887, Robert Winder Johnson ; 

Eugenia, b. July 5, 1865; m. Oct. 28, 1886, Radcliffe Cheston, M. D. 

Rosalie Morris married at St. Peter's Church, November 10, 1887, Robert 
Winder Johnson, of the firm of Lawrence, Johnson & Company, shipping and 
commission merchants and foreign bankers. He is the ninth child of Lawrence 
and Mary (Winder) Johnson, and was born at 727 Pine street, Philadelphia, 
May 7, 1854. His father, Lawrence Johnson, the prominent typefounder of 
Philadelphia, was born in Hull, England, January 23, 1801, and came to Amer- 
ica with his parents, Edward and Ann (Clayton) Johnson, 1818, and located in 
Philadelphia two years later, where he established a type foundry, under the 
firm name of L. Johnson & Company, and built up an immense business, main- 
taining branches in different parts of Pennsylvania. He became interested in 
many prominent business enterprises in Philadelphia and elsewhere, being 
prominently identified with the building of a number of street car lines 
in Philadelphia, and in the development of coal lands in the anthracite 
region of Pennsylvania. He was for a number of years president of the 
Commonwealth Bank of Philadelphia and associated with a number of 
other financial institutions. He lived for a number of summers prior to his 
death at "Lansdowne", the present country seat of the family on the Neshaminy 
in Bucks county, near Bristol. He died in Philadelphia, April 26, i860. His 
wife, Mary Winder, was born in Bucks county, June 18, 1814, died February 16, 
1877. She was descended from Colonial families, prominent in the social, civil, 
and military afTairs of the county from the time of its first settlement. Robert 
Winder Johnson was reared in the <:ity of Philadelphia, and prepared for col- 
lege at Mr. Gregory's private school on Market street. He entered the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, September 1870, but left there in the spring of 1871 to 
accompany his mother to Europe, where he travelled extensively and continued 



74 MORRIS 

his studies until 1876. Returning to Philadelphia in 1876, he entered the office 
of Lawrence, Johnson & Company, and three years later became a member of 
the firm, with his brother, Lawrence Johnson. 

Mr. Johnson is a life member oi Historical Society of Pennsylvania, a mem- 
ber of Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Colonial Society, Netherland So- 
ciety, and a life member of Bucks County Historical Society. He is one of the 
vestry of St. Peter's Church of Philadelphia, and a member of the Society of 
Advancement of Christianity in Pennsylvania. He is also one of the board of 
managers of the Christ Church Hospital, and was until recently a member of the 
board of managers of the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. 

He has for a number of years laken a deep interest in local history and for 
over twenty years has devoted considerable time to the collecting of data relat- 
ing to the ancestors of his wife and himself. In 1902 he published "Winders of 
America"; in 1905 a volume relating to the ancestors of his wife, and in 1907 
a second volume of "The AncesUy of Rosalie Morris Johnson." 
Issue of Robert Winder and Rosalie {Morris) Johnson: — 

Morris Winder Johnson, b. July 5, 1889; 
Lawrence Edward Johnson, b. Julv 9, 1892; 
Robert Winder Johnson Jr., b. Aug. 19, 1894; 
Rosalie Eugenia Johnson, b. Oct. (9- 1900. 

James Morris, second son oi Anthony and Phoebe (Guest) Morris, born in 
Philadelphia, September 8, 1707, was a prominent business man of Philadelphia 
and early became identified with city and Provincial affairs. He was elected to 
the Colonial Assembly 1739, re-elected continuously until his death, January 29, 
1 750- 1. He served almost constantly on most important committees and was 
named as a signer of Provincial paper money in 1744-46. He married at Phila- 
delphia Monthly Meeting, Marc'i 12, 1729-30, Elizabeth, daughter of Philip and 
Rebecca (Britain) Kearney, o^ Philadelphia, granddaughter of Lionel Britain, 
one of the earliest English settlers in Bucks county. 
Issue of James and Elizabeth (Kearney) Morris: — 

James, d. Oct. 12, 1738, inf; 

Anthony, d. Feb. 25, 1736-7; 

Isaac, b. 1736, d. May 29, 1821 ; m. Oct. 21, 1810, Sarah Marriott ; 

Anthony James, b. 1739, d. May 27, 1831, unm. ; 

Mary, bur. March. 9, 1800; m. May 25, 1762, Col. Blathwaite Jones. 

John Jones came from Barbados to Philadelphia bringing certificate to 
Friends' Meeting dated 5mo. (July) 15, 1683. He was a member of the Com- 
mon Council of that city named in the Charter of 1691 ; was one of the peti- 
tioners for the establishment of the public school, February, 1697-8; was 
appointed Regulator of streets and water-courses, May 17, 1699, and was Jus- 
tice of City and County Courts, 1700 to his death, May, 1708. He was a promi- 
nent and wealthy merchant, and owned large tracts of land in Philadelphia and 

Bucks counties and elsewhere. He married (first) Rebecca , who died 

1694, and (second) November 30, 1696, Margaret, widow of John Waterman. 
Issue of John and Rebecca Jones: — 

John Jones, m. March 11, 1702-3, Margaret Waterman. 



MORRIS 75 

Issue of John and Margaret (Waterman) Jones: — 

Gibbs Jones, b. Aug. 3, 1701, d. 1736; m. Aug. 2, 1721, Jane, dau. of Dr. John and 
Susanna (Budd) Crapp, who married (second) William Craddock. 

Gibbs and Jane (Crapp) Jones had issue: — 

Susannah, b. Dec. 12, 1722; m. Ephraim Bonham ; 

John; 

Blathwaite, b. April 21, 1726; m. (first) Jane and (second) Mary Morris. 

Col. Blathwaite Jones was an ardent patriot during the Revolution. He 
was appointed February 15, 1777, to have charge of the erection of fortifica- 
tions at Billingsport, New Jersey, with the rank of Lieutenant Colonel, and served 
as Chief Engineer of fortifications later. His son, Gibbs Jones, by his former 
marriage, was Lieutenant and later Captain of a company raised for the cam- 
paign against Canada and was later Captain of a ranging company. 
Issue of Col. Blathwaite and Mary (Morris) Jones: — 

James Morris, b. April 12, 1763 ; m. June 24, 1784, Arabella Levy ; 

Susannah Budd, b. July 26, 1767, d. Dec. 15, 1835; m. Oct. 14, 1784, Dr. Samuel L. 
Shober. 

Andrew Shober, father of Dr. Samuel L. Shober, was a son of John and 
Katharine Shober, of Neuhoffmansdorf, Jannowiz, Moravia, and was born near 
Olmutz, Moravia, November 17, 1710. In 1743, with his wife, Hedwig Regina, 
he joined a colony of Moravians under Count Zinzendorf, fitted out at Marien- 
born and Herrnhaag, and sailing in the ship "Little Strength", settled at Naza- 
reth, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, November 26, 1743. Andrew Shober 
was a mason by trade and superintended the building of most of the buildings 
In the Moravian settlements. In 1756 he removed to Bethlehem and died there 
July 12, 1792. He had married at Marienborn, Germany, Hedwig Regina 
Schubert. 

Issue of Andrew and Hedwig Regina Shober: — 

John Andrew, settled at Lititz, Lancaster county ; 

Gottleib, removed to Salem, N. C. ; died 1838; 

Joseph, remained at Bethlehem ; 

Samuel L, M. D., b. at Bethlehem, student at College of Philadelphia ; m. Oct. 14, 1784, 
Susannah Budd Jones. Samuel L. Shober received his degree of M. D. at College of 
Philadelphia, later University of Pennsylvania, and located at Philadelphia, where 
he became an eminent physician. 

Issue of Dr. Samuel L. and Susannah Budd (Jones) Shober: — 

Blathwaite, b. 1785, counselor at law in Philadelphia; m. Catharine Ann Snyder; 

Hedwig Regina, b. October 24, 1786, d. May 7, 1865, unm. ; 

Samuel Lieberkuhn, b. Sept. 6, 1789, d. Aug. 25, 1847; m. (first) Dec. 7, 1813, 

Mary Ann Bedford; (second) Oct. 27, 1830, Lucy Hall Bradley; 
Joanna Sophia, b. Nov. 10, 1794, d. Nov. 20, 1845 ; m. Dec. 1, 1819, Thomas 

Kimber. 

Samuel Lieberkuhn Shober, youngest son of Samuel L. and Susannah 
Budd (Jones) Shober, born in Philadelphia, September 6, 1789, was a 



y6 MORRIS 

prominent business man of Philadelphia. He was a sergeant of the Third 
Company of the Washington Guards at Camp Dupont in the War of 1812-14; 
was offered a commission as captain in the regular army but declined. He was 
a founder of the Apprentices' Library and was prominent in philanthropic and 
charitable institutions of Philadelphia. He was largely instrumental in inter 
csting the United States Congress in doing justice to the remnant of the Dela- 
ware Indians remaining in New Jersey. He died in Philadelphia, August 25, 
1847. He married (first) December 7, 1813, Mary Ann, daughter of John and 
Mary Ann (Phelps) Bedford, who died November 2, 1828, at the age of thirty- 
three years. Mr. Shober married (second) October 27, 1830, Lucy Hall, born 
February 24, 1805, daughter of Josiah and Lucy (Hall) Bradley, and a descend- 
ant of Gov. Dudley, of Massachusetts. 

Issue of Samuel L. and Mary Ann (Bedford) Shober: — 

John Bedford, b. Nov. 13, 1814, d- unm. Nov. 27, 1864 ; 

Mary Morris, b. May 6. 1816, d. May 27, 1873; 

Hedwig Regina, b. Dec. 24, 1818, d. Jan. 18, 1885 ; m. July 10, 1844, Francis H. Gray. 
M. D.; 

Elizabeth Kearney, b. Sept. 28, 1821, d. unm. Dec. 1, 1865 ; 

Susanna Budd, b. Feb. 24, 1823 ; m. June 21, 1867, John Davies Esq., Surgeon General of 
Island of Fayal; 

Sarah Morris, b. July 24, 1825; m. June 17, 1868, Rev. William P. Lewis, Rector of 
Holy Trinity Church, Pottsville, Pa., later of Christ's Chapel, Philadelphia; 

Samuel Lieberkuhn Shober Jr., b. March 13, 1828; m. Nov. 16, 1858, Ann Bond Coch- 
ran, of whom presently. 

Samuel Lieberkuhn Shober, son of Samuel L. and Mary Ann (Bedford) 
Shober, born in Philadelphia, March 13, 1828, entered University of Pennsyl- 
vania in 1842, but left during the sophomore year to take up mercantile business 
which he afterwards followed. He married, November 16, 1858, Ann Bond, 
daughter of William Greene and Elizabeth (Travis) Cochran. 

Samuel Lieberkuhn Shober Jr., a son of Samuel L. and Anna Bond (Coch- 
ran) Shober, was born in Philadelphia, October 26, 1862. He was educated at 
University of Pennsylvania, which he entered in 1882. He later took a special 
course in civil engineering, which occupation he has since pursued. He married 
Agnes Wharton, daughter of Pemberton Sydney and Agnes (Wharton) Hut- 
chinson. 

John Morris, third son of Anthony and Phoebe (Guest) Morris, was born 
in the old Morris Mansion in Philadelphia, June 23, 1709. Married, April 18, 
1734, Mary, born in Philadelphia, 1706, daughter of Richard Sutton, of Phila- 
delphia, by his wife, Mary Howell, of Cecil county, Maryland, whom he mar- 
ried September 12, 1698. Richard Sutton died leaving two children, Howell and 
Mary, and his widow married, August 26, 1721, William Carter, a native of 
Wapping, county of Middlesex, England, who was an early landholder in Phila- 
delphia, owning several lots in the neighborhood of Second and Chestnut streets. 
He was named in the Charter of 1701, as one of first Board of Aldermen of the 
city and was elected Mayor in October, 1710. He died February 19, 1738-9, 
aged eighty-eight years, and his widow in 1749. From their house, where she 
had spent her girlhood days, Mary (Sutton) Morris went to the house of her 
husband, May 5, 1734. 

John Morris was settled by his father on "Spring Mill" property, on the Schuyl- 



MORRIS 



77 



kill, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county, twelve miles from Philadelphia, 
where lie erected for him a fine mansion, which he named "Mount Joy", and 
in 1739 conveyed to him the mill and three tracts of land, comprising four hun- 
dred and twenty acres. Here John Morris and his family resided until 1769, 
when he conveyed "Mount Joy" and the surrounding property to his son-in-law, 
Joseph Potts, and took up his residence in Southwark. This fine property was 
later acquired by Peter Legaux, the French nobleman, who established there a 
vineyard, and sought the assistance of the State Legislature in an effort to 
establish the wine industry in Pennsylvania. It is still owned and occupied by 
John Morris was associated with his brothers, Samuel and Joseph Morris, in 
the Righter family, lineal descendants of Peter Legaux. 

the establishment of Boiling Spring Furnace and Forge. He also owned at the 
time of his death a mill property and tract of land on Ridley Creek in Chester 
county, which he devised to his grandson, Richard Hill Morris. He died Febru- 
ary 3, 1782. 

Issue of John and Mary (Sutton) Morris: — 

William Morris, b. June 27, 1735, d. April 14, 1766; m. Margaret Hill, of whom 

presently; 
Mary, b. Jan. 3, 1738, d. Dec. 19, 1865 ; m. Aug. 16, 1764, Joseph Potts, and had one son, 

John Morris Potts, a legatee under the will of his grandfather, John Morris ; 
Anthony, b. "Mount Joy", Oct. 10, 1740, d. Nov. 2, 1740; buried at Plymouth Meeting; 
John, b. Nov. 4, 1745, d. Aug. 9, 1746; 
John, b. Dec. 3, 1748, d. May 29, 1749. 

William Morris, eldest child of John and Mary (Sutton) Morris, born in 
Philadelphia, June 27, 1735, was a merchant. He was a man of fine intellectual 
ability and attainments, and took an active interest in the various institutions of 
his native city. He was appointed a signer of Provincial paper money in 1757, 
and was a contributor to Pennsylvania Hospital in 1758. A member of the So- 
ciety of Friends, he moved in the most exclusive social circles of the Quaker 
City. He was elected a member of the "Colony in Schuylkill", October 7, 1761. 
He died in his early prime, April 14, 1766. 

William Morris married, September 21, 1758, Margaret, daughter of Dr. 
Richard Hill, of Island of Madeira, later of Philadelphia, a native of South 
River, Maryland, and a nephew of Richard Hill, the Provincial Councillor, so 
long identified with the Colonial affairs of Philadelphia and the Province of 
Pennsylvania. The mother of Margaret Hill was Deborah Moore, born in 
Maryland, June 2, 1705, died in Madeira, December 19, 1751, daughter of Dr. 
Mordecai Moore, the family physician of Lord Baltimore, who accompanied 
him to Maryland, by his second wife, Deborah, daughter of Thomas Lloyd, 
President of William Penn's Council and Deputy Governor of the Province of 
Pennsylvania, 1690-93, and a descendant through the Lloyds of Dolobran, 
Wales, from Alfred, the Great. Margaret Hill Morris represented the noblest 
type of womanhood, a true "Mother in Israel" to the poor and afflicted, she bore 
with Christian resignation the heavy trials of sorrows that fell to her lot, and 
was a model to Christian womanhood and motherhood. Left a widow with four 
small children (one unborn at her husband's death), she reared them to man- 
hood and womanhood and the memory of her wise counsels and Christian teach- 
ings has been reverently transmitted to her posterity to the present day. She 



78 MORRIS 

survived her husband over half a century, removing in 1770 to Burlington, New 
Jersey, where she thereafter lived. At the death of her son, Dr. John Morris, in 
1793, she adopted his youngest daughter Margaret, then an infant and she was 
her constant companion until her marriage in 1810, after which she received into 
her household another granddaughter. 

Issue of William and Margaret (Hill) Morris: — 

Richard Hill Morris, b. Sept. 28, 1759, d. Aug. 29, 1760; 

John Morris, M. D. (twin to Richard;, b. Sept- 28, 1759, d. Sept. 8, 1793, of whom 

presently ; 
Deborah Moore Morris, b. Nov. 29, 1750, d. March 17, 1822; m. (first) Nov. 11, 1789, 

Benjamin Smith; (second) Nov. 9, 1809, Isaac Collins Sr., printer of Trenton; 
Richard Hill Morris, b. Sept. 5, 1762, d. Dec. 6, 1841 ; m. (first) March 17, 1786, Mary 

Mifflin; (second) Oct. 25, 1798, Mary Smith; 
Mary Morris, b. June 19, 1764, d. Feb. 14, 1765 ; 
Gulielma Maria Morris, b. Aug. 18, 1766, four months after the death of her father; d. 

Sept. 9, 1826; m. April 8, 1784, John Smith Jr. 

Dr. John Morris, eldest son of William and Margaret Morris, born in Phil- 
adelphia, September 28, 1759, was but seven and a half years of age at the 
death of his father. In his eleventh year his mother removed with her little fam- 
ily to Burlington, New Jersey, residing for a time in the house of George 
Dillwyn, who had married her sister, Sarah Hill, but a few years later purchas- 
ing the house of Gov. William Franklin on the river bank, where she lived to 
serene old age. 

Having chosen the medical profession, followed so successfully by his ma- 
ternal ancestors, John Morris began study in office of his uncle and cousin, Dr. 
Charles Moore, of Montgomery county, who had married his mother's sister, 
Milcah Martha Hill. On obtaining his degree he located at Burlington, New 
Jersey, where he practiced with success for a few years and then removed to 
Philadelphia, and located first at No. 27 Chestnut street, where he was from 
1785 to 1 791, removing in the latter year to No. 11 Pear street, where he died. 
He became the fashionable physician of Philadelphia and enjoyed a large prac- 
tice. He was a founder of the College of Physicians in 1787, and his name with 
that of Dr. Benjamin Rush, and other illustrious physicians of Philadelphia, 
appears on the tablet erected there commemorating the fact. At the outbreak 
of the yellow fever pestilence in Philadelphia, he devoted himself earnestly to 
the relief of the sufferers, but soon fell a victim to the dread disease and died 
in the arms of his devoted mother, who had come from her home at Burlington 
to nurse him, September 8, 1793. His wife also contracted the disease and died 
eight days later, leaving to the care of their paternal grandmother four small 
children, one of whom died less than a year later. 

Dr. John Morris married at Friends' Meeting, Philadelphia, October 8, 1783, 
Abigail, daughter of Benedict and Sarah Dorsey, of Philadelphia, who was born 
in 1765, died September 16, 1793. 

Issue of Dr. John and Abigail (Dorsey) Morris: — 

Sarah, b. 1784, d. 1794; 

William Stanton, b. Nov. 24, 1785, d. unm. 1819; 

Benedict, b. March 27. 1787, d. Nov. 13, 1700; 



MORRIS 79 

Martha Milcah, b. Aug. 24, 1788, d. Jan. 26, 1826; m. (first) Thomas Lawrie; (second) 

Jacob B. Clarke ; 
Mary, b. 1790, d. inf.; 
Margaret, b. Aug. 18, 1792, d. April 22, 1832. 

Margaret Morris, youngest child of Dr. John Morris, was as before stated 
reared in the home of her grandmother, Margaret (Hill) Morris, at Burlington, 
New Jersey. She married there, October 4, 18 10, Isaac Collins Jr., eleventh 
child of Isaac and Rachel (Budd) Collins, of Trenton, New Jersey, where he 
was born October 31, 1787. He had served eight years' apprenticeship in a 
mercantile house and was then engaged in the mercantile trade in New York 
City as a member of the firm of Mott & Collins, and later a member of the firm 
of Isaac Collins & Company, publishers and printers. The family resided in 
New York until 1828, when they removed to Philadelphia. Mr. Collins had ere 
this acquired a comfortable fortune and retired from active business. After the 
removal to Philadelphia he became identified with the leading charitable enter- 
prises and institutions of that city, and was deeply interested in the cause of 
education as well as in the temperance and anti-slavery cause. He was a founder 
of Haverford College; member of the Board of Managers of the House of 
Refuge; director of the Public School System and an official in a number of 
philanthropic and charitable institutions. The founding of the Institute for 
Feeble Minded Children was largely due to his efforts. Mrs. Margaret Col- 
lins' health was very much debilitated before the removal from New York, that 
being the main cause of the removal, which doubtless prolonged her life; but 
she died four years later, April 22, 1832. Isaac Collins married (second) Jan- 
uary 28, 1835, Rebecca, daughter of John Singer, a prominent merchant of 
Philadelphia. She was an eminent minister of the Society of Friends, and sur- 
vived her husband many years, dying April, 1892, at the age of eighty-seven 
years. Mr. Collins died January 15, 1863. 

Issue of Isaac and Margaret (Morris) Collins: — 

William Morris. Collins, b. July 19, 181 1, d. Oct. 30, 1864; in. Nov. 7, 1839, Eliza C. 

Cope; 
Martha Lawrie Collins, b. July 21. 1813, d. May 6, 1887; m. Oct. 3, 1833, John B. 

'Bispham ; 
Gulielma Maria Collins, b. Aug. 28, 1815, d. Feb. 4, 1867; m. June 5, 1839, Philip B. 

Chase; 
Henry Hill Collins, b. Feb. 3, 1818, d- s. p. July 20, 1840; 

Alfred Morris Collins, b. Jan. n, 1820, d. May 26, 1895; m. Nov. 22, 1843, Hannah Evans; 
Frederic Collins, b. Jan. 21, 1822, d. Nov. 27, 1892; m. Letitia Dawson, of whom 

presently ; 
Isaac Collins Jr., b. May 2, 1824, d. Dec. 28, 1902 ; m. Dec. 9, 1847, Elizabeth B. K. Earle ; 
Theodore Collins, b. July 27, 1826, d. Sept. 4, 1826; 
Margaret Morris Collins, b. Aug. 18, 1829, d. April 6, 1863; m. June 1, 1853, Oliver K. 

Earle ; 
Percival Collins, b. Dec. 19, 1831, d- May 7, 1872; m. Oct. 5, 1856, Sarah Levick. 

Frederic Collins, sixth child of Isaac and Margaret (Morris) Collins, 
born in New York City, January 21, 1822, became a prominent business man 
of Philadelphia. After his graduation at Haverford, he entered the establish- 
ment of M. L. Dawson & Company, and on arriving of age and his marriage in 
1844 to Letitia, daughter of Mordecai Lewis Dawson, the senior member 
of the firm, became a partner in the business and was identified with it for many 



80 MORRIS 

years, first under the title above given, later as Poultney, Collins & Company and 
subsequently as Massey, Collins & Company. He was also engaged for a time 
in the brokerage business, and later was a member of the banking firm of Elliott, 
Collins & Company, and was president of the McKean and Elk Land and 
Improvement Company. He became a manager of the House of Refuge in 1869. 
Frederic Collins died November 27, 1892 ; by his wife, Letitia P. Dawson, of 
an old Colonial family of Philadelphia, he had issue : — 

Elizabeth Dawson Collins, m. Charles F. Hulse, who d. Aug. 28, 1876, leaving issue: 
Letitia Collins Hulse, b. June 1, 1870; m. April 28, 1892, Samuel Bowman 

Wheeler ; 
Margaret Morris Hulse, b. April 22, 1873 ; 

Anne Morrison Collins, m. April 10, 1890, Morris Earle ; 

Frederic Collins Jr., b. Feb. 4, 1868; m. June 19, 1895, Lillie Moffit Brown. 



N ORRIS FAMILY 

The patronymic of the Norris family was Norrey and Norreys. It was an 
ancient family in England and flourished in Sutton and Lancashire many cen- 
turies. William Norreys, of Sutton, descended from Alain Norreys, who in 
remote times dwelt in Sutton, was ancestor of the celebrated family of Norris, 
of Speke, Lancashire, and that of Ryecote, Berkshire. In A. D., 131 1, Sir 
Henry Norreys, of this branch, by marriage with Joan Molyneaux, acquired the 
manor of Speke, and was founder of the family there. 

Thomas Norreys, of Speke, was father of Nicholas Norreys, of Tarleton, 
who was succeeded by a son, Nicholas Norreys, of Tarleton, whose son, Nicholas 
Norreys, also of Tarleton, had a son, Nicholas Norreys, of Middleworth, 
Lancashire, born 1633, who was succeeded by a son, Henry Norris. Sev- 
eral branches of the family came to America at different periods, some settling 
in New England, and at least one in Maryland. 

Thomas Norris, first known ancestor of the distinguished Philadelphia fam- 
ily of the name, was a merchant in London, England, where at an early age he 
became a member of the Society of Friends. No direct connection has ever 
been traced between this Thomas Norris and the Norris family of Speke Hall, 
Lancashire, but the fact that his son, Isaac Norris, who subsequently settled in 
Philadelphia, bore the same coat-of-arms as that belonging to the Speke Hall 
family, makes it reasonable to suppose that his line of descent sprang from this 
source. It was not uncommon in those days for a member of a family of prom- 
inence to be disinherited and disowned for embracing the tenets of the Quaker 
religion. About 1678, Thomas Norris emigrated to the Island of Jamaica. The 
reason for his departure from the land of his birth was the continued and per- 
sistent religious persecution of the Quakers, as may be assumed from the fact 
that in 1659 he was one of those people who petitioned Parliament for the release 
of a number of their brethren immured in the prisons of London for matters of 
conscience, offering "to lie in prison, person for person, instead of such as were 
then in confinement and might be in danger of their lives through extreme duress." 

Even after his arrival at Port Royal, he continued to be subjected to persecu- 
tion, being twice fined for refusal to bear arms, and a third time for the refusal 
of his son to do the same. 

Thomas Norris was killed in the great earthquake that destroyed Port Royal, 
June 7, 1692. He had been a member of Southwark Monthly Meeting, London, 
upon whose records his name is spelled "Norrice", which indicates the correct 
pronunciation rather than the correct spelling of the name, for that was a day 
of phonetic spelling, as shown by many of the ancient records of the time. He 
married (first), about 1656, Mary Moore, who died in Jamaica, June 3, 1685; 

(second), Sarah , who survived him and died October 19, 1696. 

Issue of Thomas and Mary (Moore) Norris: — 

Elizabeth Norris, b. London, Eng., 2mo. (April) I, 1657; m. in parish of Magdalen, 
Bermondsey, Jamaica, Timothy Weymouth, who d. Sept., 1692; they had issue: 
Prudence Weymouth, m. John Moon, but d. s. p. 
6 



82 NORRIS 

Thomas Norris, b. London, iomo. (Dec.) 29, 1659, d. Jamaica, 1685; m. Ann ; 

Joseph Norris, b. London, i2mo. (Feb.), 1661-2, d. 9mo. (Nov.) 14, 1692; m. Martha 

Phillips; had issue: Thomas Norris, Hannah Norris, d. inf.; 
Mary Norris, b. London, 5mo. (July) 24, 1664, d. y. ; 
Prudence Norris, b. 5mo. (July) 31, 1666, d. y. ; 
Benjamin Norris, b. iomo. (Dec.) 25, 1668; 
Isaac Norris, b. 4mo. (June) 22, 1669, d. inf. ; 
Isaac Norris, b. 5mo. (July) 26, 1671, in Olave's Parish, London, d. Philadelphia, 6mo. 

(Aug.) 4, 173S ; m. Mary Lloyd, of whom presently. 

Isaac Norris, youngest child of Thomas and Mary (Moore) Norris, was 
born in London, England, July 26, 1671 ; and removed with his parents to the 
Island of Jamaica at the age of seven years. In 1690 his father sent him to 
Philadelphia to investigate the propriety of moving there, and he sailed from 
Port Royal, March 5, 1690, taking with him a letter of introduction from 
Mordecai Lloyd, to the latter's father, Gov. Thomas Lloyd, whose daughter 
Isaac subsequently married. After carefully looking into the advantages of 
Philadelphia and its vicinity as a trading center, he returned to Jamaica, in 1692, 
only to learn that his father and other members of the family, with the exception 
of his stepmother and sister Elizabeth, had perished, either by the earthquake or 
the pestilence which followed, and that practically all the family property had 
been destroyed. He returned to Philadelphia the following year with little more 
than one hundred pounds, and entered into business there, in which he was 
eminently successful, becoming eventually one of the wealthiest and most influ- 
ential men in the Province. He was a man of extraordinary business ability and 
perspicuity, and his services were early enlisted in the affairs of the city and 
Province. He soon attracted the attention and won the esteem of William 
Penn, at whose request he went to England, 1707, to assist in extracting the 
great founder of Pennsylvania from the difficulties in which he was entangled 
with the Fords. He was elected to the Colonial Assembly in 1699, and con- 
tinued a member until 1705, was again returned in 171 1, and again the following 
year and elected Speaker. He was called to the Provincial Council, February 8, 
1708-9, with his brother-in-law, Samuel Preston, and from that day was one of 
the prominent men of the Province, and particularly in the affairs of the Coun- 
cil for the next twenty-five years, during a portion of the time also serving in 
the Assembly, to which he was again returned in October, 1720, and elected 
Speaker to succeed William Trent, who that year removed to New Jersey. 

In addition to filling these offices of honor and responsibility, he was a Jus- 
tice of the Courts of Philadelphia from June 4, 1715, until his death, and at 
the organization of the High Court of Chancery being one of the oldest Coun- 
cillors, was appointed Master of that Court to sit with the Lieutenant Governor 
in hearing cases. He became Alderman of Philadelphia in 1708, and October 
6, 1724, was elected from the Board of Aldermen to the position of Mayor of 
the city, serving one term. At the death of David Lloyd, there being few able 
lawyers in the Colonies, the Governor and Council, April 7, 1731, unanimously 
agreed to appoint Isaac Norris to the position of Chief Justice of the Supreme 
Court of the Province, but he declined to accept preferring to remain a Justice of 
the County Court. He was for many years the chief representative of the Pro- 
prietaries, being their attorney for sale of lands under the Gouldney mortgage ; 



NORRIS 83 

trustee under William Penn's will; attorney for Hannah Penn after her hus- 
band's death, etc. 

In 1704, with William Trent, Isaac Norris purchased William Penn's Manor 
of Williamstadt, on Schuylkill, comprising 7,480 acres, and including the site 
of Norristown (named for him), the present county seat of Montgomery 
county. In 1712 he purchased Trent's interest in this manor, thereafter called 
Norriton, and owned it until his death in 1735. He also owned 632 acres in 
the Northern Liberties of Philadelphia, prior to February, 1712, when he added 
192 acres to the tract at a cost of £453. In 1713 he purchased of Hamilton 
and Falconer, for £550, the unlocated first purchase of Charles Marshall, of 
6,000 acres, and located the forty-two acres Liberty Land appurtenant thereto, 
alongside his other lots above mentioned. At this date he was residing in the 
city, where, in addition to other properties, he owned the "Slate-roof House" 
celebrated as the residence of Penn, during his second visit to Pennsylvania, 
which Norris had purchased in 1709 for £900, Pennsylvania currency; the lot 
fronting fifty-seven and one-half feet on the east side of Second street, below Chest- 
nut, and extending along Norris alley, 269 feet deep. On his estate in the North- 
ern Liberties known as "Fair Hill", he erected a mansion, and removed there 
about 1718, living in a style befitting his rank and wealth. He possessed the 
luxury of a coach, and, Quaker though he was, emblazoned his coat-of-arms 
thereon. He was fond of reading, and being familiar with several languages, 
his leisure hours were spent among his books. He died June 4, 1735, being 
smitten with apoplexy while attending Friends' Meeting at Germantown, whence 
he was removed to Stenton, James Logan's residence, where he died. 

Isaac Norris married, March 7, 1694, Mary, third daughter of Thomas Lloyd, 
many years President of the Provincial Council, and twice acting Governor of the 
Province of Pennsylvania. Isaac Norris was described by one of his contem- 
poraries as "one whose character will do honor to his latest posterity, a doer of 
justice, a lover of mercy, a loving husband, an affectionate father, a sincere friend, 
and a lover of his country." He was a director of the first public school of 
Philadelphia. 

Issue of Isaac and Mary (Lloyd) Norris: — 

Mary Norris, b. Dec. 5, 1694, d. Feb. 13, 1750-1 ; m. 1717, Thomas Griffiths, Provincial 

Councillor, Keeper of Great Seal, etc. ; 
Hannah Norris, b. Aug. I, 1696, d. July 21, 1774; m. June 15, .1717, Richard Harrison, of 
Maryland, who settled in Lower Merion township, Philadelphia county, and d. 
there Oct. 5, 1747; they had issue: 
Richard Harrison, d. y., 1731 ; 

Mary Harrison, b. 1720, d. s. p., 1766, m. David Crawford ; 
Samuel Harrison, b. 1724, d. s. p. 1774; 
Isaac Harrison, d. 1745 ; 

Hannah Harrison, b. Dec, 1728, d. s. p. Sept. 6, 1807; m., Sept. i, 1774, Charles 
Thomson, Secretary of the Continental Congress throughout the Revolutionary 
War; 
Thomas Harrison, b. 1729, d. 1759, m. Francis Scull. 
Sarah Norris, b. Oct. 2, 1697, d. Dec. 26, 1699; 
Joseph Norris, b. Jan. 29, 1698-9, d. Oct., 1733, unm. ; 
Rachel Norris, b. 1700, d. Nov. 15, 1711 ; 

Isaac Norris, b. Oct. 3, 1701, d- July 13, 1766; m. Sarah Logan, of whom presently; 
Elizabeth Norris, b. Jan. 7, 1703-4, d. Aug. 6, 1779; unm.; 
Deborah Norris, b. Oct. 18, 1705, d. May 17, 1767; unm.; 



84 NORRIS 

Thomas Norris, b. Jan. 29, 1706-7, d. Jan. 20, 1727-8; unm. ; 

John Norris, b. April, 1709, d. August, 1731 ; unm. ; 

Prudence Norris, d. inf.; 

Charles Norris, b. May 9, 1712, d. Jan. 13, 1766; m. (first) Margaret Rodman; 

(second) Mary Parker; 
Margaret Norris, b. 1713, d. inf.; 
Samuel Norris, b. Sept. 12, 1714, d. Jan. 3, 1746-7; unm.; was from early manhood 

partner of his brother Charles; see forward. 

Isaac Norris, second son and sixth child of Isaac Norris, Councillor, and 
Mary Lloyd, his wife, born in Philadelphia, October 3, 1701, was like his dis- 
tinguished father, prominent in Colonial affairs, filling the position of Speaker of 
Assembly of the Province for fifteen years. A sketch of him, written by Dr. 
George W. Norris, was published in the Pennsylvania Magazine of History and 
Biography, vol. i, p. 449, etc. 

He was trained for a mercantile career, but nevertheless received a fine 
classical education, and twice went abroad to travel in Europe. Becoming asso- 
ciated with his father in mercantile business he continued it after the latter's 
death until 1743. Prior to the death of his father he resided in the "Slate-roof 
House", and afterwards at "Fair Hill." In 1727 he was elected to Common Coun- 
cil of city of Philadelphia, and three years later was advanced to the Board of 
Aldermen. He was first elected to the Provincial Assembly in October, 1734, from 
Philadelphia county, and his standing as a merchant made him at once an author- 
ity on matters of trade, measures for the advancement of which were then being 
agitated in the law-making bodies of the Province. On October 15, 1734, on the 
organization of the House, Lieut. Gov. Patrick Gordon communicated to it an 
inquiry from the Lords Commissioners of Trade and Plantations, as to what 
encouragement was necessary to make the Colonies of America furnish naval 
stores and other commodities not produced in England. The subject was excit- 
ing much attention in the mother country, where it was feared that industries 
would become established in the Colonies for the production of fabrics, of which 
England could always produce more than was used there, and she would thus 
lose an important market. Isaac Norris was appointed chairman of committee 
to draft a reply. His knowledge of trade conditions and natural resources 
of the Province, enabled him in his report to the Assembly to embody 
the valuable statement of Pennsylvania's resources to be found in "Votes of 
Assembly." It declared that hemp, pig-iron, and bar-iron, being staples generally 
purchased with money by the subjects of Great Britain from the Northern 
kingdoms, might, on a bounty being given by the home government, be had from 
some parts of this and other colonies in exchange for the manufactures and 
products of the Mother Country. 

In 1739, four years after his father's death, the younger Norris comes to 
the front as the leader of the Quaker party. Rather more of a Quaker than 
his father, much more of a Quaker than James Logan, he is interesting as a 
statesman who endeavored to keep the policy of the state consistent with Quaker 
principles. In his day the crucial circumstances arose for carrying out theories 
as to the unlawfulness of war, which it was a different thing to profess than when 
the sect was only a few individuals in the great nation of England. It was to be 
seen what Friends in control of a state would do in case of invasion. In England 
they occasionally suffered legal penalties ; in America they would have to antici- 



NORRIS 85 

pate a conquering army depriving them of the fruits of their toil, their nation- 
ality, and their chartered liberties. The case did not really present itself to the 
earlier settlers of New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Those colonies were too small 
either to tempt invasion, or to be looked to for recruits ; and a little presence of 
mind on such occasions as Gov. Evans' scare was all that was called for. But 
in 1739 war was breaking out with the yet mighty kingdom of Spain, from whose 
American possessions an armament could be fitted out against the territory with 
which Raleigh and Gilbert had enriched the British Crown. Indeed it was ex- 
pected that France, then possessor of Canada, would ally herself with Spain, 
and, thus flanked, the British colonies must bear a bitter struggle, while their 
population and natural wealth were now so considerable that their conquest by 
either of their neighbors would be a sufficient fruit of the war. Under these cir- 
cumstances, the Assembly of Pennsylvania, with Norris a member, met in Octo- 
ber, 1739. The Governor suggested that they take measures for the defence of 
the Province. He also laid before them a communication from the Lords Com- 
missioners of Trade and Plantations asking for information as to the rates of 
gold and silver coin and value of gold and silver per oz. in 1700-10-20-30, and 
the provisions of the acts for issuing bills of credit from 1700 down, the amounts 
named in them, and the amount outstanding. The statement sent in answer was 
prepared by a committee of which Thomas Leech was the first named, and Isaac 
Norris, the second. This work over, the House sent a message on the subject 
of defence, contending for the rights of the Quakers to obey their conscientious 
scruples against war. At the same time, it was said, persons of other sects who 
held no such views were equally entitled to liberty of conscience. Of such there 
were many, and they could arm, the Governor by the charter to Penn being au- 
thorized, and no act of Assembly having restrained him, to levy, muster, and train 
all sorts of men, and to make war, and act as a captain-general. But Gov. 
Thomas wished them to vote money, and to enact a law relating to military ser- 
vice. This they would not do; they would not even pass a bill on the subject 
when the Quakers were exempted from its provisions. The Governor replied 
that sharing in the expense had been agreed to in Pennsylvania when, in 17 10, 
a sum was granted to Queen Anne for the reduction of Canada, and was always 
done by persons of their religious persuasion in Britain. Norris was on the com- 
mittee to draft the rejoinder. It ably states the Quaker argument against the 
lawfulness of war to Christian men, and recalls the fact that the money voted to 
Queen Anne was accompanied by an explanation that their principles forbade 
war, but commanded them to pay tribute and yield obedience to the power God 
had set over them in all things so far as their religious persuasions would per- 
mit. The paper further declares an unwillingness to place such instruments of 
power as a militia and the money for fortifications in the hands of the Governor 
and his friends. This of course had nothing to do with the religious principle; 
at the same time it was cunningly added, and gained for those who wrote it sup- 
port from the democracy. In the course of time, the non-Quaker population 
organized seven companies of soldiers, but in these a large number of indentured 
servants undertook to enlist. Many Quaker masters were thus injured. The 
Assembly took up the matter, and addressed the Governor; but the runaways 
had taken the oath, and a large portion had received the King's subsistence for 
several weeks, and the Governor declined to dismiss them. Finally, on the 9th 



86 NORRIS 

of August, the Assembly yielded to the importunities for money, and voted 
3000/. to Thomas Griffitts, Edward Bradley, John Stamper, Isaac Nor- 
ris, and Thomas Leech, "for the use of King George II.," provided, however, 
that no warrant for said sum should issue from the Speaker until all the ser- 
vants enlisted should be returned to their masters free of all charges. A remon- 
strance to the King was ordered to be drawn up, Norris being upon the commit- 
tee to draft it. At the next Assembly, Norris again member, a committee re- 
ported the number of servants thus eloigned as 262, and compensation was made 
to the masters. 

The various disputes between the Governor and the Quakers, or "Norris 
party," as the stricter Friends came to be called, brought about contests for office 
as bitter as in modern times. The re-election of Norris to the Assembly in 1741 
could not be prevented ; and the Quakers had some vantage ground with Norris 
and his brother-in-law Griffitts and uncle Preston, as three of the Aldermen of 
the city. But the Corporation was too important a political factor to be allowed 
to feel his influence. The adverse party mustered a majority to elect four new 
Aldermen and five new Councilmen who would further the Governor's plans ; 
and the prominence of the Lloyd connection, and even the equal footing of the 
Quakers in the Board, was destroyed forever. It was not so easy to defeat 
Norris at a popular election. In 1742, after a session in which he had been head 
of nearly every committee, and in which he had performed lasting services in 
superintending the completion of portions of the State House, and in purchas- 
ing a site and devising plans for a Lazaretto, the wealthy Recorder of the city, 
Mr. Allen contended for his seat in the House. The German settlers had in- 
variably voted with the Quakers, and it was charged that the "Norris party" 
had been in possession of the polls, crowded out their opponents, and elected 
their candidate with the aid of unnaturalized voters. But if the Governor's 
friends cried "fraud," they were now guilty of "bulldozing." On election day 
of that year, a party of sailors, strong enough in numbers to make havoc in the 
little city, marched up from the wharves, applied their clubs, and, wounding 
several, drove the disciples of peace from the State House. In the hubbub that 
followed, Allen is reported to have said "They had as good a right to be there 
as the unnaturalized Dutchmen ;" he took no steps to preserve the peace, and his 
supposed complicity lost him many votes. Such violence brought a reaction in 
public feeling; and Norris was returned. A fresh controversy arose from this 
"Riot of 1742," the new Assembly desiring the Governor to bring the officers 
of the City Corporation to trial before the Supreme Court, and the Corporation 
refusing, after which a resolution was passed censuring the officers in question 
for neglect of duty. The withholding of the Governor's salary was the effective 
weapon of the Assembly ; and in time induced that officer to attempt a concilia- 
tory course. Certain bills which had been insisted on, he finally assented to, and 
the money-voting power granted him his means of subsistence. Gordon in his 
History says that the triumph of the Assembly was complete they had taken no 
step of a military character, nor made any gift of money inconsistent with their 
principles. 

In 1745, the Governor appointed Norris, Kinsey, and Lawrence, commissioners 
to represent Pennsylvania at the conference with the Indians at Albany. Nor- 
ris had left a diary of his journey, privately printed by one of his brother's 



NORRIS 87 

descendants in 1867. The conference was of little importance to the English; 
but in 1755 Norris was again sent to Albany as one of the commissioners from 
Pennsylvania to treat with the Indians. He and his colleagues at this time effected 
the purchase of several million acres, comprising the southwestern portion of 
Pennsylvania. 

On the death of John Kinsey, in 1751, Isaac Norris was elected Speaker 
of the Assembly. It was in that year that the old State House bell was ordered 
from England, Norris directing the inscription, which turned out to be prophetic, 
to be placed around it. The bell was cracked by a stroke from the clapper in 
1752, was recast with the same inscription, and less than a quarter of a century 
afterwards actually did "Proclaim liberty throughout the land, unto all the inhab- 
itants thereof." During the fifteen years of Norris's speakership, was waged the 
great contest between the populace and the Proprietaries on the subject of taxa- 
tion and legislative control of the Penn family estates. The Quakers, with Nor- 
ris at their head, joined the opposers of privilege. In the course of one of the 
debates in the Assembly, Norris declared "No man shall ever stand upon my 
grave and say 'Curse him' or 'Here lies he who betrayed the liberties of his 
Country.' " In 1757, the Assembly resolved to send him and Benjamin Franklin 
to England to solicit for the removal of grievances occasioned by the Proprie- 
tary instructions, &c, but Norris declined the appointment on account of ill health, 
so that Franklin undertook it alone. Opposition to the encroachments of the 
Penns, however, did not lead Norris into the scheme for converting Pennsylvania 
into a Royal Province, whereby instead of having to deal with a family who felt 
some attachment to the people of the soil, whose property lay in the colony, and 
whose financial interests were generally identical with their own, and for whom 
in most contests they had proved themselves a match, the people were to be 
ruled by a Governor responsible only to the British Ministry, and supported by 
the whole power of the Crown. When, in 1764, a petition to the King to effect 
this change passed the Assembly despite the remonstrances of Dickinson, Norris's 
son-in-law, Norris requested that, his sentiments being very different from those 
of the majority, as his seat in the chair prevented him from entering into the 
debate, therefore if in consequence of their order his duty should oblige him to 
sign the petition as Speaker, he might be permitted to offer his sentiments on the 
subject before he signed, and that they might be entered on the minutes. This 
request was granted, after which the House adjourned to the following morning. 
On reassembling, it received a letter from Norris resigning the Speakership. The 
long sitting and the excitement of the debate had proved too much for his 
weakened health, and being too unwell to attend, he availed himself of the excuse 
to be relieved of the unpleasant duty. Benjamin Franklin was chosen his suc- 
cessor, and signed the petition. At the ensuing popular election, Franklin was 
not returned to the Assembly. Norris's name, contrary to his wishes, had been 
placed upon the ticket for Philadelphia county: he was again chosen to the As- 
sembly, and again became its Speaker. He a second time resigned, October 24, 
1764, Joseph Fox being his successor. 

Norris had the literary tastes of the Quaker connection to which he belonged, 
and in the course of his busy life collected a fine library for those days. The 
principal portion of it, "consisting of about 1,500 volumes upon the most impor- 
tant subjects," was presented to Dickinson College by the Hon. John Dickinson 



88 NORRIS 

upon the founding of that institution. Norris wrote with ease in French and 
Latin, and had some knowledge of Hebrew. Among his various public services, 
he acted for several years as a trustee of the College. He died at "Fair Hill," 
July 13, 1766. He made no will. 

The following extract is taken from the Independent Gazetteer, of November 
27, 1787, No. 612 : "The late Mr. Isaac Norris, whose memory will be forever 
revered by every good citizen of Pennsylvania, had served his country with the 
utmost fidelity for more than twenty years in the character of legislator. His 
age and increasing weakness of constitution at length obliged him to quit the 
task of reconciling and directing the various interests and views of his fellow 
representatives to the good of his country. . . ." 

Isaac Norris married, in 1739, Sarah, eldest daughter of James Logan, Pro- 
prietary Secretary of Pennsylvania, member of the Provincial Council for almost 
a half century, Deputy Governor, Chief Justice, etc. She was born December 9, 
1715, died December 13, 1744, soon after the birth of her youngest child, having 
survived her marriage but little over five years. 
Issue of Isaac and Sarah {Logan) Norris: — 

Mary Norris, b. July 17, 1740, d. at Wilmington, Del., July 23, 1803; m. July 19, 1770, 
Hon. John Dickinson, and had issue : 

Sally Norris Dickinson, b. 1771, d. unm., Nov. 1, 1855; 

Maria Dickinson, b. Nov. 6, 1783; d. Feb. io, 1854; married her cousin, Albanus 
Charles Logan, son of Dr. George Logan, of "Stenton," by his wife Deborah 
Norris. daughter of Charles and Mary (Parker) Norris, of whom later; 
Isaac Norris, d. inf. ; 
James Norris, d. inf. ; 
Sarah Norris, b. 1744, d. s. p. 1769. 

Charles Norris, son of Isaac and Mary (Lloyd) Norris, born in Philadel- 
phia, May 9, 1712, was a prominent and successful merchant of that city, being 
for some years associated with his younger brother Samuel. He lived in a fine 
house, on what was then the outskirts of the city, the present site of the Custom 
House. He was for many years Trustee of the Loan Office of Pennsylvania, 
and was one of first Board of Directors of the Pennsylvania Hospital. His palatial 
home with its fine grounds running back to Library street, ornamented with 
gravelled walks, flowers, rare shrubs and plants, was the scene of much social 
activity among the aristocratic youth of Philadelphia, after the evacuation of the 
city by the British, 1778. Deborah Norris, eldest daughter, was the bosom friend 
and correspondent of Sally Wistar, and one of the charming circle of friends of 
whom we get a glimpse in "Sallie Wistar's Journal". "During the Revolution- 
ary War, the Patriots took from the Norris house the heavy leaden spouts and rain 
gutters to make bullets for the Continental Army." 

Charles Norris died January 15, 1766, but seven years after his second mar- 
riage, and therefore while all his children were yet in tender years. He married 
(first) Margaret, daughter of Dr. John Rodman, of Bucks county, who died 
without issue. He married (second) June 21, 1759, Mary, daughter of Joseph 
Parker, native of Yorkshire, England, who was Deputy Register of Chester 
county, Clerk of Common Pleas Court there in 1733-4, but later removed to West 
Jersey. By his wife, Mary Ladd, he had issue Mary (Parker) Norris, who died 



NORRIS 89 

December 4, 1799, and was buried in the Friends' Burying Ground, at Chester. 
Issue of Isaac and Mary (Parker) N orris: — 

Isaac Norris, b. July 18, 1760, d. Oct. 2, 1802; unm. ; 

Deborah Norris, b. Oct. 19, 1761, d. at Stenton, Feb. 2, 1839; m. Dr. George Logan; 
Deborah was educated as a child in the school kept by Anthony Benezet, celebrated 
scholar and philanthropist of Philadelphia, and after her schoolgirl days pursued 
a regular course of education at home, becoming one of the literary characters of her 
time. It was through her careful collation of family MSS. and her memoranda of 
events of which she was an eye-witness, her notes of facts which she had peculiar 
opportunities of learning, that Watson, the annalist, gained much of the Colonial 
history which he preserved. She possessed considerable poetic talent, writing many 
small pieces of verse in her diary ; a sketch of her appears in "Worthy Women of 
our First Century" (Phila., 1877), and "she is as justly celebrated as any woman 
whom Philadelphia has produced" ; 

Joseph Parker Norris, b. May 5, 1763, d. June 22, 1841 ; m. Elizabeth Hill Fox, of 
whom presently ; 

Charles Norris, b. July 12, 1765, d. Dec. 24, 1813 ; resided for some years in Massachu- 
setts ; m. at Nantucket, July 4, 1793, Eunice Gardner ; they had issue : 
Mary Norris, m. John Schrack, of Montgomery county, Pa.; 
Deborah Logan Norris, d. unm. ; 

Hepzibah Norris, m. (first) William E. Wells; (second) in 1846, William 
McCann. 

Joseph Parker Norris, second son of Charles and Mary (Parker) Norris, 
born in Philadelphia, May 5, 1763, was a pupil of Robert Proud, the historian, 
and was an executor of his will. The estates of "Fair Hill" and "Sepviva", 
having been settled upon him and his brothers, in tail male, with remain- 
der to the right heirs of Isaac Norris, Speaker, with power in Mrs. Dick- 
inson, (daughter of Isaac) to determine which son of Charles Norris should 
be tenant in tail ; Joseph Parker Norris purchased the property ; John Dick- 
inson and Mary, his wife, she being sole heiress of Isaac Norris, Speaker, 
made him a deed dated May 18, 1790, naming him as tenant in tail, 
and granting him the reversionary interest, also. He then instituted pro- 
ceedings to destroy the entail, and in the course of a year through the legal 
legerdemain of common recovery, became seized of these estates in fee simple. 
They consisted of some six hundred and fifty acres of land in the Northern 
Liberties, lying between Gunner's Run, later the Aramingo canal, and the Ger- 
mantown turnpike. This remained the rural seat of the family up to the date of 
his death, though the time when it became covered with rows of houses was then 
so near at hand that he must be considered to have left the greatest landed 
estate of any of his contemporaries in these parts. 

Joseph Parker Norris was many years president of the Bank of Pennsylvania. 
He died June 22, 1841, devising "Fair Hill" to trustees for the children 
of his sons, and "Sepviva" to trustees for his daughters' children. An 
Act of Assembly was passed to enable the trustees to sell lots during the lifetime 
of the testator's children. He married, May 20, 1790, Elizabeth Hill, daughter of 
Elizabeth Mickle and Joseph Fox, who succeeded Isaac Norris as Speaker of 
Assembly. Mrs. Norris survived her husband nearly twenty years, dying in 
January of 1861. 

Issue of Joseph Parker and Elisabeth Hill (Fox) Norris: — 

Mary Parker Norris, b. June 19, 179 1 ; m. Nov. 11, 1813, William Fishbourne Emlen, 
b. May 20, 1787, son of George and Sarah (Fishbourne) Emlen, of Philadelphia; 
they had issue : 



9o NORRIS 

George Emlen, b. Sept. 25, 1814, d. June 7, 1853; entered Univ. of Pa., 1828, was 
valedictorian of class of 1831 ; studied law and was lifelong member of Phila- 
delphia Bar; President Law Academy of Philadelphia, 1851; Secretary Board 
of Trustees of Univ. Pa., 1841-53; President of Controllors Public Schools, 
etc.; m. Ellen Markoe, May 6, 1840; had issue as shown in sketch of Emlen 
family; Mrs. Emlen d. Jan. 15, 1900; 
Joseph Norris Emlen, b. Sept. 4, 1816, d. Aug. 26, 1882; was a graduate of the 

Univ. Pa., A. B., 1834. A. M., 1835. 
Elizabeth Norris Emlen, b. Jan. 26, 1825 ; m. Dec. 22, 1847, James Roosevelt, b. 
June 12, 1825, d. July 15, 1898; had issue: 
Mary Emlen Roosevelt, b. Sept. 27, 1848, d. Dec. 19, 1885; 
Leila Roosevelt, b. Feb., 1850; m. Edward R. Merritt; 
Alfred Roosevelt, b. Apr. 2, 1856, d. July 3, 1891 ; m. Katharine, dau. of 

Augustus Lowell, of Boston, Mass., Dec. 5, 1882; had issue; 
William Emlen Roosevelt, b. April 30, 1857 ; m. Oct. 4, 1883, Christine Griffin, 
dau. of John Kean, of Ursino, N. J., and had issue; 
Sarah Emlen, b. June 15, 1832; m. Oct. 15, 1862, James Casey Hale; had issue: 
Mary Emlen Hale, b. Aug. 9, 1863 ; m. Oct. 23, 1883, James Lowell, Jr., of 
Boston, Mass. ; was the mother of Mary Emlen Lowell, who Oct. 15, 
1904, married Francis Vernon Lloyd. 
Charles Norris, b. Feb. 24, 1793, d. June 4, 1868; trustee of the "Fair Hill" estate, etc.; 
m. 1821, Dorothea, dau. of Louis Clapier ; had issue: 

Louis Clapier Norris, b. June 10, 1822, d. Feb. 15, 1900; m. Dec. 14, 1847, Jane 

McKee; no issue; 
Joseph Parker Norris, of New York, b. Feb. 15, 1824, d- March 19, 1894; m. 
Feb. 5, 1857, Frances Ann Stevens; they had issue: 
Dorothea Clapier Norris, b. June 1, 1858; 
Fanny Norris, b. March 19, 1864; 
Gertrude Norris, b. Dec. 15, 1865, d. Oct. 8, 1886; 

Charles Norris, M. D., of New York, b. Oct. 23, 1868; graduated at Yale 
University, (Ph.B.) 1888, and received the degree of Doctor of Medicine 
at Columbia University, New York, in 1892 ; instructor in College of Phy- 
sicians and Surgeons, in Bacteriology, 1896; instructor of Pathology at 
Cornell University, 1899-1900; director of Laboratories at Bellevue and 
Allied Hospitals, New York. 
Charles Norris, b. Oct. 23, 1828; 
Joseph Parker Norris (the younger), b. Oct. 20, 1794, d. Jan. 31, 1863; m. Caroline 

Thompson, of whom presently; 
Samuel Norris, b. April 1, 1796, d. s. p. Dec. 28, 1866; trustee of "Fair Hill" estate, etc.; 
Elizabeth Fox Norris, b. Sept. 9, 1797, d., Sept. 9, 1874; m - July 1,. 1819, Elihu Spencer 
Sergeant ; had issue : 

Elizabeth Norris Sergeant, b. May 1, 1820, d. Oct. 7, 1877; m. June 6, 1853, John 
Lambert, who d. May 2, 1901 ; and had issue : John Lambert, artist b. March 
10, 1861 ; grad. (A. B.) of the Univ. Pa., 1883; d. Dec. 29, 1907; 
Jonathan Dickinson Sergeant, member of the Philadelphia Bar, and trustee of 

"Sepviva" Estate; b. March 14, 1822; died. June, 1909. 
Margaret Spencer Sergeant, b. Feb. 13, 1824, died. July 27, 1825. 
Isaac Norris, b. 1799, d. inf. 

Deborah Norris, b. Oct. 2, 1800, d. Feb. 4, 1864; m. July 10, 1823, William Brown, 
had issue : 

Elizabeth Norris Brown, b. April 22, 1824; 

Thomas Hamilton Brown, b. Aug. 18, 1826, d. inf. ; 

Joseph Norris Brown, d. inf. ; 

Francis Brown, d. inf. ; 

John Hamilton Brown, d. inf. ; 

William Richardson Brown, b. April 20, 1830, d. April 5, 1879; m - Caroline 

Lawson ; 
George Hamilton Brown, b. June 18, 1831, d- 1856; 
Deborah Norris Brown, b. Aug. 15, 1832, d. Aug. 19, 1904; m. January 13, 1852, 

George Dawson Coleman, of Lebanon. 
Frances Brown, d. inf. ; 

Mary Hamilton Brown, b. Dec. 25, 1834; 

Emily Hamilton Brown, b. Sept. 10, 1836; m. Jan. 15, 1856, Samuel Glover; 

Fanny Brown, b. Feb. 23, 1838; 



NORRIS 



9* 



Isaac Norris, b. Feb. 21, 1802, d. July 1, 1890; m. Mary Pepper, of whom presently; 

Thomas Lloyd Norris, b. Sept. 2, 1803, d. Feb. 9, 1828; unm. ; 

Hanna Fox Norris, b. Sept. 5, 1804, d. Aug. 26, 1884; 

George Washington Norris, M. D., b. Nov. 6, 1808, d. March 4, 1875; m. Mary 

Pleasants Fisher, of whom later; 
Ellen Norris, b. March 4, 1810, d. Sept. 23, 1877 ; unm. ; 
Henry Norris, b. Aug. 6, 1811, d. Dec. 17, 1904; unm.; 
Sally Norris, b. Jan. 16, 1814, d. May 19, 1899; m. Feb. 11, 1841, Henry Pepper; had issue: 

Elizabeth Norris Pepper, b. Dec. 19, 1841 ; m. Feb. 7, 1872, Col. William Brooke 
Rawle ; 

Henry Pepper, b. Aug. 8, 1843, d. Feb. 28, 1844; 

Mary Pepper, b. Jan. 11, 1845, d. Jan. 12, 1845; 

Henry Pepper, b. Nov. 4, 1846, d. March 3, 1880; m. Jan. 16, 1873, Agnes Camp- 
bell Norris; 

Mary Pepper, b. Nov. 18, 1848; m. June 21, 1880, John Gwinn ; 

Catharine Pepper, b. May 1, 1851, d. May 2, 1851 ; 

George Norris Pepper, b. Oct. 18, 1852 ; d. Oct. 8, 1898. 

Emily Norris Pepper, b. June 28, 1855 ; ™- Feb. 1, 1877, J- Wain Vaux, he d, May, 
1898; had issue : 
Richard Vaux, b. Dec. 13, 1877 ; 

Henry Pepper Vaux, b. June 12, 1879, banker, of Philadelphia ; m., 1907, 

Frances Alice Cramp. 
Norris Wister Vaux, b. Sept. 1, 1881 ; M. D. Univ. Pa. ; m., 1907, Honora 

Dixon. 
Emily Norris Vaux, b. June 1, 1885; m. Apr. 17, 1907, Edward Ingersoll ; 
issue: Warren Ingersoll, b. March 22, 1908; Emily Norris Ingersoll. 
Emily Norris, b. July 17, 1816, d. Aug. 6, 1901 ; unm. 
Ann Caroline Norris, b. 1817, d. y. 

Joseph Parker Norris, the youngest son and third child of Joseph Parker 
Norris, by his wife, Elizabeth Hill Fox, was born October 20, 1794. He entered 
the University of Pennsylvania, received his degree from the College Department 
in 1816; taking up the study of the legal profession, he was admitted to the Phila- 
delphia bar, and practised in that city until his death, January 31, 1863. He 
married, February 21, 1821, Caroline Thompson, and had issue, viz: 

Anne Thompson Norris, b. March 22, 1822, d. s. p. May 30, 1866; m. (first) Oct. 18, 1844, 

Robert E. Johnson; (second) July 24, i860, Lamar W. Fisher; 
Elizabeth Norris, b. July 23, 1824, d. July 5, 1908; unm.; 

Joseph Parker Norris (third), b. Jan. 27, 1826, d. Nov. 16, 1887; m. Feb. 22, 1854, Mary 
Elizabeth Garesche ; had issue : 
Louis Baudery Norris, d inf.; 

Caroline Thompson Norris, b. Oct. 31, 1857, d. Apr. 30, 1882; m. Apr. 28, 1881, 
William A. Dick ; had issue ; 
Franklin A. Dick, b. Apr. 27, 1882 ; 
Mary Garesche Norris, b. Nov. 19, 1859; 
George Washington Norris, younger, b. July 5, 1864; banker of Philadelphia; m. 

June 10, 1891, Sarah Fox; 
Annie Norris, b. May 27, 1867, d. May 12, 1873; 

Alexander Garesche Norris, b. July 12, 1868; m. Dec, 1899, Emma Carmen, dau. 
of Alexander Wilson, M. D. ; had issue : 
Elizabeth Carmen Norris, b. Dec. 6, 1901 ; 
Henry Turner Norris, b. July 30, 1870, d. Mch. 25, 1872; 
Thomas Lloyd Norris, b. July 12, 1874, d. June 4, 1876; 
Caroline Norris, b. Jan. 6, 1828, d. Feb. 18, 1877; m. Nov. 2, 1854, Phineas J. Horwitz, 
M. D., who died Sept. 28, 1904; Medical Director, U. S- N. ; Assistant Surgeon Gen- 
eral, U. S. N., 1860-64; Surgeon General, 1864-69; was voted highest pay of his grade 
by Congress for distinguished services during War of the Rebellion ; had issue : 



92 NORRIS 

Theodore Horwitz, b. Sept. 24, 1856, d. Dec. 13, 1877; 

Joseph Parker Horwitz, b. June 26, 1858, d. July 12, i860; 

Orville Horwitz, b. June 26, i860; received degree of B. S. at Univ. Pa., 1881 ; 
that of M. D. at Jefferson Medical College, 1883; Professor of Genito-Urinary 
Surgery, Jefferson Medical College ; Surgeon to same institution ; also to St. 
Agnes and Philadelphia General hospitals, and to State Hospital for Insane; 
Consulting Surgeon to Jewish Hospital, and Surgeon to Jefferson Medical Col- 
lege Hospital ; 

Caroline Norris Horwitz, b. Sept. 17, 1861, d. July 1, 1862; 

Thomas Lloyd Norris Horwitz, b. Sept. 13, 1863, d. June 22, 1900; 

John Meredith Read Horwitz, b. Jan. 27, d. Aug. 21, 1865; 

Amelia Read Horwitz, b. Aug. 26, 1866; m. May 23, 1894, S. Franklin Sharpless; 

George Quintard Horwitz Esq., of Philadelphia Bar, b. Feb. 3, 1868; m. May 23, 
1901, Marian, dau. of Daniel S. Newhall ; A. B. 1886; LL.B. 1888, Univ. Pa.; 
issue; Caroline Norris Horwitz, b. Dec. 10, 1902, d. Aug. 27, 1906. 
Thomas Lloyd Norris, b. April 8, 1831, d. April 28, 1862; 
Adeline Norris, b. Nov. 3, 1834, d. s. p. Nov. 7, 1900; m. Feb. 15, 1862, Sewell H. Brown. 

Isaac Norris, eighth child of Joseph Parker and Elizabeth Hill (Fox) Norris, 
born in Philadelphia, February 21, 1802, received his early education in private 
schools, and in 1818 entered the college department of University of Pennsylvania, 
graduating with his class in 182 1. He studied law and practiced at the Phila- 
delphia bar ; was a member of American Philosophical Society, and a Trustee of 
Fair Hill estate. He died at his country residence, "Hawthorne", near West 
Chester, July 1, 1890. He married, May 18, 1830, Mary, daughter of George 
Pepper, of Philadelphia. 

Issue of Isaac and Mary (Pepper) Norris: — 

George Pepper Norris, b. July 9, 1831, d. March 7, 1865; A. M., Univ. Pa., 1850; M. D., 
1858 ; practiced medicine in Wilmington, Del., where he died ; m. Agnes Campbell, 
dau. of John Price, of Wilmington ; had issue : 

John Price Norris, b. Aug. 20, 1853, d. Sept. 14, 1865; 
Isaac Norris, b. Mch. 29, 1856, d. Dec 9, 1857; 
George Pepper Norris Jr., b. Sept. 29, 1858; 
Margaretta Price Norris, b. Sept. 8, 1861. 
Isaac Norris, b. June 12, 1834; graduated at University of Pennsylvania, A. B. and M. D. ; 
was Physician to Philadelphia Dispensary ; Lincoln Institute and Church Home for 
Children; Prof. Chemistry, High School, Philadelphia, 1869-76; Fellow of College of 
Physicians, 1865; Secretary of same, 1885-88; member American Philosophical Society 
since 1873; member Academy of Natural Sciences since 1861 ; of Biological and 
Microscopical Society since 1872, and its Secretary and Treasurer; of Franklin Insti- 
tute since 1886; member Hist. Society Pennsylvania; Assistant Surgeon U. S. A., 
1862-66, serving in military hospitals of Philadelphia; m. April 24, 1862, Clara Lamb; 
had issue: 

Clara Norris, b. May 10, 1864; 

Isaac Norris, b. Aug. 2, 1865; Ph. B. Yale; LL. B. Univ. Pa.; m. Harriet Sears, 
dau. of Caspar Crowinshield; she died Aug. 18, 1905; had issue: 
Mary Lloyd Norris, b. Jan. 4, 1003. 
Mary Pepper Norris, b. Oct. 7, 1837; m. April 30, 1857, Travis Cochran; have issue: 
Mary Norris Cochran, b. April 14, 1858; 
John Travis Cochran, b. Dec. 24, 1859, d. Mch. 23, 1882 ; 
Isaac Norris Cochran, b. Oct. 7, 1866, d. Jan. 17, 1890; 
Elizabeth Travis Cochran, b. Dec. 3, 1870, died same day; 
Fanny Travis Cochran, b. Dec. 9, 1876; 
Joseph Parker Norris, b. Nov. 28, 1841, d. Jan. 15, 1842; 

Henry Pepper Norris, b. May 18, 1843, d. Feb. 15, 1892; member of Philadelphia bar; 
m. June 18, 1879, Bessie Ebbs ; had issue : 

Henry Pepper Norris Jr., b. July 18, 1881. 
Joseph Parker Norris, b. Nov. 3, 1847; Attorney-at-Law ; author of "Portraits of Shakes- 
peare," etc.; m. March 10, 1870, Isabel Nevins, dau. of Joseph Reese Fry; have issue: 



NORRIS 



93 



Joseph Parker Norris, b. Feb. 9, 1871 ; m. Jan. 6, 1909, Mary Rawlings Brady, of 

Baltimore; issue: Mary Rawlings Brady Norris, b. Dec. II, 1909. 
Cornelia Norris, b. Feb. 6, 1873, d. June 29, 1874; 

Henry Norris, b. May 27, 1875; A. B. and M. D., Univ. Pa.; m. Aug. 3, 1898, 
Ethel Bowman, dau. of Charles Wheeler Esq.; have issue: 
Susan Wheeler Norris, b. June 22, 1899; 
Henry Norris Jr., b. Aug. 25, 1901 ; 
Ethel Stuart Norris, b. Feb. 28, 1905 ; 
John Ridgway Norris, b. Feb. 27, 1877; 

Edith Norris, b. April 19, 1878; m. Jan. 18, 1905, Reginald Kearney Shober; had 
issue : 

Edith Shober, b. May 25, 1906; d. Apr. 21, 1909. 
Mary Bedford Shober, b. Aug. 15, 1908; 
Mary Pepper Norris, b. Sept. 25, 1879 ; m. Jan. 27, 1908, Dr. Montgomery H. Biggs. 
Phillip Norris, b. Dec. 5, 1880, M. D. Univ. Pa., 1003; 
Alice Isabel Norris, b. June 15, 1882; 
William Pepper Norris, b. June 26, 1886. 
William Pepper Norris, b. Feb. 9, 1852, d. Nov. 14, 1876 ; received degree of A. B. 
at Univ. Pa., 1871 ; m. June, 1876, Laura Camblos ; had issue : 
Charles Camblos Norris, M. D. (Univ. Pa., i£ 



George Washington Norris, twelfth child of Joseph Parker and Elizabeth 
Hill (Fox) Norris, born in Philadelphia, November 6, 1808; in 1824 entered the 
University of Pennsylvania, class of 1827, and received the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts. Entering the medical department of the same institution, he received the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine, 1830. During the same year he was elected one of 
the resident physicians of the Pennsylvania Hospital. Upon the conclusion of his 
term of service, he studied medicine abroad for a few years, most of his time 
being spent in Paris. In 1836, at the age of twenty-eight years, he was elected 
one of the surgeons of Pennsylvania Hospital, a position which he held for over 
twenty years. In 1848, he was appointed Clinical Professor of Surgery at the 
University of Pennsylvania, finally resigning in 1857, at which time he was elected 
Trustee of the University. 

He was the author of a number of monographs, which were eventually pub- 
lished in one volume, entitled "Contributions to Practical Surgery" ; and from 
time to time he wrote articles .on historical subjects for the magazines, etc. His 
last literary work, "The Early History of Medicine in Philadelphia", left unfin- 
ished at the time of his death, was subsequently finished by his son. Dr. Norris 
rose to great eminence in his profession as a surgeon. Despite his diffidence and 
humility, he had a wide reputation as a consultant. His calm and excellent judg- 
ment was frequently called into requisition by his professional confreres and 
friends. 

A memoir of Dr. Norris, by Dr. William Hunt, says of him, in part : "Dr. 
Norris was a man of truth. He never flattered and he never sneered. Well 
may we wish that not only we, but many more of his profession than those who 
hear us tonight, were such as he was." 

In two respects Dr. Norris may be said to have anticipated the subsequent 
developments of modern surgery. Before the days of anaesthetics, he used before 
operations, in a measure to relieve the sufferings of his patients, a liberal admin- 
istration of alcohol and opium ; and before the days of antiseptics, he used to 
rigorously insist upon the necessity of prolonged and frequent application of 
soap and water, and upon the use of new and unused bandages for each patient. 



94 NORRIS 

In fact he was so punctilious in these matters that he was sometimes criticised as 
cranky on the subject. 

Among the official positions held by Dr. Norris the following may be men- 
tioned: Vice-President of the College of Physicians (1864-75) ; President of the 
Board of Managers of the Children's Hospital ; Consulting Surgeon to the same 
institution, and to the Orthopaedic Hospital ; President of the Historical Society 
of Pennsylvania; member of the American Philosophical Society, and of the 
Academy of Natural Sciences ; Director of the Philadelphia Library Company, 
and of the Mutual Assurance Company, (Green Tree) ; of the Philadelphia Sav- 
ing Fund Society, and "a much consulted Trustee of the University of Penn- 
sylvania." 

Dr. George W. Norris married, February 1, 1838, Mary Pleasants, daughter 
of William Wharton Fisher, of Philadelphia. He died March 4, 1875. 
Issue of Dr. George W . and Mary P. {Fisher) Norris: — 

William Fisher Norris, b. Jan. 6, 1839, d. Nov. 18, 1901 ; m. (first) Rosa Clara Buch- 

mann, of whom presently ; 
Mary Fisher Norris, b. July 7, 1841, d. May 27, 1894; m. James Parsons, Professor of 
Law of Personal Property at the Univ. Pa., Feb. 26, 1874 ; had issue : 

Lewis Hines Parsons, b. April 30, 1876; banker, of Philadelphia; graduate (A. B.) 

of Harv. Univ. ; 
Mary Norris Parsons, b. June 18, 1881 ; m. Nov. 2, 1908, J. Ridgway Reilly. 

William Fisher Norris, M. D., only son of Dr. George W. and Mary P. 
(Fisher) Norris, born in Philadelphia, January 6, 1839, graduated from Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, "with high honors", class of 1857, receiving degree of 
Bachelor of Arts; two years later that of Master of Arts, and in 1861, that of 
Doctor of Medicine from the same institution. He became a resident physician 
of Pennsylvania Hospital, and after having served his term there, passed the 
examinations for surgeon in the U. S. A. During the greater part of the Civil 
War he was stationed in Washington, D. C, and after a short term of service 
was placed in charge of Douglas Hospital, a post which he held until his resig- 
nation from army in 1865 ; he having been brevetted Captain. While at Wash- 
ington, he inaugurated the custom of photographing wounds and pathological 
specimens for future records ; he was practically the first, in this country, to 
photograph microscopic sections. The authorities at Washington were so im- 
pressed with the value of this means of recording case histories that a special 
bureau was established for this purpose. After leaving the army Dr. Norris went 
to Europe to study Ophthalmology, a branch of medical science at that time 
practically unknown in this country. He spent several years in Europe, most of 
his time being passed in Vienna. Here it was that, together with Professor Strieker, 
he published an epoch-making article "On the Inflammation of the Cornea." 

On his return to this country Dr. Norris took up Ophthalmology as a specialty. 
In 1873 ne was appointed Lecturer on this branch of medicine at University of 
Pennsylvania, and in 1876 was appointed to the newly established professorship 
of Clinical Ophthalmology. This chair was later made a full professorship and 
held by him until his death in 1901. 

In 1872 he was appointed surgeon of the Wills Eye Hospital, a position he 
also held until 1901, at which time he was appointed consulting surgeon, "as a 
token of respect for his unremitting labor as Attending Surgeon." 



NORRIS 95 

Conservatism and conscientiousness, rather than brilliancy or display, char- 
acterized the lectures and operations of Dr. Norris; the welfare of the patient 
being always the primary object in view. He was one of the founders of Uni- 
versity Hospital, (he, with Drs. Wood and Pepper, being the originators of the 
plan), and for many years was President of its Board of Managers. He was 
a Fellow of the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, and for many years one of 
its Censors. In 1877 he was president of Pathological Society; from 1885 to 
1889, president of the American Ophthalmological Society; a director of the 
Mutual Assurance Company; a member of the Wistar Party, of the Academy of 
Natural Sciences, and the Philadelphia Zoological Society. He made many con- 
tributions to medical literature; was senior author of "A Text Book of Ophthal- 
mology", and senior editor of "A System of the Diseases of the Eye." He died 
November 18, 1901. 

Dr. William Fisher Norris married (first) July 14, 1873, Rosa Clara, of 
Vienna, daughter of Hieronymus Buchmann, who died November 1, 1897. Mar- 
ried (second) June 12, 1899, Annetta Culp, daughter of Col. George A. Earn- 
shaw, of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. He and his first wife are buried at Laurel 
Hill Cemetery. 

Issue of Dr. William F. and Rosa Clara (Buchmann) Norris: — 

George William Norris, b. Jan. 1, 1875; graduated at the Univ. Pa., (B. A.) class of 1895, 
and from medical department of the same institution (M. D.) in 1899; is Associate in 
Medicine at the University; Assistant Physician at Philadelphia General, and the Uni- 
versity Hospitals. Fomerly Physician to Phipps Institute ; Fellow of the College of Phy- 
sicians, Philadelphia; Physician to Out-patient Dept. Penn. Hospital. 

William Felix Norris, b. May 6, T879; graduated at the Univ. Pa. (B. S.) class of 1901 ; 
received the degree of LL. B. from the same institution in 1904; was admitted to the 
Philadelphia bar in the same year, and is a practicing attorney in the city ; 

Lloyd Buchmann Norris, b. Jan. 19, 1881, d. March 30, 1885. 



SHIPPEN FAMILY 

Among those who, in the second part of the seventeenth century, left Eng- 
land for the New World, was Edward Shippen of Methley, in the West Riding 
of Yorkshire. There is a family tradition, confirmed by a letter of Edward 
Shippen "of Lancaster", written in 1741, that the Shippens were settled at Hil- 
lam, a hamlet in the ancient parish of Monk Fryston, in Yorkshire, as early as 
the thirteenth century. There is nothing further known to prove this tradi- 
tion, and it may be true. In any case, at the dawn of the Reformation the Ship- 
pens were established at Hillam, in the parish of Monk Fryston. 

In 1539 there is the entry, "Janet Shippen christened the XXIIth day" and, 
between that date and 1678, there are about forty Shippen entries, the latest of 
which are in 1622-3 an d 1624-5. There were Shippens, however, in many of 
the villages adjacent to Monk Fryston, and to this day there is a farm-house 
called Shippen, in the parish of Barwick-in-Elmet, six or seven miles to the 
northwest of Monk Fryston. The word 'shippen' is in every-day use in agricul- 
tural Yorkshire, at the present time, and denotes a partly covered cattle-yard, 
and there are persons bearing the name Shippen still to be found in Leeds and 
the neigborhood. 

Monk Fryston is in the West Riding of Yorkshire, and lies about thirteen 
miles southeast of Leeds and fifteen miles south of York. There William Ship- 
pen — the father of the emigrant — appears to have been born about the year 
1600, but by some mischance his name is not to be found in the Monk Fryston 
registers. What is certain is that he migrated to Methley, a village about seven 
miles to the west of Monk Fryston, and that there, on July 16, 1626, he married 
Mary Nunnes or Nuns. 

William Shippen, in his new home at Methley, became a man of local 
prominence, for in 1642, he was overseer of the poor, and in 1654, overseer 
of highways. He died in 1681 at Stockport in Cheshire, where he was living 
with his son William. His wife, Mary Nunnes, the daughter of John Nunnes, of 
a substantial yeoman family long established at Methley, was baptized at Meth- 
ley on October 1 1, 1592, and buried there May 26, 1672. William Shippen him- 
self spent his declining years with his son William, rector of Stockport, and died 
there in 1681. William and Mary (Nunnes) Shippen had six children, all born at 
Methley : — 

Robert Shippen, bap. May 20, 1627 ; 

Mary Shippen, bap. June 24, 1629; 

Ann Shippen, bap. Nov. 21, 1630; 

Dorathe Shippen, bap. Feb. 9, 1631 ; 

William Shippen, bap. July 2, 1637; 

Edward Shippen, bap. March 5, 1639. 

Of these, Robert, Ann, and Dorathe died young at Methley, and Mary married, in 
1663, William Chapman, of the neighboring town of Normanton. Of the two remaining 
children, William remained in England and Edward came to America. 

William Shippen, baptized at Methley July 2, 1637; studied and graduated 



SHIPPEN t)7 

at University College, Oxford, receiving his B. A. in 1656 and his M. A. in 1659. 
He was afterward Proctor of the University, 1664; Rector of Stockport in Ches- 
hire; and was the author of "The Christian's Triumph over Death," a sermon 
preached at the funeral of Richard Leigh, Esq. He died in 1693, and was buried 
under the chancel of the church. Rev. William Shippen had four sons and one 
daughter : — 

Edward Shippen, b. 1671, M. A. and M. D., Brasenose College, Oxford, subsequently suc- 
ceeded his brother Robert as Professor of Music at Gresham College. Was a physi- 
cian ; supposedly m. Frances, dau. of Peter Leigh, of Lynne ; 
William Shippen, b. 1673 and d. 1743; was bur. in St- Andrew's Church, Holborn, Lon- 
don. Educated at Westminster and Brasenose College, Oxford, he was called to the 
Bar from the Middle Temple in 1693. He sat in five parliaments from 1716 to his 
death in 1743, and was the incorruptible leader of the Jacobites. In his speeches he 
spoke his mind clearly and fearlessly, and to such purpose that on one occasion, for 
reflecting on the policy of the King, he was confined to the Tower of London. It was 
of him that Pope wrote, — 

"I love to pour out all myself, as plain 

As downright Shippen, or as old Montaigne." 

Lord Dover, in his edition of the letters of Sir Horace Walpole, brother of Sir Rob- 
ert Walpole, says of Shippen, — 

" 'Honest Will Shippen,' as he was called, or 'Downright Shippen,' as Pope terms 
him, was a zealous Jacobite member of Parliament, possessed of considerable talents, 
and a vehement opposer of Sir Robert Walpole's government. He, however, did 
justice to that able Minister, for he was accustomed to say, 'Robin and I are honest 
men; but as for those fellows in long perriwigs,' (meaning the Tories of the day) 
'they only want to get into office themselves.' He was the author of a satirical poem 
entitled 'Faction Displayed,' which possesses considerable merit." 

Sir Robert Walpole said of Shippen, "Some are corrupt, but I will tell you of one 
who is not; Shippen is not." 

On one occasion the Prince of Wales, to show his satisfaction with a speech of 
Shippen, sent the sturdy Jacobite leader, by General Churchhill, Groom of the Bed- 
chamber, a thousand pounds sterling, which Shippen refused. 

Shippen's character and conduct are well illustrated in the report of the proceedings 
in Parliament, when he was sent to the Tower. 

"In this speech, Mr. Shippen overshot himself so far in his expressions, as to give 
too much advantage against him, to such as perhaps were not over-backward to lay 
hold of it: His words that gave the offence were to the following purpose, 'That the 
second paragraph of the King's speech seemed rather to be calculated for the meridian 
of Germany, than Great Britain ; and that 'tzvas a great misfortune, that the King zvas 
a Stranger to our language and constitution.' These expressions gave offence to sev- 
eral members, and in particular to Mr. Lechmere, who having taken them down in 
writing, urged, 'That those words were a scandalous invective against the King's per- 
son and government, of which the house ought to shew the highest resentment, and 
therefore moved, That the member who spoke those offensive words should be sent to 
the Tower.' Mr. Lechmere was seconded by Mr. Cowper, brother of the Lord Chan- 
cellor, and back'd by Sir Joseph Jekyll, and some others : Upon which Mr. Robert Wal- 
pole said, 'That if the words in question were spoken by the member on whom they 
were charged, the Tower was too light a punishment for his rashness; but as what he 
had said in the heat of his debate might have been misunderstood, he was for allowing 
him the liberty of explaining himself.' Mr. Snell, Mr. Hutchinson, and some other 
gentlemen, spoke also in behalf of Mr. Shippen, intending, chiefly, to give him an op- 
portunity of retracting or excusing what he had said ; which Mr. Shippen not thinking 
proper to do, several speeches were made upon the question, Whether the words taken 
down in writing were the same as he had spoken? A gentleman having suggested, 
That there was no precedent of a censure passed on a member of the house, for words 
spoken in a Committee, Sir Charles Hotham produced instances of the contrary; and. 
on the other hand, Mr. Shippen having maintained what he had advanced, it was, at 
last, resolved by a majority of 196 votes against about 100, That the words taken down 
in writing were spoken by Mr. Shippen. It was then about nine o'clock in the even- 
ing!, and it being moved and carried, That the Chairman leave the chair ; Mr. Speaker 
resumed his place, and Mr. Farrer reported from the said Committee, 'That exceptions 
having been taken to some words spoken in die Committee, by William Shippen, Esq., 
a member of the house, the Committee, had directed him to report the words to the 
house.' Which being done accordinglv, and candles ordered to be brought in, Mr. 
Shippen was heard in his place, and then withdrew. After this it was moved, that the 
question might be put, 'That the words spoken by William Shippen, Esq., (a member 
of this house) are highly dishonorable to, and unjustly reflecting on his Majesty's per- 
7 



98 SHIPPEN 

son and government.' Which occasioned a debate that lasted 'till past n o'clock; when 
the question being put, was carried in the affirmative by 175 voices against 81 ; and 
thereupon ordered, 'That William Shippen, Esq., be, for the said offence, committed 
prisoner to his Majesty's Tower of London, and that Mr. Speaker do issue his warrant 
accordingly.' " 

Of a speech by Shippen in the Commons (1720) the Countess of Cowper writes in 
her diary, — 

"Shippen upbraided Walpole terribly in Debate with having chid the Committee of 
Supply for fear of such an indiscreet method as this to raise Money, and now with 
moving and helping the Court to it in this manner. He spoke long, and very well — the 
better for being in the Right." 

Something of his political views are expressed in the following speech in the House 
of Commons : 

"For my part I am not ashamed nor afraid to affirm, that thirty years have made no 
change in any of my political opinions ; I am now grown old in this house, but that ex- 
perience which is the consequence of age has only confirmed the principles with which 
I entcr'd it many years ago ; time has verified the predictions which I formerly utter'd, 
and I have seen my conjectures ripen'd into knowledge. I should be therefore without 
excuse, if either terror could affright, or the hope of advantage allure me from the 
declaration of my opinions ; opinions, which I was not deterred from asserting, when 
the prospect of a longer life than I can now expect might have added to the tempta- 
tions of ambition, or aggravated the terrors of poverty and disgrace ; opinions, for 
which I would willingly have suffered the severest censures, even when I had espoused 
them only in compliance with reason, without the infallible certainty of experience. Of 
truth it has been always observed, Sir, that every day adds to its establishment, and 
that falsehoods, however specious, however supported by power, or established by con- 
federacies, are unable to stand before the stroke of time : Against the inconveniences 
and vexations of long life, may be set the pleasure of discovering truth, perhaps the 
only pleasure that age affords. Nor is it a slight satisfaction to a man not utterly in- 
fatuated or depraved, to find opportunities of rectifying his notions, and regulating 
his conduct by new lights. But much greater is the happiness of that man, to whom 
every day brings a new proof of the reasonableness of his former determinations, and 
who finds, by the most unerring test, that his life has been spent in promotion of doc- 
trines beneficial to mankind. This, Sir, is the happiness which I now enjoy, and for 
which those who never shall attain it, must look for an equivalent in lucrative employ- 
ment, honorary titles, pompous equipages, and splendid palaces. These, Sir, are the 
advantages which are to be gained by a seasonable variation of principles, and by a 
ready compliance with the prevailing fashion of opinions; advantages, which I indeed 
cannot envy, when they are purchased at so high a price" ; 
William Shippen, m. Frances, dau. of Sir Richard Stote ; 

Robert Shippen, b. 1675. Received his M. A. July 22, 1693, was Fellow of Brasenose, 
and Professor of Music at Gresham College; he held several preferments. In 1710 he 
became Principal of Brasenose, and in 1718 Vice-chancellor of Oxford University. Bur. 
in Brasenose Chapel, where there is his bust and an epitaph in Latin by Dr. Frewin, of 
which the following is a free translation : 

"Robert Shippen, Professor of Sacred Theology 

Who amongst the Mertonians 

Well Versed in the knowledge of Literature 

And the rules of Philosophy. 

Was first a Fellow of this College 

Afterwards for Thirty Five Years 

Warden 

Meanwhile five times vice-Chancellor of the University. 

A man, if ever such there was, 

Prompt, diligent and faithful 

In promoting the interests & advantage of his friends 

Careful, expert and unwearied 

In enlarging the revenue & emoluments of the College 

Watchful, bold and resolute 

In maintaining and defending the rights & privileges of the University. 

Died 24 November A. D. 1745 — Aged 70 years. 
Most deeply lamented by his friends, the College and the University." 



"William Seyborne Esquire 

A nephew by a sister 

To his greatly revered Uncle 

And who honored him living and dead. 

Hath erected 
This memorial of his love and dutv." 



SHIPPEN 99 

The tablet is about eight feet in length, surmounted with a bust of Robert Shippen, 
terminating with the shield of the Shippen coat-of-arms. There appears to have been a 
certain degree of intimacy between Robert and his American cousin, Joseph. His 
book-plate is preserved in the American branch of the family ; 

John Shippen, bap. by his father at Stockport July 5, 1678. Was a merchant in Spain, 
and British consul at Lisbon; d. unm. Sept., 1747; bur. in St. Andrew's, Holborn, 
London ; 

Anne Shippen, named for Edward Willes, one of the Judges of Court of King's Bench, 
1767, m. Anne Taylor, dau. of Anne, sister of William Shippen, M. P. 

Edward Shippen, the emigrant, was baptized on March 5, 1639, at Methley, 
not far from the manufacturing city of Leeds ; the Loidis-in-Elmet of Saxon days. 
The name Methley probably originally meant the middle pasture land between 
the rivers Calder and Aire. To-day Methley Church is almost, excepting the 
steeple, which is an eighteenth-century addition, as it was when Edward Ship- 
pen lived at Methley. He came over to America and settled in Boston in 1668. 
There he engaged in mercantile pursuits with much success. In 1669 he was a 
member of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company, showing that he was 
still at that time a member of the Protestant Church of England. Two years 
later he married Elizabeth Lybrand, a Quarkeress ; this marriage led him to 
become a Quaker. Owing to his new religion, he was subjected to severe perse- 
cution, and in 1677, was twice "publickly whipped." In various ways he was 
subjected to great annoyance, until finally, about 1693-4, he decided to take 
refuge in Pennsylvania. 

It would seem to have taken him about a year to perfect the disposal of his 
estate in Boston and transfer it to Philadelphia. In this latter city his wealth, 
his fine personal appearance, his house on Second street, styled "a princely 
mansion", his talents, and his high character, speedily obtained for him such posi- 
tion and influence that on July 9, 1695, he was elected Speaker of the Assem- 
bly; in 1699 he was made Chief-Justice, and on October 25, 1701, William 
Penn named him in the charter as Mayor of the City of Philadelphia. Penn, as 
is well known, gave most anxious consideration to his selection of officers to 
govern the new city. He thoroughly appreciated the importance of a correct 
choice. It was, to borrow a military phrase, the base-line in his operations. 
The success of his whole enterprise turned upon it, the consciousness of which, 
apart from any other motives, political or philanthropic, was sufficient to stimu- 
late him to the utmost caution and deliberation in his choice of incumbents. In 
Edward Shippen he found a man of courage, energy, integrity, intelligence, and 
sagacity ; whose unspotted moral character was ample earnest to the citizens that 
the executive power would be exercised with the strictest justice and fidelity; 
whose active business habits and bravery equally assured them of the chief mag- 
istrate's resolution and promptness, whilst his high social position gave dignity 
to the office. 

From 1702 to 1704 Edward Shippen was President of the Governor's Council, 
and for six months, when there was no Governor in the Province, he was acting 
Governor. In 1706 he contracted his third marriage, which led to his separation 
from the Society of Friends. After that, apparently, he retired from public life, 
except that he continued to advise upon public affairs, as is shown by Perm's let- 
ter dated 24th, 5th month, 1712, where Edward Shippen is addressed, in con- 
nection with Isaac Norris, Thomas Story, and others. Edward Shippen died at 
Philadelphia, October 2, 17 12. 



ioo SHIPPEN 

No one could wish to detract in the slightest degree from Penn's merits ; but 
we are taught to render "honor to whom honor is due." In doing so, we must 
needs say that a great, if not the greatest, portion of the glory of building up the 
commonwealth which was "founded by deeds of peace" is due to Shippen, Nor- 
ris, and Logan, and men like them ; the men who, here, in the new country 
itself, fostered commerce, developed the resources of the Province, set the best 
of examples, by disdaining no proper toil in their respective vocations, yet neg- 
lected not the refinements and graces of letters and polite society. 

Edward Shippen married (first), 1671, Elizabeth Lybrand, of Boston; they 
had eight children, from whom are descended the Shippen family in America. 
She having died, October 25, 1688, he married at Newport, Rhode Island, Sep- 
tember 4, 1689, Rebecca, widow of Francis Richardson, of New York, and 
daughter of John Howard, of Yorkshire. Her sister Mary, who had married 
(first) Thomas, son of William Coddington, Governor of Rhode Island, had just 
prior to Edward Shippen's removal to Philadelphia, become third wife of 
Anthony Morris, at that time a leading merchant of Philadelphia. Edward 
Shippen took up his residence in a fine mansion on the west side of Second street, 
north of Spruce, and had a fine "country house" at Broad and South streets, his 
property extending along the south side of the old city as far west as Sixteenth 
street and east to Front street. William Penn spent much of his time at Ship- 
pen's house on Second street, on the occasion of his second visit to Pennsyl- 
vania. His spacious lawn extending down to Dock Creek, on which he main- 
tained a herd of deer, and his orchard of choice fruits were famous in their day. 

Among the descendants of Edward Shippen and his first wife, Elizabeth Ly- 
brand, many reached positions of influence and distinction, both under the Colon- 
ial and the State governments. Some account of their distinguished services will 
be given later in this narrative. Mr. Shippen's second wife, Rebecca (Howard) 
Richardson, died in Philadelphia, February 26, 1704-5, and in 1706 he married 
(third) Elizabeth, widow of Thomas James, from Bristol, England, daughter of 
John Wilcox. This marriage separated him from the Society of Friends, and 
about this time he also retired from public affairs, except that he continued to be 
the confidential adviser of Penn in some matters of state as shown by Penn's 
letter of 51110. 24, 1712. He died in Philadelphia, October 2, 1712. His third 
wife survived him, dying in Philadelphia, August 7, 1724. His only child by 
the second marriage was a daughter, Elizabeth, born at Boston, October 20, 
1691, and died there August 8, 1692. By the third marriage he had two sons, 
John, 1707, died same year; and William, born Philadelphia, October 3, 1708, 
died February 3, 1730-1, unmarried. His descendants therefore are through his 
first marriage, with Elizabeth Lybrand. 

Issue of Edward and Elizabeth {Lybrand) Shippen: — 

Frances, b. Feb. 2, 1672, d. April 9, 1673 ; 

Edward, b. Oct. 2, 1674, d. Nov. 2, 1674; 

William, b. Oct. 4, 1675, d. 1676; 

Elizabeth, b. Aug. 21, 1676, d. Aug. 16, 1688; 

Edward, b. Feb. 10, 1677-8; d. in Philadelphia. Dec. 29, 1714; m. Fancenia Vanderheyden 

of Maryland, had dau. Margaret, who m, Jeykill. It was to him that his 

father devised ancestral estate at Hillam, Yorkshire; 
Joseph, b. Feb. 28, 1678-9, d. in Philadelphia, June 1741 ; m. (first) Abigail Grosse; 

(second) Rose McWilliams ; of whom presently; 



S HIPP EN IOI 

Mary, b. May 6, 1681, d. Aug. 30, 1688; 

Ann, b. June 17, 1684, d. s. p. Dec. 6, 1712; m. July 10, 1706, Thomas Story, (first) Re- 
corder of Philadelphia, named as such in Charter of 1701 ; Master of Rolls, 1700-2; 
Keeper of Seal, same period; Provincial Councillor, 1700-1706; and one of Commis- 
sioners of Property; d. 1742, in England; elected Mayor, but refused to serve. 

Joseph Shippen, son of Edward and Elizabeth (Lybrand) Shippen, born at 
Boston, February 28, 1678-8, remained in Boston after the removal of his father 
to Philadelphia, and married there, July 28, 1703, Abigail, daughter of Thomas 
and Elizabeth Grosse, of Huguenot descent. They removed to Philadelphia in 
1704, his wife died there June 28, 1716, and he married (second) Rose, widow 
of John McWilliams, also widow of Charles Plumly. She was a daughter of 
Thomas and Sarah Budd, of Burlington, New Jersey, where she was born 
March 13, 1 680-1. Joseph Shippen resided a time in Philadelphia, removing 
later to Germantown. Resided at "Buttowood Farm," formerly the "Roebuck 
Tavern." In 1727 Joseph Shippen joined Dr. Franklin in the formation of 
the "Junto" founded "for mutual information and the promotion of the public 
Good," which was the forerunner of the American Philosophical Society, founded 
in 1743. He was an energetic and industrious business man, was very prominent 
in the commercial and social life of Philadelphia, and took a deep interest in 
science and literature. He died at Germantown, June, 1741. His children, all 
by the first wife, were: — 

Edward, known as "Edward Shippen of Lancaster," b. Boston, July 9, 1703, d. Lancas- 
ter, Sept. 25, 1781 ; m. (first) Sarah Plumley; (second) Mary (Gray) Rowland, of 
whom presently; 

Elizabeth, b. Philadelphia, April 17, 1705, d. there June 8, 1714; 

Joseph, known as "Gentleman Joe," b. Philadelphia, Nov. 28, 1706, d. Germantown, July, 
1793; subscriber to the Dancing Assembly, 1748; led a "gay and luxurious life"; was 
member of Common Council of Philadelphia from Oct. 1742, many years; m. Mary 
Kearney; 

William, b. Aug. 31, 1708, d. Dec. 29, 1716; 
Anne, b. Philadelphia, Aug. 5, 1710, m. Charles Willing; 

Dr. William Shippen Sr., b. Philadelphia, Oct. 1, 1712, d. Nov. 4, 1801 ; one of first 
physicians of Pa. Hospital ; one of founders of Second Presbyterian Church, member 
sixty years; elected American Philosophical Society, 1767, later its Vice-president; had 
been member of Franklin's "Junto" ; elected by Pa. Assembly to Continental Congress 
Nov. 20, 1778, re-elected Nov. 13, 1779. M. Susannah, b. Philadelphia, June 30, 1711, 
d. there 1774, dau. of Joseph and Katharine (Noble) Harrison; 

Dr. William Shippen Jr., son Dr. William Sr., b. Philadelphia Oct. 21, 1736, grad- 
uated at College of N. J. (Princeton), 1754, valedictorian of class; studied med- 
icine with father until 1758, then went to England and pursued his studies there; 
took degree M. D. at Univ. of Edinburg, 1761 ; returned to Philadelphia May, 
1762, and on advice of his father commenced course of lectures on anatomy, 
the first ever delivered in America, continued until appointed, Sept. 23, 1765, 
Professor of Anatomy and Surgery of Medical Dept. of College of Philadelphia, 
founded by him. July 15, 1776, appointed Chief Physician of Flying Camp, and 
March, 1777, laid before Congress a plan for organization of Hospital Dept. 
for the army, which, with slight modifications, was adopted, and he was ap- 
pointed, April 11, 1777, "Director General of all the Military Hospitals, for the 
Army of the United States;" On reorganization of College of Philadelphia as 
Univ. of Pa. elected May 11, 1780, Professor of Anatomy, Surgery and Mid- 
wifery, which he held until resignation, 1806. Was an originator of Philadel- 
phia College of Physicians, 1787, and its president 1805 to death, July 11, 1808. 
M. in London, 1760, Alice, youngest dau. of Col. Thomas Lee, Governor of Vir- 
ginia, by his wife Hannah Ludwell, and sister to Richard Henry, Lightfoot, and 
Arthur Lee. She was b. in Virginia, June 4, 1736, d. Philadelphia March 25, 
1801. 
Elizabeth, b. Sept. 28, 1714, d. Dec. 3, 1714. 

Edward Shippen, eldest son of Joseph and Abigail (Gosse) Shippen, gener- 



102 SHIPPEN 

ally known as "Edward Shippen of Lancaster", born in Boston, Mass., July 9, 
1703, was reared in Philadelphia to mercantile pursuits, in 1732 became a part- 
ner of James Logan, under firm name of Logan & Shippen, and in 1749, engaged 
in the fur trade with Thomas Lawrence, under title of Shippen and Lawrence. 
He was elected to Common Council of Philadelphia October 3, 1732, was elected 
by that body to the Board of Aldermen October 4, 1743, and a year later was 
elected Mayor of the city. He was an accomplished scholar, a cultured gentle- 
man, and was very much esteemed throughout the Province. He was a founder 
of the College of New Jersey, now Princeton University, and was a trustee 
twenty years. He became a member of the American Philosophical Society in 
1768, of which his son Edward was also a member. On engaging in the fur 
trade in 1749, he removed to Lancaster, and became an extensive landed pro- 
prietor on the then frontier of Pennsylvania. He laid out the town of Shippens- 
burg, named for him. He was appointed Prothonotary of Lancaster county, 
March 28, 1753, held that office until the Revolution, and was also clerk of the 
other courts of the county, as well as Justice of the County and Provincial 
Courts. 

During the French and Indian wars he filled the position of paymaster and 
Commissary of the British and Provincial troops, under Generals Forbes and 
Stanwix and Col. Bouquet, and managed the purchase of supplies for the sev- 
eral expeditions with so much thoroughness, integrity and tact, as to receive the 
public thanks for his services in 1760. In fact he discharged all his public duties 
in a manner eminently praiseworthy and honorable, and in his private inter- 
course always showed himself so virtuous and upright as to merit and hold the 
respect and esteem of all with whom he came in contact. At the breaking out of 
the Revolutionary struggle he was too old to take a prominent part, either in 
the field or in the Committee of Safety, but nevertheless, always expressed him- 
self warmly in behalf of the Colonies, and gave material aid. He had an 
unswerving faith in the ultimate success of the cause of independence, even in 
the darkest days of the struggle, but did not live to see it achieved. He died at 
Lancaster, September 25, 1781. He married (first), September 20, 1725, Sarah, 
born in Philadelphia, November 8, 1706, died there April 28, 1735, daughter of 
Charles Plumley by his wife Rose Budd, who became the second wife of 
Joseph Shippen, father of Edward. He married (second), in August, 1747, 
Mary, widow of John Nowland, and daughter of William and Mary Gray, of 
Philadelphia. She was born in London, England, January 13, 1705-6, and died 
at Lancaster May 3, 1778. His children were all by the first wife. 
Issue of Edward and Sarah (Plumley) Shippen: — 

Elizabeth Shippen, b. Philadelphia, Aug. 17, 1726, d. Aug. 29, 1726; 

Joseph and Benjamin, twins, d. inf., Sept. 6, 1727; 

Edward Shippen, b Philadelphia, Feb. 16, 1728-9; Provincial Councillor, Chief Justice, 
etc., of whom presently; 

Sarah Shippen, b. Feb. 22, 1730-1, d. at "Tinian", her husband's seat near Harris- 
burg, Pa., Sept. 17, 1784; m. May 14, 1748, Col. James Burd, of Provincial service and 
Revolution; of whom later; 

Joseph Shippen, b. Philadelphia, Oct. 30, 1732; Colonel in Provincial service; Secretary 
Provincial Council; Judge of Lancaster County Courts, etc.; m. Jane Galloway; of 
whom also, later ; 

Rose Shippen, b. Philadelphia, Sept. 10, 1734, d. Sept. 30, 1734. 



SHIPPEN 103 

Edward Shippen, eldest son of Edward and Sarah (Plnmley) Shippen, born 
in Philadelphia February 16, 1728-9; through the trying ordeal of the struggle 
for independence, he entertained views entirely at variance with those of the 
then dominant party, and took no part in the struggle, nevertheless, through a 
long and useful career, rendered to his Province and State as distinguished ser- 
vices as any of his distinguished family, and held throughout, the respect and 
esteem of her people. He studied law in the office of Tench Francis, Esq., then 
the most learned and prominent member of Philadelphia Bar. His father, real- 
izing he could not fit himself for a high position in the practice of that profes- 
sion in America, sent him to England in the early part of 1749, to pursue his 
legal studies there. He was entered as a student at the Middle Temple, London, 
and in 1750, was admitted to practice as a barrister. On May 14, 1750, he sailed 
for home, and on his arrival in Philadelphia, at once took up the practice of his 
chosen profession. His rare talents and learning soon procured him a fair 
amount of business at the local bar, and on September 25, 1750, was admitted 
to practice in the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, on his diploma from the 
Middle Temple, London, and he soon after had charge of a number of important 
cases in that tribunal. On November 22, 1752, he was appointed Judge of the 
Court of Admiralty at Philadelphia, then an important and lucrative position. 
He took a lively interest in Provincial affairs, and in 1756, was appointed by 
Provincial Council, with a number of others, to pacify the people of Lancaster, 
then in a turmoil over Indian affairs. On September 24, 1765, he was appointed 
Prothonotary of the Supreme Court, a position that does not seem to have pre- 
vented him from enjoying a large practice in that court. On December 12, 
1770, he was appointed to the Provincial Council, and took an active part in 
its deliberations, until it went out of existence with the Provincial government 
in 1776. 

With the coming of the Committee of Safety, followed by the Supreme Exec- 
utive Council, as the ruling power in the State, Judge Shippen was of course 
deprived of his several offices and the disturbance and uncertainties of the change 
of government then succeeding, left little time or thought for litigation, so that 
his practice ceased to bring in any revenue, and he retired with his family to the 
Falls of the Schuylkill, and lived in quiet retirement. While he resented and 
abhored the oppressive measures which the dominant party in England had un- 
wisely imposed upon the Colonies, his education and profession and its practice 
had engendered in him the highest respect for the English laws and the preroga- 
tives of the Crown, and felt that a total separation from the mother country 
would be ruinous to his beloved province and her institutions. He was, however, 
loyal to the existing authorities in his native state and freely gave and kept his 
parole, to hold no communication with her enemies and remain in or near his own 
house, remaining entirely impassive and neutral ; an attitude he strenuously main- 
tained throughout the war. When the British took possession of the city of Phil- 
adelphia, he returned to his city house, and was on terms of intimacy with a num- 
ber of the English officers. His accomplished and beautiful daughters received 
much attention from the gallant young English cavaliers, with whom they were 
thrown in contact. They were, however, not permitted to attend the "Meschi- 
anza", the brilliant fete designed by Major Andre just before Gen. Howe's de- 
parture for England; though it is believed that his repugnance to their appear- 



104 SHIPPEN 

ing in the immodest costume they were expected to wear, had more to do with 
his refusal than questions of state or loyalty. 

At the close of the war, his means were much impaired and he purposed to 
remove his family to Lancaster in order to reduce the cost of living. With the 
coming of peace, however, differences of opinion were largely forgotten, and 
by reason of his well known ability and integrity, he was appointed May i, 1784, 
President Judge of Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia, and on September 
16 of the same year, was made one of the judges of the High Court of Errors 
and Appeals, filling both positions until the abolition of the latter by the adoption 
of the new constitution in 1790. In addition having been elected Justice of Dock 
Ward, October 13, 1785, he was commissioned on the following day by the Su- 
preme Executive Council, President Judge of the Quarter Sessions and General 
Jail Delivery ; but having little taste for the petty criminal trials that came before 
him, he asked to be relieved of that office a year latter. January 29, 1791, he 
was appointed Associate Justice of Supreme Court and held that position until 
1799, when Chief Justice Thomas McKean, having become Governor, appointed 
Judge Shippen to the position of Chief Justice, vacated by his election. He 
served as Chief Justice until the close of the year 1805, when the infirmities of 
age induced him to resign and he died suddenly, April 16, 1806, and was buried 
at Christ Church with high honors. Judge Shippen was a man of large views, 
sound, practical common sense which tolerated and respected the views and opin- 
ions of others, though he could not share them, when convinced that they were 
honestly held and expressed. His great experience, learning and talents, his 
undoubted integrity, his patience and industry, his careful discrimination and 
conscientious love of justice, made him just such a judge as the state needed as 
she launched into independent statehood under new laws and new conditions. 
He was not one of those brilliant meteors that have periodically flashed upon 
the forensic horizon, but a plain, practical, conscientious jurist of unquestioned 
ability and fairness. He was a member of American Philosophical Society. He 
married at Christ Church, Philadelphia, November 29, 1753, Margaret, daughter 
of Attorney Gen. Tench Francis by his wife Elizabeth Turbett. She was born 
in Talbot county, Maryland, August 17, 1735, and died in Philadelphia, May 
28, 1794. 

Issue of Edward and Margaret (Francis) Shippen: — 

Elizabeth Shippen, b. Sept. 15, 1754, m. her cousin Col. Edward, son of Col. James and 

Sarah (Shippen) Burd, of whom later; 
Sarah Shippen, b. Feb. 1, 1756, d. 1831 ; m. Sept. 21, 1787, Thomas Lea of Philadelphia, 

son of Thomas and Eleanor Lea, from Dublin, Ireland ; b. in Philadelphia, July 26, 

1757, d. there, Sept. 22, 1793 ; 
Mary Shippen, b. Aug. 15, 1757, became the second wife of Dr. William Mcllvaine, of 

Burlington, N. J. ; 
Edward Shippen, M. D., b. Dec. 11, 1758, d. Burlington, N. J., Oct. 22, 1809; m. Elizabeth 

Juliana Footman; of whom presently; 
Margaret Shippen, b. July 11, 1760, d. in London, England, Aug. 24, 1804; m. April 8, 

1779, Gen. Benedict Arnold, then commanding the Continental forces in Philadelphia; 
John Francis Shippen, b. Nov. 24, 1762; bur. Jan. 8, 1763; 
James Shippen, b. Philadelphia, Oct. 9, 1766; bur. Nov. 10, 1769. 

Edward Shippen, M. D., only surviving son of the Chief Justice, born in 
Philadelphia December it, 1758. graduated at University of Pennsylvania, with 



SHIPPEN 105 

degree of A. B., and took up the study of medicine, taking degree of M. D. 
at University of Edinburg. After traveling a short time on the continent, he 
returned to Philadelphia and took up the practice of medicine there, settling for 
a time at White Marsh, Mongomery county, and later removed to Burlington, 
New Jersey, where he practiced until his death, October 22, 1809. He mar- 
ried at Christ Church, Philadelphia, November 23, 1785, Elizabeth Juliana, born 
in Philadelphia, January 21, 1762, died August 17, 1848, daughter of Thomas 
and Eleanor Footman of Philadelphia. 

Issue of Dr. Edward and Elisabeth {Footman) Shippen: — 

Margaret Shippen, b. Philadelphia, Oct. 18, 1786, d. unm., Burlington, N. J., July 23, 1853; 

Elizabeth Shippen, b. Philadelphia, Dec. 16, 1787, d. unm., Burlington, N. J., Aug. 11, 1871 ; 

Edward Shippen, b. Upper Merion, Montgomery county, Pa., Feb. 22, 1789, d. unm. Lou- 
isville, Ky., Dec. 23, 1832. Was an official of U. S. Bank at Philadelphia, when in its 
full tide of success, went to Louisville to establish a branch bank, and was stricken with 
Asiatic cholera; 

Mary Coxe Shippen, b. Upper Merion, April 23, 1790, d. unm. in Philadelphia, Dec. 
29, 1871 ; 

Anne Coxe Shippen, b. Upper Merion, May 20, 1792, d. s. p., Belvidere, N. J., Aug. 13, 
1836; third wife of Richard PI. B. Mitchell; 

Richard Shippen, b. Upper Merion, Feb. 2, 1795, d. Burlington, N. J., May 18, 1868, 
of whom presently ; 

Sarah Shippen, b. Burlington, Feb. 7, 1798, d. unm. Dec. 1819. 

Richard Shippen, youngest son of Dr. Edward Shippen, born at White 
Marsh, Upper Merion township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, February 
2, 1795, was sent to India and China when a mere boy, and succeeded to the 
command of an East Indiaman, when barely of age. He followed the sea for 
some fifteen years, and had quite a reputation as a navigator. On his marriage, 
1825, he left the sea, and settled as "Singletree", near Trenton, New Jersey. 
On the inception of the Camden & Amboy Railroad, he became connected with 
that enterprise, and remained with the company until his death, a period of forty 
years, during which he resided some time at Bordentown, New Jersey, later in 
Philadelphia, and finally at his seat "Green Bank" in Burlington county, New 
Jersey, where he died May 8, 1868. He married (first), March 8, 1825, 
Anna Elizabeth, only child of Lawrence Farmer of White Marsh, Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania, and a descendant of one of the oldest and most promi- 
nent families of that section, who was the mother of his children. He married 
(second) Catharine, daughter of Francis Binney, Esq., of Philadelphia. 
Issue of Richard and Anna Elisabeth (Farmer) Shippen : — 

Edward Shippen, M. D., b. New Jersey, 1826, present head of the Shippen family in 
America. Graduated at Princeton with degree of A. B., entered Medical Dept. of 
Univ. Pa., and received degree of M. D. He entered U. S. N. as Assistant Surgeon 
Aug. 7, 1849, and was commissioned Surgeon April 26, 1861. On March 8, 1862, he was 
on the "CongJ-ess" off Newport News, Va., when she was destroyed by the "Merrimac", 
and was injured bv a shell. In 1864-5, he was on the iron-clad frigate, "New Iron- 
sides" in both battles of Fort Fisher, and in operations at Bermuda Hundred. lie 
made the Russian cruise with Admiral Farragut, 1871-3; was commissioned Medical 
Inspector in 187c;, Surgeon of European Squadron, 1871-3. He was Surgeon of U. S. 
Navy Yard, Philadelphia, 1873-4; had charge of Navy Hospital, Philadelphia, 1874-5; 
was commissioned Naval Medical Director, 1876, and President of Naval Examining 
Board, 1880. M. Mary Catherine, dau. of Dr. J. Rodman Paul; 

William Watson Shippen, b. New Jersey, m. Georgiana E. Morton ; 

Richard Shippen, d. y. 



io6 SHIP PEN 

Anna Elizabeth Shippen, m. Robert M. Lewis Jr., b. in Philadelphia, Nov. 7, 1822, son 
of Lawrence and Anna Mary (Stocker) Lewis. Issue: — 

Lawrence Lewis Jr., A. B., A. M., Univ. of Pa., 1876; b. in Philadelphia, June 20, 
1856, d. Frazer, Chester co., Pa., Sept. 2, 1896; principal counsel for French 
Spoliation Claimants ; member Historical Society of Pa., author "Original Ti- 
tles in Philadelphia", "History of Bank of North America", "Memoir of Ed- 
ward Shippen, Chief Justice of Pennsylvania" ; editor of "American and Eng- 
lish Corporation Cases", "American and English Railroad Cases." M. Dora, dau. 
of Henry R. Kelly, of Philadelphia; 

Anne Shippen Lewis. 

Sarah Shippen, only surviving daughter of Edward Shippen of Lancaster, 
by his wife Sarah Plumley, born in Philadelphia, February 22, 1 730-1, married, 
May 14, 1748, Col. James Burd, born at Ormiston, near Edinburg, Scotland, 
March 10, 1726, son of Edward and Jane (Halliburton) Burd, the latter a 
daughter of the Lord Provost of Edinburgh. He came to Pennsylvania when a 
young man, and on his marriage located on a farm in Lancaster county. He 
entered the Provincial service at the first outbreak of hostilities with the French 
and Indians, was commissioned Lieutenant Colonel, 1755; Major, December 3, 
1757, and Colonel, May 28, 1758. In December, 1756, he was placed in com- 
mand at Fort Augusta, and his daily journal from December 8, 1756, to October 
14, 1757, published in the Pennsylvania Archives, gives a vivid picture of the 
state of affairs in the frontiers of Pennsylvania in those troublous times. He 
served with especial distinction throughout the different Provincial wars, and 
was a Justice of Lancaster county, 1764-73. When the first clouds of the strug- 
gle against the oppression of the mother country appeared on the horizon, he 
came at once to the front in his own country. He was chairman of a meeting 
of the inhabitants of Lancaster county held on June 8, 1774, when resolutions 
were adopted, setting forth in no uncertain tone their intention "to oppose with 
decency and firmness every measure tending to deprive us of our just rights and 
privileges," and pledging themselves "to abide by the measures which shall be 
adopted by the members of the General Congress of the Colonies", and appointed 
a committee to confer with other committees with reference to such a congress. 
A similar meeting was held in the borough of Lancaster just one week later, 
at which Edward Shippen, Col. Bufd's father-in-law, presided, and was made 
chairman of Committee of Observation. At a meeting of the Committee of In- 
spection of Lancaster county, January 14, 1775, of which Edward Shippen was 
Chairman, James Burd was named as one of the deputies from Lancaster to the 
Provincial Convention to be held January 23, 1775. Col. Burd was a member of 
the Committee of Safety for Lancaster county, assisted in the military organiza- 
tion of the county, and was commissioned Colonel of the first Battalion from the 
county, but became disgusted with the dissensions and desertions from the ranks 
at the expiration of the short term of service for which the first recruits enlisted, 
and resigned in December, 1776. He resided for a time shortly after his mar- 
riage at Lancaster, later at Shippensburg, and finally at "Tinian", his seat in the 
present county of Dauphin, near Harrisburg, where he died October 5, 1793. 
Issue of Col. James and Sarah (Shippen) Burd: — 

Sarah Burd, b. Jan. 1, 1748-9, d. Lancaster, Oct. 25, 1829; m. Dec. 30, 1767, Jasper 
Yeates, Justice of Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, 1791-1817; 

Edward Burd, b. Feb. 5, 1750-1, d. Philadelphia, July 24, 1833; member of Bar of 
Berks county, practicing at Reading until 1776; commissioned Major of a Volun- 
teer Corps, and captured at battle of Long Island Oct. 23, 1776; on being exchanged 
was too broken in health to re-enter the service, and was appointed Register of 



SHIPPEN 



107 



High Court of Errors and Appeals, and later Prothonotary of Supreme Court, 

holding the latter position until his death. M., Dec. 17, 1778, his cousin, Elizabeth, 

daughter of Chief Justice Edward Shippen; 
Mary Burd, b. at Shippensburg, Jan. 15, 1753, d. at Hopewell Forge, Lancaster 

county, Feb. 23, 1774; m., Nov. 28, 1771, Col. Peter Grubb, of the Revolution, a 

prominent ironmaster of Lancaster county; 
Allen Burd, b. at Shippensburg, Dec. 23, 1754, d. at Lancaster, July 10, 1764; 
Jane Burd, b. Aug. 12, 1757, m., May 8, 1783, George, son James and Mary Patterson; 
Anne Burd, b. at Lancaster, Sept. 3, 1759, d. there Aug. 11, 1760; 
Margaret Burd, b. Feb. 3, 1761, m., Nov. 3, 1786, Jacob Hubley, Esq., of Lancaster; 
Elizabeth Burd, b. at Lancaster, Nov. 3, 1762, d. April 12, 1763; 
James Burd, b. Jan. 4, 1765, m. Elizabeth Baker; 

Joseph Burd, b. Jan. 8, 1768, m. (first) Catharine Cochran; (second) Harriet Bailey; 
Elizabeth Burd, b. Feb. 18, 1772; d. unm. 

Joseph Shippen, youngest son of Edward Shippen "of Lancaster", by his 
wife Sarah Plumley, and brother of Chief Justice Edward Shippen, born in Phil- 
adelphia October 30, 1732, graduated at Princeton, 1753, with degree of A. B. 
He entered the Provincial army as captain and was at Fort Augusta and Sha- 
inokin with Col. James Burd, (his brother-in-law) in 1756-7; rose to rank of 
Colonel and served under Gen. Forbes in the expedition which captured Fort 
Du Quesne, November 25, 1758. After the disbandment of his command, he 
went to Europe, partly on a mercantile venture, but chiefly for the advantage of 
foreign travel. Returning to Philadelphia in December, 1761, he was appointed 
January 2, 1762, Secretary of Provincial Council, and served in that capacity 
until the dissolution of the Council in 1775. In 1773 he removed to near Ken- 
nett Square, Chester county, purchasing a plantation which he named "Plum- 
ley" in honor of his mother, where he resided until 1786, when he was appointed 
Judge of the Lancaster county Courts, to which position he was appointed June 
16, 1786. He died at Lancaster, February 10, 1810. He became a member of 
American Philosophical Society, January 19, 1765, and took a lively interest in 
its proceedings. He was an accomplished scholar of fine literary taste, and pos- 
sessed some talent as a poet. He was one of those who early noted the artistic 
genius of Benjamin West and assisted him to pursue his studies abroad. He 
filled his several military and official positions with much honor and was esteemed 
by all who knew him as an eminently, just and upright man. He married at 
Christ Church, September 29, 1768, Jane, daughter of John Galloway, Esq., of 
Maryland, by his second wife, Jane, the widow of William Fishbourne of Phil- 
adelphia. She was born September 1745, died at "Plumley", February 17, 1801, 
and is buried at Radnor churchyard. 

Issue of Joseph and Jane (Galloiuay) Shippen: — 

Robert Shippen, b. Philadelphia, July 10, 1769, m. Priscilla Thompson, of Chester 
county; lived for a time at "Tivoli" a 400-acre plantation opposite "Plumley", and 
later at "Fons Salutis", Lancaster county, where he d. Dec. 31, 1840. A fine 
classical scholar and cultured gentleman; 

Sarah Shippen, b. Sept. 3, 1770, d. March 3, 1773; 

John Shippen, b. Philadelphia, Oct. 31, 1771, d. at Shippensburg, Sept., 1805; m., 
June 25, 1789, Abigail Caroline Reynolds; 

Mary Shippen, b. Philadelphia, May 17, 1773. d. there June 2, 1809; m., Feb. 11, 1793. 
Samuel Swift, of whom presently; 

Charles Shippen, b. Philadelphia, Sept. 15, 1774. d. July 31, 1775: 

Anne Shippen, b. Philadelphia, Oct. 12, 1775, d. July 28, 1776: 

Elizabeth Shippen, b. at Kennett, Feb. 21, 1780, d. at Shippensburg, 1801, unm. ; 



108 SHIPPEN 

Margaret Shippen, b. Kennett, Oct. 31, 1782, d. Philadelphia, May 9, 1876, unm.; 

Joseph Galloway Shippen, b. Dec. 25, 1783, d. s. p. Sept. 6, 1857, graduated at Medi- 
cal Dept. of Univ. of Pa.; m. Nov. 10, 1814, Anna Maria, dau. of Daniel and Sarah 
(Brooke) Buckley of Lancaster county; 

Henry C. Shippen, b. Dec. 28, 1788, d. Meadville, Pa., March 2, 1839; member Lan- 
caster county Bar ; member Pa. Legislature ; President Judge Sixth Judicial Dis- 
trict; m., May 1, 1817, Elizabeth Wallis Evans. 

Mary Shippen, daughter of Joseph and Jane (Galloway) Shippen, born in 
Philadelphia May 17, 1773, married, February n, 1793, Samuel Swift, Esq., 
of Philadelphia, son of Joseph and Margaret (McCall) Swift. He was born in 
Philadelphia January 12, 1771, and graduated at University of Pennsylvania, 
with degree of Bachelor of Arts, in 1786. He studied law with Judge Jasper 
Yeates at Lancaster, and practiced at the Philadelphia Bar, living at his country 
place "The Grove" in Philadelphia county. He was a man of fine literary taste, 
with a natural poetic talent which he cultivated and exercised to some extent. 
He took a lively interest in political questions ; was educated as a Federalist, 
but espoused Democratic principles and advocated them in a number of articles 
greatly esteemed for vigor, candor, polish and careful research. He died at 
Germantown, November 28, 1847. He and his wife are buried at Trinity 
Church, Oxford township, Philadelphia county, of which they were members. 
Mrs. Swift died June 2, 1809. 

Issue of Samuel and Mary (Shippen) Szvift: — 

Margaret McCall Swift, b. Philadelphia. June 2, 1796, m. her cousin John, son of 

Robert and Priscilla (Thompson) Shippen, above mentioned, on May 19, 1831; 
William Swift, b. at "The Grove" Aug. 3, 1797, d. unm., Nov. 2, 1838; extensive writer 

on free trade; 
Mary Swift, b. at "The Grove", Nov. 22, 1798, d. Feb. 15, 1877, m., Sept. 9, 1824, 
Mathew Brooke, son of Daniel Buckley, ironmaster of Lancaster county, by his 
wife Sarah Brooke. He was b. Oct. 31, 1794, and d. March 8, 1856; President ot 
the Philadelphia, Wilmington and Baltimore Railroad Company. 

Their son, Edward Swift Buckley, b. Philadelphia ; ironmaster, trustee of 
Episcopal Academy, Director Phila. Saving Fund, etc.; m. (first) Hannah J. 
dau. of Hon. Thomas Smith, M. C, who d. 1853; m. (second) Catharine, dau. 
of Col. John G. Watmough, who d. 1859; m. (third) Mary Wain, dau. of 
Hon. Richard Vaux, M. C. 
Joseph Swift, b. at "The Grove" Dec. 26, 1799, d. July 1, 1882, m. Eliza Moore, dau. 

of George and Rebecca Harrison (Blackwell) Willing; 
George Swift, b. March 9, 1801, d. July 16, 1801; 
Samuel Swift, m. Mary R. Royer ; 
Elizabeth Shippen Swift; 
John Swift, d. y. ; 
Sarah Bordley Swift; 

Jane Galloway Swift, m. May 6, 1834, John Swift, of another branch of the family, 
b. March 25, 1808, d. March 10, 1872, bur. at Easton, Pa. 

Joseph Swift, second son of Samuel and Mary (Shippen) Swift, born at his 
father's country seat "The Grove", December 26, 1799, was educated at a classi- 
cal school in New Jersey. He came to Philadelphia in 1818, became associated 
with brokerage firm of Thomas A. Biddle & Company, bankers and brokers, 
and remained with them until 1842, when he retired from active business and 
travelled extensively abroad, living when at home at his country seat "Wood- 
field". He was an excellent business man and was associated with a number of 
financial and business institutions as Director and Manager, among them the 
Philadelphia Bank, and Philadelphia Saving Fund, being connected with the 



SHIPPEN I09 

latter institution until his death, July i, 1882, a period of twenty-six years. He 
was President of the Board of Directors of the Philadelphia Club from 1854 to 
1859. He was married by the Right Rev. William White, November 24, 1831, 
to Eliza Moore, daughter of George Willing, by his wife Rebecca Harrison 
(Blackwell). She died September 8, 1840. 

Issue of Joseph and Eliza Moore {Willing) Swift: — 

Emily Swift, m. Thomas Balch; 

George Swift, d. y. ; 

Mary Swift, m. Horace G. Browne. 



POWELL FAMILY 

Samuel Powell, pioneer ancestor of the Philadelphia family of that name, 
was born in Stoke parish, St. Gregory, Somersetshire, England, urao. 2, 1673, 
of a Somersetshire family originally from Wales, and claimed descent from the 
princes of Powis, through Einion Efell, Lord of Cynlaeth, who flourished in 
the twelfth century. Their coat-of-arms bore "Party per fesse argent and or, 
a lion rampant gules", crest, "A star of eight points above a cloud, — all proper." 

John Powle, buried February 27, 1618, probably grandson of Morgan Powell 
of Taunton, married Elizabeth Savidge. Their son Godfrey, baptized June 7, 
1599, was grandfather of Samuel Powell, first above mentioned. Samuel Powell, 
son of Godfrey and father of Samuel was baptized September 20, 1642, 
at Stoke, St. Gregory, Somersetshire, England, and was an early con- 
vert to Quakerism. He married, at Friends' Meeting, 31110. 6, 1670, 
Deborah Powle, of Stoke, baptized at St. Gregory October 12, 1640, died 2mo. 
6, 1679. Ann Powell, daughter of Godfrey, of North Curry, Somerset 
married at Greinton, Somerset, 6mo. 23, 1685, J onn Parsons, of Middlezoy, 
Somerset, and emigrated to Philadelphia the same year, bringing with them 
Mrs. Parson's nephew Samuel Powell, then a lad of twelve years. John Par- 
sons was a carpenter of high ability, and Samuel Powell was trained to that 
trade. John Parsons was a man of some means and a member of council, and 
at his death in 1695, and that of his widow Ann Powell in 1712, Samuel Powell 
fell heir to the greater part of their joint estates. He became a prominent 
builder and architect. He erected the bridge over Dock Creek at Walnut street 
in 1 718. He was an elder of Friends' Meeting in 1712, was elected member of 
Common Council in 1717, was advanced to the position of alderman in 1743, 
and served until his death, 6mo. 27, 1756, in his eighty-third year. He was the 
owner of over ninety houses, and lived on the north-east corner of Second and 
Pine streets. Pine Street Meeting House was erected on land devised to the 
meeting by him for that purpose. He married, i2mo. 19, 1700, Abigail, born 
7mo. 28, 1679, died 71110. 4, 171 3, daughter of Barnabas and Sarah Wilcox, who 
came from Bedminster parish, near Bristol, Somersetshire, England, in 1683. 
Barnabas Wilcox was a merchant and a member of Colonial Assembly 1685 J 
Justice of Philadelphia, 1686 to 1690. 

Issue of Samuel and Abigail (Wilcox) Powell: — 

Ann, b. i2mo. 10, 1702, d. iomo. 10, 1707; 

Samuel, b. i2mo. 26, 1704, d. iomo. 1, 1759; m., 9mo. 9, 1732, Mary Morris, of whom 

presently : 
Deborah, b. 8mo. 24, 1706, m. 9mo. 28, 1728, Joshua Emlen ; 
Ann, b. 7mo. 24, 1708, d. 8mo. 26, 1714; 
Sarah, b. 41110. 29, 1713, d. 2mo. 10, 1751, m. Anthony Morris Jr. 

Samuel Powel, son of Samuel and Abigail (Wilcox) Powell, born in Phil- 
adelphia 121110. 26, 1704-5, always spelled his name with one "1", the form in 
which the name was written by his remote ancestors. He became a prominent 
merchant of Philadelphia, was elected to Common Council of the City October 



POWELL in 

6, 1730, and became an alderman October 4, 1743. He died October 1, 1759, 
in the prime of a life of usefulness and business activity. He married, Novem- 
ber 9, 1732, Mary, daughter of Anthony and Phoebe (Guest) Morris, and sister 
to Anthony Morris, who married his sister Sarah. She was born October 13, 
1713, and died October 31, 1759. 

Issue of Samuel and Mary (Morris) Powel: — 

Abigail, b. July 21, 1735, d. Nov. 16, 1797; m. William Griffitts; of whom later; 
Samuel, b. Oct. 28, 1738, d. Sept. 29, 1793; m. Aug. 7, 1769, Elizabeth Willing, of whom 

presently ; 
Sarah, b. Sept. 22, 1747, d. Jan. 7, 1773 ; m. Jan. 20, 1768, Joseph Potts, previously m. to 

her cousin Mary Morris. 

Samuel Powel, only son of Samuel and Mary (Morris) Powel, born in Phil- 
adelphia October 28, 1738, entered College of Philadelphia, now University of 
Pennsylvania, May 25, 1756, and graduated with degree of Bachelor of Arts, 
class of 1759. After graduation he made an extended visit to Europe, traveling 
extensively in Great Britain and on the Continent. During his travels he kept 
up a constant correspondence with friends and relatives in Philadelphia, and 
many of his letters have been published in the Pennsylvania Magazine; while 
those to his uncle, Capt. Samuel Morris, have been preserved by the family, 
and many of them appear in a history of the Morris family prepared by Dr. 
Robert C. Moon. This correspondence shows that he was entertained in the 
best society of England and Scotland and "had the honor of being presented to 
his majesty." 

He was a brithright member of the Society of Friends, but, while in England, 
was baptized by the Rev. Richard Peters, on his return to Philadelphia became a 
prominent member of St. Peter's Protestant Episcopal Church, and was lay 
deputy of that church at the convention of the Protestant Episcopal Church held 
at Christ's Church, November 24, 1785. He was elected to Common Council of 
Philadelphia in 1770, advanced to position of alderman, October 4, 1774, and, 
October 3, 1775, was elected Mayor, the last to serve in that office under the old 
charter of 1701, under which his wife's grandfather, Edward Shippen, had been 
the first: when the charter had been renewed in 1789, he was again elected 
Mayor, and from the fact that he was the last magistrate under the old charter 
and the first under the new, he was known as the "Patriot Mayor". 

He was a man of high scholastic attainments and took a lively interest in liter- 
ary and scientific subjects; he became a member of the American Philosophical 
Society in 1760, and took an active interest in their work. A man of public spirit 
and well known business ability, he was frequently consulted in affairs of state. 
He was intimately associated with George Washington, who was a frequent 
visitor at his house, now number 244 S. Third street, between Walnut and Spruce 
streets, and the first president held him in high esteem, as is evidenced by his 
journal and correspondence. Mr. and Mrs. Powel were likewise frequently 
entertained at Mount Vernon. 

Samuel Powel was commissioned a Justice of the Philadelphia Courts April 
2J, 1772, and probably served until his elevation to the Mayoralty. He was made 
one of the board of managers of the Pennsylvania Hospital in 1778, but resigned 
in 1780. He was Trustee of University of Pennsylvania, and first president of 
Philadelphia Society for Promotion of Agriculture. He was elected to the 



ii2 POWELL 

Morris Mansion on Front street between Chestnut and Walnut streets, devised 
to him by his greataunt, Deborah Morris, by whose will it was directed that 
Senate of Pennsylvania, 1792, and filled the position of Speaker. He inherited 
a large fortune from his father, and gave liberal support to many philanthropic 
and charitable enterprises. In 1780 he contributed five thousand pounds toward 
provisioning the Continental troops from Pennsylvania. He died of yellow fever 
September 29, 1793, at his country seat "Powelton", on the west side of the 
Schuylkill. 

He married, August 7, 1769, Elizabeth, daughter of Charles and Anne (Ship- 
pen) Willing, born February 10, 1742-3, died January 17, 1830, and they had 
two sons, both of whom died in infancy. After the death of her husband, Mrs. 
Powel adopted the youngest son of her sister Margaret (Willing) Hare, by 
Robert Hare. 

John Powell Hare, born April 22, 1786, died at Newport, Rhode Island, 
June 14, 1856. To him she devised the greater part of the large estate left her 
by her husband, including "Powelton". He changed his name by act of legis- 
lature, to John Hare Powell. He was a colonel in the War of 181 2- 14, and 
Secretary to American Legation at the Court of St. James. He married Julia 
de Veaux, and descendants of his bearing the name of Powell, still reside in 
Philadelphia. 

Abigail Powel, eldest daughter of Samuel and Mary (Morris) Powel, born 
in Philadelphia 5mo. 21, 1735, died November 16, 1797; married April 16, 1752, 
William Griffitts, of Welsh descent, said to have been a son of James Griffitts, 
of Swanset, South Wales, and nephew of Thomas Griffitts, who came from 
Jamaica to Philadelphia and engaged in the shipping trade with Isaac Norris, 
whose daughter Mary he married in 17 17. Thomas Griffitts became prominent 
in the community; was a Provincial Councillor 1733-42; Keeper of the Great 
Seal of the Province 1732-4; Judge of Supreme Court from 1739 to his death 
in 1743; Mayor of Philadelphia from October, 1729, to October. 1730, and from 
October 1, 1733, to October 4, 1737. William Griffitts was a prominent business 
man of Philadelphia. 

Issue of William and Abigail (Powel) Griffitts: — 

Mary Griffitts, b. June 6, 1753, d. Aug. 4, 1753; 

Hester Griffitts, b. Dec. 6, 1754, m. Sept- 5, 1777, Capt. James Montgomery; 
James Griffitts, b. Sept. 9, 1756, d. March 22, 1836; m., Sept. 12, 1793, Sarah Havens; 
Samuel Powel Griffitts, M. D., b. July 21, 1759, d. May 12, 1826; m., Jan. 3, 1787, 
Mary Fishbourne. 

Dr. Samuel Powel Griffitts, son of William and Abigail (Powel) Grif- 
fitts, born in Philadelphia, July 21, 1759, studied medicine in Paris, London and 
Edinburg, after graduation from University of Pennsylvania with degree of 
Bachelor of Arts, in 1781. Returning to Philadelphia he took up the practice 
of his profession and became one of the most eminent physicians of his time. He 
was Professor of Materia Medica at the University, 1791-6; was founder of the 
Philadelphia Dispensary ; one of the founders of the Philadelphia College of 
Physicians, its secretary in 1788 and vice-president in 1818. He became a mem- 
ber of American Philosophical Society in 1785. He was a fine Greek and Latin 
scholar and spoke French fluently. His home for many years was at the old 



POWELL II3 

when the house was rebuilt the date of its original erection, 1686, with the letters 
"A. M." for Anthony Morris, the original builder, should .be placed upon its 
gable. Dr. Samuel Powel Griffitts was of a retiring disposition, avoiding all 
ostentation both in the practice of his profession and in his extensive philan- 
thropic work, seeking to do the greatest amount of good with the least possible 
show. During the yellow fever pestilence of 1793, which carried away his dis- 
tinguished uncle, Samuel Powel, he stuck to his practice, as did he during the 
small-pox scourge of 1797-8-9 and the later pestilence of 1802-3. He died sud- 
denly in the old Morris Mansion, May 12, 1826. He was an elder of the Society 
of Friends. An obituary notice of him says truly: — "As a friend he was kind, 
sincere, and obliging, as a husband attentive and affectionate, and as a father 
fond and indulgent." He married, January 3, 1787, Mary, daughter of William 
and Elizabeth (Tallman) Fishbourne, the "Polly Fishbourne" of "Sally Wistar's 
Journal", born 1760, and died September 21, 1842. 
Issue of Samuel and Mary (Fishbourne) Griffitts: — 

Mary, b. Oct. 25, 1787, d. Jan. 3, 1817; m., April 2, 1807, Redwood Fisher; 
Abigail, b. Dec. 29, 1791, d. March 26, 1871; m. April 3, 1817, Richard W. Wells; 
Hannah, b. Dec. 9, 1793, d. Jan. 11, 1862; m. Feb. 10, 1814, Thomas Wain Morgan; 
William Fishbourne, b. Oct. 5, 1796, d. Aug. 28, 1878; m. (first) May 18, 1824, Rebecca 
H. Smith, (second), July 21, 1842, Helen McDougall Smith; 

Sarah Emlen, b. April 20, 1798, d. Nov. 19, 1863; m. Dec 30, 1828, William Alexander 
Smith; 

Hester, b. Dec. 26, 1799, d. June 8, 1867; m., Oct. 1, 1822, Ellis Lewis; 

Samuel Powel Jr., b. Dec 8, 1802, d. Jan. 25, 1849; m., Oct. 22, 1824, Mary Ann Whar- 
ton. 

Samuel Powel Griffitts Jr. married Mary Ann, daughter of Peregrine 
Hogg and Jane (Brown) Wharton. They had issue: — 

Mary Fishbourne, b. Sept. 24, 1825, d. March 28, 1891, unm. ; 

Samuel Powel, b. May 7, 1827, d. Sept. 13, 1865 ; m., June 2, 1857, Eleanor Bird ; 

Wharton, b. Nov. 21, 1828, d. Feb. 13, 1878; m., Jan. 26, i860, Fannie Lewis Penington, 

of whom presently; 
Elizabeth Brown, b. Aug. 24, 1830, m. June 19, 1873, Theodore Herbert, M. D. ; 
William Fishbourne, b. April 18, 1832, m. June 26, 1855, Sarah Freeman Russell, and 

removed to Illinois; 
Franklin Peale, b. May 26, 1834, d. Dec. 17, 1888; m., Oct. 22, 1862, Josephine Lewis 

Penington, who d. April 7, 1896. Issue : 

Frances Montgomery Griffitts, b. Philadelphia. March 29, 1865, m. June 6, 1894, 
Rev. Lewis Theodore Lampe. 
David Stuart Griffitts, b. in Philadelphia, Nov. 24, 186—; m., Oct. 1, 1889, Mary A. 

Wohlson. 

Wharton Griffitts, son of Samuel P. and Mary Ann (Wharton) Griffitts, 
was born in Philadelphia, November 21, 1828, and died in Florida, February 13, 
1878. He married, January 26, i860, his cousin Fanny L., daughter of Edward 
and Elizabeth Ann (Lewis) Penington, and had issue: — 

Fanny Penington Griffitts, b. June 24, 1861, d. June 22, 1863; 
Joseph Lewis Griffitts, b. Oct. 10, 1862, d. July 30, 1864; 
Wharton Griffitts Jr., b. March 3, 1865, d. June 29, 1865; 

Elizabeth Lewis Griffitts, b. April 18. 1866, m., Jan. 29, 1890, James de Waele Cook- 
man, and had issue : 

Wharton Griffitts Cookman, b. Nov. 27, 1890; 
Rodney Penington Cookman, b. Sept. 27, 1896. 
Mary Wharton Griffitts, b. April 6, 1874, d. April 7, 1874. 
8 



HUDSON FAMILY 

Almost as little is known of the ancestry of William Hudson of York, Eng- 
land, father of William Hudson who came to Philadelphia in 1686, as of that of 
the illustrious and intrepid navigator Henry Hudson, whom John F. Watson, the 
annalist of Philadelphia claimed was his relative. He was an early convert to 
the faith and principles of Friends, and suffered persecution for conscience sake, 
From Besse's "Sufferings of Quakers" we quote the following, "William Hud- 
son of York was committed to York Castle by a writ de excommunicato capiendo, 
on the Eighth of the Eleventh month, 1673, after a prosecution in the Ecclesias- 
tic Court for refusing to pay an assessment toward repairing the Steeple House, 
and was remaining a prisoner there upwards of nine years after." He died at 
York, 2mo. 14, 1713. He was thrice married, his first wife Mary, whose maiden 
name is thought to have been Head, died 91110. 11, 1681. He married (second), 
5mo. 10, 1684, at Selby, Susannah Morley, a widow with children. She died 
51110. 14, 1700. and he married (third), 5mo. 8, 1703, Jane Waite, who died 
i2mo. 27, 1704-5. His children, all by his first wife, were: — 

William, b. at York, 41110. 3, 1664, d. Philadelphia, iomo. 16, 1742, of whom presently; 
John, d. at York, England, 1687; 
Mary, d. at York, England, 1674, unm. ; 
Samuel, d. at York, England, 1690, unm. ; 

Timothy, brought certificate from York Meeting to Philadelphia, nmo. 6, 1688-9, but 
after a short visit returned to his native place. 

William Hudson, son of William and Mary, of York, England, brought a 
certificate from York Meeting, without date, which is recorded at Philadelphia, 
and an examination of the minutes of York Meeting shows that it was granted 
2mo. 2, 1686. He was a tanner, and came to Philadelphia "clear as to marriage." 
On the same date as that of the granting of his certificate, viz., April 2, 1686, he 
had purchased with John Cornwell, also of York, of William Cornthwaite, 500 
acres to be laid out in Pennsylvania. They also purchased five hundred acres of 
Edward Atkinson, of Side, county York. This land was laid out to them by 
warrant dated 6mo. 11, 1686, in East Bradford township, Chester county, now 
Birmingham township. William Hudson did not, however, take up his residence 
on this or his other purchases of large tracts of virgin land in Pennsylvania, but 
built a tannery on Dock Creek, in what was then known as "the swamp", and 
built a fine brick mansion, in which he lived, set well back from Chestnut street 
near Third street ; and Hudson's Alley, opened for access to his tan-yard and 
other property, still bears his name. He sold his share of his Chester county 
lands to John Davies, December 30, 1709, and in February following purchased 
of his father-in-law, Samuel Richardson, 1160 acres in Willistown township, 
Chester county, which he later sold in smaller tracts to actual settlers, at a hand- 
some profit. A successful business man, and of good executive ability, he soon 
became identified with the affairs of the city and Province. He is named in the 
charter of 1701, as one of the Common Council of the city, then selected for life, 
or during good behavior, and was elected to Provincial Assembly in 1706. Octo- 



HUDSON 115 

ber 4, 1715, he was named by Common Council as one of the Board of Alder- 
men of the City, and as Associate Justice of the City Court. In 1725, he was 
made Mayor of the city. He was made an Elder of Friends' Meeting in 1727, 
and was one of the most active members of the Yearly Meeting until within a 
few years of his death, when he was confined to his house by infirmities, and 
asked to be relieved from work on special committees in which he had thereto- 
fore been actively interested. He was one of the earliest advocates of prison 
reform, and took a keen personal interest in hospital and charitable work, taking 
especial delight in visiting and relieving the poor and sick. He died iomo. 16, 
1742, in his seventy-eighth year. He married (first), i2mo. 28, 1688, at Phila- 
delphia Meeting House, Mary, born in London 41110. 19, 1673, daughter of Sam- 
uel Richardson, Provincial Councillor, by his wife, Eleanor, an account of whom 
and their descendants is given elsewhere in this volume. Mary (Richardson) 
Hudson died i2mo. 16, 1708-9, and he married (second) i2mo. 27, 1709-10, 
Hannah, widow of Robert Barber, of Darby, and sister of David Ogden, whose 
arrival in Merion from London, is noted in our account of the Ogden family. 
She survived her husband nearly seventeen years, dying 9mo. 16, 1759, aged 
ninety-nine years. 

Issue of William and Mary (Richardson) Hudson: — 

Samuel, b. jmo. 27, 1690, on plantation of his grandfather, Samuel Richardson, near 
Germantown, d. in Philadelphia, 1725. He was also a tanner ; elected to Provincial 
Assembly 1724, but his health failing, he took an ocean voyage and was lost at sea. 
M. 1715-16, Mary, dau. of Arthur and Elizabeth (Guest) Holton, who m. (second), 
1726, Joshua Emlen. 

Issue of Samuel and Mary (Holton) Hudson: — 

Elizabeth, b. 6mo. 24, 1721, m., 3mo. 8, 1740, John Jones; 
William, b. 7mo. 6, 1722, d. 8mo. 26, 1722 ; ' 
Hannah, b. 8mo. 28, 1723, m., 3mo. 19, 1741, Joseph Howell; 
Mary, b. gmo. 6, 1724, m. 2mo. 15, 1746, John Head. 
Mary, b. i2mo. 3, 1691-2, d. 1728; m. 1713, Joseph Cooper, of Pine Point, N. J.; 
Elizabeth, b. 41110. 19, 1693, m. (first) Joshua Cockfield, of Philadelphia; had dau. Han- 
nah, m. William Moode, of Philadelphia. Joshua Cockfield, d. 4mo. 26, 1717, and she 
m., 1722, Thomas Coebourne, of Chester; 
Sarah, b. 4mo. 19, 1694, d. imo. 1, 1714, unm. ; 
William, b. imo. 31, 1696, d. 7mo. 22, 1752; m., 8mo. 29, 1717, Jane Evans; of whom 

presently ; 
John, b. iomo. 10, 1697, d. 3mo. 7, 1698; 
Susanna, b. i2mo. 17, 1698-9, m. (first), nmo. 10, 1716-17, Robert Owen; (second), 

3mo. 2, 1734, John Burr, of Northampton township, Burlington county, N. J.; 
Eleanor, b. 6mo. 8, 1700, d. 6mo. 27, 1700; 

John, b. i2mo. 25, 1701-2, d. circa 1730; m. Hannah , who m. (second) in 1731, 

Abel Preston. 

Issue of lohn and Hannah Hudson: — 

Samuel, b. 1724, d. 6mo. 12, 1728; 

Rebecca, b. 6mo. 27, 1726, m. Oct. 18, 1744. Alex. Crookshanks ; 
William, b. 5mo. 26, 1728, d. nmo. 14, 1728; 
John, b. 5mo. 26, 1728, d. 6mo. 5, 1728; 
Rebecca, b. imo. 5, 1729-30. 
Hannah, b. imo. 28, 1704, m. Jacob Medcalf, of Phila., later of Gloucester county, N. J., 
and had issue : — 

Matthew, b. 2mo. 12, 1724; 



n6 HUDSON 

Hannah, b. 5mo. 12, 1726, d. y. ; 

Mary, b. i2mo. 21, 1727-8; 

Rachel, b. 9mo. 27, 1729, m., nmo. 16, 1732, Thomas Wharton; 

Sarah, b. 2mo. 27, 1731 ; 

William, b. 6mo. 12, 1732; 

Jacob, b. 6mo. 12, 1732; 

Susannah, b. 6mo. 4. 1734, m., iomo. 15, 1767, William Wharton; 

Hannah, b. 9mo. 4, 1735. 
Rebecca, b. 3mo. 30, 1705, d. 7mo. 10, 1705 ; 
Timothy, b. smo. 8, 1706, d. 7mo. 11, 1708; 
Rachel, b. Smo. 11, 1707, d. 9tno. 12, 1771 ; m., iomo. 2, 1751, Samuel Emlen, b. 2mo. 15, 

1697, d. 1783; 
Timothy, b. i2mo. 13, 1708, d. imo., 1709. 

William Hudson, second son of William and Mary (Richardson) Hud- 
son, born in Philadelphia imo. 31, 1696, followed the business of his father, that 
of tanning, and was a successful business man, leaving a large estate. He did 
not, however, participate so largely in public affairs as his distinguished parent. 
He married, at Evesham Friends' Meeting, New Jersey, 8mo. 22, 1717, Jane, 
daughter of William and Elizabeth Evans of Evesham, who was born in New 
Jersey 8mo. 1, 1699, and died in Philadelphia 5mo. 15, 1759. William Hudson 
died 7mo. 22, 1752. 

Issue of William Jr. and Jane (Evans) Hudson: — 

Sarah, b. 5mo. 30, 1718, d. 8mo. 5, 1780; m., Dec. 30, 1737, John Langdale, of Philadelphia, 
b. 1715, d. 9mo. 18, 1769, and had issue : — 

Rachel, b. 3mo. 7, 1738, d. nmo. 1773; 

Josiah, b. iomo. 18, 1739; 

William, b. 5mo. 22, 1741, d. 6mo. 10, 1741 ; 

John, b. 7mo. 22, 1742, d. i2mo. 23, 1765; m., iomo. 26, 1765, Alice Coates; 

Margaret, b. 7mo. 9, 1744, d. y. ; 

William Hudson, b. 9mo. 22, 1747, d. i2mo. 1772; 

Elizabeth, b. nmo. 13, 1749-50, m., 2mo. 9, 1797, John Balderston, of Solebury, 
Bucks county, Pa. ; 

Margaret, b. 3mo., 1752; 

Jane, b. imo. 3, 1755, m., Aug. 15, 1777, Dr. Thomas Parke; 

Samuel, b. iomo. 16, 1759. 
Mary, b. 121110. 22, 1719-20, d. 7mo. 1, 1795, unm. ; 
Elizabeth, b. i2mo. 20, 1721-2, d. 5mo. 22, 1783, an eminent minister among Friends; m. 

Anthony Morris; 
Rachel, b. nmo. 26, 1723; m., Oct. 2, 1741, John Jorey; (second), nmo. 28, 1769, John 

Hunt; 
Jane, b. imo. 4, 1725-6, d. 6mo. 22, 1768, unm. ; 
William, b. 8mo. 29, 1728, d. imo. 1, 1731-2, of smallpox; 
Susannah, b. 8mo. 30, 1729, d. i2mo. 25, 1731, of smallpox; 
Susannah, b. 4mo. 10, 1733, d. 7mo. 20, 1817, unm. ; 
Margaret, b. 2mo. 16, 1734, d. 5mo. 7, 1734; 
Margaret, b. 5mo. 17, 1735, d. 6mo. 3, 1735; 

Samuel, b. 8mo. 6, 1736, d. nmo. 2, 1793, m., 3mo. 5, 1761, Martha, dau. of Rees Lloyd. 
She d. iomo. 3, 1780, aged 39 years. 



SWIFT FAMILY 

Among the adherents of the English Church who settled in Philadelphia in 
Colonial days were two brothers, John Swift and Joseph Swift, and their sister, 
Mary Swift, who married Matthias Keen, of Philadelphia. 

Their father, John Swift, brought them from Bristol, England, about 1737 
or 1738, to place them in the care of their uncle, John White, a successful 
merchant of Philadelphia, and then returned to England. John White, an Eng- 
lishman by birth, had formed a partnership with Abram Taylor, a fellow- 
countryman, as early as 1724. In their commercial undertakings they were very 
successful, and John White, with a view of offering a better business opening to 
the children of his sister, invited them to Philadelphia. 

John White in 1741 returned to his native land, leaving his nephews and 
nieces in the care of his partner. He established himself at first at Bristol and 
afterwards, when he had retired from business, at Croydon in Surrey. His 
portrait by Sir Godfrey Kneller is still in the family. John White's arms as 
painted on his china and engraved on the silver, are : — Gules, a bordure sable 
charged with eight estoiles or ; on a canton ermines, a lion rampant sable. Crest, 
— on the china, an ostrich, but on the silver a stork. John and Joseph Swift 
and their sister Mary, were the children of John Swift and Mary White, his 
wife. John was born in 1720, Mary in 1726, and Joseph on June 24, 1731. 
They were all born in England. The coat-of-arms of the Swifts was : — Or, a 
chev. barry nebulee ar. and az. between three rebucks courant ppr. 

John Swift, who was a young gentleman fond of society, in 1740 arranged a 
number of dancing parties or "assemblies," as they were called at that time. In 
1743 he went back to England to join his uncle, where he remained until 1747, 
when he returned to Philadelphia. In this city he became a successful merchant 
and a prominent and influential individual in the affairs and the social life of 
the town. In the winter of 1748-9 he was primarily instrumental, together with 
Lynford Lardner, also an Englishman, and John Wallace and John Inglis ? both 
Scotchmen, in planning and organizing a series of dancing parties, known as the 
"Assemblies." Thus was inaugurated a long series of balls that have become 
historic in the annals of Philadelphia, and are known to-day as "The Philadel- 
phia Assemblies." During the winter of 1748-9, six Assemblies were given 
under the management of four Directors ; Lynford Lardner, John Inglis, John 
Wallace and John Swift. There is a tradition in the Swift family, that has come 
down in two different lines, that the first meeting at which the Assemblies 
originated was held at John Swift's house. There were fifty-nine subscribers 
in all, and as an invitation was extended to the family of every head of a family 
who subscribed, probably some two hundred persons were eligible to attend the 
dances. The subscription was two pounds sterling. Three manuscript relics 
of those gay festivities have come down to us: the rules to govern the dances, 
the list of the original subscribers, and the Treasurer's Account-book. Except 
the signatures of the subscribers, all three documents are in the handwriting 
of John Swift. 



n8 SWIFT 

On October 4, 1757, John Swift was elected a Common Councilman of Phil- 
adelphia, and so continued to serve until about the end of 1764, and in that 
office devoted much time to the service of the city. In 1762 he was appointed 
by the Crown, Collector of the Port of Philadelphia, and during the ten years 
that he served in that office, a large part of his time was occupied in preventing 
the landing of cargoes without the payment of duties. He had to cope with all 
sorts of subterfuges on the part of the smugglers in their attempts to avoid the 
payment of duties. For example, sometimes the clearance papers were altered 
during the voyage. And on two occasions the smugglers resorted to acts of 
piracy in the Delaware River to accomplish their purpose, as some of his letters 
in the collections of The Historical Society of Pennsylvania show. 

John Swift married (first), May 29, 1749, at Christ Church, Magdalene (Kol- 
lock), widow of Jasper McCall, and daughter of Jacob Kollock; (second) 
Rebecca Kollock, a niece of his first wife. During the latter part of his life he 
lived at his country seat, "Croydon Lodge", Bensalem township, Bucks county, 
where he died, January, 1802. A portrait of him belonged, in 1855, to his 
granddaughter Magdalene Peel Swift. 

Issue of John and Magdalene (Kollock) Swift: — 

John White Swift, b. Philadelphia, Jan. 30, 1749-50, graduated at Academy and College 
of Philadelphia, 1767, and received degree of A. M. at same institution in 1770; en- 
tered counting house of Thomas Wharton Jr., 1768; a merchant at Lisbon, 1771-4, and 
at Quebec, Canada, 1774-5; joined American army on approach of Gen. Montgomery, 
was wounded in the attack on Quebec, and was appointed Inspector of Accounts and 
Works at Montreal by Gen. Worster ; resigned from army on declaration of inde- 
pendence, and became purser on the "Empress of China", first ship to enter port of 
Canton under American flag, in 1784; d. unm. in Bucks county, in 1818; 
Alice Swift, b. Feb. 20, 1750-1 ; m. at "Croydon Lodge", Bucks county, Nov. 22, 1778, 
Robert Cambridge, son of Robert Livingston, proprietor of Livingston Manor, New 
York; and (second) James, son of Patrick Crauford of Ayrshire, Scotland, officer in 
British army; 
Joseph Swift, b. Feb. 9, 1752; graduated at College and Academy of Philadelphia, 1769, 
and entered counting house of his uncle Joseph Swift, left to accept the captaincy in 
the Pennsylvania Loyalist Troop of Horse, Dec. 12, 1777, and served with it in 
British army until close of war, when he settled at Frederickton, Nova Scotia, and m. 
Ann, dau. of William Fowler, from New York ; returned to Pennsylvania, 1799, and 
resided in Bristol, Bucks county; d. there 1810; 
Charles Swift, b. Aug. 26, 1757; educated at College and Academy of Philadelphia; ad- 
mitted to Philadelphia Bar March 9, 1779; Register of Wills, Philadelphia county, 
May 19, 1800, to April 12, 1809; d. at "Croydon Lodge", Bucks county, Oct. 8, 1813, 
bur. at St. James P. E. Church, Bristol, Bucks county; m., Dec. 31, 1783, Mary, dau. 
of Thomas Riche, Esq., of Bucks county, who d. Feb. 7, 1790; (second) Mary Bad- 
ger Inman, dau. of Bernard and Susanna (Riche) Badger, and widow of Capt. George 
Inman of British Army, in 26th Regiment of Foot; d. at "Croydon Lodge", Bucks 
county, April 7, 1833. Was a founder of Philadelphia Academy of Fine Arts, in 1805 ; 
John, son of Charles and Mary (Riche) Swift, b. Philadelphia, Jan. 21, 1790; 
graduated at Univ. of Pa., 1808; was admitted to the Philadelphia Bar March 
16, 181 1 ; was Captain of Second Company of "Washington Guards" in the 
War of 1812, and later Colonel; was one of committee in charge of "Military 
Birth Night Ball" given in Washington Hall on Washington's birthday, 1818; 
elected member of "State in Schuylkill", Oct. 12, 1822; Chief Marshal of the 
civic division, of the Lafayette parade, Sept. 21, 1824; Mayor of Philadelphia, 
1832-41, and again 1845-9; one of the most popular and efficient chief magistrates 
of the city; on occasion of a revolt of the prisoners, in the old jail, at south-east 
corner of Sixth and Walnut streets. Mayor Swift, hearing the commotion, 
reached the jail in time to see several prisoners coming down the steps. He 
immediately shot one of them and drove the others back to their cells. He was 
an enthusiastic supporter of Henry Clay for the presidency, 1844, and the "great 
pacificator" was entertained at his house for several days, while making his 
campaign in Philadelphia. Mr. Swift d. Philadelphia, June 9, 1873. M. March 
11, 181 1, Mary, dau. of Commodore Truxton of the U. S. N. His portrait, by 
Thomas Sully, shows a man of much force of character. 



SWIFT 



119 



Joseph Swift, younger son of John and Mary (White) Swift, born June 
24, 1 73 1, went to England in 1747, resided with his uncle John White at Croy- 
don, county Surrey, and attended school at Manchester, becoming a proficient 
French and Latin scholar. He returned to Philadelphia on completion of his 
education, and entered into the mercantile business with his brother John Swift. 
He was a signer of the Non-importation Agreement of 1765, and one of the 
committee of Philadelphia merchants which included Robert Morris, Tench 
Francis, and others, who secured the refusal of John Hughes (who was by 
royal commission to distribute the obnoxious stamps), to make any effort to 
enforce the provisions of the Stamp Act, and was honored by a vote of thanks 
by the Assembly of New Jersey, passed October, 1769, for their patriotic action 
in that behalf. Joseph Swift was elected to Common Council of Philadelphia 
October 6, 1767, and was chosen as one of Board of Aldermen for the city, 
under the Act of March 11, 1789. He was a vestryman of Christ Church for 
forty years, and represented that parish in the diocesan conventions 1785- 1802. 
He became one of the first board of trustees of the Protestant Episcopal Acad- 
emy, in 1785, and filled that position until his death on December 26, 1806. He 
resided for many years on the west side of Front street, between Market and 
Chestnut, near his place of business, and later on the north side of Pine street, 
between Third and Fourth streets, and also had a country seat near Germantown. 
Joseph Swift married at Christ Church, February 3, 1759, Margaret, born in 
Philadelphia, April 6, 1731, daughter of George McCall, one of Philadelphia's 
early Colonial merchants, and a prominent ironmaster, by his wife Anne Yeates, 
daughter of Jasper Yeates, Provincial Councillor of Pennsylvania, by his wife 
Catharine, daughter of James Sandelands, one of the earliest settlers at Upland, 
now Chester, Pennsylvania. Margaret McCall Swift died December 16, 1804. 
Issue of Joseph and Margaret (McCall) Sivift: — 

Eleanor Swift, b. Jan. 6, 1760, d. in Philadelphia, Sept. 19, 1787, unm. ; 

John White Swift, b. March 12, 1761, d. Nov. 19, 1761; 

Anne Swift, b. July 19, 1762, d. Dec. 30, 1764; 

George Swift, b. 1764, d. Sept. 19, 1794, unm.; 

Joseph Swift, b. Dec. 14, 1765 ; several years merchant in Philadelphia, later resident 

of Lancaster county; m. and left issue; 
John White Swift, b. March 5, 1767, d. May 15, 1852; merchant in Philadelphia; d. 

unm.; 
Margaret McCall Swift, b. March 20, 1768, d. May 9, 1822, unm,; 
Martha Swift, b. Oct. 30, 1769, d. July 2, 1793, unm.; 
Samuel Swift, b. Jan. 12, 1771, d. Nov. 28, 1847; m. Mary Shippen; of whom 

presently; 
Elizabeth Swift, b. April 1, 1772, d. Jan. 24, 1857, unm.; 
Anne Shippen Swift, b. Nov., 1773, d. April 5, 1774; 
Archibald McCall Swift, b. 1775, d. Dec. 5, 1779; 
William Swift, d. unm. 

Samuel Swift, son of Joseph and Margaret (McCall) Swift, born in Phila- 
delphia, January 12, 1771, graduated at University of Pennsylvania, in the class 
of 1786, studied law with his mother's cousin Judge Jasper Yeates, later Chief 
Justice of Pennsylvania, and was admitted to Philadelphia Bar. He early 
manifested a lively interest in political matters, espousing the cause of the 
Democratic party, and advocating their policy in a number of articles published 



120 SWIFT 

in Philadelphia journals, displaying considerable vigor, candor, and polish, and 
evidencing careful and intelligent research on the questions treated. He also 
possessed considerable poetic talent, which he cultivated and exercised up to the 
time of his decease, being the author of a number of poems of considerable 
merit. He lived at his country seat known as "The Grove", near Germantown, 
the greater part of his life, and died there November 28, 1847, and both he and 
his wife are buried at Trinity Episcopal Church, Oxford township, Philadelphia 
county, of which he was a vestryman. 

Samuel Swift married, February 11, 1793, Mary, born in Philadelphia, May 
17, 1773, daughter of Hon. Joseph Shippen, many years Clerk of Provincial 
Council, and later Judge of Court of Common Pleas of Lancaster county, by his 
wife Jane Galloway; granddaughter of Edward Shippen "of Lancaster" and 
niece of Chief Justice Edward Shippen. She was born in Philadelphia, May 17, 
1773, and died June 2, 1809, and is buried at Trinity Church, Oxford, of which 
she and her husband were members. 

Issue of Samuel and Mary (Shippen) Swift: — 

Margaret McCall Swift, b. Philadelphia, June 2, 1796; d. Apr. 6, 1873; rn., May 19, 
1831, her cousin John, son of her mother's brother Robert Shippen, of "Tivoli", 
Lancaster county, by his wife Priscilla Thompson; 

William Swift, b. at "The Grove" Aug. 3, 1797; d. unm., Nov. 2, 1838; was an exten- 
sive writer on political questions, and an ardent advocate of "Free Trade"; 

Mary Shippen Swift, b. at "The Grove", Nov. 22, 1798, d. Feb. 15, 1877; m., Sept. 9, 
1824, Mathew Brooke Buckley, b. Oct. 31, 1794, d. March 8, 1856, President of 
Philadelphia, Wilmington & Baltimore Railroad Company, and was mother of Edward 
Swift Buckley, who is prominently identified with some of Philadelphia's financial 
and business institutions: 

Joseph Swift, b. at "The Grove", Dec. 26, 1799, d. at Long Branch, N. J., July 1, 
1882; was educated at a classical school in New Jersey, and settling in Philadelphia 
in 1818, became a member of brokerage firm of Thomas A. Biddle & Co., with 
whom he remained until 1842, when he retired from active business, and resided at 
his country seat, "Woodfield", when not engaged in foreign travel. He was one 
of the original members of Philadelphia Club (1834). On Oct. 5, 1835, he was 
elected for the first time a Director of the Club, and in subsequent years he was 
chosen again and again to fill that position. On April 7, 1854, Mr. Swift was 
elected President of Philadelphia Club, in which position he continued to serve 
until Sept. 16, 1859. He was elected Director of The Philadelphia Contribution- 
ship (the Hand and Hand) from Sept. 4, 1844, to Aug. 16, 1871 ; The Philadel- 
phia Bank from 1851 to 1859; The Philadelphia Saving Fund Society from 1855 until 
his death in 1882; and The Pennsylvania Company for Insurance on Lives and 
Granting Annuities, from Sept. 13, 1852, to Dec. 10, 1867. In 183 1, Mr. Swift 
m. Eliza Moore, dau. of George Willing. Their eldest dau. m., Oct. 5, 1852, 
Thomas Balch of the Philadelphia Bar, a member of a family established in Mary- 
land since 1658. 

George Swift, b. at "The Grove", March 9, 1801, d. July 16, 1801; 

Samuel Swift, b. March 10, 1802, d. Feb. 29, 1888; m. Mary A. Royer, of whom 
presently; 

Elizabeth Swift, b. May 9, 1804, d. March 31, 1886, unm.; 

John Swift, d. young; 

Sarah Bordley Swift; 

Edwin Swift, b. Nov. 6, 1806, d. in Philadelphia, March 22, 1891; member of Phila- 
delphia Club; President of Little Schuylkill Navigation, Railroad and Coal Com- 
pany, from Dec. 7, 1836, to May 20, 1844: Director of Chesapeake and Delaware 
Canal Company from June 1, 1868, to his death; connected with a number of other 
industrial and financial institutions; 

Jane Galloway Swift, b. March 15, 1808, d. Easton, Pa., March 16, 1872; m. John Smith, 
of another branch of the family, a descendant of John Swift who settled in Bucks 
county about 1685, and d. there in 1733. at a very advanced age. He was many years a 
member of Colonial Assembly from Bucks county, and Justice of the courts there ; 
later removing to Philadelphia, where he was a Justice of the several courts, and 
also a member of Colonial Assembly, succeeding John White, before-mentioned, in 



SWIFT 12 1 

that body, in 1721, and serving until 1730, when he returned to Bucks county. Orig- 
inally a member of Society of Friends at Oxford Meeting, he was carried out of the 
Society by the Keith Schism of 1692, and became a Baptist preacher, the congrega- 
tion later composing Southampton Baptist Church, meeting for some time at his 
house in Southampton township. Was later pastor of First Baptist Church of Phila- 
delphia. 

Samuel Swift, third surviving son of Samuel and Mary (Shippen) Swift, 
born at "The Grove", the country seat of his parents near Bustleton, Philadel- 
phia county, March 10, 1802, married, May 1, 1831, Mary Ann Royer, and 
resided the greater part of his life at "The Grove". He died February 20, 1888. 
Issue of Samuel and Mary Ann (Royer) Swift: — 

Emma Louisa Swift, b. May 19, 1834, d. Dec. 23, 1869, unm. ; 

William Henry Swift, b. Oct. 14, 1836; m. Eliza Clewlow Lewis Grubb, of whom 

presently; 
Elizabeth Swift, b. April 26, 1839; unm.; residing in Norristown, Montgomery county, 

Pa.; 
Sarah Swift, b. Nov. 21, 1841 ; m. Thomas Cummings Zulich, son of Anthony and 

Jane Morton (Cummings) Zulich, of Easton, Pa.; 
Joseph Swift, b. Dec. 16, 1843, m. Gertrude Horton Dorr, of whom presently ; 
Edwin Swift, b. Feb. 26, 1846, d. March 18, 1852; 
Samuel Swift, b. 1850, d. Feb. 10, 1852 ; 
May Swift, b. Feb. 26, 1853, d. April 18, 1896, unm. 

William Henry Swift, eldest son of Samuel and Mary Ann (Royer) Swift, 
born in Philadelphia county, October 14, 1836, removed to Wilmington, Dela- 
ware, when a young man, and engaged in the manufacture of matches. He 
has been President of the Diamond Match Company from its organization in 
1887 to 1898, when he retired from active business. He married, September 
10, 1863, Eliza Clewlow Lewis, daughter of Charles T. Grubb, of Wilmington 
Bar, and granddaughter of William Ford Grubb, by his wife Lydia Wilkinson, 
daughter of Adam Wilkinson, by his wife Mary Gilpin. 

Issue of William Henry and Eliza C. L. (Grubb) Swift: — 

Charles Grubb Swift, b. Sept. 1, 1865, d. April 2, 1866; 

William Henry Swift Jr., b. May 3, 1867, d. April 9, 1875; 

Anna Vaughan Swift, b. Jan. 13, 1870 ; m, Nov. 14, 1894, Charles G. Rupert, had issue :— 

Mary Swift Rupert, b. April 21, 1897; 

Anna Swift Rupert, b. June 1, 1900; 

William Swift Rupert, b. April 17, 1902; 

Amy Lewis Rupert, b. Oct. 14, 1905. 
Emma Louisa Swift, b. Oct. 3, 1876; m. Nov. 14, 1901, Charles Boiling Holladay, and 
had issue :— 

Elizabeth Swift Holladay, b. Aug. 12, 1902; 

Alexander Randolph Holladay, b. June 2, 1904. 

Joseph Swift, son of Samuel and Mary Ann (Royer) Swift, born in Mont- 
gomery county, December 16, 1843, became a business man of New York City 
when a young man ; retired from business and removed to Wilmington, Delaware, 
in 1889, and has since been a resident of that city ; now living retired, is a member 
of various social organizations of the city. He married, June 18, 1868, Gertrude 
Horton, born May 19, 1844, daughter of Horatio and Adeline Levina (Van 
Norstrand) Dorr. 

Issue of Joseph and Gertrude Horton (Dorr) Swift: — 



122 SWIFT 

Gertrude Horton Swift, b. March 29, 1869, d. inf.; 
Joseph Swift, b. Aug. 13, 1870, d. inf. ; 
Horatio Dorr Swift, b. July 19, 1871, d. inf. ; 

Samuel Swift, b. Jan. 19, 1875 ', m. June 8, 1896, Ellen Mary Faulkner, dau. of Edwin and 
Lucy (Schofield) Faulkner, and had issue: — 

Katharine Faulkner Swift, b. April 19, 1897; 
Samuel Swift Jr., b. Jan. 14, 1903. 
Frances Dorr Swift, b. Oct. 18, 1874 ; m. Oct. 27, 1897, Henry Lea Jr., son of Henry Lea 
and Caroline (Gibbons) Tatnall ; had issue: — 
Joseph Swift Tatnall, b. Sept. 30, 1898; 
Caroline Gibbons Tatnall, b. Mar. 26, 1901 ; 
Henry Lea Tatnall 3d, b. Feb. 13, 1903; 
Mary Swift Tatnall, b. Oct. 1, 1904; 
Louise Westervelt Tatnall, b. July 1, 1906. 
Mary Swift, b. June 2, 1876; m., Jan. 12, 1903, William Raymond Driver Jr., son of 
William Raymond Driver, and they had issue: — 

Gertrude Horton Driver, b. Oct. 7, 1903, d. inf.; 
Ruth Driver, b. Sept. 17, 1905. 
Elizabeth Shippen Swift, b. June 28, 1878; m., Jan. 9, 1904, William Arthur, son of 
Edward and Lucy (Schofield) Faulkner; they had issue: — 
Lucy Faulkner, b. March 13, 1905; 
Edwin Faulkner, b. Nov. 12, 1906; 
Joseph Swift, b. April 20, 1880, d. inf. ; 
John Dorr Swift, b. June 18, 1881, d. y. ; 
Gertrude Dorr Swift, b. Oct. 6, 1883; m., April 16, 1906, Edward Saville Ogden, son 

of E. Huson and Martha Louise (Goodrich) Ogden; 
Eleanor McCall Swift, b. June 15, 1886, residing with her parents, in Wilmington, 
Del. 



WILLING FAMILY 

Charles Willing, American progenitor of the Willing family of Philadelphia, 
was born in Bristol, England, May 18, 1710, son of Thomas and Anne (Har- 
rison) Willing and grandson of Joseph and Ava (Lowle) Willing. The family 
is probably of Saxon origin and had been more or less prominent in the coun- 
ties bordering on the English Channel, for many generations. Michel Willing, 
brother of Sir John Willing, a prominent royalist, born about 1542, was a grand- 
son of Simon Willing, living at Medbury, Devonshire, in 1546, had wife Mary, 
who bore him three sons, William of Medbury, who died in 1635; Michel, and 
John. Joseph Willing, son of John and grandson of Michel, baptized December 
17, 1620, died 1678, lived at Hupperton, county of Somerset. By his wife Mary 
he had issue : — 

Joseph Willing, of whom presently; 

John; 

Mary; 

Anne; 

Thomas, bap. at Bristol, Sept. 10, 1654. 

Joseph Willing, son of Joseph and Mary, buried February 2, 1693, mar- 
ried (first), July 1, 1672, Elizabeth Plaver, who died October 4, 1675, ar >d he 
married (second), May 24, 1676, Ava Lowle, a Saxon heiress, who died Decem- 
ber 31, 1707. She was a daughter of Thomas Lowle, and granddaughter of 
John Lowle of Woodhouse, Gloucestershire, by his wife Martha, daughter and 
sole heiress of Thomas Smith, Esq., Taunton, Somersetshire. She had a com- 
mon ancestry with the distinguished family of Lowell, of Massachusetts, in John 
Lowle of Clevedon, Somersetshire. William Lowle of Yardley, Worcestershire, 
married a Lyttleton and had sons, James, Andrew and Samuel, the first named 
of whom married a Baskerville, and had sons, Raffe, George, Edward, and An- 
drew ; the first named of whom married a Hasdrigg, and had Walter, Thomas, 
Anthony and Sabity. Walter Lowle married Joan Russell, and had issue: — 
Richard, married a Turner and lived and died at Yardley, and Thomas 
married a Mayhouse. The latter had issue: — 

John Lowle, of Clevedon, Somersetshire, before mentioned ; 
William Lowle; 
Thomas Lowle; 
Roger Lowle. 

John Lowle, of Clevedon, Somersetshire, married a Wake and had issue: — 
John Lowle, married Apolys, daughter of Robert Liversage, and Richard, married 
a Percival, and had Percival Lowle, the ancestor of the Lowell of Massachusetts, 
born about I 591. 

Roger Lowle, married Joane Gage, daughter of John Gage of Walton. 

Roger Lowle and Joane Gage had issue : — 



i2 4 WILLING 

John Lowle of Walton, m. Prudence Whyke, of whom presently; 
William Lowle; 
James Lowle. 

John Lowle and Prudence Whyke had issue: — 
Thomas Lowle married Margaret Dyer and had issue: — 

John Lowle, m. Martha Smith; 

William Lowle; 

Raffe Lowle; 

Francis Lowle; 

Thomas Lowle; 

Mary Lowle, m. John Hubbell, of London. 

John Lowle, of Woodhouse, Gloucestershire, 1699, son of Thomas and 
Margaret (Dyer) Lowle, married Martha, daughter of Thomas Smith, of 
Taunton, Somersetshire, and had issue : — 

Thomas Lowle, father of Ava, m. Joseph Willing; 
Raffe Lowle; 
John Lowle; 
Martha Lowle; 
Mary Lowle. 

Charles Willing, born at Bristol, England, May 18, 1710, was reared to 
mercantile business, and came to Philadelphia in 1728, at the age of eighteen, 
to take charge of a mercantile house, said to have been established there by his 
family in 1726. A cousin, Thomas Willing, also came to America, and laid 
out a town of Willing-town, now Wilmington, Delaware. Thomas Willing, 
brother of Charles, also came to Philadelphia, but after a brief residence there 
returned to England, where he died. Charles Willing was a successful business 
man of much more than ordinary ability, and became a much esteemed and 
respected merchant, councilman and magistrate. He carried on a large foreign 
trade, and his many successful operations materially aided in establishing in 
foreign countries the reputation of his adopted city for public honor and pri- 
vate wealth, which it enjoyed to a marked degree in the quarter century pre- 
ceding the war of the Revolution, and to his family and those of Shippen, Mor- 
ris, Wharton, Biddle and others with whom it was more or less intimately asso- 
ciated in business and by marriage, Philadelphia is largely indebted for her 
commercial, political, social and intellectual prominence, in Colonial days. 
Charles Willing soon became indentified with the affairs of his adopted city and 
province. He was active in organizing the Philadelphia Associators for the 
defense of the frontier in 1747, and was commissioned captain of a company in 
the Associated Regiment of Foot, commanded by. Col. Abraham Taylor. He 
was elected to the Common Council in 1743, commissioned a Justice, 1745, made 
one of the Justices of the City Court in 1747, and the following year was elected 
Mayor of the City. He was re-commissioned Justice, 1749-52-54, was again 
elected Mayor, and died from ship fever contracted in the discharge of his offi- 
cial duties, November 30, 1754. He was one of the founders and first trustees 
of the Philadelphia College, later University of Pennsylvania, serving as trus- 
tee from 1749 to his death, 1754. He was a member of the vestry of Christ 



WILLING 125 

Church from 1735, to his death. Some estimate may be formed of the place he 
filled in the community from the obituary notice of him published in the Pennsyl- 
vania Gazette of December 5, 1754, which is as follows : — 

"Last Saturday, after a short illness, departed this life in the forty-fifth 
year of his age, Charles Willing, Esquire, Mayor of this city. As it may be 
truly said that this community had not a more useful member, his death is 
justly lamented as a public loss to his country as well as most irretrievable to 
his family and friends. In the character of a magistrate he was patient, inde- 
fatigable, and actuated by a steady zeal for justice; as a merchant it was thought 
no person amongst us understood commerce in general, and the trading inter- 
ests of the Province in particular, better than he, and his success in business 
was proportionately great; as a friend he was faithful, candid and sincere; as 
a husband and parent few ever exceeded him in tenderness and affection, 
being himself a sincere Christian he was strictly attentive to the education of his 
children in every virtuous qualification, and in a particular manner he was remark- 
able in that essential part of a parent's duty, so little considered, a regular attend- 
ance, together with his numerous family on the public worship of God, and for 
this accordingly they will now have reason to bless his memory, since the impres- 
sions thereby received will go further to teach them how to bear their present 
heavy affliction, and recommend them to the favor of the world, (degenerate as 
it is) than all the external advantages, — all the fortune, grace and good opinion 
he has left them possessed of." 

Mr. Willing lived and died on Third street, in the house devised by him to 
his son Thomas, who succeeded him in the business. He married, January 21, 
1730, Anne, born in Philadelphia, August 5, 1710, daughter of Joseph and Abi- 
gail (Grosse) Shippen. Mrs. Willing survived her husband many years, dying 
June 23, 1 79 1. 

Issue of Charles and Anne (Shippen) Willing: — 

Thomas, b. Dec. 19, 1731, d. Jan. 19, 1821 ; m. June 19, 1763, Anne McCall, of whom 
presently; 

Anne, b. July 16, 1733, d. Jan. 2, 1812; m. Feb. 6, 1762, Tench Francis Jr., of Philadel- 
phia; 

Dorothy, b. Aug. 3, 1735, d. in Scotland, 1782; m. Captain, afterwards, Sir Walter Stirl- 
ing, of Taskine, Scotland, Commodore in the Royal Navy ; 

Charles, b. May 20, 1738, d. March 22, 1788; m. May 24, 1760, Elizabeth Hannah Car- 
rington, of Barbadoes ; of whom later ; 

Mary, b. Sept. 24, 1740, d. March 28, 1814; m. Jan. 29, 1761, Col. William Byrd, of 
Westover, Va. ; 

Elizabeth, b. Feb. 10, 1742, d. Jan. 17, 1830; m. Aug. 7, 1769, Samuel Powell, Mayor of 
Philadelphia, Speaker of Pennsylvania Assembly, etc. ; 

Richard, b. Jan. 2, 1744-5, d. Jan. 30, 1798; m. Jan. 30, 1766, Margaret Kortwright, of 
New York; 

Abigail, b. June 15, 1747, d. Aug. 10, 1791, unm. ; 

Joseph, b. Oct. 15, 1749, d. July 4, 1750; 

James, b. Feb. 9, 1750-1, d. Oct. 13, 1801, unm. Captain in Continental Army, during Rev- 
olution, taken prisoner and confined in the loathsome prison ships in New York har- 
bor ; 

Margaret, b. Jan. 15, 1753, d. Sept. 21, 1816; m. Nov. 16, 1775, Robert Hare, of whom 
later. 

Thomas Willing, eldest son of Charles and Anne (Shippen) Willing, born 
in Philadelphia, December 19, 1731, was sent by his father to England at the 



126 WILLING 

age of eight years, and was educated there under the supervision of his grand- 
father Thomas Willing, of Bristol. He was placed at a school at Wells, Som- 
ersetshire, and later spent some time in London. He returned to Philadelphia, 
May 19, 1749, and at once entered his father's counting house. Two years later 
his father made a business and fraternal visit to England, leaving Thomas in 
charge of his extensive business in Philadelphia, and on his return, October, 
1:751, was so much pleased with the manner in which the business had been 
handled that he made his son a partner. At the death of his father, 1754, 
Thomas Willing took entire charge of the business and of the family, all his 
nine brothers and sisters with the exception of one being minors, the youngest 
less than two years old. He inherited his father's business abilities and sterling 
qualities and successfully managed the large concerns established by his father. 
He took as a partner Robert Morris, the financier of the Revolution, under the 
firm name of Willing & Morris, of whom Mr. Griswold truly says, "to the 
great credit and well known patriotism of the house of Willing & Morris the 
country owed its extrication from those trying pencuniary embarrassments so 
familiar to the readers of Revolutionary history." What was true of it then 
was equally true during the twenty years preceding the Revolutionary struggle. 
Possessed of the finest business qualifications and a thorough knowledge of the 
needs of the country, and practicing the strictest business integrity in all their 
transactions, they carried on an immense trade and became one of the best and 
most favorably known commercial houses in America. Thomas Willing's name 
heads the list of the merchants of Philadelphia to sign the Non-importation Res- 
olutions of 1765. He was President of the Provincial Conference of Representa- 
tives of the different Colonies, held at Philadelphia, July 15, 1774, and repre- 
sented his State in the Continental Congress of 1775 and 1776. In the latter he 
voted against the Declaration of Independence, for the reasons that he did not 
believe his country was at that time equal to the conflict that must ensue, — and 
because as a delegate from Pennsylvania, he felt that he had not been author- 
ized either by the State Assembly or by the voice of the people at large to join 
in such action. He, however, gave his best energies and his money to its support 
when adopted. He was also a member of Committee of Safety of the Province 
June 30 to October 19, 1775. Prior to the Revolution he had filled the position 
of Justice of the Supreme Court, 1767-76, being with John Lawrence and John 
Morton, the last to act under the old constitution. When Congress chartered 
the Bank of North America, to assist the Government in raising funds to pay the 
expenses of the war, it was made part of the enactment that Thomas Willing 
should be its president, and the Pennsylvania Legislature confirmed that enact- 
ment, March 26, 1782. This bank was the agent that enabled Robert Morris 
to reclaim the finances of the country, and Willing,' as its official head 
in all matters, was unanimously re-elected at each annual election, when 
the Bank of the United States was organized he was induced to sur- 
render the presidency of the Bank of North America to accept that of the new 
financial institution, and managed its affairs with the same eminent ability that 
had characterized his administration of the former. In municipal affairs he held 
the same prominent place as in Provincial and State. He was elected to Com- 
mon Council of the City, October 5, 1755, became a member of Board of 
Aldermen, October 2, 1758, and Mayor, October 4, 1763, and represented the 



WILLING 127 

city in the Provincial Assembly for the years 1764-5-6. He died in Philadel- 
phia, January 18, 182 1, in his ninetieth year. To few men in any age has been 
vouchsafed so long a successful and honorable career, whose lives ran through 
such trying and epoch-making times as did that of Thomas Willing. He was 
possessed in a high degree of those sterling qualities of probity, fidelity, and 
stability, that go to the making up of a model official and business man, and 
he had and held the public esteem throughout his long career. He was an 
active, enterprising and successful business man for sixty years, and held pub- 
lic position for nearly as long a period. 

Thomas Willing married, June 9, 1763, Anne, daughter of Samuel and Anna 
(Searle) McCall, born March 30, 1745, and died in Philadelphia, February 5, 
1781. 

Issue of Thomas and Anne {McCall) Willing: — 

Anne, b. Aug. 1, 1764, d. in Bermuda, May II, 1801, a noted beauty of her time; m. 
May 16, 1781, William Bingham, Member Continental Congress, 1787-8; Pennsylvania 
Assembly 1790, Speaker 1791 ; Speaker State Senate, 1794; U. S. Senator, 1795, and 
President pro tern; 

Charles, b. May 5, 1765, d. July 12, 1765; 

Charles, b. April 7, 1766, d. July 20, 1799, m. (first) Rosalind Evans; (second) Anne 

Hemphill ; 
Thomas Mayme, b. April 15, 1767, d. in Boston, Mass., Oct. 3, 1822; m. Jane Nixon; 
Elizabeth, b. March 27, 1768, m. Major William Jackson; 
George, b. April 4, 1769, d. Aug. 10, 1769; 

Mary, b. Sept. 15, 1770, m. Henry, son of George Clymer, signer of Declaration of Inde- 
pendence ; 

Dorothy, b. July 16, 1772, m. her cousin, Thomas Willing Francis ; 

George, b. April 14, 1774, m. (first) Maria Benezet (second) Rebecca Harrison Black- 
well, of whom presently; 

Richard, b. Dec. 25, 1775, m. Eliza Moore, of whom presently; 

Abigail, b. May 16, 1777, m. Richard Peters ; 

William Shippen, b. Feb. 6, 1779; m. Maria Wilhelmina Peters; 

Henry, b. Dec. 15, 1780, d. June 20, 1781. 

George Willing, son of Thomas and Anne (McCall) Willing, born in Phil- 
adelphia, April 14, 1774, graduated at Princeton in 1792, and entered his 
father's counting house. He later went to India in the interest of the firm of 
Willing & Francis, who did a large importing business in India goods. He 
retired from business in early life, and died in Philadelphia, December 22, 1827. 
He married (first), at Philadelphia, October 1, 1795, Maria, only child of John 
and Maria (Bingham) Benezet of Philadelphia, who died without issue. He 
married (second), November 26, 1800, Rebecca Harrison, only child of Rev. 
Robert Blackwell, D. D., of Philadelphia, by his wife Rebecca Harrison, born in 
Philadelphia, February 25, 1782, died there, May 12, 1852. 

Issue of George and Rebecca Harrison (Blackwell) Willing: — 

Maria, b. Aug. 9, 1801, m. (first) her cousin, Willing Francis, and (second) Sylvanus S. 

Hammersly, M. D. ; 
Robert Blackwell, b. July 16, 1801, d. June 7, 1831, unni ; 
Anne, d. Oct. 12, 1816; 

Hannah, d. s. p. Nov. 18, 1882, m. Henry Ralston; 

Rebecca Harrison, d. s. p. Aug. 21, 1878, m. May 29, 1834, George Henry Thompson, Esq. ; 
Eliza Moore, d. Sept. 9, 1840, m. Joseph Swift, of whom presently; 
Dorothy, m. June 15, 1853, John William Wallace, A. B., LL.D. ; 



128 WILLING 

Anne, or Nancy, d. Sept. 27, 1818; 

Charles, d. July 25, 1868; m. Selena Watson. 

Eliza Moore Willing, daughter of George and Rebecca Harrison (Black- 
well) Willing, born in Philadelphia, married, November 24, 1831, Joseph, son 
of Samuel and Mary (Shippen) Swift, who was born at his father's country 
seat called "The Grove", Philadelphia, December 26, 1799. He was educated at 
a classical school in New Jersey, and in 181 8, became associated with broker- 
age firm of Thomas A. Biddle & Company, and remained with them until 1842, 
when he retired from business and went abroad, travelling extensively some 
years. He was an excellent business man and financier, and was connected with 
a number of financial institutions of Philadelphia, being repeatedly elected as a 
director of various corporations, among them the Philadelphia Bank, and the 
Philadelphia Saving Fund Society, serving as a director of the latter institution 
from its organization until his death, a period of twenty-six years. He main- 
tained a city house, and a country seat called "Woodfield." Mrs. Eliza Moore 
(Willing) Swift died September 9, 1840. 

Issue of Joseph and Eliza M. {Willing) Swift: — 

Emily Swift, m. Thomas, son of Lewis P. W. and Elizabeth Balch, b. Leesburg, 
Va., July 23, 182 1 ; 

Mary Swift, m. Horace G. Browne. 

Thomas Balch was a graduate of Columbia University, and a prominent member 
of the Philadelphia Bar. He was much devoted to literary pursuits and wrote a 
number of articles on finance, social science and miscellaneous subjects. He was 
first to propose a Court of International Arbitration. Among his literary produc- 
tions are, "Les Francais de 1' Independance des Etats-Unis, 1777-83," "Letters and 
Papers relating chiefly to the Provincial History of Pennsylvania" and "The Mary- 
land Papers". He died in Philadelphia, March 29, 1877. 

Issue of Thomas and Emily (Swift) Balch: — 

Elsie Willing Balch; 
Edwin Swift Balch, of Philadelphia Bar ; 
Joseph Balch, died, Paris, July 3, 1864; 
Thomas Willing Balch. 

Richard Willing, son of Thomas and Anne (McCall) Willing, born in 
Philadelphia, December 25, 1775, on arriving at manhood engaged in the mer- 
cantile trade in connection with the firm of Willing & Francis, for whom he 
made four voyages to India and one to China, and later took an active part in 
winding up the affairs of that well-known firm. 

He visited Europe, was a member of the First City Troop, and at one time 
president of an insurance company, the only official position he could ever be 
induced to accept. He died in Philadelphia, May 18, 1858. 

Richard Willing married, at Christ Church, February 1, 1804, Eliza Moore, 
daughter of Thomas Lloyd Moore, of Philadelphia, by his wife Sarah Stamper. 
She was born in Philadelphia, July 14, 1786, and died May 21, 1823. 
Issue of Richard and Eliza (Moore) Willing: — 

Thomas Moore Willing, d. Isle of Wight, Sept. 17, 1850; m. July 23, 1831, Matilda 

Lee Carter, of Virginia; 
Mary Willing, m. Feb. 12, 1828, John Montgomery Dale, son of Commodore Richard 

Dale, U. S. N., d. s. p. Feb. 13, i860; 



WILLING 



129 



Henry Willing, d. unm. Sept. 13, 1845; 

Ellen Willing, m. le Compte Blondell von Cuellbroeck, Envoy Extraordinary from 
Belgium to Spain; d. at Madrid, Sept. 13, 1872; 

Caroline Willing, d. July 22, i860; m. and had issue who changed their name to 

Willing; 
Elizabeth Willing, m. John Jacob, son of Jacob Ridgway, the eminent Philadelphia 

merchant, and they lived the greater part of their lives in Paris; 
Edward Shippen Willing, d., Philadelphia, 1907; m. Alice, dau. of John Rhea Barton, 
M. D., and had issue: — 

John Rhea Barton Willing; 

Susan Ridgway Willing; 

Edward Shippen Willing, Jr., d. young in 1873; 

Ava Lowle Willing. 

Charles Willing, second son of Charles and Anne (Shippen) Willing, born 
in Philadelphia, May 30, 1738, was a merchant in Philadelphia in the days of 
that city's mercantile preeminence, but the greater part of his business career was 
spent in Barbadoes, where he resided for many years. He married at Barbadoes, 
May 24,. 1760, Elizabeth Hannah Carrington, born in Barbadoes, March 12, 1739, 
died there October 12, 1795, daughter of Paul and Elizabeth (Gibbs) Carring- 
ton. He later returned to Philadelphia, and spent most of his remaining days 
in that city and at his country seat "Coventry" farm, in Chester, now Delaware 
county, dying at the latter place, March 22, 1788, in his fiftieth year. An excel- 
lent portrait of him painted by Benjamin West, is in possession of Charles Will- 
ing Littel, of Baltimore. Elizabeth Hannah (Carrington) Willing, returned to 
Barbadoes after the death of her husband and died there October 12, 1795. 
Issue of Charles and Elisabeth Hannah (Carrington) Willing: — 

Elizabeth Gibbs Willing, b. Sept. 30, 1764, d. Feb. 12, 1820; m. June 10, 1782, John 
Forster of Barbadoes, son of John Forster Alleyne, and grandson of Thomas and 
Dorothy Alleyne of Braintree, Mass. John F. Alleyne and his family removed to 
England after the Revolution. 

Anne Willing, b. in Philadelphia, Aug. 28, 1767, d. Jan. 11, 1853, m., May 9, 1786, Luke, 
son of Anthony and Elizabeth (Hudson) Morris. 

Anne (Willing) Morris, according to a deposition made by her son Thomas 
Willing Morris, always resided in Philadelphia. She survived her husband a half 
century, living many years in Germantown. An account of her descendants is 
given in this volume under the heading of the Morris Family. The descendants 
of Elizabeth Gibbs (Willing) Alleyne, all lived in England. 

Margaret Willing, daughter of Charles and Anne (Shippen) Willing, born 
in Philadelphia, January 15, 1753, died September 21, 1816, married November 
J 6, 1775, Robert Hare, son of Richard and Martha Hare, of Limehouse, near 
London, England. He was born at Woolwich, Kent county, England, January 
28, 1752, and came to Pennsylvania June 4, 1773. He became a prominent busi- 
ness man of Philadelphia, and represented the city in the General Assembly in 
1791, and later in the State Senate; was Speaker of the Senate and ex-officio 
Lieutenant Governor, 1796. He was one of the original organizers of the 
Philadelphia "First City Troop" but took no part in the military operations 
during the Revolutionary War. During the British occupation of Philadel- 
phia, he and his family were exiles in Virginia, and made their residence 
with his brother-in-law, Colonel William Byrd, of Westover, near Winchester. 
He was trustee of University of Pennsylvania. 1789-1805. He died in German- 
town, Philadelphia, March 8, 1812. 



1 3 o WILLING 

Issue of Robert and Margaret (Willing) Hare: — 

Richard Hare, b. Philadelphia, Sept. 22, 1776, d. July 9, 1778 ; 

Charles Willing Hare, b. Westover, Va., April 23, 1778, m. Anne Emlen, of whom 
presently ; 

Martha Hare, b. Philadelphia Aug. 17, 1779, d. Feb. 4, 1852, unm. ; 

Robert Hare, b. Philadelphia, Jan. 17, 1781, d. May 15, 1858; Prof, of Chemistry, Univ. 
of Pennsylvania, Life member of Smithsonian Institute, m. Harriet Clark, of Provi- 
dence, R. I. ; 

Richard Hare, b. Philadelphia, Sept. 24, 1782, d. Jan. 9, 1796; 

John Powell Hare, b. Philadelphia, April 22, 1786, d. Newport, R. I., June 14, 1850, 
m. Julia de Veaux. He changed his name to John Hare Powell ; was Colonel in War 
of 1812-14, and later a Secretary of Legation at Court of St. James, London. 

Charles Willing Hare, eldest surviving son of Robert and Margaret (Will- 
ing) Hare, married August 29, 1801, Anne Emlen, daughter of George Emlen, 
Esq., of Philadelphia, born July 6, 1777, died February, 185 1. 
Issue of Charles Willing and Anne (Emlen) Hare: — 

Sarah Emlen Hare, d. unm. April, i860 ; 

Robert Hare, d. June 1846, m. Nov., 1840, Claire Louise de Pestre ; 

William Bingham Hare, d. Aug. 1825 ; 

George Emlen Hare, D. D., LL.D., S. T. D., m. Elizabeth Catharine Hobart; 

Margaretta Hare, m. April 28, 1831, Israel Pemberton Hutchinson ; 

Ann Bingham Hare, b. Feb. 16, 1813, d. March 27, 1825. 

Robert Hare, son of Robert and Margaret (Willing) Hare, the distinguished 
chemist and philosopher, "whose name for half of a century was familiar to 
men of science as a chemical philosopher and to cultivators of the useful arts 
throughout the civilized world", was born in Philadelphia January 17, 1781. He 
received a fair academic education and in early life managed the business of an 
extensive brewery established by his father, an Englishman of strong mind, 
who early affiliated himself with the institutions of his adopted country, and 
was honored by public confidence. Young Hare soon abandoned business for 
the study of science, attending lectures in his native city, and united himself 
with the Chemical Society of Philadelphia, to whom he communicated in 1801, a 
description of his "hydrostatic blow-pipe," in a "Memoir" republished in Tul- 
loch's Philosophical Magazine, London, in 1802, and also in Annals de Chime, 
vol. 45. This apparatus was the earliest and perhaps the most remarkable of 
his many original contributions to science, and gave evidence of a highly phil- 
osophic mind. He experimented with Professor Silliman and with him con- 
structed in 1803, for Yale College laboratory, the first pneumatic trough, in 
which was incorporated his new invention, and he received the Rum ford Medal, 
from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He also perfected the vol- 
taic battery, introducing his invention of the "Deflagorator." 

Professor Hare was called to the chair of Chemistry of University of Penn- 
sylvania in 1818, which he continued to fill until his resignation in 1847, at 
which time he was made Emeritus Professor. In 1816 he invented a galvanic in- 
strument called the "Calorimotor," introducing a new theory of galvanism, and his 
"Deflagorator," above referred to, followed in 1820. Dr. Hare published a 
number of papers and pamphlets on scientific subjects since much quoted, and 
considered valuable contributions to chemical science. He was an ardent patriot 



WILLING 131 

and student of political economy; was first a Federalist and later a Whig, and 
published a number of works on political and financial questions which were 
marked by vigorous thought and large views. He was a life member of the 
Smithsonian Institute, to which he gave all his chemical and physical apparatus. 
Dr. Robert Hare died in Philadelphia May 15, 1858. Many tributes to his 
memory and worth in the realm of science and literature were published in the 
newspapers and other periodicals of the day, and an excellent account of his 
scientific attainments of some length appeared in the Journal of Science for 
July, 1858. 

Dr. Hare married, September 181 1, Harriet Clark, daughter of John Innis 
Clark, of Providence, Rhode Island, by his wife Lydia Brown. She was 
born 1782, and died March 19, 1869. 

Issue of Robert and Harriet (Clark) Hare: — 

John Innis Clark Hare, b. Aug., 1812, d. the same month; 

Hon. John Innis Clark Hare, late President Judge of Common Pleas Court of Phila- 
delphia, b. Oct. 17, 1817, d. 1907. He received degree of A. B. at Univ. of Pa. in 
1834; studied law and was admitted to Philadelphia Bar, 1841. Was made a Judge 
of t)istrict Court of Philadelphia, 1851, and became President Judge of that court 
in 1867, presiding until 1874, when the new State constitution abolished the District 
Court, and he was made President Judge of Common Pleas Court No. 2, which 
position he held until his death, in 1907. The Univ. of Pa. conferred upon him 
honorary degree of LL.D., 1868, and he was trustee of the University 1858-68; Pro- 
fessor of the Law Institute, 1868. He became a member of American Philosophical 
Society in 1842, was the author of a number of papers on legal questions, edited 
"Smith's Leading Cases," and other standard works. M., Nov. 16, 1842, Esther C. 
Binney, dau. of Hon. Horace Binney, by his wife Elizabeth Coxe; 

Lydia Hare, m., Providence, R. I., Aug. 15, 1828, Frederick Prime of New York; 

Robert Harford Hare, m., Aug. 28, 1845, Caroline, dau. of Charles Henry Flem- 
ing of New Bedford, Conn., by his wife Mary Rotch, of whom presently; 

George Harrison Hare, of the U. S. N. ; m. Elizabeth Binney, dau. of John and Mary 
(Binney) Cadwalader, d. s. p., July 22, 1857; 

Theodore Dehon Hart, d. y., 1825. 

Issue of Robert Harford arid Caroline (Fleming) Hare: — 

Mary Fleming Hare, m. Sussex Delaware Davis, of Philadelphia Bar, and had 
issue : — 

Samuel Boyer Davis ; 

Caroline Hare Davis, m. Oct. 8, 1904, William Penn-Gaskell Hall, of Philadel- 
phia, descendant of William Penn, the Founder; 
Robert Hare Davis ; 
Sussex Delaware Davis Jr. ; 
Harriet Clark Hare, m. George McClelland, M. D. 



BALCH FAMILY 

Among those who crossed the Atlantic about the middle of the seventeenth 
century to seek their fortune in the New World, was John Balch of Somer- 
setshire, England. The family was settled in that shire from very early times. 
In 1225, Edward Balch was living in the Hundred of Chyu, in 1327, William 
Balch was taxed at Purye near Bridgwater, and in 1492, Robert Balch became 
incumbent of the church at Hazelbury. William Balch of Higham, county 
Somerset, who died in 1532-3, was living before Columbus crossed the Atlan- 
tic to America, as his son John Balch of Horton, County Somerset, was born 1497, 
in the reign of Richard the Second. In the Visitation of Somerset in 1623 by 
the Heralds of the College of Arms, the right was confirmed to the family 
through George Balch of Horton, Somerset, to blazon on their shield, "Barry 
of six, or an az. on a bend engrailed gules, three spear heads ar.," and to bear 
for a crest, a demi griffin rampant. These arms are recorded in Harley manu- 
scripts 1141-5-1559, in the British Museum. The motto used by the family is, 
"Coeur et courage font l'ouvrage." A branch of the family that settled as 
early as the sixteenth century in Bridgwater gave three members to Parlia- 
ment, and three mayors to the town. 

John Balch came from county Somerset to the Province of Maryland, 1658, 
of his own free will, paying himself for his transportation. One of his sons, 
Thomas Balch, born in Maryland, was of a restless and adventurous disposi- 
tion, and went as a very young man to England. There he knew Richard Bax- 
ter and was much influenced by that eminent divine. When "King Mon- 
mouth" raised his standard in south-western England in June, 1685, Thomas 
Balch joined the Duke's forces and became a captain in his army. After the 
disastrous battle of Sedgemoor, July 5, 1685, in which Monmouth's army was 
routed and his cause destroyed, Thomas Balch found it advisable, owing to 
the activities of the notorious Colonel Kirke and his men, known as "Kirke's 
lambs," to leave England for the New World. Accordingly, shortly after, he 
sailed, disguised, from Bristol and landed at Annapolis, Maryland. His part 
in Monmouths' rebellion was the thread round which George Parker, at one 
time Mayor of Bridgwater, wrapped an account of Monmouth's rising in a book 
entitled, "Tom Balch ; an Historical Tale of West Somerset during Monmouth's 
Rebellion", published at Bridgwater, 1879. After returning to Maryland, 
Thomas Balch married Agnes Somerville. 

One of Captain Balch's grandsons, James Balch, after visiting England, 
married Anne Goodwyn, of the Eastern Shore of Maryland, January 19, 1737. 
The second son of James and Anne (Goodwyn) Balch was the Rev. Dr. 
Stephen Bloomer Balch, of Georgetown, D. C, who was born on Deer Creek, 
Harford county, Maryland, April 5, 1747. He graduated at Princeton College, 
1774, receiving the A. B. degree. At Princeton he was a member of American 
Whig Society. On October I, 1775, he was commissioned Captain in the Cal- 
vert county, Maryland, militia ; he held this command for three years, and was 
in actual service against the enemy December 1, 1775-December 1, 1777. In 



BALCH 133 

1778, when the feeling was universal that, owing to the defeat of Burgoyne and 
the French alliance, our independence was secured, he resigned from the service 
In order to give himself up more assiduously to preparing for the Presbyterian 
ministry. He was licensed to preach the Gospel by the Presbytery of Donegal 
June 17, 1779. In 1780 he was called by the Presbyterians of Georgetown on 
the Potomac to establish a church among them. Accepting, he arrived there 
March 16, 1780, and remained in charge of the church he founded until his 
death fifty-three years afterwards. 

Among Dr. Balch's friends were George Washington, who sometimes attended 
his church, Thomas Jefferson and Albert Gallatin. A few weeks after the death 
of General Washington, Dr. Balch gave notice that he would speak of the life 
and services of the dead statesman. He preached in the open air to more than 
a thousand people, from the last verse of the tenth chapter of the book of 
Esther, "For Mordecai the Jew, was next unto King Ahasuerus, and great 
among the Jews, and accepted of the multitude of his brethren, seeking the 
wealth of his people, and speaking peace to all his seed." On account of the 
friendly relations that had long existed between the United States and the Mus- 
covite Empire, the defeat of Napoleon in his Russian campaign was celebrated 
in June, 1813, in the District of Columbia, the religious exercises being held 
at Dr. Balch's church, the Russian Minister, M. Daschkoff, attending. 

Dr. Balch was a firm believer in the rights of the individual, and was in favor 
of gradually liberating the slaves and sending them to Liberia. He was opposed 
to slavery and corresponded on the subject with Wilber force. He was a lover 
of books, and among the classics preferred Horace to Virgil. In 1818 Princeton 
University conferred upon him the degree of D. D. He published, February 1, 
1791, the earliest publication printed in the District of Columbia: "Two Ser- 
mons on the Certain and Final Perserverance of the Saints." And ten years after- 
wards, 1801, he published "A Series of Letters addressed to the Rev. Adam Free- 
man," entitled "A Vindication of the right of infants to the Sacrement of Bap- 
tism according to the Scripture." He died September 22, 1833, as he was pre- 
paring to go to church. He was the leading divine in the District of Columbia, 
and in such esteem was he held by his fellow townsmen, that at his funeral the 
members of the City Councils of Georgetown attended in a body, the town was 
draped in mourning, all places of business were closed, and ministers of all 
denominations joined in the funeral cortege. His remains now rest in Oak Hill 
cemetery, where W. W. Corcoran has placed on the wall of the chapel a mural 
tablet bearing the following inscription : 

"In honor of 

STEPHEN BLOOMER BALCH, D. D., 

Born 

On "Deer Creek," near Bait: Md. 

April, A. D., 1747. 

Came to Georgetown, D. C. 

March 16th, A. D. 1780 

Died September 22 A. D. 1833. 

He planted the Gospel in 

Georgetown ; Founded 

'The Bridge Street Presbyterian Church' 

And was for more than 50 years 

Its Pastor. 

In life he Practiced what he Preached 

No Eulogy can add to such 

A Record." 



134 BALCH 

Dr. Balch married at Georgetown, June io, 1781, Elizabeth, daughter of Col. 
George Beall of Georgetown. She was descended from Col. Ninian Beall of 
the Rock of Dumbarton, Prince George's county, Maryland, commander-in- 
chief of the provincial forces of Maryland, and also from Col. Thomas Brooke 
of Brookfield, Prince George's county, Maryland, President of the Council and 
Acting Governor of Maryland. 

One of Dr. Balch's sons, Judge Lewis P. W. Balch, was born at Georgetown, 
D. C, December 31, 1787, graduated at Princeton College in 1806. He was a 
member of Whig Hall. He studied law with his kinsman, Chief Justice Roger 
Brooke Taney, and was admitted to Maryland Bar. Judge Balch's second son, 
Thomas Balch, was born at Leesburg, Loudon county, Virginia, July 23, 1821. 
He entered Columbia College in 1838 with the class of 1842. At the end of his 
freshman year he received a silver medal for leading the class in mathematics. 
and his classmate, Abram S. Hewitt, said that "Tom Balch was the master of 
English style in the class.'' He studied law with Stephen Cambreling, was 
admitted to the New York bar in 1845, to the Philadelphia bar in 1850, and to 
the bar of the Supreme Court of the United States in 1855. In 1853 he was 
elected Domestic Secretary and a member of the council of Historical Society 
of Pennsylvania. In 1854, along with William Rotch Wister, William Logan 
Fisher, Hartman Kuhn and others, he was one of the founders of the Philadel- 
phia Cricket Club, and the same year he was an original member of the Seventy- 
six Society. He traveled in Europe, 1859-73, residing chiefly at Paris. 

In 1864, Thomas Balch, who was present at Cherbourg during the fight 
between the Kearsarge and the Alabama (June 19, 1864), proposed — after 
studying the works of Grotius, the Due de Sully, Castel de Saint-Pierre, Leibniz, 
Bentham, Kant, and the Saint Croix River boundary case and other precedents, 
— he proposed to various European jurists, that the differences between the 
United States and England arising out of the cruise of the Alabama and kindred 
causes, should be argued before an International Court of Arbitration. In No- 
vember, 1864, Mr. Balch, during a visit home, urged upon some of his friends, 
among them General Nathanial P. Banks, the submission of the Anglo-Ameri- 
can differences to such a court. General Banks requested Mr. Balch to see 
President Lincoln, and arranged an interview. The President questioned Mr. 
Balch, then lately returned from Europe, largely about trans-Atlantic affairs. 
The President ridiculed the Mexican Empire and said that he considered it "a 
pasteboard concern on which we won't waste a man nor a dollar. It will soon 
tumble to pieces and, maybe, bring the other down with it." President Lincoln 
approved of Mr. Balch's suggestion that the difficulties with England should 
be argued before a Court of Arbitration, as also afterwards did Richard Cob- 
den, James Lorimer, Prevost-Paradol and others. In an open letter, to which 
Horace Greeley gave a prominent place in the Tribune, May 13, 1865, Mr. Balch 
publicly expounded his idea of referring the outstanding differences between 
the two countries to a Court of Arbitration. In the fourth section of that let- 
ter he said : 

"IV. That the best manner of composing such a Court of Arbitration would 
be, that each party should select some competent jurist, those two to select an 
umpire. The claims to be presented, proved and argued before this Court, whose 
decisions should be final and without appeal." 






BALCH 135 

From this seed the Geneva Tribunal grew. Mr. Balch returned to Philadel- 
phia, October, 1873. In 1875 he was elected an honorary member of the Ameri- 
can Whig Society of Princeton University. The same year he was one of the 
founders of the Rittenhouse Club of Philadelphia. He published and edited, 
"Letters and Papers relating chiefly to the Provincial History of Pennsylvania," 
generally known as "The Shippen Papers," 1855 ; "The Examination of Joseph 
Galloway," 1855 ; "Papers relating to the Maryland Line during the Revolution," 
1857 ; "Les Francais en Amerique pendant la Guerre de 1' Independance des 
Etats-Unis, 1777-1783," 1872; "International Courts of Arbitration," 1874; 
"The Journal of Claude Blanchard," 1876, etc. He died at his home in Phila- 
delphia March 29, 1877. He married, October 5, 1852, Emily, daughter of 
Joseph Swift of Philadelphia. She is a member of the Acorn Club, and is a 
member and was Vice-president of the Colonial Dames of America. 
Issue of Thomas and Emily (Swift) Balch: 

Elise Willing Balch ; member of Acorn Club and Colonial Dames of America, and 
wrote the part of the "Provincial Councillors of Pennsylvania," entitled, "Edward 
Shippen." 

Edwin Swift Balch, A. B. Harv. and member of Philadelphia Bar. Member of Phila- 
delphia Club, American Philosophical Society, a manager of Franklin Institute, mem- 
ber of Council of Society of Colonial Wars of Pa., member of Royal Geographical So- 
ciety. He has written and published "Mountain Exploration" "Glacieres or Freezing 
Caverns," "Antarctica," "Comparative Art," "Roman and Prehistoric Remains in Cen- 
tral Germany," etc. He married Eugenia H Macfarlane, great-great-granddaughter of 
George Clymer, a signer of the Declaration of Independence ; 

Joseph Swift Balch, d. young; 

Thomas Willing Balch, A. B. Harv., LL.B. Univ. of Pa., and member of Philadelphia 
Bar. He is a member of Philadelphia Club, American Philosophical Society, Council 
of Historical Society of Pa., a manager of Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, and a 
director of Chesapeake and Delaware canal. He has written and published "The Ala- 
bama Arbitration," "The Alaska-Canadian Frontier," "The Alaska Frontier," "L'Adju- 
dication de la Question de la Frontiere entre l'Alaska et le Canada," "France in North 
Africa, 1906," etc. 



BEVAN FAMILY 

The name of Bevan had its origin in the old Cymric custom prior to the use 
of hereditary surnames, of designating each child of a common parent by con- 
necting his given name with that of his father, by the word "ap", meaning "son" 
thus John, son of Evan, was "John ap Evan" ; Evan, son of Richard, was "Evan 
ap Richard" ; John, son of Rhys, or Rees, a common given name among the 
Welch, was "John ap Rhys." From the three names mentioned originated the 
names Bevan, Prichard and Presse or Price, common among descendants of 
early Welsh settlers in Pennsylvania, formed by the incorporation of the "ap" 
into the parental given name, after the emigration of the family to America. 

John Bevan, first to bear the name in its modern form, came to Pennsylvania 
in 1683, from Glamorganshire, Wales, and was a son of Evan ap John, of 
Treverigg, Glamorganshire, and Jane, daughter of Richard ap Evan of Collena, 
and was descended in a direct line, through fourteen generations from Iestan ap 
Gwrgan, the last prince of Glamorgan, 1018, to 1090, and through his mother 
a lineal descendant of Edward III, King of England. The land upon which he 
was born in 1646, and upon which he died and was buried eighty years later, 
after an active and useful career, twenty years of which was spent in Pennsyl- 
vania, had been owned and occupied by his direct ancestors for probably ten 
centuries. 

Iestan ap Gwrgan, before referred to, became hereditary ruler of the territory 
known as Glamorgan, at the death of his father in 1030. His direct male ances- 
tors had held sovereignty over it for many generations, but owing to the arrogance 
and opposition of a younger brother, Iestan's uncle, Howell, was elected ruler 
in his stead, and was succeeded by Iestan in the year 1043. I n 1088, when 
Iestan was seventy years of age, he became involved in a war with Rhys ap 
Tewdyr, Prince of South Wales, by whom he was defeated in battle, and having 
lost a number of his castles, Iestan sought the aid of the Normans, who thereby 
gained a foothold and subsequently deprived Iestan of sovereignty and lands 
and he became an exile, first, at Glastonbury, later at Bath, and finally found 
refuge in the monastery of Llangenys, in Monmouthshire, where he died, in 
obscurity and forgotten, at the great age, it is said, of one hundred and twenty- 
nine years. He had married several times. By his first wife Denis, a sister to 
Bleddyn ap Cynfyn, Prince of Powys, he had six sons and one daughter; by his 
second wife, Angharad, daughter of Elystan Gloddrudd, Lord of Ferllwg, he had 
two sons, Madog and Rhys, and two daughters. 

Fitzhamon, leader of the Norman invaders, appropriated Glamorgan, which he 
divided into nineteen parts, and some of the sons of the exiled lord, Iestan ap 
Gwrgan, being popular with the people, and having taken no part in opposing 
Fitzhamon, four shares of their father's lands were set apart to them, and one 
share each to two of his sons-in-law. 

Madog ap Iestyn, son of Iestan ap Gwrgan, by his second wife, was one of 
those who shared in the division of his father's lands in Glamorgan, receiving 
from Fitzhamon, the Norman invader, the grant of the Lordship of Ruthyn and 



BEVAN 137 

the lands lying between the rivers Taff and Ely. He married Janet, daughter 
of Sytsyll, Lord of Upper Gwent, and had one son, 

Howell ap Madog, who married a daughter of Griffith ap Ivor Bach, and his 
eldest son was, 

Cynfrig ap Howell, who succeeded to the Lordship of Llantrithyd and Radyr, 
and died prior to 1280. He married Angharad, daughter and co-heiress of Lewis 
ap Rhys ap Rosser, and his eldest son was, 

Llewelyn ap Cynfrig, who possessed the lands of Llantrithyd and was living 
in 1280 and probably as late as 1317. He married a daughter of Sir Ralph 
Madog and had seven children, the fourth of whom, 

Ievan Mady ap Llewlyn, had the lands of Bwlch Gwyn, which descended to 
his only son, 

Llewelyn ap Ievan Mady, who is called "of Abergorky". He was three times 
married and by his second wife, a daughter of Llewelyn ap Ivorhir, had nine 
children, the fourth of whom was, 

Thomas Ddu, (that is Thomas the dark) who married Crisly, daughter of 
Howell ap Philip hir, and had three sons, the second of whom was, 

Jenkin ap Thomas Ddu, who married a daughter of David Lloyd ap Madoc, 
and had a son, 

Ralph ap Jenkin, who married the daughter and heiress of Philip Vawr, and 
had five children, the second of whom was, 

Jenkin ap Ralph, who was living, circa 1520. He married (first) Gwenllian, 
and (second) Margaret, daughter of Richard ap Ievan. By his first wife he had 
two children, the eldest of whom was, 

John ap Jenkin, who was living, circa 1550. He married Gwenllian, daughter 
of Ievan Morgan, descended from Bach ap Grono, and had six children, the eldest 
of whom was, 

Ievan (Evan) ap John, who died prior to November 7, 1632. He married 
Wenllian, daughter of David ap Llewelyn ap Howell, by whom he had six chil- 
dren, the eldest of whom, 

John ap Evan, of Treverigg, was grandfather of John Bevan, the Pennsylvania 
emigrant of 1683. Treverigg, in the parish of Llantrisant, was part of the orig- 
inal possessions of Iestan ap Gwrgan, set apart to his son, Madog ap Iestan, and 
descended in a direct line to John ap Evan, and is located a few miles from 
Cardiff, in Glamorganshire. The estate is about two miles long and one mile 
wide and is now divided into three farms. The ancient house in which John 
Bevan resided, near the little Quaker Meeting House, is still standing. The 
rooms, which are very large, are timbered in heavy oak and the floors are paved 
with stone, as usual in Wales at that time. A mill, in operation in John Bevan's 
time, is also still standing. 

John ap Evan, of Treverigg, was born about 1585, died prior to July 19, 1630, 
and was buried in Llantrisant Church, where his tomb can still be seen. He 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Richards, who was living in 1630. They 
had one son, Evan ap John, of whom presently ; and four daughters. The will 
of John ap Evan remaining on file at Llandaf Registry, Glamorganshire, bears 
date June 27, 1630, and was probated July 19, 1630. It gives legacies to 
Llandal Cathedral, and Llantrisant Church, and to his four daughters. To his 
son, Evan John, he devises his "three principals" or farms, in Treverigg. To 



138 BEVAN 

his wife, "Elizabeth Thomas", he devises the occupancy of his tenements called 
Kae Banall and Kystille for life. 

Evan ap John, only son of John ap Evan and his wife Elizabeth, was evidently 
of age at his father's death in 1630. He married Jane, daughter of Richard ap 
Evan, of Collena, an estate in Llantrisant Parish, by his wife, Catharine, daughter 
of Thomas Bassett, of Miscin, by his wife Mary, daughter of David Evans, 
whose wife Catharine was a great-great-granddaughter of Henry Somerset, 
second Earl of Worcester, who was a grandson of Henry Plantagenet Beaufort, 
beheaded in 1463, and the latter was a great-great-grandson of Edward III, 
King of England, and his wife, Philippa, daughter of William III, Count of 
Hainault and Holland, by his wife Joanna, daughter of Charles of Valois, son of 
King Philip of France. Hon. Samuel W. Pennypacker, a descendant of John 
Bevan, has traced the line back many generations further through a number of 
royal lines. Evan ap John and his wife Elizabeth had four sons, all of whom 
assumed the surname of Bevan, and one daughter who died unmarried. 

John Bevan, eldest son of Evan ap John, born on the ancestral estate of 
Treverigg, parish of Llantrisant, county of Glamorganshire, in the year 1646, 
inherited the estate of Treverigg at the death of his father about 1665, and on 
coming of age made liberal provision for his brothers and sisters who were un- 
provided for. He became a member of the Society of Friends and was for 
many years an esteemed minister of that sect, travelling extensively on that ser- 
vice. He became interested in founding a colony of Welsh Quakers in Pennsyl- 
vania, and as agent for a company of them purchased 2,000 acres of William 
Penn, a part of which was surveyed in Haverford township, Chester county, and 
about 300 acres in Merion, Philadelphia county. He also purchased a tract of 
land for his brother, Charles Bevan, and made several purchases in his own name. 
On the 10th of the 7th month (September) 1683, a certificate was granted by the 
Friends Meeting at Treverigg for John Bevan, his wife Barbara, and their chil- 
dren, to remove to Pennsylvania. They were accompanied by Ralph Lewis and 
a number of other Welsh Quakers who settled near them. His land was laid 
out in different parts of Philadelphia and Chester counties, and he settled on a 
tract of 300 acres in Merion, including the present site of Wynnewood station 
on the Pennsylvania railroad, and adjoining the line of Haverford township, 
Chester county. He early became interested in the affairs of his adopted country 
and was commissioned a Justice of Philadelphia county, November 6, 1685, and 
was re-commissioned November 2, 1689. He was returned as a member of 
Colonial Assembly in 1687-95-99-1700, and probably served continuedly in that 
body from 1687. As before stated, he was a minister among Friends and trav- 
elled extensively in the ministry, making several visits to his native land and to 
New England and other parts of the Colonies. In 1694 he visited Wales, his 
return to Pennsylvania being noted in a letter written by Rees Thomas to his 
father-in-law in Wales, under date of "ye 29th day of Ye 3d. Mo. 1695," which 
says, "My unkle John Bevan came over very well and had a good voyage, he told 
me he had seen thee twice, etc." He again crossed in 1698, and travelled through 
New England in 1701. In 1704, as given in a "Journal", under his own hand 
several years later, he experienced "a weighty concerne to return to my native 
country and that chiefly on Truth's account. I laid it before my wife and she 
could not be easy to stay behind me and we came over in the year 1704." They 



BEVAN 



139 



were accompanied by their youngest daughter, Barbara, their only child remaining 
unmarried, and she died in Wales, soon after their arrival there. They landed at 
Shields, Northumberland, and after attending meeting there, set forward for 
their old home in Glamorganshire, Wales, a distance of near three hundred miles, 
visiting a number of Meetings by the way, and the journal continues, "about the 
beginning of the eighth month 1704, we came to our home at Treveyricke". He 
died at Treverigg, aged eighty years, his will bearing date March, 1724-5, being 
probated October 21, 1726. The will mentions the 300 acre plantation in Merion 
as having been given to his son, Evan Bevan, prior to his decease. Another 
plantation in Merion, he devises to his daughter-in-law, Eleanor Bevan, for life, 
then to go to his grandchildren : Evan, Aubrey and Charles Bevan. 

John Bevan married, 1665, Barbara, daughter of William Aubrey, of Pencoyd, 
sometime Sheriff of Glamorganshiie, who also traces back to Edward III, King 
of England. 

Stiant Awbrey, founder of the Aubrey family in Great Britain, was "second 
brother to the Lord Awbrey, Earle of Bullen and Earle Marechal of France, and 
came to England with William ye Conqueror, in Anno 1066." 

Sir Rinalt Awbrey, son of Stiant, married a daughter of the Earle of Clare 
and Priany, and their second son, 

William Awbrey, of Aberkynfrig, county Brecknock, Wales, married Julia, 
daughter of Sir William Gunter, Knight. Their son, 

Thomas Awbrey, married Anne, daughter of Cayrawe (Carewe), baron of 
Cayrawe, and their son, 

Thomas Awbrey, of Aberkynfrig, Constable and Ranger of the Forest of 
Brecon, married Juhan, daughter of Trakaerne ap Einion, lord of Comond, and 
their son, 

Thomas Awbrey Goch, (i. e. red haired) married Nest, daughter of Owan 
Gethyn, of Glyn Taway, and their son, 

Richard Awbrey, married Creslie, daughter of Phe ap Eledr, and their son, 

Gwalter Awbrey, married Juhan, daughter and heiress of Rees Morgan ap 
Einion, of Carmarthen, and their son, 

Morgan Awbrey, of Aberkynfrig, married Alice, daughter of Watkin Thomas 
David Lloyd, and their son, 

Jenkin Awbrey, Esquire, married Gwenlliam, daughter of Owain ap Griffith, 
Esquire, of Tal y Lyn, and their son, 

Hophin Awbrey, married daughter of John Griffith of Gwyn, Esquire, and 
their son, 

William Awbrey, Esquire of Aberkynfrig, who died June 2J, 1547. married 
Jane Herbert, widow of Thomas Lloyd, and daughter of Sir Richard Herbert, 
of Montgomery Castle, who was Gentleman Usher to King Henry VIII, and 
resided at Blackhall where he dispensed a lavish hospitality with great luxury. 
He was the second son of Sir Richard Herbert, of Coldbrook House, near Aber- 
gavenny, Monmouthshire, who was slain at Banbury in 1469. Of him his great- 
great-grandson writes as "that incomparable hero, who twice passed thro a great 
army of Northern men alone, with his pole axe in his hand and returned without 
mortal hurt." He married Margaret, daughter of Thomas ap Griffith Nicholas, of 
Dynevor, and sister of the renowned Sir Rhys ap Thomas, who slew Richard 
III on Bosworth Field. Sir Richard Herbert was the second son of Sir William 



140 BEVAN 

ap Thomas, who was knighted in the year 1426 and died 1446. He acquired the 
lands and Castle of Raglan, from his mother's family, the Morleys. He was 
with Henry V, at Agincourt in 141 5 and was known as William Thomas Her- 
bert. He was the fifth son of Thomas ap Gwillinn of Perthir by his wife Maud, 
daughter and heiress of Sir John Morley, Knight, and grandson of Jenkin ap 
Adam, Lord of Kevondygewydd, who lived in the time Edward III and Richard 
II, Kings of England, and said to have been a descendant of a Norman family 
famous at the time of the Conquest. 

Richard Awbrey, of Aberkynfrig, was the eldest son of William and Jane 
(Herbert) Awbrey, and inherited the lands of Aberkynfrig at the death of his 
father, but sold them to his cousin, Dr. William Awbrey. He married Mar- 
garet, daughter of Thomas Gunter, and died in 1580, leaving a son, 

Richard Awbrey, of Llanelyw, whose tombstone, forming part of the pave- 
ment of the chancel in the church of Llanlyw, bears this inscription, "Here lyeth 
the body of Richard Awbrey of Llanelyw, Gent, who married Anne Vaughan, 
daughter to William Vaughan of Lanelyw, who had issue, William, Richard, 
Thomas, John, Theophilus and Elizabeth. Died the 23 day of September 
1646." 

The arms of the Awbrey and Vaughan families are likewise engraved upon 
the tombstone. 

Thomas Awbrey, third son of Richard and Anne, married, in 1646, his cousin, 
Elizabeth Awbrey, daughter of his father's brother William, and had by her ten 
children, the second of which, 

William Awbrey, married as his second wife, Letitia, daughter of William 
Penn, the founder. A daughter Martha became a member of the Society of 
Friends and emigrated with John and Barbara (Awbrey) Bevan to Pennsylvania 
and was married to Rees Thomas at Haver ford Meeting, June 18, 1692. The 
exact relationship between Barbara (Awbrey) Bevan and Martha Awbrey, who 
accompanied her to Pennsylvania and married Rees Thomas, has not been de- 
termined. 

Barbara (Awbrey) Bevan was much devoted to charity and religious work 
among the poor, both in Pennsylvania and in Wales. She accompanied her 
husband on his final return to his native town of Treverigg and died there as 
stated in his Journal, February 26, 1710-11 "at the age of seventy-three years 
and foure months, after a married life of upwards of forty-five years." 
Issue of John and Barbara (Awbrey) Bevan: — 

Evan Bevan. b. in Wales, circa 1666, d. at Merion, Philadelphia co, Pa., 1720; m. at Darby 
Friends Meeting, Feb. 9, 1693-4, Eleanor Wood, of Darby, who died in Merion, Jan. 
28, 1744-5; tne y had issue: 
John Bevan, b. Jan. 23, 1694-5, to whom his grandfather devised the paternal estate of 
Treverigg Glamorganshire, and he lived and died there, leaving descendants who still 
possess a portion of the ancestral estate ; 
Evan Bevan, b. Feb. 14, 1698, d. in Phila. 1746, leaving issue; 
Aubrey Bevan, of Chester co., Pa. ; 
Charles Bevan ; 
Anne Bevan ; 
Catharine Bevan ; 
Jane Bevan, b. March 29, 1707-8; 
Jane Bevan, m. John Wood, of Darby, of whom presently ; 
Anne Bevan, m. March 23, 1696-7, Owen Roberts, of Merion ; 



BEVAN 141 

Elizabeth Bevan, m. June 30, 1696, Joseph Richardson, son of Samuel Richardson, Pro- 
vincial Councillor, etc., an account of whom and his descendants is given elsewhere in 
these volumes ; 

Barbara Bevan, who returned with her parents to Wales and died there. 

Jane Bevan, eldest daughter of John and Barbara (Awbrey) Bevan, born 
in Glamorganshire, Wales, came with her parents to America, and married, De- 
cember 1, 1687, at the house of William Howell, in Haverford, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, John Wood, of Darby, son of George Wood, who came from 
Ash ford, Nottinghamshire, England, bringing a certificate which was presented 
at Darby Meeting, 5mo. (July) 27, 1682. George Wood was a member of the 
first Colonial Assembly, 1682-3, ar >d died at Darby, April 27, 1705. His son 
John was a member of Assembly, 1704-10-12-17, and was commissioned a Jus- 
tice, August 25, 1726, and served until his death, December 12, 1728. His wife, 
Jane (Bevan) Wood, died July 18, 1703, and he married (second) i2mo. (De- 
cember) 5, 1706-7, Rebecca Faucit, of Ridley, by whom he had two children: 
Joseph, born July 19, 1708, and Hannah, September 2, 17 12. 
Issue of John and Jane (Bevan) Wood: — 

George Wood, b. March 12, 1690-1, m. Feb. 1, 1715-16, Hannah Hood; 

William Wood, b. Jan. 17, 1691-2; m. Sept. 3, 1718, Mary Hood. 

John Wood, b. Feb. 14, 1693 ; 

Barbara Wood, b. May 11, 1696; 

Aubrey Wood, b. Nov. 22, 1698 ; 

Abraham Wood, b. March 2, 1701-2, d. 1733, of whom presently. 

Abraham Wood, youngest son of John and Jane (Bevan) Wood, born at 
Darby, March 2, 170 1-2, married Ursula, born 1703, died at Lancaster, Pennsyl- 
vania, in August of 1794, daughter of Philip and Julian Taylor, of Oxford town- 
ship, Philadelphia county. Abraham Wood removed with his family to Make- 
field, Bucks county, in 1729, where he purchased a farm on which he lived until 
his death in 1733. His widow, Ursula, married Joseph Rose, attorney at law, 
and removed to Lancaster, Pennsylvania, with her family. 
Issue of Abraham and Ursula (Taylor) Wood: — 

Abraham Wood; 
Elizabeth Wood; 
Ann Wood, b. Jan. 24, 1734, d. March 8, 1799, of whom presently. 

Ann Wood, posthumous child of Abraham and Ursula Wood, was born in 
Burlington county, New Jersey, January 24, 1734; removed with her mother and 
stepfather to Lancaster county, when a child. She married there, in January of 
1756, William Henry, one of the prominent citizens of that county. The Henrys 
are of Scotch ancestry. Robert and Mary A. Henry, with their adult sons: John, 
Robert and James, came to Pennsylvania in 1722, and settled on a tract of land 
watered by Doe Run, in West Cain township, Chester county. Robert and Mary 
A. died in 1735. Their son John married Elizabeth, daughter of Hugh and 
Mary (Jenkins) de Vinney, who settled in Chester county in 1723, not far from 
the Henry plantation. He died in Chester county, 1744, and his wife at Lan- 
caster, in October of 1778, aged seventy-seven years, and is buried in the grounds 
of St. James Protestant Episcopal Church. 



142 BEVAN 

Hon. William Henry, eldest of their eight children, was born in Chester 
county, May 19, 1729. Shortly after the death of his father he removed to 
Lancaster, where he engaged in the manufacture of firearms, and did an exten- 
sive business with Indian traders. As Armourer of the troops of Generals 
Braddock and Forbes, he accompanied both expeditions against Fort Duquesne. 
He took an active part in the public affairs of his county and the State, and 
throughout the Revolution ardently espoused the cause of the Colonists, and 
filled many offices of honor and trust. He was commissioned Justice of the 
Peace in 1758-70-77, and Associate Justice and President Judge of the Common 
Pleas, Quarter Session and Orphans' Court, November 18, 1780. In 1776 he 
was elected a member of the Assembly, and "from October 17 to December 4, 
1777, served in the Council of Safety of Pennsylvania; and as County Treasurer 
from 1777 to his death. His commission of Armourer of the State is dated Sep- 
tember 4, 1778, and he was selected as one of the Commissioners to limit prices 
of merchandise, in the convention called by the meeting of Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, October 29, 1779, to assemble at Philadelphia, January 5, 1780. He was 
appointed Dedimus Protestatem in 1778-81. As Assistant Commissary General 
from 1778, he was of great service to the army in the field. He served two 
terms in the old Congress, 1784-85. In 1767 he was elected a member of the 
American Philosophical Society ; was one of the first members of the Society for 
Promoting Agriculture ; and a founder of the Juliana Library of Lancaster. As 
an ingenious inventor he enjoyed a high reputation, particularly in the applica- 
tion of steam for motive power, and built the first steamboat in the United 
States, and in 1771 invented the screw-auger. William Henry died at Lancas- 
ter, December 15, 1786, and his wife Ann, March 8, 1799. 
Issue of William and Ann (Wood) Henry: — 

William Henry, b. March 12, 1757, d. April 21, 1821 ; m. Sabina Schropp ; of whom pres- 
ently ; 

John Joseph Henry, b. Nov. 4, 1758, d. April 22, 181 1 ; m. Jane Chambers and has left is- 
sue ; was a member of Gen. Arnold's army of invasion of Canada, captured on assault 
of Quebec ; Judge of Second Judicial District of Pennsylvania ; 

George Henry, d. inf. ; 

Abraham Henry, b. Nov. 10, 1762, d. Sept. 25, 1766; 

Elizabeth Henry, b. April 8, 1764, d. Oct. 1764; 

Elizabeth Henry, b. March 27, 1765, d. June 1, 1798; m. Rev. John Molther ; 

Mary Henry, b. Jan. 11, 1767, d. Aug. 22, 1768; 

Abraham Henry, b. March 14, 1768, d. Aug. 12, 181 1; m. Elizabeth Martin; 

Andrew Henry, b. Dec. 8, 1769, d. March 9, 1772; 

James Henry, b. March 13, 1771, d. Jan. 1, 1813; 

Matthew Henry, b. Jan. 8, 1773, d. March 28, 1804; 

Nathaniel Henry, b. April 23, 1775, d. Jan. 9, 1776; 

Benjamin West Henry, b. Jan. 18, 1777, d. Dec. 26, 1806; an artist of considerable merit; 
m. Catharine Huffnagle. 

Hon. William Henry, (2nd) eldest son of William and Ann (Wood) Henry, 
born at Lancaster, Pennsylvania, March 12, 1757, removed in early manhood to 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, where he extensively carried on the manu- 
facture of firearms. He served as Justice of the Courts of that county from 1788 
to 1814, and in 1792, was a presidential elector for Washington's last term; Com- 
missioner to erect the first bridge across the Delaware at Easton. He died in 



BEVAN i 43 

Philadelphia, April 21, 1821, and is buried at the "Woodlands." He married, 
November 21, 1781, Sabina, daughter of Matthew and Anna Maria Schropp. 
She was born at Nazareth, Northampton county, November 5, 1759, and died at 
Bethlehem, May 8, 1848. 

Issue of William and Sabina (Schropp) Henry: — 

Elizabeth Henry, b. Oct. 15, 1782, d. Dec. 15, 1844; m. John Jordan, of whom presently; 

John Joseph Henry, b. June 17, 1784, d. Dec. 2, 1836; m. Mary R. Smith and left issue; 

Anne Henry, b. Sept. 29, 1786, d. June 22, 1803, unm. ; 

Maria Henry, b. May 6, 1788, d. April 8, 1858; m. Rev. Andrew Benade and left issue; 

Matthew S. Henry, b. Aug. 10, 1790, d. Jan. 20, 1862; m. (first) Anne C. Henry; (second) 
Esther Berg; left issue; 

Sabina S. Henry, b. Aug. 4, 1792, d. March 22, 1859; m. John F. Wolle, and left issue; 

William Henry (3d), b. Aug. 15, 1794, d. May 22, 1878; m. (first) Mary Albright; (sec- 
ond) Sarah Atherton and left issue by both marriages; 

Edward Henry, b. July 29, 1799, d. Jan. 22, 1800. 

Elizabeth Henry, eldest child of Hon. William and Sabina (Schropp) Henry, 
born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, October 15, 1782; was educated at 
the well known Female Seminary at Bethlehem. Married, August 23, 1804, John 
Jordan, son of Frederick and Catharine (Eckel) Jordan. 

Frederick Jordan, of French extraction, was born in county Kent, England, 
in September of 1744. In early manhood, he came to Pennsylvania with his 
brother Mark, and shortly after settled in Alexandria township, Hunterdon 
county, New Jersey, where he purchased a farm of one hundred and forty-two 
acres and erected a flour mill. He subsequently purchased another mill property 
at Hickory Tavern, same county, of both of which he died possessed. During 
the greater part of the Revolution, the Jordan mills were kept busy grinding grain 
for the use of the army. 

When the seat of war was removed southward, Frederick Jordan entered the 
army, January 1, 1781, as a corporal in the company of Capt. Samuel Hendry, 
Second Regiment New Jersey Continental Line, Col. Elias Dayton, and on May 
1 was promoted sergeant. His services in the Yorktown campaign, with his 
regiment, are worthy of record. On August 1st his regiment and others were 
mustered at Dobb's Ferry, New York, and on the 19th crossed the Hudson and 
marched to Paramus, New Jersey. The following day the march was continued 
to Second river, and on the 21st to Springfield, where they went into camp. On 
September 1st the New Jersey regiment, with others of the army in the division 
of Maj. Gen. Benjamin Lincoln, crossed the Delaware at Trenton in boats, and 
bivouacked on the Neshaminy Creek, Bensalem, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and 
the next day marched through Philadelphia and encamped on the west side of the 
Schuylkill river. By September 6th the Jersey troops reached the Head of Elk, 
Maryland, and on finding that sufficient transportation by water could not be fur- 
nished there, they marched to Plumb Point, where they embarked, and on Sep- 
tember 19th anchored in York river, Virginia. The following day they entered 
the James river, passing the French fleet in Hampton Roads, and anchored off 
Newport News. On September 23rd a number of companies were landed near 
Williamsburg, and the following day the remainder, after some difficulty, joined 
their regiment. 

Under general orders, September 24th, the two New Jersey regiments with 



144 BEVAN 

the Rhode Island battalion were formed into a brigade, with Col. Dayton in 
command. On the march of the army to Yorktown, Gen. Clinton's and Col. 
Dayton's brigades established the advance line on the left of the American 
troops, and on the 29th they began to throw up earthworks under direction of 
Gen. Duportail, commander of the corps of engineers. When Cornwallis aban- 
doned his outer works they were occupied by the allied forces. Col. Dayton on 
October 1st, being assigned to court-martial duty, Col. Matthias Ogden, of the 
First Regiment, was appointed to the command of the brigade. Four days later 
ground was broken for the first parallel by Gen. Lincoln's troops, and on October 
8th orders were issued to form the Jersey troops into one regiment, under Col. 
Ogden. The same day the French troops bombarded the British left, which was 
taken up by the Americans, during which Ogden's men were busy making gabions, 
fascines and pickets. On the night of October nth the second parallel was 
made by Baron Steuben's division. Six days later the allied troops had all their 
artillery in position, prepared for a cannonade of two days, to be followed by a 
general assault on the British works, but Cornwallis sent commissioners to treat 
for the surrender. Two days later the surrender took place, Col. Ogden's regi- 
ment being in the receiving line. 

On October 27th the Jersey troops were employed in levelling the British 
works, after which duty they marched by land to the Head of Elk, where they 
joined the army transported by water, and continued the march to Morristown, 
New Jersey, where the Jersey troops went into winter quarters. 

In March, 1783, John N. Cummings was Lieutenant-Colonel Commandant of 
the regiment, and on June 5th Sergt. Jordan was furloughed at New Windsor, on 
the Hudson, until the ratification of a definite treaty of peace, and finally was 
honorably discharged by proclamation of the Continental Congress, November 

3. I783- 

Frederick Jordan married, 1769, Catherine, daughter of Henry and Susanna 

Eckel. She was born in Bedminster township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
December 28, 1750, died in Alexandria township, Hunterdon county. New Jer- 
sey, July 1, 1786. He died August 20, J784, and both are buried in the church- 
yard of St. Thomas Protestant Episcopal Church. They had issue : John, born 
September 1, 1770; Frederick; Mary; Catherine; Henry. 

John Jordan, son of Frederick and Catherine (Eckel) Jordan, born in Alex- 
andria township, Hunterdon county, New Jersey, September 1, 1770. was but 
fourteen years of age when his father died, and his mother dying two years later, 
he came to Philadelphia and entered the counting house of his uncle, Godfrey 
Haga, the eminent merchant and philanthropist, and in 1793 succeeded him in 
the business there. He died in Philadelphia, February 17, 1845, ar, d his wife 
December 15, 1844. 

Issue of John and Elizabeth (Henry) Jordan: — 

William Henry Jordan, b. Oct. 5, 1806, d. unm. Dec. 26, 1835; 

John Jordan Jr., b. May 11, 1808, d. March 23, 1890; m. Jane Bell; no issue; entered 

Univ. of Pa., 1823; Bank president 1843-75, Director N. P. R. R., 1852-90; Antiquarian; 

Vice-President Historical Society of Pennsylvania; 
Edward Jordan, b. Sept. 10. 1810, d. Oct. 3, 1842, unm. ; 
Antoinette Jordan, b. Jan. 10, 1813 ; m. John T. Bell. Issue : Helen, Emilv, Laura and 

Edward J. Bell. 
Francis Jordan, b. June 26, 1815, d. August 13, 1885; m. Emily Woolf ; of whom presently. 






BEVAN 



145 



Francis Jordan, youngest child of John and Elizabeth ( Henry ) Jordan, horn 
in Philadelphia, June 26, 181 5, was a prominent merchant of Philadelphia and 
connected with a number of the city's financial institutions. He died at Ocean 
Beach, New Jersey, August 13, 1885. He married, December 10, 1839, Emily, 
born in Philadelphia, November 12, 1821, died September 4, 1889, daughter 
of John Lewis and Margaret (Ewing) Woolf, and granddaughter of Lewis 
Woolf. 

Lewis Woolf, granddaughter of Emily (Woolf) Jordan, was born in Han- 
over, Germany, 1747. He came to Pennsylvania and became a resident of Potts- 
grove, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county. On July 11, 1778, he entered 
the Continental army as a private in the Troop Marechausse, Capt. Bartholomew 
Von Heer, (formerly of Proctor's Artillery), organized under resolution of 
Congress, May 27, 1778, to act as provost guard of the army. The Troop was 
mounted and accoutred as light dragoons. 

John Lewis Woolf was born in Philadelphia, 1787, died February 12, 1850. 
During the second war with England, he was commissioned Lieut.-Col. of the 
Seventy-fourth Regiment Pennsylvania Militia, August 14, 1814. For many 
years he took an active interest in the affairs of the city, was an Inspector of the 
Eastern Penitentiary; president of the Guardians of the Poor; School Director; 
Director Northern Liberties and Penn Township Railway Company ; vestryman 
of Zion, and St. John's Protestant Episcopal Churches, and a prominent Mason. 
He married, June 19, 1817, Margaret, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Keen) 
Ewing, born in Lancaster, 1786, died in Philadelphia, January 7, 1868. She was 
a descendant of Joran Kyn and Jasper Yeates of the Governor's Council, 1696- 
1720. They had three sons and two daughters, one of the latter, Emily, becom- 
ing the wife of Francis Jordan. 

John Ewing, soa of John and Sarah (Yeates) Ewing, was born in Lancaster, 
June 22, 1755. He married, 1795, Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas and Margaret 
Keen, and had one daughter, Margaret. He died February 14, 1799. His wife 
survived him, and later married Jonathan Hillborn, of Limerick township, Mont- 
gomery county. John Ewing was commissioned Captain of the Second Com- 
pany, Eighth Battalion, Lancaster County Militia, Lieutenant-Colonel James 
Ross, in 1780, and served to the close of the Revolution, performing a number 
of "tours of duty." 

Issue of Francis and Emily (Woolf) Jordan: — 

John Woolf Jordan, LL.D., b. Sept. 14, 1840, of whom presently ; 

William Henry Jordan, b. Jan. 27, 1842; m. Clara W. Sparks; no issue; 

Francis Jordan Jr., b. Aug. 28, 1843; member of American Philosophical Society, the 
Numismatic and Antiquarian Society and author of "Life of William Henry" ; m. Mary 
A. Harding, and has issue ; 

Emily Jordan, b. March 18, 1845, d. June 17, 1847; 

Ewing Jordan, M. D., b. March 18, 1847 : entered College Department, Univ. of Pa., 
1864, awarded Senior English prize ; graduated from Medical Department ; Resident 
Physician Pennsylvania Hospital; Visiting Physician to Philadelphia Dispensary. Lin- 
coln Institute, Catharine Street Dispensary, Southern Home for Destitute Children; 
First Assistant Physician State Hospital for Insane, Norristown, 1880-85 ; member of 
Philadelphia County Medical Society, etc. ; 

Gilbert Jordan, b. Aug. 5, 1848, m. Ellen Poinier Canfield, of Morristown, N. J., b. May 
29, 1852 ; they have issue ; 

Antoinette Jordan, b. Oct. 17, 1840; wife of Rev. William H. Cavanagh ; 

Reverend Walter Jordan, b. Oct. 23, 185 1 ; m. Nellie Beaumont Gloninger ; has issue; 
10 



146 BEVAN 

Ella Jordan, b. May 25, 1853, d. Dec. 10, 1893, unm. ; 
Augustus W. Jordan, b. Dec. 4, 1854; m. Julia Gillet ; has issue; 
Lawrence Thomsen Jordan, b. May 28, 1856, d. Dec. 5, 1856 ; 
Maria Louisa Jordan, b. Dec. 28, 1857, d. Jan. 20, 1861 ; 
Rodman Jordan, b. March 28, i860, d. Dec. 12, 1861. 

John Woolf Jordan, LL. D., eldest son of Francis and Emily (Woolf) 
Jordan, was born in Philadelphia, September 14, 1840. He received his educa- 
tion in private schools of the city, and graduated from Nazareth Hall, in 1856. 
Lafayette College conferred upon him the degree of LL. D. in 1902. He is 
librarian of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania; editor of the "Pennsylvania 
Magazine of History and Biography;" president of the Pennsylvania Federation 
of Historical Societies ; vice-president of the Colonial Society of Pennsylvania ; 
registrar of the Pennsylvania Society Sons of the Revolution ; vice-president of 
the Swedish Colonial Society ; honorary member of Pennsylvania Society of the 
Cincinnati ; and connected with many learned societies. He is also a Commis- 
sioner of Valley Forge Park ; a commissioner for the Preservation of the Pub- 
lic Records of Pennsylvania, etc. During the "Emergency" of 1863, he served 
in Starrs' Battery, attached to the 32d Regiment, Pennsylvania Militia. Dr. 
Jordan's contributions to local and general history are numerous. He edited 
"Extracts from the Diary of Jacob Hiltzheimer of Philadelphia, 1765-98," and 
among his other contributions are, "A Red Rose from the Olden Time, 1752-72," 
"Friedensthal and its Stockaded Mill", "Narrative of John Heckwelder's Journey 
to the Wabash in 1792," "John Heckwelder's Notes of Travel to Ohio, 1797," 
"Bishop A. G. Spangenberg's Journey to Onondaga in 1747," "Military Hos- 
pitals at Bethlehem and Lititz during the Revolution," "Revolutionary History 
of Bethlehem, 1775-83," Franklin as a Genealogist," etc. 

Dr. Jordan was twice married, and has three sons and one daughter. 



RAWLE FAMILY 

The Rawle family that has for over two centuries been prominently identified 
with the professional, business and social life of Philadelphia, came of ancient 
lineage in Great Britain, and was probably of Norman origin. The surname 
Rawle is doubtless derived from the Norman Radulphus, or Ralph, and its 
French diminutive Raoul, which in its turn came from the Norse Rollo. In 1267 
Rogerus de Raule is mentioned in an Inquisition post mortem; and in 1273 
appears Henricus de Raule. Families of the name were at one time, and at the 
present day a few are still to be found, scattered along the coast of the British 
Channel from Tintagel and Boscastle in Cornwall, through Clovelly, Ilfracombe 
and Lynton in Devonshire, and Oare, Porlock and Minehead in Somersetshire. 
In 1412, John Raule and Simon Rale appear in the records of Somersetshire, 
and John Rawle and John de Releg in 1428, and there are indications that this 
last was nearest the original spelling of the name. In 1523 John Rawell was 
assessed in the last mentioned county and his widow as Cecilia Rawle in 1546, 
but in both their wills their surname was spelled Rawlie. In certain localities in 
later years, persons of the name of Rawle were and still are living, indeed some- 
times on the identical estates on which centuries ago a family named Ralegh 
resided. The original seat in Devonshire of that family was named Ralegh, and 
it possessed as early as 1398 an estate in the neighboring county of Hereford 
upon which, in 1607, one Henry Rawle resided. At Ralegh, or, as it is now 
spelled, Rawleigh, Ralegh, Bishop of Winchester, was born in 1244. As early 
as the reign of Henry II. (1154-1189), the name appears also in Somersetshire 
in the grant of the manor of Nettlecomb to Hugh de Ralegh. 

The Rawle family of America is descended from the Rawle family, lords of 
Tresparret and other manors, seated at Hennett, in the parish of St. Juliot, in the 
Hundred of Lesnewth on the north coast of Cornwall, near the ancient harbor of 
Boscastle, formerly Bottreux Castle. The estate and barton house of Hennett, 
adjacent to the Parish church of St. Juliot, was the home of the Rawle family in 
the middle of the fifteenth century. They also became lessees of crown lands 
there and of the rectory of St. Juliot, which, as shown by a suit in chancery in 
1601 was granted in 1576 by Nicholas Rawle, of the Inner Temple, London, to his 
father, William Rawle, from whom it descended to his son William Rawle, the 
plaintiff in the suit of 1601. The coat-of-arms of the Rawle family of St. Juliot, 
county Cornwall, were, "Sable, three swords, two with their points in base, the 
middle one in chief." Crest, An arm embowed in armour proper, holding in 
gauntlet a sword, argent, hilt or. 

William Rawle, father of Nicholas before mentioned, was living at St. Juliot 
prior to 1550. As was not uncommon in those days he had two sons by the 
name of William, the elder of whom, the plaintiff of 1601, continued at St. Juliot, 
where he died in 1605. His will, bearing date March 6, 1604-5, directs that he be 
buried at the church of St. Juliot, and devises to his wife the tenement of 
"Hennett," during her widowhood ; to his son Edward lands in parish of David- 
stowe; makes eldest son Francis and wife Jane the executors, and his "brother 



148 RAWLE 

William Rawle" and Richard Westlaike, overseers. The widow died in 1636. 
William the testator, above-mentioned, rebuilt "Hennett" during the reign of 
Queen Elizabeth, and caused the coat-of-arms of the Tudor family to be moulded 
in plaster on the gable wall of the room over the hall where they may still be seen. 

Much of the land in the Parish of St. Juliot still remains in the female line 
of the Rawle family. Right Rev. Richard Rawle D. D., President of Codington 
College, Barbadoes, and Bishop of Trinidad, the last male of that branch of the 
family, being also Lord of the Manor of Tretarret, having died childless in 1689, 
devised his estates to Edmund Valleck, the son of his sister. 

William Rawle the younger, mentioned as overseer in will of his brother 
William, had two sons — Francis, who removed to Rochester, county Kent, and 
died there in 1628, a young man, and, 

William Rawle, second son, who remained at St. Juliot, and died there in 
1646, leaving three sons : — 

William Rawle, of St. Juliot, d. 1727; by wife Dorothy had children Elizabeth, Grace, 

Edward, and Katharine ; 
Edward Rawle, also of St. Juliot, m. Grace Shepherd ; had children, William, Thomasine, 

Mary, Edward, and Richard and three others d. inf. ; 
Francis Rawle, became member of Society of Friends and emigrated to Pennsylvania 

in 1686 with son Francis ; of whom presently. 

Francis Rawle (2), was born at St. Juliot, county Cornwall, but was a resi- 
dent of Plymouth, county Devon, in 1660, prior to which he had embraced the 
tenets of "the people called Quakers", as Besse gives his name as one of the 
twenty persons taken from a Meeting of Friends and imprisoned in the Castle of 
Exon, 31110. 20, 1660. On October 4, 1663, Francis Rawle is again taken from a 
meeting at Plymouth by a constable; and again with eighteen others, on April 
23, 1665, is carried from a meeting at Plymouth and committed to Bridewell. On 
August 26, 1665, taken by a sergeant and soldiers and again committed to Bride- 
well. 

In May, 1670, Francis Rawle of Plymouth suffered a distraint of goods in 
lieu of a fine for refusing to take an oath. The last record we have of his impris- 
onment for conscience sake was on August 26, 1683, when Francis Rawle Sr. 
and Francis Rawle Jr. are both confined in the "High Gaol at Exeter." 

To escape the endless and severe persecutions to which members of his sect 
were subjected in their native country of England, Francis Rawle and his son 
decided to emigrate to Pennsylvania, and March 13, 1685-6, by deeds of lease and 
release, William Penn assured to Francis Rawle Jr. 2,500 acres of land to be laid 
out in the Province of Pennsylvania ; and father and son took passage at 
Plymouth in the ship "Desire," which arrived in Philadelphia June 23, 1686. The 
"Register of Arrivals in Philadelphia, 1682-1686," gives the names of Francis 
Rawle Sr. and Francis Rawle Jr. and six servants of the latter among the list 
of passengers on the "Desire." Jane Rawle, wife of Francis Sr., did not accom- 
pany her husband and son on the "Desire", probably remaining at Plymouth to 
care for a sick daughter, as it appears that Rebecca Rawle, daughter of Francis 
and Jane, was buried there June 7, 1686. She was in Philadelphia prior to the 
marriage of her son Francis, October 18, 1689, when her name appears as a 
witness on his marriage certificate at the Philadelphia Monthly Meeting. Of the 
2,500 acres of land purchased of William Penn by deed of March 13, 1685-6, 



RAWLE 



149 



Francis Rawle, of Plymouth, county of Devon, by lease and release dated March 
25-26, 1696, conveyed 500 acres to Richard Gove, who accompanied the Rawles 
to Philadelphia in the "Desire." The 2,500 acres were located in Plymouth town- 
ship, Philadelphia, now Montgomery, county, on the banks of Schuylkill, below 
the present site of Norristown, the tract being known as that of the "Plymouth 
Friends." Both Francis Sr. and his son seem to have remained in Philadelphia 
from the time of their arrival, where lots were surveyed to Francis Jr. as well, 
as "Liberty Land" in right of his purchase of 2,500 acres. Francis Rawle Sr. 
died in Philadelphia and was buried February 25, 1696-7. His wife Jane died 
almost a year earlier ; she was buried February 9, 1695-6. 

Francis Rawle, son of Francis and Jane Rawle, was born in Plymouth, Devon- 
shire, England, about the year 1663. O n his arrival in Philadelphia he engaged 
in the mercantile business, which he followed for a number of years, in connec- 
tion with the administration of various official positions under the City and Pro- 
vincial government, and late in life was admitted to the practice of law at the 
Philadelphia Bar. He was a man of good education and a high order of intel- 
ligence, and was early called upon to take a prominent part in the affairs of his 
adopted city and Province. He was commissioned Justice of the Peace and of 
the City Courts, January 2, 1689, an d was named by William Penn in his first 
charter of the city, May 20, 1691, as one of the six members of Board of Alder- 
men, and in 1694 was made one of the Commissioners of Property. He was 
elected to Provincial Assembly in 1704 and regularly re-elected until 1709; was 
again returned in 1719, and continued to serve until his death in 1727, taking an 
active part in the law-making body of the Province and serving on many impor- 
tant committees. He belonged to the "Anti-Proprietary party," under the leader- 
ship of David Lloyd. He was called to the Provincial Council in 1724, but de- 
clined to serve. He also filled the position of Deputy Register General for Phil- 
adelphia for some years. 

Francis Rawle was author of an anonymous pamphlet published in Philadel- 
phia, in 1725, entitled "Ways and Means for the Inhabitants on the Delaware 
to become Rich", a treatise on political economy, the first book printed by Benja- 
min Franklin. An attack was made upon it, also anonymously, in a pamphlet 
supposed to have been written by Secretary James Logan, entitled, "A Dialogue 
Showing What's therein to be Found." This called forth a reply from Rawle, 
in a second pamphlet, published in 1726, entitled "A Just Rebuke to 'A Dialogue', 
and that treatise entitled 'Ways and Means, &c.,' rescued from the Dialoguist's 
charge of Inconsistencies and Contradictions." Francis Rawle is also supposed 
to have been author of another anonymous work, published in 1721, which was 
considered of importance and created a great stir at the time, entitled "Some 
Remedies Proposed for the Restoring the Sunk Credit of the Province of Penn- 
sylvania, with Some Remarks on its Trade." Copies of these four pamphlets 
are in the collection of The Historical Society of Pennsylvania. 

Francis Rawle married, at Philadelphia Monthly Meeting, October 18, 1689, 
Martha, born in Dublin, Ireland, September 24, 1668, daughter of Robert Turner, 
Provincial Councillor, etc., by his second wife, Martha Fisher, who came to Penn- 
sylvania with her father in the "Lion" of Liverpool, arriving in Philadelphia 
October 14, 1683. Her father, Robert Turner, was a son of Robert and Mary 
Turner, of Royston, Hertfordshire, England, and was born at Cambridge Octo- 



150 RAWLE 

ber, 1635. He joined the Society of Friends early in life and was one of its 
early ministers, travelling extensively in England, Ireland and Wales, "in the 
service of Truth." Prior to his emigration to America he was a linen draper at 
Dublin, Ireland, possessed of a considerable fortune. He married (first) at 
Dublin, March 27, 1662, Elizabeth Ruddock, of Dover, who died during the 
following year, leaving a daughter Elizabeth, born March 12, 1663, who died in 
1678. He married (second), at Rosenallis, Queens county, Ireland, September 
10, 1665, Martha Fisher, of Cheshire, England, who died May 1682. They were 
the parents of four children, viz. : — 

Martha Turner, b. Sept. 24, 1668, d. in Philadelphia, July 18, 1745; m. Francis Rawle; 

Robert Turner, b. Aug. 25, 1672, d. same year; 

Abraham Turner, b. Sept. 28, 1673, d. 1675; 

Mary Turner, b. Feb. 7, 1674, m. and remained in Ireland. 

Robert Turner was a preacher among Friends as early as 1657, and suffered 
imprisonment for conscience sake in 1660-61-62, both at Bridewell and New- 
gate. He was an intimate friend of William Penn, and the purchaser of many 
large tracts of land in Pennsylvania, and like Samuel Carpenter was one of 
the wealthiest of the early English immigrants to Pennsylvania, and with Car- 
penter, one of the most prominent in the affairs of the Province. He bought a 
certificate from the Friends' Meeting at Dublin, dated 5mo. 3, 1683. He was 
then a widower, but married (third), after his arrival in Philadelphia, Susanna, 
daughter William Welch, Provincial Councillor, in 1683. By the third mar- 
riage he had a son Robert, who was buried December 18, 1692. Both Robert 
Turner and Francis Rawle were adherents of George Keith in his schism of 
1692. Robert Turner died in Philadelphia, and was buried in the Friends' bury- 
ing ground, August 24, 1700. Letters of administration were granted on his 
estate to his son-in-law, Francis Rawle, April 28, 1701. Turner had been a 
member of Provincial Council by election from Philadelphia for three years from 
March 30, 1686, was appointed to that body (no longer elective), by William 
Penn, in 1693, and again, on the restoration of the charter in 1700, with Thomas 
Lloyd, Arthur Cooke, John Simcock, and John Eckley, he was named and em- 
powered to act as Lieutenant or Deputy Governor of the Province, on February 
9, 1687-8, with the above named colleagues, filled that position until the arrival 
of Gov. Blackwell, December 18, 1688. He was one of the active and promin- 
ent members of the Council, and when he was too indisposed to attend the Coun- 
cil, September 3, 1686, the Council adjourned to his house and held its session 
there. He was commissioned Provincial Justice, August 18, 1684, the follow- 
ing day Justice of the Peace of Philadelphia county, and re-commissioned May 
1, 1686. On the death of Christopher Taylor he was commissioned by the Pro- 
vincial Council, on July 5, 1686, with William Frampton and William South- 
ersby, to administer the office of Register General, and November 18 following, 
Frampton having died and Turner declining to accept the office, James Claypoole 
was appointed for a term of three years. Robert Turner was, however, ap- 
pointed to the office of Register General of the Province, March 4, 1690, and 
filled the office for three years. He was also Provincial Treasurer for a number 
of years, as well as Receiver General for the Proprietaries. 



RAWLE 



151 



Francis Rawle died at Philadelphia, March 5, 1726-7; his widow, Martha, sur- 
vived him for eighteen years, and died July 18, 1745. 
Issue of Francis and Martha (Turner) Rawle: — 

Robert, eldest son, d. s. p., 1730; 

Francis, removed when a young man to Paramaribo, capital of Surinam, or Dutch 
Guiana, South America, and was a successful merchant there until his death, May 
i4..i779-_ M. Sept. 26, 1733, Margaret Fickes, of Paramaribo, their marriage certificate 
written in Dutch, being now in possession of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. 
They had issue : — 

Samuel Rawle, of whom later; 

Francis Rawle, d. s. p. before his father; 

Sarah Rawle, m. Thomas Massey ; d. s. p. 1784; 

Elizabeth Rawle, m. (first) Simon Kirchner, by whom she had no issue; (second), 
1778, at Paramaribo, George William Steinhauer, and had issue; d. Philadel- 
phia, April 1789; 

William, d. Philadelphia, Dec. 16, 1741, m. Margaret Hodge, of whom presently; 
Joseph, removed to Somerset county, Maryland, d. there 1762, unm. ; 
John, d. in 1759, unm. ; 

Benjamin, m. Hannah Hudson, d. in 1784, leaving dau. Rebecca, who m. Jacob Ridgway, 

and left issue ; 
Mary, m. William Cooper, of Camden, N. J., later of Philadelphia; left dau. Rebecca, 

who d. unm. before 1761 ; 
Rebecca, d. unm. oct. 2, 1759; 
Elizabeth, d. unm. 1758; 
Jane, m. Abraham England, of New Castle; no issue. 

William Rawle, third son of Francis and Martha (Turner) Rawle, received 
a good classical education, and being a man of scholarly tastes became an eminent 
classical Greek and Latin scholar, acquiring an extensive library of choice and 
valuable works of the best authors. He was an original member of the Library 
Company of Philadelphia, and a member of its board of Directors, from its incep- 
tion until his death. He was also the first American to donate books to the 
Library. He was admitted to the Philadelphia Bar, April 4, 1728, but died when 
comparatively a young man, December 16, 1741. He married, August 29, 1728, 
Margaret, daughter of Henry Hodge, a prominent merchant of Philadelphia. 
She died soon after the birth of her only child, Francis Rawle. 

Francis Rawle, only child of William and Margaret (Hodge) Rawle, was 
born in Philadelphia, July 10, 1729, and was therefore but twelve years old when 
his father died. He was liberally educated, and of attractive manners and con- 
versation. In 1755 he made an extensive trip through Europe. Landing at 
Cork, Ireland, he made a tour of Ireland, and then visited other parts of Europe, 
writing an interesting account of his journey. Returning to Philadelphia he 
married, December, 1756, Rebecca, daughter of Edward Warner, by his wife 
Anna Coleman. Like his father, Francis Rawle was cut off almost at the begin- 
ning of what bade fair to become a brilliant career, dying June 7, 1761, from the 
effects of a gunshot wound received by the accidental discharge of a fowling 
piece while hunting at his country seat. His widow, Rebecca (Warner) Rawle, 
married (second), November 10, 1767, Samuel Shoemaker, who that year suc- 
ceeded his father as City Treasurer ; was a member of the Board of Aldermen of 
the City of Philadelphia, became Mayor of the City in 1769, and served two 
terms. He was also Justice of Philadelphia courts and member of Colonial 
Assembly. Both he and his second wife Rebecca were decided Royalists during 



152 RAWLE 

the Revolution ; he was acting Mayor of the city during its occupation by the 
British, and retired to New York on its evacuation by the British army. Mrs. 
Rawle-Shoemaker was a woman of uncommon strength of intellect and cul- 
ture, "possessed of every virtue that befits and adorns a Christian woman, and 
whose tenderness and solicitude for her offspring, swelled beyond the ordinary 
stream of maternal love." Both her husbands belonged to the class of cultured 
and accomplished gentlemen of ample means, common to Philadelphia in its 
prosperous days preceding the Revolution, and she had been brought up and 
lived in luxury and refinement. "Deprived of husband and children, — exiled 
during the war of the Revolution on account of her persistent loyalty to the Crown, 
and plundered of prosperity, this excellent woman displayed a fortitude and 
energy of character which contrasted strongly with her serene and gentle dis- 
position. She survived to an advanced age, but the progress of years and infir- 
mities made no impression on her warm and kindly heart." She died Decem- 
ber 21, 1819. 

Issue of Francis and Rebecca (Warner) Rawle: — 

Anna, b. Oct. 30, 1757, d. July, 1828; m. Sept. 16, 1783, John Clifford, and her dau. Rebecca 
became wife of John Pemberton ; 

William, b. April 28, 1759, d. April 12, 1836; m. Sarah Coates Burge; of whom presently; 

Margaret, b. 1760, d. Aug. 25, 1881, m. Isaac, son of Joseph Wharton of "Walnut Grove." 
Their son, Thomas I. Wharton was a distinguished lawyer, and author of "Wharton's 
Digest of Reports of Decisions of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania." 

William Rawle, only son of Francis and Rebecca (Warner) Rawle, born in 
Philadelphia, April 28, 1759, was but two years of age when the unfortunate and 
lamentable accident deprived him of his father. He was, however, left to the 
care of a mother well qualified to instill into the mind and heart of her brilliant 
son, the earnestness of purpose and fine qualities of Christian and civic virtue, 
that characterized his long and distinguished career. His early education was 
acquired at the Friends' Academy of Philadelphia and under private tutors. He 
was sixteen years of age at the beginning of the Revolutionary War, and prac- 
tically all his immediate relations and connections were either adherents of or 
sympathizers with the royal cause, including his gifted mother for whom, during 
all the period of her life, he gave constant proof of the deepest and strongest 
sentiment of filial love. His stepfather, Samuel Shoemaker, as before stated, an 
accomplished gentleman of extensive reading and cultivated tastes, was a Pro- 
vincial Royalist, who, though arrested by order of Congress with many other men 
of wealth and standing whose sympathies were not with the patriot cause, and 
confined in the Masonic Lodge room in 1777, escaped the exile to Virginia 
suffered by many of his associates, by giving his parole not to render aid to the 
enemies of his country, and remained in Philadelphia during its occupation by the 
British army, acting during that period as Mayor of the City. Surrounded by 
these influences, young Rawle remained entirely passive, but circumstances 
strongly indicate that he had little sympathy with the Tory sentiments of his 
relatives. When the British were about to evacuate the city, his stepfather retired 
with them to New York City, and, at the urgent request of his mother, young 
Rawle accompanied him and took up the study of law there under the Royal 
Attorney General, Mr. Kempe, the city being then under military government. 
After three years spent in diligent preparation for his chosen profession, pre- 



RAWLE 



153 



vented from returning to his native city by the political outlawry of his parents, 
he decided to go to London to pursue further his legal studies, and to take up the 
practice of law there until the close of the war would permit him to return to his 
native city, where, in a letter written to his mother before sailing, he stated his 
intention of settling, as soon as the clouds of war should roll by. He was 
admitted to the Middle Temple, London, August 17, 1781. The war having 
drawn to a close, he left England, April 24, 1782, and after a tour of the con- 
tinent and a visit to Dr. Franklin, at Passy, near Paris, he sailed for America, 
November 17, 1782, and arrived in Philadelphia January 17, 1783, after an 
absence from his native city of four and a half years. He was admitted to 
practice at the Philadelphia Bar on September 15, 1783, and November 13 follow- 
ing married Sarah Coates Burge, the "Sally Burge" of "Sally Wistar's Journal," 
born November 13, 1761, daughter of Samuel Burge, a distiller and merchant of 
Philadelphia, by his wife Beulah, daughter of Benjamin and Sarah (Coates) 
Shoemaker, and sister to Samuel Shoemaker, stepfather of William Rawle. 
Samuel Burge was a son of William Burge, a native of Burlington, New Jersey, 
(brother of the first wife of Col. William Trent, Provincial Councillor, of Penn- 
sylvania, and founder of Trenton) by his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Henry 
Stacy, of Burlington county. Mrs. Rawle was one of that little coterie of girls of 
Philadelphia during the Revolutionary period, a glimpse of whose happy girlhood 
life is given in the delightful "Journal" of her intimate friend and associate, 
Sallie Wistar, and was a woman of many accomplishments and virtues. Her 
married life with Mr. Rawle continued over a period of upwards of forty years, 
and was ever serene and happy. 

William Rawle at once acquired the confidence and esteem of his associates and 
fellow citizens, but his early professional career was beset with difficulties and 
discouragements, and not distinguished by early success. He persistently declined 
to take part in party warfare and always eschewed public office. Against his wish 
and positive declination, he was nominated and elected to General Assembly of 
the State in October, 1789, as a Federalist, to which party he gave his unswerving 
allegiance. The importunities of his friends prevailed upon him to serve in the 
unsought position. His practice had by this time become large and lucrative, and 
he preferred to give his whole time to the practice of his chosen profession. 

In 1 79 1 Mr. Rawle was appointed by President Washington to the position 
of United States Attorney for Pennsylvania, which he filled until 1800, when he 
resigned. He was offered by Washington the office of Attorney General of the 
United States, and also the Judgeship of the United States District Court, but 
declined both these honorable positions. As United States Attorney for Penn- 
sylvania, he accompanied in 1794 the Judge of the United States District Court 
and the military forces to Western Pennsylvania, to suppress the "Whiskey In- 
surrection," and it became his duty as attorney to prosecute the leaders of this 
insurrection as well as those of the "Fries Rebellion," of 1798. 

Mr. Rawle took an active interest in the literary and scientific societies and 
associations of his time. He was elected member of American Philosophical 
Society; secretary of Library Company of Philadelphia, and a director in 1792; 
elected in 1786, trustee of University of Pennsylvania, and applied himself dili- 
gently to the duties of that office, with zeal and punctuality, for a period of 
forty years. He was for many years attorney and counsel for Bank of United 



154 RAWLE 

States. In 1805 he took an active part in the establishment of Academy of Fine 
Arts, and at the opening delivered an address urging and vindicating the claims 
of painting and sculpture to the encouragement and support of a republican 
country. 

In 1 82 1, on the incorporation of the Law Academy of Philadelphia, he was 
chosen its vice-president, in 1822 was unanimously chosen Chancellor of the As- 
sociated Members of Bar of Philadelphia, and five years later, when that asso- 
ciation was merged with the Law Library Company of Philadelphia under the 
title of Law Association of Philadelphia, he became Chancellor of the new asso- 
ciation and retained that position until his death. He was one of the founders 
of Historical Society of Pennsylvania, in 1824, and its president until his death ; 
making a number of communications that hold an honored place among its 
archives, among them, one on the "Valedictory Address of President Washing- 
ton" : one respecting Heckwelder's "History of the Indian Nations" ; a "Bio- 
graphy of Sir William Keith", and "A Sketch of the Life of Thomas Mifflin." 

In 1827 the College of New Jersey, now Princeton University, conferred upon 
Mr. Rawle the degree of LL. D., and in 1828 he received the same honor from 
Dartmouth College. In 1830 he was appointed by the Governor, in pursuance 
of an act of Legislature, with his nephew Thomas I. Wharton, and Judge Joel 
Jones, to revise the civil code of Pennsylvania, and was chief author of reports of 
this commission, the valuable results of whose labors are embodied in existing 
statutes. He was also the author, among other valuable legal publications, of 
"A View of the Constitution of the United States", for forty years considered 
the leading authority on the subject. 

Mr. Rawle's professional business after the year 1793 was very extensive and 
brought him a large income ; he was associated with most of the important cases 
from that date for forty years. Not, in the accepted sense of the term, an orator, 
his address to a jury was simple in diction, free from all unnecessary ornamenta- 
tion, earnest and impressive. His deportment in the conduct of his professional 
business was always respectful and conciliatory to his professional adversaries, 
and it is said he never had an enemy at the Bar. "He sought and acquired that 
enduring reputation which is founded on the good opinion of the wise and vir- 
tuous of this world, and was an upright man of whom it may be truly said 'The 
talents lent him were well employed.' " 

At a meeting of the members of the Philadelphia Bar held December 20, 1831, 
it was unanimously resolved that they were desirous of expressing their respect 
and regard for their venerable associate, and of preserving a likeness of one who 
had contributed to add honor to his profession, and they accordingly solicited 
Mr. Rawle to sit for a portrait, to be painted at their expense, and to be placed 
in the Law Library. Mr. Rawle complied with their request, and a very strik- 
ing likeness of him was painted by Inman, which still gives inspiration from the 
walls of the library to the worthy student who would emulate his noble example. 

The accomplished jurist was a fine scholarly man of great artistic and literary 
taste. His classical knowledge was extensive and accurate, and he brought to his 
professional work a discriminating mind which enabled him to make the best 
use of what he had read. He was fond of poetry, and at one time of his life 
wrote verses ; he also drew and painted well. He was by birth a member of the 
Society of Friends, and never ceased to entertain the highest respect for the So- 



RAWLE 



155 



ciety, attending their meetings, though he differed from them on some points 
peculiar to the sect, which he considered non-essential, especially as to language 
and attire. He was at all periods of his life devout in thought and action, and 
read and wrote much on religious subjects. 

During the year 1835 his bodily infirmities increased rapidly, and he was sel- 
dom able to leave his house ; but his mental vigor was unabated. He gave much 
time to reading, and found especial enjoyment in his books. In truth, literature, 
which had been "the delight of his youth, the relaxation of his manhood, was the 
solace of his declining years." After a confinement to his bed of several weeks, 
he died April 12, 1836, having passed a life of seventy-six years without stain or 
reproach. 

Issue of William and Sarah Coates (Burge) Rawle: — 

Elizabeth Margaret, b. Oct. 15, 1784, d. June 23, 1794; 

Francis William, b. Jan. 27, 1786, d. Sept. 15, 1795 ; 

Samuel Burge, b. July 1, 1787; merchant at Philadelphia, later at Hong Kong, China; 
U. S. Consul to Hong Kong, and Macoa ; d. Macoa, Sept. 2, 1858; m. at Pine Street 
Friends' Meeting, Philadelphia, Jan. 2, 181 1, Ann, dau. of Jesse Wain, a Philadelphia 
merchant. She d. Philadelphia, Oct. 26, 1875 ; 

William, b. July 19, 1788, d. Aug. 9, 1858; m. Mary Anna Tilghman ; of whom presently; 

Beulah, b. March 25, 1790, d. s. p. July 17, 1876; m. May 23, 1839, William Craig, a 
prominent merchant of Philadelphia, who d. July 14, 1869, she being his second wife ; 

Rebecca Shoemaker, b. Feb. 20, 1792, d. unm. Sept. 26, 1814; 

Sarah, b. Jan. 7, 1794, d. Sept. 11, 1822, unm.; 

Francis William, b. Sept. 28, 1795, d. at his country seat, "Fairfield," Lycoming Co., 
Pa., Oct. 27, 1881 ; m. Louisa Hall ; of whom presently ; 

Edward, b. Sept. 22, 1797, d. at New Orleans, Nov. 4, 1880; graduated at Univ. of Pa.. 
1815: admitted to Philadelphia Bar, Jan. 2, 1823; removed to New Orleans, and 
admitted to Bar there April 19, 1824, and following Feb. was appointed Associate 
Judge of City Court, a position he held for some years ; resided several years on his 
plantation in Jefferson Parish, Louisiana ; resumed practice of law at New Orleans, 
was Attorney of Second Municipality of City, 1839-1846; one of the founders of public 
school system of New Orleans, and many years president of Board of Education ; Fel- 
low of New Orleans Academy of Science, 1856; m. April 19, 1827, Appolina S. 
Claiborne, dau. of Joseph Saul, Esq., of New Orleans; she d. Feb. 27, 1844; 

Henry, b. July 10, 1799; graduated Univ. of Pa. 1815 ; d. unm. June 2, 1816; 

Horatio, b. March 20, 1801, studied law and admitted to Philadelphia Bar; d. unm. June 
25. 1830; 

Juliet, b. Aug. 26, 1804; d. in Philadelphia Oct. 20, 1883; m. Oct. 1, 1839, Rev. William 
Herbert Norris, of Alexandria, Va., later Rector of Christ Church, Woodbury, N. J. 
Norris d. Philadelphia, Feb. 18, 1880. 

William Rawle Jr., third son of William and Sarah (Burge) Rawle, born 
in Philadelphia, July 19, 1788, was educated at Princeton College and admitted 
to Philadelphia Bar May 21, 1810. During the War of 1812-14, he served as 
Captain of the Second Troop of Philadelphia City Cavalry. In the practice of 
his profession he attained a prominence and reputation little inferior to that of 
his father. In 1814, with Hon. Thomas Sergeant, he began the preparation of 
Reports of Decisions of Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, known to the legal 
fraternity as "Sergeant and Rawle's Reports", contained in eighteen volumes. 
Mr. Sergeant retired from the work in 1828, and it was continued to 1835, by 
Mr. Rawle, in five volumes. 

Mr. Rawle was a member of Common Council of Philadelphia, 1835-40, and 
its president four years. He was elected member of American Philosophical 
Society in 1841. With his father he participated in the founding of the Histori- 



156 RAIVLE 

cal Society of Pennsylvania in 1824, and was many years its vice-president. He 
was secretary and later director of Philadelphia Library Company, and Trustee 
of University of Pennsylvania. He died at his son's country seat, August 9, 
1858. 

Mr. Rawle married, October 17, 1817, Mary Anna, daughter of Edward 
Tilghman, Esq., a leader of Philadelphia Bar, by his wife Elizabeth Chew, daugh- 
ter of Chief Justice Benjamin Chew. Mrs. Mary Anna (Tilghman) Rawle was 
born in Philadelphia, February 25, 1795, and died February 4, 1878. 
Issue of William and Mary Anna (Tilghman) Rawle: — 

Elizabeth Tilghman, b.' Philadelphia July 16, 1818, d. April 10. 1897 ; m. June 18, 1844, 
Charles Wallace Brooke, of the Philadelphia Bar, who d. Oct. 22, 1849. They had 

Elizabeth Tilghman, b. Philadelphia, July 7, 1841, d. there Sept. 28, 1894, unm. ; 

William Rawle, (who by legal authority reversed his name to William Brooke 
Rawle) ; 

Charlotte, b. Philadelphia, Feb. 9, 1846, d. Nov. 21, 1885, unm.; 

Charles Wallace, b. Philadelphia, Feb. 22, 1848, d. there Nov. 17, 1854. 
William Henry Rawle, b. Philadelphia, Aug. 31, 1823 ; graduated from Univ. of Pa., 
1841, from which institution he received in 1882 the honorary degree of LL.D. He 
studied law with his father and was admitted to Philadelphia Bar, Oct. 12, 1844, and 
like his father and grandfather became later one of its leaders ; acquiring eminence as 
a successful practitioner soon after his admission. He officiated as counsel in many 
of the important cases in his native city and elsewhere, and was private counsel for 
some of the most eminent lawyers and judges of Pennsylvania, and had care of many 
important trusts. He was also a distinguished writer on various topics in the line 
of his profession. In 1852, he published his "Practical Treatise on the Law of 
Covenants for Title," of which four editions have since been published, and has been 
cited as an authority in all parts of the Union and in England. This work has a high 
and enduring reputation among the really great books on the law. In 1853 he pub- 
lished the third American edition of Smith's "Law of Contracts," adding to it many 
able and learned notes. He also edited Joshua Williams' "The Law of Real Property" 
with elaborate notes ; which has also gone through many editions, and has been used 
as a text book in many law schools and private offices in the United States. A lecture 
delivered by Mr. Rawle, in 1881, before the Law Dept. of the Univ. of Pa. on "Some 
Contrasts in the Growth of Pennsylvania and English Law," was published and at- 
tracted much attention both in this country and in England. In May, 1884, he delivered 
an oration before both Houses of Congress upon the occasion of the unveiling of the 
statue of Chief Justice John Marshall, in Washington ; and in June, 1885, he delivered 
an address before the Harvard Chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa Society on "The Case 
of the Educated Unemployed." In 1862, he enlisted in the "Emergency" Artillery Com- 
pany, commanded by Capt. Chapman Biddle, and was ordered to Harrisburg. Again in 
1863, he went out as Quartermaster Sergeant of Landis's Battery, which formed part 
of command of Gen. Couch, and was engaged in the battle with Confederate cavalry 
at Carlisle, Pa. He was Vice-provost of the Law Academy of Philadelphia, 1865-1873, 
and Vice-chancellor of the Law Association of Philadelphia from 1880 to his death. 
He was director of Philadelphia Library Co. and member of American Philosophical 
Society, and of Board of Directors of City Trusts. D. April 19, 1889. He was twice 
m. ; (first) Sept. 13, 1849, to Mary Binney Cadwalader, dau. of Judge John Cadwalader, 
•and granddau. of Horace Binney. She d. May 26, 1861. He m. (second), Oct. 17, 1869, 
Emily Cadwalader, dau. of Gen. Thomas Cadwalader, of Trenton, N. J. By his first 
wife he had a dau. Mary Cadwalader Rawle, who m. Frederic Rhinelander Jones of 
N Y., and another dau. Edith, the wife of Louis Godfrey Rosseau, of Pittsburg. His 
only son, William, b. in 1855, d. in i860. He was succeeded in the law business by his 
nephew, student and associate, William Brooke Rawle. 

William Brooke Rawle, eldest and only surviving son of Charles Wallace 
Brooke, by his wife Elizabeth, daughter of William and Mary Anna (Tilghman) 
Rawle, was born in Philadelphia, August 29, 1843. His early education was 
acquired in the best private schools in Philadelphia, and he entered University of 
Pennsylvania in 1859, graduating with the degree of B. A. in the class of 1863. 
Having in his senior year obtained leave of absence from the college authorities, 
he entered the United States Volunteer Army for service in the War of the 



RAWLE 1 57 

Rebellion, and took his B. A. degree on July 3, 1863, while actually participating 
in the battle of Gettysburg. He entered the army as Second Lieutenant, Third 
Pennsylvania Cavalry, and served continuously in the Army of the Potomac 
from early in 1863 until after the close of the war, attaining the lineal rank of 
Captain, and being brevetted Major and Lieutenant Colonel, for gallant and 
meritorious services at the battle of Hatcher's Run, and in the campaign that 
terminated with the surrender of Lee at Appomattox Court House respectively. 
He was in numerous engagements during the war, taking an active part in all the 
arduous campaigns of the Army of the Potomac, after that of Chancellorsville. 
He returned to Philadelphia at the close of the war, in August, 1865, and took 
up the study of law. with his uncle William Henry Rawle, receiving the degree 
of M. A. at the University of Pennsylvania, July 3, 1866, and being admitted to 
the Philadelphia Bar, May 18, 1867. Shortly before the latter date he assumed 
by legal authority the name of William Brooke Rawle, in lieu of his baptismal 
name of William Rawle Brooke. He became associated in the practice of his 
profession with his preceptor and uncle, William Henry Rawle, continuing with 
him until the death of the latter in 1889, when he succeeded him as the head of 
the family law offices, which had been established in 1783, by his great-grand- 
father, William Rawle the elder. He and his cousins James and Francis Rawle 
are now the present representatives of a family which has been prominently 
identified with the affairs of the City of Philadelphia, for over two centuries. 
Col. Rawle is a Vice-President of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania ; for 
many years was Treasurer of Law Association of Philadelphia, and is also a 
member of many patriotic and historical associations. He married, February 7, 
1872, Elizabeth Norris, born December 19, 1841, daughter of Henry Pepper, of 
Philadelphia, by his wife, Sally Norris, daughter of Joseph Parker Norris, of 
"Fair Hill," by his wife, Elizabeth Hill Fox. 

Francis William Rawle, third surviving son of William and Sarah C. 
(Burge) Rawle, born in Philadelphia September 28, 1795, graduated at Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania in 1812 with the degree of A. B., and received the degree 
of A. M. from the same institution in 1816. During the War of 1812-14 he served 
as Sergeant and Lieutenant in the Pennsylvania Regiment known as the "Wash- 
ington Guards." After taking his second course at the university he became a 
civil engineer, and was in the employ of the Pennsylvania Railroad in the earliest 
days of railroad construction. Later he was an ironmaster at Freedom Forge, 
Mifflin county, Pennsylvania. He served for some years as Lay Judge of the 
Courts of Clearfield county. In 1847 ne returned to Philadelphia and became 
secretary of Equitable Fire Insurance Company. He retired from business in 
1861 and moved to his country seat, "Fairfield", Lycoming county, one of the 
"Muncy Farms", where he passed most of the remainder of his life, and where 
he died October 2j, 1881. 

Francis William Rawle married, December 16, 1828, Louisa, daughter of 
Charles Hall, a distinguished member of the Bar at Sunbury, Northumberland 
county, Pennsylvania, by his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Robert Coleman, the 
prominent ironmaster of Cornwall, Pennsylvania. She died at Williamsport, 
Pennsylvania, Easter Sunday, 1884. 

Issue of Francis William and Louisa (Hall) Rawle: — 



158 RAWLE 

Charles Rawle, b. at Sunbury, June 14, 1830, d. at South Bethlehem, Pa., on temporary 
visit there, Jan. 17, 1891 ; was educated at Univ. of Pa., and in 1859 located at "Fair- 
field," Lycoming county, Pa. He m. Nov. 18, 1868, Mary Jeanne, dau. of Oliver Wat- 
son, of Williamsport, and had issue : 
James Rawle, b. Sept. 6, 1869; 
William Rawle, b. Oct. 10, 1871, d. March 3, 1873; 
Juliet Rawle, b. April 4, 1874. 
Henry Rawle, b. Aug. 21, 1833, at Freedom Forge, Mifflin county, Pa. ; was some years a 
civil engineer under J. Edgar Thompson, in constructing the Pennsylvania Railroad ; 
became Principal Engineer of Western Division of Sunbury & Erie Railroad; in 1859, 
engaged in iron business at Sharon, Mercer county, Pa. ; later established the Erie 
Rolling Mills, at Erie, Pa.; was Mayor of Erie, 1874-1876; was elected State Treasurer 
of Pennsylvania, in 1875, and served the three years term 1876-7-8; subsequently re- 
moved to Philadelphia, spending the last years of his life at his country residence at 
Villa Nova, and at "Fairfield," dying at Villa Nova, Dec. 7, 1899. 

He m. (first), Dec. 20, i860, Harriet G., dau. of Hon. Charles M. Reed, of Erie; she 
d. Oct. 23, 1869; and he m. (second) Encie (Maynard) Herdic; by his first wife he 
had issue: — 

Alice Reed Rawle, b. Feb. 24, 1862; m. April 25, 1883, Henry Laussat Geyelin, 
of the Philadelphia Bar ; they reside at "Harwick," Villa Nova, Pa. ; and have 
issue : — 

Henry Rawle Geyelin, b. May 12, 1884; 
Marion Geyelin, b. Jan. 12, 1886; 
Antony Laussat Geyelin, b. Oct. 17, 1889; 
Alice Beatrice Geyelin, b. April 13, 1891 ; 
Harriet Gertrude Reed Geyelin, b. Oct. 1, 1894; 
Emile Camile Geyelin, b. Jan. 6, 1896 ; 
Henry Laussat Geyelin, Jr., b. Oct. 20, 1898; 
Estella Antonette Geyelin, b. July 18, 1901. 
Marion Louisa Rawle, b. May 10, 1865 ; m. Thomas Patton, of New York, and 
they reside at Villa Nova, Pa. 
William Rawle, b. Jan. 21, 1835, d. March 1846; 

Emily Rawle, b. April 10, 1838, at Freedom Forge, Mifflin Co., Pa., m. June 27, 1861, Rev. 
Albra Wadleigh, then Rector of the Lutheran Church at Muncy, Pa., subsequently of 
Christ Church, Williamsport, Pa., and St. Luke's Church, Germantown, Philadelphia, 
where he d. May 25, 1873 ; they had issue : — 
Francis Rawle Wadleigh ; 
Edith Wadleigh ; 
Athula Blight Wadleigh; 
Henry Rawle Wadleigh. 
Ann Caroline Rawle, b. March 1840, d. July 1844; 

James Rawle, b. at Lancaster, Pa., Nov. 15, 1842 ; graduated at Univ. of Pa., A. B., 1861, 

and A. M. 1864 ; was civil engineer in employ of Philadelphia & Erie Railroad Co., 

1862-1870; removed to Philadelphia in 1871, and following year became member of 

firm of J. G. Brill & Co., manufacturers of street cars in that city; taking up his 

residence at "Castlefinn," Delaware county, Pa., near Bryn Mawr, where he has 

since resided; m. Nov. 29, 1871, Charlotte Collins dau. of Charles Collins Parker, M. 

D., and great-granddaughter of Zaccheus Collins, and also of Robert Coleman. 

James Rawle was member of First Troop, Philadelphia City Cavalry, with rank of 

First Lieutenant, resigning after twelve years service ; he became president in 1906 of 

the J. G. Brill Co., the largest concern in the world engaged in the manufacture of 

street cars ; he had issue : — 

Charles Parker Rawle, b. Oct. 8, 1872, d. Oct. 16, 1872; 

Francis William Rawle, b. Sept. 22, 1873 ; educated at Phillips Academy, Exeter, 
and Williams College, Mass., and received degree of LL.B. in 1898 from both 
Harv. and Univ. of Pa. ; was admitted to Philadelphia Bar, and is associated 
in the practice of his profession with his cousin William Brooke Rawle, in the 
"Rawle Law Offices," established in 1783. M. April 19, 1904, Harriet Weld 
Corning, dau. of Erastus Corning, Esq., of Albany, N. Y., and they have issue: — 
Francis William Rawle, Jr., b. March 16, 1905 ; 
Edward Peace Rawle, b. May 4, 1876; 
Edith Rawle, b. August 31, 1878; 
Louisa Rawle, b. July 30, 1879. 
Francis Rawle, b. Aug. 7. 1846; m. Margaretta C. Aertsen; of whom presently. 



RAIVLE 159 

Francis Rawle, youngest son of Francis William and Louisa (Hall) Rawle, 
born at Freedom Forge, Mifflin county, Pennsylvania, August 7, 1846, entered 
Harvard University, and graduated with honors, class of 1869. The same year 
he entered the office of his cousin William Henry Rawle, of Philadelphia, as a 
student-at-law, spent the following year at Harvard Law School, where he re- 
ceived the degree of LL. B. in 1871, and November n, 1871, was admitted to the 
Philadelphia Bar, where he has since practiced. In 1883 and again in 1897 he 
edited new editions of Bouvier's Law Dictionary, the standard work of its kind, 
much of which he rewrote. In his earlier professional life he wrote various 
articles for legal periodicals, and in 1885, prepared and read before the American 
Bar Association a paper on "Car Trust Securities". 

In 1876 he became librarian of Library of the Law Association of Philadel- 
phia, succeeding John William Wallace, James T. Mitchell, now Chief Justice of 
Pennsylvania, Samuel Dickson and George Tucker Bispham. He held this 
position until 1894, building up the library into a foremost place among law 
libraries. In 1878, at the organization of American Bar Association at Saratoga 
Springs, he was elected Secretary of the Conference, and afterwards Treasurer 
of the Association, to which office he was re-elected every year thereafter until 
1902, when he became president of the Association, for the year 1902-3, an office 
held by no one but for a single year. During these twenty-five years of service, 
and an additional year, he was also a member of the Executive Committee. He 
edited and prepared the annual reports of the Association for these twenty-six 
years. 

In 1887, he was a delegate from the American Bar Association to the London 
Conference of the Association for the Reform and Codification of the Laws 
of Nations, and was made a member of its executive committee. In 1890, and 
again in 1896, he was elected Overseer of Harvard University, one of the gov- 
erning boards, serving from 1900 to 1902. In 1900, he attended the banquet 
given by the English Bar to the American Bar, and proposed the regular Toast 
to the Bench and Bar of England. 

Francis Rawle married, November 25, 1873, Margaretta, daughter of James 
M. Aertsen, and his wife Harriet Romeyn Smith, daughter of Jonathan Smith 
and granddaughter of Col. Persifer Frazer. 

Issue of Francis and Margaretta (Aertsen) Rawle: — 

James Aertsen Rawle, b. Aug. 29, 1874, in Philadelphia; d. at Bay Head, N. J., Aug. 31, 
1893 ; educated at Groton School, and at time of his death was a student at Harv., 
class of 1899; 

Francis Rawle, b. Feb. 19, 1876; educated at Groton School and Harv. class of 1900; 
now residing in Philadelphia ; 

Persifer Frazer Rawle, b. in Philadelphia, February 7, 1878, d. there, Feb. 22, 1882 ; 

Russel Davenport Rawle, b. in Philadelphia, Feb. 15, 1882, d. at Cape May Point, N. J., 
Aug. 5, 1882; 

Henry Rawle, (bapt. Harry Romeyn Rawle), b. in Philadelphia, Oct. 8, T883 ; educated at 
Groton School ; in 1901 became a midshipman in class of 1905, at the U. S. Naval 
Academy at Annapolis, Md. ; graduated there Feb. 1905, and was assigned to the battle- 
ship "West Virginia," afterwards to the "Connecticut;" resigned, Aug. 1906, and en- 
tered upon a manufacturing career in Philadelphia. 

Samuel Rawle, second son of Francis Rawle of Paramaribo, Surinam, South 
America, by his wife Margaret Fickes, an account of whom is given in the pre- 
ceding pages, was born at Paramaribo, about the year 1736. He married there, 



160 RAWLE 

but the name of his wife is unknown to the writer of these lines. He had two 
children, Benjamin and Eleanor. 

Eleanor Rawle, only daughter of Samuel Rawle, married, July 3, 1794, 
Anthony Chardon, of French extraction, and had eight children, viz. : — 

Eleanor, m. George A. Bicknell, of Philadelphia, and had two daus. ; 

Hannah Chardon ; 

Anthony Chardon, Jr. 

Fiancis Augustus Chardon, b. Nov. 6, 1800; 

Samuel Rawle Chardon, b. Sept. 4, 1802 ; m. March 19, 1823, Eliza Kelly, dau. of John 

Kelly of Kelly's Landing, Salem Co., N. J. ; 
Adelaide Chardon, b. Aug. 8, 1807 ; 
George William Chardon, b. Feb. 3, 1810; 
Matilda Chardon, m. Sept. 26, 1833, William G. Heyl. 

George A. Heyl, son of William G. and Matilda (Chardon) Heyl, m., Oct. 24, 
1861, Kate Thomas Field, and had issue: 

Juliet Field Heyl. 

Benjamin Rawle (son of Francis Rawle Junior and Martha Turner, emi- 
grant), m. Hannah, dau. of William Hudson (3d) of Philadelphia and Jane 
Evans, and had issue as follows : — 

Robert Turner Rawle, d. s. p. ; 

William Hudson Rawle, d. inf. ; 

Rebecca Rawle, m. Jacob Ridgway of Philadelphia, Merchant, and had : — - 

Susan Ridgway, m. (first) Thomas Roach; (second) J. Rhea Barton M. D. (his 

2d wife) ; d. s. p. ; 
Phoebe Ann Ridgway, m. James Rush, M. D. ; d. s. p., 1857 ; 
Benjamin Ridgway, d. unm. ; 

John Jacob Ridgway of Paris, France, m. Elizabeth, dau. of Richard Willing of 
Philadelphia, Merchant, and had issue : — 

Emily Ridgway m. Etienne, Marquis de Ganay of France, and had issue : — 
Marguerite Elizabeth de Ganay, m. Arthur O'Connor, and had issue : — 
Brigitte O'Connor; 
Elizabeth O'Connor. 
Charles Anne Jean Ridgway Marquis de Ganay m. Bertha and had issue; 
Jacques Andre Comte de Ganay m. Mdlle le Marois ; 
Charlotte Gabrielle Madeleine de Ganay, m. Thierry Prince d'Henin; 
Gerard de Ganay m. Jeanne Schneider ; 
Guillaume Charles de Ganay. 
Charles Henry Ridgway, m. Ellen Monroe, and has issue : 
Richard Willing Ridgway; 
Charles Ridgway ; 
Daughter. 
Caroline Ridgway, d. unm. 



BIDDLE FAMILY 

William Biddle, pioneer ancestor of the Biddle family of Philadelphia, was 
born near London, England, about 1630, left that city July, 1681, and came to 
New Jersey. He is said to have been an officer in the Parliamentary army during 
the civil war of England, but soon after its close joined the Society of Friends. 
His name appears among the list of persons imprisoned by Mayor Brown, 1660- 1, 
for attending "non-conformist" meetings. The names of William, Esther and 
Thomas Biddle appear on another list of Quakers sent to Newgate prison. Esther 
Biddle, possibly his mother, an eminent Friend, suffered persecution for "Truth's 
sake" at various periods ; Thomas Biddle was a cousin of William Biddle, and 
either accompanied or followed him to New Jersey and was mentioned in his will 
probated 1712, and has descendants in New Jersey. William Biddle married, at 
Bishopgate street Friends' Meeting, i2mo. 7, 1665, Sarah Kemp, born 1634, died 
in New Jersey, 2mo. 2J, 1709, in her seventy-fifth year. Their children, all born 
at London, were as follows : — 

Elizabeth, b. June 25, 1668, d. in childhood; 

William, b. Dec. 4, 1669, d. Mount Hope, N. J., 1743, m., 1695, Lydia Wardell; of 

whom presently; 
John, b. Dec. 27, 1670, d. in childhood ; 
Joseph, b. Feb. 6, 1672, d. in childhood ; 
Sarah, b. Dec. 2, 1678, d. Aug. 2, 1705, Phila., Pa., m. (first), Oct. 21, 1695, William 

Righton, and (second), March 14, 1703, Clement Plumstead of Phila. Left no issue. 

William Biddle (1), purchased January 23, 1676, of William Penn, Gawen 
Lawrie, Nicholas Lucas and Edward Byllynge, a one-half share in the lands of 
West Jersey, and became therefore one of the Proprietaries of that Province. 
His later purchases, as shown by the early records of the Province, were as fol- 
lows : April 1, 1677, of Thomas Hutchinson et al., one-fourth share. April 29, 
1678, of Nicholas Bell, one-sixth share. August 8, 1684, of Joseph Helmsley, one- 
fourth share. August 21, 1684, of Samuel Clay, one-sixth share. May 20, 1686, 
of Thomas Hutchinson, one-fourth share. November 10, 1691, of the Exrs. of 
Anna Salter, one-sixth share. Making in all one and three-quarter shares of the 
sixteen shares into which the province was divided, by the original purchasers, 
entitling him to 43,000 acres. 

William Biddle and his family, which consisted of his wife Sarah and two 
children, William, aged eleven years, and Sarah, aged two and a half years, on 
their arrival in New Jersey, probably at once took up their residence at the site 
of the town of Burlington, where he occupied a house as late as September 26, 
1682. December 17, 1682, there was surveyed to him in right of his purchase, by 
Thomas Revell, Surveyor General, the island called "Sepasswick" or "Sepassinck", 
later known as "Biddle's Island", in the Delaware, "over against Burlington", 
containing 278 acres, and, January 16, 1681-2, 500 acres on the Delaware, "over 
against Seppassinck Island." On this plantation, which he named "Mount Hope", 
he took up his residence, and it remained the home of his descendants for many 
generations. It was situated about midway between Burlington and Bordentown. 
11 



1 62 BIDDLE 

He and his wife were prominent members of the Society of Friends, and Quar- 
terly Meetings of the Society were held at his house at "Mount Hope." He was 
a Justice of Burlington County from 1682 until his death ; was one of the ten 
members of Governor's Council, 1682, re-elected 3mo. 15, 1683; one of trustees 
selected by the Proprietors to conduct the business of the Proprietorship, Feb- 
ruary 14, 1687, and regularly re-elected thereafter, serving as President of the 
Board of Trustees, 1706-7; Representative in General Assembly of the Province 
at Perth Amboy, 1703. He died at "Mount Hope" in 1712, leaving by will dated 
June 23, 171 1, probated March 3, 1711-12, his plantation and island to his son 
William and his wife Lydia for life, then to their children, as well as 1,500 acres 
yet to be taken up in New Jersey. 

William Biddle, only surviving son of William and Sarah (Kemp) Biddle, 
was, like his father, prominent in the affairs of West Jersey ; he was appointed 
by the Council of Proprietors on November 2, 1703, to treat with the Indians for 
lands above the Falls, and at his father's death inherited 12,905 acres of land in 
the Lotting Purchase. He died intestate about 1743. He had married, about 
1695, Lydia Wardell, granddaughter of Eliakim Wardell, who purchased lands at 
Nevesink of the Indians, in 1666, was Sheriff of Monmouth county, 1683, mem- 
ber of House of Deputies, 1688, and member General Assembly, 1692 ; great- 
granddaughter of Thomas Wardell, French Huguenot, who settled in New Eng- 
land about the middle of seventeenth century. She was a member of the Friends' 
Meeting at Shrewsbury. 

Issue of William and Lydia (Wardell) Biddle: — 

William, b. about 1697, d. Phila. 1756, m. April 3, 1730, Mary Scull, of whom pres- 
ently; 
Elizabeth ; 
Sarah ; 

Penelope, m. Whitehead; 

Joseph, m. (first), Lydia Howard; (second), Sarah Rogers. Remained in N. J.; 
John, b. 1707, m. March 3, 1736, Sarah Owen, of whom later. 

William Biddle, eldest son of William and Lydia (Wardell) Biddle of 
"Mount Hope", New Jersey, with his youngest brother John, removed to Phila- 
delphia prior to 1730, and engaged in mercantile business there. He met with 
many reverses financially, mainly through endorsements for friends ; and, though 
inheriting a large fortune, lost practically all of it prior to his death, 1756. He 
married, April 3, 1730, Mary, born Aug. 2, 1709, died May 9, 1789, daughter of 
Nicholas Scull, Surveyor General of Pennsylvania, by his wife, Abigail Heap. 

Nicholas Scull was the eldest of six sons of Nicholas Scull who came to Penn- 
sylvania in the ship "Bristol Merchant," arriving at Chester, 9mo. 10, 1685, and is 
supposed to have been a native of Ireland. The progenitor of the family was 
Sir John Scull, a Norman, one of twelve Norman knights mentioned in Burke's 
"Landed Gentry", who accompanied Newmarch into North Wales, and eventually 
conquered that country. At an early period one branch of the family located in 
the Southeastern part of county Cork, Ireland, and gave the name to the town 
and parish of Scull, from whence Nicholas Scull Sr. is supposed to have accom- 
panied Major Jasper Farmer to Pennsylvania. Nicholas Scull, the Surveyor 
General, was born near Philadelphia, 1687. He is said to have been a pupil and 
assistant to Thomas Holm, Penn's first Surveyor General. He was at least 



BIDDLE 163 

engaged in surveying the wild lands on the frontiers of Pennsylvania at an early 
date, while still a very young man, and by frequent contact with the different 
Indian tribes, learned the language of a number of them, and frequently acted as 
interpreter and messenger in the early treaties negotiated with the aborigines by 
the Governors and Council. He and his brother John Scull were deputed by 
Council to deliver match coats and other presents to the Indians at Conestogo, 
and officiated as interpreters there May 26, 1728. In 1730, he was directed to 
proceed to the Minnisinks, in the present limits of Monroe county, to ascertain the 
extent and condition of the Holland settlement there and make report to the 
Council. He participated in the Indian Walk of 1737, and made a deposition in 
reference thereto and the attitude of the Indians in reference to it, before the 
Provincial Council twenty years later, January 25, 1757. He was elected Sheriff 
of Philadelphia, 1744, and re-commissioned 1745-6. January 10, 1748, he suc- 
ceeded William Parsons as Surveyor General of the Province and filled that 
position until his death, 1761. A large number of his surveys are on file in the 
Archives of the State, and he executed a number of maps of the new country 
laid out by him. He is buried in the family burying ground near Scheetz's Mill, 
White Marsh. He married, 1708, Abigail Heap, who died May 21, 1753, aged 
sixty-five years. They had issue : — 

Mary, b. Aug. 2, 1709, d. May 9, 1789, m. William Biddle ; 

Nicholas, b. Oct. 26, 171 1, m. Oct. 17, 1732, Rebecca Thompson; 

Elizabeth, b. April 2, 1714; 

Edward, b. Oct. 26, 1716, lived at Reading, Berks county, Pa. ; 

Jasper, b. Dec. 3, 1718, also lived at Reading; 

John, b. Jan. 28, 1721, d. March 21, 1769 ; 

Abigail, b. Dec. 28, 1724, m. Biddle ; 

Ann, b. Nov. 13, 1727; 
James, b. Nov. 22, 1730. 

Mary Scull Biddle, left a widow in 1756, with six children, the youngest not 
four years of age, and without any fortune, with the assistance of her eldest son 
James, already grown to manhood, and her fourth child, Edward, who was 
eighteen years of age at his father's death, succeeded in educating her children 
in a manner befitting the high and honorable positions they were destined to fill, and 
lived to see them hold positions of trust and honor that have made their name an 
honored one in the Commonwealth which they aided so materially in founding. 
She died at the residence of her son James Biddle Esq., in Philadelphia, May 9, 
1789, in her eighty-first year. 

Issue of William and Mary (Scull) Biddle: — 

James, b. Feb. 18, 1731, d. June 15, 1797, m. Frances Marks ; 
Nicholas, b. 1733, d. inf. ; 

Lydia, b. 1734, m. Capt. William McFunn, of the Royal Navy ; 
John, b. 1736, d. in Nova Scotia, m. Sophia Boone; 
Edward, b. 1738, d. Sept., 1779, m. Elizabeth Ross; 
Charles, b. Dec. 24, 1745, d. 1821, m. Hannah Shepard; 
Abigail, b. 1747, d. 1765 ; 
Mary, b. 1749, d. inf.; 

Nicholas, b. 1750, killed at loss of the "Randolph," Feb. 1778; of whom later; 
Thomas, b. 1752, removed to Georgetown, S. C. ; studied medicine with Dr. Thomas 
Bond, took degree of M. D. at the university, and located at Georgetown, S. C. 



164 BIDDLE 

James Biddle, eldest son of William and Mary (Scull) Biddle, born February 
18, 1 73 1, studied law with John Ross at Philadelphia, and located in Reading, 
Berks county, practicing law in the counties of Berks, Lancaster and Northamp- 
ton. Removed to Philadelphia 1750, and became Deputy Prothonotary, and later 
Deputy Judge of Admiralty Court. In December, 1776, he returned to Reading, 
and took up the practice of law. In 1788, was commissioned Prothonotary of 
Philadelphia Courts, and returned to that city, where he resided the remainder of 
his life. He was commissioned President Judge of the First Judicial District, 
1791, and filled that position until his death, June 15, 1797. He was a man uni- 
versally loved and respected by all with whom he came into close acquaintance. 
He married, June 30, 1753, Frances Marks, and had issue: — 

Joseph, lost at sea 1780; 

William, lost at sea in 1780; 

Marks John, b. 1765, m. 1793, Jane Dundas ; 

Lydia, m. James Collins ; 

Elizabeth, m. George Eckert. 

Of the above children, Marks John Biddle commenced the practice of law at 
Reading, Berks county, Pennsylvania, 1788, and became a prominent lawyer there, 
was member of State Senate and Prothonotary of the county. He married Jane 
Dundas, 1793, and they had issue: — 

James Dundas Biddle, d. 1822, m. 1815, Frances Wood; 

Hannah Biddle, m. first, Jonathan D. Good, and second, Abraham Adams ; 

Frances Dundas Biddle, m. Joseph Priestly; 

Lydia Biddle, m. Judge David F. Gordon, of Berks county ; 

Elizabeth Biddle, m. Edward Anderson, and d. 1876; 

Jane Dundas Biddle, d. unm. 1849; 

Ann Biddle, d. unm. 1882. 

Lydia Biddle, eldest daughter of William and Mary (Scull) Biddle, married, 
December 3, 1752, Capt. William McFunn, of the Royal Navy, and later Gover- 
nor of the Island of Antigua, West Indies. He died, 1767-8, leaving two children ; 
Mary, who married Collison Read of New Jersey, and William, who, at the wish 
of his uncle Edward Biddle, changed his name after the death of his father to 
William McFunn Biddle. He married, 1797, Lydia Spencer, who removed to 
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, 1827, and died there 1858, aged ninety-two years. 
Issue of William McFunn and Lydia (Spencer) Biddle: — 

Lydia Spencer Biddle, m. Samuel Baird ; 
Valeria Biddle, m. Charles B. Penrose; 
William McFunn Biddle, Jr., m. Julian Montgomery; 
Mary E. D. Biddle, m. Major George Blaney, U. S. A.; 

Edward Biddle, m. Julia H. Watts, and had issue, David W., Lydia Spencer, Charles 
Penrose, Frederick W., Edward W., and William McFunn. 

John Biddle, second surviving son of William and Mary (Scull) Biddle, was 
Deputy Quartermaster in the Provincial army, in Gen. Forbes' campaign against 
Fort Du Quesne, and was later appointed Collector of Excise in Berks county. 
He was a royalist during the Revolution, sought refuge with the British Army 
at New York, 1777-8, and later fled to Nova Scotia, where he died. His prop- 



BIDDLE 165 

erty in Pennsylvania was confiscated. His family returned to Berks county, 
Pennsylvania, after his death. 

Edward Biddle, third son of William and Mary (Scull) Biddle, entered the 
Provincial army at the age of sixteen, and was commissioned Ensign of Lieut. 
Col. Weiser's company, December 3, 1757, promoted to Lieutenant February 1, 
1759, and Captain in Col. Hugh Mercer's Battalion February 24, 1760. He was 
at the capture of both Fort DtiQuesne and Fort Niagara. He resigned from the 
army, and studying law, established himself at Reading. Was member of Assem- 
bly 1767-75, and Speaker of the House, 1774. He was a representative from 
Berks to Provincial Conventions of July 15, 1774; January 23, 1775; its repre- 
sentative in the first Continental Congress ; Member of Committee of Safety, 
June 30, 1775, to July 22, 1776, and again a representative in the Assembly, 1778. 
An accident met with, January 23, 1775, disabled him and made him an invalid for 
life, and though he lived for nearly five years later, the patriot cause was deprived 
of the ardent and intelligent service he had rendered it at the outset. He died 
at the residence of his daughter Catharine, wife of George Lux, Baltimore, 
Maryland, September 5, 1779. His last public service being as one of a committee 
of four appointed February 5, 1779, to bring in a bill for abolishing slavery in 
Pennsylvania. He married, 1761, Elizabeth, daughter of John Ross, Esq., and 
they had issue : — 

Catharine, m. George Lux, of Baltimore ; 
Abigail, m. Dr. Falls, of Maryland. 

Charles Biddle, fourth surviving son of William and Mary (Scull) Biddle, 
born in Philadelphia December 24. 1745, was but eleven years of age at the 
death of his father. At the age of fourteen years he was apprenticed to William 
Ball, a merchant of Philadelphia, to learn the mercantile business, but left there 
three years later and took to a seafaring life, his first voyage being with Capt. 
Robert Grant, with whom he sailed on a voyage to Spain, May 10, 1763. In the 
spring of 1764 he was appointed second mate of a ship built for his brother-in-law 
Capt. William McFunn, and sailed several trips under him to the West Indies 
and other points. In June, 1767, he purchased a ship with the assistance of his 
brother James, and sailed as captain, following the sea in that capacity until May 
4, 1775. When it became evident that war with the mother country was 
inevitable, Capt. Biddle returned to Philadelphia, determined to cast his lot with 
his country, for better or for worse. He sailed in the "Chance," with Capt. John 
Craig, for France, for a cargo of ammunition and arms for the use of the patriot 
army, but returned by way of West Indies with Capt. Mason. In January, 1776, 
he joined Capt. Cowpertwaite's company of the "Quaker Light Infantry," and 
when Capt. Cowpertwaite offered his company to serve as marines on board the 
barges sent down the river to capture the British vessel Roebuck reported to be 
aground on the Brandywine shoals ; though his offer was not accepted, Capt. 
Biddle and several others, learning that men were needed "before the mast" 
volunteered for that service and accompanied the expedition as ordinary seamen. 
In August, 1776, he went out with the "Quaker Light Infantry", marching with 
them to New Brunswick as acting sergeant, and receiving intelligence from Gen. 
Mercer that an attack was to be made on the Hessians on Staten Island, they 
marched to Elizabethtown Point to participate in the attack. A storm prevented 



1 66 BIDDLE 

the attack, and the balance of the term of their enlistment was spent with the 
"Flying Camp" at the Point. Returning to Philadelphia, he sailed in the "Grey- 
hound," for Port au Prince, but was taken with all on board by the "Antelope" 
and held prisoner several months. Finally effecting his escape to Jamaica, he 
assisted in fitting out a brig, loaded with salt for Nicola Mole, where he remained 
some time and then purchased a half interest in a vessel called "The Three 
Sisters," with Bristol Brown of Virginia, and sailed with her to North Carolina, 
landing at Beaufort, where he met for the first time his future wife Hannah 
Shepard. Loading the vessel for return to Brown, at the Mole, he set out for 
Philadelphia by way of Portsmouth and Baltimore, arriving at Philadelphia, June, 
1777, and finding his mother and family had removed to Reading, visited them 
there. On July 1, 1777, he set off again for Charleston, South Carolina, to visit 
his brother Nicholas, in command of the unfortunate "Randolph," ' in which 
he lost his life some months later. After spending some time with 
his brother he went to Beaufort to rejoin the "Three Sisters," but, learning 
that she had been captured by the British, returned to Philadelphia. He was at 
Baltimore when the British fleet appeared in the bay on its way to Philadelphia. 
After a short time spent in Reading he returned to Philadelphia, and entered on 
board an armed brig, and after the battle of Brandywine, sailed up the Delaware 
with a large number of fugitives from Philadelphia on board, and lay for some 
time near Bordentown. The day after the battle of Germantown he again went 
to Reading and after two days spent with the army, went to Charleston, and was 
appointed to the command of the "Volunteer", which was to sail with the "Ran- 
dolph", under the command of his brother Nicholas, to attack two British frigates 
off the bar. Delay in manning the "Volunteer" induced him to volunteer on board 
the "Randolph" for the expedition, but the frigates having sailed away before 
the expedition got started, Charles Biddle returned to Newbern to take command 
of a vessel called the "Cornelia," then being fitted out. While manning the 
"Cornelia" and drilling the men for service on her, he heard of the loss of the 
"Randolph" and the death of his distinguished brother Nicholas. Sailed with the 
"Cornelia", September, 1778, and returned to Beaufort with her November, 1778. 
Was married there, November 25, 1778, to Hannah Shepard, and made his home 
at Newbern and Beaufort until June 1, 1780, his eldest son Nicholas, who died in 
infancy, being born there October, 1779. He made one trip to sea in August, 

1779, but the greater part of a year and a half was spent at Newbern, where he 
took an active part in the organization of the militia for defense of the coast and 
in the erection of fortifications. He was elected to General Assembly of North 
Carolina and took an active part in that body. He left Newbern on June 1, 

1780, for Philadelphia, intending to return in five or six months, but remained in 
Pennsylvania the remainder of his life. After spending the summer at Reading, 
he went to sea again on November 15, 1781, with his old shipmate Capt. Decatur, 
but was captured, off the capes of Virginia, by the British brig "Chatham," and 
being exchanged soon after, returned to Philadelphia, January 31, 1782. The 
next two years were occupied with various sea ventures, and in October, 1784, 
he was elected a member of Supreme Executive Council, and a year later was 
elected Vice-president of the Council, and Benjamin Franklin, then just returned 
from France, was elected president, but, seldom attending, Capt. Biddle was 
during the next two years, for the greater part of the time, presiding officer of 



BIDDLE 167 

the Council and therefore acting chief executive of the State of Pennsylvania. 
During the second year of this service he met with an injury, and not being able 
to leave his house, the Council met at his home. In October, 1787, he was elected 
a member of the Legislature from Berks county, but being appointed October 23, 
1787, Clerk of Supreme Executive Council, resigned from the Legislature without 
taking his seat, and served as clerk of Council until that body ceased to exist 
under the new Constitution. On February 1, 1791, he was commissioned Pro- 
thonotary of Common Pleas Court of Philadelphia, succeeding his brother James, 
who was then made President Judge of the Common Pleas Court. Capt. Biddle 
served as Prothonotary until 1809, the following year was elected a member of 
the State Senate and served several terms. He was appointed by the President 
in 1812 to sign the treasury notes issued by the government. He was a member 
of State Board of Property, 1784-6, and Vice-president of the board the latter 
year. He was an original member of Society of Cincinnati, and was its treasurer 
in 181 1. He was elected a director of Bank of Pennsylvania, 1793, and served 
many years. In 1799, during the French agitation, he assisted in organization of 
a militia company for preservation of order at home, and took an active part in all 
matters pertaining to the best interests of the city. Capt. Charles Biddle was an 
intimate friend of Col. Aaron Burr, and while the Colonel was under a cloud 
by reason of the killing of Alexander Hamilton in a duel, he spent some time 
at the house of Capt. Biddle, in Philadelphia. Burr made an effort to interest 
Capt. Biddle in his Mississippi enterprise, but failed, though Capt. Biddle always 
believed in the sincerity of his motives. He died at his home on Chestnut 
street near Eleventh, April 4, 182 1, and was buried at Christ Church. 
Issue of Charles and Hannah (She par d) Biddle: — 

Nicholas, b. Newbern, N. C, Oct. 1779, d. inf.; 

William Shepard Biddle, b. Philadelphia Feb. 21, 1781, d. May 30, 1835, m. first, Circe 
Deroneray, and second, Elizabeth B. Keating, nee Hopkinson. Graduated univ. of Pa. 
1797. Prominent lawyer of Phila. 

James Biddle, b. Feb. 18, 1783, d. unm. October 1848; of whom later. 

Edward Biddle, b. 1784, appointed midshipman U. S. N., Feb. 14, 1800; d. on Frigate 
"President," Nov. 14, 1800. 

Nicholas, b. January 8, 1786, d. 1844, m. Jane Craig, of whom presently; 

Charles, b. 1787, d. 1836; business man in Phila. until 1826; admitted to bar at Nash- 
ville, Tenn., 1827. Sent to Isthmus of Panama by Pres. Jackson, 1835, to report on 
feasible route for railroad and canal across isthmus, and obtained concessions for 
former. M. 1808, Anna H. Stokes. Son James S. Biddle, entered U. S. N. as 
midshipman, Dec. 18, 1833; passed midshipman, July 2, 1839; Lieut. Aug. 29, 1834; 
resigned Sept. 25, 1856, m. Meta Craig Biddle, dau. of his uncle Nicholas Biddle ; 

A dau. b. 1788, d. 1789, at age of 15 months. 

Thomas, b. 1790, commissioned Capt. Infantry, April 9, 1812; under Col. Zebulon Pike; 
transferred to 2d Artillery July 6, 1812; Corps Artillery, May 12, 1814, wounded at 
Lundy's Lane and Fort Erie, and breveted Major for gallant and meritorious ser- 
vice, Aug. 15, 1814; transferred to Rifle Regiment, Jan. 7, 1820; commissioned Major 
P. M. Aug. 7, 1820; killed in duel with Spencer Pettis, M. C, Aug. 29, 1831. M. Ann 
Mullanphy ; no issue; 

John, b. 1792, d. Aug. 21, 1859, at Detroit, Michigan. Commissioned 2d Lieut. 3rd 
Artillery, U. S. A., July 6, 1812; 1st Lieut. March 13, 1813; transferred to Corps Artil- 
lery, May 17, 1815; Major, A. T. G., June 18, 1817, disbanded June 1, 1821. Delegate 
to Congress from Michigan, 1829-31 : president of convention which adopted first 
constitution of State. M. Eliza Bradish and had Margaretta, wife Gen. Andrew Por- 
ter, U. S. A. ; William, James, and Edward J. Biddle. 

Richard, b. 1796, d. Pittsburg, 1847, m. Ann Anderson. Eminent member Pittsburg Bar ; 
member of Congress, 1837-41 ; author of "Life of Sebastian Cabot." 



1 68 BIDDLE 

Nicholas Biddle, fourth surviving son of Charles and Hannah (Shepard) 
Biddle, born at Philadelphia January 8, 1786, was of much more than ordinary 
intellectual ability. At the age of thirteen years he had completed a course of 
study at University of Pennsylvania, and entered Princeton University, where 
he took his degree in his fifteenth year, dividing first honors with a much older 
class-mate. He studied law in Philadelphia three years and being too young to 
gain admission to the Bar, went, in 1804, to Europe as secretary to Gen. Arm- 
strong, United States Minister to Court of France, and was present at the corona- 
tion of Napoleon at Paris. He attended to the details of the Louisiana purchase 
and later, leaving the legation, traveled through the greater part of Europe, 
adding to his classical accomplishments a thorough mastery of the modern lan- 
guages of Europe. Arriving in England, he became secretary to James Monroe, 
then Minister at London, and remained there until 1807, when he returned to 
Philadelphia and took up the practice of law. He also devoted considerable time 
to literary pursuits, becoming associated with Joseph Dennie in the editorship of 
the Portfolio, 181 1, and writing a number of critical essays, biographies, essays 
on the fine arts, and occasional verses ; among his poetical productions being "An 
Ode to Bogle", the subject of which was an eccentric waiter and undertaker of 
Philadelphia. He prepared the original journal of the Lewis and Clark expedi- 
tion, from narrative and notes of the eminent explorers. He was elected to Penn- 
sylvania Legislature, 1810, and took an active part in the legislation of that ses- 
sion. He declined a re-election in the following year, married Jane, daughter of 
Capt. John Craig, and took up his country residence in Bucks county on land 
inherited by his wife, which he named Andalusia, though also maintaining a city 
residence. He was elected to State Senate during second war with England, 
gave zealous and prompt support to measures for carrying the war to a successful 
issue, and was one of the earliest advocates of popular education. He prepared 
the reply to the address of the Hartford Convention, his elaborate report, adopted 
by the Legislature, being one of the State papers that have attracted universal 
attention. He was a candidate of the Democratic party for Congress, 1818-20, 
but was defeated at the polls. In 1819, he was appointed by President Monroe 
a government director of Bank of the United States, was elected its president in 
1823, and took a very prominent part in its affairs until it was closed in 1836, by 
President Jackson's refusal to renew the charter. He was the first president of 
its successor, chartered by the state of Pennsylvania, called United States Bank, 
and served until 1839, when he resigned, and retired to his country seat at 
Andalusia. He was also appointed by President Monroe under an Act of Con- 
gress, to collate the laws of foreign countries in reference to commerce, money, 
weights and measures, etc., and prepared an octavo volume known as the "Com- 
mercial Digest." In matters of internal improvement and commerce he was one 
of the most far-seeing statesmen of his age. He took an active interest in agricul- 
ture and horticulture, after locating at his country seat "Andalusia" in Bensalem 
township, Bucks county, on the banks of the Delaware, which was his permanent 
residence from 1821 until his death. He was president of Agricultural Society 
of Philadelphia many years, and devoted much attention to the improvement of 
the country residence inherited by his wife, improving the fine old Colonial man- 
sion, and embellishing the extensive grounds surrounding it by the propogation 
of rare plants and trees. He was first to introduce the breeding of Alderney 



BIDDLE 169 

cattle, and greatly encouraged the cultivation of the grape, then a new industry in 
Pennsylvania. Here in his beautiful country retreat, Nicholas Biddle courted the 
muse, cultivated his fine literary tastes, and gave much attention to the encourage- 
ment of commerce and of internal improvements. Brilliant in his conception of 
ideas for the improvement and elevation of his race, and fearless in their advocacy, 
he left his impress on the community in which he lived. Charles J. Ingersoll, his 
political opponent, says of him, "Nicholas Biddle was as iron-nerved as his great 
antagonist, Andrew Jackson, loved his country not less — and money as little." 
One of his favorite hobbies was Greek architecture, and he is quoted as saying 
that there were "but two truths in this world, the Bible and Greek architecture." 
He added to the "Andalusia" mansion the beautiful Doric portico that still adorns 
it, and his influence was exerted for the adoption of that style for public buildings, 
and Girard College, modelled after "Andalusia", is a sample of his efforts. His 
ideas on many subjects, were far in advance of his age, and were not fully appre- 
ciated during his life time. Gov. Packer later wrote of him : "Whatever may be 
said of Nicholas Biddle as a politician, or a financier, all agree that on questions 
of internal improvement and commerce he was one of the most sagacious and far- 
seeing statesmen of the Union. His fault was, if fault it be, that he was twenty 
years in advance of the age in which he lived." 

Nicholas Biddle died at Andalusia February 27, 1844, at the age of fifty-eight 
years. His wife survived him. 

Issue of Nicholas and Jane (Craig) Biddle: — 

Edward Biddle, m. Jane M. (Sarmiento) Craig, and had issue: — 

Edith Biddle, m. Van Rensselaer; 

Frances Biddle ; 

Agnes Biddle, m. Ward; 

Edward Biddle, m. Emily Drexel; 
Mildred Biddle. 
Charles John Biddle, d. Sept. 28, 1873 ; commissioned Captain in the U. S. A. Feb. 16, 
1847; served with distinction during the Mexican War, being made Major by brevet, 
Sept. 13, 1847, "for gallant and meritorious services at the storming of Chapultepec". 
His regiment was disbanded Aug. 29, 1848. He was commissioned Colonel of 13th 
Regiment, United States Volunteers, June 21, 1861, but resigned his commission Dec. 
11, 1861, having been elected to the United States Congress, in which he served one 
term. M. Emma Mather, of a prominent Phila. county family, and they had issue : 
Emma Biddle, m. Thomas F. Dixon ; 
Charles Biddle, m. Letitia Glenn ; 

John Craig Biddle, m. Delia Sturgess, and had one dau., Delia Biddle ; 
Adele Biddle, b. June 15, 1864; m. April 23, 1884, Samuel H. Thomas, of Phila., 

b. 1853; 
Dillon Biddle; 

Alexander Mercer Biddle, m. Harriet Fox, and had issue: — 
Harriet Biddle; 
Mercer Biddle ; 
Sydney Biddle; 
Katharine Biddle. 
Hon. Craig Biddle, b. Jan. 10, 1823; of whom presently; 

Meta Craig Biddle, m. her cousin, Capt. James S. Biddle, of the U. S. N., son of 
Charles Biddle, (1787-1836), brother of Nicholas, by his wife Anna H. Stokes. They 
had issue : — 

Jane Craig Biddle; 
Nicholas Biddle; m. Eliza I. Butler. 
Adele Biddle; 
Jane Biddle. 



170 BIDDLE 

Hon. Craig Biddle, youngest son of Nicholas Biddle by his wife Jane Craig, 
was born in Philadelphia January 10, 1823. He received his preliminary educa- 
tion under private tutors and entered the College of New Jersey, now Princeton 
University, from which he graduated with degree of A. M., 1841, and 
from which institution he later received the honorary degree of LL.D. 
He studied law in Philadelphia, was admitted to the Bar 1844, and 
practiced in that city until his elevation to the bench, 1875. As a lawyer he was 
conservative and unostentatious, and he enjoyed the reputation of a safe and 
learned counsellor, and a logical and successful advocate. He took little part 
in public affairs in early life, serving one term in General Assembly, 1849. At 
the outbreak of hostilities, between the States in 1861, he entered the service as 
a member of the staff of Gen. Robert Patterson, with the rank of Major, and 
served with him in the Shenandoah campaign of 1861. He was later a member of 
the staff of Gov. Andrew G. Curtin, assisting in the organization of new regi- 
ments, and 1863, when Pennsylvania was threatened with invasion by Lee's army, 
he went out in an Emergency Company for State defence, as a private. 

In 1875, he was appointed Judge of Common Pleas Court of Philadelphia, to 
fill a vacancy, in the fall of the same year was nominated and elected to the same 
position for the full term of ten years, and was unanimously re-elected in 1885, 
and 1895, filling the position of presiding Judge of that Court until his resigna- 
tion in 1907, to accept the position of Prothonotary of Courts of Philadelphia, 
which position he still fills. Judge Biddle, like his distinguished father, served many 
years as President of the Philadelphia Agricultural Society, and took active inter- 
est in its proceedings. He has been many years one of the active members of His- 
torical Society of Pennsylvania, of which he is vice-president, and has been the 
vice-president of the Princeton Club several years, and President of the Ritten- 
house Club since 1891. 

Capt. Nicholas Biddle, ninth child, and fifth surviving son, of William Bid- 
dle (who came to Philadelphia from New Jersey 1730, and died there 1756) by 
his wife Mary Scull, was born in Philadelphia September 10, 1750, and was 
therefore but six years of age at the death of his father. At the age of thirteen 
years he shipped on board a trading vessel at Philadelphia, and thereafter fol- 
lowed the sea, until his tragic death in the service of his country, on the "Ran- 
dolph", March 7, 1778. After several voyages on trading vessels sailing from 
the port of Philadelphia, then one of the most important maritime ports in the 
Colonies ; and after being several times shipwrecked, young Biddle went to Eng- 
land and became a midshipman on board a British Sloop-of-war, commanded 
by Capt., afterwards Admiral, Sterling; and subsequently was transferred to a 
vessel in the command of the Hon. Capt. Phipps, which was sent northward, 
where he first met Horatio Nelson, a volunteer like himself; and both were 
made coxswain, 1773. 

When an armed conflict between the mother country and the American Col- 
onies became imminent, in 1775, Nicholas Biddle returned to Philadelphia with 
the determination to enter the service and share the fortunes of his native 
country in weal or woe. He was placed in command of a galley called the 
"Franklin," one of the first armed vessels fitted out by the sub-committee of the 
Committee of Safety, viz., Owen Biddle, (first cousin of Capt. Nicholas) and 
Robert White ; for the defense of the Delaware. He was commissioned Captain 



BIDDLE 



171 



of the "Franklin", August 1, 1775. Service in this fleet proving too monotonous 
for Capt. Biddle, he resigned December 9, 1775, and two weeks later, was 
appointed, by resolution of Congress, Captain of the "Andrea Doria", a little brig 
of fourteen guns, and with the squadron of Commodore Hopkins, sailed from Del- 
aware Bay, February 17, 1776, on an expedition against New Providence. Capt. 
Biddle at once showed special valor and skill in the command of his vessel, the lit- 
tle brig succeeding in capturing two armed transports loaded with soldiers, and 
made so many prizes of merchant ships, that he returned to the Delaware with 
but five of his original crew, the others having been put in charge of the prizes 
captured, and their places filled from the crews of the captured vessels. Capt. 
Biddle was made captain of the "Randolph," sailed with that vessel for the 
Carolina coast, February 1777, and remained in that vicinity in charge of the 
naval operations there, until the "Randolph" was blown up in an attack on the 
British ship "Yarmouth" March 7, 1778. 

Capt. Biddle was an able and intrepid commander and a skilled navigator, and 
would have inevitably attained high rank had he been spared. He died single, 
having, at the time of his tragic death, been engaged to marry a lady of Charles- 
ton, South Carolina. His naval career, though short, was very brilliant, and his 
services were highly appreciated by Congress. 

Commodore James Biddle, another naval hero of the Biddle family of Phila- 
delphia, was a nephew of Capt. Nicholas, being the second surviving son of Hon. 
Charles Biddle by his wife Hannah Shepard. He was born in Philadelphia, Feb- 
ruary 18, 1783, and left University of Pennsylvania to accept appointment of 
midshipman, with his brother Edward, under Commodore Truxton, Septem- 
ber 1800. He went to the Mediterranean under Commodore Murray, 1802, in 
the "Constitution", and was later transferred to the "Philadelphia", Capt. Bain- 
bridge, which on October 31, 1803, ran upon a bar on the coast of Tripoli, and 
all on board were captured by the Moors, and held in captivity until January, 
1805. He was made First Lieutenant of the "Wasp", Capt. Jacob Jones, and 
October 18, 1812, led the boarders from that vessel when she captured the 
"Frolic", and received medal from Congress for his gallant services and a sword 
from his native State, and was promoted to Master Commandant, and placed in 
charge of a flotilla of boats to defend the Delaware, and later to the command 
of the "Hornet", with which he became blockaded at New London, and was 
ordered to dismantle his ship, to avoid capture ; he, however, begged permission 
to run the blockade and succeeded in doing so on November 18, 1814. 

He joined the East India Squadron, March 22, 1815, and in the capture of the 
"Penguim", in a battle fought after the treaty of peace was signed, was treacher- 
ously shot in the neck by the British crew after they had offered to surrender. 
At the close of the war he returned to the United States and was promoted to 
the rank of Captain, and at three different periods held commands in South 
American waters. In 1817 he took possession of the newly acquired territory 
of Oregon. In 1826 he signed the commercial treaty with Turkey. 1838- 1842, 
he held the position of Governor of the Naval Asylum at Philadelphia. In 1845, 
he commanded the East India squadron, and exchanged the ratifications of the 
first treaty with China, as United States Commissioner to that country. During 
the Mexican War he took command of the Pacific naval force, having long since 



172 BIDDLE 

been promoted to the rank of Commodore. He returned to Philadelphia in 
March, 1848, and died there October 1, 1848. He was never married. 

John Biddle, son of William and Lydia (Wardell) Biddle, born at the ances- 
tral home of the family, "Mount Hope", New Jersey, 1707, left there with his 
brother William, (whose descendants are traced in the preceding pages), in 1730, 
and located in Philadelphia, where he was a successful business man many years. 
He married, March 3, 1736, Sarah, daughter of Owen Owen, a wealthy farmer in 
the present limits of Montgomery county, a descendant of the family of Owen of 
Dolly Sene, Wales, one of the most ancient in Great Britain, whose ancestry and 
descendants of the name are noted in another part of this volume. 
Issue of John and Sarah (Owen) Biddle: — 

Owen, b. in Phila. in 1737, d. March 10, 1799, m. Sept. 29, 1760, Sarah Parke; of 
whom presently ; 

Clement, b. Phila., May 10, 1740, d. July 14, 1814, m. (first) Mary Richardson, and (sec- 
ond) Rebecca Cornell; of whom later; 

Ann, m. Gen. James Wilkinson, U. S. A. ; 

Sarah, m. (first) James Penrose; (second) John Shaw; (third) Rudolph Tellier ; 

Lydia, m. Dr. James Hutchinson, b. Bucks county ; Surgeon in Revolutionary War and 
later distinguished physician in Phila. 

Owen Biddle, eldest child of John and Sarah (Owen) Biddle, born at the old 
Biddle residence, Market street, 1737, on arriving at manhood engaged in the 
clock and watch-making business in Philadelphia, and later entered into the ship- 
ping and importing business with his brother Clement. He was a man of high 
scholastic attainments. He joined early in life the '"Junto", which was a continu- 
ation of the literary circle founded by Dr. Franklin, and, 1763, was appointed 
with Isaac Paschall to revise the laws of the society, which then adopted the name 
of the "American Society for the Promoting and Propogation of Useful Knowl- 
edge", which fused with the American Philosophical Society, 1768. and of which 
he was one of the most distinguished members, among whom were his brother 
Clement Biddle, Edmund Physick, Isaac and Moses Bertram, Nicholas Wain, and 
David Rittenhouse. At the time of the transit of Venus, June 3, 1769, Owen 
Biddle was assigned to the observatory at Cape Henlopen, and his observations 
were favorably commented upon by the most noted astronomers of Europe and 
America. He also conducted observations of the eclipse of the sun, June 24, 
1778. He was elected one of the curators of the Philosophical Society, January 5, 
1770; one of its secretaries, January J, 1773 ; delivered the annual oration, March 
2, 1781, and was elected one of the councillors, January 4, 1782. He was an original 
member of the Company for Encouraging the Culture of Silk in America, 1770. 

He was from the first an ardent patriot in opposition to the oppressive measures 
of the mother country. Both he and his brother Clement were among the earliest 
signers of the Non-importation Agreement of 1765, he was a delegate to Provin- 
cial Conference held at Philadelphia, January 23, 1775, became a most active 
member of Committee of Safety, and one of the delegates to the Constitutional 
Convention of July and September, 1776, which framed the constitution under 
which Pennsylvania was governed from that date until 1790. He had charge of 
the publication of the Declaration of Independence in the counties of Bucks, Ches- 
ter, Lancaster, Berks and Northampton. Became a member of first Board of 
War, March 13, 1777, and was a member of Council of Safety, organized the 



BIDDLE 



173 



same date. On July 6, 1775, he was one of the Committee appointed by Com- 
mittee of Safety, of which he was a member, to superintend the construction of 
armed boats and obstructions for the defense of the Delaware, and on July 14, 
1775, was ordered to secure four tons of grape shot in possession of the city. On 
August 31, 1775, he was directed to procure a seal for the Board of War, "the size 
of a Dollar with a Cap of Liberty, and the motto 'This is my right and I will 
defend it.' ' He was constantly on committees to procure ammunition, stores and 
clothing for the use of the army in the field, and in this work co-operated with his 
brother Clement who had actively entered the ranks and was Deputy Commis- 
sioner of Forage and Supplies for the Pennsylvania Militia. He was one of the 
eighty merchants who became personally responsible for 260,000 pounds of sup- 
plies for the army. He was appointed, February 11, 1782, to run the boundary 
line between Pennsylvania and Virginia, which settled the long standing dispute 
on that question with Virginia. In his ardent support of the rights of his country- 
men, his financial interest, largely centered in the foreign, West India and Coast 
trade, was completely wrecked. Three of his vessels being captured and destroyed 
vvith their cargoes, he made an assignment of all his property for the benefit of 
his creditors, January 8, 1783, but his assets proved more than sufficient to pay 
his debts and left him a small surplus. He had been disowned by the Society of 
Friends for his activity in warlike measures, and, 1781, was one of the organizers 
of the society of "Free Quakers", with about one hundred others. However, on 
May 30, 1783, he sought re-instatement in the Philadelphia Monthly Meeting and 
again became one of its active members. He took a prominent part in educational 
matters and was one of the first to agitate the question of establishing a boarding 
school for instruction in the higher branches ; which led to the establishing of 
Westtown Boarding School in Chester county, under the care of Friends, and he 
was one of the first committee in charge of the school, October 3, 1794. and served 
until his death, March 10, 1799. He had married, September 29, 1760, Sarah 
Parke, born Chester county, Pennsylvania, March 29, 1742, died August 16, 1794, 
daughter of Thomas and Jane (Edge) Parke, and granddaughter of Thomas 
Parke, born in Ireland, 1660, who with the greater part of his family came to 
Pennsylvania in 1724. 

Thomas Parke Sr., a member of the Society of Friends, was living in 1720, at 
either Ballilean, Blaughmoor, or Coolis Nachtah, Ireland, (being a landholder in 
all three places) with wife Rebecca and ten children, seven of whom accompanied 
him to America. They embarked from Dublin, Ireland, May 21, 1724, in ship 
"Sizargh", of White Haven, and arrived in the Delaware at Chester, August 21, 
1724. After remaining about three months at Chester, he purchased 500 acres 
of land in East Cain township, Chester county, and removed thereon. He was an 
elder of Cain Meeting and active in their affairs. He died imo. 31, 1738, and his 
widow survived him about twelve years. 
Issue of Thomas and Rebecca Parke: — 

Mary, b. July 18, 1693, m. Thomas Valentine, and preceded her parents to Pennsylvania ; 
Robert, b. Jan. 23, 1695, a storekeeper at Dublin, 1720-1, accompanied his parents to 

Pennsylvania, and d. unm. Feb. 9, 1737; 
Susanna, b. Oct. 22, 1696, remained in Ireland; 
Rebecca, b. Nov. 22, 1698-9, m. Hugh Stalker; 
Rachel, b. Oct. 26, 1700, m. John Robison ; 



174 BIDDLE 

Jean, b. Feb. 6, 1703, d. Feb. 12, 1705, and is bur. at the Friends' burying ground at 

Ballikaely, Ireland ; 
Thomas, b. Jan. 13, 1704-5, m. April 26, 1739, Jane Edge, was a farmer in Chester 

county, d. there, Oct. 17, 1758; 

Abel, b. Dec. 22, 1706, d. July 1757, m. Deborah ; 

Jonathan, b. Feb. 18, 1709, m. Deborah Taylor ; 

Elizabeth, b. Aug. 5, 1710, d. April 16, 1746, m. John Jackson. 

Issue of Thomas Jr. and Jane (Edge) Parke: — 

Robert, b. 1740, m. Oct. 18, 1770, Ann Edge; d. Oct. 14, 1777, 

Sarah, b. March 29, 1742, d. Aug. 16, 1794, m. Owen Biddle ; 

Rebecca, b. 1744, m. William Webb, a ship builder ; 

Hannah, b. 1747, m. Benjamin Poultney; 

Thomas, b. Aug. 6, 1749, became a distinguished physician of Phila. Was one 

of the founders of the Phila. College of Physicians, m. Rachel Pemberton ; 
James, d. inf. ; 
Jacob, d. unm. March 10, 1877. 

Owen Biddle and his family resided during the Revolution at "Peel Hall," oc- 
cupying the present site of Girard College. His wife failing in health, removed to the 
place of her nativity at Downington, Chester county, where she died 1794. 
Issue of Owen and Sarah (Parke) Biddle: — 

Jane, b. July 29, 1761, d. Sept. 28, 1793, unm. ; 

John, b. Oct. 2, 1763, d. Aug. 16, 1815, m. Sept. 15, 1796, Elizabeth Canby, of whom 

presently ; 
Rebecca Owen, b. Jan. 26, 1766, m. 1796, Peter Thompson; 
Sarah, b. Jan. 19, 1767, d. Sept. 1795, unm. ; 
Tacy, b. April 8, 1770, d. March 3, 1778; 
Thomas, b. Nov. 13, 1772, d. Dec. 17, 1773 ; 
Owen, b. April 28, 1774, d. May 25, 1806, m. Elizabeth Rowan ; 
Robert, b. March 3, 1776, d. July 15, 1777 ; 
Clement, b. Aug. 6, 1778, m. 1810, Mary Canby; (second) 1851, Sarah (Morris) Tyson; 

d. Feb. io, 1856; of whom presently; 
Anne, b. July 23, 1780, m. John Tatum. 

John Biddlf, eldest son of Owen and Sarah (Parke) Biddle, born in Phila- 
delphia October 3, 1763, was an apothecary and druggist, and died August 16, 
1815. He married, September 15, 1796, Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel and 
Frances (Lea) Canby, of Wilmington, Delaware, granddaughter of Oliver Canby, 
the pioneer miller of Wilmington, by his wife Elizabeth Shipley, and great- 
granddaughter of Thomas Canby, the eminent Friend of Bucks county, many 
years a member of Provincial Assembly, by his second wife Mary, daughter of 
Evan Olver, who came from Wales and settled in Philadelphia county. Eliza- 
beth (Canby) Biddle died in Philadelphia, April 26, 1832. 
Issue of John and Elizabeth (Canby) Biddle: — 

Samuel Canby Biddle, b. June 10, 1797, d. unm. Feb. 14, 1826; 
Sarah Biddle, b. Feb. 28, 1799, d. Jan. 22, 1879; 

Joseph Biddle, b. Jan. 26, 1801, d. Aug. 26, 1835, m. April 27, 1831, Ann P. Hopkins; 
they had issue : — 

Elizabeth M. Biddle, m. April 17, 1866, Matthew Baird, and d. July 9, 1871. 
Joseph Biddle, Jr., d. s. p., Sept. 23, 1865. 



BIDDLE iy S 

James Canby Biddle, b. Dec. 23, 1802, d. March 31, 184 1 ; m. April 27, 1828 Sallie 

, b. in Phila., May 9, 1803, d. there April 3, 1828, dau. of Henry Sandwith 

Drinker, of Phila., and of "Drinker's Folly", Penn's Manor, Bucks county, Pa., by 
his wife Hannah, dau. of James Smith, of Burlington, N. J., by his wife Esther 
Hewlings; and granddaughter of Hon. John Smith, of Phila. and Burlington, N. J., 
by his wife Hannah, youngest dau. of James Logan, Proprietary Secretary, etc. On 
the paternal side Mrs. Biddle was descended from John Drinker, and his wife Ruth 
Balch, (whose father Benjamin Balch, was the first white child born in Massachusetts 
Bay Colony) who came to Phila. from Beverly, Mass., where Philip Drinker, from 
Exeter, England, the grandfather of John, had settled with his family in 1635. 

James Canby Biddle went to Montrose, Susquehanna county, Pa., as agent of the 
Drinker estate. 

Issue of James C. and Sallie (Drinker) Biddle: — 

Elizabeth Hannah Biddle, b. March 11, 1830, d. July 19, 1881, m. Oct. 22, 1861, 
Rev. William F. Halsey, rector of St. David's Radnor, 1866-1882; 

Henry Drinker Biddle, b. July 17, 1831 ; 

Emily Biddle, b. March 29, 1833, d. Aug. 16, 1834; 

Hetty Drinker Biddle, b. Oct. 31, 1834; 

Frances Garrett Biddle, b. Dec. 16, 1835, d. Dec. 15, 1841; 

Mary Drinker Biddle, b. July 11, 1838. 
Frances Biddle, b. Nov. 29, 1803, d. Sept. 5, 1873; m. Oct. 18, 1827, Thomas C. Gar- 
ret, b. in Phila. March 30, 1805, d. there Nov. 18, 1888. Was a number of years mem- 
ber of firm of Garrett, Eastwick & Harrison, machine manufacturers in Phila. ; later, 
with his father Philip C. Garrett, the founder of the watch and jewelry business, since 
close of the Civil War carried on by their successors, Bailey, Banks & Biddle. Philip 
C. and John B. Garrett, sons of Thomas C. and Frances (Biddle) Garrett, composed 
the prominent manufacturing firm of P. C. & J. B. Garrett, succeeded in 1873, by 
firm of Philip C. Garrett & Co. Philip C. Garrett, elder of the brothers, has been 
many years prominently identified with numerous business and financial institutions 
of Phila., as well as with leading philanthropic and charitable institutions of the 
city; 

William Biddle, b. May 17, 1806, d. June 7, 1887; m. May 8, 1828, Elizabeth Cres- 
son Garrett ; of whom presently ; 

Edward C. Biddle, b. Jan. 5, 1808, m. May 14, 1832, Hetty H. Foster ; founder of firm 
of E. C. & J. B. Biddle, publishers and booksellers — later Key, Mielke & Biddle, and 
E. C. Biddle & Co.; 1857-1884 president West Moreland Coal Co.; many years a 
director of Northern Central R. R. Co., and a director and controller of public 
schools of Phila. ; 

Margaret Biddle, b. June 8, 1810, d. Sept. 25, 1810. 

Rebecca, b. Jan. 8, 1812; m. Oct. 14, 1851, Alfred Cope of firm of Henry & Alfred Cope, 
proprietors of a line of Packet ships plying between Philadelphia and Liverpool ; 

John Biddle, b. June 28, 1814, d. Oct. 19, 1884; m. Dec. 15, 1852, Mary B. Foster; in 
early life agent at Calcutta of firm of Foster & Chapman ; 1841 became member of 
firm of E. C. & J. Biddle; several years secretary of Board of Managers of House 
of Refuge ; 1859-1884 president of Locust Mountain Coal & Iron Co. ; one of founders 
of night schools in Philadelphia; 

Owen Biddle, second surviving son of Owen and Sarah (Parke) Biddle, born 
in Philadelphia, April 28, 1774, died there May 25, 1806, was an architect and 
builder, and designed and built the first permanent bridge over the Schuylkill 
at Market street. He was author of the "Young Carpenter's Assistant", designed 
for the instruction of young mechanics in the art of building, published in 1805. 
He married in 1798, Elizabeth, daughter of Moses and Hannah (Jackson) 
Rowan, who after his decease married ( second) John Broadbent, from York- 
shire, England, and had five children by him. She died November 26, 1832. 
Issue of Owen and Elizabeth (Rowan) Biddle: — 

John Rowan Biddle, b. Feb. 15, 1709, d. Oct. 26, 1854; m. Nov. 21, 1821, Jane Marsh; 
Anne Biddle, b. Jan. 2, 1801, d. Nov. 30, 1850; 
Rebecca Biddle, b. Aug. 30, 1802, d. March 25, 1804; 



176 BIDDLE 

Owen Biddle, b. July 21, 1804, d. Oct. 19, 1884, m. (first), March 4, 1831, Mary Ann 

Thompson; (second), June 15, 1851, Sarah Lavery; 
Elizabeth Biddle, b. May 6, 1806, d. July 17, 1833. 

Clement Btddle, youngest son of the distinguished patriot Owen Biddle, by 
his wife Sarah Parke, born in "Peel Hall", on the present site of Girard College, 
Philadelphia, August 6, 1778, was educated in Philadelphia, and on the comple- 
tion of his education, being threatened with a pulmonary disease, he made sev- 
eral voyages to the West Indies and South America 1800-05. Having entirely 
ergained his health, he returned home, and in 1807, engaged in the sugar-refining 
business for twenty-five years. Clement Biddle was a prominent mem- 
ber of the Society of Friends in Philadelphia Monthly Meeting, of which he 
was an Overseer and Elder for many years prior to his death. He was one of 
the active promoters of Friend's Asylum for the Insane, at Frankford, first insti- 
tution of its kind in America, and served as its clerk until the division of the 
Society of Friends disrupted its management, and its control passed into the 
hands of the Orthodox branch. He took an active interest in the philanthropic 
and educational enterprises instituted and supported by Friends, until his death, 
February 10, 1856. 

Clement Biddle married, November 2, 1810, Mary Canby, born at Wilming- 
ton, Delaware, February 11, 1780, died in Philadelphia, April 12, 1849; daugh- 
ter of William and Martha (Marriott) Canby of Wilmington, and granddaughter 
of Oliver and Elizabeth (Shipley) Canby; first cousin to Elizabeth Canby, who 
had married his elder brother John Biddle. He married (second), 1851, Sarah 
Saunders (Morris) Tyson, born in Philadelphia November 22, 1790, died there, 
February 26, 1883, daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Marshall) Morris, of Phila- 
delphia, granddaughter of Thomas and Mary (Saunders) Morris; a descendant 
of Anthony Morris, the pioneer merchant of Philadelphia, and widow of Elisha 
Tyson. 

Issue of Clement and Mary (Canby) Biddle: — 

Martha, b. Oct. 21, 181 1; d. Jan. 25, 1833, unm. ; 

Robert Biddle, b. Aug. 10, 1814; founder of firm of R. & W. C. Biddle, now the Biddle 

Hardware Co. Many years Treasurer of Swathmore College and was succeeded by 

his son Charles M. Biddle, the present treasurer; m. Anna Mliler; 
William Canby Biddle, b. Sept. 25, 1816, d. Dec. 22, 1887 ; m. Feb. 21, 1838, Rachel 

Miller, b. Oct. 11, 1818; 
Henry Biddle, d. young; 
Clement Biddle, b. Nov. 17, 1819; m. (first) Susan T. Walton; (second) Susan W. 

Cadwalader ; 
Anne Biddle, b. Nov. 18, 1822. 

William Canby Biddle, second son of Clement and Mary (Canby) Biddle, 
born in Philadelphia, September 25, 1816, was educated in Friends' schools of 
Philadelphia and elsewhere, and was with his elder brother Robert Biddle. founder 
of the firm of R. & W. C. Biddle, now the Biddle Hardware Company, with which 
one of the sons and two of the grandsons of Robert Biddle are still associated. 
William Canby Biddle was known in business circles as a man of business ability, 
energy, and integrity. He was an influential member of Society of Friends, and a 
promoter and supporter of Swathmore College, of which he was many years a 
trustee. He was also one of the managers of Preston Retreat, and associated 



BIDDLE 177 

with other philanthropic and charitable institutions. He married, February 21, 
1838, Rachel, born October 11, 1818, died October 7, 1892, daughter of Daniel L. 
and Hannah (Nicholson) Miller. William Canby Biddle died December 22, 1887. 
Issue of William Canby and Rachel (Miller) Biddle: — 

Clement Miller Biddle, b. Dec. 24, 1838; m. Oct. 11, i860, Lydia Cooper, b. Jan. 4, 1841 ; 
and they had issue: 

Lucy, b. Sept. 26, 1861 ; m. Sept. 25, 1884, J. Reece Lewis ; 

William Canby Biddle, Jr., b. June 2, 1864; 

Robert Biddle, Jr., b. May 31, 1867; 

Caroline Cooper, b. March 13, 1871 ; 

Lydia, b. Sept. 13, 187 — ; 

Clement M. Jr., b. Aug. 22, 1876. 

Frances Canby Biddle, b. Aug. 11, 1840; m. June 18, 1862, Clement Acton Griscom, b. 
March 15, 1841 ; 

Helen Biddle, b. March 25, 1844, d. March 28, 1877; m. Sept. 17, 1866, George Brinton 

Thomas ; 
Mary, b. Dec. 17, 1849; ni. Jan. 28, 1869, Howard Wood; 
Hannah Nicholson, b. April 18, 1855, m. Oct. 18, 1877, Charles William, b. Nov. 22, 1851. 

The Garrett Family, from which Thomas C. Garrett, who married Frances 
Biddle, and Elizabeth Cresson Garrett, who married William Biddle, are de- 
scended, was founded in this country by William Garrett, or "Garrat" (as his 
name is spelled in the old family Bible, printed 1634, which he brought to this 
country with him) who came from Harby, county of Leicester, England, 1684, 
and settled in Upper Darby, Chester county, removing shortly prior to his death, 
to Philadelphia, where he died 1724. He was a son of John and Mary Garrat, born 
August 21, 1643, an d baptized September 3 following. He became a member of 
the Society of Friends, and married, April 19, 1668, Ann Kirke, born March 19, 
1642. They resided at Harby, 1672-84, and by deeds of lease and release, dated 
August 9 and 10, 1684, he and Samuel Levis, also of Harby, an account of whom 
and some of his descendants is given in these pages, purchased of William Penn, 
one thousand acres of land to be laid out in Pennsylvania. Both families obtained 
certificates from Friends at Harby, dated 5mo. (July) 20, 1684, and came to Penn- 
sylvania the same year ; Samuel Levis locating in Springfield, Chester county, and 
William Garrett in Upper Darby, the same county. William Garrett was a prom- 
inent member of Darby Meeting of Friends for thirty-seven years, his wife was 
buried there April 7, 1 721, after which he removed to Philadelphia, where he died, 
as before stated, 1724. He was member of Provincial Assembly of Pennsylvania, 
1706-7. 

Issue of William and Ann (Kirke) Garrett: — 

Anne, b. Feb. 4, 1668-9, at "Hosse" England, bur. at Harby, Leicestershire, Nov. 10, 

1672; 
Mary, b. Nov. 1670, at "Hosse" d. in Pennsylvania, January 16, 1703-4; m. Abel Noble 

of Warminster, Bucks county, Pa. ; 
Samuel, b. at Harby, Leicestershire, July 7, 1672, d. on the old homestead at Upper 

Darby, March 4, 1743-4; was elected to Provincial Assembly in the years 1714-15-17; 

m. 1698, Jane, b. July 13, 1678, d. Aug. 27, 1736; dau. of Robert and Hannah Pennell, 

of Middletown, Chester county; of their descendants later. 
Hannah, b. June 23, 1674; m. (first) George Emlen : (see Emlen Family) and (second) 

William Tidmarsh ; 
Sarah, b. June 23, 1676 ; m. Randal Croxon ; 
Alice, b. June 24, 1678; d. Sept. 13, 1748; m. Joseph Pennell; 

12 



ty8 BIDDLE 

William, b. Harby, Leicestershire, England, April 4, 1679, d. March 5, 1726-7, in Darby, 
Chester county, Pa.; m. Nov., 1709, Mary, b. at Darby, Nov. 1, 1686, d. there, Feb. 11, 
1742-3, dau. of John and Elinor (Dolby) Smith, of Darby, who came from Leicester- 
shire in 1684, and both of whom were ministers of Society of Friends. 

Isaac, second son of William and Mary (Smith) Garrett, b. Oct. 19, 1714, d. in 
Birmingham, Chester county, Jan. 19, 1793; m. (first), 1742, Elizabeth Hatton; 
(second) 1757, Agnes Lewis, and was for a time resident in Philadelphia; was 
great grandfather of Edwin Thatcher Garrett, and Casper S. Garrett and Sylves- 
ter Garrett, composing at different periods firm of commission merchants of C. 
S. & E. T. Garrett, C. S. Garrett & Bro. and C. S. Garrett & Son. The latter 
firm also owned and operated the Keystone Paper Mill, and the Marley Paper 
Mill, in Chester county, with store and offices in Philadelphia; and both Casper 
S. Garrett and his son and successor, William Garrett, have been prominently 
identified with the business and financial institutions of the city; 
Thomas, b. Harby, Leicestershire, Jan., 1681-2; d. Chester county, Pa., Feb. 1716-17; m. 

Rebecca Vernon; 
John Garrett, the only child of William and Ann (Kirke) Garrett to be b. in Pennsyl- 
vania was b. at Darby, March 22, 1685-6, d. unm. Oct. 21, 1713. 

Issue of Samuel and Jane {Pennell) Garrett, of Upper Darby : — 

Mary, b. June 7, 1699, m. (first) Thomas Oldman ; (second) Obadiah Eldridge ; 
Joseph, b. April 25. 1701 ; m. April 25, 1722, Mary Sharpless. and settled in Goshen, 

Chester county, where he was a farmer and weaver. D. about 1770, leaving three 

sons and three daughters ; 
Hannah, b. Sept. 17, 1704; m. 1728, William Lewis; 
Samuel, b. Oct. 22, 1708, d. Jan. 29, 1747 ; m. 1731, Sarah Hibberd, who after his death, 

became the second wife of Amos Yarnall ; 
Nathan, b. Feb. 13, 1711-12, d. Sept. 16, 1802; m. Ann Knowles; of whom presently; 
James, b. June 17, 1714, d. Aug. 13, 1736, unm. ; 
Thomas, b. Dec. 26, 171 7, d. March 16, 1748-9; m. Rebecca Sykes; 
Jane, b. June 20, 17 19, m. Jacob Hibberd. 

Nathan Garrett, son of Samuel and Jane (Pennell) Garrett, and grandson of 
William and Ann (Kirke) Garrett, born in Darby February 13, 171 1-2, was the 
owner of 200 acres of land in Upper Darby, on which he resided until his death. 
September 16, 1802. He married, 1739, Ann, born 1710, died 1787, daughter of 
John and Ann (Paul) Knowles of Oxford, Philadelphia county; and they were 
parents of five children, viz. : — 

Hannah, b. 1740, d. 1746; 

Jane, b. July 12, 1742 ; m. 1765, David Jones ; 

Nathan, b. May 18, 1745, d. April 9, 1827; m. first, June 9, 1768, Elizabeth, dau. 
of Hon. John Sellers of Phila., and Darby, by his wife Ann Gibson; and second, 
July 6, 1780, Hannah Rhoads ; third, June 26, 1799, Elizabeth (Davis) Dunn; 

Thomas, b. March 9, 1749-50, d. Aug. 24, 1839; of whom presently; 

Ann, b. Sept. 24, 1752; m. May 24, 1770, Henry Paschall. 

Thomas Garrett, youngest son of Nathan and Ann Knowles Garrett ; married, 
first, at Springfield Meeting, November 18, 1773, Margaret, daughter of Samuel 
and Mary (Thompson) Levis of Springfield, who died August 11, 1776, leaving 
one son, Samuel Garrett, born July 19, 1775. who married Hannah Davis. Thomas 
Garrett married (second), at Darby Meeting, April 15. 1779, Sarah Price, born 
at Kingsessing, Philadelphia. June 30, 1759, died at Darby, May 30, 1839, daugh- 
ter of Philip Price of Kingsessing, by his wife Hannah Bonsai, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Martha (Fisher) Bonsai and granddaughter of Richard and Mary 
Bonsai, who came from Derbyshire, England, 1682, and settled at Kingsessing. 
Philip Price, the grandfather of the above named Philip, was born in Wales, 1623, 



BIDDLE i 79 

came to Pennsylvania with the first Welsh Colony, and settled on the borders of 
the Welsh Tract in Haverford township, where he died 1 720-1. His son Isaac, 
also born in Wales, married, March 4, 1696-7, Susanna Shoemaker, born in 
Cresham, Germany, daughter of George and Susanna Shoemaker, and accom- 
panied her widowed mother to Pennsylvania in the "Jefferies", 1685 ; and settled 
in Plymouth township, Philadelphia county, where Isaac Price died, February, 
1706-7. Isaac Price Jr., son of Isaac and Susanna, born 1705, died 1738, married 
Margaret, born October 17, 1700, daughter of Henry Lewis, member of Colonial 
Assembly, 1715-1718, by his wife Mary, daughter Robert Taylor, who came from 
Cheshire, England, in the "Endeavor," 1683 ; and granddaughter of Henry and 
Margaret Lewis, who came from Narbeth, Pembrokeshire, Wales, 1682, .and 
settled in Philadelphia county ; Henry Lewis being a member of the first Grand 
Jury drawn for Philadelphia county. 

Philip Price, only surviving child of Isaac and Margaret (Lewis) Price, born 
at Plymouth, Philadelphia county, January 5, 1730-1, married Hannah Bonsai, 
May 13, 1752, and they settled on the Bonsai homestead in Kingsessing, where 
they resided half a century, Mrs. Price dying May 17, 1802, and Philip, Septem- 
ber 17, 181 1. Their home was the headquarters of Gen. William Howe for two 
weeks, December, 1777. They were parents of five children, Margaret, married 
to Edward Garrigues ; Sarah, wife of Thomas Garrett, above mentioned ; Philip, 
who with his wife, Rachel Kirk, superintended Westtown Boarding School, 1818- 
1850; and later established Price's Boarding School for Girls at West Chester; 
Benjamin, who married Ruth Kirk; and Isaac, who died in Philadelphia in 1798, 
during the yellow fever epidemic, while serving on the Board of Health then 
created to assist in stamping out the dread disorder. Eli K. Price, late eminent 
member of Philadelphia Bar, was a son of Philip and Rachel (Kirk) Price. Sarah 
(Price) Garrett died in Upper Darby, May 30, 1839, and her husband Thomas 
Garrett, survived her three months. 

Issue of Thomas and Sarah (Price) Garrett: — 

Philip C. Garrett, b. May 13, 1780, d. Feb. 14, 185 1 ; m. Rebecca Cresson; of whom 
presently; 

Sarah, twin to Philip ; 

Thomas, d. in childhood ; 

Charles, b. April 4, 1785; m. 1811, Mary Hibberd; 

Margaret, b. Oct. 8, 1787, m. George Malin; 

Thomas, b. Aug. 21, 1789, d. in Wilmington, Delaware, Jan. 25, 1871 ; a most prom- 
inent and unselfish Abolitionist, his house being one of the stations of the under- 
ground railroad, and it is said nearly three thousand slaves passed through his 
hands to freedom. He was prosecuted, 1848, for assisting slaves to escape their mas- 
ters, and was so heavily fined as to sweep away his worldly possessions. He was 
assisted by friends to again establish himself in the iron and coal business, in which 
he was quite successful, and continued his activity in behalf of the runaway slaves. 
M. (first), Mary Sharpless, 1813 ; she d. 1827, and he m. (second), Rachel Menden- 
hall; 

Benjamin, b. Oct. 17, 1791, d. in Delaware, April 4, 1884; m. Mary Haines, and had 
three sons, David Haines, Isaac Price, several years a representative of Delaware 
county in the State Legislature, cashier of the Custom House at Philadelphia, dur- 
ing Pres. Harrison's administration, and since 1897, Postmaster of Landsdowne ; and 
Thomas Pugh Garrett; 

John Knowles, b. Dec. 4, 1793! m. in 1816, Henrietta Levis; 

Isaac Price, b. Jan. 18, 1796, d. Jan. 24, 1869; m. 1838, Phebe Rhoads ; 

Ann, b. May 5, 1798, d. Feb. 17, 1892, unm.; 

Edward, b. Dec. 17, 1800, d. Sept. 16, 1863; m. 1837, Abigail Sellers, dau. of George 
and Ann (Ash) Sellers of Darby. 



180 BIDDLE 

Philip C. Garrett, son of Thomas and Sarah (Price) Garrett, born in Dela- 
ware county, Pennsylvania, was reared and educated in that county, but on 
attaining man's estate, came to Philadelphia, and engaged in the manufacture 
of car wheels and other machinery, in partnership with Andrew M. Eastwick 
and Joseph Harrison, under the firm name of Garrett, Eastwick & Harrison. 
He later engaged in the watch and jewelry business with his eldest son Thomas 
C. Garrett, which continued until his death as the result of an accident, while 
crossing the tracks of Pennsylvania Railroad, at Green Tree, Chester county, 
February 14, 185 1. 

Philip C. Garrett married Rebecca, daughter of James and Sarah Cresson. 
Issue of Philip C. and Rebecca (Cresson) Garrett: — 

James C, b. Oct. 13, 1802; 

Sarah, b. Feb. 22, 1804; 

Thomas C, b. in Phila. March 30, 1805 ; learned trade of machinist in his father's 

manufacturing establishment, and later entered into business with him. M. Oct. 

18, 1827, Frances, dau. of John and Elizabeth (Canby) Biddle, b. Nov. 29, 1803, d. 

Sept. 5, 1875. D. Nov. 18, 1888; 
Elizabeth Cresson, b. Sept. 18, 1806, d. Jan. 21, 188 1 ; m. May 8, 1828, William Biddle, 

of whom presently ; 
Hannah, b. Jan. 1, 1808; 
Margaret, b. Feb. 11, 1809; 
Rebecca, b. April 10, 1810; 
Martha H., b. June 25, 1811; 
Anne, b. July 5, 1813; 
James G, b. Dec. 26, 1814; 
Susan H., b. June 15, 1817; 

Philip C. Garrett, son of Thomas C. and Frances (Biddle) Garrett, born in 
Philadelphia November 1, 1834, graduated at Haverford College 1851, and after 
a short mercantile experience in Philadelphia, 1854, became member of firm of 
Wood, Starr & Garrett, who operated a cotton mill, dye works and bleachery 
at Millville, N. J. In 1879, with his brother John B., under the firm name of 
P. C. and J. B. Garret, he engaged in the textile manufacturing business in 
Philadelphia, the firm later becoming known as Philip C. Garrett & Co. Philip 
C. Garrett was identified with numerous financial and business institutions, 
and active in civic affairs. 

William Biddle, son of John and Elizabeth (Canby) Biddle, born in Philadel- 
phia, May 17, 1806, married, May 8, 1828, Elizabeth Cresson Garrett, whose 
ancestry is given above, and became associated with her brother Thomas C. Gar- 
rett, in the watchmakng and jewelry business, was doubly his brother-in-law, 
having married his sister Frances Biddle. He was actively interested in the 
affairs and institutions of his native city. He was elected a member of the City 
School Board, 1834, and continued a member for many years, for a time filling 
the position of Controller of Schools. 

In 1840 he was elected a member of the Board of Managers of the Magdalen 
Asylum, and filled that position for upward of forty years. The same year he 
was selected as one of the Directors of Girard College, and held that position for 
fourteen years, taking an active part in the organization and management of the 
college. In 1849 ne was elected a member of the Board of Managers of Pennsyl- 
vania Hospital, and continued an active member of that board for nearly thirty- 



BIDDLE 



181 



eight years, during the last fifteen of which he was its president. Becoming 
interested in the development of the mining interests in the Schuylkill region, he 
was in 1855, elected Secretary of the Mine Hill and Schuylkill Haven Railroad 
Company, 1882, became its president, and held that position until his death, June 
7, 1887. His wife died January 21, 1881. 

Issue of William and Elizabeth Cresson (Garrett) Biddle: — 

Samuel, b. Aug. 17, 1829, d. Nov. 2, 1842 ; 

Rebecca G., b. July 17, 1831, d. Dec. 4, 1842; 

Elizabeth, b. Feb. 21, 1833, d. inf.; 

John W., b. Aug. 2, 1835; of whom presently; 

Philip G., b. Nov. 30, 1839, d. March 10, 1855 ; 

Samuel, b. July 10, 1844; many years member of firm of Bailey, Banks & Biddle; Presi- 
dent of German American Title Trust Co., and connected with a number of other in- 
stitutions, of Philadelphia: m. (first) Aug. 3, 1865, Katharine T. Harned, b. April 
26, 1845, d. July 12, 1892; (second) June 8, 1899, Elizabeth Harned, b. June 19, 1850; 
for issue see forward. 

John W. Biddle, eldest surviving son of William and Elizabeth Cresson (Gar- 
rett) Biddle, born in Philadelphia, August 2, 1835, is an active business man of 
Philadelphia, with offices at 119 South Fourth street, and summer residence at 
Media, Delaware county, Pennsylvania. He has been for many years a director 
and treasurer of Mine Hill and Schuylkill Haven Railroad Company ; a manager 
of Pennsylvania Hospital ; a director of Mortgage Trust Company of Pennsyl- 
vania; and was twenty years treasurer of Magdalen Society of Philadelphia. 
He married, May 5, 1861, Mary, born iomo. 26, 1842; died 5mo. 25, 1874; daugh- 
ter of Edward C. Hewes, by his wife, Sarah S. Garrett, and they have issue : 

William Biddle, Jr., b. May 28, 1863 ; m. Oct. 8, 1885, Caroline C. Scattergood, of West- 
chester, b. Aug. 19, 1862 ; issue : — 

John W. Biddle, Jr., b. Oct. 5, 1887, d. April 18, 1905. 
James G. Biddle, b. Oct. 13, 1868; m. Oct. 11, 1894, Mary Hutton, b. Sept. 11, 1869; 
issue : — 

Elizabeth R. Biddle, b. March 22, 1897 ; 

Mary Hewes Biddle, b. Aug. 10, 1898; 

Dorothy Biddle, b. Jan. 25, 1900; 

Rebecca Hutton Biddle, b. June 8, 1901 ; 

Addison Hutton Biddle, b. Dec. 11, 1903; 

Ruth Biddle. 

Samuel Biddle, son of William and Elizabeth Cresson (Garrett) Biddle, by his 
first wife, Katharine T. Harned, had issue: — 

Elizabeth S. Biddle, b. June 25, 1866 ; m. Nov. 5, 1890, Samuel R. Carter, b. July 2, 1863 ; 
and they have issue : — 

Katharine Harned Carter, b. Sept. 20, 1890; 
Mary Harned Biddle, b. Aug. 7, 1872; 
Helen Biddle, b. Sept. 23, 1874. 

Clement Biddle, second son of John and Sarah (Owen) Biddle, was born 
at the Biddle homestead, Market street between Second and Third streets, May 
10, 1740. He engaged in the shipping and importing business with his father 
and brother Owen, which continued until the outbreak of the Revolutionary 
War, during the continuance of which nearly his whole time was given to the ser- 



182 BIDDLE 

vice of his country. He was one of the signers of the Non-importation Agreement 
of 1765. He was one of the organizers of the "Quaker Light Infantry", orig- 
inally formed to defend the Conestogo Indians from the Paxton boys, 1763-4, 
and served in the Jersey Campaign of 1776-7. July 8, 1776, he was appointed 
Deputy Quartermaster General of the Flying Camp, composed of the militia 
companies of Pennsylvania and New Jersey, with the rank of Colonel. On 
October 15, 1776, Gen. Greene, then at Amboy, appointed Col. Biddle on his 
staff as aid-de-camp, and during November, 1776, he was stationed at Fort Lee 
on the Hudson, but returned to the Delaware in time to participate in the battle 
of Trenton, when he was deputed by Washington to receive the swords of the 
Hessian officers who had surrendered. He participated in the battles of Prince- 
ton, Germantown, Brandywine and Monmouth, and shared the sufferings of 
the camp at Valley Forge, where he was accompanied by his wife. He was 
appointed by Pres. Washington United States Marshal of Pennsylvania, and 
was Quartermaster General of Pennsylvania Militia for many years, officiating 
as such during the Whiskey Insurrection of 1794. He was appointed Prothono- 
tary of Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia county, September 23, 1788, 
and served until made Judge of Common Pleas Court, 1791. He died, Phila- 
delphia, July 14, 1814. He married (first) at Arch Street Friends' Meeting, 
June 6, 1764, Mary Richardson, daughter of Francis, who died 1773. Their 
only child, Francis, died in infancy. He married (second), August 18, 1774, 
Rebekah, only daughter of Gideon Cornell, Lieutenant Governor and Chief Jus- 
tice of Rhode Island at the time of his death, 1765. 

Issue of Clement and Rebekah (Cornell) Biddle: — 

Francis R., b. May 20, 1775, d. June 16, 1775 ; 

Thomas, b. May 20, 1776, d. June 3, 1857, m - Christine Williams; of whom presently; 

George Washington, b. Feb. 21, 1779, d. at Macoa, China, Aug. 16, 1812; 

Mary, b. Jan. 12, 1781, d. March 13, 1850, m. June 25, 1804, Gen. Thomas Cadwalader; 

Rebeck ah, b. Nov. 7, 1782, d. Sept. 2, 1870, m. Sept. 1, 1808, Prof. Nathaniel Chap- 
man, M. D., of whom later ; 

Clement Cornell, b. Oct. 24, 1784, d. Aug. 21, 1855, m. March 10, 1814, Mary Searle 
Barclay, of whom later; 

Anne, b. Dec. 24, 1785, d. July 21, 1786; 

Lydia H., b. May 12, 1787, d. March 5, 1826; 

Sarah T., b. Oct. 21, 1789, d. Aug. 11, 1805; 

Anne Wilkinson, b. June 12, 1791, d. 1878; m. June 2, 1822, Thomas Dunlap ; 

John Gideon, b. June 10, 1795, d. Aug. 30, 1826, m. May 22, 1820, Mary Biddle, dau. 
of Hon. Charles Biddle; 

James Cornell, b. Dec. 29, 1796, d. Aug. 30, 1838, m. March 2, 1825, Sarah Cadwalader 
Kepple ; 

Edward Robert, b. Feb. 7, 1798. 

Thomas Biddle, A. M., eldest son of Clement and Rebekah (Cornell) Bid- 
dle, born in Philadelphia, June 4, 1776, entered University of Pennsylvania 
1788, and graduated in the class of 1791. He was a broker and banker in 
Philadelphia ; a trustee of the University of Pennsylvania from 1837 to his death, 
June 3, 1857. He was an active member of American Philosophical Society. He 
married, February 12, 1806, Christine, daughter of Gen. Jonathan Williams, who 
was born in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1752, and was a nephew of Dr. Benjamin 
Franklin. In his youth he made several commercial voyages to the West Indies 
and Europe. In 1773 he went to England with important messages and com- 



BIDDLE 183 

munications. In 1777, as Commercial Agent of United States Government, he 
went to France, and remained there until 1785, returning to the United States 
with Franklin. He was for several years Judge of court of Common Pleas of 
Philadelphia; was appointed February 16, 1801, Major of Artillery and on 
December 4, 1801, Inspector of Fortifications and Superintendent of West 
Point Military Academy; July 8, 1802, Lieutenant-Colonel of Engineers; Feb- 
ruary 23, 1808, Colonel; July 31, 1812, General of New York Militia; elected 
to Congress from Philadelphia, 1814; Vice-President Philosophical Society, etc. 
He was author of "Memoir on the Use of the Thermometer in Navigation," 
1799; "Elements of Fortification", 1801 ; "Koscuisko", and Movements for 
Horse Artillery," 1808. 

Issue of Thomas and Christine (Williams) Biddle: — 

Clement, b. Sept. 14, 1810, d. 1879; 

Thomas Alexander, b. Aug. 22, 1814, d. Feb. 1, 1888; m. July 1, 1845, Julia Cox, of 

whom presently ; 
Henry Jonathan, b. May 16, 1817, d. Richmond, Va., July 20, 1862; m. June 1, 1854, 

Mary Deborah Baird ; of whom later ; 
Alexander, b. April 29, 1819, m. Oct. 11, 1855, Julia Williams Rush, of whom later; 
Jonathan Williams, b. Aug. 12, 1821, d Apr. 21, 1856; m. April 16, 1846, Emily S. 

Meigs, of whom later. 

Thomas Alexander Biddle, second son of Thomas and Christine (Williams) 
Biddle, born in Philadelphia August 22, 1814; died, Philadelphia, February 1, 
1888 ; was a broker and founder of firm of Thomas A. Biddle Co. He married, 
July 1, 1845, J una > daughter of John Cox, Esq., by his wife Martha, daughter of 
Gen. William Lyman of Massachusetts, U. S. Consul to London. John Cox, 
A. M., b. in Philadelphia, Jan. 24, 1788, d. there Feb. 6, 1864; son of James 
S. and Charlotte (Sitgreaves) Cox, Pres. Lehigh Coal & Nav. Co., Philadelphia, 
1822-9 and 1841-4. 

Issue of Thomas Alexander and Julia (Cox) Biddle: — 

--John Cox, b. April 21, 1846, d. Jan. 29, 1865; 
Henry Williams, b. April 7, 1848; 

Anna Sitgreaves, b. Jan. 31, 1850, m. 1872, Andrew, son of General Francis P. Blair; 
Alfred, b. Dec. 15, 1851, d. Dec. 21, 1884; 
William Lyman, b. Oct. 8, 1853; 
Francis, b. Oct. 31, 1855, d. Jan. 17, 1887; 
Julia, b. May 16, 1858. m. Nov. 18, 1880, Arthur, son of George W. and grandson of 

Col. Clement C. Biddle ; 
Frances, b. 1862, d. inf. 

Henry Jonathan Biddle, third son of Thomas and Christine (Williams) 
Biddle, born in Philadelphia, May 16, 181 7, graduated from University of Penn- 
sylvania 1834. He was a cadet at the United States Military Academy at West 
Point. Followed the business of a civil engineer, until breaking out of the Civil 
War, when he was commissioned, August 3, 1861, Captain and Assistant Adjutant 
General of the Pennsylvania Reserves, serving on the staff of Gen. McCall. He 
was mortally wounded and taken prisoner at the battle of Charles City, or New 
Market Cross Roads, June 30, 1862, and carried by the Confederates to Rich- 
mond, Virginia, where he died July 30, 1862. Gen. McCall, in his report of the 



184 BIDDLE 

action, says among other things ; — "Here fell the fearless Biddle, my Adjutant- 
General." 

He married, June i, 1854, Mary Deborah, daughter of Samuel Baird of Read- 
ing, Pennsylvania. 

Issue of Henry Jonathan and Deborah (Baird) Biddle: — 

Jonathan Williams Biddle, b. Aug. 1, 1855; appointed Aug. 31, 1876, Second Lieutenant of 
Seventh Regiment, U. S. Cavalry ; killed by the Indians at Snake River, Montana, 
Sept. 30, 1877; 

Lydia McFunn Biddle, b. April 9, 1857 ; m. April 22, 1880, Moncure Robinson, Jr., of 
Philadelphia; 

Spencer Fullerton Baird Biddle, b. Jan. 12, 1859; 

Christine Williams Biddle, b. Aug. 28, i860; 

Henry Jonathan Biddle, Jr., b. May 14, 1862. 

Alexander Biddle, fourth son of Thomas and Christine (Williams) Biddle, 
born in Philadelphia April 29, 1819, entered University of Pennsylvania 1834, 
graduated 1838. He was some years president of the Board of City Trusts and 
member of board of managers of Pennsylvania Hospital. He was an active mem- 
ber of America Philosophical Society, of Franklin Institute, Academy of Natural 
Sciences and of a number of other scientific institutions and societies. He was 
a member of Pennsylvania Society Sons of the Revolution, and was a vet- 
eran of the Civil War, having served successively as Major, Lieutenant Colonel 
and Colonel of the 121st Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, 1862-4. He mar- 
ried, October 11, 1855, Julia Williams, daughter of Dr. Samuel Rush of Phila- 
delphia. 

Issue of Alexander and Julia Williams (Rush) Biddle: — 

Alexander Williams Biddle, M. D., b. July 4, 1856; graduated at Uni. of Pa., studied 
medicne and received degree of M. D. at Jefferson Medical College ; served a time as 
Surgeon of First City Troop, and was a number of years connected with a number 
of institutions of his native city; now living retired at 265 South 22d street, Philadel- 
phia. He m. June 19, 1879, Anne, dau. of Hon. William McKennan, by his wife Paul- 
ine Gertrude de Fontiveaux, and they had issue : — 

Pauline Biddle, b. Aug. 7, 1880; m. April 25, 1906, John Penn Brock, of Phil- 
adelphia ; 
Christine Alexander Biddle, b. Oct. 20, 1883; 
Julia Rush Biddle, b. Aug. 16, 1886; 
Isabel Biddle, b. Jan. 6, 1888; 
Alexander Biddle, b. April 4, 1893. 
Henry Rush Biddle, b. March 25, 1858, d. Jan. 2, 1877; 
Julia Rush Biddle, b. July 25, 1859; 
Louis Alexander Biddle, b. March 12, 1863 ; 
Marianna Biddle, b. Nov. 8, 1866; 
Lyndford Biddle, b. Aug. 26, 1871. 

Jonathan Williams Biddle, youngest son of Thomas and Christine (Wil- 
liams) Biddle, born in Philadelphia August 12, 1821, died there April 21, 1856. 
He graduated at University of Pennsylvania 1830, studied law, was ad- 
mitted to the Philadelphia Bar, and practiced his profession in that city until 
his death. He married, April 16, 1846, Emily S., born in Philadelphia, 1824, 
daughter of Charles Dulcena Meigs, M. D., born in Georgia February 17, 1792, 
and located in Philadelphia in 1820, where he filled the position of Professor 
of Medicine at Jefferson Medical College, 1820-62. He was author of a num- 



BIDDLE 185 

ber of works on medical science, among them, "Midwifery", (1838) ; "Lectures 
on the Female", (1847) ; "Remarks on Spasmodic Cholera", (1848) ; "Obstertics", 
(1849) ; and "Diseases of Children", (1850). After the death of her husband, 
Mrs. Emily (Meigs) Biddle resided many years on Walnut street west of 
Twelfth, and later at 122 South Twenty-second street, but spent much of her 
time in European travel, probably one of the most extensive travellers in for- 
eign parts, of the women of Philadelphia. She died at her summer home, Len- 
nox, Massachusetts, November 22, 1905. 

Issue of Dr. Jonathan Williams and Emily (Meigs) Biddle: — 

Christine Williams Biddle, b. Feb. 14, 1847, d. 1901 ; m. Nov. 26, 1873, Richard McCall 
Cadwalader, Esq., of Philadelphia ; 

Charles Meigs Biddle, b. Jan. 10, 1849, d. young; 

Williams Biddle, b. July 16, 1850, d. young; 

Mary Biddle, b. Dec. 7, 1851, d. young; 

Thomas Biddle, M. D., b. July 7, 1853, residing at 122 South 22d street; graduated from 
Medical Dept. of Univ. of Pa. 1876, and began active practice of medicine in Philadel- 
phia. He is a Fellow of College of Physicians, Philadelphia ; member of Executive 
Committee of St. Christopher Hospital for Children ; chairman of Executive Com- 
mittee of Zoological Society of Philadelphia ; member of Council of Academy of Nat- 
ural Sciences of Philadelphia, and prominently associated with a number of other 
scientific institutions of Philadelphia. He is an honorary member of First City Troop, 
Philadelphia City Cavalry, life-member of Historical Society of Pennsylvania ; member 
of Philadelphia and Rabbit Clubs of Philadelphia, and other social organizations. He 
is unm. 

Emily Williams Biddle, b. March 15, 1855, unm. 

Rebecca Cornell Biddle, second daughter of Col. Clement, and Rebecca 
(Cornell) Biddle, born in Philadelphia, November 7, 1782, died September 2, 
1870. She married, September 1, 1808, Prof. Nathaniel Chapman, M. D., born 
near Alexandria, Virginia, May 28, 1780, and died in Philadelphia July 1, 1853. 
His paternal ancestor came to Virginia with the first colonists of that Province, 
and was a relative of Sir Walter Raleigh. 

Dr. Chapman finished his medical studies in London and Edinburgh, taking 
his degree at the University of Edinburgh. He began the practice of medicine 
in Philadelphia, 1804, and became one of the most eminent practitioners of 
medicine and surgery of his day. He was Professor of Materia Medica, University 
of Pennsylvania, 1813-1816, and of Practice Institutes and Clinical Medicine, 
1816-50. He founded Medical Institute of Philadelphia, 1817, and lectured there 
during the summer months for twenty-five years. During the cholera epidemic 
of 1820, he had charge of the City Hospital, and he was many years lecturer on 
Clinical Medicine and Surgery at the City Almshouse. He was author of many 
valuable works on medical science, among them, "Lectures on the Theory and 
Practice of Medicine", "Eruption Fevers", "Elements of Therapeutics and Ma- 
teria Medica", "Select Speeches and Critical and Illustrative Remarks" (1817), 
and was also a considerable contributor to the Portfolio, under nom de plume 
of "Falkland". He was also editor of Philadelphia Journal of Medical and Phy- 
sical Sciences, many years. 

Issue of Dr. Nathaniel and Rebeckah Cornell (Biddle) Chapman: — 

Emily Chapman, b. Aug. 5, 1810, d. July 20, 1852, m. Nov. 1, 1833, John Montgomery 

Gordon, Esq., of Va. ; 
John Biddle Chapman, b. June 3, 181 1, d. Feb. 28, 1845, m. Mary Randolph of Va. ; 



1 86 BIDDLE 

George William Chapman, b. Dec. 10, 1816, d. Feb. 19, 1853; m. June 6, 1838, Emily 
Markoe, daughter of John Markoe. Entered U. S. N. as Midshipman, 1832; Passed 
Midshipman, 1838; Lieutenant, 1841 ; issue: — 

Mary Randolph Chapman, b. May 22, 1839; m. Oct. 13, 1859, John Borland 

Thayer, Esq., of Phila. ; 
Elizabeth Camac Chapman, b. April 19, 1842, m. June 10, 1862, William Davis 

Winsor, of Boston, Mass. ; 
Henry Cadwalader Chapman, b. Aug. 17, 1845, m. Dec. 3, 1876, Hannah Megar- 

gee; 
Rebecca Chapman, b. Dec. 2, 1848, m. May 30, 1872, James Davis Winsor of 
Boston, Mass. ; 

George Chapman, b. July 5, 1852, d. Aug. 1853. 
Issue of William Dazns and Elisabeth Camac (Chapman) Winsor: — 

Emily Chapman Winsor, b. April 4, 1863 ; 
Louisa Brooks Winsor, b. Aug. 12, 1868. 

Issue of lames Davis and Rebecca (Chapman) Winsor: — 

May Winsor, b. March 28, 1873; 
Henry Winsor, b. March 29, 1875 ! 
James Davis Winsor, Jr., b. Sept. 6, 1876; 
Ellen Winsor, b. Nov. 30, 1878. 

Colonel Clement Cornell Biddle, fourth son of Col. Clement and Rebekah 
(^ Cornell) Biddle, born October 24, 1784, died August 21, 1855, entered U. S. N. 
as midshipman February 12, 1799, but resigned March 30, 1804. Returning to 
Philadelphia, he studied law, was admitted to the bar, and practised some years. 
Believing that a war with England would immediately result from the Chesapeake 
outrage, 1807, he entered the regular army of the United States as captain of a 
company in the Regiment of Light Dragoons, was commissioned May 3, 1808, but 
when the affair was amicably settled he sent in his resignation, dated September 
30, 1809, and resumed the practice of his profession. When the war did break 
out, in 1812, he raised a company known as "State Fencibles", of which he was 
elected captain, and took them into the service. He was, however, soon commis- 
sioned Colonel of the First Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and 
served throughout the war. After the close of the war he devoted much time to 
study of political economy, and became an eminent authority on that subject. He 
married, March 10, 1814, Mary Searle, daughter of Hon. John Barclay of Phila- 
delphia, by his second wife Mary Searle. 

Hon. John Barclay came from Ballyshannon, Ireland, to Philadelphia, 1767, 
died in Philadelphia August, 1816. He was Mayor of the city 1791. 
Issue of Col. Clement Cornell and Alary Searle (Barclay) Biddle: — 

Dr. John Barclay Biddle, b. Jan. 3, 1815, d. Jan. 19, 1879, m. Nov. 7, 1850, Caroline 
Phillips ; Dean of Jefferson Medical College : professor of Materia Medica ; visiting 
physician of Girard College and of Philadelphia County Prison and Deaf and Dumb 
Asylum ; 

Hon. George Washington Biddle, b. Jan. 11, 1818, m. Maria McMurtrie, of Burling- 
ton, N. J., of whom presently ; 

Col. Chapman Biddle, b. Jan. 22, 1822, d. Dec. 9, 1880; m. Aug. 14. 1849, Mary Living- 
ston, dau. of Capt. Walter Livingston Cochran of New York, and granddaughter of 
Dr. John Cochran of Chester Co., Pa., who m. Gertrude Schuyler of New York. Col. 
Biddle raised 121st Regiment, Pa. Vol., and in command of the brigade of which it 
formed a part, served during part of Civil War. His regiment was cut to pieces at 
battle of Gettysburg, and Col. Biddle wounded. He held high rank as a lawyer at 



BIDDLE 187 

Philadelphia Bar and served some years as counsel for the Pennsylvania Railroad 
Company. 

George Washington Biddle, second son of Col. Clement C. and Mary Searle 
(Barclay) Biddle, born in Philadelphia January 11, 1818, prominent member of 
Philadelphia Bar, was Chancellor of Law Association of Philadelphia, 1880-91. 
The University of Pennsylvania conferred upon him degree of LL.D., 1882. 

He married Maria McMurtrie, daughter William McMurtrie, and had issue :— 

George, b. Aug. 21, 1843, m. Mary Hosack, daughter of F. Kearney Rodgers of New 
York, and had issue : — 

Electrode Kearney; 

Constance Elizabeth ; 

Alice McMurtrie; 

Maria Georgina. 
Algernon Sydney, b. Oct. II, 1847, m. June 28, 1879, Frances Robinson; had issue:— 

Moncure, b. 1882; 

George Washington ; 

Francis ; 

Sydney Geoffrey. 

Arthur, b. Sept. 23, 1852, m. Nov. 18, 1880, Julia, dau. of Thomas Alexander and Julia 
(Cox) Biddle; and had issue: — 
Edith Frances, b. Oct. 8, 1881 ; 
Julia Cox, b. Dec. 16, 1882, d. same day ; 
Alfred Alexander, b. Dec. 19, 1885 ; 
Julian Cornell, b. April 19th, 1890. 

Anne Wilkinson Biddle, daughter of Col. Clement and Rebeckah (Cornell) 
Biddle, born June 12, 1791, married June 2, 1822, Thomas Dunlap, of Philadel- 
phia, several years president of the Bank of the United States. 
Issue of Thomas and Anne Wilkinson (Biddle) Dunlap: — 

Sallie Biddle Dunlap, b. March 19, 1823 ; 

Juliana Dunlap, b. Oct. 19, 1825 ; 

Lydia Biddle Dunlap, b. Sept. 1, 1826, d. young; 

Mary , d, young; 

Rebeckah Biddle Dunlap, b. March 10, 1829; 

Nannie Dunlap, b. Nov. 21, 1830, m. George Mecum Canarroe, Esq., of Phila. ; 

Thomas Dunlap, b. Aug. 25, 1832, m. July 10, 1856, Margaret A. Lewis, of New Haven, 
Conn. 

Nannie Dunlap, daughter of Thomas Dunlap, Esq., of Philadelphia Bar, 
by his wife Anne Wilkinson, daughter of Col. Clement Biddle, born in Philadel- 
phia, November 21, 1830, married Feb. 4, 1868, George Mecum Conarroe, Esq., 
a most prominent and able member of Philadelphia Bar, born in Philadelphia, 
November 9, 1831, died at his summer residence near York Harbor, Maine, 
August 25, 1896. 

From "Report of the Nineteenth Annual Meeting of the American Bar Asso- 
ciation" (1896), pp. 675-677, we quote the following Memorial of Mr. Conar- 
roe: — 

"GEORGE M. CONARROE. 
"The late George Mecum Conarroe, died from an attack of bronchial pneumonia on 
August 25, 1896, in the sixty-fifth year of his age, near York Harbor, Maine, where he 
possessed an extensive and beautiful place, high on the bold rocks of the coast overlooking 



1 88 BIDDLE 

the sea, in which, during his later years, after he had retired from active professional life, 
he took the greatest interest and delight. 

"He was born in Philadelphia on November 9, 1831. He was the son of George W. 
Conarroe, an artist of prominence. He studied law in the office and under the guidance of 
Charles E. Lex, Esq., and was admitted to the Bar of Philadelphia on May 14, 1853. He 
was a most careful and accurate student and acquired that real knowledge of legal prin- 
ciples which is sure to bring success, and what is more, gain the recognition of one's pro- 
fessional brothers. He was pre-eminently learned in the law of real estate and of trusts. 
He was the legal mentor rather than the advocate. He acquired a large practice especially 
in the management of estates, and his experience was such that he would have made an 
admirable judge in a probate court. His mind was clear and logical and his use of the Eng- 
lish language exact, as shown in his able opinions which treat of many intricate and import- 
ant questions. His guidance to clients when in financial difficulties often saved, where in 
other hands there would have been failure, for in addition to his legal attainments he was, 
contrary to the opinion generally held of lawyers, an able business man, and managed the 
interests of others as well as his own, with much profit and advantage. 

"In politics he had always been a Republican even before the war-times and never 
wavered in his allegiance to that party, believing in its principles and aims. He was one of 
the early members of the Union League of Philadelphia, and was an indefatigable worker 
for the cause of the Union. 

"He was never a politician, preferring personally the life of a private citizen, but took 
the greatest interest in public affairs with which he was thoroughly conversant, and was on 
terms of intimacy with many public men of the day. His interest in the country's welfare 
continued unabated even when an invalid. He was most anxious for the election of Mr. 
McKinley, but did not live to see its accomplishment, dying in the midst of the campaign. 

"His interest in everything American made him proud of our history. He was one of 
the early members of the Society of Sons of the Revolution being the descendant of an 
officer, and particularly gave his aid to those undertakings of the Society which tended to 
keep alive the memory of the Revolutionary times as giving the best lessons in patriotism. He 
was also one of its Board of Managers until his death. 

In religion he was a member of the Protestant Episcopal Church by conviction as 
well as by inheritance, and was what in old times would have been called a high churchman. 
He was very prominent in its affairs and was repeatedly a delegate to its conventions, 
where he was a leading figure, and it has been truly said that it will be hard to fill his 
place. He was learned in ecclesiastical law and was sought as an advisor by bishops and 
clergy. The position that he occupied in the church was evidenced by the large number of 
clergymen from various places who showed him the last mark of respect in their presence at 
his funeral, which took place at the Church of St. James the Less at Philadelphia, and 
where amidst its solemn rural beauty he now rests. 

"His wife who survives him was Miss Nannie Dunlap, the youngest daughter of Thom- 
as Dunlap, Esq., a leading lawyer of Philadelphia of half a century ago. This union was 
one of those which are truly helpful, for they did all things together, mutually aiding one 
another and sharing their sorrows and joys. Mr Conarroe was won't to speak with feeling 
of the goodness and sweetness of his wife whose helpful sympathy he proudly acknowledged. 

"In all that Mr. Conarroe undertook he was earnest and persevering — no labor and trou- 
ble was too great ; and in anything that he believed should be done, he was markedly de- 
termined of purpose and would not be turned aside. 

"He was one of the truest of friends. His friendship was not only that of sentiment, 
but he ever bore in mind what would be to the real advantage of those for whom he cared, 
and spared no effort to advance their hopes and ambitions. Many a friend owes his eleva- 
tion to a position of honor and reward or to success of some other kind to the aid which 
Mr. Conarroe has given him. He has left an example which all might well imitate, both in 
his private life and in adorning the profession of his choice. 

"George Mecum Conarroe was admitted a member of the Sons of the Revolution, 
March 26, 1889, becoming a life member, and was elected to the Board of Managers, 1892. 
In the annual report of the Board for 1896, there is an obituary notice, much shorter than 
the above, which says in part : 

"Although a man of retiring and domestic tastes, he took an active interest in public 
affairs, and in the affairs of the Protestant Episcopal Church, to whose conventions he was 
repeatedly elected a delegate. He was a vestryman of St. Mark's Church, and of the 
Church of St. James-the-Less, Philadelphia, and a member of the Philadelphia and Penn 
Clubs." 

George Mecum Conarroe is said to have been a descendant of Luigi Cornaro, a 
noble Venetian, descended from one of the most noble and illustrious families of 
Venice, who died at Padua, 1565, at about the age of one hundred years. At the 
age of four score, he published a book on the advantages of temperance, in Italian, 
translated into Latin by Leonard Lessius, a Professor of Philosophy and Divinity 
in the Jesuit College at Louvain, who died January 5, 1623, aged sixty-nine years ; 



BIDDLE j8 9 

translated into English by Timothy Smith, an Apothecary of London, and pub- 
lished in that city, 1743. An original copy of this quaint old book can be found 
in the Philadelphia Library. 

As a preface to this quaint little volume, is given an "Extract from Collier's 
Historical Dictionary", which gives the following account of the author : — 

"Lewis Cornaro, descended from one of the most noble and illustrious Families of 
"Venice, was born in the 15th Century. He wrote a Book of the Advantage of Temperance, 
"translated into Latin, by Lessius. He died at Padua in 1565, being about a hundred Years 
"old. Thaunus in the 38th Book of his History gives a Character of him Part of which I 
"shall transcribe for the Reader: 'Lewis Comoro' says he, 'was an extraordinary and admir- 
able instance of Long Life; for he lived a hundred Years without any Decay in his 
"Health or Understanding. By his Temperance and the Regimen he observed, he recovered 
"his Constitution from some Infirmities, the Liberty of his Youth had brought upon him; 
"and likewise by the Force of Thought and Care conquered his natural Propensity to 
"Choler; insomuch that when he came to be old, he enjoyed an extraordinary Degree of 
"Health, and was remarkable for the Equality and Sedateness of his Temper, as he had 
"been formerly for his Passion. He wrote Books on this Argument in his Old Age, in 
"which he mentions the Disorder of his Youth, and promisses himselfe a great many Years 
"to come : Neither was he deceived in his Expectation ; for he held out to above a 
"Hundred, and then died a very easy Death. His Wife who was no less aged than him- 
"self survived him." 

The following quotation from the Spectator, vol. Ill, No. 195, is also given: 

"The most remarkable Instance of the Efficacy of Temperance towards the procuring 
"of Long Life, is what we meet with in a little Book published by Lewis Cornaro, the 
"Venetian; which I rather mention, because it is of undoubted Credit, as the late Venetian 
"Ambassador, who was of the same family attested more than once in Conversation, when 
"he resided in England. Cornaro, who was the Author of the little Treatise I am mention- 
"ing, was of infirm Constitution till about Forty; when by obstinately persisting in an 
"exact Course of Temperance, he recovered a perfect State of Health ; insomuch that at 
"Fourscore he published his Book. He lived to give a Third, or Fourth Edition of it; 
"and after having passed his Hundredth year died without Pain or Agony and like one 
"who falls asleep." 

"The Treatise I mention, has been taken notice of by several eminent Authors ; and is 
"written with such Spirt of Cheerfulness, Religion, and good Sense, as are natural Con- 
comitants of Temperance and Sobriety. The Mixture of the old Man in it, is rather a 
"Recommendation than a Discredit to it." 



EMLEN FAMILY 

In the town of Shepton Mallett, Somersetshire, England, stands the old parish 
church of Saint Peter and Saint Paul, on whose registers the name of Emlen, with 
its various spellings, frequently occurs. Of these the earliest is in the "Perfect 
Register of the names of all those that are now placed in the fore mentioned new 
erected seats by ye fore named persons to that purpose deputed and designed, 
made the 29th day of March, 1619, . . . North Aisle on the East Side, Seat 
no. 4, Thomas Emblin, for his life : payment, 10 s." 

According to tradition the Emlen family came into England from Wales, on the 
early records of which country the name has been found. 

The name Emlen can be traced to ancient dates. In Gibson's Camden's Britannia 
reference is made to "the old British name of Emlin" — "which was common among the 
Britains anciently, and is partly yet retained." "It was Roman and is the same with 
^Emilinus mentioned in Denbigshire, which the Inscription calls Aimilini." "Not far 
from Klokainog we read this inscription on a stone (which is doubtless an epitaph of some 
soldier of note, who can be but very little, if at all, later than the Romans) 

'Aimilini 
Tovisag' " 
"The name Aimilinus we are to understand as the same with TEmilinus and that no other 
than JEmilianus. As for the second word . . . Tovisag or Tovisaci : if the former, it is 
British and signifies a leader or general; and if the latter, it seems only the same word 
Latinised. "The place where this stone lies is called Bryn y Bedheu, which signifies the 
Hill of Graves, and . . . there is near it an artificial mount . . . also . . . there 
are several circles of stones ; and, in the same neighborhood, a place called Rhys y Gadva, 
or Battle-field." In "Archaeologia Cambrensis," this stone is called "The Sepulchral Stone 
of Emlyn" ; after some explanation it is there stated that : "The late Mr. Aneurin Owen, 
one of the most eminent Welsh scholars and archaeologists, considered this stone to be 
the memorial of a Welsh prince or leader, Emlyn ; . . . . The tradition of the place 
seems constantly to have been in favor of this being the grave of a prince or nobleman 
named Emlyn ; . . . I think there can be no doubt that this Emlyn Inscription is a very 
early one and that it dates from the fifth or sixth century." 

This stone has now been removed for safety to Pool Park." As to the Roman origin 
of the name, further information can be educed (see Century Dictionary and Encyclo- 
pedia). Down as late as the middle of the sixteenth century, we find on the Emlen family 
records in England such names as Maximilian and Dionysius. In a history of Pembroke- 
shire, we read that Wales was "in Ancient tyme devided into Cantredes and Comotts" . 

. . "of these "Emlyn Cantred containeninge three Comottes" ... In this Cantred 
was New Castle Emlyn ; called New Castle on account of having been rebuilt by Sir Rhys 
ap Thomas. Its ruins remain to this day, and concerning it, accounts have been written. 

Our earliest information in regard to the founder of the family in Pennsyl- 
vania is taken from an "Account of the life of George Emlen, late of Philadel- 
phia", as given by his sons, Joshua and Samuel Emlen, which locates the birth- 
place of their father at Shepton Mallett. 

According to the "Account", the parents of George Emlen, who are unfortun- 
ately not named, died while he was young, and in consequence George was placed 
"under the care and tuition of an Aunt, who was a Presbyterian. He was one of 
that people till he arrived at mature age, when . . . turning a Friend, he was 
deprived of his Aunt's favor, or expectations from her, who was a Person of 
considerable substance in the World. When meeting her displeasure, he was 
necessitated to provide for himself," and came to Philadelphia in 1682. "with 
William Penn," as the account states. 

On i2mo. 3, 1687-8, George Emlen "Vintner", received a Proprietory grant of 



EMLEN 



xyi 



property on the north side of Chestnut street, between Second and Third streets. 
He subsequently acquired additional land adjoining and also on Sassafras street, 
by which name Race street was formerly known. 

On 3mo. (May) 3, 1690, he and five others petitioned the Commissioners of 
Property for a reduction of the quitrents on their lots on Chestnut street, which 
was granted them. 

George Emlen married first, ojno. 12, 1685, Eleanor, daughter of Penn's 
commissioner, Nathanial Allen. She died imo. 22, 1690. He married second, 
Hannah Garrett, June 5, 1694; she was born in Harby, Leicestershire, England, 
June 23, 1674, daughter of William and Ann (Kirk) Garrett, of Darby, Pennsyl- 
vania. 

George Emlen died iomo. 24, 17 10. Concerning his death, his sons wrote as 
follows : "The evening after he had settled his worldly affairs and made his will, 
he called for his four sons, and his wife being present, he addressed himself to 
them after the following manner : 'Children I have been appointing somewhat 
for you, and do now advise you, to live in the fear of the Lord, and to be dutiful 
and obedient to your mother, and to keep to truth and plainness ; to be loving 
and kind to your sisters ;' with diverse other weighty expressions, and the next 
morning quietly departed this life, being on a Christmas day, so called, and on 
the 7th of the week, and the day following was decently interred in Friends' bury- 
ing ground, after the afternoon meeting, the Corpse being first carried to the 
meeting house and from thence to the burying ground, accompanied by a large 
number of Friends and others." 

Hannah, widow of George Emlen, married, iomo. 20, 1716, William Tidmarsh, 
of Chester, Pennsylvania, and died 6mo. 24, 1738. Of Hannah Emlen her sons 
Joshua and Samuel wrote: "she was a noble example to them [her children] in 
all that was good and laudable ... an entire friend to the Poor and Dis- 
tressed ; undaunted in danger, an easy mistress and good neighbor, neither lavish 
nor penurious, but an example of industry as well to her own children as ser- 
vants . . . and dyed in peace." 

Issue of George and Hannah (Garrett) Emlen: 

George Emlen, b. 5mo. 7, 1695, d. iomo. 24, 1754; m. Mary Heath; 

Samuel Emlen, b. 2mo. 15, 1697; d. iomo. 28, 1783; m. Rachel Hudson; 

Caleb Emlen, b. 4mo. 9, 1699, d. iomo. 13, 1748 ; unm. ; 

Joshua Emlen, b. 2mo. 14, 1701, d. smo. 22, 1776; m. first, Mary (Holton) Hud- 
son ; second, Deborah Powell ; 

Hannah Emlen, b. i2mo. 3, 1703-4, d. 8mo. 6, 1711; 

Ann Emlen, b. 31110. 19, 1705 ; m. 4mo. 15, 1732, William Miller, of Chester county, 
Pa. ; born within the verge of Grange Monthly Meeting, Tyrone, Ireland, in the 2d 
mo., 1698; son of John and Mary Miller; 

Mary Emlen, b. nmo. 1, 1707-8, d. s. p., 2mo. 18, 1791 ; m. 1728, John Armitt, b. iomo. 
8, 1702, died Smo. 20, 1762, son of Richard and Sophia Armitt ; 

Sarah Emlen, b. imo. 19, 1709-10, d. 8mo. 2, 1752, at the home of her brother, Joshua 
Emlen; m. 31110. 25, 1738, James, son of Solomon and Anna (Watson) Cresson. 

George Emlen (George), born 5mo. 7, 1695, died iomo. 24, 1754: married. 
2mo. 24, 1717, Mary, born in England, 41110. 11, 1692, died 6mo.2, 1777; daughter 
of Robert and Susannah Heath, who came from Staffordshire, England, about 1701. 

Of George Emlen, the second, his brothers wrote that "being the oldest son he 
became a tender father to his brothers and sisters." He served his apprenticeship 



192 EMLEN 

with a brewer, in the later following of which business he greatly prospered. He 
took a prominent part in public affairs, being a member of Common Council of 
the city from 1730 to 1739, then an office of some distinction. In 1731, when the 
Philadelphia Library was founded, George Emlen was one of the charter 
members. 

In 1735 he purchased property at Fifth and Chestntt streets, opposite Inde- 
pendence Hall, the family home for many years. It is not known whether he 
built the house near Camp Hill, Montgomery county, which, in the possession and 
occupancy of his son, George Emlen the third, became famous as Washington's 
headquarters. Recorded deeds show that George Emlen, "brewer", did own land 
in that neighborhood, to which he was no doubt attracted because of its nearness 
to his brother-in-law, Morris Morris, living at "Hope Lodge," a fine old mansion 
which still stands, a well preserved example of early Colonial architecture. 

"Emlenton," near Tacony, recently taken down by Henry Disston and Sons, 
was also family property, the first owner of which may have been this George 
Emlen, or his son George Emlen, third of the name. 

Mary (Heath) Emlen was a highly esteemed minister in the Society of Friends 
for nearly fifty years, and in this calling visited New England and other places. 
Issue of George and Mary (Heath) Emlen: — 

George Emlen, b. 6mo. 21, 1718, d. imo. 3, 1776; m. Anne Reckless; 

Hannah Emlen, b. 4mo. 1, 1722, d. imo. 30, 1777; m. imo. 24, 1740, at Philadelphia 
Meeting, William, son of James and Sarah (Read) Logan. It was to Hannah 
(Emlen) Logan that the pewter plate (see illustration) belong. The plate is 
one of a number of dishes so marked, now owned by Mr. Sidney Logan. Burke's 
General Armory, under : "Emline or Emley, Helmdon, county Hants. Sa. a wild 
man statant, wreathed about the loins and temples, holding with both hands a tree 
eradicated, all ppr. Crest : A demi wild man, as in the arms, holding with both hands 
a club over the right shoulder, all ppr. Motto : Honestum praetulit utili." The 
supposition is that the set to which the plate belonged was part of the outfit of Han- 
nah Emlen at the time of her marriage in 1740 to William Logan. Several seals of 
the arms and crest, as above described, are in possession of different members of the 
Emlen family in America, and the same crest appeared on the envelope enclosing a let- 
ter recently received from Dr. Charles W. Emlyn, of London, whose "great uncle, Arch- 
itect to George IV., is buried in St. George's Chapel," Windsor, where is a tablet to 
his memory. The Helmdon branch of the family appears about the middle of the 16th 
century, when Thomas Emylie, Esq., "Lord of the Manor of Netherbury, in the Par- 
ish of Helmedon, County Northampton," married Joyce, daughter of Thomas God- 
wyn, Bishop of Bath and Wells. This marriage may afford some explanation for the 
appearance of Emlens in the county of Somersetshire. The fact that Dionysius Emylie 
of Helmedon (who was apparently a brother of said Thomas) went to Wales to 
live, and there died at the advanced age of eighty-six years, may account for the tra- 
dition that the family came from that part of the country, although other Emlyns ap- 
pear on Welsh records. Said Dionysius had a son Thomas, baptized 1588, who could 
have been the same person who in 1619, made payment for Seat No. 4 "for his life" in 
the Parish Church at Shepton Mallet, as hereinbefore described. Another tradi- 
tion in the American branch is that a family connection existed, by marriage, with the 
Dryden family, which is explained from the "facts that Thomas and Joyce Emylie's eldest 
daughter married Nicholas Dryden, brother of Erasmus Dryden. The granddaughter 
of this Erasmus Dryden married Sylvester Emlyn, father of Thomas Emlyn, the noted 
"champion of Arianism." Sylvester Emlyn was therefore brother-in-law to the Poet 
Laureate, John Dryden. 

Joseph Emlen, b. Smo. 1, 1728, d. nmo. 17, 1750; unm. 

Samuel Emlen (George), born 2mo. 15, 1697, died iomo. 28, 1783; married, 
iomo. 2, 1731, Rachel, born 9mo. 11, 1707, died 9mo. 12, 1771 ; daughter of 
William and Mary (Richardson) Hudson. Samuel Emlen, "the Elder", was 
described as, "through life a remarkably healthy man, about middle stature, not 




r.vrasH church, shipton mallet. 




CYPHER WRITING FROM RECKLESS BIBLE. 





Ill A.vm Emlen, JKffiiterof Georgf \ 
-^Ml anc ' " annah Em len 'i bam the 
Sail I9th of the 2d Mo. 170c, the" Tth.-fl 
Dav of the.Weik, near Midnight, j? 



■ ■;■ : ;-. ■ ■ ■ 



-: -■ :■ v v * c- -:■ ■>; 5; $ **;» £=> 



ENTRY OF BIRTH. 




• 



PEWTER PLATE OF HANNAH EMLEN LOGAN. 



EMLEN 193 

corpulent, very temperate in living." His will indicates that he left a large 
estate. 

Issue of Samuel and Rachel (Hudson) Emlcn: — 

Hudson Emlen, merchant, 3mo. 26, 1768; unm. ; 

Sarah Emlen, d. s. p., i2mo. 16, 1813, in the eightieth year of her age ; m. imo. 12, 

J 773> Thomas, son of Richard and Margaret (Preston) Moore, and great-grandson 

of Gov. Thomas Lloyd. 

Joshua Emlen (George), born 2mo. 14, 1701, died 5mo. 22, 1776; married 
soon after 9mo. 25, 1726 (at which date they "passed Meeting") Mary (Holton), 
widow of Samuel Hudson, and daughter of Arthur and Elizabeth (Guest) Holton. 
She died i2mo. 23, 1726. He married second, soon after 9mo. 29, 1728, 
Deborah, born 8mo. 24, 1706, died imo. 16, 1729-30; daughter of Samuel and 
Abigail (Wilcox) Powell. 

Joshua Emlen, "tanner", became a member of the Common Council of the city 
in 1742, and served at intervals until 1756. He lived at the upper end of Second 
street, in the Northern Liberties, beyond the then limits of the city. 
Issue of Joshua and Deborah (Powell) Emlen: — 

Samuel Emlen, b. imo. 15, 1730, d. i2mo. 30, 1799; m. first, 7mo. 6, 1761, at Phila- 
delphia Meeting, Elizabeth, dau. of William Moode. He married second, 2 mo. 1, 
1770, Sarah, who d. iomo. 26, 1796; dau. of Asher Mott. 

Samuel Emlen was one of the most noted ministers among Philadelphia Friends, 
and is known as Samuel Emlen "the minister" and "the seer." He is described as a 
slender, neatly built man, with a light, quick step. He was an apt scholar, being 
acquainted with Latin and Greek, and so well versed in the modern languages that 
he was able in his ministry abroad to address his listeners in their own tongues. After 
finishing his education, he became apprentice in the counting-house of James Pem- 
berton, but having sufficient means was never in business on his own account. He 
first spoke in the ministry in 1756, at a meeting in Ireland, while on his first visit 
abroad. Many anecdotes are told of his wonderful insight into the character and 
condition of those with whom he came into contact, and the startling words addressed 
to them. He visited England six times, also Ireland, Holland and the Barbadoes. 

Issue of Samuel and Elizabeth (Moode) Emlen: — 

William Emlen, b. 5mo. 17, 1765, d. under age ; 

Samuel Emlen, b. 9mo. 4, 1766, d. s. p., i2mo. 29, 1837; m. 4mo. 16, 1795, Sus- 
annah, dau. of William and Sarah Logan (Smith) Dillwyn. They lived at 
"West Hill", Burlington county, N. J., (afterward the home of Eliza Gurney). 
After his wife ; s death, Samuel Emlen resided in the town of Burlington. 
The Emlen Institute for the education of orphan boys of African and Indian 
descent, first organized in Ohio, but finally removed to Bucks county, Pa., was 
founded by Samuel Emlen. At present the foundation is vested in the colored 
school at Cheyney, Chester co., Pa. 

Issue of Samuel and Sarah (Mott) Emlen: — 

Deborah Emlen, d. 4mo. 17, 1789, aged seventeen years ; 

Elizabeth Emlen, d. 6mo. 19, 1820, aged forty-seven years ; m. 9mo. 20, 1800, 
Philip Syng Physick, M. D. 

George Emlen (George, 2 George), styled "the Elder" or "merchant," born 
in Philadelphia, 6mo. 21, 1718, died imo. 3, 1776; married at Chesterfield Meet- 
ing, Burlington county, New Jersey, i2mo. 25, 1740, Anne, born iomo. 4, 1720, 
died 2mo. 4, 1816; daughter of Joseph and Margaret (Satterthwaite) Reckless. 

13 



194 EMLEN 

Joseph was the son of Samuel Reckless, iron-monger, of county of Nottingham, 
England, who in 1678 purchased one-fifteenth of a proprietary in West Jersey. 
Samuel's father, John Reckless, was the Nottingham sheriff referred to in the 
Journal of George Fox. 

The following obituary notice appeared in Poulson's American Daily Adver- 
tiser, February 10, 1816: 

"Died, on the fourth instant, in the ninety-sixth year of her age, Anne Emlen, widow, relict 
of George Emlen, formerly of this city, whom she survived about forty years. Of their 
posterity (several of whom have held conspicuous stations in civil and religious society, 
and departed before her), one hundred and forty-seven yet survive in the relation of 
children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren. She herself long occupied the rank of 
an exemplary and charitable citizen, fulfilling with much propriety the duties of parent, 
friend, neighbor and mistress. She retained her faculties to the last; and very shortly 
before her departure, sensible of its approach, warmly recommended to her numerous 
descendants to live in harmony and moderation. Her remains, attended by a very numerous 
train of relations and friends, were interred on the 6th in Friends' Burial Ground, Mul- 
berry Street." She was buried from "Her late dwelling No. 179 [old number] Chestnut 
St." 

George Emlen's Place, near Camp Hill, Whitemarsh Valley, which still stands, 
was the headquarters of General Washington from November 2d to December 11, 
1777. The first purchase was apparently made by his father and subsequently 
added to by George Emlen, third, "merchant." His city residence was at Chestnut 
and Fifth streets, opposite Independence Hall, formerly occupied by his 
father. 

Issue of George and Anne (Reckless) Emlen: — 

George Emlen, b. 4mo. 25, 1741, d. nmo. 23, 1812; m. Sarah Fishbourne; 

Caleb Emlen, b. i2mo. 15, 1744, d. 7mo. 13, 1797; m. Mary Warder; 

Mary Emlen, b. i2mo. 19, 1746, d. 9mo. 19, 1820, without issue ; m. David Beveridge, 
an Englishman by birth. During the latter part of her life Mrs. Beveridge lived at 
"Emlenton" on the Schuylkill. Handsome portraits of David and Mary Beveridge, 
painted by Peale are owned by a member of the family; 

Joseph Emlen, b. i2mo. 28, 1748, d. i2mo. 29, 1783 ; unm. ; 

Margaret Emlen, b. 41110. 15, 1750, d. 5mo. 4, 1822; m. at Philadelphia Meeting, 5mo. 23, 
1771, Samuel Howell Jr., merchant, son of Samuel and Sarah (Stretch) Howell. 
Samuel Howell Jr. "participated early in the dangers and fatigues of the American 
Revolution, and on a variety of occasions showed himself ready and willing to render 
service to his country. The integrity of his heart and benevolence of his disposition, 
endeared him to a large circle of acquaintances." He was buried in Friends' 
Burial Ground at Frankf ord ; 

Anne Emlen, b. 41110. 30, 1755, d. 3mo. 21, 1815; m. iomo. 9, 1788, Warner, son of Daniel 
and Mary (Warner) Mifflin, of Accomac co., Va. ; 

Samuel Emlen, b. 8mo. 28, 1757, d. 9mo. 4, 1807 ; unm. ; 

James Emlen, b. 6mo. 26, 1760, d. iomo. 3, 1798; m. Phebe Peirce. 

George Emlen (George, George, George), "merchant," born 4mo. 25, 
1741-2, died nmo. 23, 1812; married, 2mo. 1, 1775, Sarah, born oxno. 11, 1755, 
died 8mo. 29, 1823; daughter of William and Elizabeth (Tallman) Fishbourne. 
William Fishbourne was grandson of Ralph and Sarah (Lewis) Fishbourne, of 
Talbot county, Maryland, and son of William Fishbourne, born in Maryland, 
who came to Philadelphia about 1702, where he married Hannah, daughter of 
Samuel Carpenter, Provincial Councillor. William Fishbourne Sr. was a member 
of the Pennsylvania Assembly in 1716, and from 1718 to 1720; and a member of 
Provincial Council, 1723 to 1731. He was elected Mayor of the city in 1719-20-21. 
In 1725-26 he filled the position of City Treasurer. Mary Fishbourne, the 



EMLEN 



195 



"Polly Fishbourne" of "Sallie Wister's Journal," and later the wife of Dr. Samuel 
Powel Griffitts, was a younger sister of Sarah (Fishbourne) Emlen. Elizabeth 
Fishbourne, an elder sister, was second wife of President Thomas Wharton. 
These families all belonged to Philadelphia's aristocratic Quaker set of the pros- 
perous days before the Revolution. 

George Emlen and his family lived at 103 (old number) south Fourth street. 
Issue of George and Sarah (Fishbourne) Emlen: — 

Anne Emlen, b. 7mo. 6, 1777, d. 2tno. 4, 1851; m. at "Powelton," by Rt. Rev. Bishop 

White, 8mo. 29, 1801, Charles Willing, son of Robert and Margaret (Willing) Hare; 
Elizabeth Emlen, d. 5mo. 13, 1847; m. at "Emlenton", by Rt. Rev. Bishop White, 

iomo. 13, 1808, George, son of George and Thomazine Mickle (Fox) Roberts; 
Sarah Emlen, d. 6mo. 29, 1787, aged seven years; 
George Emlen, b. 1784, 8mo. 27, 1850; 
William Fishburne Emlen, b. 5mo. 30, 1787, d. 2mo. 1, 1866; m. Mary Parker 

Norris ; 
Mary Emlen, b. 1788, d. 2mo. 18, 1789; 
Hannah Emlen, b. 2mo. 6, 1790; m. 4mo. 6, 1820, Joseph Mickle, son of Samuel and 

Sarah (Pleasants) Fox; 
Mary Emlen, b. iomo. 4, 1795 ; m. smo. 15, 1817, John Morin, son of Lewis Allaire and 

Juliana (Sitgreaves) Scott. 

Caleb Emlen (George, George, George), born i2mo. 15, 1744, died 7mo. 13, 
1797; married, 2mo. 25, 1773, at Philadelphia Meeting, Mary, daughter of Jere- 
miah and Mary (Head) Warder. She was born nmo. 23, 1746-7, died 5mo. 16, 
1811. 

The wife of Jeremiah Warder was a daughter of John Head and Rebecca 
Mace, who were married in England in 1712. 
Issue of Caleb and Mary (Warder) Emlen: — 

Mary Emlen, d. s. p., i2mo. 14, 1849; m. nmo. 29, 1798, Thomas Greaves, merchant; 
Ann Emlen, d. 6mo. 29, 1844, aged sixty-nine years; m. 4mo. 19, 1796, Charles, son of 

Samuel and Mary (Pemberton) Pleasants; 
Warder Emlen, d. 5mo. 6, 1809 ; unm. ; 

Caleb Emlen, d. 4mo. 6, 1810; m. Maria, dau. of John and Maria (French) Graeff. Issue: 
Mary Emlen, m. Dr. Squire Littell; 

Calebina Emlen, m. William H. Newbold, b. 1810; d. 1872; 
Lydia Emlen; 

Samuel W. Emlen, d. unm. ; 
Jeremiah Emlen, b. 1783, d. 91110. 1785; 
Jeremiah Emlen, d. 1826; unm.; 
Sarah Emlen, b. 6mo. 19, 1787, d. 3mo. 28, 1870; m. 6mo. 4, 1807, Caleb, son of Caleb 

and Sarah (Hopkins) Cresson; 
Deborah Emlen, d. 187 1 ; unm.; 

James Emlen (George, George, George), born 6mo. 26, 1760, died iomo. 3, 
1798, of yellow fever; married, 4mo. 23, 1783, at Concord Meeting, Delaware 
county, Phebe Peirce, born i2mo. n, 1758, died of yellow fever, iomo. 25, 1793, 
daughter of Caleb and Ann (Mendenhall) Peirce. 

Caleb Peirce was grandson of George Peirce, who with his wife, Anne (Gainer) 
Peirce, came from England in 1684, and that same year had surveyed to him a 
tract of four hundred and ninety acres in Thornbury township, Chester county, 



196 EMLEN 

Pennsylvania. On his arrival he presented two certificates to a meeting of 
Friends "att the Governor's house", one from "the Monthly Meeting at ffrenshay 
in the county of Gloucester", and the other from Thornbury in the same county. 
George Peirce represented Chester county in the Provincial Assembly in 1706 and 
was very active in the community meetings of Friends. "He was one of a com- 
pany who erected the Concord Mill, the first mill built in the neighborhood." 

James Emlen, after his education was completed, declined to travel abroad, as 
his parents had intended, preferring to stay with his relative, Hannah, widow of 
William Miller, of New Garden, Chester county. "He assumed the management 
of her mill without an assistant and declined compensation, stipulating only 
that he might grind for some of the poorer customers without taking toll. In 
this, however, he was careful not to let the left hand know wkat the right hand 
did." He removed to Middletown in 1782, where he became owner of consider- 
able land. Although but about thirty-eight years of age when he died he was 
an elder in the Meeting and served as clerk, recorder, etc. He was appointed 
one of the first standing committee to give attention to the condition of the 
Indian natives, and which committee, by successive re-appointments, has con- 
tinued to the present time. 

Issue of James and Phebe (Peirce) Emlen: — 

Anne Emlen, b. 6mo. 9, 1784, d. 1852; m. 7mo. 13, 1802, Judge Walter Franklin, of 

Lancaster, Pa. ; 
Joshua Emlen, b. i2mo. 22, 1785; m. Abigail (Smith) widow of William Emlen Howell, 

and had one child, Phebe, m. James Hillyer; 
Mary Emlen, b. 8mo. 13, 1787, d. smo. 12, 1820; m. iomo. 1, 1807, George Newbold, 

of New York City; merchant, son of Clayton and Mary (Foster) Newbold; 
Samuel Emlen, M. D., b. 31110. 6, 1789, d. 41110. 17, 1828; m. Beulah S. Valentine; 
Phebe Emlen, b. 8mo. 30, 1790, d. iomo. 5, 1826; unm. ; 
James Emlen, b. 6mo. 17, 1792, d. 9mo. 20, 1866; m. Sarah (Foulke) Farquhar; 

William Fishbourne Emlen (George, George, George, George), born 
5mo. 30, 1787, died 2mo. 1, 1866; married at Friends' Meeting House, Mul- 
berry street, Philadelphia, 11 mo. 11, 1813, Mary Parker, daughter of Joseph 
Parker and Elizabeth Hill (Fox) Norris. 

One of his immediate family writes of William Fishbourne Emlen : "He had 
a charming personality and was a delightful companion. He was most kindly, 
and with a very spiritual turn of thought." He was one of the earliest Presidents 
of the Philadelphia & Reading R. R. 

Issue of William F. and Mary P. (Norris) Emlen: — 

George Emlen, b. 9mo. 25, 1814, d. 6mo. 7, 1853 ; m. 5mo. 6, 1840, Ellen, dau. of John 
and Hitty (Cox) Markoe. He entered the Univ. Pa. in 1828, where he was a member 
of the Zelosophic Society, and at graduation in 1831, was valedictorian of class. 
Studied law and was admitted to Philadelphia bar. Was president of Law Academy 
of Phila. ; secretary Board of Trustees Univ. Pa., 1841-53 ; president Public School 
Comptrollers, etc. Issue : 

Mary Emlen, b. May 29, 1842; m. June 12, 1869, James Starr. Issue: 

James Starr, b. Apr. 6, 1870; m. Oct. 15, 1901, Sarah Logan Wister ; issue : 

Sarah Logan Starr, b. June 13, 1903; 
George Emlen Starr, b. Oct. 23, 1871 ; m. Nov. 7, 1899, Karoline Nixon 

Newhall ; 
Ellen Markoe Starr, b. May 12, 1873; m. Feb. 9, 1901, Edward Shippen Wat- 
son Farnum ; issue : Edward Shippen Watson Farnum, b. Jan. 26, 1902 ; 
James Starr, b. May 26, 1903 ; Ralf Farnum, b. Jan. 1, 1905 ; 






m 













isae^a 









i A * 









LEAVES FROM EMLEN FAMILY BIBLE. 



EMLEN 197 

Lydia Starr, b. May 18, 1876; m. Dec. 12, 1901, Oliver Boyce Judson; 
Theodore Ducoing Starr, b. Jan. 14, 1880; m. Feb. 7, 1901, Sarah Carmalt; 
issue : Charlotte Churchill Starr, b. April 22, 1902 ; Theodore Ducoing 
Starr, b. April 12, 1907 ; , 
George Emlen, Attorney-at-Law, b. Nov. 27, 1843 ; d. Nov. 25, 1907 ; m. April 
22, 1874, Helen Rotch, d. July 7, 1900; dau. of Daniel Clarke and Anne 
(Morgan) Wharton. Issue: 

Anne Wharton Emlen, b. June 15, 1875, d. July 17, 1875 ; 
Ellen Markoe Emlen, b. Jan. 21, 1877, d. Mar. 19, 1900; 
Dorothea Emlen, b. Feb. 20, 1881 ; 
Harry Emlen, b. Mar. 31, 1847, d. Mar. 17, 187 1 ; unm. ; 
Ellen Emlen, b. Feb. 13, 1850; 
Joseph Norris Emlen, b. Sept. 4, 1816, d. unm. ; 

Elizabeth Norris Emlen, b. Jan. 26, 1825; m. Dec. 22, 1847, James A. Roosevelt, 
(an uncle of President Theodore Roosevelt), b. June 12, 1825, d. July 15, 1898. Issue: 
Mary Emlen Roosevelt, b. Sept. 27, 1848, d. Dec. 19, 1885 ; 
Leila Roosevelt, b. Feb. 5, 1850; m. Edward R. Merritt; 
Alfred Roosevelt, b. April 2, 1856, d. July 3, 1891 ; m. Dec. 5, 1882, Katherine, 
dau. of Augustus Lowell, of Boston, Mass. Issue: 

Elfrida Roosevelt, b. Dec. 22, 1883; m. June 9, 1905, Owen B. Clark, 

of England ; issue : Humphrey Owen Clark, b. July 6, 1906 ; 
James Alfred Roosevelt, b. Feb. 23, 1885 ; 
Katherine Lowell Roosevelt, b. April 18, 1887; 
William Emlen Roosevelt, b. April 30, 1857; m. Oct. 4, 1883, Christine G. 
Kean. Issue : 
Christine Kean Roosevelt, b. Aug. 3, 1884; 
George Emlen Roosevelt, b. Oct. 13, 1887 ; 
Lucie Margaret Roosevelt, b. Nov. 7, 1888; 
John Kean Roosevelt, b. Sept. 22, 1889; 
Philip James Roosevelt, b. May 15, 1892; 
Sarah Emlen, b. June 15, 1832 ; m. Oct. 15, 1862, James Casey Hale. Issue : 

Mary Emlen Hale, b. Aug. 9, 1863 ; m. Oct. 24, 1883, James Lowell Jr., of 
Boston, Mass. Issue : 

Mary Emlen Lowell, b. July 31, 1884; m. Oct. 15, 1904, Francis Vernon 

Lloyd ; 
'John Lowell, b. March 21, 1887; 

William Emlen Lowell, b. Oct. 25, 1888, d. July 28, 1889; 
Ralph Lowell, b. July 23, 1890; 
James Hale Lowell, b. May 3, 1892; 
Olivia Lowell, b. Aug. 2, 1898. 

Samuel Emlen, M. D. (James, George, George, George), born 3mo. 6, 
1789, died 4mo. 17, 1828; married, nmo. 4, 1819, Beulah Sansom, daughter of 
Jacob Valentine, of New York, and his wife, Elizabeth Ann, daughter of Col. 
Benjamin George Eyre. 

Although Dr. Samuel Emlen died in the prime of life, he was one of the 
most eminent physicians of his day. He studied under Dr. Parrish, of Phila- 
delphia; graduated, and in June, 1812, sailed for England. After a stay of 
over two years abroad, during which time he continued his studies, he returned 
to this country and took up the practice of his profession in Philadelphia. He 
soon became prominent as a physician ; was a member of the Board of Guardians 
of the Poor ; of the Magdalen Asylum ; the Orphan Asylum and the Friends' 
Asylum for the Insane. He was secretary of College of Physicians and one of 
the physicians of Pennsylvania Hospital. He was buried at Sixteenth and 
Cherry streets, Philadelphia. 



198 EMLEN 

Issue of Samuel and Beulah S. (Valentine) Emlen: — 

James V. Emlen, M. D., b. 9mo. 21, 1820, d. s. p., 2mo. 29, 1880; m. Ann Armour; 
Elizabeth Ann Emlen, b. iomo. 4, 1822, d. imo. 16, 1907; m. iomo. 17, 1850, William 

Rockhill, M. D., son of John and Rachel (Griscom) Bullock. This branch of the 

family owns the old Emlen Bible, printed in 1603, one page of which is here 

re-produced. 
Caleb Emlen, b. 8mo. 20, 1824, d. 3mo. 20, 1895 ; m. first, i2mo. 5, 1848, Hannah 

E. Dever, b. 2mo. 28, 1824, d. 7mo. 17, 1873; second, Mary L. (Wright) Reese, b. 

1836, d. 1888; dau. of Alexander Wright. 

Issue of first marriage: — 

Samuel Emlen, b. 10, 3, 1849, d. I, 3, 1883; unm. ; 

Mary Dever Emlen, b. 8, 17, 1852; 

Charles Emlen, b. 9, 17, 1854, d. 10, 24, 1901; m. Ellen G. Ewing; 

John Emlen, b. 2, 24, 1859; 

James Emlen, b. 2, 24, 1859, d. II, 19, 1874, 

Marion L. Emlen, b. 6, 15, 1867; m. 3, 23, 1893, George Worthington Scott. 

Issue of second marriage: — 

Clement H. Emlen, b. 4, 17, 1877; 

Anna Wright Emlen, b. 2, 14, 1881 ; m. Warren Hubley ; 
Mary Cresson Emlen, b. iomo. 16, 1827; m. 41110. 12, 1849, Clement H., son of Stephen 
W. and Mary N. (Jones) Smith; no issue. 

James Emlen (James, 4 George, George, George), born 6mo. 17, 1792, died 
9mo. 20, 1866; married, imo. 11, 1816, at Middletown Meeting, Sarah (Foulke) 
Farquhar, daughter and only child of Cadwalader and Phebe (Ellis) Foulke, 
and widow of William Farquhar, born 41110. 2J, 1787, in Upper Freehold, New 
Jersey. 

James Emlen left an orphan at six years of age ; was educated at West- 
town School and subsequently went to New York City, where he resided until 
his majority, with his sister Mary, who had married George Newbold. He was 
twenty-one years old when he removed to Middletown, Chester county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and occupied one of his father's farms, living in the old home called the 
"Upper House." Here he became a plain Friend ; married ; and after the birth 
of his third child, moved to the "Lower House", close at hand, also owned by his 
father, where the rest of his children were born and where he remained 
until his removal to Westtown School, in the spring of 1836. During this 
period he was appointed Elder of Society of Friends, a position which he con- 
tinued to hold as long as he lived. It was also at this time, that, in harmony with 
his inclination for a quiet but useful life, he conducted a private school for boys, 
to accommodate which he erected a building on his farm, which was used as a 
Meeting house by Orthodox Friends at the time of "the Separation in 1827," 
until a new Meeting house was built. 

After moving to Westtown School, he, with his family, occupied one of the 
dwellings on the grounds of that Institution. In the spring of 1848 he removed 
to West Chester, Pennsylvania, where he passed in retirement, the last eighteen 
years of his life. His wife (for many years a recorded minister of the Society 
of Friends) during the family's residence at Westtown, went on a religious visit 
to England, where she remained about two years. Her death occurred in the 



EMLEN 199 

year following the removal to West Chester. The impulses, ideals and prin- 
ciples of James Emlen's character are well illustrated by the following con- 
cluding expressions in his will : 

"Feeling grateful for the love and harmony that has always prevailed amongst 
my children, I much desire the same may be continued and descend to children's 
children, and this will be the case in proportion as it becomes the love and 
fellowship of the Gospel." 

Issue of James and Sarah (Foulke) Emlen: — 

James Emlen, b. iomo. 16, 1816, d. imo. 25, 1827 ; 

Mary Emlen, b. at "Upper House," 3mo. 21, 1818, died 3mo. 16, 1893; m. 4mo. 14, 1842, 

Chalkley, son of Hughes Bell, farmer, and moved to the State of Illinois; 
Phebe Emlen, b. at "Upper House," 4mo. 12, 1820, d. s. p., imo. 14, 1887; m. first, 
J. Rowland Howell, of Chester co., Pa. ; second, Cyrus Mendenhall, of Cincinnati, 
O. ; third, William B. Cooper, of Camden, N. J. ; 
Sarah Cresson Emlen, b. at the "Lower House" 4mo. 19, 1822, d. iomo. 7, 1901 ; m. 6mo 

4, 1846, William P. Bangs, from Dover, N. H., merchant; 
Anne Emlen, b. at "Lower House" iomo. 7, 1824, d. 8mo. 23, 1905; m. nmo. 4, 1852, 

Joseph, son of Joseph and Sarah (Dillwyn) Howell, merchant; 
Susan Dillwyn Emlen, b. at "Lower House" 91110. 20, 1826, d. imo. 28, 1887 ; unm. ; 
Samuel Emlen, b. at "Lower House" 3mo. 23, 1829; m. 9mo. 30, 1851, Sarah, dau. of 
George Guest and Hannah (Newlin) Williams. He is an eminent minister among 
Friend.'' living in Germantown, Phila. ; has issue : 

C^orge Williams Emlen, b. 5, 4, 1853; m. Eleanor, b. 9, 15, 1854; dau. of Thomas 
Pirn and Elizabeth S. Cope, of "Awbury," Germantown, Phila. Issue : 
Mary Cope Emlen, b. 7, 3, 1878; m. 4, 27, 1904, Alfred Garret, son of Thomas 

Scattergood. Their dau., Elizabeth Cope Scattergood, was b. 4, 5, 1907; 
Samuel Emlen, b. 3, 27, 1880; m. 6, 7, 1906 Marian Hartshorne Haines. 

Their son, Samuel Emlen, 3d, was b. 3, 27, 1907; 
Arthur Cope Emlen, b. 4, 9, 1882; 
George Williams Emlen, b. 5, 7, 1887; 
Esther Margaret Emlen, b. 4, 27, 1890; 
James Emlen, b. II, 12, 1854; m. 12, 13, 1877, Susan Trotter, b. 11, 27, 1853, d. 
1, 18, 1879; dau. of John J. and Elizabeth Hough (Trotter) Thompson. Issue: 
John Thompson Emlen, b. 12, 28, 1878; m. 3, 6, 1906, Mary Carpenter, b. 
8, 20, 188 1 ; dau. of Woodruff and Sara Elizabeth Jones. Issue: 
Susan Thompson Emlen, b. 11, 19, 1907; 
John Thompson Emlen, b. 12, 28, 1908. 
Samuel Emlen, b. 12, 20, 1856, d. 2, 24, i860; 
Hannah Williams Emlen, b. 12, 20, 1859, d. 1, 22, i860; 

Sarah Emlen, b. 4, 15, 1861 ; m. 5, 14, 1896, Walter Thomas Moore, of Lehigh 
Valley Railroad Company, b. 4, 8, 1854; son of Calvin and Sarah (Walter) 
Moore, of O. ; 
Mary Emlen, b. 6, 25, 1863 ; m. 6, 19, 1890, Joseph Stokes, M. D., b. 4, 8, 1862 ; 
son of Dr. N. Newlin and Martha E. Stokes, of Moorestown, N. J. Issue: 
Eleanor Stokes, b. 9, 16, 1892; 
Samuel Emlen Stokes, b. 7, 1, 1894; 
Joseph Stokes, b. 2, 22, 1896; 
Anne Emlen, b. 11, 24, 1865; m. 10, 17, 1889, Walter Penn Shipley, Attorney-at- 
Law, b. 6, 20, i860 ; son of Thomas and Eliza Drinker Shipley. Issue : 
Thomas Emlen Shipley, b. 12, 25, 1890; 
James Emlen Shipley, b. 4, 4, 1894; 
Walter Penn Shipley, b. 11, 2, 1897. 



WALN FAMILY 

Of Nicholas Wain, emigrant ancestor of the Pennsylvania family of that 
name, as well as of a number of other families who were prominent in Colonial 
history of Philadelphia and vicinity, friend and counselor of William Penn, 
and a fellow passenger with him in the "Welcome" in 1682, much has been 
written. Until recently, however, nothing was known of his parentage or place 
of residence in England, but we are now able to give some account of his parents 
and the place of his birth. 

Richard Wain and Jane his wife, who lived in the small village of Burholme, 
in district called Bolland, in West Riding of Yorkshire, England, were among 
the earliest converts to Quakerism, in Yorkshire. They belonged to Bolland 
Meeting, a branch of Settle Montly Meeting, as early as 1654, a date very 
shortly after the rise of the Society of Friends. 

The exact limits of the district called Bolland were somewhat indefinite, and 
even seem to have varied from time to time, or at least to have been variously 
apprehended by different authorities. Before Richard Wain's time there had 
been a forest here called "Bolland Forest" and there were, no doubt, remains 
of it even in his day, though no longer a forest in the official sense. It is pre- 
sumed that the Bolland of the old records was Bolland Liberty, and that it coin- 
cided with the ancient extent of the Forest. Baines' "Gazetteer of the County 
of York," 1822, speaks of Burholme as in the parish of Bolland, but this was 
doubtless an error, as no other authorities mention a parish of that name, while 
several show conclusively that Burgolme was in the parish of Slaidburn. The 
name Bolland, now spelt Bowland, which probably represents its proper pro- 
nunciation formerly as well as now, also applied to three townships included 
in the same region ; one of these being High Bowland-Forest, a township 
entirely in the parish of Slaidburn and wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, 
West Riding of Yorkshire ; another. Low Bowland-Forest, partly in the same 
parish and wapentake, and partly in the parish of Whalley, Blackburn Hundred, 
Lancashire ; and the third altogether in the latter parish, hundred and shire. 
High and Low Bowland-Forest together constituted Bowland Liberty, which as 
abovesaid was no doubt what was meant by the Bolland in the old records. 

Burholme itself, called "Borholme" in Baines' Gazetteer above referred to, 
and "Burham in Bolland" in the registers of Settle Monthly Meeting of Friends, 
can be definitely located. It was about eight miles northwest of Clitheroe, and in 
the parish of Slaidburn and Liberty of Bolland, most probably in the fownship 
of High Bowland-Forest, as that was all within said parish and most certainly 
in Yorkshire. 

Of the personal affairs of Richard and Jane Wain we have little record. In 
1664 Richard Wain was sued at Whitwell Court for tithes and had a mare taken 
from him worth four pounds. Jane Wain was daughter of Edward Rudd, of 
Knowmeare, Yorkshire, a place at present not identified, but doubtless also in 
parish of Slaidburn. As to her family besides her father, we know of two 
sisters, Dorothy and Mary Rudd, who married respectively the brothers, William 



WALN 201 

and Cuthbert Hayhurst Jr., sons of Cuthbert and Alice Hayhurst, of Easington, 
in the same parish of Slaidburn, West Riding of Yorkshire ; also an undoubted 
cousin, Elizabeth, daughter of Giles Rudd, probably brother of Edward, of 
Mouldhils, in the same locality, who married Thomas Walmsley, of Wadington 
Eaves, in the same wapentake as all of the above Staincliffe and Ewcross, but in 
a different parish, Milton. All of these parties will be mentioned later as most 
of them accompanied Nicholas Wain to Pennsylvania. 

Richard Wain died April 7, 1659, and his widow, Jane Wain, then of Slain- 
merow, parish of Slaidburn, married, October 31, 1667, at the house of Robert 
Walbancke, Newton, same parish, William Birket, of Newton. Their subse- 
quent residence was her house in Slaidberow, instead of his house in Newton, 
and here a number of her relatives or connections were married. In the records 
of some of these marriages her residence, or that of her husband, is given dif- 
ferently, but the duplicate or complementary entries show that Slaidberow con- 
tinued to be her home. Thus at the marriage of Elizabeth Rudd and Thomas 
Walmsley, which took place there November 13, 1665, her residence in one entry 
is given as "Smelfats", which is also given as Elizabeth Rudd's own residence, 
Out the duplicate entry shows it to have been as above (though a copyist's error 
made it "Rainemerow". In one record of Jane Birket's son Nicholas Wain's 
marriage at the same house, October 1, 1673, it is called "Will 1 " Birket's, Chapel- 
croft," the latter place being really Nicholas Wain's own residence ; but two 
counter entries give it correctly, "Will 1 " Birket's Slainmerow". If she was the 
same Jane Birket, at whose house in Slainmerow, Jenet Stackhouse and Richard 
Scott were married, April 9, 1696, and she probably was, as the Stackhouse 
family were connected by marriage, she must have survived her first husband 
thirty-seven years, living all that time in this place. 

On the register of Settle Monthly Meeting occur the births of two children 
of Richard and Jane (Rudd) Wain, Anne, born August 15, 1654, and Edward, 
September 22, 1657. Of Edward we know nothing further, but Anne married 
James Dilworth and came to Pennsylvania as will be shown below. Richard and 
Jane are known to have had an elder son Nicholas, who came to Pennsylvania 
and founded the family which is the subject of this sketch, and there are sup- 
posed to have had another and still older son Richard Wain, also an early 
settler in Philadelphia county, and perhaps other children, the births having 
occurred before the parents joined Friends, and hence their births are not entered 
on Friends records. 

Richard Waln, supposed to have been eldest son of Richard and Jane (Rudd) 
Wain, came to Pennsylvania in 1682, and settled in what was afterwards Chel- 
tenham township, Philadelphia, now Montgomery county. He was a member 
of the Society of Friends. About this time there was filed in the Philadelphia 
Monthly Meeting a certificate for one Richard Wall from a Monthly Meeting 
"held at the House of Edward Edwards of Stock Orchard, in ye County of 
Gloucester" dated 41110. 26, 1682, but whether this was our Richard Wain 
(whose name was as frequently spelled Wall as Wain in the early records here), 
or another, is not certain ; nor does it suggest any relationship to Richard and 
Jane Wain, of Burholme, for Gloucestershire is not very near to Yorkshire. In 
iomo., 1683, a meeting was established at the house of Richard Wain in Chelten- 
ham, which was the nucleus of Abington Particular Meeting. There were two 



202 WALN 

other meetings in the vicinity at that time, one at Tacony, afterwards called 
Oxford Meeting, and one at John Hart's called Poquessing and later Bybery 
Meeting ; these three formed a monthly meeting early called indiscriminately by 
either of these names, but in 1702 definitely named Abington Monthly Meeting. 
Richard Wain was a leading spirit in the organization and served on many of 
the committees of this monthly meeting, and was frequently its representative in 
Quarterly Meeting. On gmo. 24, 1690, he was granted a certificate to travel to 
Maryland, no doubt on a religious visit. He died March 26, 1698, and was 
buried the 28th, at Cheltenham. His wife Joan died February 2, 1701-2, and 
was buried the 4th, also at Cheltenham. They were accompanied to Pennsyl- 
vania by their son, Richard Wain Jr., and the latter's daughter Sarah. Richard 
Jr. died April 6, 1689, and Sarah married, February 14, 1694-5, at her grand- 
father's house in Cheltenham, George Shoemaker. There seems to have been no 
other descendants of Richard Wain Sr. except Sarah Shoemaker, who was 
made sole executor of her grandfather's will, dated March 15, 1697-8, proved 
February 9, 1701-2, which mentioned no other relatives except his wife Joan. 

Anne Wain, daughter of Richard and Jane (Rudd) Wain, born August 15, 
1654, became a minister in the Society of Friends. She married, about 1680, 
James Dilworth, of Yorkshire, also a minister, and they afterwards went to 
Pennsylvania, at about the same time as her brother, Nicholas Wain. An 
account of him in "The Friend," (Philadelphia, vol. xxvii, gives some personal 
particulars as to both : "James Dilworth, was an inhabitant of Thornby in York- 
shire before his removal to Pennsylvania, and was convinced of the Truth there. 
For a meeting held at his house on the 13th of Tenth Month, 1676, a fine was 
imposed on him, to satisfy which he had two oxen taken. At what time he came 
forth in the ministry we cannot tell, but he laboured faithfully therein according 
to his measure, having a loving helpful companion in his wife Ann, who was also 
a minister of the Gospel. 

"James Dilsworth and Ann Wain were married about the year 1681, and some 
time after removed to this country, and settled in Bucks county. He was in 
public life for a time, representing his neighbors in the Assembly. In their 
religious labors, he and his wife travelled much together, visiting in this way, 
in 1689, the meetings of Friends in New England. In 1697 and perhaps the 
early part of 1698, they travelled southward through Maryland, Virginia and 
Carolina, having with both these visits the unity of the Yearly Meeting of 
Ministering Friends." 

On 7mo. 26, 1698, Abington Monthly Meeting granted Ann Dilworth alone a 
certificate to visit Friends in England, by way of Barbados ; the Yearly Meeting 
of Ministers, in March, 1698-9, approved her certificate, and she left about the 
end of the month. "The parting from her husband was a final one. A few 
months after her departure the yellow fever broke out in Philadelphia, and 
among the valuable Friends removed by it from works to rewards was James 
Dilworth. He died in the Seventh Month (September), 1699, being buried on 
the 15th, the First-day before Yearly Meeting." 

James Dilworth appears to have served but one term in Assembly, that of 
1685. About 1693 he removed to Bristol township, Philadelphia county, where 
he died. In his will dated September 8, 1699, proved December 10, 1700, he 
named his wife Ann, sole executrix, and mentioned his children: William, Rich- 



WALN 203 

ard, Jane, Hannah, Jennett, Rebecca and James Dilworth( brother-in-law, Nich- 
olas Wain, and friend, Edmund Orpwood. 

Ann (Wain) Dilworth married (second) in 1701, probably in November, 
Christopher Sibthorp, of Philadelphia, a large landholder in the Northern Lib- 
erties, whose will dated December 25, 1707, proved January 24, 1707-8, men- 
tioned his wife Ann and children, not named, sister Elizabeth Whitwort, and her 
daughter Mary, and friends Joshua Fisher, Barbara Wright and her daughter 
Rebecca Corker. Ann (Wain) Sibthorp's own will, dated August 27, 1710, men- 
tioned her children : James, William, Richard and Rebecca Dilworth, making 
the sons William and Richard executors and Nicholas Wain and Edmund Orp- 
wood overseers. 

James and Ann (Wain) Dilworth had eight children, as given below, the 
record of the births of the first six appearing on the register of Middletown 
Monthly Meeting in Bucks county, and those of the last two at Abington 
Monthly Meeting in Philadelphia county : 

William Dilworth, b. in England, July 25, 1681 ; 

Richard Dilworth, b. July 8, 1683; m. 1707, Elizabeth Worrell; 

Jane Dilworth, b. March 18, 1684-5, d. 1701 ; m. May 8, 1701, at Oxford Meeting, 
Phila. co., Thomas Hodges, of Oxford twp., Phila. co., who d. March 28, 1708; he 
m. (second) his first wife's cousin, Hannah Wain, dau. of Nicholas, of whom here- 
after; Jane (Dilworth) Hodges had no issue; 

Hannah Dilworth, b. Feb. 25, 1688-9; rn. June 9, 1709, at Oxford Meeting, John Wor- 
rell, of Oxford twp,. brother of Elizabeth, wife of her brother, Richard Dilworth; 

Jennett Dilworth, b. March 20, 1690- 1 ; m. 1710, Samuel Bolton; 

Ann Dilworth, b. Feb. 9, 1691-2; 

Rebecca Dilworth, m. Dec, 171 1, George Shoemaker; 

James Dilworth, b. Nov. 3, 1695; m. 1718, Sarah Worrell. 

Nicholas Waln, son of Richard and Jane (Rudd) Wain, of Burholme, Bol- 
land, parish of Slaidburn, West Riding of Yorkshire, England, was born there 
about the year 1650, doubtless before his parents joined the Society of Friends, 
as his birth does not appear of record on the register of any Monthly Meeting in 
Yorkshire. 

Before the date of his marriage, he had removed to Chapelcroft, same locality. 
On June 7, 1682, Settle Monthly Meeting issued a joint certificate to Nicholas 
Wain and family, together with a number of other persons, mostly connected 
with him by ties of more or less remote kinship, all intending to remove to Penn- 
sylvania. The persons included in this certificate, besides Nicholas Wain, his 
wife and three children, were: Cuthbert and William Hayhurst, his uncles by 
marriage, mentioned above as having married Mary and Dorothy Rudd, sisters 
to Nicholas Wain's mother, and the former's wife, Mary and children, William's 
wife, Dorothy, having died in 1676, and their daughter Ann, in 1678 ; the Hay- 
hurst's sisters, Alice and Margery, and their husbands, Thomas Wigglesworth 
and Thomas Stackhouse ; Thomas Walmsley and his wife Elizabeth Rudd before 
mentioned as having married in 1665 at Nicholas Wain's mother's, whose cousin 
she was ; Widow Ellen Cowgill, perhaps a sister of Thomas Stackhouse, and her 
children; Thomas Croasdale, Agnes, his wife, and six children, whose relation- 
ship is not so clear. A more particular account of this certificate and these 
people is given in the Cowgill descent of the Pemberton family in these volumes. 

This whole party embarked on the ship, "Welcome", within a few months of 



204 WALN 

the date of their certificate, accompanying William Penn, Lord Proprietary of 
Pennsylvania, on his first voyage to his Province, and arrived at New Castle, 
Delaware river, Territories of Pennsylvania, October 27, 1682. All these allied 
families proceeded to Bucks county, where the heads of the families, having 
already purchased land from the proprietary, had their land laid out to them. 
Here they took up their residences and laid the foundation for a considerable 
section of the local aristocracy of Colonial times, while the family connection 
already existing on their arrival was further strengthened by a number of inter- 
marriages between their descendants. 

By deeds of lease and release dated April 21 and 22, 1682, Nicholas Wain 
bought of William Penn 1,000 acres of land in Pennsylvania. A Patent for 500 
acres of this was issued to him by the Commissioners of Property, January 29, 
1684-5, the land having been laid out in two tracts of 250 acres each, (the 
warrant for one bearing date March 21, 1683-4) on Neshaminy creek, one in 
Middletown township, and one across the creek in Northampton township, Bucks 
county. Both of these tracts are shown on Holme's Map of the Province. Wain 
sold all of this 500 acres, 200 to Edmund Cutler and 50 to Thomas Stackhouse 
in 1686; 50 to William Hayhurst in 1689, and 200 to John Stackhouse in 
1695-6. Of the other half of his 1,000 acres purchase, the land was apparently 
never laid out in his name, he having sold his rights, 150 acres to Henry 
Walmsley ; 100 to Thomas Walmsley, brother of Henry ; 230 to Jedediah Allen, 
of Shrewsbury, East Jersey, all in 1686 ; and to John Goodson his right to the 
Liberty Land in the County of Philadelphia appurtenant to his purchase, which 
under the original conditions would have been 20 acres, completing the purchase 
of 1,000 acres. These Liberty Lands, by a later ruling reduced to 16 acres, were 
ordered to be surveyed to John Goodson, by the Commissioners of Property, 
July 6, 1692. Besides these tracts Nicholas Wain purchased three other tracts in 
Bucks county, 118 acres of Thomas Holme's tract in Bristol township in 1686, 
which he sold to John Town in 1697 ; 340 acres in the same township of Eliza- 
beth, relict of Edmund Bennett in 1692, which he sold to Robert Heaton in 
1697 ; and 250 acres of Thomas Croasdale, which he sold to Robert Heaton in 
1702. 

On the tract laid out to Nicholas Wain on the Neshaminy in Middletown 
township he erected a dwelling for himself, and here on January 1, 1682-3, the 
first Friends Meeting of the locality was held, for some years known as Ne- 
shaminy and afterwards down to the present as Middletown Meeting. It con- 
tinued to be held at the house of Nicholas Wain, and that of Robert Hall alter- 
nately until the Meeting-House was ready for use nearly five years later. The 
Bucks County Quarterly Meeting, 9mo. (November) 4, 1684, met at Wain's 
house, and afterwards alternated between that and William Biles's house in 
Falls, for a time, and continued to be held with him at least once a year until 
1695, after which it convened at Falls and Middletown Meeting-houses. 

Nicholas Wain was unquestionably the leader of the little party which had 
accompanied him into the wilderness along the Neshaminy. He was a member 
of the first Assembly, which met at Philadelphia, March 12, 1682-3, and repre- 
sented Bucks county in that body in 1687-88-89-92-95. He was a member of the 
first Grand Jury empaneled October 25, 1683, was Sheriff of Bucks county in 
1685, and Justice of the Courts of that County. 



WALN 205 

In 1696 he removed to Philadelphia county, taking up his residence in what 
was then known as the Northern Liberties, which embraced at that time a much 
larger part of the county than was comprised within the district subsequently 
incorporated under that name, extending a few squares above Vine street. His 
new neighbors placed the same value upon his abilities as had those of Bucks 
county, for he was immediately chosen a representative from Philadelphia county 
in the Assembly and served during the sessions of 1696-97-1700-01-13-14-15-17. 
He was also named as one of the directors of the public school with James 
Logan, Isaac Norris, Edward Shippen and others in 171 1. As already shown 
Nicholas Wain was active in the councils of the Society of Friends. He was 
practically the founder of Middletown Monthly Meeting as above shown, and 
on his removal to Philadelphia became active and prominent in the Monthly 
Meeting there. In 1702 that meeting authorized him in conjunction with John 
Goodson to purchase for the use of Friends, four acres of Liberty Lands, and 
here was established the Fair Hill Burying Ground, and about 1706 or 1707, 
erected Fair Hill Meeting House on the Germantown road. He continued 
active in the Society of Friends until his death in 1721. 

An extended account of him was published in "The Friend," vol. xxviii, from 
which we quote : — 

"Sometime in the year 1682, Nicholas Wain, Jane his wife and their children reached 
Pennsylvania, and settled in Bucks County, near the Neshaminy. They probably were 
located before midsummer for before the end of that year he was elected one of the mem- 
bers of Assembly, which met in the First Month 1683. At this time, although noted among 
the 'faithful Friends', it does not appear that he had received a gift in the ministry. It 
was not long however, before he was called to labour by word and doctrine for the ever- 
lasting good of his fellow men. In this service he was much employed by his Divine 
Master at home and abroad, and he endeavored to acquit himself of the duties that 
devolved upon him, as respected his own self, the claims of his family, and of the public. 
This last was no light task, being fourteen times elected as a legislator of the new 
Colony. 

"Early in the year 1689, with the approbation and unity of Friends Nicholas Walln 
paid a religious visit to Maryland. He was accompanied by James Radcliff. On returning 
from this visit he could gratefully acknowledge the comforting presence of their divine 
Master in the journey, and that they had had 'many good meetings.' 

"Nicholas Walln had a share of the labour with George Keith, being one of the com- 
mittee of the Meeting of Ministers to advise with and admonish him. He bore his testi- 
mony against the spirit under which Keith was acting, and signed various of the docu- 
ments issued by the Yearly Meeting of Ministers and the Yearly Meeting of business, 
relative to that opposing and contentious one. About 1696 he removed to the neighborhood 
of Philadelphia and became a member of that Monthly Meeting. He was soon much 
employed by the meeting in transacting its businss, and, like his friend Griffith Owen, was a 
member of almost all committees on important subjects. 

"In the First Month, 1699, he informed his Friends of the Select Meeting, that he had a 
concern to visit 'New England and thereaway' on religious service. This visit appears to 
have occupied several months." 

The Friend publishes a letter from him soon after his return from this journey, to 
William Ellis, in England, telling him of the death of many Friends in Philadelphia from 
yellow fever in this year, among them his own brother-in-law, James Dilworth, and 
requests Ellis to remember him and his son Richard to their sister and aunt Ann Dil- 
worth, then also in England, and "to all our relations and friends in Bolland." 

"After the Yearly Meeting in the Seventh Month 1702, Nicholas Wain, in company 
with John Lea, visited Friends in East and West Jersey and Long Island." In 1706 he 
was one of the representatives from the Quarterly Meeting that had charge of bringing that 
body's resolution against tombstones before the Yearly Meeting, recommending the latter 
to make a rule of discipline against their erection. At the same Yearly Meeting he was a 
member of the committee to draw up an epistle of instruction etc. to the Quarterly Meet- 
ing and Monthly Meetings, which is printed at length in The Friend. 

"Nicholas Wain continued to be much employed in visiting neighboring meetings, 
and in fulfilling the various appointments laid on him by his Friends. Respected for his 
devdtion to the Truth ; honoured for his faithfulness in the discharge of his duty as a 
minister of the gospel, he passed along comfortably to a green old age. He was useful 



206 WALN 

in the church, and in the world, almost to the very end of his days, taking an active share 
in the business of his Monthly Meeting only nine days before his death." 

On his removal to Philadelphia county, Nicholas Wain immediately began to 
invest in land, principally in Liberty Lands, which he bought up in small quanti- 
ties, afterwards taking out patents for the consolidated tracts. During the years 
1696-97-98, he purchased altogether of many different persons, 651 acres, of 
which he sold at different periods before a patent was made to him, in small lots 
an aggregate of 163 acres, leaving him a right to 488 acres in one contiguous 
tract. This tract on a re-survey was found to contain 520 acres, for which a 
patent was issued by the Commissioners of Property bearing date January 24, 
1703-4. Besides this tract he had purchased before removing to Philadelphia 
county, from the executor of George Wilcox, 400 acres in Bristol township, 
Philadelphia county, being one-half of the 800 acres originally granted to Barna- 
bas Wilcox, father of George ; the deed therefor bearing date September 10, 
1695. In right of his 1,000 acre purchase Nicholas Wain was entitled to two lots 
in the city of Philadelphia which he never took up. They were claimed by his 
descendants and in 1834-35 were patented to his great-great-grandson, Jacob S. 
Wain. 

Nicholas Wain died in the Northern Liberties of Philadelphia, February 4, 
1721-2. His will dated January 30, and proved March 19, 1721-2, named his 
wife Jane and his son Richard as executors, and mentioned the following chil- 
dren : Nicholas, William, Jane, Hannah, Mary, Sarah and Elizabeth ; Nicholas 
receiving the homestead of 300 acres and 3 negroes ; William fifty pounds and 2 
negroes, and the daughters five shillings each. His wife survived him but the 
date of her death is not known. 

According to the certificate granted by Settle Monthly Meeting, before referred 
to, Nicholas Wain was accompanied to Pennsylvania by his wife Jane, nee 
Turner, and three children. The register of Settle Monthly Meeting shows the 
dates of birth of the following children of Nicholas and Jane (Turner) Wain : 

Jane Wain, b. 5mo. 16, 1675; 
Margaret Wain. b. 8mo. 3, 1677, d. inf. ; 
Richard Wain, b. 1 mo. 6, 1678; 
Margaret Wain, b. nmo. 12, 1682. 

The register of births at Middletown Monthly Meeting in Bucks county, Penn- 
sylvania, gives the dates of birth of the three children who accompanied their 
parents to Pennsylvania, and those of five others born in Bucks county. Two 
of the three dates relative to the older children differ slightly from those given 
on the Settle register ; the date of birth of the second Margaret, given on the 
Middletown records as "iimo. 10, 1680," is more likely correct than that given 
on the Settle registry, since at the date given on the Settle Register the family 
had already left England, in which case the birth could hardly have been recorded 
in Settle. 

The three youngest of the twelve children of Nicholas and Jane Wain were 
born in Philadelphia county and the dates of their birth given below are from the 
birth registry of Philadelphia Monthly Meeting. To avoid confusion as to old 
and new style, the names of the month are given instead of the number as used 



IVALN 207 

on Friends' records, and in all cases where the date occurs between January 1 
and March 21, the double year is given. 

Issue of Nicholas and Jane (Turner) Wain: — 

Jane Wain, b. Yorkshire, July 16, 1675 ; m. May 27, 1691, at "Neshamina", now 
Middletown Meeting, Samuel Allen Jr., of Neshamina, Bucks co., Pa. ; son of Samuel 
Allen, who with his family came from England in the ship "Bristol Factor," arriving 
at Chester, Dec. 11, 1681. The Aliens were prominent in early times in Bucks co., and 
intermarried with the leading county families ; they were settled on Neshaminy 
creek in Bensalem twp., then included in a rather indefinite region known as Neshamina 
or Neshamina creek; 

Margaret Wain, b. Yorkshire, Oct. 3, 1677, d. inf. ; on the register of Settle Meeting 
the date of her death is given as March 28, 1676, but this is impossible as that date 
precedes the date of her birth, perhaps 1678 was intended; 

Richard Waln, b. Yorkshire, June 6, 1678; m. Anne Heath, of them presently; 

Margaret Wain, b. Yorkshire, Jan. 10, 1680-1, d. unm. before her father; 

Hannah Wain, b. Bucks co., Pa., Sept. 21, 1684; m. (first) March, 1704, Thomas 
Hodges, who had previously married her cousin, Jane Dilworth, before mentioned; 
he died March 28, 1708; she m. (second) Nov., 1712, Benjamin Simcock; she had 
issue by both husbands, who have left descendants ; 

Mary Wain, b. Bucks co., Pa., April 7, 1687, d. July 19, 1721, m. 1706, John Simcock, 
brother of Benjamin; she was a minister of the Society of Friends and an account 
of her published in The Friend, vol. xxxv, begins as follows : 

"Mary Walln, a daughter of that worthy minister of the Gospel of Christ, Nicholas 
Walln and Jane his wife, was born in Middletown, Bucks County, in the year 1686 or 
1687. Her parents soon after her birth, removed into the limits of Philadelphia 
Meeting, and there she was brought up. Being tenderly visted in early life by the 
Spirit of the Lord Jesus, and giving up thereto, the pious precepts and example of her 
parents were blessed to her, and she was enabled to manifest by conduct and con- 
versation that her soul was enamored with the beauty of holiness, and the blessed 
consistancy of the Truth. Early in the year 1706, when about nineteen years of age 
she was married to John Simcock, the son of that eminent minister of that name who 
resided near Chester. The newly married couple resided near Abington for many 
years, where Mary received a gift in the ministry which she exercised to the comfort 
of Friends. After passing many years of usefulness in that neighborhood, both in the 
church and in the world, they, about the year, 1740 removed to Kingwood, New 
Jersey." Then follows a memorial of her husband too long for insertion here. She 
d. at Kingwood, May 19, 1771, "in the 80th year of her age, as Minister upwards of 
50 years" ; and her husband d. there April 23, 1773, "in the 86th year of his age" ; 
on the records of Kingwood Monthly Meeting appear tender and eloquent memorials 
of both ; 

Ellen Wain, b. Bucks co., March 27, 1690, d. unm. Jan. 4, 1707-8; 

Sarah Wain, b. Bucks co., June 9, 1692; m. (first) in 1711, Jacob Simcock, brother 
of Benjamin and John above mentioned. These three brothers were sons of Jacob 
and Alice (Maris) Simcock, and grandson of John Simcock, and George Maris, both 
members of the Provincial Council and otherwise prominent in the early history of 
Pa., and founders of two very prominent and aristocratic Chester county families. 

Sarah (Wain) Simcock m. (second) Feb. 2J, 1721-2, Jonathan Palmer, whose 
family occupied in Bucks co. a position similar to that of the Simcocks and Marises 
in Chester co. ; 

Jacob Simcock was b. Sept. 28, 1686, and d. Feb. 1716-17, leaving issue; 

John Wain, b. Bucks co., Pa., Aug. 10, 1694, d. 1720, and is therefore not mentioned in 
his father's will; he m. Aug. 30, 1717, Jane, b. 1696, dau. of John and Elizabeth 
(Hardy) Mifflin, of "Fountain Green", now part of Fairmount Park, Phila., and 
granddaughter of John Mifflin, of Warminster, Wiltshire, England, b. 1638, who 
came to America between 1676 and 1679, settling among the Swedes on the Delaware 
river, and in 1680 took up the "Fountain Green" plantation on the Schuylkill ; 
(see Life and Ancestry of Warner Mifflin, by Hilda Justice, Phila. 1805, abstracts 
from which are given in our sketch of the Justice Family in these volumes. In 
which publication, however, the name of Jane Mifflin's husband is given as John 
Waller, instead of Wain.) Their dau. and probably only child, Elizabeth Wain, 
m. June 11, 1741, at Phila. Monthly Meeting, Robert Worrel, of Phila., son of Rich- 
ard Worrell, of Lower Dublin twp., Phila. co., Pa. ; 

Elizabeth Wain, b. Northern Liberties, Phila., March 27, 1697, is supposed to have 
been the Elizabeth Wain who m. April 24, 1719, James Duberry, (properly Dub- 
ree), son of Jacob and Jane, b. June 22, 1698; 



208 WALN 

Nicholas Wain, b. Northern Liberties, Phila., March 24, 1698-9, d. there, unm., Feb. 
11, 1721-2; his will, which states that he is a son of Nicholas Wain, late of North- 
ern Liberties of Phila., was signed Feb. 6, 1721-2, two days after his father's 
death, and probated March 19; it mentioned his brothers William and Richard, and 
his sisters, but not by name; his mother Jane and brother Richard were named 
as executors ; a "friend Hannah Maris" was also mentioned, who was most likely 
his fiance ; if they had married this would have been four marriages of Nicholas 
Wain's children with the Maris family, but death canceled the engagement ; 

William Wain, b. Northern Liberties, Phila., March 15, 1700-1 ; m. Ann Hall, daughter 
of Samuel and Mary, of Springfield twp., Chester co., Pa. ; they appear to have 
had but one child, Samuel Wain, who m. (first) Nov. 13, 1747, Ann Rushton ; 
(second) June 11, 1767, Sarah Steel; he had eight children, all by his first wife, 
concerning whom we have little data, aside from the fact that the fourth child, 
Hannah, b. March 24, 1754, m. at Christ Church, April 24, 1773, Jonathan Matlack. 

Richard Waln, eldest son of Nicholas and Jane (Turner) Wain, born at 
Burholme, parish of Slaidburn, West Riding of Yorkshire, England, June 6, 
1678, although not as prominent in the public affairs of his day as his father, 
was, however, keenly alive to the developing conditions in the Northern Liber- 
ties, where he continued to reside after his father's death for a number of years. 
The Provincial Council at a meeting held September 20, 1734, appointed him, 
together with Isaac Norris, Thomas Grifhtts, Thomas Masters, James Steel and 
Benjamin Eastburn, all conspicuous men in that section of Philadelphia county, 
a commission to review Germantown road from the boundary of the city to 
Cohocksink creek, "& make such Alterations therein as may best suit the Pub- 
lick Service, with as little damage as possible to any private Persons." 

Richard Wain married, prior to September 30, 1706, at Abington Meeting, 
Anne, daughter of Robert Heath. The minutes of the monthly meeting of that 
date, at which the marriage was reported as having been accomplished pre- 
viously, evidently since the last Monthly Meeting, state that he was a son of 
Nicholas Wain, and belonged to Fair Hill Particular Meeting. 

Richard Wain later removed to Norriton township, Philadelphia, now Mont- 
gomery county, where he resided several years, and where he died in 1756. In 
his will dated December 1, 1753, proved June 16, 1756, he mentioned his chil- 
dren : Richard, Robert, Nicholas, Joseph, Ann, Susanna and Mary ; also his 
grandchildren, but not by name ; his son Joseph being named as executor. The 
dates of birth of the children of Richard and Anne Wain as given below are 
taken from the register of Philadelphia Monthly Meeting. 
Issue of Richard and Anne (Heath) Wain: — 

Nicholas Wain, b. Aug. 25, 1707; bur. Sept. 3, 1707; 

Nicholas Waln, b. March 19, 1709-10; m. Mary Shoemaker, of whom presently; 

Jane Waln, b. Aug. 6, 1711, d. Aug. 17, 1711; 

Jane Waln, b. Feb. 20, 1712-13, d- Oct. 4, 1714; 

Anne Waln, b. Feb. 16, 1714-15; m. May, 1753, Jonathan Maris, grandson of George 
Maris, Provincial Councillor, before mentioned; 

Richard Waln, b. June 5, 1717, of whom presently; 

Susanna Waln, b. June 9, 1719; m. Nov., 1739, Joseph Levis; 

Robert Waln, b. March 21, 1720-1; m. Rebecca Coffin, of whom hereafter; 

Joseph Waln, b. Dec. 18, 1722, d. in 1760, on the plantation inherited from his father; 
m. Dec. 31, 1747, at Abington Meeting, Susannah, dau. of James Paul, of Abing- 
ton twp., then of Northern Liberties, Phila. ; they had no issue ; Joseph Wain's 
will dated March 5, 1759, proved Oct. 13, 1760, mentioned his wife Susannah, 
brothers Nicholas, Richard, and Robert ; sisters Susanna Levis, Anne Maris, and 
Mary Brown ; nephews and nieces, Richard and Nicholas Waln, William Levis, 
Jesse and Joseph Waln, and Sarah, Ann, and Mary Waln; father-in-law, James 



, 



WALN 209 

Paul, who with testator's brother's Richard and Robert Wain was named as 
executor; 
Mary Wain, b. Aug. 15, 1724; m. Joseph Brown. 

Nicholas Waln, eldest son of Richard and Anne (Heath) Wain, was born 
March 19, 1709-10, died in August, 1744, having been born and passed most of 
his life on the old Wain estate in the Northern Liberties, which he inherited ; 
though in his later years he resided in the city proper. He does not appear to 
have been active in public affairs. His will dated August 16, probated August 
3, 1744, named his wife Mary, brother Robert, and children: Richard, Ann, 
Nicholas and Rebecca, naming as executors Mary Wain, Jacob Shoemaker and 
Robert Wain. 

Nicholas Wain married, May 23, 1734, under the care of Philadelphia Monthly 
Meeting, Mary, daughter of George and Rebecca (Dilworth) Shoemaker. She 
was a distant cousin to her husband, her mother, Rebecca (Dilworth) Shoe- 
maker, being the youngest daughter of James Dilworth by his wife Anne Wain, 
sister to Nicholas Wain, emigrant, grandfather of the Nicholas Wain now under 
consideration. 

After her husband's death, Mary (Shoemaker) Wain resided on his Northern 
Liberties property and died there in 1756. Her will dated January 19, 1745-6, 
proved June 23, 1756, mentions her children: Ann, Rebecca, Richard and one 
other (Nicholas) not by name; her parents, George and Rebecca Shoemaker, 
and her brother, Jacob Shoemaker. 

Issue of Nicholas and Mary (Shoemaker) Wain: — 

Ann Wain, eldest child, d. unm.; 

Richard Waln, b. about 1737; m. Elizabeth Armitt, of whom presently; 

Rebecca Waln, m. Abraham Howell; their only child who survived infancy, Mary 
Howell, m. Henry Drinker, eldest child of John and Rachel (Rynear) Drinker, 
and nephew of Henry Drinker, whose wife was Elizabeth Drinker, the diarist. His 
father, John Drinker, was one of the most active of the Quakers in opposing the 
Revolution, on religious grounds, and being of a literary turn, he published some 
pamphlets on this and other subjects, as well as some poems. He was one of the 
victims of the mob that started the "Fort Wilson" riot on Oct. 4, 1779, and was ill- 
treated by another mob in 1781. Henry and Mary (Howell) Drinker had five chil- 
dren: John Drinker, of the Philadelphia bar; Henry Waln Drinker, of Luzerne 
Co., Pa., where he owned very extensive tracts of land which he developed and 
opened up for settlement ; Rebecca Drinker ; Richard Drinker, of Bloomsburg, 
Pa., afterwards of Scranton, Pa., who like his grandfather was "possessed of a 
turn for poetry, and wrote and published several poems ; William Waln Drinker, a 
member of the New York bar, who also "Possessed a poetical gift." All four of 
the sons married and left issue, their numerous descendants being now widely 
scattered throughout the country ; 

Nicholas Waln, b. Nov. 14, 1742; m. Sarah Richardson, of whom later. 

Richard Waln, eldest son of Nicholas and Mary (Shoemaker) Waln, was 
born about 1737, died May 23, 1809. He was engaged in mercantile pursuits in 
Philadelphia and acquired considerable wealth. He removed in 1774 to Mon- 
mouth county, New Jersey, where he purchased a large tract of land near the 
Burlington county line, adjacent to the village of Crosswicks, where he built his 
mansion, a large frame dwelling, still standing. A recent historical sketch of 
that part of New Jersey says of his purchase, "This entire section of the State 
was purchased from the Lahwah Indians, many years ago, by a man of the 
name of Waln, for a barrel of cider and a few beads." "The grotesqueness of 
this statement", writes a more careful historian, "will be appreciated by all stu- 

14 



2io WALN 

dents of New Jersey history. For an hundred years prior to Wain's advent in 
New Jersey, the Indians of that Colony had very little land to dispose of, for 
cider, beads or articles of great intrinsic value." 

Richard Wain named his place Walnford, a name it bears to this day. Here 
he lived during the Revolutionary period, and sometime after its close returned 
to Philadelphia, where he continued to reside until his death, Walnford being his 
summer home. He married, December 4, 1760, Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph 
Armitt, a Philadelphia merchant, but of an old Burlington county, New Jersey, 
family, from which descended Henry Armitt Brown, the eloquent orator and 
able lawyer of Philadelphia a generation ago. Mrs. Elizabeth (Armitt) Wain 
died in 1790. 

Richard Wain and his wife are referred to a number of times in the "Extracts 
from the Journal of Elizabeth Drinker," edited by Henry D. Biddle, Philadel- 
phia, 1889, Mrs. Drinker and her husband, Henry Drinker, being among their 
close friends. Some of these references are as follows, the initials H. D. and E. 

D. referring to the journalist's husband and herself : 

"1774, June 6. H. D. and E. D. went in our chaise as far as Frankford with 
our neighbors Rich d and Eliz h Wain who are on their way to their mill near Cross- 
wicks, N. J., where they are going to reside. Rob* Wain and wife went with them as far 
as Bristol. We took leave of them at our place at Frankford." 

"1776, September 12. H. D., E. D. and Billy left home fifth-day after breakfast 

* * * came to R. Wain's after dark. Sept. 13, * * * we walked about Rich* 1 

Wain's place ; examined ye Mill and got weighed ; E. D. weighed 130 lbs., Billy, 56, 

E. W. 116," (the last being Richard Wain's wife) "Sept. 16, Left Walnford after 12 
o'clock, Betsy Wain in the chaise with me", — after spending the night at Joseph Smith's 
near Burlington, the Drinkers returned to Philadelphia, having evidently parted with 
Mrs. Wain, though the Journal does not say so. 

"October 23. Fourth-day H. D. and E. D. left home about half past 7 o'clock * * * 
and reached R d Wain's before dark. Found R. W. very unwell. Oct. 24, R. W. better 
to-day, and our prospect is to set off in his waggon, with his Betsy on seventh day morn- 
ing; his health and weather permitting. Oct. 25. Spent this day at R. W's — he being 
very unwell * * *. Oct. 26. As R.W. is very feverish, tho' somewhat better, he declines 
attending Shrewsbury meeting. We set out in his wagon with his son Nicholas, and his 
negro Peter as a driver, about 9 o'clock. * * * . Oct. 30. Breakfasted at R.L's, 
and began our return homewards ; * * * and came to R.W's about 5, found Richard 
much better. November I. Between 9 and 10 this morning the weather being fine, we 
left our Friends and proceeded homeward." Richard Wain being a Friend was a non- 
combatant, and, as is well known, non-combatants were in those days classed as Tories. 
The Journal has this entry under date of Oct. 22, 1777, a month after the British had 
taken possession of Philadelphia : — "Richard Wain is taken up, and sent to New York. 
He had his choice of 3 things, either to go to jail, take ye Test, or go within ye English 
lines. Ye latter was chosen." 

"1777, Dec. 11. Near 10 o'clock this evening, who should come in but Rich. Wain — he 
came from New York in a vessel with a number of others. He's hearty and well." He 
seems to have stayed in Philadelphia for some months after this as he is mentioned among 
callers at Drinker's on February 17 and April 2, 1778, and dined there May 8; his family, 
however, stayed at Walnford. "June 14, First-day. Richard Wain dined with us. He 
seems at a loss how to determine, whether to stay here or go" This was when the Brit- 
ish were withdrawing from Philadelphia. "June 17, Richard Wain took leave of us today" 
"Sept. 4, H.D. received a letter yesterday from Rich d Wain, dated from Walnford. We 
are pleased to find he is with his Family but we do not yet know upon what terms. 1 ' 
Thereafter he remained at Walnford until the end of the Revolution. "1783, June 16. 
Sally, Nancy, and Billy were to leave Middletown this day for Rich d Wain's, near Cross- 
wicks, in ye Jerseys." "June 28. or thereabouts our children returned from R. Wain's." 
"1785, July 28. Fifth-day. Left home after dinner * * * July 29, came to Richard 
Wain's before dark, should have got there sooner, but were delayed sometime on the 
road, about 3 miles from R.W's by the oversetting of ye chaise. Henry drove. * * * 
Found R.W's family well. July 30. Betsy Wain and her daughter set off with us for 
Shrewsbury, H.D., E.W., H.D.Jr., and E.D. in R.W's waggon ; Nancy Drinker and Polly 
Wain in our chaise, * * * July 31 * * * journeyed on to Lippincott's at Shrews- 
bury, 11 o'clock H.D. his son, and ye girls went to meeting, E.W. and self staid at ye 
Tavern, where we dined, * * * Rode down to ye Bath house in ye evening. Polly 



WALN 211 

Wain and our Nancy went into ye water. August i. E.W., myself and our daughters 
went into ye Bath this morning. * * * Aug. 4. * * * We set off after Breakfast 
for Long Branch on ye Sea Shore. H.D.E.W.. and E.D. went round in ye waggon — 
George Eddy and wife, Nancy, Henry and Polly Wain, and John Fry went in a Boat. 
* * * August 5. Betsy Wain and daughter, G.Eddy and wife left us this morning 
for their respective homes. * * * We shall miss Betsy Wain very much." Polly Wain 
mentioned in the Journal was the one who afterwards married Thomas Wister. "August 
10. Left John Corlas' this morning * * * arrived at Richard Wain's towards even- 
ing, 40 miles. * * * Richard Wain gone to Philad 3 with our Horse and Chaise, which 
detained us there a day longer than we intended. Aug. 11, Spent this day at R.W's Rich- 
ard returned home this evening, bringing us word that all were well at home. Aug 12, 
Left R.W's after Breakfast." 

The will of Richard Wain, "of Philadelphia, Gent.", signed June 3, 1808, 
proved June 7, 1809, mentioned his sons, Joseph ; Nicholas, to whom he devised 
his estate in Monmouth county, New Jersey, "commonly called Walnford" ; his 
daughter Rebecca Harrison ; son-in-law Thomas Wister ; daughters, Elizabeth 
Wain and Hannah Ryers, and the latter's father-in-law J. Ryers ; and appointed 
Joseph, Nicholas and Jacob Wain executors ; a codicil dated May 14, 1809, adds 
his daughter Elizabeth Wain and son-in-law Thomas Wister to the executorship. 
Issue of Richard and Elizabeth (Armitt) Wain: — 

Joseph Wain, b. 1761, d. either Sept. 10 or Oct. 9, 1824, aged sixty-three ; m. Feb. 
12, 1801, Elizabeth, dau. of John Stokes, of a well-known Burlington county 
family. They resided in Darby, Delaware co., Pa., and had no children; after 
her husband's death, Mrs. Wain m. (second) April 9, 1829, at Upper Darby 
Friends Meeting House, Hon. Thomas Pirn Cope, of Philadelphia, son of Caleb and 
Mary Cope, of Lancaster, Pa., and one of the most successful merchants of his day, 
an eminent philanthropist; a member of the Pennsylvania legislature, and otherwise 
prominent in public life. Elizabeth (Stokes) Wain was his second wife, and had no 
children by him. 

On Dec. 10, 1794, Joseph Wain was a groomsman at the wedding of Henry Drinker 
Jr. son of Elizabeth Drinker, the diarist, in whose journal he is mentioned a few days 
later ; — "Feb. 13. * * * As our son Henry was desirous of having the young 
people invited here after his marriage, this afternoon was appointed, tho' we are 
not fond of such parties, * * * ye other two (groomsmen) Isaac Morris and 
Joe Wain were absent." 
Mary Wain, b. 1765, d. 1844; m. 1786, Thomas Wister, b. 1764, d. 1851, son of Richard 
and Sarah (Wyatt) Wistar and brother of Caspar Wistar, M.D., the eminent 
physician and scientist of a century ago ; see Wistar Family in these volumes, where 
an account of the twelve children of Thomas and Mary (Wain) Wistar is given; 
the death of one of whom is mentioned in Elizabeth Drinker's Journal, before quoted 
in regard to Mary (Wain) Wister, referred to therein as "Polly Wain". 

"Sept. 7, 1793, Nobody here to day but H.M. and Betsy Emlen who drank tea 
with us ; Henry and Molly went with them this evening over to Hesser's to see 
Molly Wharton, who has returned here with her Baby, 4 weeks old. She informed 
M.D. that about a week past, a little son of^ Tommy Wister who was at his grand- 
father's Rich d Wain's, as unfortunately drowned in the mill-pond." The Molly 
Wharton mentioned was daughter of Jesse Wain, Richard's first cousin, who will be 
mentioned hereafter. 

Among the more recent descendants of Thomas and Mary (Wain) Wistar were: 
Richard Vaux, Mayor of Philadelphia, and Member of Congress; General Isaac 
Jones Wistar et al. ; 
Elizabeth Wain, b. about 1767, lived mostly in Phila. ; was one of her father's execu- 
tors in 1809 ; d. unra. in Phila., Dec. 22, 1837, aged seventy years. Her will dated 
May 5, 1834, proved Jan. 4, 1838, was of unusual form and evidently drawn by her- 
self, it devised everything she possessed except a few personal articles to her niece, 
Elizabeth Wain Smith, daughter of her sister, Hannah Ryers, and named her 
nephews, Joseph W. Ryers and S. Morris Wain, as executors ; 
Hannah Wain, m. John Ryers, and had issue : 
Adrian Ryers, d. y. ; 
Eliza Ryers, d. y. ; 

Elizabeth Wain Ryers, m. Aug. 4, 1819, by Rev. William White, (afterwards 
Bishop of Pennsylvania) rector of Christ Church, Phila., to Thomas W. 
Smith ; she was the principal devisee of her aunt, Elizabeth Wain, above men- 
tioned; 
Joseph Wain Ryers, m. two of his cousins, (first) June 3, 1830, by Bishop White, 



212 WALN 

Susan, dau. of Congressman Robert Wain; (second) her sister, Ann Wain; 
a fuller account of Hon. Robert Wain will be given later; 
Richard Wain, d. y. ; 

Rebecca Wain, b. 1772, d. March 17, 1854, in her eighty second year; m. (as his second 
wife) Matthias Harrison, b, March 2, 1759, d, June 17, 1817, son of Henry Harrison, 
mayor of Phila., in 1762, by his wife, Mary Aspden ; they had no issue ; 
Nicholas Waln, of whom presently; 
Jacob Shoemaker Waln, b. at Walnford, N. J., 1776; m. Sarah Morris, of whom later; 

Nicholas Waln, second surviving son of Richard and Elizabeth (Armitt) 
Wain, succeeded his father in the ownership of Walnford, where his entire life 
was spent, he having assumed charge of the estate there on his father's return to 
Philadelphia, after the Revolution, and inherited it under his father's will in 
1809. 

He married Sarah, born November 8, 1779, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
(Wright) Ridgway, of Burlington county, New Jersey, an account of whom and 
their ancestry and descendants is given in these columns under the title of "The 
Ridgway Family". 

Issue of Nicholas and Sarah (Ridgway) Waln: — 

Richard Waln, m. (first) Mary Ann Alleln, (second) Caroline Mount, of whom pres- 
ently ; 
Elizabeth Waln, d. unm. about the age of twenty-one years; 

Joseph Waln, of the city of Burlington, N. J. ; m. and was the father of Robert Wood 
Waln, a member of the Philadelphia and Burlington county bars, with law offices 
at 204 West Washington square, Phila., and residence 320 Wood St., Burlington, 
where he was an elder of Presbyterian church, and active in philanthropic work. He 
died suddenly in Phila., Jan. 23, 1908; also of Dr. Ryers Waln, of Peoria, 111., who 
died suddenly at a Christmas dinner, 1907, and was buried at Crosswicks, New 
Years Day, 1908 ; and of two daughters one of whom died suddenly a few years 
ago, the other being Miss Lillian Waln, now of Burlington, N. J. ; 
John Waln, of near Walnford, N. J. ; m. Maria Kirby, and had among other children, 
Henry C. Waln, of near Walnford, N. J. ; 
Mary E. Waln; 
S. Morris Waln, a member of the Phila. bar, residing at 1730 Mount Vernon 

St., Phila.; 
Annie Waln ; 

Dr. Emma C. Waln, of 2602 Ridge ave., Phila. ; 
Sarah Waln ; 
Maria (Waln) Wolle; 
Nicholas Waln, m. twice, and had by first wife three sons, 

George Waln, a retired merchant of 759 No. 40th st., Phila. ; 
Richard C. Waln, of Allentown, N. J.; 
Thomas Ridgway Waln ; 

Nicholas Waln married (second) Mary , who survived him afterwards living with 

her daughter at 1708 Vine St., Phila., where she d. Aug. 6, 1907, and was buried 
at Crosswicks ; this branch of the family still retaining their membership in the 
Society of Friends; the only child of the second marriage was, 

Emma Waln, a well-known instructress in the Friends Central School, Phila., 
at 15th and Race streets ; 
Sarah Waln, b. 1816, d. at Walnford, March 15, 1907; m. about 1855, Jacob Hendrick- 
son, who died of blood poisoning within a year of their marriage ; they had no 
children ; she became the owner of the family estate of Walnford, which at the time 
of her death consisted of 162 acres, on which, beside the family mansion, were a grist 
mill and several tenement houses. 

Richard Waln, eldest son of Nicholas and Sarah (Ridgway) Waln, lived 
at Walnford. He married (first) Mary Ann, daughter of Riley and Sarah 
(Warren) Allen, and said to have been a niece of Col. Ethan Allen, of Revolu- 
tionary fame. They had issue : 



WALN 213 

Nicholas Wain, m. Ada Allmendinger, of Phila., and had two daughters, both of whom 
married ; several sons who died in childhood ; the mother d. May 27, 1807, and was 
bur. the 31st, from their residence at Hornerstown, N. J.; 

Elizabeth Waln, m. John Gaskill Meirs, of whom presently; 

Anna Wain, m. Judge Benajah P. Wills, of Mt. Holly, N. J., whose family has been 
prominent in Burlington county since its first settlement; they had one daughter, 
and one son, Richard Wain Wills. 

Elizabeth Waln, daughter of Richard and Mary Ann (Allen) Wain, was 
born at Walnford. She married John Gaskill Meirs, son of John and Lucretia 
(Gaskill) Meirs, of Monmouth county, New Jersey. John Gaskill was a member 
of the Society of Friends, belonged to Springfield Meeting, though his father 
was probably not a Friend, as he as John Meirs, Esq., was appointed December 
15, 1823, (commission dated April 1, 1824) Adjutant of the Monmouth Squad- 
ron, Third Regiment of Cavalry Brigade of the Militia of New Jersey. John G. 
and Elizabeth (Waln) Meirs lived near Walnford, the family estate of the 
Waln family. 

Issue of John G. and Elizabeth (Waln) Meirs: — 

Sarah Meirs, d. inf. ; 

Mary Anna Meirs, d. inf. ; 

Richard Waln Meirs, of whom presently ; 

Job Hillman Gaskill Meirs was adopted by an uncle, Job Hillman Gaskill, (for whom 
he was named) a wealthy resident of Pemberton, N. J., and sometime State Senator 
for N. J. ; Job Hillman Gaskill Meirs, by right of an Act of Assembly, dropped the 
surname Meirs, leaving his name the same as that of his uncle and adopted father. 
He m. his cousin, Helen Meirs, dau. of Collen Butterworth Meirs and his wife, 
Louisa Butterworth, who were also cousins; 

John Meirs, a member of the Camden, N. J., bar; 

Mary Anne Meirs, unm. (1908) ; 

Fanny Campbell Meirs, d. unm. ; 

Lucretia Gaskill Meirs, unm. (1908) ; 

Elizabeth Waln Meirs, unm. (1908); 

David Allen Meirs, unm. (1908), living with his three sisters near Walnford, N. J. 

Richard Waln Meirs, son of John Gaskill and Elizabeth (Waln) Meirs, 
born July 26, 1866, near Walnford, New Jersey, entered the College of New 
Jersey, at Princeton, class of '88, and was graduated with the degree of A. B., 
after which he removed to Philadelphia. He was a member of the Markham, 
University, Corinthian Yacht, Racquet and Princeton clubs of Philadel- 
phia, and the Metropolitan, Princeton, and Stroller's clubs of New York ; 
also a member of the First Troop Philadelphia City Cavalry, National 
Guard of Pennsylvania ; a life member of Philadelphia Academy of Fine Arts, 
of Historical Society of Pennsylvania, and the Genealogical Society of Pennsyl- 
vania ; one of the Board of Managers of the Franklin Institute of the State of 
Pennsylvania ; director of Trust Company of North America, Philadelphia ; and 
of Winifred Railroad Company and Winifred Coal Company, in West Virginia. 

Richard Waln Meirs, of Philadelphia, married, October 31, 1894, Anne 
Walker, daughter of Dr. William Weightman Jr. and his wife, Sabine d'lnvil- 
liers, and granddaughter of the late William Weightman, a prominent Philadel- 
phia manufacturer. 

Issue of Richard Waln and Anne Walker (Weightman) Meirs: — 

William Weightman Meirs, b. Sept. 18, 1895 ; 



214 WALN 

Anne Walker Meirs, b. Aug. 25, 1898; 
Jarvis Meirs, b. June 12, 1901. 

Jacob Shoemaker Waln, youngest son of Richard and Elizabeth (Armittj 
Wain, born at Walnford, New Jersey, 1776, chose a mercantile career, and 
entered the counting house of his relatives, Jesse and Robert Wain, Philadel- 
phia, and in time became one of Philadelphia's most prominent and prosperous 
merchants. He took an active part in public affairs, serving for several years in 
City Council, and later was a member of the Legislature from Philadelphia. He 
died in Philadelphia, April 4, 1850. 

He married, August 5, 1804, Sarah, born September 2, 1788, died May 18, 
1862, daughter of Benjamin Wistar Morris, of Philadelphia, and his wife, 
Mary Wells, an account of whom and their ancestry is given in "The Morris 
Family" in these volumes. They had nine children, all of whom lived to 
mature years, yet but two of them married, a son and a daughter. The second 
child, Samuel Morris Wain, born October 24, 1807, was the head of the firm of 
S. Morris Wain & Company, and one of Philadelphia's most conspicuous mer- 
chants for many years. He was one of the managers of the Pennsylvania Hos- 
pital, and also of the Pennsylvania Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to 
Animals, and was widely known for his benevolence. He died unmarried De- 
cember 22, 1870. 

Edward Wain, another son of Jacob S. and Sarah (Morris) Wain, born 
October 22, 181 1, (only son who married) was married, November 29, 1843, to 
Ellen Cora Nixon, born September 5, 1825, who still survives him, residing at 
"Williamstowe", Cheltenham township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. She 
is a daughter of Henry Nixon, born in Philadelphia, 1776, died 1840, by his wife, 
Maria, daughter of Robert Morris, the "Financier of the Revolution" and signer 
of the Declaration of Independence. She is also a granddaughter of Col. John 
Nixon of the Revolution, who read the Declaration of Independence to the 
assembled people at the State House, Philadelphia, July 8, 1776. Edward Wain 
was one of the leaders of the Philadelphia bar a generation ago. He died Oc- 
tober 1, 1 89 1. Edward and Ellen Cora (Nixon) Wain had twelve children, six 
sons and six daughters ; of the sons, the eldest, Jacob Shoemaker Wain, who 
resides at Haverford, and Edward Wain, of The Burlington, are the only ones 
who reside in or near Philadelphia. Ellen Nixon Wain, the second and eldest 
married daughter, is wife of Charles Custiss Harrison, provost of the University 
of Pennsylvania, and they reside at 1618 Locust street, Philadelphia. Another 
daughter is Mrs. Peter Meredith Graham, of Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia ; and 
the youngest daughter, Rebecca Wain, is wife of Rev. Richard Bowden Shep- 
pard, rector of Christ Church, Riverton, New Jersey. Another son, Samuel 
Morris Wain, was murdered by his guide in 1881, while hunting in Wyoming. 
Among the married grandchildren of Edward Wain are: Charles C. Harrison 
Jr., Henry Wain Harrison, Mrs. C. Emory McMichael, Mrs. Edward K. Row- 
land, Mrs. Walter Abbott Wood, Mrs. John Baird, Mrs. Alfred P. Morris, and 
the Baroness de Saint Marc. 

The only daughter of Jacob Shoemaker and Sarah (Morris) Wain who mar- 
ried was Mary Morris Wain, who became the wife of Richard Vaux, himself 
a descendant of Nicholas Wain, the emigrant as heretofore shown. He was 
Mayor of Philadelphia in 1856-7, and later a member of Congress. His surviv- 



WALN 215 

ing children are: Mrs. Edward Buckley, of 1508 Spruce street; Mrs. Harry Con- 
nelly, of 731 South Broad street, and Misses Meta and Elizabeth Wain Vaux, 
of "Westleigh" Chestnut Hill. The sons and daughter of Jacob Wain Vaux, 
deceased, are his grandchildren. 

Nicholas Waln, second son of Nicholas and Mary (Shoemaker) Wain, born 
September 19, 1742, was one of the most striking characters of his day and gen- 
eration in Philadelphia, although not directly identified with public life in any 
manner. He was educated at the Penn Charter School, and began the study of 
law at a very early age, being admitted to the Philadelphia bar before attaining 
his majority. In 1763, however, he went to England and renewed his studies at 
the Temple. After an absence of a little more than a year, he returned to Phil- 
adelphia and took up the practice of law in that and Bucks counties. He speedily 
became one of the most distinguished lawyers in Pennsylvania. After prac- 
ticing for less than ten years and when in the zenith of professional success, he 
suddenly abandoned the law and became a Quaker preacher. Many references 
to him and his standing as a lawyer are found in contemporary records and 
correspondence. Under date of August 28, 1774, John Adams, who had just 
arrived in Philadelphia to attend the first session of Continental Congress, 
writes thus in his diary : "Jo Reed is at the head of his profession in Philadel- 
phia, Fisher is next. Wain and Dickinson have retired." Mrs. Joseph Reed, 
nee Esther de Berdt, wife of the "Jo Reed" referred to by Mr. Adams, writing 
to her father in England, February 29, 1772, said : "Out of the four greatest law- 
yers in the city, three have resigned practice, Mr. Galloway, being a good deal 
advanced in life, and having a very large fortune, cares very little about it. Mr. 
Dickinson, also married a wife worth £30,000, is improving and building on his 
estate, and Mr. Wain, whom you may remember in the Temple with Mr. Reed, 
has on a sudden turned Quaker preacher. He had a very great business, they 
say near £2,000 a year, but he has resigned on principle, as he says no good man 
can practice law." Janney, the Quaker historian, tells of an incident marking 
the beginning of the radical change of life as follows : "His friend Thomas Aus- 
tin, who resided near Pennypack, on the Middle Road from Philadelphia to New- 
town, informed a friend that Nicholas called at his house, on his way to New- 
town, where the courts of Bucks county were then held, and in the course of the 
conversation told Thomas 'that he was engaged in an important case that was to 
come before the court relative to property.' Austin requested him to stop at his 
house on his return. He did so, and when Austin asked him how the case he 
had spoken of was issued, Nicholas replied, T did the best I could for my client, 
gained the cause for him, and thereby defrauded an honest man out of his just 
due.' " It was at this juncture, February 4, 1772, that Wain attended service at 
the Market Street Meeting House. He had been a man of the world, and had 
not been in the habit of attending Friends' meetings, though nominally a Quaker. 
At this particular meeting, greatly to the surprise of those in attendance, he 
walked to the preacher's gallery, knelt and poured forth this supplication, "O 
Lord God ! arise, and let thine enemies be scattered ! Baptise me, dip me yet 
deeper in Jordan. Wash me in the lava of regeneration. Thou hast done much 
for me, and hast a right to expect much ; therefore in the presence of this con- 
gregation, I resign myself, and all that I have, to thee O Lord — it is Thine ! and 
I pray Thee, O Lord to give me grace to enable me to continue firm in this reso- 



2i6 WALN 

lution. Wherever Thou leadest me O Lord, I will follow Thee ; if through per- 
secution, or even to martyrdom. If my life is required, I will freely sacrifice it. 
Now I know that my Redeemer liveth, and the mountains of difficulty are 
removed, Hallelujah ! Teach me to despise the shame, and the opinions of the 
people of the world. Thou knowest O Lord my deep baptisms. I acknowledge 
my manifold sins and transgressions. I know my unworthiness of the many 
favors I have received : and I thank Thee O Father, that Thou hast hid Thy 
mysteries from the wise and prudent, and revealed them to babes and sucklings. 
Amen." 

In commenting upon this wonderful scene a Quaker writer has said : "Slowly, 
sentence by sentence came forth, and while breathing the spirit of humble sup- 
plication or bursting forth in a hallelujah of praise, they baptised the hearers 
into tears." 

From that time Nicholas Wain, throwing aside the fashionable garments of 
the day and arraying himself in the subdued garb of the Friends, withdrew from 
the scenes of his former achievements and devoted himself solely to the work of 
the Quaker ministry. He became renowned as a great preacher, not only in his 
own land, but also in England, where he visited Friends and ministered to them. 
A local writer, belonging to his own sect, referring to his power as a preacher, 
illustrates with an incident which occurred at a meeting held at Abington, August 
ii, 1797: 

"After a solemn pause, Nicholas Wain rose on his feet. His heart seemed filled 
with Gospel love, to which his richly-melodious voice gave utterance, while the baptizing 
power of the Holy Spirit accompanying the word preached, softened the hearts and 
moistened the eyes of those there gathered. He stood and ministered for about an hour ; 
after which, upon his knees, he lifted up the voice of prayer and praise. A solemnity very 
unusual covered those assembled, as he ceased to offer on their behalf supplication to the 
God of Mercy and grace. The solemnity continued, and they remained sitting together, 
baptized into oneness of feeling. Those at the head of the gallery at last shook hands in 
token that the meeting had closed. The solemnity was still unbroken and no one seemed 
willing to depart. A pause ensued ; Nicholas then spoke out : 'Under the solemn covering 
we are favored with, perhaps Friends had better separate'. A few young men near 
the door then rose on their feet, but the solemnity was still over them, and observing none 
follow their example, they sat down again. Sweet, awful silence continued, until Richard 
Jordan, standing up broke forth with the song of triumph, which greeted our Saviour's 
entrance into Jerusalem, 'Hosanna ! blessed be he that cometh in the name of the Lord !' 
A few sentences followed, setting forth the blessedness of those merciful visitations, these sea- 
ons of fervor, wherein the Saviour makes Himself known among his people. He sat down, 
and again shaking hands with the Friend by his side the meeting was ended." 

One of his contemporaries who had frequently sat in meeting with him, thus 
commented upon him in after years : "Nicholas Wain appeared at all times with 
a smile of sunshine upon his countenance." 

During the Revolution it is needless to say, Nicholas Wain in no way partici- 
pated in the pending strife; but he was one of the party of six Friends who, act- 
ing as a committee on behalf of the Yearly Meeting held October 4, 1777, while 
the battle of Germantown was in progress, waited on General Washington and 
General Howe a few days afterwards in the interest of peace. Twelve years 
later, almost to the day, October 3, 1789, it fell to the lot of Nicholas Wain as 
clerk of the Yearly Meeting, to address another communication to General 
Washington, then in the first year of his first term as President of the United 
States, in which he set forth : 



WALN 217 

"We take the liberty to assure thee that we feel our hearts affectionately drawn 
towards thee, and those in authority over us, with prayers that thy Presidency may, under 
the blessing of Heaven, be happy to thyself and to the people. And it is our earnest con- 
cern, that He may be pleased to grant thee every necessary qualification to fill thy weighty 
and important station to his glory; and that finally, when all terrestial honours shall fall 
and pass away, thou and thy respectable consort may be found worthy to receive a crown 
of unfading righteousness in the mansions of peace and joy forever." 

Nicholas Wain died September 29, 1813, having just passed his seventy-first 
milestone. By his will dated April 8, 181 1, proved October 13, 1813, he gave 
legacies to James Simson, Benjamin White, of Bucks county, John Townsend, 
the Monthly Meeting of Philadelphia, Southern District, to be paid to Jesse 
Williams ; the children of his first cousin, Mary Drinker, wife of Henry ; Jane 
Halfpenny, and his servant Tom ; and the residue of his estate to his wife Sarah, 
making his sons William and Nicholas, executors. 

Nicholas Wain married, May 22, 1771, Sarah, only child of Joseph and Sarah 
(Morris) Richardson, and great-granddaughter of Anthony Morris, the founder 
of the family in America, by his second wife, Mary Coddington. She was born 
in Philadelphia, October 11, 1746, died April 13, 1825. George Ross, son of 
George Ross, the "Signer", in commenting on Nicholas Wain as an early prac- 
titioner at the Lancaster county courts, makes this reference to his marriage : 
'And to crown his brilliant career at the Bar, he married Sarah Richardson, an 
only child of Joseph Richardson of Philadelphia of large fortune, and what was 
of infinitely more value, possessed of every endowment that could render the 
married state agreeable and happy." 

She was an exceedingly small woman, and there is a tradition in the family 
that her father balanced her in a pair of scales with a bag of gold coin, which was 
to be her dowry, she being thus literally "worth her weight in gold." Before 
her marriage she moved in the most fashionable circles in Philadelphia and had 
all the luxuries her wealthy and doting parent could supply ; but after her mar- 
riage she was obliged to conform to the more simple tastes of her husband. This 
was not agreeable to her, and she complained to him of not being able to ride in 
the same style as formerly with a footman to open and close the carriage door. 
In advanced life Sarah is described as "a small thin old lady, with rather mas- 
culine features and great vivacity of manner." Ann Warder in her diary under 
date of June 21, 1786, writes: "Dined with Nicholas Wain's wife, (he is in New 
England with John Townsend). We had a truly comfortable and agreeable visit. 
Friend Wain is a woman whose acquaintance will enrich anybody, she is lively 
and sprightly, but much of the Friend and gentlewoman and nothing in her dress 
or house or conduct bespeaks that gaiety we had been told in England she 
possessed." (Ann Warder had recently come from London, where she had mar- 
ried John Warder, the son of a rich Philadelphia merchant, representing his 
father's house there). 

Issue of Nicholas and Sarah (Richardson) Wain: 

Mary Wain, b. May 11, 1772, d. same day; 

Joseph Richardson Wain, b. May 8, 1773, d. Dec. 13, 1783; 

William Waln, b. March 16, 1775 ; m. Mary Willcocks, of whom presently ; 

Nicholas Wain, b. Oct. 14, 1778, d. unm. July 4, 1849; 

Jacob Shoemaker Wain, b. August 19, 1783, d. unm. June 30, 1847 ; 

Sarah Wain, b. January 6, 1788, d. July 20, 1788; 

A male child, b. Oct. 28, 1790, d. "at birth". 



218 WALN 

William Waln, son of Nicholas and Sarah (Richardson) Wain, born in 
Philadelphia, March 16, 1775, died there February 11, 1826. He was married 
March 4, 1805, by Rev. William White, (afterwards Bishop) rector of Christ 
Church, Philadelphia, to Mary, born 1781, died December 3, 1841, daughter of 
John and Mary Willcocks, of Philadelphia. 

Issue of William and Mary (Willcocks) Wain: — 

Sarah Waln, b. May 22, 1806; m. Benjamin Chew Willcocks, of whom presently; 

John Willcocks Waln, d. unm. Aug. 26, 1824; 

Nicholas Waln, b. Dec. 15, 1810, d. unm. Sept. 22, 1820; bur. Sept. 24, in St. Peter's 

churchyard, 3d and Pine sts. ; 
Mary Ann Willcocks Waln, b. May 12, 1818, d. Sept. 12, 1821 ; 
Mary Willcocks Waln, b. Sept. 28, 1821, d. Nov. 23, 1821; 
William Waln, d. unm., March, 1861 ; 
Mary Waln, d. about 1889; m. Richard Maxwell, M. D., and had one dau., Ella Mid- 

dleton Maxwell, b. Feb. 8, 1845, d. March, 1869. 

Sarah Waln, daughter of William and Mary (Willcocks) Waln, born in 
Philadelphia, May 22, 1806, died June 6, 1886. She married, October 10, 1842, 
her cousin, Benjamin Chew Willcocks, born December 13, 1776, died December 
1, 1845, son °f Alexander and Mary (Chew) Willcocks, and grandson of Chief 
Justice Benjamin Chew. They had issue : 

Mary Waln Willcocks, b. July 13, 1843 ; m. Alexander Dallas Campbell, of whore 

presently; 
Helen Julia Willcocks, b. Jan. 20, 1845, d. March, 1868; m. Chandler Robbins. 

Mary Waln Willcocks, daughter of Benjamin C. and Sarah (Waln) Will- 
cocks, born July 13, 1843, was married October 20, 1870, by Rev. John Andrews 
Harris, in St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church, Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, 
to Alexander Dallas Campbell, of the Philadelphia bar, son of St. George Tucker 
Campbell, of a noted Virginia family. They lived at 1522 Pine street, Philadel- 
phia, and had issue : 

Helen Campbell, b. July 20, 1871 ; m. 1892, James Cheston Morris Jr., b. April 1, 1861, 
son of James Cheston Morris, M. D., of 1514 Spruce st, Philadelphia, one of Phila- 
delphia's distinguished physicians, member of numerous medical societies, etc., by his 
wife, Hannah Ann Tyson, of Baltimore branch of old Germantown family of Tyson, 
an account of which is given in these volumes. James Cheston Morris Jr. is a 
descendant in the eighth generation from Anthony Morris, founder of that family in 
Phila., from which his wife, Helen Campbell, is also descended through her ancestress, 
Sarah (Richardson) Waln, whose mother, Sarah Morris, was a daughter of William 
and Sarah (Dury) Morris and granddaughter of Anthony, the founder. James 
Cheston and Helen (Campbell) Morris, had one daughter: 
Mary Campbell Morris, b. Sept. 30, 1893 ; 

Elizabeth Mason Campbell, b. Jan. 12, 1875 ; m. Dec. 10, 1896, at the Church of the 
Ascension, Phila., by the rector. Rev. George Woolsey Hodge, assisted by Rev. John 
Andrews Harris, of St. Paul's, Chestnut Hill, to Percy Child Medeira, b. in Phila., son 
of Louis Cephas and Abeline Laura (Powell) Madeira. She was his second wife. 

Richard Waln, second surviving son of Richard and Anne (Heath) Waln, 
was born June 5, 1717, died August, 1764. He resided on the Waln plantation 
in the Northern Liberties, (where he was doubtless born) until his marriage, 
after which he followed his father to Norriton township, now Montgomery 
county. This section was within the compass of Gwynedd Monthly Meeting, on 



WALN 219 

the minutes of which for August 28, 1744, it is stated that "Richard Wain, Junr. 
produced a certificate for self and wife from Philadelphia, dated 29th of 4th 
month last." He lived in Norriton about eleven years. At the Monthly Meet- 
ing of August 26, 1755, a certificate was granted to Richard Wain and wife to 
Abington, which he presented to and was accepted by the latter monthly meet- 
ing, January 26, 1756. This removal was to Germantown, and he resided 
there the remainder of his life. 

As Richard Wain did not reside in the city of Philadelphia, his name does not 
figure so often in the "Journal of Elizabeth Drinker" as do those of some of his 
relatives, but he appears to be mentioned at least once; on November 26, 1777, 
Mrs. Drinker records Richard Wain as one of their callers, and at this date the 
Drinkers were intimate friends, Richard Wain, of Philadelphia and Walnford, 
New Jersey, was in New York, so the caller referred to was probably his uncle, 
Richard Wain, of Germantown. The death of the latter's daughter, Ann 
(Nancy) Thomas, and the marriage of another daughter Mary, are also noted 
by Mrs. Drinker. 

In his will dated August 10, 1764, proved September 5, 1764, Richard Wain 
mentioned his wife Hannah; children: Sarah, Jesse, Mary and Ann Thomas; 
grandchild, Richard Thomas ; brother, Robert ; cousin, Thomas Livezey ; son-in- 
law, Elisha Thomas ; and named as executors, Robert Wain and Thomas Livezey. 

Richard Wain married, about 1740, Hannah , and they had issue: — 

1 
Sarah Wain, living at her father's death, nothing further known of her ; 
Ann Wain, m. Elisha Thomas, probably son of Robert Thomas, of Lower Dublin 
twp., Phila. co. After their marriage they lived in Moreland twp., now Montgomery 
co. From Elizabeth Drinker's Journal under date of July 26, we quote the following, 
"Nancy Thomas was this afternoon buried from neighbor Wain's. She had been a 
long time very ill and suffered more than any one that has come within my knowl- 
edge of a disorder of ye nature hers was." The "Neighbor Wain," was Rebecca, 
widow of Robert Wain, uncle to Nancy Thomas, a son of Elisha and Ann ; 

Jonathan Thomas lived in Northern Liberties; he m. Nov. 17, 1808, at Abington 
Meeting, Sarah Mather, dau. of Benjamin and Ann, of Cheltenham twp. ; both 
Elisha and Ann Thomas were deceased at the date of this marriage ; 
Mary Wain, m. Feb. II, 1777, Charles Mifflin, son of George and Anne (Eyre) 
Mifflin, of Phila.; 

Jesse Waln, m. Rebecca . of whom presently; 

Joseph Wain, d. y., before his father. 

Jesse Waln, born about 1750, died March 29, 1806, was the only surviving 
son of Richard and Hannah Waln. He was one of the most prominent and 
successful merchants of Philadelphia in his day, having associated with him in 
business his cousin, Robert Waln, Congressman, hereafter mentioned. He was 
one of the founders of and first directors of the Insurance Company of Penn- 
sylvania, established in 1794. In 1791 he was living in Germantown, as shown 
by extracts from the "Journal of Elizabeth Drinker," quoted above, we have the 
following, under June 20 of that year: "There are a number of Philadelphians 
at Germantown, Pattison Vanhorne's family, John Prout's family, Jerem h 
Warder's, Jessy Wain's &c. &c." The Pattison Vanhorne mentioned married 
Jesse Wain's cousin Susannah, daughter of Robert Waln. The Journal also 
records Jesse Wain's death: "1806, March 29, Jessy Waln is dead. He died 
rather suddenly ; some say of pleurisy, others of an apoplexy". 

Jesse Waln married Rebecca , who died November 4, 1820. "Eliza- 



220 WALN 

beth Drinker's Journal" mentions her during the yellow-fever year, 1793, Octo- 
ber 3 ; "Becky Wain, Jessy's wife, came to see us. She informed us of the death 
of several persons whom we do not know." 
Issue of Jesse and Rebecca Wain: — 

Mary Wain, m. William Moore Wharton, b. June 24, 1768, son of Thomas Wharton 
Jr., President of the Supreme Executive Council of Pa., by his wife, Susannah 
Lloyd. She was his first wife. Elizabeth Drinker, whose previous mention of her 
has been quoted in our account of her cousin, Polly (Wain) Wistar, records Mrs. 
Wharton's burial in 1800 ; "July 10, Molly Wharton, wife of Mayor Wharton, and 
daughter of Jesse Wain, was buried this afternoon from the country, n or 12 
carriages, and several chairs attended. They passed our door. She died of a 
consumption — an old acquaintance of our Molly's." Mayor Wharton is a mistake, 
an error for Moore Wharton. 

By his second wife Deborah Shomaker, Moore Wharton had eight children, one of 
whom, Daniel Clark Wharton, b. July 9, 1808, m. Feb. 1, 1843, Ann Wain, dau. of 
Thomas Wain Morgan, who was son of Thomas Morgan, by his wife, Ann, dau. 
of Robert Wain, mentioned hereafter ; 
Sarah Wain, m. April 26, 1797, at Christ Church, Thomas Buckley; Elizabeth 
Drinker's Journal under date of April 27, 1797, says : "Jesse Wain's daughter was 
married last night to T. Buckley, she is going with him to Lisbon, where he and his 
parents resided — to the great grief of her mother — No wonder, perhaps never to 
see her more ;" 
Jesse Wain, b. March 17, 1784, d. unm. May 2, 1848; 
Ann Wain, b. 1788, d. Jan. 12, 1789; 

Ann Wain, b. Feb. 25, 1790, d. Oct. 26, 1875; m. Jan. 2, 1811, at Pine st. Meeting 
House, Samuel Burge Rawle, of Phila., son of William and Sarah C. Rawle. She 
was b. July 1, 1787, d. Sept. 2, 1858. They had five children, viz : 

William S. Rawle, m. Nov. 12, 1831, Maria, dau. of Count Jose Elcorrobarutia, 

of Lima, Peru ; 
Mary Wharton Rawle, d. unm. 1886; 

Rebecca Shoemaker Rawle, m. James Smith Lewis, in 1833 ; 
Burge Rawle, d. inf. ; 

Elizabeth M. Rawle, m. 1835, Thorndike Deland; 
Rebecca Wain, b. 1792, d. July 15, 1796: 

Rebecca Wain, m. Edward Tilghman, b. Feb. 27, 1779, d. Jan. 17, 1826, son of Edward 
Tilghman, by his wife Elizabeth Chew, dau. of Chief Justice Benjamin Chew, and 
grandson of Col. Edward Tilghman, of Wye, Talbot co., Md., and his second wife, 
Elizabeth Chew, sister of the Chief Justice. 

Robert Waln, third surviving son of Richard and Ann (Heath) Wain, born 
on the Wain plantation in the Northern Liberties of Philadelphia, March 21, 
1720-1, died in Philadelphia, July 12, 1784. He established a successful mercan- 
tile business in Philadelphia, which was continued by his son of the same name. 
Like most of the merchants of his day. he was also a ship owner ; among the 
ship-registers for the port of Philadelphia his name occurs as owner of the 
40-ton brigantine, "Rebecca", built at Marcus Hook, registered in 1753; the 
49-ton brigantine, "Lark", built at Sussex on Delaware, registered in 1754; the 
90-ton brigantine, "Rebecca and Susannah" registered 1757; the 30-ton sloop, 
"Nancy", built in "Queen's County, Maryland" (Queen Anne's county?) regis- 
tered 1758; the 75-ton brigantine, "Lark", built in Philadelphia, registered 1758. 
These were fair-sized vessels for that time, very few on the registers then 
exceeding 100 tons. In 1765 he affixed his signature to the Non-importation 
agreement, which had so much influence in precipitating the Revolution. 

Robert Wain married, about 1750, Rebecca, who died in 1799, daughter of 
Jacob and Rachel (Rakestraw) Coffin, of Philadelphia. Her father had died in 
1736. Her mother, Rachel, was a daughter of William Rakestraw, of Philadel- 



WALN 221 

phia, whose will dated August 28, 1736, proved October 5, 1736, mentions his 
wife Anne; children, William, Grace and Rachel; grandchildren, Rebecca and 
Hannah, daughters of Rachel ; and makes Anne and William Rakestraw, execu- 
tors. Rebecca (Coffin) Wain's sister Hannah, mentioned with her in the above 
quoted will, married, October 17, 1758, at Philadelphia Monthly Meeting, Isaac 
Cathrall ; she is frequently mentioned in the Journal of Elizabeth Drinker, above 
quoted. 

For a great part of their married life Robert and Rebecca Wain, with their 
family, resided on Front street, below Sassafrass, now Race street, near to 
Henry and Elizabeth Drinker, who lived on the northwest corner of Front 
street and Drinker's alley, and they are frequently mentioned in the latter's Jour- 
nal, from which the following are some of the extracts : 

"June 6, 1774, when Richard Wain and family removed to Walnford, as noted above, 
"Robert Wain and wife went with them as far as Bristol" "June 22, our children, Nancy 
Wain, Hannah and Polly Drinker, went in our waggon to Kensington. * * * Aug. 26, 
Rebk Wain and her daughter Nancy, M.S.E.D., Sally, Nancy and Billy went to see the 
Waxworks made by Mrs. Wells, "opposite ye Royal White Oak." 1777, Nov. 7. "Sally 
and Nancy went this afternoon, with Hannah Drinker and Nancy Wain, up to Phillips 
Rope-Walk, to see ye Redoubts which are erected thereabouts." Nov. 12 "Robt Wain, C. 
West, and Edw d Drinker's widow called." Nov. 21. "C. West, Sam 1 Smith, and Reb a 
Wain were here. Ye last came in ye evening; she is afraid to go to Bed, as there is talk 
of Washington making an attack on ye city before morning." Dec. 9. "Neighbor Wain 
sent a Horse and Chaise here this afternoon to put into our stable, which Patterson's 
sisters came with from Bristol". Patterson was probably Pattison Hartshorne, Robert 
Wain's son-in-law. 1778, Feb. 23. "Robt Wain, Jos a Howell, and John Drinker called" 
March 5, "Old Edward Drinker and Rob* Wain called." Sept. 6. Rob' Wain, myself my 
two sons, Bob Wain, Neddy Howell, and Anna Wain took a walk this afternoon to 
Springettsbury to see ye Aloes Tree. We stopped on our return at Bush-Hill and walked 
in ye Garden. We came home after sunset very much tired * * * Sept. 18, Rebecca 
Wain came over. With her I went to ye Burial of my old friend and acquaintance Nancy 
Potts, formerly Mitchell, whom I much valued. 

l 779, Feb. 19. "R. Wain here this evening. She proposed my being an overseer with 
her at C. Howell's approaching Nuptials. She is to pass meeting on third day next with 
Johns Hopkins from Maryland * * * . Feb. 23. "Went to Monthly Meeting this 
morning with Johns Hopkins and Caty Howell ; Rebecca Wain is my partner on ye occa- 
sion — felt a little comical on going into ye men's meeting." May 2. "On Third day last, 
at Monthly Meeting Hannah Cathrall made a minute, (that one of ye Friends who attended 
ye marriage of Johns Hopkins &c. reported that it was orderly accomplished) which as 
Rebecca Wain was the person who spoke and I only stood up, made it necessary for me to 
repeat what she had before said, or to ye same effect, which was something trying to me, 
as I do not remember an instance of its being required of both, as my appearance fully 
attested to what 4.2. delivered." 1782. "February 5. Sally, Nancy, Nancy Wain, Jacob 
Downing, Ezra Jones and Billy Sansom went over y e River on the ice before dinner." 
1784. "July 12. This morning about 2 o'clock, our neighbor Rob* Wain departed this 
Life, after a lingering illness, aged 63 years — second day." 

1785. "May 17, Went with neighbor Wain to ye funeral of Pully Garrigues formerly 
Mitchell. * * * May 20, J. Downing, and Sally Drinker, Rob' Wain and Nancy Drinker, 
T. Morgan and Nancy W.aln, B. Morris and Polly Wells, Henry Drinker and Hannah Wells, 
and Gideon Wells, on horseback, ye rest in chaises, went to our place at Frankford." 1793. 
Aug. 20, the Drinkers living then in Germantown ; "Neighbor Wain and Anna Wells paid 
us a visit this morning — say tis very sickly in Philadelphia" — This is one of the years 
of the yellow-fever epidemic. Aug. 28. "P. Hartshorne's family and Neigh r Wain's are 
also out; the inhabitants are leaving the city in great numbers." Sept. 2, Neighbor 
Wain and Nancy Morgan came to visit us this forenoon. R.W. stays with her son Robert." 

Several other notices of visits from "Negh r Wain, Tommy and Nancy Mor- 
gan" et al, in October, 1793. 

The will of. Robert Wain "of the City of Philadelphia, Merchant" signed April 
6, 1782, probated July 26, 1784, devised property in several counties of Pennsyl- 
vania and New Jersey; it provides for his wife Rebecca; children, Susanna, Re- 
becca, Ann, Hannah and Robert ; nieces, Mary Mifflin, widow, and Ann Thomas ; 



222 WALN 

and negroes, Jack and Toney ; a bequest is given to trustees for supporting a free 
negro school ; Rebecca Wain and his nephew, Nicholas Wain, are named as 
guardians for his daughter Hannah ; the latter as trustee, and son-in-law, Patti- 
son Hartshorne, and son Robert as executors. 

The will of Rebecca Wain, widow of Robert, dated imo. 9, 1797, probated 
November 26, 1799, mentions her children, Susanna Hartshorne, Ann Morgan, 
Robert Wain and Hannah Wells ; sister, Hannah Cathrall, son-in-law, Pattison 
Hartshorne, brother-in-law, Isaac Cathrall, and nephews and nieces, Rachel 
Elfreth and Edward and Hannah, children of her sister Hannah; it also makes 
bequests to Hannah, sister of Isaac Cathrall Sr. ; Hannah Lloyd; Sarah, wife of 
Duncan Roberts ; Rebecca Griscom ; the Monthly Meeting of Friends for the 
Northern District of Philadelphia, for poor Friends, and to her grandson, Robert 
Wain Hartshorne. Her son, Robert Wain, and son-in-law, Pattison Hartshorne, 
are named as executors. 

Issue of Robert and Rebecca (Coffin) Wain: — 

Susannah Waln, m. Pattison Hartshorne, of whom presently; 

Joseph Wain, b. 1754, d. April 10, 1770; 

Hannah Wain, b. 1756, d. Jan. 18, 1770; (E. Drinker's Journal, has, 1770, "18th Jany., 
Hannah Wain died") ; 

Richard Wain, m. and had one son, who was perhaps Robert Wain, Esq., who, accord- 
ing to Poulson's American Daily Advertiser, d. at Norristown, Dec. 24, 1827, in his 
38th year ; 

Ann Wain, b. about 1760, d. June 2, 1814, mentioned frequently in Elizabeth Drinker's 
Journal as Nancy Wain ; m. Thomas Morgan ; many well-known Philadelphians of 
the present day are descended from them, including William Moore Wharton, of 1616 
Pine St., grandson of William Moore Wharton, who m. Mary, dau. of Jesse and Re- 
becca Wain, mentioned above ; Clark W. Churchman, Wain M. Churchman, and 
Charles W. Churchman, of Jenkintown, various representatives of the Morgan, Draper 
and Rotch families et al. Among other representatives may be noted Mary Tevis 
Morgan, who m. Sir Francis Richard Plunkett, son of the ninth Earl Fingail, a dis- 
tinguished British diplomat, minister to Japan, Sweden and Belgium, etc. One of the 
daughters of the latter m. Count A. Fersen Gyldenstoipe, of Sweden. 

A son of Thomas and Ann (Wain) Morgan, Thomas Wain Morgan, m. Feb. 10, 
1814, Hannah GrifRtts, a descendant of Anthony Morris, before mentioned, and a 
grandson of theirs, is Colonel Thomas Wain-Morgan Draper, a member of the So- 
ciety of Colonial Wars in the State of New York, who during the war with Spain, 
1898, was Captain in the Second Regiment, U. S. Vol. Engineers, stationed in Honolu- 
lu, and was afterwards Colonel in the Colorado National Guard ; 

Rebecca Wain, b. 176 — , d. July 29, 1785; m. Nov. 16, 1784, Ezra Jones; Elizabeth 
Drinker's Journal of the latter date, has "Sally and Nancy at ye marriage of Ezra 
Jones and Becky Wain." Her death is also mentioned in the Journal, while Mrs. 
Drinker was on a trip to Walnford and Shrewsbury, 1785, August 1 : "John Fry, came 
about this time, left Philadelphia on Seventh day last ; he brings us ye afflicting ac- 
count of the death of our neighbor Wain's daughter, Becky Jones, who we suppose died 
on fifth or sixth day last, as she was ill and her mammy with her, when we left home." 
August 10. "Received two letters ; one from our son Billy — all well at home, another 
from Betsy Wain, giving some particulars relating to poor Becky Jones. She expired 
on Sixth day morning, ye 2Qth, and was buried the same evening." Her husband did 
not long survive her, dying within a year ; they left no issue : his will dated i2mo. 
27, 1785, probated March 22, 1786, mentioned his sisters Priscilla and Mary; his moth- 
er-in-law, Rebecca Wain, brother Israel, Isaiah and John ; brother-in-law, Robert Wain, 
sisters-in-law, Susannah Hartshorne, and Ann and Hannah Wain ; 

Hannah Wain, m. May 11, 1790, Gideon Hill Wells, b. Sept. 25, 1765, d. March 26, 
1827, son of Richard and Rachel (Hill) Wells, and grandson of Dr. Gideon Wells, of 
London, England. Their eldest son, Richard Wain Wells, m. Abigail Griffitts, sister 
to Hannah Griffitts, who m. his cousin, Thomas Wain Morgan ; Gideon Hill Wells was 
a distinguished Philadelphia merchant ; one of his grandsons, the late Francis Wells, 
was for years editor of the Philadelphia Evening Bulletin. 

1 
Susannah Waln, daughter of Robert and Rebecca (Coffin) Wain, married, 






WALN 223 

February 10, 1776, Pattison Hartshorne, son of Hugh and Hannah Hartshorne, 
and a descendant of Robert Hartshorne, an early Governor of East Jersey. The 
"Journal of Elizabeth Drinker" makes frequent mention of the Hartshorne 
family. "1776, December 10, H. D. and E. D. were this day at ye wedding of 
P. Hartshorne and S. Wain" "1777, Nov. 25, S. Hartshorne came over this 
morning to go on ye top of our House to see ye Fleet come up ; 2 or 3 20-Gun 
Ships, and a great number of smaller vessels came up to day" 1778, Jan. 28. 
"Chalkley James, Patt n and Sucky Hartshorne called." 

The Hartshornes spent the summer of 1791 in Germantown ; in the yellow- 
fever summer of 1793 they were also out of the city. In August, 1796, Mrs. 
Drinker was much excited by the runaway marriage of her daughter Mary to 
Samuel Rhoads ; on August 10, she wrote, "Day before yesterday the 8th inst. 
Molly was gone as I thought with Sally Large shopping. * * * The next 
day the 9th * * * sister went over to R. Wain's to enquire if she had heard 
where Molly was. She informed her that Pattison Hartshorne had been told in 
ye morning by Sally Large that there would be trouble in the neighborhood to day 
— that Molly Drinker was married last night to S. R. at the Widow Pemberton's 
House in Chestnut St." Both Pattison and Susannah Hartshorne died in the 
year 1828. 

Issue of Pattison and Susannah (Wain) Hartshorne: — 

Robert Wain Hartshorne, b. June 17, 1779; mentioned in E. Drinker's Journal in 1798; 

Hannah Hartshorne, b. Aug. 15, 1781, d. June 24, 1795, unm. ; an account of her death 
is given in Mrs. Drinker's Journal, which concludes ; "She has been near a twelve 
month in a decline ; would have been 14 years of age had she lived till Eighth month 
next ; she was an innocent good little girl — the trial is great to her poor mother — who 
has always been anxious for and very fond of her children ;" 

Rebecca Hartshorne, b. Oct. 1, 1783, d. before 1787 ; 

Susan Hartshorne, b. Aug. 23, 1784; 

Rebecca Hartshorne, b. June 11, 1787; m. June 10, 1806, John Large, the Journal for 
June 11, says, "John Large and Becky Hartshorne were married yesterday at the 
North Meeting House." 

Among their descendants were the late James Large, a member of the Council of the 
Society of Colonial Wars in Pennsylvania; George G. Meade Large, of "Elsinore," 
Abington, Pa., a member of the Markham Club, etc. ; Robert Hartshorne Large, of 
2218 Locust St., also a member of the Markham Club, and Second Lieutenant in the 
Ninth Regiment, Penna. Vol. Inf. in the war with Spain, 1898; Mrs. Joseph Harrison, 
nee Margaretta S. Large, of Colorado Springs, Col., Mrs. Charles P. Fox, nee Mary 
Large, of Penllyn ; and Miss Large and John B. Large of 338 So. 21st St., Phila. 

Hon. Robert Waln, son of Robert and Rebecca (Coffin) Wain, was born 
February 22, 1765, died January 25, 1836, being at the time of his death a mem- 
ber of the Philadelphia, Southern District, Monthly Meeting. He attained the 
widest distinction in public life of any of the descendants of Nicholas Wain, 
Colonist. He became associated with his cousin, Jesse Wain, as before stated, 
and for years they transacted an extensive business as importers and merchants ; 
the house of Jesse and Robert Wain ranking with those of Girard, Ridgway, 
Williams, etc. Later in life he became interested in other business enterprises. 
In 1812 he erected a cotton factory in Trenton, New Jersey, said to have been 
one of the largest as well as one of the earliest in America. He was also exten- 
sively interested in the iron industry at Phoenixville, Pennsylvania. 

No man was more active in his day, in all that relates to civic or national 
progress than Robert Wain. We find him in attendance at many conferences at 



224 WALN 

the State House, the Coffee House and elsewhere, called to advance the interests 
of Philadelphia and the nation at large, especially during the stirring period be- 
tween 1790 and 1820, embracing the first years under the Federal Constitution 
and the War of 1812-14. He also served upon various committees appointed to 
carry out the resolves emanating from such public conferences. 

He was for several terms a member of General Assembly of Pennsylvania, 
and in 1796 was nominated by the Federalists as their candidate for Congress. 
He was defeated, however, by Blair McClenachan, by a vote of 1,182 to 910. 
Two years later Wain was again a candidate and was this time elected. After his 
congressional service he was chosen a member of City Council and was several 
times re-elected, serving as President of Select Council, 1816-19. He also filled 
at various times, the presidency of the Chamber of Commerce, Philadelphia In- 
surance Company, Atlantic Insurance Company, and Mercantile Library Com- 
pany. He was also a director of Pennsylvania Hospital, Bank of North America, 
and Philadelphia Library Company ; and was one of the trustees of University 
of Pennsylvania from 181 1 until his death, and a trustee under the will of 
Stephen Girard. 

Robert Wain's residence for the greater part of his life was at 138 (old num- 
ber) South Second street, above Spruce, on the site of the famous "Governor's 
House" or "Shippen's Great House", as it was originally denominated. His 
country seat was "Wain Grove", Frankford. He married, October 10, 1787, at 
Pine street Friends' Meeting House, Phebe, daughter of Ellis and Mary (Desh- 
ler) Lewis, and sister to David Lewis, who lived next door to him. She was 
born May 17, 1768, died April 16, 1845. See Lewis Family in these volumes. 
Issue of Robert and Phebe (Lewis) Wain: — 

Mary Lewis Wain, b. Aug. 17, 1790; 

Robert Wain, b. Oct. 20, 1794; he devoted his life largely to literary pursuits; published 
"The Hermit in America on a Visit to Philadelphia," 1819; "American Bards," a 
satire, 1820; "Sisyphi Onus, or Touches at the Times, with Other Poems," 1820; 
"Life of Lafayette," 1825-6; "History of China," etc. He also edited all except the 
first three volumes of Sanderson's Biography of the Signers of the Declaration of 
Independence," 1829-27. He d. unm. July 4, 1825 ; 

Lewis Wain, b. Jan 23, 1796, d. Dec. 20, 1863; inherited "Wain Grove" from his father 
and left it to his next surviving brother, William ; he was one of the founders of the 
Philadelphia Board of Trade, 1833 ; was elected a member of the American Philosophi- 
cal Society in 1846; was a director of Library Company of Philadelphia for many 
years, and trustee of Univ. of Pa. from 1837 to his death ; he was unm. ; 

Francis Wain, b. Oct. 28, 1799, d. July 10, 1822; 

Rebecca Ann Wain, b. Jan. 5, 1802, d. at Poughkeepsie, N. Y., Aug. 18, 1846; m. Dec. 
6, 1821, Jeremiah Fisher Learning, an eminent citizen of Philadelphia, descended from 
a prominent family of Cape May co., N. J. ; their eldest son, Robert Wain Learning, a 
graduate of Univ. of Pa. in 1844, inherited "Wain Grove" from his uncle, William 
Wain ; 

William Wain, b. June 29, 1805, d. unm. in Jan. 1864; inherited "Wain Grove" from his 
brother Lewis; his city residence being 914 Walnut street; by his will dated January 11, 
and probated January 30. 1864, he devised all his estate in trust for the use of his 
sister, Phebe L. Wain, she to have the use of "Wain Grove" in the 23d. Ward (Frank- 
ford), during her life, and at her death to go to his nephew, Robert Wain Learning; 
the rest of his estate to go to nephews and nieces, Robert W. Ryers, Rebecca L. Tutt, 
Susan Israel, and Francis W. Learning; Robert W. Learning the principal legatee to 
pay over a sum to be invested for the use of testator's nieces, Phebe W. Bell, Mary L. 
Smith and Susan Israel ; 

Susan Wain, b. Sept. 1, 1806, d. July 21, 1832; m. June 3, 1830, by Rev. William White, 
then rector of Christ Church, to her cousin, Joseph Wain Ryers, son of John Ryers, 
by his wife, Hannah Wain, dau. of Richard and Elizabeth (Armitt) Wain, mentioned 
earlier in this sketch ; they probably lived during their short married life at her father's 



WALN 



225 



country place, "Wain Grove," she at least died there, as shown by Poulson's American 
Daily Advertiser, of July 25, 1832; "Died 21st inst. at her father's residence near 
Frankford, in her 26th year, Susan W. Ryers, wife of Joseph W. Ryers, and daughter 
of Robert Wain." Later Joseph W. Ryers had a fine country place near Fox Chase, 
which from its name, "Burholme," would seem that he may have named it for the 
Wain home in Yorkshire by reason of his own Wain ancestry. His only son by Susan 
Wain, Robert Wain Ryers, b. March 8, 1831 or 1832, a graduate of the Univ. of Pa., 
class of '51, inherited "Burholme" in 1868, and spent the remainder of his life there, 
and at his death bequeathed the estate to the city of Philadelphia for a park. At one 
corner of the property is a station of Newtown branch of the Reading railroad, called 
"Ryers" ; 

After the death of his wife Susan, Joseph W. Ryers m. her sister, Ann Wain, as 
noted below; 

Phebe Lewis Wain, b. Jan. 2, 1808, d. unm. ; she inherited a life interest in "Wain 
Grove" from her brother, William Wain, 1864; 

Ann Wain, b. Sept. 6, 1813, became the second wife of her cousin, Joseph Wain Ryers, 
former husband of her elder sister Susan, but they had no children ; they lived at 922 
Walnut St., Philadelphia, and at "Burholme," near Fox Chase, in co. of Philadelphia; 
by his will dated Dec. 24, 1866, probated Jan. 27, 1868, Joseph W. Ryers devised 
these two residences and all that they contained to his wife Ann, for life, and after 
her death, they, together with all the residue of his estate to go to his son Robert, 
in fee. 






WARNER FAMILY. 

John Warner, of Draycott, in the Parish of Blockley, Worcestershire, England, 
was of a family long seated in that locality, and was possibly the John Warner 
baptized at the Parish Church of Blockley, April 22, 1582, who was the son of 
Richard Warner. The register of Blockley Parish Church shows the baptism of 
six children of Richard Warner, but the record of that of the five eldest of them 
omits the name of the mother. The baptismal record of the youngest child, 
Ursula, gives the name of Richard Warner's wife Margaret, and as some years 
intervened, she was possibly a second wife. No record of the marriage of John 
Warner has been found, but the baptismal record of his children shows that his 
wife's name was likewise Margaret. 

The children of John and Margaret Warner, as shown by the records of Block- 
ley Parish Church, were as follows : 

Jane Warner, bap. Nov. 29, 1612; no further record; 

Mary Warner, bap. Nov. 29, 1613; no further record; 

Thomas Warner, bap. Oct. 30, 1616; probably the Thomas Warner who married Ursula 

. — , and had five children bap. at Blockley Parish Church, viz.: Thomas, Aug. 17, 

1651; Jane, March 27, 1653; John, June 17, 1655; Daniel, Sept. 5, 1658; and Isaac, 
March 2, 1661 ; 

Richard Warner, bap. Jan. 20, 1621 ; probably the Richard Warner who married Sarah 

, and had three children bap. at Blockley Parish Church, viz. : Richard, Jan. 23, 

1647; Sarah, Nov. 30, 1651 ; and Hannah, July 15, 1655; 

Robert Warner, bap. March 1, 1624; possibly the Robert Warner who married Ellenor 

, and had the following children bap. at Blockley Parish Church : Margaret, 

June 5, 1663; Mary, Dec. 26, 1663; and probably Anne, Sept. 6, 1665; mother's name 
not given ; 

William Warner (i), bap. July 8, 1627; came to America, probably in 1675; of whom 
presently; 

Edward Warner, bap. Nov. 3, 1629; probably the Edward Warner who married Ann 

, and had four children bap. at Blockley Parish Church, viz.: John, Sept. 21, 

1657; Edward, April 9, 1659; Anne, April 13, 1661; and Isaac, April 3, 1663. Edward 
and Ann Warner removed to Gloucestershire, became members of Society of Friends, 
and had three more children born there, viz.: James, iomo. (Dec.) 26, 1664; Mary, 
8mo. (Oct.) 28, 1666; and Elizabeth, 71110. (Sept.) 17, 1668. It seems likely that they 
were the Edward and "Annie" Warner, Friends, who subsequently resided in county 
Essex, and who had four children born there, viz.: Jacob, 31x10. (May) 8, 1670; Sarah, 
6mo. (Aug.) 9, 1672; Joseph, 31T10. (May) 17, 1674; and Hester, 6mo. (Aug.) 25, 1676. 
Some of Edward Warner's children probably came to Pa. late in eighteenth century. 
The name, Jacob Warner, appears in list of burials of persons, "not Friends," in the 
records of Phila. Monthly Meeting (Race street), under date of 4mo. (June) 16, 1717; 
and there is a tradition that William Roberts, of Merion and Blockley, m. (first) Eliz- 
abeth Warner, whom he met on shipboard while coming to America; 

John Warner, bap. July 26, 1632; no further record; 

Anthony Warner, bap. Jan. 1, 1634; no further record; 

Isaac Warner, bap. Aug. 22, 1636; doubtless d. before June 24, 1638, when a second Isaac 
was bap. ; 

Isaac Warner, bap. June 24, 1638; probably living at Draycott, Parish of Blockley, 
Worcestershire, England, Sept. 8, 1703, date of his brother William Warner's will, by 
terms of which he was to be paid "five Pounds Sterling money of England" by Will- 
iam's son, Robert Warner (5), of whom hereafter. 

Note. — Another Isaac Warner who came to America, had a survey of 400 acres of land, 
one-third in Chester county, Pa. (in that part which is now embraced within Bethel 
township, Delaware county), and two-thirds in New Castle county, 8mo. (Oct.) 28, 
1683 (identified in "Smith's Atlas of Delaware County," 1880). This was a rectangular 
tract lying lengthwise, northeast and southwest, crossed at Booth's Corners by the road 
to Naaman's Creek. Perhaps this was also the Isaac Warner whose name appeared 



WARNER 227 

on first general tax list for county of Philadelphia, Sept. 26, 1693, when he was assessed 
to pay a tax of 2 shillings 6 pence, on property valued at £30. Among the "Old 
Rights" papers in Land Office was No. 49, a warrant and return of survey for city 
lots, to Isaac Warner & Co., dated 2mo. (April) 26, 1690. This referred to a warrant 
dated 2mo. (April) 26, 1690, by virtue of which there was laid out by the Surveyor- 
General's order of 2mo. (April) 25, 1691, a lot on the west side of Strawberry Alley, 
Phila., the patent for which was issued Feb. 24, 1692-3, to Isaac Warner, and which he 
assigned to John White, wool-comber, March 2, of the latter year. This Isaac Warner, 
of Phila., was a currier by trade, while Isaac Warner, of Chester county, appears to 
have been a carpenter. 

The name of Isaac Warner, of Chester county, appears a number of times in the 
records of that county prior to 1698, in which year he and Joseph Holt were drowned, 
while coming in a boat from New Castle, and their bodies found on Tinicum Island. 
The Coroner's inquest, held 7mo. (Sept.) 23, 1698, is reported on the docket of Chester 
County Court, under date of 8mo. (Oct.) 4, same year, when the Court investigated 
the circumstances attending the finding of the bodies. Isaac Warner's name appears in 
the list of burials of persons, "not Friends," in the records of Phila. Monthly Meeting 
(Race street), 8mo. (Oct.) 9, 1698, and letters of administration on his estate were 
granted at Phila., Dec. 10, 1700, to Catherine Warner, his widow and relict. No will 
or administration of the Isaac Warner drowned in 1698 are on record in Chester 
county, and the delay in the appointment of the widow as administratrix may have 
been due to her removal to Phila., and also to the fact that Isaac Warner had a son 
who survived him nearly a year, as in the list of burials of persons, "not Friends," in 
the records of Phila. Monthly Meeting (Race street) appears the name of John War- 
ner, 6mo. (Aug.) 9, 1699, (son of) Isaac and Katherine. 

Isaac and Catherine Warner had a dau. Anne, m. at "Skool Creeke" Meeting House, 
4mo. (June) 6, 1695, James Thomas, of Merion, Phila. county. Anne was then of 
"Skookill Creek," same county, spinster. Catherine Warner and Isabell Thomas signed 
the marriage certificate just below the contracting parties, and among the other wit- 
nesses were John Warner, Isaac Warner, James Kite and a second Isaac Warner. 
James Thomas was a widower, having buried his first wife Margaret gmo. (Nov.) 2, 
1694. By his first marriage he had at least one son, Thomas, born 8mo. (Oct.) 28, 
1690; by his second wife Anne (Warner) he had a son Nathan, born 2mo. (April) 13, 
1696. 

William Warner, son of John and Margaret, was born at Draycott, Parish 
of Blockley, Worcestershire, England, and baptized in the Parish Church there 
July 8, 1627. The family tradition is that he "had been a captain under Oliver 
Cromwell, and had to leave his native land when the Protector died, which was in 
1658." This story was repeated to the late John Fanning Watson in June, 1833, 
by Mrs. Anne (Roberts) Warner, then about seventy-one years of age, and was 
committed to writing by him, but is not included in his published "Annals." She 
was widow of another and later William Warner whose great-grandfather Isaac 
Warner came to America with the first William Warner or about the same time 
and was one of his sons. There is certainly nothing unlikely in this tradition, as 
many officers under the Commonwealth are known to have come to America after 
the Restoration, and no trace of William Warner and of his children who came to 
America has been found in England subsequent to the middle of the seventeenth 
century. 

Thomas Allen Glenn, in his work "Merion in the Welsh Tract," states that "it 
seems apparent that William Warner settled first in New England, or at least 
remained there some time," and that "it may be presumed that he drifted into 
Pennsylvania by way of New Jersey." The suggestion has also been made that 
William Warner went from New England to the settlements on the Delaware by 
way of New York, with Sir Robert Carre's expedition, 1664, in which he may 
have obtained his military title, (if he had one). But none of the Warners in 
New England, so far as known, were from the county of Worcester, and no evi- 
dence has been produced to connect them with the Warners who came to New 
Jersey about the time of its first settlement by the English. 



228 WARNER 

The first English ship that brought permanent settlers to West Jersey was the 
"Joseph and Benjamin," Matthew Paine, master. This vessel landed passengers 
on the south side of the Asamohacking River, (now Salem Creek,) at a point 
three miles from its mouth, March 13, 1674-5. The month and day have been 
variously stated, partly owing to the confusion caused by the difference between 
the old style calendar then used by the English and the new style followed by the 
Dutch. The vessel was bound for Maryland. 

Major John Fenwick and others arrived at or near the same place, on the ship 
"Griffin," Robert Griffin, master, November 23, 1675, (Old Style,) and estab- 
lished there a town, which he called New Salem. Fenwick, in order to carry out 
his plans for a colony, had borrowed money of Edmund (or Edmond) Warner, 
citizen and poulterer, of London, and John Eldridge (or Edridge,) conveying to 
them the ten parts which he had drawn as his tenth interest in one-half of New 
Jersey, as security, with the right to sell lands therefrom for the satisfaction of his 
debts to them. Fenwick also conveyed lands, absolutely, to Edmund Warner. It 
is reasonable to suppose that Edmund Warner sought to interest his wealthiest 
and most influential relatives in his ventures in the New World, and that he may 
have solicited the active participation of the Warners of the Parish of Blockley in 
the settlement of Fenwick's Colony, if they were related to him, — circumstances 
concerning which we are without information. 

In any event it seems probable that William Warner, his wife Anne, his chil- 
dren John, William, Mary, Robert and Isaac, and several other members of the 
Warner family of Draycott, Worcestershire, England, arrived at the Delaware 
River plantations during the summer or autumn of 1675, either in the first 
English ship that brought permanent settlers to West Jersey, or with Fenwick, or 
several months later, when the "Griffin" stopped at New Salem a second time, it is 
said, with emigrants, after having returned to England, and while on a voyage to 
Maryland. For before April 1, 1677, William Warner's son William was a land- 
owner in West Jersey, as will appear hereafter, and there is no record of any 
vessel having arrived within the capes after the "Griffin," until August, 1677, 
when the "Kent" came with companies of Quakers from London and Yorkshire. 
The improbability that any English family would have emigrated for the special 
purpose of settling among the Swedes or Dutch, adds force to the presumption 
that the Warners did not come earlier than 1675 ; and in the absence of good evi- 
dence to the contrary it may be assumed that they arrived in West Jersey in that 
year. 

Many of those who originally intended to take up land in the vicinity of New 
Salem went elsewhere, owing to the unsatisfactory state of affairs in Fenwick's 
colony, particularly as affecting surveys and titles to land. Edmund Warner and 
his associates had become involved in a dispute with Fenwick, about the time of 
the latter's departure from England, and Edmund Andros, Governor of New 
York, caused the Proprietor to be thrown into prison late in 1676, where he 
remained until August, 1677. Assuming that William Warner originally intended 
to settle in Fenwick's colony, the conditions which existed at New Salem, and the 
troubles which others were having there, doubtless caused him to change his plans 
and seek a residence free from turmoil and uncertainty, on the west side of the 
river. 

The name William Warner appears attached to "The Concessions and Agree- 



WARNER 



229 



ments of the Proprietors, Freeholders and Inhabitants of the Province of West 
New Jersey, in America," a document executed in London, March 3, 1676-7, and 
subsequently brought to West Jersey and circulated for additional signatures. 
Perhaps this W T illiam Warner was the William Warner, cordwainer and planter, 
of Alloway's Creek and elsewhere in Salem county, whose wife was Jane, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Curtice, of Crewkerne, county of Somerset, England, and who had 
a son Simon Warner, — a name found also among the Warners of the Parish of 
Blockley. 

It may be presumed that the Warners remained in West Jersey, though prob- 
ably not in Fenwick's colony, at least until September, 1677, as their names are 
not on the list of taxables who were within the jurisdiction of the Upland Court 
at that time. There is no mention of any of them on the west side of the river, 
in any known extant records, until the June term of the Upland Court, 1678, 
when "William Warner desiering of the Court a grant to take up one hundered 
acres of Land, The Court granted y e same hee seating & Improoveing y e same 
according to the Regulacons of his hono 1 " the governo r ;". The date of this grant 
has been frequently erroneously stated as April 3, 1678. The mistake arose by the 
loss of four pages of the original docket covering the end of the April term and 
the beginning of the June term, so that in the printed record all appears to be the 
April proceedings, but internal evidence shows that the part after the hiatus 
belonged to the June proceedings, though the exact day is uncertain. 

At a court held March 10, 1679-80, "Upon the Peticon of william warner 
senior ; The Court doe grant and permitt him to take up on the west syde of this 
River w. th in the Limits of this Court, Twoo hundered acres of Land, w ch : here- 
tofore hath not ben granted taken up or improved : Provyded the s. d Peticon r : 
makes p r sent Settlement & Improovement thereof according to Lawe Regulacons 
and orders ;". 

The statement of some writers that the first of these grants was located on the 
west side of the Schuylkill River (and formed part of the plantation called Block- 
ley) is not warranted by the record. Nor was the second one any more certainly 
in that place ; "the west syde of this River" referred to the Delaware ; the grants 
were not for lands already seated, but only conferred the right to take up so much 
land, the selection of site and survey to be made later. Besides, it is very probable 
that William Warner never located any tracts under the first of these grants, for 
at a Court held November 12, 1678, Gov. Andros's order was proclaimed declar- 
ing that those who had obtained grants and not yet seated and improved the lands 
should forfeit their rights. 

The statement that William Warner was the first English settler on Pennsyl- 
vania soil is not substantiated by the above facts. There were many other English- 
men living there before Warner appeared at all. Particularly erroneous is the 
statement of Watson, who in his "Annals of Philadelphia," speaks of Warner's 
settlement, but the date he gives is obviously too early, and the place of actual 
settlement is too far out, though the place mentioned was within Warner's pur- 
chase. "But the chief pioneer must have been Warner, who, as early as the year 
1658, had the hardihood to locate and settle the place, now Warner's Willow 
Grove, on the north side of the Lancaster Road, two miles from the city bridge." 
But as we have seen, Warner's first grant was obtained in 1678, a date easily con- 
fused with 1658 on account of the family tradition. Again, we know that War- 



230 WARNER 

ner's house was only a few hundred feet back from the river, just north of the 
present Girard avenue, while the spot indicated by Watson was the residence of a 
much later Warner, and was no doubt the house marked "Warner" on Ellet's map 
of 1839, on the southwest side of Lancaster Road, about half a mile east of Hes- 
tonville, and so about two miles from Market street bridge, the "city bridge" of 
Watson. 

The estate which Warner called Blockley was part of a large purchase made by 
him and others direct from the Indians, and not obtained by grant from the Up- 
land Court, though the Court had to be appealed to for collection of some of the 
purchase money. On June 14, 1681, the Court, upon the request of William War- 
ner and William Orian, ordered that the several people who held lands which the 
petitioners had bought of the Indians, lying on the Schuylkill, repay to the petitioners 
their proportion of the 335 guilders which Warner and Orian had paid for the 
whole ; the following persons holding the lands within the limits of the purchase : 
Andries Inckoren, 200 acres ; Andries Homman, 200 acres ; Pelle Laersen alias 
Put Pelle, 100 acres ; Peter Erikson, 200 acres ; William Warner, 100 acres ; Will- 
iam Orian, 100 acres ; John Booles and John Schoeten, 400 acres ; and Swen Lom, 
300 acres; making in all 1600 acres. Reed, in the Explanation to his Map (Phila- 
delphia, 1774,), calculated the amount of the "Swedes' land" actually laid out on 
the west side of the Schuylkill by about 1683 to have been 1506 acres. Of the 
original purchase from the Indians, Warner's share was only 100 acres, as above 
recited, but it will be seen that he and his family eventually obtained much more 
than this, his main plantation on the river having been 300 acres in extent, and his 
lands further inland over 200, while his son John had 100 acres on the river, all 
shown on Reed's Map as having been within this purchase. This may be ex- 
plained by the very likely supposition that some of the original subscribers did not 
pay their proportion, and that Warner and his son John took up their shares. It 
was land so obtained that constituted the estate Warner called Blockley, by patent 
of 1702 stated to be about 300 acres. This was confirmed to Warner by Penn's 
Commissioners of Property, at whose meeting i2mo. (February) 23, 1701 (o. s.), 
a warrant was signed for him, it being shown that he had settled on a tract of land 
on the Schuylkill before the grant of the Province (to Penn), which tract was re- 
puted 300 acres, and he craving a resurvey so that if it prove deficient it may be 
made out of the adjoining, according to the Proprietor's promise. At the meeting 
3mo. (May) 4, 1702, William Warner, having obtained a resurvey, and survey of 
the deficiency, of 300 acres of land in Blockley township, produced a return of it, 
and a patent for it was granted him, which was signed 3mo. (May) 19, 1702. 

Among the Old Rights papers in the Land Office were : No. 215, a warrant for 
William Warner for 200 acres, dated 4mo. (June) 19, 1684; No. 47, a return of 
200 acres of his land, dated July 12, 1684; and No. 46, a description of his 288 
acres in Philadelphia county, not dated. The latter is undoubtedly his Blockley 
estate, showing a deficiency of 12 acres; the other two papers were doubtless for 
the same land, the 200 acres being more or less, as shown by a recital from the 
patent (the patent itself not being extant so far as known), in a deed from Will- 
iam Warner, grandson of the original William and wife, to their son Isaac, dated 
January 17, 1758, to the effect that the Commissioners of Property by patent of 
May 18, 1702, had granted to William Warner, of Blockley township, 300 acres in 
said township, in two pieces, one of about 200 acres more or less, and the other of 



WARNER 231 

12 acres and 40 perches. (The 200 acres more or less should have been 288 to 
make up 300 acres). 

The value of William Warner's lands beyond Schuylkill, September 26, 1693, 
the date of the first general tax list for the county of Philadelphia, was £120, 
according to the report of the Assessor, Thomas Paschall, Junior. On this the tax 
was 10 shillings. As John Warner's lands were valued at £40, in the same list, it 
is evident that he held one-third as much land in value, and doubtless in extent, as 
William. John's tax was 3 shillings, 4 pence. 

By his will, William Warner, besides the Blockley estate proper, devised 200 
acres of "backward land" (also mentioned in the inventory), and an uncertain 
quantity of meadow attached to it, which lay to the northwest of the main planta- 
tion, but not adjoining, which included the site of Hestonville ; and another 100 
acres where his son-in-law James Kite lived, presumably adjoining the home- 
stead. Whether some of these were taken up under the old grants from the Up- 
land Court, or were later purchased from previous settlers, remains unknown, as 
deeds or patents for them are missing. The "backward land" is stated in a deed 
of James Kite to Isaac Warner, January 18, 1717 (o. s.), to have been 269 acres. 

Warner's estate, including Blockley, stretched from the Schuylkill River half 
way to Cobb's Creek, some distance north of Haverford Road (now Haverford 
avenue) and on both sides of Lancaster avenue and of the main line of the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad, including a great part of Blockley township, now the northern 
part of West Philadelphia (24th and 34th Wards). It embraced the site of the 
old village of Hestonville, situated around 52nd street where it is crossed by Lan- 
caster avenue. Blockley township, originally laid out by another name, was soon 
renamed after Warner's plantation. 

On June 14, 1681 (the same day the payment for the Indian lands was ordered), 
the Upland Court granted to the following persons the quantity of land men- 
tioned : Reynier Petersen, 200 acres ; Andries Boon, 200 acres, William Warner, 
Senior, 400 acres ; Richard Tucker, 100 acres, Otto Ernest Koch, 400 acres, Lionel 
Brittain, 200 acres ; and Jan Claassen, 200 acres. These were separate grants, and 
not necessarily all in any one locality. Reynier Petersen had 125 acres, partly in 
Chester and partly in New Castle county, July 26, 1695 ; Andries Swanson Boon 
had in 1688 a tract in Darby of 250 acres, laid out for Andries Boon as 200 acres 
in 1680, and he and Otto Ernest Koch had many separate tracts in Darby and 
Kingsessing by 1688; Richard Tucker had a tract on both sides of Darby Creek 
surveyed in 1690; but which of these came under the above grants is now uncer- 
tain. Lionel Brittain and Jan Claassen located theirs in Bucks county. William 
Warner probably sold his rights under this grant, as none of his known holdings 
can be traced to it. 

William Warner was Under Sheriff (or as now called, Deputy Sheriff) , of the 
county of Upland in 1679 and 1680, probably succeeding Michael Yzard, who was 
spoken of as "Late undersherrife" on November 25, 1679. From the fact that he 
was then mentioned simply as William Warner, and elsewhere as William War- 
ner, "Senior," some writers have inferred that it was his son William who was 
Under Sheriff, but such was not the case, as the son resided in Gloucester county, 
New Jersey ; moreover, the "Senior" was omitted in some other places. 

It was when William Markham assumed the government as Penn's Deputy 
Governor that Warner became most prominent politically. Arriving probably 



232 WARNER 

late in June, 1681, Markham proceeded to appoint Council to assist him in admin- 
istering the affairs of the newly established Province of Pennsylvania ; and of the 
nine members so chosen, who took the oath of office August 3, 1681, William War- 
ner was one. A fac-simile of the oath with signatures attached, is to be found in 
the edition of the "Duke of York's Laws," published by the State of Pennsyl- 
vania, 1879. The capital of the Province was established at Upland, its name 
being changed to Chester, and on September 13, 1681, Markham reorganized the 
Upland Court, as the Chester Court, by commissioning a new set of Justices. 
William Warner was one of these. He was also a member of the second Pro- 
vincial Assembly, which met at Philadelphia March 10, 1683-4. 

William Warner was living on his plantation west of the Schuylkill River at 
least as early as 6mO'. (August) 24, 1684, when he was one of the subscribing wit- 
nesses at the marriage of Paul Saunders and Edith Hand, which was under care 
of Haverford (now Radnor) Monthly Meeting. The region was then covered by 
a stately forest, the growth of centuries, and "great quantities of rabbits, squirrels, 
pheasants, partridges, and others of the same kind" continued to infest the dense 
wilds for many years thereafter. In the midst of these primitive surroundings 
Warner resided until his death, which occurred probably early in October, 1706. 
His house, the first, perhaps, erected west of the Schuylkill, was situated a short 
distance north of Girard avenue, in that portion of the West Park which is called 
"Eglesfeld." Near by was the landing place from which, according to a family 
tradition, he rowed out in his boat with his guns, to a rock near the bank of the 
river, where he fished and shot ducks, — his large dog usually accompanying him 
and recovering the birds. Warner's Rock, the point alluded to, is no longer visible 
since the building of the dam at Fair Mount. 

By his will, dated September 8, 1703, proved at Philadelphia October 18, 1706, 
William Warner left a life interest in half the Blockley estate to his wife Anne, 
also a life interest in half of his "backward meadow," and some personal estate; 
to his son John Warner he left 100 acres of his "backward land" and the half of 
the meadow belonging to said "backward land" (that is, to the whole of it, not half 
of the 100 acres only), also 20 pounds and the use of some implements, etc. ; to his 
son Isaac Warner, 50 acres of "backward land" without any meadow (all the 
meadow being disposed of above), also half the plantation (Blockley), and on his 
mother's death the balance of the plantation and of the meadow left to her above, 
at Isaac's death all these to go to Isaac's eldest son ; to Isaac also, some personal 
estate, and the use of some implements ; to his son William Warner, 10 pounds 
and an annual allowance for eight years, of three bushels of wheat and three of 
rye ; to his son-in-law James Kite, 50 acres of "backward land" without any 
meadow, and 100 acres where Kite then dwelt, for life, and after his decease to 
whichever of his sons — James or Abraham — he should nominate (this land having 
been on the Schuylkill south of and adjoining the Blockley estate) ; to his son Rob- 
ert Warner, two houses in Draycott, Worcestershire, England, he paying the 
testator's brother Isaac Warner "five Pounds Sterling money of England ;" and he 
ordained his wife Anne and son Isaac executrix and executor. Thus the principal 
plantation, Blockley, was left a life interest, half of it to his wife Anne and half 
to his son Isaac, and after his wife's decease, a life interest in the whole to his son 
Isaac, the whole eventually to descend to his grandson, the eldest son of Isaac 
(who was William Warner, the "Baron," of whom hereafter). 



WARNER 233 

According to the records of Blockley Parish Church, "William Warner and 
Mary George were married on the 6th of November, 1642 ;" and if William, son 
of John and Margaret Warner, was not an infant at the time of his baptism, July 
8, 1627, he may have been the William who was Mary George's husband, in which 
case she was his first wife, as the maiden name of William Warner's wife who 
survived him was Anne Dide (or Dyde). 

William and Mary (George) Warner had six children baptized at Blockley 
Parish Church, as follows : 

Jane Warner, bap. July 16, 1643; 
Henrie Warner, bap. April 8, 1646; 
John Warner, bap. March 16, 1646-7; 
Samuel Warner, bap. Jan. 20, 1650-51; 
William Warner, bap. Oct. 9, 1653; 
Alice Warner, bap. Dec. 23, 1657. 

William and Anne (Dide) Warner were probably Puritans or Independents 
for a time, if he was in the Parliamentary Army ; but some of his children married 
Quakers, and later generations were mostly members of the Society of Friends. 
William Warner 1 s children mentioned in his will were: — 

John Warner, m. Anne Campden; of whom presently; 

William Warner, m. Christian ; of whom hereafter: 

Mary Warner, m. James Kite; of whom hereafter; 

Robert Warner, probably m. Sarah ; of whom hereafter; 

Isaac Warner, m. Anne Craven; of whom hereafter. 

According to a tradition recorded by one of his descendants, John Warner (2) 
was born in 1649. If this statement is correct, Anne Dide was probably the only wife 
of his father William Warner (1), but if John was the John Warner baptized in 
1646, Mary George was the mother of John and William, and possibly of Mary 
and Robert, while Anne Dide was probably the mother of Isaac, who was the most 
favored child in his father's will. 

Note. — The Warners of the Parish of Blockley, Worcestershire, England, were not the 
only persons bearing the Warner name who settled in Philadelphia at an early period, as 
shown by the following facts : 

Edmund (or Edmond) Warner, citizen and poulterer of London, whose transactions 
with Major John Fenwick and possible relationship to the Warners of Blockley have been 
mentioned previously, married, gmo. (November) 14, 1671, Rachel Middleton, at Peel Monthly 
Meeting, according to Friends' records preserved at Devonshire House, London. He had a 
warrant for a city lot in Philadelphia, 31310. (May) 29, 1683, but died in less than a year 
thereafter, as letters of administration on his estate were granted at Philadelphia to Silas 
Crispin, i2mo (February) 7, 1683-4. About a year later, iomo. (December) 2, 1684, the 
Philadelphia Monthly Meeting took under consideration the business of Edmund Warner's 
widow, and recommended that William Clark, William Berry and William Southerby be 
appointed for administrators, "that the said widow and children may not suffer for want of 
Relief, and her Estate run to Ruin for want of looking after." On the 19th of the same 
month, William Bury, "desiering to take out Letters of Administracon upon the estate of 
Edmond Warner deceased As also by the approbation and appointment of friends of Phila- 
delphia," was granted letters of administration on his estate by William Clark, Deputy 
Register of the counties of Sussex and Kent, in Delaware. Letters of administration on 
Edmund Warner's estate in New Jersey were granted April 6, 1688, to James Nevill, as 
attorney of Nathaniel Lowe, of the Parish of St. James, "Clarbonwell" (Clerkenwell), 
county of Middlesex, England, innholder, jointly with whom "Edmund Warner late of the 
P'vince of Pennsiluania deceased" was bound for the payment of £50 to Thomas Arrow- 
smith, of the Parish of Northweald Bassett, county of Essex, England, which the latter had 
been paid by Nathaniel Lowe as security for Edmund Warner. Rachel, widow of Edmund 



234 WARNER 

Warner, married (second) Henry Jones, of Philadelphia, merchant, imo. (March) 8, 1687. 
Nothing is known of the descendants of Edmund and Rachel (Middleton) Warner, except 
that they had a son Edmund Warner buried 6mo. (August) 29, 1694, according to the records 
of Philadelphia Monthly Meeting (Race street). 

Several other families of Warners settled in Philadelphia early in the eighteenth century, 
one from Bristol, Gloucestershire, England ; one from Maryland, and one from Germany, 
which got the name by adopting it. 

John Warner, eldest son of William Warner, was born in England, in 1649, 
according to a family tradition, in which case Anne Dide (or Dyde) was probably 
his mother; but if he was the John Warner who was baptized at Blockley Parish 
Church March 16, 1646 (o. s.), his mother's maiden name was Mary George, as 
heretofore shown. He came to America in 1675, probably, with his father and 
other relatives, and located land on the west side of the Schuylkill River, above 
his father's Blockley estate, and separated from it by William Orian's tract. This 
was no doubt part of the purchase of his father and others from the Indians in 
1 68 1, which John obtained by paying for an unpaid interest, though there are no 
known papers extant which show this to be a fact. John Warner's tract should 
have been 100 acres, but the return of survey quoted in the "Explanation to 
Reed's Map" gave it as 93 acres, and the tract as shown on Reed's Map is called 
94 acres. On the same map is shown, in his name, a smaller tract, to the north of, 
but not directly adjoining, the western part of this; no quantity given, but appar- 
ently about 20 acres. John Warner afterwards acquired William Orian's tract of 
about 94 acres between his own land and his father's estate of Blockley. In the 
Schuylkill River, on the line between John Warner and William Orian, was an 
island of 12 acres (the island now just below the Belmont Water Works), belong- 
ing half to each, making up their quota of 100 acres each. John Warner acquired 
Orian's share in the island also. He had thus 200 acres on the Schuylkill next 
above the Blockley plantation. His father also left him 100 acres of his "back- 
ward land" (described above) near Hestonville, with the proportional share of 
meadow which belonged to it, in all about 135 acres. 

John Warner was a member of Provincial Assembly, 1713-14-15. He resided 
on his plantation on the Schuylkill until his death, living in the style of a gentle- 
man of landed estate of that time ; and he built there a large log house which con- 
tinued in the possession of his descendants until 1799, in which year it was torn 
down by his grandson Col. Edward Warner Heston. The massive timbers were 
then found in such an excellent state of preservation, that Col. Heston utilized 
them in the construction of his own house the following year, and they were still 
in fair condition when this building was demolished, 1901. 

John Warner died 2mo. (April) 12, 1717. By his will, dated September 17, 
1716, proved May 20, 1717, he directed his plantation to be divided equally be- 
tween his sons William Warner and Isaac Warner ; to his son John Warner he 
left the 100 acres of "Back Land where he now lives, with all the meadow and 
wood" belonging to it (which John Warner, Senior, inherited from his father 
William Warner), John paying 10 pounds to the testator's daughter "Margaret 
Roades ;" to his daughters, Mary Warner, Esther Warner, Sarah Warner and 
Jane Warner, and his son Joseph Warner, all stocks on the plantation, household 
goods, etc. ; and the executors were his "son Swen Warner," John Warner and 
Mary Warner. It has long been taken for granted that this "son Swen Warner" 
was John Warner's eldest son, already provided for, and so not otherwise men- 



WARNER 235 

tioned in his will, and this has been a source of confusion in accounts of the fam- 
ily, but it is now known that he was not a son but a son-in-law, and also a nephew, 
having been the husband of John Warner's daughter Esther, and the son of John 
Warner's brother, William Warner, of Gloucester county, New Jersey. 

John Warner married Anne Campden. Her surname suggests that her family 
was of Chipping-Campden, where some of the Warners were prominent, a town 
situated about three miles beyond the limits of the Parish of Blockley. According 
to the records of Philadelphia Monthly Meeting (Race street) she was buried 
5mo. (July) 19, 1715. 

Issue of John and Anne (Campden) Warner: — 

Edward Warner, b. 8mo. (Oct.) 29, 1680, according to records of Haverford (now 
Radnor) Monthly Meeting, which give the dates of birth of four eldest children of 
John and Anne Warner; probably the Edward Warner who was a witness to John 
Warner's will Sept. 17, 1716, though not otherwise mentioned in it, possibly for the 
reason that, as his eldest son, he had already been provided for. Presumed to have d. 
before Feb. 15, 1723 (o. s.), as in a deed of that date (Phila., Book H, 15, page 190), 
from his uncle Isaac Warner, and Abraham Kite, to his brother John Warner, of 
whom hereafter; John Warner is described as eldest son of John Warner, eldest son of 
William Warner (doubtless meaning eldest living son). 

If evidence furnished by the above-mentioned deed is to be accepted as conclusive, 
this Edward Warner could not have been the Edward Warner who was "living at 
James Poultis's in the Second street in Philadelphia" in July, 1723, who was after- 
wards one of the earliest elected members of the Carpenters' Co., and member of 
Provincial Assembly continuously for nineteen years, 1735-1754 (see The Pennsylvania 
Magazine of History and Biography, vol. i., pp. 358-9) ; 

Margaret Warner, b. imo. (March) 23, 1683-4; m. Jacob Rhoads, b. Feb. 16, 1670-71, son 
of John and Elizabeth Rhoads, and had five children, viz. : Jacob ; Margaret, d. /mo. 
(Sept.) 25, 1741; Abraham, b. about 1706, d. 1746, m. 7mo. (Sept.) 24, 1733, Eleanor, 
b. 8mo. (Oct.) 7, 1708, dau. of John and Hannah Rees; Isaac; Anne, m. Nov. 24, 1729, 
William, son of William Coulston, of Plymouth Meeting. Among the living descend- 
ants of Abraham and Eleanor (Rees) Rhoads are Charles Woods Coulston, Esq., and 
Samuel Castner, Jr., of Phila.; 

Mary Warner, b. iomo. (Dec.) 3, 1684; unm. in 1716; 

Esther Warner, b. 6mo. (Aug.) 18, 1686; m. her first cousin, Swen Warner, son of her 
uncle William Warner, of Gloucester county, N. J.; see forward; 

Sarah Warner, b. 1688; unm. in 1716; 

John Warner, b. 9mo. (Nov.) 26, 1689, according to a pedigree compiled by Silas Warner, 
of Harford county, Maryland, in which all the children of John and Anne Warner are 
mentioned, except Edward. This would make John the eldest son, agreeing with the 
deed of 1723, previously cited; but as has been shown, he was not the eldest son; see 
Edward Warner. 

John Warner m. 8mo. (Oct.) 20, 1715, Mary, b. i2mo. (Feb.) 12, 1694-5, d. imo. 
(March) 11, 1782-3, dau. of John Kirk, of Darby township, Chester county, Pa., 
who m. Joan, of the same place, dau. of Peter Elliott. He was buried Qmo. (Nov.) 19, 
1748, in Friends' Grave Yard, at Merion Meeting House, and letters of administration 
on his estate were granted at Phila., Nov. 26, of same year, to his widow Mary and 
Jacob Heston. 

John and Mary (Kirk) Warner had eight children, as follows: Mary, m. iimo. 
(Jan.) 11, 1739-40, Jacob Heston, of Wrightstown, Bucks county, Pa., b. May 20, 1713, 
son of Zebulon and Dorothy Heston, and their son Edward Warner Heston was 
Lieutenant-Colonel in the Revolution and founder of the ancient village of Heston- 
ville, and d. in 1824, aged 78 years ; Edward, probably the Edward Warner buried 9mo. 
(Nov.) 11, 1749, in Friends' Grave Yard, at Merion Meeting House; Sarah, m. Thomas 
Pollin; Elizabeth; Esther, m. iomo. (Dec.) 7, 1748, Joseph Lacey, of Buckingham, 
Bucks county, Pa.; Joseph, m. Charity Moore; Rachel, m. iomo. (Dec.) 14, 1750, 
Thomas Williams, son of Thomas and Mary (Reed) Williams; and Benjamin, m. 
(first) Sarah Ely, (second) Sarah Terry, (third) Ellen Holland; 

William Warner, b. 1694; 

Isaac Warner, b. 1696; m. by Friends' authorization, dated i2mo. (Feb.) 24, 1715-16, 
Veronica de la Plaine Cassell; d. 8mo. (Oct.) 25, 1748. Letters of administration on 
his estate were granted at Phila. to his widow Veronica Warner, Nov. 21, 1748; she d. 
May 2, 1769, aged 71 years. 

Isaac and Veronica (Cassell) Warner had ten children, viz. : John, m. Sarah , 

who after his death (which occurred in 1749, leaving children Jacob, Arnold, Susanna 



236 WARMER 

and Jane) m. (second) gmo. (Nov.) 9, 1750, at Goshen Meeting, Samuel, son of 
Thomas Hall, of Willistown; Arnold, m. Nov. 10, 1753, Margery Hall; Susanna, by 
Pa. license dated July 13, 1748, m. James Skerrett; Anne, m. 3mo. (May) 26, 1741, at 
Phila. Monthly Meeting, Thomas Tilbury, of Wissahickon, son of Thomas Tilbury, of 
the Parish of Garlick Hill, London, England, then deceased ; Jane, m. Jan. 24, 1753, 
Jacob Widdows (or Widdos); Elizabeth, m. Joab Walker; Lydia ; Isaac; Hannah, d. 
at the age of 9 years; and Margaret, d. young; 

Jane Warner, b. 1698; unm. in 1716; 

Joseph Warner, b. 2mo. (April) 15, 1701, d. 1746; m. 2mo. (April) 16, 1723, Agnes 
Croasdale; settled in Wrightstown township, Bucks county, Pa., and was founder of 
Warner family of that county Joseph and Agnes (Croasdale) Warner had nine 
children, as follows: John, b. i2mo. (Feb.) 16, 1723-4; Mary, b. nmo. (Jan.) 28, 
1725-6; Joseph, b. nmo. (Jan.) 10, 1727-8; Croasdale, b. i2mo. (Feb.) 5, 1729-30; Ruth, 
b. 8mo. (Oct.) 8, 1732; Abraham, b. 7mo. (Sept.) 14, 1735; Sarah, b. nmo. (Jan.) 7, 
1737-8; Nancy, b. 91110. (Nov.) 28, 1741, d. Nov. 28, 1829; and Thomas, b. iomo. (Dec.) 
6, 1746, d. Feb. 19, 1821. 

William Warner, son of William Warner, was possibly the William Warner 
whose mother's maiden name was Mary George, and who was baptized at Block- 
ley Parish Church October 9, 1653, as already stated ; but it seems more likely that 
his mother was Anne Dide (or Dyde) or an earlier wife of his father of whom we 
have no knowledge. In any event he was born in England, doubtless before 1656, 
and came to America, probably in 1675 with his father and other relatives. He 
was a landowner in West Jersey at least as early as April 1, 1677, as evidenced by 
a receipt of that date from Thomas Pearson and Joseph Helmsley, for the pur- 
chase money. On March 24, 1681-2, William Warner, who was then of "Red- 
hooke," West Jersey, gave a memorandum of deed for 1-24 share in the First 
Tenth, to William Beard of Mansfield, this being part of the share bought of 
Pearson and Helmsley. 

In November, 1683, Henry Tradway and William Warner had a return of 
survey for 300 acres at "Redbanck alias Bachelours Banck" on the Delaware 
River, from the mouth of Long Harries Creek to Richard Lawrence's; and by 
deed of March 2, 1685-6 Thomas Matthews conveyed to William Warner 400 
acres on the northeast side of Woodbury Creek, in the Fourth Tenth, part of 
Matthews' y% share which he purchased November 14 and 15, 1681, of Edward 
Byllinge and his trustees. 

Red Bank appears to have been divided into upper Red Bank and lower Red 
Bank. It was at the latter place that Tradway and Warner settled in 1683. Long 
Harries Creek was then "vulgarly called Redbank Creek," but soon came to be 
known as Woodbury Creek, the name which it now bears. 

By deed of April 24, 1697, John Healy, "late of Pennsylvania, now of Ireland, 
mariner," by his attorneys Charles Saunders and John Duplouvy of Philadelphia, 
sold William Warner 484 acres on Woodbury Creek, bought of John Test, June 
3, 1693. But Warner soon parted with all but 100 acres of this tract, conveying 
180 acres of it to James Ward, April 10, 1698, and 204 acres of it to John Tatem 
by deed of December 1, 1699. 

May 25, 1696, William Warner, Thomas Gardiner, of Grovely, Esq., and 
Joshua Lord, by deed of John Wood, of Woodbury Creek, were conveyed a lot, 
100 by 70 feet, near John Wood's dwelling place, to be used as a graveyard by the 
inhabitants of the county between Gloucester River and Great Mantus Creek. 

William Warner was a member of Provincial Assembly from the Fourth Tenth, 
with Peter Dalboe, May and November, 1685 ; he was High Sheriff of Gloucester 
county, May, 1697, and December, 1699; and Justice, May, 1700, and May, 1701. 



WARNER 237 

The plantation which Warner had on Woodbury Creek was conveniently acces- 
sible from the Schuylkill, by means of small boats, and it may be taken for 
granted that there was much visiting, back and forth, between the Warners of 
Blockley township, Pennsylvania, and their kindred in Gloucester county, New 
Jersey. In the will of William Warner of Philadelphia, dated 1703, proved 1706, 
there is the following reference to his son William : "I give and bequeath unto 
my son, William Warner the sum of ten Pounds to be paid to him by my Execu- 
tors within one year after my decease ; as also, six bushels of corn each year, for 
eight years, next after my decease, to wit, three bushels of wheat and three of 
Rye by my executors." The word "corn" is still generally applied to wheat, rye, 
oats and barley, in England. 

William Warner died about February 16, 1713-14, on which date he was owed 
debts amounting to £126. 10.03, according to the inventory of his personal estate,, 
appraised February 20, 1713-14, by John Ladd, Henry Tredaway (or Tradway) 
and Richard Bull. This sum included "Dubious Debts" amounting to £37.08.05. 
His goods and chattels and other personal property, were valued at £266.04.00, 
in addition, making his entire personal estate £392.14.03, as shown by the inven- 
tory, which was certified by the executors, June 16, 1714. This included a white 
servant, Robert Downey, £15., and a negro woman called Ann, £40.10.00. 

In his will, dated December 10, 1712, proved June 18, 1714, William Warner 
left legacies to Ann Hartman, widow, William Tatem, Robert Lord, George 
Ward, and Nathaniel Chew, "and to my son William Six Shillings," and 
bequeathed the bulk of his estate to his wife Christian, and children Swen, Isaac, 
Hannah and Jacob. The executors were his son Swen, wife Christian, Thomas 
Nixon and Joshua Lord, and the witnesses were Jacob Willis, Elias Rambo and 
James Whiteall. 

Though William Warner's wife is called Christian in his will, her name was 
doubtless Christina, as it is known that she was of Swedish descent or birth. 
She was possibly a daughter of Lieut. Swen Schute (or Swann Skuuta), who 
emigrated to New Sweden with one of the first five Swedish expeditions, and was 
the officer in command at Fort Elssborgh when John Printz, the Governor, made 
his second report, dated at Christina, June 20, 1644, and who subsequently took 
an important part in the affairs of the colony. In recognition of his services to 
the crown he was granted lands by Queen Christina, August 20, 1653. These 
were located on the west bank of the Delaware, and extended some distance up 
the Schuylkill River and Darby Creek, and were almost opposite Red Hook, West 
New Jersey, where William Warner settled, but they were a short distance 
further up the Delaware. If Swen Schute settled upon this tract, he and his 
family were the first white inhabitants of any portion of the site of Philadelphia, 
as the Dutch grant to the Swansons, at Wickaco, was not made until more than 
ten years later. The surname of Swen Schute's wife was Christina, it is believed, 
and by her he had an eldest son Swen Schute, born 1653 ; a second son John 
Schute, born September 4, 1654, of "Nitapkung" on the Schuylkill River, who 

married Armgott , and had a daughter Christina Schute, born September 

4, 1687, wrj o married John Johnson of Philadelphia county; and a daughter 
Magdalen Schute, born March 25, 1660, who married Peter, son of Peter Gun- 
nersonn Rambo. Swen and Christina Schute probably had several other children, 
and it is presumed that one of these, an eldest daughter, Christina Schute, named 



238 WARNER 

after her mother and also in honor of the Queen of Sweden, was the wife of 
William Warner. 

The late John Clement, in his "Sketches of the First Emigrant Settlers in 
Newton Township, Old Gloucester County, West New Jersey," (page 329,) 
states that Walla Swanson of Wickaco in his will dated 1692 gave lands about 
the mouth of Woodbury Creek to his children, among them "Mary, wife of 
William Warner ;" but the authorities quoted by Clement fail to support his 
assertion that William Warner had a wife named Mary. This mistake probably 
arose from Clement's having adopted the very likely supposition that William 
Warner's son Swen Warner derived his Christian name from his mother's family 
name, and the circumstances that Walla Swanson, who had a brother Swan 
Swanson, had 200 acres near Warner's plantation. It is now known, however, 
that Walla Swanson's daughter Mary died in her minority, doubtless unmarried, 
whereupon her share of a tract of land in Philadelphia, being an interest which 
she inherited under her father's will, became vested in her surviving brothers and 
sisters, as recited in certain deeds dated April 21 and 26, 1709. (Philadelphia 
Deed Book E 5, pages 346 and 349, mentioned in the Brief of Title to the Old 
Navy Yard.) 

Among William Warner's neighbors was Michael Laican, who had a daughter 
Christina, born February 17, 1684, (O. S.,) whom he called Christian in his will 
dated August 17, 1703, proved September 24, 1707. Another daughter was 
Yearteo (Gertrude) Cock, born December 16, 1675. The inventory of Laican's 
personal property was made by Peeter Cock and William Warner, November 17, 
1704, and there may have been some connection among these families. Michael 

Laican was born in Sweden in 1644, and married in 1670, Helena , who 

was born in 1650. He was a son of Nils Laican, of Sweden, who possibly emi- 
grated to New Sweden with his sons in 1654 or 1656. The names Nicholas 
Laycon, Widdow Laycon and Mickall-Laycon are in the list of persons who owed 
debts to William Warner at the time of his decease. The name Laican or Laycon 
would have been Nilsson had the Swedish custom been followed of making the 
Christian name of the father the surname of his children. 

Christina Laican was unmarried when her father made his will in 1703, and 
it is highly improbable that she subsequently became the wife of William Warner. 
She certainly was not the mother of his eldest children, but in the event of her 
having been a second wife who survived him, she was young enough to have been 
the Christian Warner who married John Smith at Christ Church, Philadelphia, 
December 20, 1731. The most likely explanation of the Christ Church record, 
however, is that the name Warner should have been Warmer, as a family which 
bore that name was connected with that congregation, and Christian was a bap- 
tismal name among them. 

In view of the above facts, and as the name Swen was a Christian name among 
William Warner's descendants for several generations, and as Elizabeth Shute 
(Schute) was among the relatives and subscribing witnesses at the marriage of 
one of his family, it may be assumed in absence of further evidence, that William 
Warner's wife Christian or Christina was a daughter of Swen Schute, and that 
by their union the blood of the first Swedish and English proprietors of the site 
of the city of Philadelphia became the common heritage of their descendants. 



WARNER 239 

Issue of William and Christian (Schnte?) Warner: 

Swen Warner, b. 1688, removed to Phila., where he resided until his death, which 
occurred at the age of 73 years, the records of Phila. Monthly Meeting (Race street) 
giving date of his burial at Friends' Burying Ground, Phila., i2mo. (Dec.) 8, 1761 ; m. 
before 1714 first cousin Esther, dau. of his father's brother, John Warner, of Blockley 
township, Phila county, who m. Anne Campden. Esther Warner was b. 6mo. (Aug.) 
18, 1686, as shown by the records of Haverford (now Radnor) Monthly Meeting, d. 
April 9, 1740, according to family records kept by son-in-law Philip Syng, in his Bible, 
buried 7mo. (Sept.) 10, 1740, according to records of Phila. Monthly Meeting (Race 
street). Swen Warner m. (second), by license dated Feb., 1747, Sarah Hastings, who 
survived him. 

By deed dated Dec. 3, 1723, Swen Warner, of Phila., and John Bayley, of same city, 
and Hannah, his wife, Swen being "eldest son," and Hannah, a daughter of William 
Warner, deceased, conveyed to Isaac Warner, of Gloucester county, N. J., land sur- 
veyed to William Warner; and by deed dated the following day, Isaac Warner and 
Mary, his wife, conveyed the same property to John Bayley. 

Swen Warner and his wife Esther, by deed dated May 12, 1733, conveyed to John 
Wood, of Gloucester county, N. J., for a consideration of £100, 100 acres (more or 
less), late the estate and hereditaments of William Warner, deceased, father of Swen 
Warner. 

In his will, written by himself, dated July 2, 1759, proved Dec. II, 1761, Swen 
Warner left property to his wife Sarah and children Joseph Warner and Elizabeth 
Syng. The executors were his son Joseph Warner, his son-in-law Philip Syng, Joseph 
Stretch and Joseph Norris. The witnesses were James Graisburry (or Graysbury), 
William Craig and William Colladay. 

The children of Swen and Esther (Warner) Warner were: 
Isaiah Warner, d. 7mo. (Sept.) 15, 1716; 
Elizabeth Warner, b. Jan. 29, 1714-15, m. Philip Syng, Jr., the famous silversmith, 

and had eighteen children (see forward) ; 
Joseph Warner, by license dated Dec, 1747, m. Jan. 2, 1747-8, at Christ Church, 
Phila., Anne, dau. of James and Mary Graysbury, granddaughter of James 
Graysbury, ship-carpenter, who came to Phila. from Bermuda in 1682, and set- 
tled on south side of main branch of Newton Creek, in Gloucester county, N. J., 
with his brothers Joseph and Benjamin, the following year. Joseph Warner was 
buried iomo. (Oct.) 20, 1780, in Friends' Ground (Race street). His will, 
signed June 27, 1780, proved Oct. 31, the same year, mentions his wife and chil- 
dren. The executors were his wife Ann Warner, Joseph Graisbury (or Grays- 
bury) and Benjamin Paschall; the witnesses were Benjamin Conay and Jacob 
Mayer. Joseph and Ann (Graysbury) Warner had five children, as follows: 

Joseph, m. Charity , and had issue, William, Hester and Joseph; Ann, m. 

Christian Wiltberger, survived her husband, and d. 1805 ; Mary, m. Joseph Pole ; 
Elizabeth; and Swen. 

Swen Warner, son of Joseph and Ann (Graysbury) Warner, b. Dec. 3, 1760, 
d. Jan. 30, 1799. His body was interred with military honors in Christ Church 
Ground, near the graves of his relatives, the Syngs and Graysburys (section N, 
No. lxi). 

In the inscription on his tomb he is referred to as Major Siven Warner, and 
there are the following lines : 

Let undisturb'd his ashes lay 

Until the joyful sound 
Shall him awake upon the day 

When blessed souls are crowned. 
In strains of perfect harmony 

The Savior's praises sing, 
Then, Grave, where is thy victory! 

Oh Death, where is thy sting! 

Major Swen Warner m. (first) Eley Edwards, June 6, 1785, (second) Mary 

Hawkins, Jan. 17, 1799. He had two sons, Joseph and Mark, who survived him, 

and a son Alexander and dau. Ann previously buried in Christ Church Yard. 

Swen Warner buried there July 28, 1831, was doubtless a descendant. 

Isaac Warner removed to Phila., m. 9mo. (Nov.) 25, 1714, at Phila. Monthly Meeting 

(Race street), Mary Salway, sister of Hannah Salway, who m. before 1719, Thomas 

Skelton. Among subscribing witnesses at Isaac Warner's marriage were Swan War- 



240 WARNER 

ner, John Warner, John Warner, Jr., Isaac Warner, John Warner, William Warner, 
Hannah Warner and James Kite, including, as will be seen, several of the Phila. 
cousins. 

William Salway, father of Mary (Warner) and Hannah (Skelton), had a removal 
certificate to Phila., from the Monthly Meeting at Taunton, county Somerset, England, 
6mo. (Aug.) 13, 1683, and one from Abington Monthly Meeting, dated 6mo. (Aug.) 22, 
1688, to marry Sarah, dau. of Christopher and Mary (Collet) Pennock. Among the 
"Old Rights" papers in the Land Office were five warrants to William "Salloway," 
the earliest dated nmo. (Jan.) 7, 1681-2. He also had land in West Jersey, as Revel's 
Book of Surveys (page 61) contains a record of 200 acres for Godfrey Hancock, sold 
to William "Sallaway" imo. (March), 1684. At a meeting of Provincial Council of 
Pa., held at Phila., April 27, 1693, William Salway took his place at the board by order 
of Benjamin Fletcher, Capt. Gen. and Governor. On May 5, 1693, William Salway 
gave his promise to execute the office of Justice of the Peace "throughout the whole 
province and Countrey." It was while he was a member of Provincial Council that 
William Salway was appointed Commissioner to represent Pennsylvania and to meet 
the commissioners of the neighboring colonies at New York, to concert and agree upon 
a quota of men and money or other assistance to be given by each colony or province 
for the defense of the frontier of New York against the French and Indians. The 
date of his election to this important mission was Oct. 1, 1693. He continued a mem- 
ber of the Council until his death, 1695. 

Elizabeth Warner, daughter of Swen and Esther (Warner) Warner, born 
January 29, 1714, died October 3, 1786; married, February 5, 1730, Philip Syng 
Jr., silversmith, of Philadelphia, who was born (probably in Ireland,) September 
2 9> I 7°3- At the age of eleven years he accompanied his father Philip Syng Sr., 
to a goldsmith, to Philadelphia, arriving in that city September 29, 1714. Philip 
Syng Jr., was a Warden of Philadelphia, 1753; Treasurer of the City, 1759-69; 
a founder of Philadelphia Library Company ; an original member of American 
Philosophical Society, inventing an electrical machine and experimenting along 
with Dr. Franklin, who acknowledges his valuable suggestions and discoveries. 
Mr. Syng was the promoter of the "Association Battery," organized for the 
defence of the city 1748. He was Provincial Commissioner of Appeals for Phil- 
adelphia, under Gov. John Penn, 1765; was a vestryman of Christ Church, 
1747-9; and a trustee of the College and Academy of Philadelphia, from its 
organization 1755, and a member of Franklin's "Junto." He was an original 
member of the "Colony in Schuylkill," the ancient fishing company organized May 
I, 1732, now "The Schuylkill Fishing Company of the State in Schuylkill," the 
name it adopted after the signing of the Declaration of Independence. He took 
an active interest in the institutions of the city; was a Director of the Hand in 
Hand Insurance Company, 1752, and one of the signers of the Non-importation 
Resolutions, 1765. He died May 8, 1789, and is buried at Christ Church. He 
was a Contributor to the Pennsylvania Hospital, and was Grand Junior Warden 
of first Masonic Lodge organized in America. He made the silver inkstand used 
at signing of Declaration of Independence. 

Esther Syng, daughter of Philip Syng Jr., by his wife Elizabeth Warner, born 
July 28, 1736, died September 21, 1813; married (first) at Christ Church, April 
30, 1762, Samuel, son of Samuel Bunting who came to Philadelphia from 
England in 1722, by his wife Sarah Fearne ; he was born in Philadelphia 1743,. 
died in North Carolina August 20, 1767, and was buried at New Berger Creek,. 
Pasquotank county, North Carolina. Esther (Syng) Bunting married (second) 
Tobias Rudulph. 

William Warner, probably living in Gloucester county, N. J., as late as May 27, 1729, 
when his name appeared in an account of estate of Henry Tredway, whose will was 
proved March 6, 1726-7. It seems probable that he was father of Swan Warner, de- 



WARNER 241 

ceased, iomo. (Dec.) 28, 1758, son of William, according to the records of Phila. 
Monthly Meeting (Race street). It is possible that he was the William Warner who 
m. omo. (Nov.) 25, 1731, at Phila. Monthly Meeting (Race street), Mary, dau. of John 
Welton, of Southampton township, Bucks county, Pa., witnesses John Welton, Chris- 
tian Warner, Elizabeth Shute (doubtless Schute), William Robinson and 27 others. 
William and Mary (Welton) Warner were not, however, the parents of Swan Warner; 

Hannah Warner, m. before Dec. 3, 1723, John Bayley, of Phila.; 

Jacob Warner, possibly the Jacob Warner whose marriage to Charity Purdy took place 
at Christ Church, Phila., Sept. 10, 1730, by banns. 

Philip Syng Bunting, son of Samuel and Esther (Syng) Bunting, born in 
1763, died September 5, 1822. He married, 1788, Elizabeth Tomkins. 

Joshua Bunting, son of Philip Syng and Elizabeth (Tomkins) Bunting, born 
December 15, 1797, died March 31, 1850. He married, June 6, 1831, Henrietta 
Barron Wade. 

Joshua Bunting, son of Joshua and Henrietta Barron (Wade) Bunting, born 
December 1, 1837, died December 19, 1882; married Anne Elizabeth Bunting 
Jones, and they had issue : — 

Mabel Syng Bunting, b. at Claymont, Del., Jan. 5, 1869; 
Joshua Bunting, b. at Claymont, Del., Nov. 26, 1871 ; 

Henrietta Bunting, b. at Claymont, Del., Nov. 20, 1873; m- June 14, 1900, Porter Far- 
quharson Cope, b. June 14, 1869, in Phila. (see Cope Family) ; they have issue: 
Millicent Syng Bunting Cope, b. April 25, 1901; 
Loretta Porter Cope, b. Feb. 17, 1905. 
Lawrence Bunting, b. at Claymont, Del., May 24, 1880, d. there Jan. 18, 1882. 

Mary Warner, daughter of William Warner, was born in England, and came 
to America probably in 1675 with her father and other relatives. She married 
before 1680, James Kite (Keyt, Keyte or Keite). He also probably came from 
Worcestershire, or from the adjoining county of Gloucester, as the name seems 
indigenous there. In the baptismal records of Blockley Parish Church, under 
date of April 26, 1645, appears the name of Zacharius, son of Zachary Kite and 
Mary Warner ; and in the register of the nearby Parish Church, of Bretfort, is 
recorded the marriage of Thomas Kitchen and Sarah Keyt, of Blockley, in 1678. 
William Keyt, Esq., of Ebrington, in Gloucestershire, buried October 12, 1632, 
"was High Sheriff of the county of Worcester, and rich in good works, as well as 
in worldly estate, being not only charitable to the poor in his lifetime but also at 
his death ; he ordered the milk of ten cows to be given every year, May 10-Novem- 
ber 1, unto the poor of Ebrington, for ever." He belonged to "an ancient and 
worshipful family," the members of which bore as their arms "Azure, a cheveron, 
between three Kites' Heads, eras'd, Or." The statement in an old pedigree (pub- 
lished in The Literary Era, volume iv., page 212) to the effect that Mary Warner's 
husband was a son of Sir George Kite, Baronet, Admiral under Oliver Cromwell 
and Charles II., is probably not correct. 

James Kite had a sister Grissel (Griselda) in Philadelphia, who married John 
Simonds. The latter's will, dated October 2, 1699, proved March 1, 1699-1700, 
mentions his wife Grizegon, and makes bequests, among others, to kinsman John 
and kinswoman Grize, children of his "brother James Kite living on west side of 
Schuylkill," who was also made sole executor. 

Mary (Warner) Kite was buried imo. (March) 3, 1686-7, at "Skoolkill Buring 
Place west side," and it is probable that there was an element of tragedy in con- 
16 



242 WARNER 

nection with the causes that led to her death, as at the Friends' Quarterly Meeting 
held at Philadelphia irao. (March) 7, 1686-7, it was "reported to this meeting 
concerning the necessity of James Kite, he having received of late great damage 
by fire," and at a Monthly Meeting held 31110. (May) 27, 1687, "Thomas Duckett 
& Henry Lewis having made Enquiry into James Kite's necessity, make Report 
to this meeting that his condition is very low, and his loss according to their infor- 
mation about £60." The records of this and several later meetings show that 
Friends throughout the county, and elsewhere, subscribed freely to Kite's relief; 
and his receipts for the sums paid him were reported to the Quarterly Meeting 
held at Philadelphia imo. (March) 5, 1687-8. He gradually retrieved his for- 
tunes, and in the tax list dated September 26, 1693, his property beyond Schuyl- 
kill was valued at £40, on which he was assessed to pay 3 shillings, 4 pence. 

Mary (Warner) Kite having died before the date of her father's will, was 
not mentioned in it ; but the will contained bequests to her husband and two sons. 
After her death James Kite married (second) 3mo. (May) 13, 1698, Martha, 
widow of Daniel Medlicott, of Merion, Philadelphia county. At the head of the 
names of relatives, on their marriage certificate, is the name John "Simandes" 
(Simonds). Daniel Medlicott's certificate of removal dated 2mo. (April) 16, 
1683, from the Monthly Meeting at Salop, England, was received at Philadelphia 
Monthly Meeting 91110. (November) 4, 1684. James Kite was buried 9mo. (No- 
vember) 6, 1713, according to the records of Race Street Monthly Meeting. Mar- 
tha, his widow, married (third) 8mo. (October) 13, 1715, Jonathan Cockshall 
(or Cogshall). 

The Kite family which descended from Mary Warner has long been prominent 
in West Philadelphia, and its members have intermarried with many other noted 
families of Blockley Township and vicinity, among them the Sellers family of 
"Sellers' Hall" in Upper Darby. 

Issue of James and Mary (Warner) Kite: — 

James Kite, Jr., b. iomo. (Dec.) 12, 1682; lived in Phila; inherited the 100 acres on the 
south side of Blockley plantation which William Warner had devised to James Kite, 
St., and conveyed same, Jan. 18, 1717 (o. s.), to his cousin Isaac Warner, son of William 
Warner; d. unm., buried in Friends' Grave Yard at Merion, 51110. (July) 31, 1745; 

Abraham Kite, b. iomo. (Dec.) 19, 1685, d. Oct., 1748; m. 71110. (Sept.) 9, 1708, Mary, 
dau. of Thomas and Elizabeth Peters, of the celebrated family of that name, whose 
estate of Belmont lay about a mile above Blockley, on the Schuylkill. Abraham Kite 
was buried in Friends' Grave Yard at Merion, 9mo. (Nov.) 9, 1748. Mary, his widow, 
was buried at same place 121110. (Feb.) 12, 1750-51; 

Grizzel Kite, by Friends' authorization dated i2mo. (Feb.) 26, 1706 (o. s.), m. Samuel 
Lewis; 

John Kite, d. young, May 25, 1701. 

Robert Warner, son of William Warner, was born in England, probably 
before 1668, and if he came to America with his father and other relatives in 1675, 
it seems likely that he returned to his native land, as by his father's will, dated 
September 8, 1703, he was bequeathed two houses in Draycott, Robert Warner 
paying "unto my brother, Isaac Warner, five Pounds Sterling money of England, 
or to his assigns." 

The records of Blockley Parish Church contain the names of a number of chil- 
dren of "Robert and Sarah Warner," as follows : 

Robert Warner, bap. Jan. 12, 1690; probably d. inf., as another Robert was bap. later; 
Anne Warner, bap. Oct. 10, 1692; doubtless the "Ann Warner of Draycott" who m. 



WARNER 243 

William Minchin, in 1714, according to register of Blockley Parish Church, and whose 
remains lie buried in Blockley Church Yard, her grave having borne the following 
inscription : "Anne Minchin, relict of William Minchin, died February 23, 1773, at the 
age of 80 years;" 

Maria Warner, bap. Aug. 4, 1695; 

Ellenor Warner, bap. May 23, 1697 ; 

Robert Warner, bap. April 8, 1700; probably d. inf., like the first Robert, as another 
Robert was bap. later; 

Isaac Warner, bap. June 22, 1701 ; believed to have been the Isaac Warner who came to 
America probably about 1725, d. in Phila. soon after his arrival. By his will, dated 
Jan. 17, 1725-6, and proved at Phila. March 8, following, he devised all his lands in 
Parish of Blockley, England, to his sister Anne Minchin, of Blockley, and also the 
accumulated rents of houses in Draycott, the title to which he devised to his sister 
Mary Warner, of Blockley. To his ''Cousin Mary Warner" residing with him in 
Phila., he devised all his personal estate in Phila., and also that that had been sent to 
sea, and he made her the executrix of his will. 

As there is no mention of a wife or children in Isaac Warner's will, and as he was 
doubtless about twenty-five years of age at the time of his death, it is evident that he 
was unmarried. His "Cousin Mary Warner," residing with him, may have been his 
first cousin Mary, dau. of John and Anne (Campden) Warner, who was forty-two 
years of age at the time of his death, or less probably was his first cousin once removed, 
Mary, dau. of his great-uncle Edward Warner, brother of William Warner, or some 
other more remote relative; 

Robert Warner, bap. Sept. 24, 1703; apparently third son of that name. 

The recurrence of the name Robert in the above list was probably due to the 
decease in infancy of the first and second sons, but it is possible that another Rob- 
ert Warner, of Draycott, who was the son of Edward and Mary, may also have 
had a wife Sarah, and have been the father of some of the children mentioned 
above. 

Isaac Warner, son of William Warner, was possibly the youngest son, though 
his father made him heir to his principal landed estate. He was born in England, 
doubtless before 1670, and came to America probably in 1675 with his father and 
other relatives. By his father's will he inherited on the death of his mother, 
whose maiden name was Anne Dide (or Dyde), the whole of the plantation called 
"Blockley," consisting of 300 acres on the west side of the Schuylkill River (in 
two pieces, 288 acres in one, and 12 acres and 40 perches in another) ; also fifty 
acres of the "backward land" and half of all the "backward meadow" (about 35 
acres) ; these last, however, were only to be held by him for life, and were to 
descend to his eldest son. Isaac Warner added to these tracts by purchase 50 
acres on the Schuylkill, being 44 acres of mainland and 6 acres on an island which 
he bought of his brother John Warner, which was originally part of William 
Orian's share in the Indian purchase previously mentioned ; 16 acres on the west side 
of the Schuylkill River in the Liberties of Philadelphia, adjoining Isaac Warner's 
other lands, bought of John Powell (no doubt part of the "Powelton" estate) ; 9 
acres in Kingsessing township, Philadelphia county (but formerly called 6 acres 
and 60 perches), adjoining Widow Rambo's and Capt. Roach's lands, bought of 
John Powel October 15, 1700; 100 acres adjoining Blockley, bought January 18, 
1717, from his cousin James Kite, Jr., inherited by the latter from Isaac's father 
William Warner, who was the grandfather of James Kite, Jr. ; and 67 acres 
bought of Philip Howell, near to or adjoining the Blockley plantation. 

Isaac Warner died 2tno. (April) 10, 1727. By his will dated April 6, 1727, 
proved May 6, 1727, he left his wife Anne Warner the plantation of 100 acres 
bought of James Kite, Jr., with the dwelling house on it, etc., during her life if 
she should so long remain a widow, and after her death or marriage to his son 



244 WARNER 

John Warner; the 67 acres bought of Philip Howell he also devised to his wife, 
and after her death or marriage, to his son Isaac Warner ; to his son William 
Warner he devised the 50-acre tract bought of Daniel Pegg (really of John War- 
ner) and 16 acres bought of John Powell and 9 acres in Kingsessing township, 
adjoining the estates of Widow Rambo and Capt. Roach; to his sons John Warner 
and Isaac Warner, he devised the meadow lying against "Persion," containing 
about 30 acres, to be divided between them equally; to his wife Anne Warner he 
bequeathed a negro woman Sarah ; to his son William Warner, a negro boy Cuffe 
and a negro man Fortune, William paying yearly to his mother Anne Warner 
three pounds during her life or widowhood ; to his son John Warner, a negro boy 
Sambo ; to his son Isaac Warner, a negro boy Primus ; to his daughter Esther 
Humphreys, a negro girl Hagar ; to his daughter Hannah Warner, a negro girl 
Zilpha ; and cattle, money, etc., he bequeathed to his wife, son William, and daugh- 
ters Esther, Hannah and Anne, with the residue to his wife for life or widowhood, 
and then to his four daughters, Mary, Esther, Hannah and Anne. The executors 
were his wife Anne and son William Warner. 

Isaac Warner and Anne Craven were authorized to marry, by Philadelphia 
Monthly Meeting, iomo. (December) 30, 1692. She was probably a daughter of 
James Craven, a native of Limerick, Ireland, who, it is supposed, was granted 1,000 
acres of land by William Penn, May 3-4, 1682, and whose name appears in several 
warrants and returns of survey of later date. James Craven, with others, had a 
patent dated i2mo. (February) 24, 1700 (o. s.), for 100 acres of Liberty Lands, 
in West Philadelphia, on Mill Creek, adjoining Benjamin Chambers and John 
Penington's lands, and lying some distance back of Blockley plantation, though in 
Blockley township, near Haverford Road, in what was afterwards called the 
Valley of West Philadelphia. 

The will of Anne Warner, of Blockley township, widow of Isaac, who survived 
her husband about twenty-seven years, was dated nmo. (January) 23, 1746-7, 
and proved October 17, 1754. By it she devised to her son William Warner three 
pounds out of the annual sum he was to pay her for the negro man named Tom 
Fortune, under his father's will ; to her son John Warner, rents due her from him 
for her plantation at Schuylkill, 3mo. (May), 1745; to her son Isaac Warner, 
twenty shillings and the stone house she had built at a great charge of trouble, on 
the land that was to go to him at her death, by her husband's will ; to her daugh- 
ter Anne Wynne, a feather bed, etc. ; and the residue of her estate she divided 
among her four daughters Mary, Esther, Hannah and Anne. Her son-in-law 
Richard George, of Merion, in the county of Philadelphia, was named as the sole 
executor. The witnesses were Hugh Evans and Edward William. 
Issue of Isaac and Anne (Craven) Warner: — 

William Warner, eldest son; m. Anne ; of whom presently; 

John Warner, inherited plantation which his father bought of James Kite, Jr., containing 
101 acres and 140 perches according to a mortgage John Warner executed to Rebecca 
Edgell, of Phila., widow, Sept. 18, 1747; m. Mary, dau. of John and Mary Hart, of 
Phila., and had a number of children, six of whom survived their mother according to 
a deed of her son James Warner to Samuel Burge, dated March 12, 1755. The known 
children of John and Mary (Hart) Warner were: Simeon Warner, eldest son, b. 

about 1732, d. Nov. 9, 1772, m. Jane ; Mercy Warner, m. 2tno. (April) 24, 1741, 

George Gray, who was admitted to Colony in Schuylkill, May I, 1754; Elizabeth War- 
ner, m. 2mo. (April) 18. 1745, John Elliott, of Darby, Chester county, son of Thomas 
Elliott, of St. George, New Castle county; James Warner, m. April 14, 1757, at Old 



WARNER 245 

Swedes' Church, Sybilla Battle; John Warner, m. Jan. 27, 1758, Edith, dau. of William 
and Mary Jackson, and d. early in 1763, after which his widow m. (second) William 
Shute; Thomas Warner, living March 29, 1760, when he witnessed a codicil to the will 
of George Gray, who m. his sister Mercy Warner; and Benjamin Warner, probably 
d. before 1755; 

Isaac Warner, m. (first) lomo. (Dec.) 2, 1731, Elizabeth, dau. of Abraham Lewis, of 

Darby, Chester county, and after her death m. (second) Jane , who survived 

him. Buried Nov. 13, 1757, in Friends' Meeting Ground at Haverford. His will, dated 
Nov. 13, 1757, proved Dec. 3, 1757, mentions eight children, viz.: Hannah Warner, 
William Warner, Mary Warner, Abraham Warner, Isaac Warner, Jacob Warner, An- 
thony Warner and Ann Warner. 

Anthony Warner, son of Isaac and Elizabeth (Lewis) Warner, m. Rachel Evans, 
and had a number of children, three of whom are still living (1908), viz.: Gardiner 
Latch Warner, resident of Haverford more than seventy-two years; C. Anderson 
Warner, Ardmore, Pa.; and Mrs. Charles Arthur, Rosemont, Pa.; 

Mary Warner, m. (first) by Friends' authorization dated iomo. (Dec.) 28, 1722, Thomas 
Wynne, who was devised a plantation in Blockley township by his father Jonathan 
Wynne, son of Dr. Thomas Wynne. After death of her first husband, Mary (Warner) 
Wynne m. (second) 1762, James Jones, of Blockley township, widower. An account 
of her descendants is given in these volumes under the title of "The Wynne Family;" 

Esther Warner, m. (first) by Friends' authorization dated 12 mo. (Feb.) 24, 1726 (o. s.), 
Benjamin Humphrey, b. nino. (Jan.) 7, 1701-2, son of Daniel and Hannah (Wynne) 
Humphrey, and grandson of Samuel and Elizabeth (Rees) Humphrey and also of Dr. 
Thomas Wynne. After death of her first husband, Esther (Warner) Humphrey m. 
(second) iomo. (Dec.) 19, 1740, Richard George, of Merion. An account of some of 
her descendants is given in these volumes under title of "The Tunis Family;" 

Hannah Warner, living April 6, 1727, date of her father's will; 

Anne Warner, m. 6mo. (Aug.) 16, 1730, Jonathan Wynne, Jr., younger brother of Thomas 
Wynne, who m. her sister Mary Warner, and a grandson of Dr. Thomas Wynne. 
Anne (Warner) Wynne d. after April 9, 1788, the date of her will, but before 19th of 
same month, when her husband d. on same day her will was proved. 

William Warner, eldest son of Isaac and Anne (Craven) Warner, in- 
herited the Blockley plantation and other lands under the will of his grand- 
father William Warner, as well as lands under his father's will, all of which 
he and his wife conveyed to their son Isaac Warner by deed of gift dated 
January 17, 1758. The "History of the Schuylkill Fishing Company of the State 
in Schuylkill," (the oldest social club in the world, which was known as "The 
Colony in Schuylkill" until October 11, 1782), states that William Warner was a 
member of the Colony from the date of its inception, May 1, 1732, and says in 
regard to him: "He granted the Company the right to build the Court House or 
Castle on his property, and gave for the use of the members about an acre of 
ground. For this favor 'the lord of the soil,' who was dubbed by the citizens of 
the Colony in Schuylkill, Baron Warner, received in the month of June three sun 
perch, which were carried to his house on the large Penn Platter." This history 
also says, erroneously, that he married Mary, daughter of John Welton, Septem- 
ber 25, 1731, and that he died September 12, 1794. But the William Warner who 
married Mary Welton was another William, possibly a son of William Warner, of 
Gloucester county, New Jersey. 

"Baron" William Warner's will, dated April 19, 1762, was proved September 
13, 1766, doubtless within a few days after his death. By it he devised to his wife 
about 50 acres in Blockley township "on which premises I now Intend to Build a 
House," to her for life or widowhood, and then to his youngest son W'illiam War- 
ner (the balance of his land having been previously conveyed to his eldest son 
Isaac Warner, by the deed of 1758) ; he gave his old negro man called Cuff his 
freedom, and gave his other negroes Nann, Primus, Sam, Virgil, Cuff, Sarah, 
Zilpha and Lucy, to his wife and children; and left legacies to his daughters Bar- 



246 WARNER 

bara, Catherine and Anne. William Warner's wife Anne and son William were 
named as executors, and the will was witnessed by Rebecca Humphreys, Edward 
Humphreys and Charles Humphreys. 

The family name and ancestry of Anne, wife of William Warner, are not 
known, neither has the date of her death been ascertained. 
Issue of "Baron" William and Anne Warner: — 

Isaac Warner, eldest son, m. Lydia Coulton; of whom presently; 

William Warner, Jr., m. Dec. 12, 1765, Sarah, dau. of Thomas and Hannah Pearson, of 
Darby, and had a son, Pearson Warner, who d. May 22, 1769, aged 8 months. By 
deeds dated June 13, 1768, and Feb. 15, 1775, William Warner, Jr., conveyed to Stephen 
Paschall the use of a quantity of land sufficient for a mill race and dam, part of the 
land which he inherited from his father, the whole of which was by estimation 50 acres, 
more or less. In the first of these deeds there is a reference to "a Run or Rivulet of 
Water passing through the said Land;" 

Barbara Warner, d. mini., buried Oct. 6, 1771, in Friends' Grave Yard at Merion Meet- 
ing House; letters of administration on her estate were granted to her brother Isaac 
Warner and sister Anne Warner, Nov. 2, 1771 ; 

Anne Warner, unm. in 1771, when administratrix of the estate of sister Barbara Warner; 

James Warner, d. 9mo. (Nov.) 29, 1723; 

Susanna Warner, d. 8mo. (Oct.) 30, 1725; 

John Warner, probably also son of "Baron" Warner, though his name appears in the 
list of persons, "not Friends," in the burial records of Phila. Monthly Meeting (Race 
street) 5mo. (July) 15, 1726. 

Isaac Warner, eldest son of William Warner, the "Baron" of the Fishing 
Company of "The Colony in Schuylkill," acquired the original Blockley estate and 
much other land by deed of gift and sale from his father and mother, January 17, 
1758. He was admitted a member of the Colony May 1, 1748, and upon the death 
of his father in 1766 he succeeded him as "lord of the soil" on which the "Castle" 
was built, and became second "Baron." After the Revolution the Fishing Com- 
pany was reorganized as the "new State in Schuylkill" and the office of "Baron" 
was discontinued, but on October 11, 1782, when the old code of laws was amend- 
ed so as to be adapted to the altered circumstances of affairs of government, it 
was resolved that "Isaac Warner be during his natural life Chief Warden of the 
Castle and its dependencies, who shall have a seat and vote in Council, and shall be 
entitled to all the privileges of a member of this State." 

At the outbreak of the Revolution Isaac Warner was a member of Haverford 
(now Radnor) Monthly Meeting, but he conceived it his duty to take part in 
measures for the defense of his native soil against invasion by the British army, 
and became active among the "associators." This led to his being disowned by the 
Society of Friends, 51110. (July) 10, 1776, for persisting in the practice of bearing 
arms. Early in 1777 he was commissioned Lieutenant-Colonel of the Seventh 
Battalion, Philadelphia County Militia, and later in the same year he became Colo- 
nel of the battalion, and took an active part in the operations for the defense of 
Philadelphia, in September. He also rendered important service to the patriot 
cause as Deputy Commissary General of Forage and in other useful capacities. 

Isaac Warner married Lydia Coulton, license for their marriage having been 
issued August 25, 1757, in New Jersey, though both the contracting parties were 
Pennsylvanians. She was then a member of Darby Monthly Meeting. Col. War- 
ner died 1794, and was buried September 20 of that year. His will, dated July 9, 
1794, was proved November 20 following. In it he left bequests of personal 



WARNER 247 

property to his wife Lydia and daughters Tacy Roberts and Lydia Cress, and of 
cash to his grandsons John Roberts, Isaac Roberts and John Cress ; to his son 
William Warner he gave his black boy Joe, part of the Blockley plantation, land 
bought at Sheriff's sale of Thomas Proctor, and part of his tract in Kingsessing 
township ; and to his sons Joseph Warner and John Warner he devised the re- 
mainder of his Blockley estate and of the Kingsessing tract, also a lot in Northern 
Liberties bought of Andrew Supplee. Lydia (Coulton) Warner, widow of Col. 
Isaac Warner, died August 9, 1797. Her will, dated March 10, 1798, was proved 
January 18, 1800. 

Ten years previous to his death, by deed dated July 20, 1784, Col. Warner and 
Lydia his wife, for a consideration of ^£1039 .10 .10, conveyed to Hon. John Penn, 
Jr., Esq., between 15 and 16 acres, the southeast part of the Blockley plantation. 
This land afterwards constituted Penn's estate called "Solitude," now the Zoologi- 
cal Gardens. 

The share of Col. Warner's real estate which he devised to his sons Joseph 
Warner and John Warner, consisting of about 132 acres, was conveyed by them 
to Robert Eglesfeld Griffith, by deed dated April 2, 1798 (in which their mother 
Lydia Warner joined), and now forms that portion of the West Park which is 
known as "Eglesfeld." 

Issue of Col. Isaac and Lydia (Coulton) Warner: — 

Ann Warner, b. Jan. 30, 1758, m. Clement Smith, of Darby; 

William Warner, b. Sept. 14, 1759, m. May 10, 1790, at Old Swedes' Church (Gloria 
Dei), Ann Roberts, b. about 1762, d. Oct., 1842. She was dau. of William and Han- 
nah Roberts, and sister of Joseph Roberts, Esq., first teller of Stephen Girard's bank, 
who succeeded George Simpson as Girard's cashier after Mr. Simpson's death, Dec, 
1822, and was also one of the five executors of Girard's estate to whom letters testi- 
mentary were granted Dec. 31, 1831. 

William and Ann (Roberts) Warner by deed dated Oct. 13, 1795, conveyed to Jacob 
Lincoln the land in Kingsessing township which William Warner had received under 
will of his father. 

The historic house in which the widow of William Warner resided until her death 
stood on the southwest side of Lancaster Road (now Lancaster avenue), near its pres- 
ent intersection by Forty-fifth street. It was a spacious mansion, designed according 
to the best standards of the Colonial period, and it is said that it was built 1747. A 
picture of the old house was drawn by Miss Beck, an artist, at the instance of John 
Fanning Watson, the annalist, but it has not been found among his papers. Watson 
left a manuscript account of an interview which he had with Mrs. Ann (Roberts) 
Warner when he called on her in June, 1833. The building was sold about 1845, and 
in the course of time became a hotel, known as the 'Warner House." 

William Warner's will, dated April 28, 1812, was proved Oct. 7, 1813; no children; 

Tacy Warner, b. Oct. 11, 1761, d. May 9, 1828, m. Jan. 18, 1781, at Old Swedes' Church 
(Gloria Dei), Algernon, son of John and Rebecca (Jones) Roberts; had ten children; 

Rachel Warner, b. March 6, 1763; probably d. young; 

Isaac Warner, b. March 24, 1765; probably d. young; 

Joseph Coulton Warner, b. Nov. 15, 1767, m. Sarah Powell; of whom presently; 

John Warner, b. April 2, 1770, d. Dec, 1816, unm. In his will, dated Nov. 28, 1816, 
proved Dec. 14, of same year, he described himself as a lumber merchant, and left 
legacies to sister Lydia Cress, nephews John Cress, Peter Cress, William Cress, Isaac 
Cress, nieces Eliza Cress, Lydia Warner, Mary Warner, Rebecca Warner, and the 
ten children of Algernon Roberts, late brother-in-law; 

Lydia Warner, b. Jan. 2, 1772, m. (first) John Cress, had a number of children; m. 
(second) Lloyd Jones. 

Joseph Coulton Warner, son of Col. Isaac Warner, of Blockley, by his wife 
Lydia Coulton, resided in Philadelphia. He was a consistent member of the Race 
Street (Orthodox) Meeting of Friends. He married out of meeting, however, 



248 WARNER 

at the First Baptist Church, of Philadelphia, William Rogers, Pastor, on April 16, 
1795, Sarah, daughter of William Powell, a private in Capt. Peter Z. Lloyd's 
company, Col. Atlee's Battalion, who was killed at the battle of Long Island, 
August 27, 1776. William Powell enlisted March 6, 1776. He had married, by 
license, at his house in Arch street, January 3, 1765, Mary, daughter of Jenkyn 
Thomas, who, like himself, was of Welsh descent. The ceremony was performed 
by Morgan Edwards, then pastor of First Baptist Church of Philadelphia. Mary 
(Thomas) Powell died at her residence at the northwest corner of Eighth and 
Arch streets, Philadelphia, December 23, 1817, aged seventy-five years, and was 
buried on Christmas day. Sarah (Powell) Warner, their youngest child, was 
born October 9, 1771. She died at the residence of her daughter Mrs. John P. 
Harrison, on Race street above Fourth street, Cincinnati, Ohio, November 24, 
1845, having survived her husband more than forty-two years, Joseph Coulton 
Warner having died in Philadelphia, January 20, 1803. He did not leave a will, 
and letters of administration on his estate were granted to his widow Sarah War- 
ner and Algernon Roberts, February 10, 1803. 

By a deed dated April 2, 1798, Joseph Coulton Warner and Sarah his wife, 
John Warner, and Lydia Warner, widow, the mother of Joseph Coulton Warner 
and John Warner, conveyed to Robert Egglesfield Griffith, in consideration of 
£4,762 10. 00, the 132 acres of land which Isaac Warner, the father of Joseph 
Coulton Warner and John Warner, had devised to them. This was the property 
on which the "Castle" of the State in Schuylkill was located. 
Issue of Joseph Coulton and Sarah (Powell) Warner: — 

Lydia Coulton Warner, b. Feb. 16, 1796, m. Nov. 17, 1829, Isaac Stewart; 
Mary Thomas Warner, b. Sept. 26, 1798, m. Dr. John P. Harrison, of Cincinnati, Ohio; 
Rebecca Ashton Warner, b. Sept. 14, 1800, m. June 26, 1823, Henry Erwin, d. Aug 
7, 1881 ; of whom presently. 

John Erwin, the grandfather of Henry Erwin, who married Rebecca Ashton 
Warner, before mentioned, according to an entry made in his Edinburgh Bible, 
presumably by himself, was born in the north of Ireland in the year 1727. He is 
supposed to belong to the same family as Hugh, Arthur, William, Nathan and 
Alexander Erwin, who came from the north of Ireland in or about the year 1760, 
but nothing is known to the writer of these lines to confirm this theory or to show 
where he was born. He was a strict member of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Wilmington, Delaware, was Assistant Burgess of Wilmington in 1763, and held 
that position almost continually until about the year 1788, possibly until his death, 
at Wilmington, May 30, 1797. He is buried in the churchyard of the First Pres- 
byterian Church at Wilmington. He married Letitia, maiden name unknown, and 
they had issue as follows : 

Henry Erwin, b. June 24, 1 751, d. Dec. 23, 1776, buried at First Presbyterian Church 

of Wilmington; 
Samuel Erwin, b. Aug. 29, 1755, d. Aug. 30 or 31, 1798, of yellow fever, buried at First 

Presbyterian Church, Wilmington; m. Aug., 1781, Lydia Stowe, b. April 17, 1753, d. 

Oct. 14, 1798, of yellow fever, and was also buried at First Presbyterian Church, 

Wilmington; 
Hannah Erwin, b. June 24, 1756, d. prior to 1817; m. at Holy Trinity (Old Swedes') 

Church, Wilmington, Delaware, Sept. 7, 1775, Israel Israel, d. Phila. in 1822; mayor 

of Phila. and Sheriff, 1800-1803, and a very large landowner in and near Phila., of 

whose descendants presently; 



WARNER 249 

John Erwin, b. Nov. 16, 1761, d. July 24, 1764; 

William Erwin, b. Jan. 13, 1763, living in 1817, mentioned in will of Israel Israel; 

John Erwin, b. Sept. 9, 1764, d. Sept. 24, 1823; m. and had children; mentioned in will 

of Israel Israel; 
Margaret Erwin, b. Jan. 10, 1766, d. April 8, 1797, m. Benjamin Laforge, b. 1761, d. 

April 8, 1796, buried First Presbyterian Church, Wilmington. 

Samuel Erwin, second son of John and Letitia Erwin, married Lydia Stowe; 
and had issue : 

John Erwin, b. May 12, 1782, d. June 26, 1783; 

Mary Erwin, b. Nov. 10, 1783, d. Oct. 14, 1809; m. Feb. 14, 1807, Francis Borden; his 

first wife; 
Letitia Erwin, b. Nov. 21, 1785, d. June 10, 1836; m. Francis Borden; his second wife; 
Samuel Erwin, b. Sept. 6, 1787, d. Dec. 31, 1841, unm., buried at First Presbyterian 
Church, Wilmington; was sea captain in merchant service and had command of 
vessels owned by Stephen Girard; 
Lydia Erwin, b. Nov. 23, 1789, d. Aug. 29, 1790; 

Charles Erwin, b. June 2, 1791, d. at sea, Oct. 16, 1828; m. Nov. 17, 1812, Eliza Spooner; 
Henry Erwin, b. Sept. 9, 1794, d. June 10, 1845, at Burlington, N. J., buried at First 
Presbyterian Church, Wilmington, Del.; m. June 23, 1823, Rebecca Ashton Warner. 
Issue of Henry and Rebecca Ashton (Warner) Erwin: 
Joseph Warner Erwin, b. Sept. 12, 1824, d. Oct. 27, 1890; m. Caroline A. Borden; 

of whom presently; 
Lydia Warner Erwin, b. Feb. 14, 1827, d. April 5, 1864; m. June 14, 1853, Edward 
J. Maginnis, of Phila.; one child: 

Rebecca Erwin Maginnis, m. O. W. Vail. 

Joseph Warner Erwin, only son of Henry Erwin, by his wife Rebecca Ash- 
ton Warner, married, July 23, 1850, Caroline A., born November 19, 1830, in 
Cincinnati, Ohio, daughter of Samuel Borden, born in Philadelphia, May 2, 1807, 
died at Cold Spring, Kentucky, March 1, 1898, by his wife Catharine Dudley 
Upjohn, who died at Cold Spring, Kentucky, July 12, 1871 ; and whom he had 
married July 2, 1828. 

Gen. Samuel Borden, father of the above named Samuel Borden, belonged to 
the prominent New Jersey family of the name, for whom Bordentown was named, 
and was born in New Jersey, May 2, 1781. He came to Philadelphia early in life, 
engaged in mercantile pursuits, and was a captain in the regular U. S. A., during 
the war of 1812-1814; but tiring of the inactive military routine, after the close 
of the war, resigned from the army, in 1816, removed to Cincinnati, Ohio, and en- 
gaged in mercantile pursuits there. He was an active public-spirited man, and 
held a number of city and county offices. He also took an active interest in mili- 
tary affairs, and passed through the various grades of militia service, to the office 
of Brigadier General of State Militia of Ohio, which he held at the time of his 
death, October 22, 1834, at the age of fifty-three years. 

Issue of Joseph Warner and Caroline A. (Borden) Erwin: — 

Ida Warner Erwin, b. May 14, 1851, m. Dec. 12, 1876, Joseph Ingersoll Doran, of whom 

presently; 
Marie Louise Erwin, b. Dec. 10, 1854, m. Russell Hinman, Nov. 6, 1883; four children, 

Caroline Borden, Katharine Duble, Russell, Jr., and Eunice Bowditch Hinman. 

Joseph Ingersoll Doran, Esq., of Philadelphia, who married Ida Warner 
Erwin, whose descent from the Warner family of Blockley has been previously 
given, is a descendant of one of the earliest Colonial families of America. Through 



250 WARNER 

his mother Ann Luker (Callahan) Doran, he is a lineal descendant of Sir George 
Yeardley, or Yardley, Governor and Captain General of Virginia, 1 6 19- 1627. 

The Yardley Family, three representatives of which settled in America, was 
a very ancient one in county Stafford, England, and is spoken of in "Patronymica 
Brittanica" as one of the ancient families of Staffordshire, whose heads were 
called "Lords of Yardley." Their coat-of-arms, were "Argent, on a chevron azure 
three garbs or, on a canton gules, a fret or," and their crest, "a buck, courant, gu. 
attired or." 

The first of the family of which any definite record has been found was "Will- 
iam Yardley, L. M.," a witness to the signing of the first Magna Charta given by 
John I. to England, dated June 15, 1218. From this date, however, to 1400, no 
clear record of the line of descent has been obtained ; from the latter date down 
to the emigration to America the line is as follows : 

John Yardley, of county Stafford, married, 1402, a daughter of Marbury, of 
Dadesbury, and had a son, 

John Yardley, of Killingsworth, county Warwick, who married a daughter of 
Tickens, and had a daughter Margaret, his sole heiress, who married John Yard- 
ley, son of Oliver Yardley, of Yardley, a contemporary of Henry VL, and had a 
son and heir, 

John Yardley, of Yardley, county Stafford, who married Elizabeth, daughter 
of William Birkes, of county Stafford, and their son, 

William Yardley, of county Stafford, living in 1583, married Eliabeth, daugh- 
ter of William and Alice (Brereton) Morton, of Morton, Cheshire, and had five 
sons : 

William Yardley, m. Margery Lawton, dau. of John Lawton, of Lawton; had sons John 
and William; the latter by his wife Dorothy, dau. of Sir John Drake, being father of 
William Yardley, of Ransclough, b. 1632, m. Jane Heath; emigrated to America in 
1682, and settled in Bucks county, Pa. ; was a member of Assembly, Provincial Coun- 
cillor, etc. He and all his family d. prior to 1704, and were succeeded by his nephew 
Thomas, son of Thomas Yardley, of Rushton Spencer, county Stafford, another son 
of William and Dorothy (Drake) Yardley. 

Richard Yardley, who came to N. J. about the same date that Thomas settled in 
Bucks county, is with Thomas, ancestor of the numerous and prominent family of 
Bucks county, whose representatives in nearly every generation to the present, have 
been prominent in official life of the county, state and province. Richard is supposedly 
a descendant of John Yardley, b. 1579 (another son of William and Dorothy (Drake) 
Yardley), who m. Alice, dau. of Richard Sutton, of Rushton Spencer, county Stafford; 

Ralph Yeardley, of Caldecot, Chester, m. Elizabeth, dau. of Randall Dodd, of Edge, 
county Chester. Was a druggist in London in 1627, when he administered on the 
estate of Sir George; 

John Yardley, m. Mary, another dau. of Randall; 

Sir George Yeardley, of Virginia, m. Temperance West; of whom presently; 

Randall Yardley, of whom we have no further record. 

Sir George Yeardley (for some reason Sir George Yeardley, after his settle- 
ment in Virginia, adopted that form of spelling the name and in that form it was 
borne by his descendants) was born in England, between 1577 and 1580. He 
was a captain in the British army, and served with distinction in Holland, in the 
war with Spain. He was a subscriber to the Virginia Company of London, and 
a champion, from the first, of the rights of Jamestown pioneers, as opposed to the 
Court Party in the Company, who looked upon the colonists as servants of the 
Company, employed to do its bidding and entitled to no political rights. Capt. 



WARNER 251 

Yeardley sailed for Virginia in the "Deliverance," June, 1609, as one of Her 
Majesty's Council of Virginia, but was wrecked on the Bermuda Islands, and did 
not land at Jamestown until May, 1610. He was a "man of wealth and of well de- 
served influence." Serving as President of Colonial Council until 1616, he was 
enabled to form a just estimate of the needs of the colonists, and a true conception 
of their rights. "His character and modes of thought made him the friend and 
supporter of popular rights," and he was greatly loved and respected by the colon- 
ists. On the departure of Gov. Dale for England, 1616 (with John Rolfe and his 
wife Pocahontas), Capt. Yeardley was made Deputy Governor. His mild and 
popular rule alarmed and enraged the Court Party in the Company, and Capt. 
Samuel Argall, a relative and the commercial agent of President Thomas Smith, 
of the Virginia Company, was appointed to succeed him. This action was re- 
ceived by the colonists as a public calamity and Capt. Yeardley went to England 
to intercede for them with the Crown and the Company. He was successful, the 
Court party was overthrown and Capt. Yeardley was named Governor General of 
the Colony of Virginia. James I. assented to the new policy, sent for the Gov- 
ernor elect, accorded him a lengthy interview, and finally as a signal mark of 
favor conferred upon him the honor of knighthood, November 22, 1618. 

As Governor General of Virginia, Sir George Yeardley sailed for the Colony on 
January 29, 1619, with his commission and instructions from his sovereign and 
the Virginia Company to confer on Virginia the right of local self-government. 
Arriving at Jamestown he entered upon his duties as Governor April 19, 1619, 
and from that date, says Bancroft, "dates the real life of the Colony." Early in 
June he sent out summons to the members of the Council to attend, and ordered 
an election, the first in America, of representatives of the people to the House of 
Burgesses. July 30, 1619, the twenty-two newly elected Burgesses convened at 
Jamestown, the first representative governmental body in America, and to Sir 
George Yeardley is universally accorded the honor and title of "Father of Repre- 
sentative Government in America." He continued as Governor General until 
1621, when he was succeeded by Sir Francis Wyatt, but continued a member of 
the "Counsel of State" until 1626. He was named as Deputy Governor in the 
absence of Wyatt, September 18, 1625, was again commissioned Governor Gen- 
eral by Charles I., April 19, 1626, entered upon his duties May 17, 1626, and con- 
tinued in office until his death, November, 1627. Bancroft says, "The reappoint- 
ment of Yardley, was in itself a guarantee that representative government would 
be maintained ; for it was Yardley who had introduced the system." 

Sir George Yeardley married, 1618, Temperance West, who had come to Vir- 
ginia in the "Falcon," 1609. In January, 1625, they were living in Jamestown with 
their three children, Elizabeth, Argall, and Francis, but at the date of the will and 
codicil of Sir George in October, 1627, they were living in James City, the new 
capital, as he bequeathed to his wife Temperance "all and evry prt & p'cell of all 
such houshold stuffe, plate, linen, woolen, or any other goods moveable or imove- 
able of what nature or quality soever as to me are belonging and wch now att the 
tyme of the date hereof are being and remayning within this house in James Citty 
wherein I now dwell." His lands in James City were devised to his son Argall, 
but by the codicil were directed to be sold by Temperance as executrix. She did 
not long survive him and letters of administration were granted on both her estate 



252 WARNER 

and that of Sir George, to his brother Ralph Yardley, of London, to settle the 
estate abroad, February 14, 1628-9. 

Issue of Sir George and Temperance (West) Yeardley: — 

Elizabeth Yeardley, probably eldest child; if she lived to mature age and married, it was 
probably in England, as the Court records of Virginia mention nothing of her. We 
have no record of her after appointment of her uncle Ralph Yardley, of London, as 
her guardian, 1629; 

Argall Yeardley, eldest son, b. about 1621, of whom presently; 

Francis Yeardley was appointed Captain of Militia during the Indian scare on the 
eastern shore, and was a bold and dashing officer, held in high esteem by Governor 
and Council, as well as by the inhabitants of the Colony. He later became Colonel. 
He married widow of Capt. John Gookin, who was a Sarah Offley, of London, when 
she m. (first) Capt. Adam Thorogood, who d. before April 27, 1640, leaving four 
children: Lieut. -Col. Adam Thorogood; Ann, wife of Job Chandler, of Maryland; 
Sarah, also m. a Maryland gentleman; and Elizabeth, m. John Michael, Sr., of Board 
of Commissioners of Northampton county, Virginia. Sarah (Offley) Thorogood 
m. (second) Capt. John Gookin; (third), about 1645, Col. Francis Yeardley. She d. 
1657. It is not known that Col. Yeardley left issue. (See Thorogood and Michael 
families, later in this narrative). 

Col. Argall Yeardley, eldest son of Sir George and Temperance (West) 
Yeardley, born at Jamestown, Virginia, about 1621, was a very prominent man in 
affairs of the infant Colony in Virginia. He was appointed, by Sir William 
Berkely, Commander of Accomac (later Northampton) county, then comprising 
the whole eastern shore of Virginia, on June 30, 1642, probably on his coming of 
age ; and was a member of Council of State, December 20, 1643. He died intestate. 
He married (first) about 1640, but the name of his wife is unknown. He mar- 
ried (second), in 1649, while on a visit to Europe, Ann, daughter of John and 
Joane Custis, natives of England, but then living in Rotterdam. 
Issue of Col. Argall Yeardley: — 

Capt. Argall Yeardley, of whom presently; 

Edmund Yeardley, of whom we have no record after 1657; supposedly d. s. p., no trace 

of descendants being found; 
Rose Yeardley, m. (first) Jan. 4, 1662, Thomas Ryding, of Nassawadox, Northampton 

county, Virginia. M. (second) prior to 1684, Robert Peale ; no record of issue; 
Henry Yeardley, also supposedly d. s. p., no record of him being found after 1657, when 

yet a boy; 
Frances Yeardley, m. Lieut. -Col. Adam Thorogood, eldest son of Capt. Adam and 

Sarah (Offley) Thorogood, before mentioned. They lived at Lynnhaven Bay, Norfolk 

county, Va., where he became prominent; was Burgess from that county, 1606, and 

Justice, 1669. D. 1685. 

Captain Argall Yeardley, eldest son and heir of Col. Argall Yeardley, and 
grandson of Sir George and Temperance (West) Yeardley, was very prominent 
in Northampton county, Virginia, and was High Sheriff of the county at the time 
of his death, 1682. He married, about January 23, 1678, Sarah, eldest daughter 
of John Michael, Sr., by his wife Elizabeth Thorogood, daughter of Capt. Adam 
Thorogood and Sarah Offley. 

The ancestry of Capt. Adam Thorogood traces back to John Thorogood. of 
Chelston Temple, county Hertford, England, who had sons, Nicolas and John 
Thorogood, the latter of whom had a son John Thorogood, of Felsted, county 

Essex, who married Luckin, and was father of William Thorogood. of 

Gumstone, Norfolk, official of the diocese of Norwich, who married Ann Ed- 
wards, of Norwich, and had issue : — 



WARNER 253 

Sir Edward Thorogood; 

Sir John Thorogood, Knight, a Pensioner of his Majesty, named as overseer in will of 

brother Capt. Adam Thorogood, of Va., 1640, as "Sir John Thorogood, of Kensington, 

near London;" m. Frances Mentes; 
Thomas Thorogood; 
Edmund Thorogood; 
Capt. Adam Thorogood; 
William Thorogood. 

Capt. Adam Thorogood was born in 1603, and came to Virginia in 162 1, in the 
"Charles" in his eighteenth year. He was patentee of large tracts of lands and 
was a representative in the Assembly from Elizabeth City, from 1629, for several 
consecutive years; member of Monthly Court of Elizabeth City, 1632; member 
of Council of State of Colony of Virginia, 1637 to his death, and President of 
Court of Lower Norfolk. Bruce's History of Virginia says of him, "He was one 
of the principal figures in the History of Virginia in the 17th Century." He left 
a large estate in lands and cattle. His will, dated February 17, 1639-40, was pro- 
bated April 27, 1640. Norfolk, Virginia, was named by him after his birthplace 
and home in England. He married Sarah Offley, who married (second) Capt. 
John Gookin, (third) Capt. Francis Yeardley, son of Sir George and Temperance. 

Issue of Capt. Adam and Sarah (Offley) Thorogood: — 

Capt. Adam Thorogood, before mentioned, m. Francis Yeardley about 1648; 
Ann Thorogood, m. Job Chandler, of Maryland, Provincial Councillor; 
Sarah Thorogood, also m. a Marylander; 
Elizabeth Thorogood, m. Capt. John Michael. 

Capt. John Michael, supposed to have come originally from England, came 
to Virginia about 1652, from Graft, Holland, where he had been a merchant. He 
was very prominent on the eastern shore of Virginia, was Commissioner of Ac- 
comac, and Justice of the Peace, 1665, and later. He married (second) Mary, 
widow of John Culpepper, and had a son Yeardley Michael. His children by 
Elizabeth Thorogood so far as known were : — 

Adam Michael, m. Sarah, dau. of Southey Littleton, who subsequently m. John Custis, of 

Wilsonia, Northampton county; 
Margaret Michael, m. John Custis, of Wilsonia; 
Sarah Michael, m. Capt. Argall Yeardley, above-mentioned; 
John Michael, Jr.; 
Simon Michael. 

Sarah (Michael) Yeardley, after the death of her first husband, Capt. 
Argall Yeardley, married (second) John Watts, and had a son John Watts; she 
married (third) Thomas Maddox. Her will is dated March 20, 1694, and was 
probated in Northampton county, Virginia. 

Issue of Capt. Argall and Sarah (Michael) Yeardley: — 

Argall Yeardley, said to have d. young, unm. ; 

John Yeardley, also supposedly d. young; 

Elizabeth Yeardley, m. George Harmanson, and lived at a place called "Yeardley," 

homestead of Yeardley family, d. there, 1734. They had seven children who have left 

numerous descendants among prominent families of Va.; 
Sarah Yeardley, m. John Powell, of whom presently; 



254 WARNER 

Frances Yeardley, m. Major John West; had nine children; youngest dau. Sarah, m. 
Isaac Smith, whose son Isaac (1734-1813), by his wife Elizabeth Custis Teackle (1742- 
1822), was father of Isaac Smith, who m. Maria, dau. of Judge Francis Hopkinson, 
of Phila., and they were grandparents of F. Hopkinson Smith, the eminent novelist, 
lecturer and artist. 

Sarah Yeardley, second daughter of Capt. Argall and Sarah (Michael) Yeard- 
ley, married John Powell, of Northampton county, Virginia, great-grandson of 
Thomas Powell, born prior to 1579, came to Virginia in the "Sampson," 1618, 
and was prominent in the affairs of the eastern shore as early as 1624. He was 
living in 1662, and a deposition dated May 25, 1659 entered among records of 
Northampton county, states that he was "four score and odd" at that date. By 
his wife Elizabeth, he had a son John Powell, who was father of John Powell, 
who married Frances, daughter of Nathaniel Wilkins, and had two sons, Nathan- 
iel Powell, died in 1732, and John Powell, married Sarah Yeardley prior to 1698. 
John Powell, last mentioned, was Sheriff of Northampton county in 1702, and 
Justice of the Peace at that date and later. His will was dated June 1, 17 18. 
Issue of John and Sarah (Yeardley) Powell: — 

Sarah Powell, m. John Haggonian; 
Yeardley Powell; 

Margaret Powell, m. Clark Jacobs; 
Mary Powell; 

Rose Powell, m. (first) Dr. Michael Christian; (second) William Digby Seymour; had 
descendants by both marriages. 

Rose Powell and Dr. Michael Christian were married December 7, 1722, and 
he died prior to February 10, 1736, the date of the Marriage Bond for her second 
marriage with William Digby Seymour, filed in Clerk's Office, Eastville, Virginia. 
Dr. Michael Christian was a lineal descendant of Captain William Christian, of 
Ronaldsway, Isle of Man, popularly known as "William Dhome," who was executed 
in 1663 for the patriotic part he took in protecting his countrymen's laws and lib- 
erties. He was, as is well known, one of the characters in Sir Walter Scott's 
"Peverill of the Peak." 

Issue of Rose and Dr. Michael Christian: — 

Michael Christian, Jr., m. Dec. 30, 1747, Patience Michael; 

William Christian, m. June 7, 1750, Keziah Blair, widow; their grandson Col. Wm. 

Armistead Christian, m. Elizabeth Seymour, granddaughter of Rose Powell by second 

marriage; 
Sarah Christian; 

Elizabeth Christian, m. Robert James, Dec. 15, 1753; 
Susannah Christian, m. (first) Luke Luker (second) James Cox, of town of Shel- 

bourne, Nova Scotia; d. prior to 1784. 

Luke Luker was a Tobacco Inspector at Addison Landing, in Accomac county, 
Virginia, residing in St. George's parish in the lower end of the county, and served 
for many years as a vestryman of that parish prior to his death ; his will is dated 
December 17, 1773, and he died prior to October 24, 1774, when the records of 
the parish of St. George show the election of a successor as vestryman. He mar- 
ried Susannah Christian, September 8, 1755. 

Issue of Luke Luker and Susannah Christian: — 

Elizabeth Luker, m. Thomas Custis; 

Rose Luker, m. Dr. John C. Martin, of Snow Hill, Maryland; 



WARNER 255 

Anne Luker, d. unm.; 

Sarah Luker, m. Tully Wise; 

Susan Luker, m. Rev. Griffin Callahan. 

Rev. Griffin Callahan, born in 1759, was a popular minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. He was admitted to the Travelling Connection of that Church, 
September 10, 1788, preached in the Frederick, Maryland, Circuit in 1788, and 
later on the eastern shore of Virginia and Maryland ; living for a considerable 
time at a place called "Mockhorn," near Drummondstown, later at Folly Creek, 
and finally at Locust Mount, Accomac county, Virginia, where he died August 22, 
1833, aged seventy-four years, and is buried at Burton's Meeting House, near 
Locust Mount. 

Issue of Rev. Griffin and Susan (Luker) Callahan: — 

Elizabeth Luker Callahan, m. Jan. 23, 1842, at St. Paul's M. E. Church, Phila., Gustavus 
Henry Kreegar, of Phila., native of Germany. He d. April 9, 1872, and she April 16, 
1888. Both buried at St. Paul's Churchyard, Phila.; 
Griffin Wesley Callahan, m. Dec. 28, 1828, Leah Ashby, at Locust Mount, Accomac 
county, Virginia. D. in Accomac county, March I, 1841, and she Feb. 26, 1895. Their 
eldest son, John Wesley Callahan, b. Oct. 22, 1833, m. Jan. 20, 1856, Prudence Ann, 
dau. of James Sweeney, of Phila., by his wife Prudence Sisom, of Burlington, N. J., 
and had issue : 

Annie Maryland Callahan, b. Nov. 6, 1856, in. July 19, 1878, Charles T. Graham, 

of Phila.; 
Leah Virginia Callahan, b. July 19, 1859, m - Feb. 20, 1886, Thomas Auner, of 

Phila., who d. Aug. 23, 1896; 
Griffin Clay Callahan, of Phila., has devoted much attention to historical research, 
b. Nov. 29, 1861; m. Feb. 6, 1883, Ida Virginia, b. March 4, 1864, dau. of Charles 
and Bella (Reisner) Williams, of Phila.; 
John Wesley Callahan, b. March II, 1864; 
Kate Eliza Callahan, b. April 11, 1866, d. Jan. 9, 1885; 
Lillie Sisom Callahan, b. 1868, d. 1880; 

George West Callahan, b. Dec. 16, 1871, m. Dec. 4, 1895, Renta Louise Glenz; 
Mary Susan Callahan, b. Aug. 19, 1873; 
Florence Selby Callahan, b. Jan. 8, 1877. 
Susan Christian Callahan, m. July 29, 1839, George Osborne Sneath, of Phila. D. s. p., 
he June 2, 1842, and she Nov. 3, 1892. Both buried at St. Paul's M. E. Church, Phila.; 
Sarah Callahan, m. William Farson, of Phila. ; d. s. p. ; 
John Wesley Callahan, d. young, unm.; 

Ann Luker Callahan, m. at St. George's Methodist Episcopal Church, Phila., Dec. 15, 
1830, Joseph Michael Doran. 

Joseph Michael Doran, born Philadelphia, November 10, 1800, was a son of 
Michael Doran, from Mountreath, Queens county, Ireland, by his wife Mary 
Lalor, of Kings county, Ireland. Michael Doran arrived in Philadelphia January 
5> J 795> an d resided in that city until his death. Joseph Michael Doran graduated 
at University of Pennsylvania, 1820, studied law in the office of Hon. Joseph 
Reed Ingersoll, and was admitted to Philadelphia Bar April 3, 1824. He was 
Solicitor of the District of Southwark in 1835 ; member of Constitutional Con- 
vention of 1837, President of Repeal Association of Philadelphia, and Judge of 
Court of General Sessions, of Philadelphia, 1840-1843. He died June 6, 1859, 
and his wife Ann Luker Callahan died April 30, 1883. Both are buried at St. 
Mary's Roman Catholic Churchyard, Fourth street, above Spruce, Philadelphia. 
Issue of Joseph Michael and Ann L. (Callahan) Doran: — 

Alice Lalor Doran, b. Feb. 28, 1842, d. Feb. 10, 1861 ; 
Joseph Ingersoll Doran, of whom presently; 



256 WARNER 

Virginia Doran, b. April 9, 1846, d. March 18, 1857; 
John Ashley Doran, b. March 23, 1848, d. Dec. 31, 1855; 
Four other children, d. inf. 

Joseph Ingersoli. Doran. born Philadelphia, January 17, 1844, only surviving 
issue of Joseph Michael and Ann Luker (Callahan) Doran, received his prelimi- 
nary education in private schools, principally at the well-known school of Dr. 
John vV. Faires, where he prepared to enter the University of Pennsylvania. He, 
however, remained but a short time at the university, and in the autumn of i860, 
entered the office of John C. Bullitt, Esq., first as clerk and later as student at 
law. He was admitted as a member of Philadelphia Bar in April, 1865, and two 
years later to practice in Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. He has devoted his 
attention principally to railroad and corporation law, and is well known in that 
branch of his profession. He is Consulting Counsel for a great number of corpor- 
ations, and has been General Solicitor for the Norfolk & Western Railroad Com- 
pany since the organization of that company. Since 1880 he has been closely 
identified with the, since then, rapid development of the coal and iron districts of 
West Virginia and Virginia. Retaining his habits of industry, study and close 
application to business, and devoting himself with a commendable zeal and earn- 
estness to the practice of his chosen profession, and the administration of his 
manifold business interests, he has built up a large practice and has been eminently 
successful in his business operations. In the midst of an extraordinarily busy life 
he has found time to devote to subjects of national and local interest. In 1876 he 
read an interesting paper before the American Social Science Convention on 
"Building Associations," which was extensively commented on. In 1888, he pub- 
lished a pamphlet on "Our Fishery Rights in the North Atlantic," which showed 
an exhaustive investigation of that intricate and most important subject. It was 
received generally as a forcible argument, and the best statement of the American 
side of the much debated fishery question. The Philadelphia Ledger referred to it 
as a "brief, pungent and able pamphlet," and the Boston Evening Transcript spoke 
of it as "one of the most satisfactory contributions to the literature of the Fishery 
controversy. "- 

Joseph I. Doran married, December 12, 1876, Ida Warner, daughter of Joseph 
Warner Erwin, of Philadelphia, by his wife Caroline, daughter of Samuel and 
Catharine D. (Upjohn) Borden, of Cincinnati, Ohio, and granddaughter of Henry 
Erwin, by his wife Rebecca Ashton Warner, whose paternal ancestry back to John 
Warner, of Blockley, Worcestershire, England, through his son William Warner, 
first settler of Blockley, West Philadelphia, is traced in preceding pages. 
Issue of Joseph I . and Ida Warner (Erwin) Doran: — 

Marie Louise Doran. b. Sept. 16, 1877; of whom presently; 

Joseph Erwin Doran, b. Nov. 1, 1878, d. Feb. 24, 1887; 

Alice Therese Doran, b. March 16, 1881 ; 

John Henry Doran, b. May 31, 1883; 

Caroline Borden Doran, b. Sept. 24, 1884; 

Josephine Lalor Doran, b. March 31, 1886; 

Warner Erwin Doran, b. Dec. 18, 1887. 

Marie Louise Doran (eldest child of Joseph I. Doran and Ida Warner Doran), mar- 
ried, April 28, 1903, John Williams, of Rosemont, Pennsylvania, and they have children 
as follows : 

Louise Erwin Williams, b. Feb. 17, 1904; 

Fredericka Williams, b. Aug. 23, 1905. 



WISTAR-WISTER FAMILY. 

Hans Caspar Wuster, ancestor of the Wistar and Wister families, prominent 
in the Colonial history of Philadelphia, was "Jager" or Forester to the Prince 
Palatine, an office that had been hereditary in the family. He resided in the rural 
village of Hilspach, six miles from Heidelberg, in the then Electorate of the 
Rhenish Palatinate. Hans Caspar Wuster died at Hilspach, January 13, 1726, at 
the age of fifty-five years, less three months. By his wife Anna Catharina Wuster 
he had issue : — 

Maria Wuster, b. Hilspach, 1690, m. David Deshler, Aide-de-camp to Prince Palatine, 

whose son David Deshler came to Pa., about 1730, and entered the counting house of 

his uncle John Wister; 
Caspar Wuster, b. Hilspach, Feb. 3, 1696, came to Pa. 1717, d. at Phila., March 21, 1752, 

m. May 25, 1726, Katharine Johnson, of whom presently; 

Maria Barbara Wuster, b. Feb. 26, 1700, m. Hitner, came to Pa. about 1727; 

Anna Barbara, b. 1702, m. George Bauer, a Councillor at Hilspach, came to Pa. and 

settled in Tulpehocken township, Berks county; 
Albertina Wuster, b. Dec. 26, 1703, m. Ulmer, son Martin Ulmer, mentioned in 

will of Caspar Wistar; 

Dorothea Wuster, b. 1705, m. Dushorn, mentioned in will of Caspar Wuster; 

Maria Margaretha, b. June 10, 1707, no further record; 

Johannes (John) Wuster, b. at Hilspach, Nov. 7, 1708, came to Phila. 1727, d. there 

1789, m. (first) Salome Zimmerman, and (second) Anna Catharine Rubenkam, of 

whom later; 

Johan Ludovick Wuster, b. Jan. 29, 171 1, remained in Hilspach, but is said to have d. s. p.; 
George Bernhardt Wuster, b. Sept. 18, 1713, no further record. 

Caspar Wuster, as he always wrote his name, though at the time of his natural- 
ization it was recorded "Wistar," and in that form has been borne by his descend- 
ants to the present time, was born as above shown, in the village of Hilspach, in a 
quaint old house still standing, February 3, 1696. On attaining his majority, 1717, 
his father offered to resign his position of Huntsman to the Prince Palatine and 
have Caspar appointed in his stead, but the ambitious youth, doubtless hearing of 
the success of some of his countrymen in Penn's colony in America, decided to 
seek his fortune in the new country beyond the seas. Bestowing his patrimony on 
the younger members of the family, he sailed for Philadelphia, where he arrived 
September 16, 1717, without other worldly goods than his clothes, a double-barreled 
rifle still in possession of the family, and a single pistareen (nine pence Sterling). 
His first employment was in assisting to gather apples from an orchard on Arch 
street, for which he was paid in a portion of the fruit, and his first meal in Amer- 
ica was made from bread and apples, a fact that was commemorated many years 
after by his distinguished descendant, Dr. Caspar Wistar, who entertained a num- 
ber of distinguished guests at his house with a menu of bread and apples only. 
He later found regular employment with a button-maker and learned the art of 
making buttons of metal, wood and horn, and eventually took up that business on 
his own account. He also evidently engaged in the mercantile trade within a few 
years of his arrival, as in 1726, he is named in a list of "the principal Merchants 
of the City" in the "Weekly Mercury," who had signified their willingness to 
accept "New Castle and Kent Bills." 
17 



258 WISTAR-WISTER 

He took the oath of allegiance to the British crown in 1721, and as early as 
1725, was interested in the manufacture of iron. About 1729, while travelling in 
the southern part of West Jersey, he noticed a deposit of sand similar to that used 
in his native country for the manufacture of glass, and securing the necessary 
capital, purchased a tract of land near Salem, and established the first glass mak- 
ing establishment in America. His several business ventures proved successful 
and he became a prosperous merchant and manufacturer and a considerable land- 
owner in various parts of Pennsylvania and New Jersey. Among his other pur- 
chases was a large tract in Northampton county, which he sold in smaller tracts 
to German settlers at a considerable profit. He also owned large tracts in Berks 
and Lancaster counties, on part of which he settled his brothers-in-law, whom he 
had induced to emigrate to Pennsylvania. His home was for many years on Front 
street, near that of Anthony Morris, but in 1743, he purchased a house on Market 
street between Second and Third, where he resided until his death on March 21, 
1752, at that date one of the wealthiest men in the Province. He was one of the 
earliest contributors to the Pennsylvania Hospital, and was present at the first 
meeting of the contributors, May 1751. 

Caspar Wistar, married, at Germantown Friends' Meeting, May 25, 1726, Cath- 
arine Jansen, or Johnson, as the name came to be spelled at about this date. She 
was born at Germantown, September 20, 1703, and died i2mo. 18, 1786, daughter 
of Dirck and Margaret (Millan) Jansen, both natives of the Palatinate and early 
settlers in Germantown. Her maternal grandfather, Hans Millan, came to Ger- 
mantown in 1683, and was a considerable land owner there. He erected the Wyck 
house about 1700. 

Issue of Caspar and Katharine (Johnson) Wistar: — 

Richard, b. July 6, 1727, d. Aug. 4, 1781, m. (first) 1751, Sarah Wyatt, (second) Mary 

(Bacon) Gilbert, of whom presently; 
Margaret, b. Jan. 26, 1728-9, d. Oct. 3, 1793, m. Reuben Haines, b. 1727, d. 1793, and had 
issue : 

Catharine, b. 1761, d. 1809, m. 1798, Richard Hartshorne; 
Caspar Wistar, b. 1762, d. 1801, m. 1785, Hannah Marshall; 
Josiah, b. 1764, d. 1795, m. Sarah Ball; 
Reuben, b. 1765, d. s. p. I794J 
Martha, b. 1769, d. 1781, unm. 
Catharine, b. Dec. 19, 1730, d. 1771, m. i2mo. 6, 1753, Isaac Greenleaf, b. 1715, <•• *77i> 
son of Isaac Greenleaf, of Ipswich, Suffolk; issue: 

Elizabeth, b. 1754, d. 1812, m. 1774, Joseph Shotwell; 
Catharine, b. 1756, d. 1783, unm.; 
Sarah, b. 1757, d. 1758; 
Caspar, b. 1759, d. 1759; 

Sarah, b. 1760, d. 1813, m. 1784, Hugh Davids. 
Joshua, b. Dec. 14, 1732, d. June, 1734; 

Rebecca, b. Jan. 25, 1735-6, d. Jan. 22, 1791, m. Dec. II, 1755. Capt. Samuel Morris; 
Sarah, b. Nov. 8, 1738, d. 181 5, unm.; 

Caspar, b. Feb. 3, 1740, d. at Brandywine Farm, Pennsbury township, Chester county, 
Pa., Oct. 31, 181 1 ; m. Nov. 7, 1765, Mary Franklin, of N. Y., where he resided some 
years. Removed to Chester county, 1784. Mrs. Wistar, b. Feb. 26, 1736, d. March 28, 
1804; issue: 

Johnson, b. June 20, 1766; 
Thomas, b. 8mo. 23, 1767, d. 7mo. 1814; 

Catharine, b. 2mo. 27, 1769, d. 7mo. II, 1824, m. i2mo. 16, 1802, Abraham Sharp- 
less, of Sarum Forge, Chester county; 



WISTAR-WISTER 259 

Sarah, b. March 5, 1770, d. July 5, 1845, m. 1790, George Pennock, of Chester 

county ; 
Mary, b. Feb. 10, 1772, d. Nov. II, 1810, unm.; 
Deborah, b. Oct. 22, 1775; 
Samuel, b. May 7, 1780, d. 1812, unm. 

Richard Wistar, eldest son of Caspar and Katharine (Johnson) Wistar, born 
in Philadelphia, July 6, 1727, was devised by his father's will the glass works and 
equipment in Salem county, New Jersey, on condition that he render to his brother 
Caspar, 700 feet of glass of specified sizes, and three and a half dozen bottles. 
He later established a manufactory of glass and bottles in Philadelphia, where he 
resided until his death, which occurred August 4, 1781. He married (first), No- 
vember 27, 1751, Sarah Wyatt, daughter of Bartholomew Wyatt, of Salem county, 
New Jersey, by his wife Elizabeth Tomlinson. She was born August 6, 1733, and 
died September 1, 1771. He married (second) Mary (Bacon) Gilbert, a widow. 
Issue of Richard and Sarah (Wyatt) Wistar: — 

Caspar Wistar, b. Sept. 1, 1752, d. Nov. 19, 1756; 

Bartholomew Wistar, b. Aug. 26, 1754, d. March 5, 1796, unm.; 

Richard Wistar, Jr., b. July 29, 1756, d. June 6, 1821 ; m. Sarah Morris; of whom pres- 
ently ; 

John Wistar, b. May 7, 1759, d. March 16, 1815; m. Charlotte Newbold; of whom later; 

Caspar Wistar, M. D., b. Sept. 15, 1761, d. Jan. 22, 1818; m. (first) Rebecca Marshall; 
(second) Elizabeth Mifflin; of whom later; 

Thomas Wistar, b. March 17, 1764, d. Nov. 25, 1815; m. Mary Wain; of whom pres- 
ently; 

Elizabeth Wyatt Wistar, b. Dec. 22, 1766, d. 1855; m. Richard Miller; 

Catharine Wistar, b. Jan. 29, 1770, d. Nov. 22, 1820; m. William Bache, M. D. 

Richard Wistar, son of Richard and Sarah (Wyatt) Wistar, born in Phila- 
delphia, July 29, 1756, turned his attention in early life to mercantile pursuits, in 
which he was very successful. He established a large wholesale and retail hard- 
ware business in Philadelphia, which he carried on many years. He invested 
largely in real estate in and near Philadelphia, which later became very valuable. 
He was, until the outbreak of the Revolution, a member of the Society of Friends, 
but was disowned for too active participation in warlike measures, contrary to the 
discipline of the Society. He became a Free Mason August 27, 1779, and achieved 
high rank in the order. The "Silk Stocking Lodge" was created for him and he 
became its first Worthy Master. He was an early supporter of Philadelphia 
Library and Pennsylvania Hospital, serving as a manager of the latter institution, 
1803-6. His country seat, which he named "Hilspach" from the birthplace of his 
grandfather, Caspar Wtister, extended from Fifteenth street to Broad, and from 
Spring Garden to Wallace street. He died June 6, 1821. 

Richard Wistar married, March 14, 1782, Sarah, born January 19, 1758, died 
January 7, 1831, daughter of Capt. Samuel Morris and his wife Rebecca Wistar, 
daughter of Caspar and Katharine, above mentioned. An account of her ancestry 
is given elsewhere in these volumes. 

Issue of Richard and Sarah (Morris) Wistar: — 

Catharine Wistar, b. 1783, d. 1822, unm.; 
Rebecca Wistar, b. 1784, d. 181 2, unm.; 
Sarah Wistar, b. 1786, d. 1866, unm.; 



260 WISTAR-WISTER 

Richard Wistar, b. Oct. 3, 1790, d. in Phila., Nov. 3, 1863; m. June 23, 1824, Hannah 
Owen Lewis, b. June 6, 1793, d. Jan. 24, 1857, dau. of William and Rachel (Wharton) 
Lewis, and granddaughter of Joseph Wharton, and his wife Hannah (Owen) Ogden. 
They had issue : 

Rachel Wistar, d. 1825, unm. ; 

Sarah Wistar, m. (first) Oct. 23, 1851, Joseph Hopkinson, M. D., (second) James 
Gillilan ; 

Rachel Lewis Wistar, b. May 27, 1828, d. April 15, 1893; m - May 24, 1865, Alex- 
ander E. Harvey; 
Richard Wistar, b. Dec. 4, 1829, d. April 8, 1894; 
William Lewis Wistar, b. March 2, 1831, d. July 21, 1894; 
Frances Anna Wistar, m. June 25, 1857, Lewis Allaire Scott, of Phila. 

John Wistar, fourth son of Richard and Sarah (Wyatt) Wistar, born in Phil- 
adelphia, May 7, 1759, died there March 16, 181 5, was a prominent business man 
of Philadelphia, and identified with business and industrial interests elsewhere. 
He married, 1781, Charlotte Newbold, born 1762, died 1819. 
Issue of John and Charlotte (Newbold) Wistar: — 

Sarah Wistar, b. 1782, d. 1794; 

Elizabeth Wistar, b. 1788, d. 1799; 

Mary Wistar, b. 1786, d. 1864; m. Isaac Davis; 

Bartholomew Wistar, b. 1790, d. 1841, m. 1815, Susan N. Lawrie; issue: 

Mary Ann Wistar, b. 1816, d. 1875; m. William Bunker Case; 

Bartholomew Wyatt Wistar, b. 1818, d. 1869, m. Annabelle Elliott Cresson, of 
whom presently ; 

Emma Wistar, b. 1820, d. 1852, m. Richard S. Fellowes; 

Susan Wistar, b. 1824, d. 1895; m - Ellerslie Wallace, M. D.; 

Laura Wistar, b. 1835, m. 1863, William Bispham. 
Cleayton Wistar, b. 1793, d. 1840, m. (first) 1814, Mary Stevenson, (second) in 1827, 

Martha Reeve; 
Caspar Wistar, b. 1795, d. 1850; m. 1817, Rebecca Bassett; 
Charlotte Newbold Wistar, b. 1797, d. 1850; m. 1827, Jonathan Freeland; 
Hannah Wistar, b. 1800, d. 1864; m. 1820, Theophilus Beasley, M. D. ; 
Catharine Wistar, b. 1802, d. 1871; m. 1834, Thomas Evans; 
John Wistar, b. 1804, d. 1880; m. 1828, Margaret Newbold. 

Bartholomew Wyatt Wistar (2), of Philadelphia, born 1818, died 1869; 
married, 1841, Annabelle Elliott Cresson. They had issue: — 

Dillwyn Wistar, Esq., of Phila. Bar, b. Oct. 4, 1844; m. Sept. 13, 1871, Elizabeth Buck- 
ley Morris; issue : 
Annabelle Cresson Wistar, b. Aug. 26. 1872; m. Feb. 17, 1897, Horatio Curtis Wood, of 
Phila.; and had issue: 

Morris Wistar Wood, b. June 2, 1899; 
Annabelle Bonnyman Wood, b. Jan. 5, 1902; 
Horatio Curtis Wood, b. Nov. 3, 1903. 
Edith Wistar, b. April 10, 1874; m. Oct. 15, 1896, William Marriott Canby, Jr.; and had 
issue : 

Marjorie Wistar Canby, b. April 13, 1899; 
William Marriott Canby (3d), b. July 7, 1903. 
Joshua Morris Wistar, b. Dec. 6, 1879; 

Caleb Cresson Wistar, b. July 21, 1846; graduated, Haverford College, 1865; thirty years 
engaged in wholesale oil business in Phila.; member of Union League; Secretary of 
Howard Hospital; member of Board of Managers of Phila. Bourse; member German- 
town Cricket Club and Phila. Cricket Club; member of Germantown Science and Art 
Club, and of Site and Relic Society of Germantown. M. Nov. 22, 1876, Mary Emlen 
Cresson; issue : 

Wyatt Wistar, b. Oct. 14, 1877, d. Jan. 1, 1886; 






WISTAR-WISTER 261 

Frederic Vaux Wistar, b. Dec. 3, 1878; 
Caleb Cresson Wistar, Jr., b. Oct. 5, 1880; 
Elizabeth Vaux Wistar, b. Nov. II, 1883. 
Emma Wistar, b. Jan. 23, 1847, d. Feb. 10, 1899, unm.; 

Bartholomew Wyatt Wistar (3), of Cleveland, Ohio, b. Dec. 22, 1849; m. May 29, 1872, 
May Dorland, b. 1852; issue: 

Emma Mabel Wistar, b. March 2, 1873; m. 1894, Malone Terrell; issue: 
Harrison Malone Terrell, b. April 2, 1895 ; 

Claudia Mary Terrell, b. July 16, 1897; d. Dec. 26, 1901 ; 

Arthur Wistar Terrell, b. May 14, 1904; 

John Walter Terrell, b. April 26, 1906. 
John Dorland Wistar, b. Oct. 25, 1874, m. 1900, Nellie E. Douglass; issue: 

Eleanor Frances Wistar, b. Nov. 30, 1901 ; 

Ruth Alice Wistar, b. June, 1904. 
Bartholomew Wyatt Wistar (4), b. Sept. 3, 1876, m. 1905, Jane Sladden ; 
Bessie Louisa Wistar, b. Sept. 24, 1879; m. 1895, Charles Coffin Hubbard; 
Mary Emlen Smith Wistar, b. Aug. 24, 1881; m. 1903, Frank Herbert Reeves; 
issue : 

Frank Wistar Reeves, b. Feb. 23, 1806. 
Dillwyn Caspar Wistar, b. Nov. 14, 1883; 
Charles Emlen Wistar, b. April 6, 1886; 
Robert Warder Wistar, b. Dec. 16, 1889; 
Helen Marjorie Wistar, b. Feb. 2, 1895. 
Charles Cresson Wistar, b. 1852, d. 1853. 

Caspar Wistar, M. D., son of Richard and Sarah (Wyatt) Wistar, born in 
Philadelphia, September 13, 1761, died there January 22, 1818. He was educated 
at Friends' schools of Philadelphia, and received a thorough classical training 
under private tutors. He became interested in medical science through assisting 
in caring for wounded soldiers after the battle of Germantown, and studied medi- 
cine under Dr. John Rodman, also taking a regular course in the Medical Depart- 
ment of University of Pennsylvania, where he received degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine, 1782. After receiving his degree he went to Europe and, after spending a 
year in London, went to Edinburgh, and entered University of Edinburgh, from 
which he received his degree 1786. He was for two years President of the Royal 
Medical Society of Edinburgh. Returning to Philadelphia, 1786, he at once took 
up the practice of medicine there and became one of the most eminent and success- 
ful physicians in America. 

Dr. Wistar was made a Fellow of Philadelphia College of Physicians 1787, and 
was one of its censors from 1794 until his death. He was many years physician 
of Philadelphia Dispensary; Professor of Chemistry at University of Pennsyl- 
vania, 1789-92; Professor of Anatomy, Midwifery, and Surgery, 1792-1808; and 
at the death of his associate, Dr. William Shippen, Jr., 1808, took the chair of 
Anatomy at the university, which he filled until his death, 1818. He was a mem- 
ber of the American Philosophical Society from 1787, its vice-president 1795-1815, 
and president from the latter date to his death. He was also president of the 
Society for the Abolition of Slavery. He was much interested in natural science 
and gave a great deal of time to scientific researches. His house at Fourth and 
Locust streets was a notable gathering place for students, scientists, and travellers 
and scholars of all grades. The "Wistar Parties" maintained in Philadelphia for 
many years had their origin in his custom of keeping "open house" once every 
week during the winter months, when kindred spirits gathered around his table 



262 WISTAR-WISTER 

and discussed science, literature and questions of the day. The noted travellers 
that visited Philadelphia were likewise his guests. Baron Von Humboldt was 
entertained there, 1804. 

Caspar Wistar, M. D., married twice, (first) May 15, 1788, Isabella, daughter of 
Christopher Marshall, Jr., and Ann Eddy, granddaughter Christopher Marshall, 
Sr., and his wife, Sarah Thompson. She was born March 7, 1763, and died 1790, 
without issue. Dr. Wistar married (second), November 28, 1798, Elizabeth 
Mifflin. 

Issue of Dr. Caspar and Elisabeth (Mifflin) Wistar: — 

Richard Mifflin Wistar, b. Nov. 11, 1805, d. unm. 1883; was a distinguished and success- 
ful physician; 

Mifflin Wistar, M. D., b. June 30, 181 1, d. Sept. 19, 1872; was also a successful and prom- 
inent physician of Phila. ; m. Dec. 13, 1832, Esther Fisher, born Sept. 26, 181 5, dau. of 
James and Hannah (Fisher) Smith; they had no issue; 

Elizabeth Wistar, b. March 20, 1816, d. unm. Oct. 1834. 

Thomas Wistar, youngest son of Richard and Sarah (Wyatt) Wistar, born 
in Philadelphia, March 17, 1764, died November 25, 1851. He married, May 24, 
1786, Mary, born November 27, 1765, died December 15, 1844, daughter of Rich- 
ard and Elizabeth (Armitt) Wain. 

Issue of Thomas and Mary (Wain) Wistar: — 

Richard Wistar, b. Aug. 16, 1787, d. Dec. 11, 1787; 

Elizabeth Wain Wistar, b. Nov. 12, 1788, d. Nov. 6, 1880; 

Sarah Wyatt Wistar, b. March 5, 1790, d. April 16, 1791 ; 

Richard Wistar, b. April 6, 1701; 

Margaret Wistar, b. Jan. 30, 1792, d. July 21, 1886; m. Roberts Vaux; 

Wyatt Wistar, b. Jan. 8, 1795, d. July 20, 1795; 

Mary Wistar, b. March 30, 1796, d. March 22, 1804; 

Thomas Wistar, b. June 23, 1798, d. Jan., 1876; m. (first) Elizabeth Buckley Morris; 

(second) Mary Richardson; 
Bartholomew Wyatt Wistar, b. May 17, 1800, d. Sept. 9, 1800; 

Caspar Wistar, b. June 5, 1801, d. April 4, 1867; m. Lydia Jones; of whom presently; 
Joseph Wistar, b. Dec. 27, 1802, d. March 3, 1879; m. Sarah Elizabeth Comfort; 
Sarah Wistar, b. Oct. 27, 1804, d. April, 1872; m. Marmaduke Cooper Cope; 
Mary Wistar, b. May 10, 1807, d. July 3, 1840; m. Moses Brown. 

Caspar Wistar, M. D., tenth child of Thomas and Mary (Wain) Wistar, born 
June 5, 1 801, died April 4, 1867, was a physician in Philadelphia. He married, 
June 8, 1826, Lydia Jones, born October 24, 1804, died February 9, 1878, daugh- 
ter of Isaac Cooper Jones and his wife Hannah Firth. 
Issue of Dr. Caspar and Lydia (lones) Wistar: — 

Isaac Jones Wistar, b. Nov. 14, 1827, d. Sept. 18, 1905; m. 1863, Sarah Toland; 
Mary Wain Wistar, b. June 8, 1829, d. Jan. 26, 1901 ; m. Sept. 5, 1855. Moses Brown, b. 
Feb. 15, 1829, d. May 23, 1883, son of Moses and Mary Wain (Wistar) Brown, above 
mentioned; had issue: 

William Wistar Brown, b. 1856, d. 1887; 

Thomas Wistar Brown, b. Feb. 7, 1858; m. 1890, Margaret Meirs Coldstream, and 

had issue, two sons and four daughters; 
Moses Brown, b. April 7, i860; m. March 4, 1886, Mary Louise Coxe, b. July 13, 
1866, dau. of John Redman and Catharine Clifton (Bridges) Coxe; they had 
issue : 

Thomas Wistar Brown, b. June 23, 1887. 



WISTAR-WISTER 263 

Mary Wain Wistar Brown, b. Nov. 23, 1861, d. Nov. 17, 1905; m. Feb. 9, 1888, 
Thomas Story Kirkbride Morton, M. D. 
Margaret Vaux Wistar, b. Sept. 21, 1831 ; m. April 8, 1852, Robert Bowne Haines, b. 
Feb. 16, 1827, d. Aug. 9, 1895; issue: 

Caspar Wistar Haines, b. Feb. 11, 1853; 

Robert Bowne Haines, b. April 10, 1857; m. June 18, 1890, Mary West, b. March 
19, 1858, dau. of Charles and Isabella (Pennock) Huston; issue, two sons and 
two daughters ; 
Mary Morton Haines, b. April 2, i860; 

William Jones Haines, b. Oct. 14, 1865; m. May 26, 1903, Katharine Wirt, b. Dec. 
29, 1873, dau. of Dr. D. Murray and Ellen Rosa (Randall) Cheston; issue, one 
son and two daughters; 
James Bowne Haines, b. July 18, 1869; 

Diedrich Jansen Haines, b. April 4, 1871 ; m. Oct. 20, 1904, Ella Eustis Wister, b 
Aug. 30, 1879, dau. of William Rotch and Mary (Eustis) Wister, and a descend- 
ant of John Wister, brother of Caspar, the emigrant, an account of whom and 
some of his descendants is given below; issue: 
Caspar Wistar Haines, b. Oct. 18, 1905. 

Caspar Wistar, b. 1833, d. ; 

Hannah Jones Wistar, b. April 27, 1835; m. Dec. 16, 1858, William Hacker, b. April 2, 
1834, d. March 11, 1898, son of Jeremiah and Beulah (Morris) Hacker; they had issue: 
Edward Hacker, b. April 7, 1863; m. Oct. 18, 1905, Mary Foster Lycett; issue: 

William Hacker, b. Nov. 23, 1907. 
William Estes Hacker, b. Sept. 12, 1867; m. April 27, 1897, Mabel Radcliffe Tilton; 
Caspar Wistar Hacker, b. Oct. 9, 1869; 

Arthur Heathcote Hacker, b. Jan. 15, 1871 ; m. April 10, 1902, Emily, b. Feb. 13, 
1880, dau. of William Piatt and Alice (Lyman) Pepper; they have issue: 
Arthur Heathcote Hacker, Jr., b. July 17, 1903; 
William Piatt Hacker, b. Dec. 7, 1904. 
William Wilberforce Wistar, b. March 23, 1837, d. May 13, 1866; m. 1864, Anna Mary, 
dau. of Harrison and Emma (Botham) Alderson ; they had issue: 

Emma Alderson Wistar, b. Sept. 2, 1865; m. 1888, John Shaw, and had issue: 
Mary Violet Alderson Shaw, b. 1890; 
John Valentine Wistar Shaw, b. 1894. 
Thomas Wistar, M. D., b. March 23, 1837; m. Oct. 15, 1898, Theodora Feltwell; 
Sarah Wistar, b. Feb. 27, 1839; m. Nov. 28, 1866, William Gibbons, b. March 26, 1838, d. 
April 28, 1880, son of Samuel and Anna (Gibbons) Rhoads; issue: 
Lydia Wistar Rhoads, b. June 29, 1868; 

Jane Gibbons Rhoads, b. May 1, 1870; m. June 8, 1897, Marriot Canby Morris, b. 
Sept. 7, 1863, son of Elliston Perot Morris and his wife Martha Canby; they 
had issue: 

Elliston Perot Morris, b. May 17, 1899; 
Marriot Canby Morris, b. Dec. 29, 1900; 
Janet Morris, b. April 7, 1907. 
Ethel Rhoads, b. June 18, 1871 ; m. Feb. 12, 1907, Thomas Charles Potts, b. Oct. 
15, 1871; have issue: 
Sarah Rhoads Potts, b. Nov. 26, 1897. 
Edward Rhoads, b. Oct. 8, 1873, d. July 4, 1903; 

William Gibbons Rhoads, b. July 10, 1876; m. Nov. 11, 1903, Ellen Nora Ward, b. 
April 5, 1883; have issue: 

Nora Ward Rhoads, b. Jan. 21, 1906. 
Samuel Rhoads, b. Feb. 16, 1878. 
Lydia Jones Wistar, b. May 17, 1841 ; m. April 3, 1879, Edward Hale Kendall, b. July 31, 
1842, d. May 10, 1892; issue: 

Isaac Wistar Kendall, b. Dec. 12, 1879; 

Edward Hale Kendall, Jr., b. July 16, 1881; m. Nov. 19, 1902, Rebecca Stevens, b. 
Aug. 15, 1881, dau. of Henry Wolcott and Helen L. (Stevens) Thomas; issue: 
Edward Hale Kendall, b. Sept. 5, 1903, d. Dec. 23, 1903; 
Edward Hale Kendall, b. Oct. 16, 1904; 
Thomas Wistar Kendall, b. May 17, 1906. 
Katharine Jansen Wistar, b. July 29, 1843, d. March 14, 1902. 



THE WISTER FAMILY. 

John Wuster, second son of Hans Caspar and Anna Catharina Wuster, born 
in Hilspach, Rhenish Palatinate, November 8, 1708; remained with his father in 
Hilspach until the latter's death in 1726, when he at once made preparations to 
join his brother Caspar in Pennsylvania. In May, 1727, he embarked for Phila- 
delphia, where he arrived in September of the same year. Like his brother, he 
brought little of this world's goods with him, and for the first few years of his 
residence in the city was probably employed in connection with some of the in- 
dustries established by his brother. He later engaged in the business of a wine 
merchant. In 1731, he purchased a lot on Market street between Third and 
Fourth streets, and having married, April 9, 1731, Salome Zimmerman, of Lan- 
caster county, also a native of Germany, he took up his residence on his new pur- 
chase, which continued to be the city home of the family for three generations. 
Like his brother Caspar, John Wister prospered in his business undertakings and 
acquired a comfortable fortune, becoming the owner of several dwelling and 
business places in the city, and a large tract of land in Germantown and Bristol 
townships, including " Wister's Woods" still owned by his descendants, and a large 
tract on Shoemaker's Lane and Germantown Road. On the latter tract, purchased 
1741, he erected 1744, the old mansion, ever since occupied by his descendants, 
which they have christened "Grumblethorpe," now occupied by his great-grand- 
son Charles J. Wister, Jr. He also owned a large tract of land in Lancaster county, 
which remained in the family three generations. He made the Germantown Man- 
sion his summer residence, retaining his fine city residence on Market street, 
where he died January 31, 1789. 

John Wister was a man of the strictest uprightness and integrity, of a kindly 
and charitable disposition. For many years he kept up communication with his 
relatives in Germany and sent them financial assistance. He also dispensed a 
liberal charity in his own city. Becoming on his marriage a member of the Society 
of Friends, during the Revolution he took no active part in the contest, though 
there is evidence that he was in sympathy with the cause of independence. He 
remained in Philadelphia during its occupation by the British, occupying the house 
at 325 Market street, long afterwards occupied by his sons and grandsons. As 
before stated, he married, April 9, 1731, Salome Zimmerman. She died 1736. Of 
her four children only one lived to mature years, Salome, who married William 
Chancellor. On November 10, 1737, John Wister married (second) Anna Cath- 
arine Rubenkam, who was born in the city of Wanfried, Germany, and was a 
daughter of John Philip Rubenkam, a clergyman of that city. She died May 17, 
1770, having borne her husband five children of whom three lived to maturity. Mr. 
Wister married (third) Anna Thoman, who had come to Pennsylvania with her 
father, Durst Thoman, 1736. By her he had no children. John Wister was at 
one time much inclined towards Moravianism and became the intimate friend of 
Count Zinzendorf, who during his visit to Pennsylvania in 1741, was a frequent 
visitor at the Wister home in Philadelphia, and two chairs presented by him to 
John Wister are still prized possessions of his descendants. 



WISTER 265 

Issue of John and Anna Catharine (Rubenkam) Wister: — 

Daniel, b. Feb. 4, 1738-9, d. Feb. 15, 1804, m. May 5, 1760, Lowry Jones; of whom pres- 
ently ; 
Catharine, b. Jan. 2, 1742-3, m. Samuel Miles; 
William, b. March 29, 1746, d. 1800, unm., was a wholesale merchant of Phila 

Daniel Wister, eldest son of John and Anna Catharine (Rubenkam) Wister, 
born in Philadelphia, February 4, 1739 (N. S.), on coming of age became asso- 
ciated with his father in the mercantile business, residing during the earlier days 
of his married life in the old homestead at 325 Market street, where all his chil- 
dren were born; spending the summer months at the Germantown house. After 
the death of his father, however, he made Germantown his permanent residence. 
He became one of the prominent merchants of Philadelphia. Both he and his 
father were signers of the Non-importation Agreement, but like his father, Daniel 
Wister took no part in the active struggle. 

Daniel Wister, married, by Friends' ceremony, 5mo. 5, 1760, Lowry Jones, 
born in Lower Merion, iomo. 30, 1742, daughter of Owen and Susanna (Evans) 
Jones, of Lower Merion, later of the city of Philadelphia. She was a grand- 
daughter of Jonathan and Gainor (Owen) Jones, and great-granddaughter of Dr. 
Edward Jones, the pioneer of the colony of Welsh settlers in Merion and Haver- 
ford townships, who came from the neighborhood of Bala, Merionethshire, Wales, 
1682. The wife of Dr. Edward Jones was Mary Wynne, daughter of Dr. Thomas 
Wynne, of Caerways, Flintshire, Wales, an early minister among Friends, who 
with his second wife Elizabeth Mode, came to Pennsylvania with William Penn, 
in the "Welcome," 1682, and was Speaker of the first Pennsylvania Assembly. 
While Daniel Wister was of pure German descent, his wife Lowry Jones was of 
pure Welsh stock, and descended through a long line of worthy ancestors from 
the ancient princes of Britain. Her grandmother Gainor Owen, was a daughter 
of Robert Owen, and Rebecca Humphrey, of Merion, who came from Fron Goch, 
Merionethshire, to Pennsylvania, 1690, and whose descent from the Twelfth Cen- 
tury chieftain, Rhirid Flaid, is given elsewhere in this volume. Her mother Sus- 
anna Evans, born 1719, died 181 1, was a daughter of Hugh and Lowry (Will- 
iams) Evans, and a granddaughter of Rees John Williams, who with his wife 
Hannah Price (ap Rhys), a descendant of Owen Glendower Tudor, and of Ed- 
ward I., came to Pennsylvania 1684, and settled near Gwynedd. Hugh Evans, 
maternal grandfather of Mrs. Wister, born 1682, died 1772, many years a repre- 
sentative in the Provincial Assembly, was a son of Thomas and Ann Evans, who 
emigrated from Wales, 1698, and settled at Gwynedd; and a descendant of Owen, 
Prince of Gwynedd and of Bleddyn, Prince of Wales. 

In the autumn of 1776, Daniel Wister removed his family to the Foulke home- 
stead near the present Pennlynn station on the North Pennsylvania Railroad, then 
occupied by Hannah, the widow of William Foulke, and her three unmarried chil- 
dren, Jesse, Priscilla and Lydia. An elder son Amos, had married Hannah Jones, 
sister to Mrs. Wister, which may account for the selection of the Foulke home- 
stead for a place of refuge during the period when Philadelphia was threatened 
and occupied by an armed force of the enemy. The family of Daniel Wister then 
consisted of his wife Lowry, and five children — his eldest daughter Sarah, aged 
fifteen, the "Sallie Wister" whose delightful "Journal," written at the Foulke 



266 WISTER 

homestead, during her exile from her girl friends in the city, to one of whom, 
"Debby Norris," later Mrs. George Logan, it was addressed, has been printed ; 
Elizabeth ("Sister Betsy" of the Journal), then in her thirteenth year; Hannah, 
aged nine years ; Susannah, in her fourth year ; and John, a toddler of ten months. 
Their residence at Pennlynn covered the period of the battles of Germantown and 
Brandywine, and the encampment of Washington and his army at White Marsh, 
but a few miles away, and the "Journal" covers the period from September 24, 
1777, to the return of the family to Philadelphia, August, 1778, aftet its evacu- 
ation by the British, during a great portion of which time the Foulke house was 
the headquarters of Gen. Smallwood of the Maryland Troop and his staff, with 
whom and many other officers of the Continental army, "Sally Wister" was closely 
associated and on intimate terms. Sally Wister was a bright, intellectual girl, just 
budding into womanhood, and her journal, somewhat in the nature of a series of 
letters to her girl friend, recorded her everyday impressions of the scenes and 
happenings of that eventful period, and its reference to her friends and acquaint- 
ances gives us delightful glimpses of the social life of that period. Both Sally and 
her sister Elizabeth, developed into fine types of womanhood, they both wrote 
poetry of more than ordinary merit and were contributors to the Portfolio, Sally, 
under the nom-de-plume of "Laura" and Elizabeth under that of "Elvira." 
Neither ever married. Sally was ardently devoted to her accomplished and charm- 
ing mother and at the latter's death, 2mo. 15, 1804, was so broken hearted over 
her loss that she did not long survive her, dying 4mo. 21, 1804. Daniel Wister 
died iomo. 27, 1805, at his Germantown residence, where the family had perma- 
nently resided after the death of his father, 1789. 
Issue of Daniel and Lowry (Jones) Wister: — 

Sarah (Sally Wister), b. jmo. 30, 1761, d. unm. 4mo. 21, 1804; 

Elizabeth, b. 2mo. 27, 1764, d. unm. in 181 2; 

Hannah, b. umo. 19, 1767, d. unm. in 1827; 

Susannah, b. 2mo. 24, 1773, d. umo. 27, 1862, m. 31110. 10, 1796, John Morgan Price; 

John, b. 3mo. 20, 1776, d. i2mo. 12, 1862, m. 1798, Elizabeth Harvey, of whom presently; 

Charles Jones, b. 4mo. 12, 1782, d. 71110. 23, 1865, m. (first) Rebecca Bullock, and (sec- 
ond) Sarah Whitesides; of whom later; 

William Wynne, b. 4mo. 16, 1784, d. umo. 16, 1896, unm. He was an accomplished 
scholar, an intimate friend of Dr. Darlington, of West Chester, the eminent botanist. 

John Wister, eldest son of Daniel and Lowry (Jones) Wister, became asso- 
ciated with his uncle William Wister in the wholesale mercantile trade in Phila- 
delphia, and at his uncle's death formed a partnership with his brother Charles 
under firm name of John & Charles Wister and continued the business until 1819, 
their brother-in-law, John Morgan Price, becoming a member of the firm also, a 
.<-hort time after its organization. In 1819, the firm closed out the business and 
both brothers retired to their Germantown homes, John to "Vernon" and Charles 
J. to "Grumblethorpe," both in the same immediate neighborhood. The brothers 
were devotedly attached to each other and kept up the closest associations through- 
out their long life. Both had retired with ample fortunes, and devoted much of 
their time to literary and scientific pursuits. John, in early life, was convivially 
inclined and took much delight in fox-hunting, belonging to an aristocratic fox- 
hunting club, and also to the celebrated "Denny Club," founded by Joseph Denny, 
the accomplished editor of the Portfolio. The club was composed of a number of 



WISTER 267 

literary gentlemen of Philadelphia, who were in the habit of entertaining each 
other and foreigners, and others of distinction, when visiting the city. Thomas 
Moore, while in Philadelphia in 1804, was entertained by this congenial club, and 
to its members addressed the lines in the Letter to Spencer, beginning, — 

"Yet ye forgive me, O you sacred few, 
Whom late by Delaware's green banks I knew : 
Whom known and loved thro' many a social eve, 

'Twas bliss to live with and 'twas pain to leave." 

In a note to the poem he states that it was in the society of Mr. Denny and his 
friends, that he passed the few agreeable moments of his tour. 

John Wister, however, later became a member of the Society of Friends, 
adopted the plain dress and address common to that sect, and was extremely do- 
mestic and retired in his habits, seldom seeking society beyond his own fireside 
and the circle of his closest and immediate friends, by whom he was greatly be- 
loved. The obituary notice of him at the time of his death most happily and truly 
portrays the estimation he was held in by his acquaintances. "Mr. John Wister 
was the head of a large, influential and wealthy family; and his name and posi- 
tion were as familiar to this community for half a century, though living in close 
retirement, as if his life had been the most ostentatious and prominent. Few of 
our citizens can remember when, more than forty years ago, he retired with a 
very large fortune to his late residence in Germantown, where he found, during 
that long period, those enjoyments, in the midst of a devoted fireside, which few 
so fondly appreciated, and with which fewer have been blessed to the same extent. 
His peace appeared to be round his own hearth. His home was his paradise, and 
all were made happy who came within its gates. Mr. Wister affected no display; 
there was not a grain of factitious pride in his nature. He possessed a firm and 
manly will, and had a decided opinion upon all questions ; but in it all there was an 
ever-flowing spring of geniality, extremely pleasing and at once putting everybody 
at ease. If the acts of Mr. Wister are to be received as the best evidence of char- 
acter, then there was no better Christian than he. Indeed his whole life was a 
beautiful model for example. To an austere uprightness he added an unchange- 
able consistency, and a religious affluence that pervaded his well balanced mind, 
and illustrated his daily practices. No charity passed under his eye unassisted ; 
and no one deserving pity left him empty handed. Thus while he shut himself up, 
technically, from 'society' and the 'world,' no one fulfilled his allotted duty more 
studiously, more usefully, and more in accordance with the truest dictates of a 
discriminating wisdom and humanity. From our personal knowledge of the de- 
ceased, we are warranted in thus speaking of him. His memory requires no 
eulogium at the hands of any one. Sufficient be it to say no man passed through 
life more scatheless, so entirely unaffected with its worldliness and heresies ; or, 
when laid in the receptacle of all living, was more devoutly regretted than John 
Wister." He died at "Vernon," his Germantown seat, i2mo. 2J, 1862, in his 
eighty-seventh year, after a residence there of half a century. 

John Wister married, 1798, Elizabeth Harvey, of Bordentown, New Jersey. 
Issue of John and Elisabeth (Harvey) Wister: — 

Sarah Wister, b. April 4, 1800, d. March 9, 1848; m. 1821, John Stevenson and had issue: 
Elizabeth Wister Stevenson; 



268 WISTER 

Susan Stevenson ; 

William Crook Stevenson; 

Anna Wister Stevenson. 
William Wister, b. Feb. 2, 1803, d. Nov. 10, 1891; m. Sept. 26, 1826, Sarah Logan 

Fisher; of whom presently; 
John Wister, b. Dec. 2, 1804, d. at "Vernon," Jan. 28, 1893; unm.; 
Anne Wister, b. Dec. 29, 1808, d. Jan. 3, 1888, unm. 
Charles Wister, b. 1810, d. Aug. 9, 1893, unm.; 
Jones Wister, b. 1813, d. at Paris, France, Nov. 14, 1857, unm.; 
Mary Wister, b. 1815, d. Oct. 24, 1886, unm.; 
Louis Wister, b. 1818, d. May 5, 1902; m. July 3, 1850, Elizabeth Randolph, and had issue: 

Elizabeth Harvey Wister, m. Dec. 13, 1883, Charles P. Keith; 

Sara Edythe Wister, m. Dec. 3, 1901, Gershom Chichester. 
Susan Wister, b. May 23, 1820, d. Nov. 14, 1884; m. April 28, 1846, Dr. John Dickinson 
Logan, of "Stenton," and had issue : 

Algernon Sydney Logan, m. Mary Wynne, dau. of William Wynne and Hannah 
(Lewis) Wister, and granddaughter of Charles Jones Wister. 

William Wister, eldest son of John and Elizabeth (Harvey) Wister, born in 
Germantown, February 2, 1803, married, August 26, 1826, Sarah Logan Fisher, 
born at New Bedford, Massachusetts, May 18, 1806, daughter of William Logan 
and Mary (Rodman) Fisher, and granddaughter of Thomas and Sarah (Logan) 
Fisher, whose ancestry on both paternal and maternal lines is given elsewhere in 
these volumes. She was to an eminent degree an estimable woman, and exercised 
through life a potent influence for good in the community in which she lived. A 
testimony to her worth, written after her death, December 26, 1891, says, among 
other things, "Her power of making others happy came from a strong spring of 
happiness in herself, and its source was goodness. * * * No word or deed of 
hers had a double motive, and she never said anything for effect. * * * She 
was religious, but her strong, unspoken piety found no other expression than in 
acts of love and devotion to those around her, and in lifelong regular attendance 
at Friends' Meeting, to which she belonged from birth. * * * She helped to 
build up a home with a tradition of popularity beyond any we have ever known." 
Issue of William and Sarah Logan (Fisher) Wister: — 

William Rotch Wister, b. Dec. 7, 1827; m. Mary Eustis; of whom presently: 

John Wister, b. July 15, 1829; m. 1864, Sarah Tyler Boas; of whom later; 

Harvey Langhorne Wister, b. July 17, 1831, d. Aug. 24, 1852; 

Col. Langhorne Wister, b. Sept. 20, 1834, d. March 19, 1891; commissioned, June 4, 1861, 
Capt. of Co. B, Forty-second Regiment, Pa. Volunteers ; promoted Col. of One Hun- 
dred and Fiftieth Regiment, Pa. Volunteers, Sept. 5, 1862; wounded at the battle of 
Gettysburg, July 1, 1863; brevetted Brigadier-General for gallant and meritorious 
service; resigned Feb. 22, 1864; 

Elizabeth Harvey Wister, b. July 20, 1836, d. Feb. 16, 1838; 

Jones Wister, b. Feb. 9, 1839; m. (first) Caroline de Tousard Stocker; (second) Sabine 
(d'Villiers) Weightman; of whom later; 

Francis Wister, b. June 2, 1841, d. Nov. 23, 1905; m. Mary Tiers; of whom later; 

Rodman Wister, b. Aug. 10, 1844; m. Betty Black; of whom later. 

William Rotch Wister, eldest son of William and Sarah Logan (Fisher) 
Wister, born at "Belfield," Germantown, December 7, 1827, was educated at Ger- 
mantown Academy and University of Pennsylvania ; entering the University in 
the sophomore class 1846, and graduating 1848. He was admitted to the Phila- 
delphia Bar, October 6, 1849, an °l nas s i nce practiced his profession in Philadel- 



WISTER 269 

phia. He was Lieutenant-Colonel of the Twentieth Regiment, Pennsylvania 
Cavalry, June, 1863-January, 1864. 

He married, March 4, 1868, Mary, daughter of Frederick A. and Mary (Chan- 
ning) Eustis, of Massachusetts, granddaughter of Rev. William Ellery Channing, 
D. D. 

Issue of William Rotch and Mary (Eustis) Wister: — 

Mary Channing Wister, b. March 30, 1870; m. April 21, 1898, Owen Wister, author of 
"The Virginian" and other popular stories, son of Dr. Owen Wister, of Germantown, 
hereafter mentioned, by his wife Sarah Butler; had issue: 
Mary Channing Wister, b. Sept. 20, 1899; 
Frances Kemble Wister, b. Sept. 20, 1901 ; 
Owen Jones Wister, b. Sept. 20, 1901 ; 
William Rotch Wister, b. Feb. 18, 1904. 
William Rotch Wister, Jr., b. Oct. 22, 1871, d. July 23, 1872; 
Frances Anne Wister, b. Nov. 26, 1874; 

Ella Eustis Wister, b. Aug. 30, 1879; m. Oct. 20, 1904, Diedrich Jansen Haines, b. April 
4, 1871, son Eobert Bowne Haines, by his wife Margaret Vaux, dau. of Dr. Caspar 
and Lydia (Jones) Wistar, and descendant of Caspar Wistar, emigrant brother of John 
Wister, as shown in the earlier part of this sketch; they had issue: 
Caspar Wistar Haines, b. Oct. 18, 1905. 

John Wister, second son of William and Sarah Logan (Fisher) Wister, born 
at "Belfield," Germantown, July 15, 1829, was for many years interested in iron 
mines and furnaces in Pennsylvania. He married, October 19, 1864, Sarah Tyler, 
daughter of Daniel D. and Margaret (Bates) Boas. 
Issue of John and Sarah Tyler (Boas) Wister: — 

John Boas Wister, t>. March 28, 1866, d. Jan. 12, 1869; 

Elizabeth Wister, b. Sept. 1, 1870; 

Sarah Logan Wister, b. Dec. 7, 1873; 

Margaret Wister, b. Jan. 13, 1882; 

John Caspar Wister, b. March 19, 1887, is a student at Harv. 

Jones Wister, fifth son of William and Sarah Logan (Fisher) Wister, born at 
"Belfield," Germantown, February 9, 1839, is an iron merchant in Philadelphia 
and largely interested in the family iron furnaces and forges. He was a member 
of First Troop, Philadelphia City Cavalry, and served with it at Gettysburg, July, 
1863. He is a member of the American Institute of Mining Engineers ; a charter 
member of the Germantown Cricket Club ; president of Belfield Country Club ; 
vice-president of the Egypt Mills Club; president of the Colonial Club, etc. 

Jones Wister married (first), October 6, 1868, Caroline de Tousard Stocker, 
daughter of Anthony B. and Jane (Randolph) Stocker. She died June 18, 1884, 
and he married (second), June 20, 1895, Sabine (d'Villiers) Weightman, widow 
of William Weightman, of Philadelphia, and daughter of Charles and Mary 
(Baursock) d'Villiers. 

Issue of Jones and Caroline de Tousard (Stocker) Wister: — 

Ella Middleton Maxwell Wister, b. July 13, 1870, d. Feb. 15, 1871; 
Alice Logan Wister, b. Dec. 9, 1871, d. Dec. 1, 1881 ; 

Anna Wister, b. Aug. 28, 1875; m. Oct. 19, 1897, William Littleton Barclay, of N. Y., 
and had issue : 

Caroline Stocker Barclay, b. Sept. 12, 1898; 



270 WISTER 

William Littleton Barclay, Jr., b. Dec. 30, 1899; 
Anne Wister Barclay, b. Aug. 30, 1901 ; 
Charles Walter Barclay, b. Dec. 29, 1905. 
Ethel Langhorne Wister, b. July 12, 1881. 

Francis Wister, fifth son of William and Sarah Logan (Fisher) Wister, born 
at the old family mansion, "Belfield," Germantown, June 2, 1841, was educated at 
Germantown Academy and University of Pennsylvania, graduating at the latter 
institution, class of i860. He responded to the first call for volunteers to put 
down the Rebellion, and was commissioned Captain, in the Twelfth Regiment, 
U. S. Infantry, August 5, 1861. He was promoted to Colonel of the Two Hun- 
dred and Fifteenth Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers April 21, 1865, was mus- 
tered out of the volunteer service August 28, 1865, and resigned from the regular 
army service April 5, 1866. While serving with the Twelfth U. S. Infantry, he 
was brevetted Major for gallant and meritorious service at the battle of Chan- 
cellorsville, May 3, 1863, and on July 2, 1863, was brevetted Lieutenant Colonel, 
lor gallant and meritorious service, at the battle of Gettysburg. After resigning 
from the army at the conclusion of peace, he returned to Philadelphia and en- 
gaged in the coal and coke business there until attacked with an incurable disease 
a few months before his death. He died November 25, 1905. He married, Feb- 
ruary 29, 1880, Mary Chancellor, daughter of Joseph and Hannah Chancellor 
(Twells) Tiers, who survives him. They had no children. 

Rodman Wister, youngest son of William and Sarah Logan (Fisher) Wister, 
born at "Belfield," August 10, 1844, is an iron merchant in Philadelphia, identified 
with family iron industries. He was a member of Capt. Marks Biddle's Company, 
"Home Guards," of Germantown, saw active service in the Antietam campaign of 
the Civil War, in 1863 was a member of Capt. Harry Landis' Battery, U. S. Vols., 
and participated in the battle of Carlisle, Pennsylvania. He was discharged, 1863, 
on account of illness. He is first Vice-president of Germantown Cricket Club ; 
member of Art Club and Belfield Country Club. He married, April 17, 1872, 
Eliza Irwin, daughter of Col. Samuel Wiley and Eliza Ann (Irwin) Black, of 
Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. 

Issue of Rodman and Eliza Irwin (Black) Wister: — 

Emily Wister, b. Dec. 10, 1885, d. April 30, 1886; 
Langhorne Harvey Wister, b. April 12, 1887; 
Rodman Mifflin Wister, b. June 20, 1890. 

Charles Jones Wister, second son of Daniel and Lowry (Jones) Wister, born 
at the old Wister house, 325 Market street, Philadelphia, April 12, 1782, in the 
house upon which Benjamin Franklin erected his first lightning rod — still in 
possession of the Wister family — connecting it with a bell which gave an alarm 
whenever the atmosphere was surcharged with electricity. The bell so annoyed 
Mrs. Daniel Wister, that it was removed at her request. Charles Jones Wister's 
first educational effort was in a private school on Arch street, and at the age of 
nine years he entered the "Quaker Academy" on Fourth street, below Walnut, 
then under the charge of Jeremiah Paul, and when, during the summer months, 
the family were domiciled at the Germantown residence, he attenddd Germantown 
Academy, at that time presided over by Col. Thomas Dungan. He continued at 



WISTER 271 

school until his seventeenth year, when he was apprenticed to his uncle William 
Wister, who had succeeded his father John Wister, the pioneer, as a merchant at 
the old store, now 325 Market street, and after a year's experience in the store 
was sent on collecting tours for the firm, his trips extending as far west as Pitts- 
burg, and south to Winchester, Virginia. Many novel experiences in these jour- 
neys, made on horseback through a sparsely settled country, are narrated in letters 
exchanged between him and his sisters and mother at Germantown, still in posses- 
sion of his son, Charles J. Wister, Jr., of Germantown. Many of those written to 
him by his talented sisters, Sally and Elizabeth, were couched in rhyme, and pos- 
sess real merit, both for poesy and humor. In the winter of 1801 he attended a 
course of lectures on chemistry at University of Pennsylvania, delivered by Pro- 
fessor James Woodhouse, and thought seriously of preparing himself for the prac- 
tice of medicine. He later associated himself with Dr. Seybert, apothecary and 
protege of his distinguished cousin Dr. Caspar Wistar, who was an enthusiastic 
chemist, and they conducted a number of experiments for their mutua' enlighten- 
ment. Seybert was also an expert mineralogist, having studied that science in his 
native country, Germany, with Werner and Blumenbach, of Freiberg, and had 
brought with him to America the first mineralogical specimens ever introduced 
into this country. Through him Mr. Wister became greatly interested in that 
science, and in his collecting tours, and many solitary rambles among his native 
hills, with specimen box and hammer, laid the foundation of a mineralogical 
cabinet of which he might be justly proud. In 1814 Mr. Wister further advanced 
his knowledge of chemistry and mineralogy, by attending a course of lectures 
delivered by the distinguished Professor Parker Cleveland, of Bowdoin College, 
Maine, with whom he formed an intimacy that lasted many years, and Mr. Wister 
gave him material assistance in the preparation of his work on mineralogy, first 
on the subject ever published in America, and is profusely quoted therein. 

In 1803 Charles J. Wister, having attained his majority, and his uncle William 
being deceased, became a partner in the firm, with his brother John, under title 
of John & Charles Wister, and later their brother-in-law John Morgan Price, was 
admitted and the firm name changed to Wister, Price & Wister. He likewise 
inherited from his uncle and his grandfather John Wister, considerable landed 
property, including the old mansion, woods and farm at Germantown, where he 
ever after made his home. He had a birthright in the Society of Friends, but was 
disowned for paying a militia tax, nmo. 25, 1803. He married, December 15, 
1803, Rebecca, daughter of Joseph and Hester (Baynton) Bullock, of Philadel- 
phia. Her mother, Hester, was a daughter of John and Elizabeth (Chevelier) 
Baynton, who were married December 17, 1747, and granddaughter of Peter 
Baynton (son of Benjamin Baynton, of England), born December 27, 1695, who 
came to Philadelphia and engaged in the business of a shipping merchant about 
1720, and was drowned in the Delaware, 1723. Mr. Wister continued to reside 
with his family in Philadelphia during the winter months until 1812, when he re- 
moved permanently to Germantown. In 1819, the firm of Wister, Price & Wister 
dissolved, and the mercantile business so successfully conducted in Philadelphia 
by the family for three generations and covering nearly a century, passed into 
other hands. Mr. Wister was one of the little coterie of young business men 
calling themselves the "Twilight Club," who formed the habit of gathering at the 
store of a mutual friend, J. Pemberton Parke, after the close of their daily labor 



272 WISTER 

and discussing questions of the day, as well as science and literature, from which 
gatherings, it is said, sprang the foundation of Academy of Natural Science, insti- 
tuted August i, 1815. He was also a frequent visitor at the "Debby Club." 
Charles J. Wister became a member of Philadelphia Library Company, 1806; of 
Library Company of Germantown, December 1, 1808, of which he was a director 
and many years secretary and treasurer. He was also a member of the "Linnaean 
Society of Philadelphia," instituted in 1806, "for the cultivation of natural 
sciences;" of the "Humane Society of Philadelphia," "for the recovery of per- 
sons from suspended animation," 1806; Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, 
May, 1809; "Philadelphia Society for Promotion of Agriculture;" "American 
Philosophical Society of Philadelphia," trustee of Germantown Academy, May 
7, 1810; member of Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, imo. 11, 1814. 
He was elected secretary of first board of directors of Bank of Germantown, 
instituted 1814, and served as a director for half a century. He was likewise one 
of the most active trustees of Germantown Academy, from his election, 1810, until 
the revocation of its charter, 1837. In 1820 and again in 1821, he delivered a 
course of lectures for its benefit on mineralogy and geology. He kept in close 
touch with the institutions of Philadelphia and vicinity, and enjoyed a wide ac- 
quaintance with the learned men and scholars of his day. He was an ardent 
student of botany and an authority on local flora. The plant named in his honor, 
Coralerhiza Wisteriana, by Professor Nuttal, was a discovery of Mr. Wister's. 

Charles Jones Wister died July 23, 1865, universally lamented. His first wife, 
Rebecca Bullock, died September 20, 1812, shortly after the conclusion of a tour 
through western Pennsylvania, undertaken for her health. On December 4, 1817, 
he married Sarah, daughter of John and Sarah Whitesides, of Philadelphia, at 
St. Luke's Church, Germantown. Mrs. Wister survived her husband, and died 
May 31, 1869, in the seventy-first year of her age. 

Issue of Charles Jones and Rebecca (Bulloch) Wister: — 

William Wynne Wister, b. March 25, 1807, d. Dec. 16, 1808; m. Hanna Lewis Wilson; 

of whom presently; 
Mary Baynton Wister, b. April 8, 1808, d. Nov. 1, 1893; m- Oct. 23, 1839, Dr. W. S. W. 
Ruschenberger, 69 years a Surgeon in U. S. N. ; they had issue : 
Kate Ruschenberger, b. Jan. 29, 1841, d. July 15, 1842; 
Emily Ruschenberger, b. Sept. 7, 1842, d. Jan. 11, 1844; 
Fanny Ruschenberger, b. May 27, 1844, d. March 3, 1883; 

Charles Wister Ruschenberger, b. Sept. 24, 1847; entered U. S. N. July 23, 1864, 
resigned July 31, 1895, after thirty years service; m. Dec. 18, 1888, Katharine 
Wentworth. 
Emily Wister, b. Dec. 3, 1809, d. Aug., 1831, unm. 

Issue of Charles Jones and Sarah (Whitesides) Wister: — 

Casper, Wister, M. D., b. Sept. 15, 1818, d. Dec. 21, 1888; m. (first) Lydia H. Simmons; 

(second) Anna Lea Furness; of whom presently; 
Susan Wister, b. Oct. 2, 1819, d. July 23, 1843, unm. ; 
Charles Jones Wister, b. April 6, 1822; living at "Grumblethorpe," the old family 

mansion on Main street, Germantown; unm.; author of "Memoir of Charles Jones 

Wister," and a number of reminiscences of the Wister family and old Germantown; 
Owen Jones Wister, M. D., b. Oct. 5, 1825; m. Oct. 1, 1859, Sarah Butler; of whom 

later; 
Sarah Elizabeth Wister, b. Nov. 19, 1827, d. Aug. 1, 1859. 



WISTER 273 

William Wynne Wister, eldest son of Charles Jones and Rebecca (Bulloch) 
Wister, born in Germantown, Philadelphia, March 25, 1807, died there December 
16, 1898. He was educated at Germantown Academy, graduating in the class of 
1824; was thoroughly proficient in the Greek and Latin languages, and an ardent 
student of the classics all his life. He also taught himself the German language, 
in which he attained such fluency, that he was often taken for a native of Ger- 
many. He was a good botanist and collected a valuable herbarium, to which refer- 
ence was often sought by his townsmen, when they wished to classify plants and 
flowers of rare varieties. In disposition he was most retiring, averse to publicity 
and preferred to devote himself to his books in his well selected library to any 
other pastime. With unimpaired faculties and a clear intellect he attained the age 
of ninety years, and was known among his intimates in Germantown, as the 
"Grand Old Man" of the town. He was vice-president and later president of 
National Bank of Germantown, from 1862 until his death in 1898. 

William Wynne Wistar was married, October 23, 1830, by the Rev. George 
Scheetz, of Oxford township, Philadelphia, to Hanna Lewis Wilson. 
Issue of William Wynne and Hanna Lewis (Wilson) Wister: — 

Rachel Wilson Wister, b. Jan. 22, 1835; m. Nov. 12, 1862, William B. Rogers, who d. 
March 15, 1893; they had issue: 

Barton Rogers, b. Dec. 14, 1863, d. Jan. 11, 1867; 
Henry D. Rogers, b. Dec. 2, 1865; m. Jan. 26, 1899, Marianna Allen; 
Mabel Rogers, b. May 20, 1872; m. April 15, 1896, Edgar W. Baird, an account of 
whose ancestry is given in these volumes; they had issue: 
Edgar W. Baird, Jr., b. April 5, 1897; 
Gainer Owen Baird, b. Oct. 27, 1898; 
Marian Wister Baird, b. July 1, 1900. 
William Wynne Wister, Jr., b. May 11, 1838, d. May 27, 1900, unm.; enlisted in Co. G, 
Eighth Pa. Volunteers, at outbreak of Civil War; graduated from Univ. of Pa., class 
of 1875; studied law, and admitted to Phila. Bar, of which he became a prominent and 
popular member, by reason of exceptional abilities ; was a director in a number of 
Phila.'s financial institutions, etc.; 
Alexander Wilson Wister, b. March 28, 1840; m. Susan A. Wilson; of whom presently; 
Hannah Lewis Wister, b. Aug. 12, 1841, unm.; 

Mary Wynne Wister, b. Feb. 22, 1847; m. Nov. 4, 1873, Alexander Sydney Logan; issue: 
Robert Restalrig Logan, b. Dec. 3, 1874; m. June 6, 1898, Sara Wetherill; issue: 
Deborah Logan, b. Feb. 16, 1900. 
Emily Wynne Wister, b. Jan. 18, 1848, unm. 

Alexander Wilson Wister, second son and third child of William Wynne 
and Hanna Lewis (Wilson) Wister, born March 28, 1840, enlisted in Company G, 
Pennsylvania Militia, Capt. Marks Biddle, in Eighth Pennsylvania Militia (Emer- 
gency) Regiment, in 1862, and saw service in the Antietam campaign. He is a 
member of Historical Society of Pennsylvania ; Society of Colonial Wars ; Penn- 
sylvania Society Sons of the Revolution; The Welcome Society, Philadelphia 
Club, and Germantown Cricket Club, being one of the fifteen boys who organized 
the latter club, 1854. 

He was married, December 3, 1862, by the Right Rev. William Bacon Stevens, 
Bishop of Pennsylvania, to Susan A. Wilson. 

Issue of Alexander Wilson and Susan A. (Wilson) Wister: — 

Lewis Wynne Wister, b. Jan. 21, 1864; graduated at Univ. of Pa., class of 1885; m. Feb. 
16, 1887, Elizabeth Wolcott, dau. of T. Charlton and Mary (Jackson) Henry, and had 

issue : 

18 



274 WISTER 

Lewis Caspar Wistar, b. Feb. 24, 1888; 

Charlton Henry Wister, b. Aug. 23, 1890, d. Jan. 24, 1892. 
Alexander Wilson Wister, Jr., b. Aug. 26, 1869; m. Dec. 1, 1906, Emma Huey Moses; 
Charles Jones Wister, Jr., b. May 26, 1869; m. June 5, 1894, Elizabeth English Morgan; 
issue : 

Elizabeth English Wister, b. Sept. 15, 1895; 

William Wynne Wister, b. Dec. 29, 1900. 
James Wilson Wister, M. D., b. May 30, 1874; graduated at Univ. of Pa., class of 1897; 
now practicing medicine in Phila.; Fellow of Phila. College of Physicians, member 
Phila. County Medical Society, and Pathological Society of Phila.; m. Jan. 23, 1901, 
Elizabeth Bayard Dunn, and had issue: 

Suzanna Wister, b. July 31, 1906. 

Caspar Wister, M. D., eldest son of Charles Wister, by the second marriage 
with Sarah Whitesides, was born September 15, 1818. He was a student at Ger- 
mantown Academy until his fifteenth year, and was then sent to Dr. Bolmer's 
French School at West Chester, Pennsylvania. He completed his academic educa- 
tion at Samuel Gummere's Academy at Burlington, New Jersey, and became a 
civil engineer. Several years he followed a roving life. Going to Texas, he served 
with the Texan patriots in their struggle for independence, under Gen. Sam Hous- 
ton, in the Texas Mounted Rifles, all through the desperate conflict. He later 
came east and travelled back and forth several years, meeting with many adven- 
tures and hair-breadth escapes. He finally gave up his wanderings and entered 
the Medical Department of University of Pennsylvania, received degree of Doctor 
of Medicine in 1847, an d settled down to the practice of his profession in Phila- 
delphia. He became one of the foremost successful physicians of the city. 
He was president of Rittenhouse Club, formerly Social Art Club, director of 
Philadelphia Library Company, president of Board of Inspectors of County 
Prison, manager of House of Refuge, director of Philadelphia Savings Fund 
Society, Examining Surgeon of New York Life Insurance Company, member of 
American Philosophical Society, as well as member of a number of other scientific, 
philanthropic, social and business societies and associations. 

Dr. Wister was struck down at the Pennsylvania Railroad station, 1879, and 
his skull fractured, but he recovered and resumed his life work, though a large 
part of the frontal bone had to be removed on the right side of his forehead, so 
that the pulsations of his brain were plainly visible. Though he lived for nine 
years after the accident, his death is thought to have been due to the injuries then 
received. He died December 28, 1888. 

A testimonial of him adopted by the government of the Rittenhouse Club says 
of him : "Open, frank, decided, and truthful, his convictions, from their sincerity, 
impressed themselves upon every one he met, and, though you might not agree 
with him, it was impossible not to respect him. With the sternest sense of honor, 
he had the gentleness of a woman towards those whose weaker nature had been 
their cause of deviation from the path of rectitude. While he could not under- 
stand it, he could always pity it. To the young and the old, to the man of business, 
and to the man of leisure, at the hospital and in the prison, his presence was 
always welcome as at the play-ground, where he mingled with the most youthful 
of his friends." 

Dr. Wister married (first), July 20, 1846, Lydia H. Simmons, who died in 
1848, leaving a daughter, Lily Wister, who married, October 31, 1878, Clifford 



WISTER 275 

Rossel. Dr. Wister married (second), June 26, 1854, Anna Lea, daughter of 
Rev. William H. Furness, D. D., who survives and is an eminent translator. 

Owen Wister, son of Dr. Owen Jones Wister and his wife Sarah Butler, was 
born in Philadelphia, July 14, i860. He prepared for college at St. Paul's School, 
Concord, New Hampshire, and graduated at Harvard University, class of 1882, 
with degree of A. M., and from Harvard Law School with degree of LL. B., in 
1888. He was admitted to Philadelphia Bar in 1889, but soon after devoted his 
time to literary pursuits, taking up literary work exclusively in 1891. He is author 
of "The Dragon of Wantley; His Tail," 1892; "Red Man and White," 1896; "Lin 
McLean," 1898; "The Jimmy John Boss," 1900; "U. S. Grant, a Biography," 
1900; "The Virginian," a novel, for which he is chiefly famous, 1903; "Philoso- 
phy," 1903 ; "A Journey in Search of Christmas," 1904. He has also written much 
prose and some verse for magazines, and was collaborator on Musk-Ox, Bison, 
Sheep and Goat, for Whitney's American Sportsman's Library, 1904. He resides 
in Philadelphia. 



PEMBERTON FAMILY. 

Lower in his Patronymica Brittanica states that the family name of Pemberton 
is derived from the chapelry of that name in the parish of Wigan, hundred of 
West Derby, Lancashire, and it is certain that Pembertons are found at a very 
early period as lords of the manor of Pemberton, in Wigan parish, within a few 
miles of Aspull. Lower is perhaps not quite accurate ; the manor of Pemberton 
must have existed long before the chapelry became an entity, and the family took 
their name from their manor, which afterwards gave the name to the chapelry. 
Of these early Pembertons it will suffice to mention Adam de Pemberton, who 
was living in the reign of Richard I., and whose son, Alan de Pemberton, 3 John, 
paid ten marks to have seizin of his lands in Pemberton, and for his relief, etc. 

Others of the name at a later date were : Adam de Pemberton ; Henry, son of 
Lawrence de Pemberton ; Alan, son of Aldich de Pemberton ; and another Adam 
de Pemberton, who was living 24, Edward I. The eldest branch of this line ended 
in co-heiresses, who acquired the estates, but descendants of younger sons con- 
tinued in the neighborhood of Wigan. 

The first Lancashire Pemberton, known with absolute certainty to have been an 
ancestor of the Pennsylvania Pembertons, and the first of the line concerning 
whom we have reliable information, was William Pemberton, born in the town- 
ship of Aspull, parish of Wigan, county Lancaster, England, circa, 1580. If the 
register of the parish church of Wigan could be searched and the wills of various 
Pembertons examined, the pedigree, no doubt, could be carried much farther back 
than this William Pemberton, with whom we begin the Pennsylvania line, and who 
was, doubtless, a descendant of those persons of the name who appear early in the 
history of Lancashire. 

Mr. Townsend Ward, on page 141, of ms. "Genealogy of the Lloyd, Pemberton, 
Hutchinson and Kirkbride Families," says: 

"After much research, all the particulars respecting its" (the Pemberton Fam- 
ily's) "members that could be collected, are comprised in an account of the family 
in ms. by J. P. P." (James Pemberton Parke). See also "Memoirs of Samuel 
Fothergill," by George Crosfield, page 160, and "The Friend," vol. xxi., pp. 46, 61, 
et seq. Lieut. Col. Thomas Allen Glenn, in his printed edition of Mr. Townsend 
Ward's ms., mentioned above, with additions, says : 

"The information here given is from the above sources, and from 'Friends 
Miscellany,' vol. vii., p. i; 'The Pemberton Family' (of New England), by Walter 
K. Watkins, Boston, 1892 ; 'The Pemberton Papers,' in Historical Society of 
Pennsylvania; vol. i., the publications of the Haeleian Society, London, and Public 
Records. It is curious to note that there was at least one other family of Pember- 
ton in Pennsylvania, whose connection, if any, with the Pembertons under consid- 
eration does not appear. John Pemberton was born in Glasgow, Scotland, 1717, 
and his wife in Newton Clanebois, Ireland; they settled at Abington and were 
Friends. They had issue, several children, who are believed to have left descend- 
ants." 

William Pemberton, named above as first of this branch of the Pemberton fam- 



PEMBERTON 277 

ily, of whom we have any account, seems to have been a man of considerable 
estate. By a "lease for three lives" dated May 30, 1625, it appears that a messuage 
and its "crofts or slosures of land, gardians, pastures, feedings," etc., in Aspull, 
were let to him by Roger Hindley, of Hindley Hall, during the lives of Ralph, 
Alice and Margery, his children, and the survivors of them. Two years later, this 
lease was assigned by William to his son Ralph. 

William Pemberton married, December 10, 1602, Ann , who died De- 
cember 23, 1642. He died at Aspull, November 26, 1642. Their children, so far 
as known, were : 

Alice Pemberton, d. at Aspull, Jan. 29, 1675. An Alice Pemberton, and six others, were 
committed to the House of Correction (at Manchester?), for three months in 1664, for 
attending Quaker worship (Besse's Suffering, i., p. 315); 
Margery Pemberton, d. in 1670; 

Ralph Pemberton, b. June 3, 161 1, of whom presently; 

Ellen Pemberton, m. before Dec. 4. 1674, John Allred; she d. in England, Dec. (22?), 
1684; they had issue: 
Alice Allred; 
Phineas Allred; 

John Allred, m. and had issue; 
Owen Allred, b. 1674; 
Theophilus Allred, b. 1686; 
Solomon Allred, b. 1689, m. . 

"Nothing further is known of these," says Mr. Parke. 

Ralph Pemberton, son of William and Ann Pemberton, was born in the town- 
ship of Aspull, parish of Wigan, county Lancaster, England, January 3, 161 1, died 
in Bucks county, Province of Pennsylvania, "in the American Plantations" July 
17, 1687. He was a man of considerable property, and seems to have been well 
thought of, and trusted in Aspull and its neighborhood. In 1673 he was living at 
Boulton-le-Moors, generally called Bolton, also in parish of Wigan, and from here 
he removed in 1676 to Radcliffe Bridge, finally going with his son Phineas and 
the latter's wife and children to Pennsylvania, in 1682, dying there five years later. 
He was probably a member of Society of Friends ; while living at Bolton, he, in 
1673-74, rendered an account of money distributed to the poor (Friends?) of 
Aspull. 

Referring to the "Armorial Devices" of the Pembertons, Mr. Parke gives sev- 
eral coats of different families, as mentioned in "Burke's General Armory." He 
also speaks of a seal used by John Pemberton, on a letter dated Woburn, March 
16, 1789, viz: Quarterly, first and fourth, Ar. a chevron vert between three 
buckets sa. Second and third, Ar. three dragons' heads erect, couped. Crest, A 
dragon's head erect, couped. Motto : Nee temere nee timide. 

Glenn, already quoted, says: "An ancient steel seal in the possession of Henry 
Pemberton, Esq., of Philadelphia, bears the following arms: Argent, a chevron 
sable (instead of vert), between three water bougets of the second, hooped and 
handled or. Crest, A dragon's head couped, proper." Glenn mentions a steel 
seal, but Mr. Pemberton, whom he names, wrote in 1906: "The earliest mention 
that I have found of their Coat-of-Arms, is on a letter written in 1740, bearing 
the imprints of seals, some of which (Carnelian and Gold) are in my possession. 
The Arms are, 'Argent a chevron between three buckets ; Sa. hooped, and handled, 
Or. ; Crest, a Dragon's Head, sa. couped and langed.' I enclose my book plate 



278 P EM BERT ON 

thereof; also an imprint from one of the old seals. In 1864 I met in Quebec the 
Hon. Henry Pemberton, there residing, and he showed me his Arms, similar to 
ours, but bearing a motto, which ours never had. In 1864, in the Heralds' Office, 
London, I saw the Arms of Sir Francis Pemberton, Lord Chief Justice of Eng- 
land. His father had been a merchant, named Ralph Pemberton, from Lancashire ; 
they told me the Arms had been granted some years before to the said Ralph Pem- 
berton. They were, first and fourth, Argent ; a chevron between three buckets ; 
Sa. couped, and handled, Or. Second and third, three dragon-heads, erect sa, 
couped and langued, Gu. Crest, a Dragon's Head, as above." 

Mr. Pemberton continues: "Notwithstanding the similarity of names, of times, 
of places, and apparently of social positions, I could never trace any connection. 
The Pembertons of Boston arrived there in 1638, and appear to be of the same 
stock, and have the same Arms, except that their Crest is a Boar's head. Some 
of the works on Heraldry state that the Arms — (buckets, dragons, crest) were 
granted originally to one of the Pembertons of Pemberton, in the County of Lan- 
cashire, in the 12th Century, who was then Mayor of London, for his efficiency 
in saving the town from one of its dangerous fires. The Family is unquestionably a 
very old one, and the Epitaph on Sir Francis Pemberton's' monument states that 
he was, 'Generoso, Ex Antiqua Pembertonorum Prosopia in Com. Palat Lan- 
castriae, Oriundo.' The name is derived locally from Anglo-Saxon, and was no 
doubt originally 'Pen-Berton,' — signifying the Berton, or walled-in-farm-enclosure 
on the Pen or Hill-top. Euphony and verbal structure has unavoidably changed 
the N to an M." 

Ralph Pemberton married, June 7, 1648, Margaret, daughter of Thomas Sed- 
don, of Warrington ; she died September 2, 1655. The Seddon family was an old 
one in Wigan, and in the neighboring parishes of Leigh and Rochdale, and the 
Seddons of Seddon Hall were noted non-conformists. 
Issue of Ralph and Margaret (Seddon) Pemberton: 

Phineas Pemberton, b. Jan. 30, 1650; of whom presently; 
Joseph Pemberton, b. April 12, 1652, d. Aug. 3, 1655; 
Probably other children who d. inf. 

Phineas Pemberton, son of Ralph and Margaret (Seddon) Pemberton, was 
born January 30, 1650, in parish of Wigan, and probably in township of Aspull, 
Lancashire, England, and died on his plantation, called "Bolton," Bucks county, 
Province of Pennsylvania, March 1, 1702. In 1665, being aged fifteen years, he 
went to Manchester to live, and in 1672 to Bolton, and lived there until 1682, when 
with his wife and three children, and his father, Ralph Pemberton, he embarked 
for Pennsylvania, in the ship, "Submission," from Liverpool, 7mo. 5, and arrived 
at Choptank, Maryland, oxno. 2, 1682, thus making the voyage in fifty-eight days 
from port to port. 

A more extended account of this voyage appears later. After landing, Phineas 
Pemberton and his father-in-law, James Harrison, left their families at the house 
of William Dickinson, at Choptank, and proceeded by land to their original desti- 
nation, the "ffalls of the Delaware," in Bucks county, Pennsylvania. Penn had 
arrived in his province October 24, and Pemberton and Harrison had hoped to 
find him at New Castle, but when they arrived there, Penn had gone to New 
York. When they arrived at the present site of Philadelphia, they could not pro- 



P EM BERT ON 279 

cure accomodations for their horses, so "spancelled" them and turned them into 
the woods ; the next morning they sought for them in vain, they having wandered 
so far into the woods that one of them was not found until the following January ; 
after two days searching the men were obliged to proceed up the river in a boat. 
An uncle of Pemberton's wife, William Yardley, had arrived a few weeks before, 
and had taken up land at the Falls, where he commenced to build a house. They 
stopped at Yardley's and Pemberton concluded to settle in the vicinity. In the 
spring of 1683, Harrison and Pemberton brought their families and household 
goods from Maryland to Bucks county, Harrison stopping on the way south at 
Upland, now Chester, to attend the first Assembly of the Province of Pennsyl- 
vania, to which he had been elected. Until Phineas Pemberton could erect a house 
in Bucks county, he and his family stayed at the house of Lyonel Brittain, who 
had arrived in Bucks county, 4mo. (June), 1680. On nmo. 17, 1683, Phineas 
Pemberton purchased a tract of 500 acres on the Delaware, opposite Oreclan's 
(later Biles') Island, and built a house there. It must have been a satisfaction 
to him after the storms at sea and wanderings by land to have his family at last 
under his own roof-tree. This plantation he called "Grove Place." He appears, 
however, at first to have called it "Sapasse" since letters to him from friends in 
England in 1684 were addressed "Sapasse, Bucks County." It was part of a tract 
of over 8000 acres of land, purchased by Penn of an old Indian king and had once 
been a royalty called "Sepessin." (On Peter Lindstrom's map of 1654, in Sharp 
and Westcott's "History of Philadelphia" vol. i., p. 75, the name appears as 
'Sipaessing Land"). The old burying-ground of the Pemberton family, hereafter 
referred to, was on this tract. Being desirous of erecting a more comfortable 
home for his family, Phineas Pemberton finished one in 1687. On the lintel of the 
door was this inscription : 

P. 

P. P. 

7 D 2 mo. 1687 

The initials signifying Phineas and Phebe Pemberton. This lintel is now in the 
possession of Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia. This house Pem- 
berton moved after his second marriage to another tract of land, five miles distant, 
and more in the interior; It was taken down in 1802 by his grandson, James 
Pemberton. In 1687 a great deal of sickness prevailed in the Colony, and Phineas 
Pemberton lost his father, Ralph Pemberton, and his father-in-law, James Harri- 
son. The father of James also died. Three years later Anne (Heath) Harrison, 
widow of James died; and in 1696 Phineas lost his wife, Phebe, who died 8mo. 
30, 1696, exactly fourteen years after her arrival in Patuxent river, Maryland. 

On his estate opposite Biles' Island, Pemberton laid out a burial-ground, ten 
rods square ; walling in two square rods as a family plot, which is still preserved 
and is one of the oldest burial lots in existence in Bucks county. Four generations 
of Harrisons and Pembertons lie therein. The original tombstones, small with only 
initials on them, having almost entirely disappeared (in 1904 only two could be 
found, much broken, and only one with initials "Ph. P," very faint), Mr. Henry 
Pemberton, of Philadelphia, a descendant of Phineas, in 1905 had erected on the 
lot a large granite slab, with the names engraved on it of all the family known to 
have been buried there, as follows : 



280 P EM BERT ON 

"Agnes, wife of Immanuel Harrison, 

Born 1601, died August 6, 1687" 
"HER SON— JAMES HARRISON 

Born 1628 Died Oct. 6, 1687 

HIS WIFE ANNE HARRISON 

Born Feb. 13, 1623-4 Died March 5, 1689-90 

THEIR CHILD PHOEBE 

WIFE OF PHINEAS PEMBERTON 

Born Apr. 7, 1660 Died Oct. 30, 1696 

RALPH PEMBERTON 

Born Jan. 3, 1610 Died July 17, 1687 

HIS SON PHINEAS PEMBERTON 

Born Jan. 30, 1649-50 Died March 1, 1702 

FIVE OF HIS CHILDREN 

May 11, 1682— JOSEPH— Nov. 1702 

Feb. 3, 1686— SAMUEL— Jan. 23, 1691-2 

Feb. 26, 1689-90— PHOEBE— May 30, 1699 

July 15, 1694 — RALPH — Nov. 18, 1694 

April 17, 1686— PHINEAS— JENINGS— 1701 

HERE ALSO REST THEIR FRIENDS 

ROGER LONGWORTH, B. 1631 D. Aug. 7, 1687 

LYDIA WHARMSBY, B. 1640 D. Sept." 3, 1696" 

Phmeas Pemberton, like his father-in-law, Harrison, as well as his own father 
and other relatives, was a member of the Society of Friends, and was frequently 
imprisoned and fined for attendance at their worship. The "Annals of the Pem- 
berton Family," before referred to, says of him: "Phineas Pemberton, as he grew 
up in the innocent life in those days, was visited with religious impressions, to 
which, as he rendered obedience, he became confirmed in the principles of an up- 
right and holy conversation." "The serious impressions on the mind of Phineas 
Pemberton, inducing him to refuse compliance with the empty forms of the estab- 
lished church, he became a mark for those in power, and was several times im- 
prisoned in Chester and Lancaster castles, for his attendance of the religious meet- 
ings of Friends." "In the nth month, 1669, Phineas Pemberton and Roger Long- 
worth with some others, were carried before three justices, for holding a meeting 
at Nehemiah Pool's house, and on the 1st of 2d month, he was imprisoned; re- 
maining nineteen weeks and five days in Lancaster Castle." "But through all 
these trials and difficulties, by his uprightness and integrity, Phineas became much 
respected by his friends, and many of his neighbors. He held the office of over- 
seer of the poor at Bolton, and was for many consecutive years a delegate for 
Friends to Hardshaw Monthly Meeting." It was from this Hardshaw Monthly 
Meeting that he took his certificate on going to Pennsylvania. 

Phineas Pemberton took an active part in the public affairs of the Colony as 
well as of Bucks county. He was a member of Provincial Council of Pennsyl- 
vania, 1685-87-95-97-99, was a member of Assembly, 1689-94-98 (filling the posi- 
tion of Speaker in the latter year), and in 1700-01. 

It was, however, in the affairs of Bucks county, where he lived, that his activity 
and usefulness were the greatest, and his work of the most value. He was beyond 
doubt the most prominent man of his time in the county, and the most efficient, as 
shown by the mass of records he has left behind him in his own handwriting, and 
by the number of official positions he filled. In addition to filling the office of 
Clerk of the County Court, he held the position of Deputy Master of Rolls, Deputy 
Register-General, and Receiver of Proprietary Quit Rents for Bucks county. The 
records of the county up to the time of his fatal illness are entirely in his hand- 
writing, and are models worthy the imitation of officials of our day. The records 



PEMBERTON 281 

of the different courts left by him are invaluable to the historian, and greatly 
superior to those of his successors in office in the matter of lucidity and complete- 
ness. Many of our historians have noticed and acknowledged this fact, which is 
apparent to all that have had access to them. Buck, in his "History of Bucks 
County," referring to records left by Pemberton, says, "they comprise the earliest 
records of Bucks County offices, and though they have been referred to by differ- 
ent writers, comparatively little has been heretofore published from them. To us 
they have rendered valuable aid and we must acknowledge our indebtedness for 
information that could, possibly, from no other source have been obtained." 

The original Record of Arrivals in Bucks county, now in the custody of Bucks 
County Historical Society, but long part of records of Register of Wills' Office, 
at Doylestown, is also in the handwriting of Phineas Pemberton. 

Phineas Pemberton died March 1, 1701-2, at the age of fifty-two years, and was 
buried in the old graveyard above described. "Poor Phineas" wrote Penn to 
Logan, on September 9, 1701, "is a dying man and was not at the election, though 
he crept (as I may say) to Meeting yesterday. I am grieved at it; for he has not 
his fellow, and without him this is a poor country indeed." Again in a letter from 
London to Logan in 1702, Penn writes, "I mourn for poor Phineas Pemberton, 
the ablest as well as one of the best men in the Province. My dear love to his 
widow and sons and daughters." Samuel Carpenter in a letter to Penn, quoted 
in J. Pemberton Parke's ms., writes, "Phineas Pemberton died the 1st month last 
and will be greatly missed, having left few or none in these parts or adjacent like 
him for wisdom, integrity and general service, and he was a true friend to thee 
and the government. It is a matter of sorrow when I call to mind and consider 
that the best of our men are taken away, and how many are gone and how few 
to supply their places." 

Logan wrote to Penn, 3mo. 7, 1702: "That pillar of Bucks County, Phineas 
Pemberton, worn away with his long-afflicting distemper, was removed about the 
5th of 1st month last. Hearing he was past hopes, I went to visit him the day 
before he departed. He was sensible and comfortable to the last, and inquiring 
solicitously about thy affairs and the parliament ; gave his last offering, his dear 
love, to thee and thine, and particularly recommended the care of his estate to me 
in thy behalf, desiring that his services in collecting the rents with Samuel Jen- 
nings might be considered in his own, otherwise he should be wronged ; and that 
his attendance at Newcastle Assembly, when his plantation and business so much 
suffered by it, might according to thy promise, be paid, with his overplus in War- 
minster, which he said was but little, and not valuable. I was with him when he 
departed and coming to Philadelphia that day, returned to his burial. He lies 
interred in his plantation on the river, with the rest of his relations. His daugh- 
ter, they say, is to be married to Jeremiah Langhorne." This last sentence is 
doubtless what led Gen. Davis to say, in his "History of Bucks County," (First 
Edition, p. 86) that one of Pemberton's daughters married Jeremiah Langhorne 
(afterwards Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Province) but the mar- 
riage did not take place. On the same page Davis says, "No doubt the Pember- 
ton's lived on the fat of the land. His daughter Abigail wrote him in 1697, that 
she had saved twelve barrels of cider for the family ; and in their letters frequent 
mention is made of meat and drink." "He lived in good style and had a 'side- 



282 PEMBERTON 

board' in his house. He owned land in several townships in Bucks." He left a 
considerable estate; one part of it was "Grove Place," which was afterwards sold 
to Willoughby Warder, another was the plantation of 354 acres on which he last 
resided and which was left to his son Israel, who named the two divisions of it 
"Bolton" and "Wigan," in remembrance of the country of his father; about forty 
acres in Bristol township, and eight hundred acres in Wrightstown township ; also 
a lot on High street, Philadelphia. Of course much of this land was his wife's 
heritage from her father, James Harrison. 

Phineas Pemberton married (first) January 1, 1676-7, at the house of John 
Haydock, in Coppull, near Standish, Lancashire, under the care of Hardshaw 
Monthly Meeting of Friends, Phoebe, daughter of James and Anne (Heath) 
Harrison, of Stiall-Green, Cheshire, England. James Harrison was a son of Im- 
manuel Harrison, who died August 8, 1658. Immanuel Harrison and Agnes his 
wife had issue, as follows: 

Anne Harrison; 

James Harrison, b. 1628, d. Oct. 6, 1687; m. March 5, 1655-6, Anne Heath; of whom 

presently; 
Robert Harrison; 

Mary Harrison, m. Joseph Endon, and had issue: 
Mary Endon, m. John Clark; 
Margaret Endon, m. John Walker. 
Perhaps others, now unknown. Some accounts have added a Jane, m. William Yardley, 
on the strength of Phineas Pemberton's calling Yardley "uncle," but Yardley's wife 
was Jane Heath, which explains the relationship. 

James Harrison, son of Immanuel and Agnes, became an eminent minister in 
the Society of Friends and suffered much persecution for his faith. In 1660 he 
and several others were imprisoned in Burgas-gate prison, Shrewsbury, for nearly 
two months ; he and his friends, among whom was his brother-in-law, William 
Yardley, were released from this place in consequence of a royal proclamation, 
dated at Whitehall, May 11, 1661 ; in 1663 he was imprisoned in the county gaol 
of Worcester; in 1664-65-66, in Chester Castle. Among other persecutions of 
Harrison related in Besse's "Sufferings of Friends," Lancashire Chapter, is the 
following in 1679 : "On the 9th of November, as James Harrison was preaching 
at a Meeting in his own House, the Constables came and plukt him away. They 
caused him to be fined and by a Warrant from Thomas Laver and John Kenyon 
Justices, made a Seizure of Leather and other Goods to the Value of iio 19s. 
Phineas Pemberton, for himself and wife being at said Meeting, had Goods taken 
from him to the value of £4. 15s. 4d." At this time he lived at Stiall-Green, in 
Cheshire. In 1655 he had travelled in the service of the Gospel, in the north of 
England, one of his earliest religious services. 

From several evidences and allusions, it appears that Phineas Pemberton wrote 
a narrative, describing the early sufferings of James Harrison and his wife, and 
of himself also, in England, on account of their religious principles; and of their 
subsequent migration to this country to seek an asylum from persecution. James 
Pemberton once had this book in his possession, but having lent it to some person 
whom he could not recollect, it was lost. His brother John had, however, made 
some extracts from it previously. The letters following were written while James 
Harrison was confined in Chester Castle ; one is : 



PEMBERTON 283 

"Most dear, and right dearly beloved wife, whom I love in the Lord our Saviour, 
Jesus Christ, for thy reverent, courteous behaviour in gesture and words towards 
me and the Lord, whom we serve. Thy words are penetrating words and have 
entered my heart with impressions that can never be blotted out ; and thus, with a 
real acknowledgement of thy spiritual and lively testimony that breaks and tenders 
my heart, I rest thy very loving husband. JAMES HARRISON. 

Castle of Chester, 26th of 8th mo. 1666." 

The other : 

"J. H. Dear Love, — I had a great desire to come to see thee, with my little child, 
if it were the will of the Lord; but as yet I see little way made; but this I believe, 
that neither death nor life, nor any other thing, shall be able to separate us; so, 
dear heart, farewell. Let us hear from thee as often as thou can. 

ANNE HARRISON." 

In 1668 James Harrison removed out of Cheshire, and probably lived some- 
where in the neighborhood of Phineas Pemberton, at Bolton or Manchester. 
When William Penn received his grant of Pennsylvania in 1681, his intentions 
of founding a colony there were often made the subject of conversation among 
the persecuted Friends, the attention of their minds directed to a spot where they 
might seek an asylum for the security of their civil and religious privileges. In a 
letter from James Harrison to Roger Longworth, dated 8mo. 4, 1681, is the 
following hint given by him of these views : "I am about to bargain for my 
house in case I should go with William Penn." And he expressed a wish that 
Eleanor Lowe, a valued minister of the Society of Friends, might purchase it, that 
it might be "preserved for the Lord's service," having been frequently used for a 
place of Friends' worship, "for I do not question but our testimony will be of 
force, when we are gone." 

This prospect of removing to Pennsylvania gradually grew brighter in their 
view, till at length resolutions were taken accordingly. Harrison was with Penn, 
and the latter made the former his agent in England for the sale of his American 
lands. In 1682 James Harrison, his son-in-law, Phineas Pemberton, and some 
others chartered the ship, "Submission," and sailed for Pennsylvania, September 
5, of that year. The passengers in this ship were fifty-two persons, among whom 
were Ralph Pemberton, aged seventy-two; Phineas Pemberton, his son, aged 
thirty-three; Phebe the latter's wife, aged twenty-three; Abigail and Joseph, their 
infant children ; Agnes Harrison, aged eighty-one years ; James Harrison, her son, 
aged fifty-seven; Anne, his wife, aged fifty-eight; Robert Bond, aged sixteen; 
Lydia Wharmsby aged forty-two; Randall Blackshaw, and Alice his wife, with 
their four children ; Dr. Thomas Wynne's wife, and her two daughters, Jane and 
Margery Maud; James Clayton, Jane his wife, and six children. Lydia Wharms- 
by, above mentioned, had long lived in the capacity of housekeeper in James 
Harrison's family; and being much attached to them determined to remove with 
them to the new country. Robert Bond was a youth whom his father had confided 
to the protection and tuition of James Harrison. According to the original terms 
between the passengers and the master of the "Submission," they were to have 
been transported to the "Delaware river, or elsewhere in Pennsylvania, to the best 



284 PEMBERTON 

conveniency of freighters." But through fraud on the master's part, as it is 
claimed, or perhaps on account of a severe storm which they are known to have 
encountered, they sailed up Chesapeake bay, arrived in the Patuxent river, on 
8mo. (October) 30, 1682, and disembarked at Choptank, Maryland, on 91T10. 2, 
and James Harrison and Phineas Pemberton proceeded thence to Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, as detailed above, in the account of Phineas Pemberton. Here 
James Harrison had laid out a large part of the 5000 acres of land that he had 
bought of William Penn, most of it immediately adjoining the latter's Manor of 
Pennsbury. In the county, and in the affairs of the Colony at large, Harrison at 
once took place as a leader, still continuing to act as Penn's land agent until his 
death. He was a member of first Provincial Council that met in Philadelphia, 
tenth day of first Month, 1682-3. In the same year he was a member of the com- 
mittee to draw up the charter of the colony. In 1685 he was appointed by Penn 
as Chief Justice of Supreme Court of the Province, but declined to serve. The 
following year, however, he accepted the position of Associate Justice of the same 
Court. On April 6, 1685, he was commissioned a Justice of Bucks County Court, 
and probably still acted as such after his appointment to the Supreme Bench. 
Proud, the historian, says of him : "He was one of the Proprietor's first Commis- 
sioners of Property, was divers years in great esteem with him, and his agent at 
Pennsbury, being a man of good education and a preacher among the Quakers." 
Among the Penn mss. "Domestic Letters," in the Library of the Historical Soci- 
ety of Pennsylvania, there are many original letters from Penn to Harrison, some 
of them written before Penn left England. Many of these letters from Penn are 
interesting in that they contain reference to matters current in the earliest days of 
the colony, and also occasionally give a picture of political life in England. Gen. 
Davis in "History of Bucks County," (p. 86) says: "James Harrison was much 
esteemed by William Penn, who placed great reliance on him. Before leaving 
England Penn sold him five thousand acres of land, which he afterwards located 
in Falls, Upper Makefield, Newtown, and Wrightstown." * * * "In 1685 
(1686) he was made one of three provincial judges, who made their circuit in 
boats rowed by a boatman paid by the province." * * * "Harrison's certifi- 
cate from Hartshaw Monthly Meeting, gives him an exalted character, and his 
wife is called 'a mother in Israel'." He died October 6, 1687, during the time of 
great sickness in the county, mentioned above. "James Harrison being also seized 
with the prevailing disorder, sunk under it, and departed this life on the 6th of the 
8th month. He also was an example of patience under suffering, even to the last, 
and died in a state of calmness and Christian composure. He was a firm and 
strenuous advocate for civil and religious liberty, having suffered much in his 
native land for the cause of truth, and his character stood high for integrity and 
religious usefulness. The commissions he received from the Governor, his 
friend, William Penn, show the confidence placed in his talents and uprightness 
of conduct; and many letters from the latter, giving minute directions concerning 
the management of the estate at Pennsbury, are yet preserved among the papers 
of the family. A memorial concerning him is also found in the printed collection 
of memorials concerning deceased Friends, published by the Society in 1787, 
written by William Yardley and Phineas Pemberton." 

James Harrison married, imo. (March) 5, 1655-6, Anne Heath, born February 
13, 1624, died March 5, 1690. Some account of her by her son-in-law, Phineas 



PEMBERTON 285 

Pemberton, has been given above. Her sister, Margery Heath, married Thomas 
Janney, of Stiall-Green, Cheshire, a minister of Friends, who also removed to 
Pennsylvania, where he became a Provincial Councillor, and a large landowner in 
Bucks county. And it seems more probable that William Yardley's wife was 
another sister, Jane Heath, rather than James Harrison's sister Jane, a supposi- 
tion mentioned above. 

James and Anne (Heath) Harrison had issue: 

Phoebe Harrison, b. April 7, 1660, d. Oct. 30, 1696; m. Jan. 1, 1677, Phineas Pemberton; 

Joseph Harrison, b. June 20, 1662, d. an infant, before 1665; 

Other children of James and Anne (Heath) Harrison died in childhood. 

Phineas Pemberton (second), May 18, 1699, at Falls Monthly Meeting, Alice 
Hodgson, "of Burlington, in the Province of West Jersey, spinster, daughter of 
Robert Hodgson, late of Rhode Island, deceased." They had no issue. Their 
marriage certificate is now in possession of Henry Pemberton, of Philadelphia, 
one of the descendants of Phineas by his first wife. Alice (Hodgson) Pemberton 
married (second) in 1704, Thomas Bradford, being also his second wife, and they 
had issue. She died August 28, 1711. Thomas Bradford was elected a member 
of Common Council of Philadelphia, October 2, 1705. 
Issue of Phineas and Phoebe (Harrison) Pemberton: 

Ann Pemberton, b. Oct. 22, 1677, d. July 3, 1682; she was buried at Langtree, about 
eleven miles southwest of Bolton, England; 

Abigail Pemberton, b. June 14, 1680. d. Nov. 2, 1750, bur. Nov. 4, in Abington Meeting 
Burying Ground; m. Nov. 14, 1704, Stephen Jenkins, of Abington twp., Phila., now 
Montgomery co., Pa., b. in Tenby, Pembrokeshire, Wales, d. Sept. 14, 1761, buried in 
Abington Friends' Burying Ground; he was a son of William Jenkins and Elizabeth 
Griffith, his wife, who came from Tenby, Pembrokeshire, Wales, and settled in Haver- 
ford twp., Chester co., about 1686. William Jenkins was an active and influential 
member of the Society of Friends, and had suffered persecution in his native country. 
He was a member of Assembly from Chester co., 1690-95, and was commissioned a 
Justice of the Chester County Court, 1691-92. In 1697 he moved to Abington twp., 
where he purchased 400 acres of land, including the present site of Jenkintown, named 
in honor of the family. He had purchased 1000 acres of land of William Penn in 
1681, before leaving Wales. He d. June 7, 1712, aged about 54 years, leaving a son 
Stephen, above named, and Margaret, wife of Thomas Paschall. Stephen Jenkins in- 
herited his father's lands at Abington and continued to reside there until his death in 
1 761. He was an active and prominent member of Abington Monthly Meeting of 
Friends. 
Stephen and Abigail (Pemberton) Jenkins had issue: 

William Jenkins, b. 8mo. 16, 1705; m. Lydia Roberts; 

Phineas Jenkins, b. 8mo. 16, 1707, d. 1791; m. (first) Isabel Mather; (second) 
Mary Roberts; his dau. Sarah, born 7mo. 6, 1731, m. in 1753, John Brock, son 
of Richard Brock, whose mother Elizabeth, wife of John Brock, of Falls, Bucks 
co., is thought to have been a sister to Anne (Heath) Harrison; 
Phoebe Jenkins, b. 6mo. 14, 1709, d. y. ; 
Sarah Jenkins, b. imo. 19, 171 1 ; m. Isaac Tyson; 

Abigail Jenkins, b. nmo. 9, 1712; m. Hugh; 

Stephen Jenkins, b. nmo. 14, 1714; removed to Phila., 1740; 
Charles Jenkins. 
Joseph Pemberton, b. May II, 1682, d. Nov., 1702; 
Israel Pemberton, b. Feb. 20, 1684; of whom presently; 
Samuel Pemberton, b. Feb. 3, 1686, d. Jan. 23, 1692; 
Phoebe Pemberton, b. Feb. 26, 1689, d. May 30, 1698; 

Priscilla Pemberton, b. April 23, 1692, d. April 29, 1771; m. 1709, Isaac Waterman, of 
Abington twp., Phila. co., who d. Jan. 16, 1748-9, aged 67 years and 8 months. They 
had issue : 

Humphrey Waterman, b. 6mo. 2, 1710; m. Hannah Thomas; 



286 P EM BERT ON 

Margaret Waterman, b. 6mo. 29, 1719; m. Patrick McGarrigal, or Megargee; 

Rachel Waterman, b. 8mo. 8, 1722; m. Alberic Bird; see below, 

John Waterman, b. 4mo. 5, 1725; m. Hannah Bettle; 

Priscilla Waterman, b. iomo. 25, 1728; m. Evan Evans. 
Ralph Pemberton, b. Sept. 20, 1694, d. Nov. 18, 1694; 

Phineas Jennings Pemberton, b. April 17, 1696; while he was an infant his mother 
was very ill and he was taken to nurse by one of her friends, wife of Samuel Jennings, 
sometime Deputy-Governor of New Jersey, on which account he was given the middle 
name of Jennings, middle names being unusual at that time. He is said to have died 
in 1 701. 

Israel Pemberton, only surviving son of Phineas and Phoebe (Harrison) 
Pemberton, born at the newly erected mansion at "Grove Place," Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, February 20, 1684-5, was carefully educated and trained in his 
childhood by his pious parents. Part of his elementary education was obtained 
in Philadelphia, but in 1698, he had a serious difference with his schoolmaster, 
Pastorius, and his father took him back to Bucks county. 

When a young man Israel Pemberton removed from Bucks county to Philadel- 
phia, where he entered the counting house of his father's friend, Samuel Car- 
penter, and he later became one of the wealthiest and best known merchants of the 
city. He was elected to the Common Council of the city, October 7, 17 18; Alder- 
man, October 4, 1720, and these offices being then of life tenure, probably served 
until his death in 1754. He was at least an Alderman, October 2, 1722, and 
October 2, 1733. He was one of the city's two members of Provincial Assembly 
twenty years, nineteen of them being consecutive, his first term beginning in 1718, 
when he succeeded Richard Hill, who for several years held that position. He, 
however, served but a single session at this time, and was not again elected until 
thirteen years later, in 1731, when he was returned together with Dr. John Kers- 
ley, and was returned annually thereafter until the session of 1749-50, when his 
public service closed. He occupied a position of great importance in the affairs of 
the Society of Friends ; was largely employed in looking after its property, in 
supervising its schools, and in adjusting differences between its members. An 
account of him in "The Friend," xxxi., 141, says in part: "When he reached 
maturity, he entered into business for himself, and, having an excellent talent for 
mercantile pursuits and being industrious in his habits, he soon was as extensively 
engaged in trade as was desirable. In the year 1708 he visited Barbadoes and 
other West India Islands for purposes of traffic, and doubtless to enter into busi- 
ness arrangements with men of standing there, as consignees or factors. On this 
occasion, although expecting to be absent from Philadelphia but a few months, 
he thought it right to take a certificate of membership with him, which says : 'He 
hath been of a good conversation from his childhood, having been brought up 
amongst us, and is well beloved for his innocent life and good behaviour in the 
Truth. We desire his growth and preservation therein to the end of his days, that 
the same may be the portion of God's People everywhere, is our sincere and hearty 
prayer.' 

"The honorable business habits of Israel Pemberton, and his sterling integrity 
won him the respect and confidence of his fellow citizens generally. This was 
manifested in the public offices placed upon him. * * * He was much employed 
in the church, in looking after its property, in watching over the interest of the 
schools under its care, in treating with those who had violated its discipline, and in 



PEMBERTON 287 

composing and ending differences which, from the clashing of pecuniary interests, 
sometimes arose amongst its members. He appears to have been peculiarly 
gifted as a clerk, and held that office in several meetings for discipline, for many 
years. He was an overseer by appointment of the meeting, and in 1729, an elder 
and filled that station with honesty, firmness and love to the close of his earthly 
existence." 

From the "Annals of the Pemberton Family," we get some information supple- 
mental to that in "The Friend." On his trip to Jamaica, in 1708, "he became ac- 
quainted with John Fothergill and William Armistead, who were travelling on the 
island in the service of Truth," and also that it was at the funeral of the wife of 
Richard Hockley, in the Baptist burial-ground, in Second street, that he was seized 
with the apoplectic fit, "which notwithstanding the prompt application of medical 
aid, soon terminated his valuable life." 

In July, 1718, we find Israel Pemberton spoken of as "of the Northern Liber- 
ties," soon after his city residence was situated at the southwest corner of Front 
and Market streets; in the middle of the life and bustle of the city. He remained 
in that house, which afterwards became the London Coffee House, until 1745, 
when he purchased the mansion at the southwest corner of Third and Chestnut 
streets, known as "Clarke Hall." This property was bounded on the west by 
house and grounds of William Hudson. A lot on the south, extending westward, 
later purchased by Israel Pemberton, gave an outlet on the passage afterward 
known as Whalebone, or Hudson's Alley. There was space sufficient in the 
grounds appurtenant to the mansion to render it exceedingly attractive. The 
ground rose gently from Dock creek toward Chestnut street in a succession of 
terraces or platforms, which allowed a full view of the gardens, upon which care 
and attention were spent. Graydon in his "Memoirs" thus describes their condi- 
tion about the year 1767: "Israel Pemberton's garden was laid out in the old- 
fashioned style of uniformity, with walks and alleys nodding to their brothers, 
and decorated with a number of evergreens carefully clipped into pyramidal and 
conical forms. Here the amenity of the view usually detained me for a few 
minutes ; thence turning into Chestnut Street corner to the left, and passing a row 
of dingy two-story houses, I came to the whalebones which gave name to the alley 
at the corner of which they stood." 

During Israel Pemberton's occupancy of "Clarke Hall" it was the general resort 
of Friends from Europe, and indeed of all strangers of note. We are told that 
"the mansion was large and was the scene of a hospitality not often surpassed in 
the Province." Under Israel Pemberton's will this house became the property of 
his son John. 

As became a gentleman of means and position in society of that day, Israel 
Pemberton had his country house. In February, 1738, he bought of Thomas 
Masters, seventy acres of land, just south of the angle of Twenty-third and South 
streets and Gray's Ferry Road. Here he built a mansion house before 1751 , 
which he called "Evergreen." By his will Israel Pemberton devised "Evergreens" 
to his son James. 

Israel Pemberton married, Aprtf 12, 1710, Rachel, born 1691, died February 
24, 1765, daughter of Charles Read, merchant, of Philadelphia, by his second 
wife, Amy (Child) Stanton (whom he had married in 1690). Her younger 
sister, Sarah Read, became the wife of James Logan, William Penn's confidential 



288 PEMBERTON 

friend and adviser. Israel Pemberton is mentioned in "The Courtship of Hannah 
Logan," where he is called "uncle." Rachel Pemberton's half-brother, Charles 
Read, was Sheriff and Mayor of Philadelphia, Judge of the Admiralty, and Pro- 
vincial Councillor. Her father, Charles Read, was a member of the Church of 
England in later life (though married at Middletown Monthly Meeting in Bucks 
county), but was much respected by the Quakers. He was an Alderman of the 
city in 1701, and a representative in Provincial Assembly in 1704. He died about 
1705. The "Friend", vol. xxxii., p. 156, has a sketch of Rachel (Read) Pember- 
ton, which is in part, as follows : 

"RACHEL PEMBERTON. 

"Rachel Read was born at Burlington, West Jersey, in the year 1691. She was a daugh- 
ter of Charles Read one of the early settlers of Pennsylvania under the grant to William 
Penn. About the eighteenth year of her age she was married to our worthy friend, Israel 
Pemberton. * * * After his death she continued her house open for the reception of 
Friends near and from remote parts, as it had been in her husband's time, particularly for 
the entertainment of those who came from Europe on religious visits to America, with 
whom she was often dipt into much feeling sympathy under their weighty travail and exer- 

pica -I- -f •!■ 

The death of Israel Pemberton took place January 18 (or 19), 1754, in the 
sixty-ninth year of his age. His wife departed this life February 24, 1765, aged 
about seventy-four years. There is an obituary notice of him in the Pennsylvania 
Gazette of January 22, 1754, and one of her in the same paper for February 28, 

I765- 

Issue of Israel and Rachel (Read) Pemberton: 

Sarah Pemberton, b. Dec. 13, 1711, d. Aug. 23, 1712; 
Phineas Pemberton, b. Aug. 23, 1713, d. May 23, 1714; 
Israel Pemberton, Jr., b. May 10, 1715; of whom presently; 
Charles Pemberton, b. Oct. 23, 1716, d. March 23, 1720; 
Mary Pemberton, b. Dec. 1, 1717, d. Feb. 27, 1731 ; 
Phineas Pemberton, b. Dec. 4, 1719, d. Jan. 1, 1725; 
Rachel Pemberton, b. Aug. 29, 1721, d. Dec. 11, 1721 ; 
James Pemberton, b. Aug. 26, 1723, of whom later; 
John Pemberton, b. Nov. 25, 1727, of whom later; 
Charles Pemberton, b. July 4, 1729, d. May 21, 1748. 

Although the family might have seemed likely to become extensive in descend- 
ants, yet in 181 2 it was reduced to one male representative. 

Israel Pemberton, Jr., son of Israel and Rachel (Read) Pemberton, was born 
May 10, 17 1 5. He was engaged in mercantile pursuits with his father and attain- 
ed a large measure of success. He also became very active and conspicuous in 
the councils of the Friends, to such a degree indeed, that he became known by the 
nickname of "The King of the Quakers." He stood in the van with those of that 
faith who battled with the Proprietaries (no longer so tender toward Quaker inter- 
ests as the Founder), as represented by the several governors of his day. As a 
result of his criticisms of Gov. George Thomas, the latter had him arrested Feb- 
ruary 23, 1739-40, but obtaining a writ of habeus corpus, he was released on bail. 
This difficulty arose from a controversy respecting a proposed alteration in the 
charter of the city of Philadelphia, concerning the imposition of taxes. 

Throughout his life Israel Pemberton, Jr., was a staunch friend of the Indian. 
He was one of the six signers of a vigorous address presented to Gov. Robert 



P EM BERT ON 289 

Hunter Morris and the Provincial Council, April 12, 1756, protesting against a 
declaration of war against the Delawares, which, however, was issued two days 
later. 

In the same year, 1756, Pemberton was one of the principal promoters in the 
formation of "The Friendly Association for Preserving Peace with the Indians," 
which was established and almost entirely supported by the Quakers. Later in 
the same year, he was largely responsible for bringing about the famous confer- 
ence at Easton, which resulted in a treaty of peace, whereby the difficulties with 
the Indians were adjusted and further bloodshed averted. He was also a founder 
of the "Friendly Association for regaining and preserving peace with the Indians 
by pacific measures." By reason of his prominence in all matters affecting the 
welfare of the red men he was sometimes designated as "King Wampum." 

At the breaking out of the Revolution, like most of the conspicuous and influ- 
ential Quakers, he took as strong a stand against precipitating the impending 
struggle, and because of his vigorous efforts to prevent hostilities he was treated 
as a Tory, and, without trial, was imprisoned in 1777, and finally exiled to Vir- 
ginia, together with his two brothers and a score of prominent Quakers, where 
he was compelled to remain for a period of eight months. 

Israel Pemberton, Jr., succeeded his father in the Assembly immediately upon 
the latter's withdrawal, being elected from the county of Philadelphia in 1750, 
but he was not disposed to continue in that body. His influence in Pennsylvania 
was very great, but it was exercised in moulding the policy of the Quaker party 
outside of the Assembly. He gave great attention and constant activity to the 
councils of the Society of Friends, wherein he very frequently found himself 
arrayed against the proprietary policy. The Quaker party and the anti-proprietary 
party were not identical, but their interests and policies so often lay in the same 
direction as not to interfere with Pemberton being a leader in both. 

Israel Pemberton, Jr., died in Philadelphia, April 22, 1779. He married, March 
30, 1737, Sarah, born 1714, died July 31, 1746, daughter of Joseph Kirkbride, of 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, by his second wife, Sarah, daughter of Mahlon Stacy, 
one of the most prominent men of the Province of New Jersey, Kings' Councillor, 
Assemblyman, Justice of the Courts, etc. Her father, Joseph Kirkbride, a prom- 
inent figure in the Colonial history of Pennsylvania in the first half century after 
its founding, was three times married, his first wife being Phebe, daughter of 
Randall Blackshaw, who was the ancestor of later generations of the Pemberton 
family as shown later. 

Israel Pemberton married (second) December 10, 1747, Mary (Stanbury) Jor- 
dan, widow of Robert Jordan, and of Capt. Richard Hill, and daughter of Nathan 
and Mary (Ewer) Stanbury, early members of Philadelphia Monthly Meeting. 
She was the Mary Pemberton whose coach Gen. Howe seized and appropriated to 
his own use during the British occupancy of Philadelphia in 1777. She died Octo- 
ber 25, 1778. 

Issue of Israel Pemberton, Jr., and his first %mjc, Sarah Kirkbride: 

Mary Pemberton, b. Oct. 17, 1738; m. Samuel Pleasants, and through her dau. Sarah 
Pleasants, was the ancestress of a branch of the Fox family of Phila., as well as of 
the Emlens of Phila., as shown by accounts of these respective families, in these 
volumes; 

Rachel Pemberton, b. April, 1740, d. June 21, 1753; 

Sarah Pemberton, b. July 9, 1741; m. Samuel Rhoads; 

19 



290 P EM BERT ON 

Israel Pemberton, b. 1743, d. Aug. 30, 1764; 

Phineas Pemberton, b. 1744, d. 1746; 

Joseph Pemberton, b. 1745; m. Ann Galloway; of whom presently; 

Jane Pemberton, b. July 17, 1746, d. Aug. 23, 1747. 

Issue of Israel Pemberton, Jr., by his second wife, Mary (Stanbury) Jordan: 

Charles Pemberton, b. Oct. 9, 1748, d. April 8, 1772; m. March 8, 1770, Esther House, 
dau. of Joseph and Elizabeth, and had issue, one child : 

Mary C. Pemberton, b. March 25, 1771, d. July 2, 1801 ; became the first wife of 
Hon. George Fox, of "Champlost," a brother to Samuel Mickle Fox, who mar- 
ried her cousin, Sarah Pleasants. She had issue, three children, only one of 
whom, Elizabeth Mary Pemberton Fox, m., she becoming the wife of John 
Roberts Tunis, and the ancestress of the Tunis family of Phila., an account of 
which is given in these volumes. 

James Pemberton, another son of Israel Pemberton, the elder, by his wife, 
Rachel Read, born in Philadelphia, August 26, 1723, was educated at Friends 
School in Philadelphia; travelled to the Carolinas in 1745; visited Europe in 1748, 
and travelled much through England. Like his brother, Israel, Jr., he was largely 
and successfully engaged in mercantile pursuits, and like him also displayed an 
active interest in the welfare of the Indians. He was likewise friendly to the 
negroes in slavery, and was one of the organizers of the Pennsylvania Abolition 
Society, of which he became President in 1790, upon the death of Dr. Franklin. 
He was a member of the Assembly in 1756, when Gov. Morris published his 
proclamation of war against the Delaware Indians, whereupon, June 10, 1756, he 
resigned his seat because of his antagonism, as a matter of conscience, to war 
measures. He was also a founder of Pennsylvania Hospital and was a manager 
from 1758 to 1780, and secretary from 1759 to 1772. 

In 1757 he published "An Apology for the People called Quakers, containing 
some Reasons for their not complying with Human Injunctions and Institutions 
in Matters relative to the Worship of God." Like his elder brother, James Pem- 
berton, he vigorously opposed the popular movements aimed at armed opposition 
to the British government, and he, too, was banished to Virginia, in 1777, for his 
religious convictions and opposition to war measures. 

James Pemberton's town house was on Second street, adjoining the residence 
at the northwest corner of Second street and Lodge alley, afterwards Gothic 
street, erected by William Logan, son of Secretary James Logan, between 1750 
and 1760. His country seat was "The Plantation," originally the property of 
Chief Justice John Kinsey, purchased by James Pemberton at sheriff's sale in 
T758. It remained in the family only during the purchaser's lifetime, being sold 
by his executors in 1809, and since 1826 has been the site of the United States 
Naval Asylum, on the east bank of the Schuylkill. He also inherited from his 
father "The Evergreens," the country seat of the latter, on the opposite side of 
Gray's Ferry road. 

During the winter of 1777-8, while James Pemberton was an exile in Virginia, 
and the British were in possession of Philadelphia, Mrs. Pemberton was in charge 
of the "Plantation." As was the case generally with all the property within the 
zone of occupancy, the Pemberton estate suffered severely at the hands of the 
soldiers, who became so destructive, that Mrs. Pemberton was compelled to appeal 
to Lord Howe, to wit : 



P EM BERT ON 291 

"Esteemed Friend, I am extreamly concerned that I am once more obliged to Trouble 
Gen'l. Howe with any affair of mine, when his own important engagements no doubt engross 
his time and thoughts; but by the cruel Banishment of my Husband his business necessarily 
devolves upon me, and being possessed of two small farms near the city, on one of which 
there is a small piece of wood, Intended for Firing for myself and children, with a few of 
the Inhabitants, some of whom are not able to pay for it, but have constantly partook of 
My Beloved Husband's bounty, by supplying them in the Winter season with a small quan- 
tity, which I shall be rendered incapable of doing, as the soldiers are taking it away, and say 
they do it by permission of the General's Secretary. * * * The General's kind inter- 
position in this matter will Greatly oblige. THY ASSURED FRIEND." 

Later, February 14, 1778, Mrs. Pemberton found occasion to write to a certain 
British officer, one Lord Murray, as follows : 

"I was yesterday informed that a certain officer of the Guard who passes by the name 
or style of Lord Murray, being stationed at my Husband's Plantation near Scuylkill, did 
there behave himself in an ungentlemanly manner by abusing part of the effects on said 
place, and also breaking open the doors of that part of the house occupied by my tenants, 
and treating the family with barbarous and unbecoming behaviour, very unworthy of a 
British nobleman and officer, after being previously shown Genl. Howe's protection posted 
up in the house, at which sight he used several expressions highly insulting and derogatory 
to the General's honour. I take this method of informing the said Lord Murray, that if he 
dont think proper to make some suitable acknowledgements, I shall immediately enter A 
complaint at Headquarters. Phoebe Pemberton." 

James Pemberton, long after the Revolution, cherished the costume of his 
fathers, and Watson says of him : "He was almost the last of the race of cocked 
hats, and certainly one of the very best illustrations of bygone times and primitive 
men." 

James Pemberton married (first) October 15, 1751, Hannah, daughter of Mor- 
decai and Hannah (Fishbourne) Lloyd, born April 17, 1734, died April 17, 1764; 
(second) March 22, 1768, Sarah, daughter of Daniel Smith, of Burlington, New 
Jersey, who died November 28, 1770; (third) July 12, 1775, Mrs. Phoebe (Lewis) 
Morton, widow of Samuel Morton, and daughter of Robert and Mary Lewis. 
She was born March 11, 1738, died August 22, 1812. 
Issue of James and Hannah (Lloyd) Pemberton: 

Phineas Pemberton, b. Feb. 4, 1753, d. May 20, 1778, unm.; 

Rachel Pemberton, b. Feb. 4, 1754; m. April 13, 1775, Thomas Parke, M. D., son of 
Thomas and Jane (Edge) Parke, b. Aug. 6, 1749, d. Jan. 9, 1835; he was an eminent 
physician, having, after graduating from the College of Philadelphia in 1770, spent 
two years in the leading hospitals of London and Edinburgh. He was a member of 
the American Philosophical Society, president of the College of Physicians, a director 
of the Philadelphia Library, and from 1777 to 1823, a period of nearly half a century, 
a member of the staff of the Pennsylvania Hospital; 

Hannah Pemberton, b. Oct. 27, 1755, d. Sept. 4, 1788; m. Oct. 14, 1784, Robert Morton, 
son of her father's third wife, Phoebe Lewis, by her first husband, Samuel Morton. 
He was b. in 1760, d. Aug. 17, 1786, without issue; Hannah (Pemberton) Morton was a 
girl of keen intellect, and possessed no meager literary genius. While on a visit, dur- 
ing the Revolution, and before her marriage, to "Bolton Farm," a part of the original 
Phineas Pemberton tract, in Bristol twp., Bucks co., now the property of a descendant, 
Effingham B. Morris, President of the Girard Trust Company, she wrote some verses 
to her sister Sarah, from which the following lines are extracted : 

"The muse inspires, from Bolton Farm I write, 
"Whose varied prospects please th' admiring sight. 
"There, at a distance on rising ground, 
"Stands beauteous Clifton, with each charm around; 
"Here Roxborough Manor, elegantly gay, 
"With smiling neatness, owns the master's sway; 
"Whose plenteous gardens, rich with fruits, appear; 
"The peach, all luscious and delightful pear; 
"The cantaloupe, with yellow verdure shines; 



292 P EM BERT ON 

"And cooling Melons deck the circling vines ; 
"Oft have I here some pleasing moments past, 
"And shared with pleasure in the sweet repast." 

Sarah Pemberton, b. Nov. 14, 1756, d. July 24, 1819; unm. ; 
James Pemberton, b. Feb. 27, 1758, d. June 17, 1758; 
Mary Pemberton, b. March 12, 1759, d. Oct. 11, 1765. 

Issue of James and Sarah (Smith) Pemberton: 

Mary Smith Pemberton, b. Nov. 19, 1770, d. 1808; m. May 13, 1790, Anthony Morris, son 
of Capt. Samuel and Rebecca (Wistar) Morris, and great-great-grandson of Anthony 
Morris, second Mayor of Phila. under the charter of 1701. Anthony Morris, the hus- 
band of Mary Smith Pemberton, was b. Feb. 10, 1766, d. Nov. 3, i860; he established 
himself in business as a merchant in Phila., and in the meantime, July 27, 1787, was 
admitted to the Phila. bar. He was elected to the State Senate at an early age, and 
in 1793, succeeded Samuel Powell as Speaker, being the third to fill that position, under 
the constitution of 1790; from 1813 to 1815 he was United States Minister to Spain. 

Anthony and Mary Smith (Pemberton) Morris had four children, three of whom 
married, two daughters, and a son, James Pemberton Morris. Phineas Pemberton 
Morris, an able lawyer, who d. March 1, 1888, was a son of the latter. 

John Pemberton, third surviving son of Israel and Rachel (Read) Pemberton, 
born in Philadelphia, November 25 (or 27), 1727, like his brothers engaged in 
mercantile pursuits in his native city, and attained a large degree of success. He 
was also a conspicuous Quaker, rather more so, indeed, than either of his brothers. 
John Pemberton devoted much of his life to religious work, largely abroad. He 
made three voyages to Europe, in 1750-82-94, spending several years in Great 
Britian, Holland and Germany, preaching and proselyting in those countries. He 
published numerous journals and accounts of his travels and services in foreign 
lands, mainly in the "Friends' Miscellany." 

In 1783, while returning from England in the ship "Apollo," Dr. Benjamin 
Barton, the eminent naturalist, was a fellow passenger, and has left us a very 
interesting account of a series of conversations with John Pemberton on ship- 
board, in which the latter furnished much valuable information concerning old 
Philadelphia and old Philadelphians. 

In 1777, John Pemberton, being, like his brothers, a non-combatant, and open 
in his opposition to the belligerent position taken by the popular party in Phila- 
delphia, was subjected to arrest, imprisonment and exile with his two brothers and 
other leading Quakers. His journal containing an account of his experiences dur- 
ing the exile in Virginia is extant. Sabine, in his "Loyalists of the American 
Revolution," says of John Pemberton, "His offense was the publication of a sedi- 
tious paper in behalf of certain persons in Pennsylvania and New Jersey, which 
attracted the attention of Congress." 

John Pemberton married Hannah Zane, but had no issue. He died January 31, 
1795, at Pyrmont, Westphalia, Germany, during his last religious journey- abroad. 
He left, we are told, a large estate, much of which he gave by his will to several 
charitable, benevolent and religious organizations, with which he had been asso- 
ciated, and for the purpose of aiding in the formation of like organizations. 
Under the will of his father, John Pemberton inherited "Clarke Hall," and he 
made it his residence during his lifetime; his widow continuing to live there some 
time after his death. The mansion, however, was much larger than was necessary 
for her accommodation, and she withdrew to the western portion, and the eastern 



P EM BERT ON 293 

portion was rented to the United States Treasury Department, and was occupied 
in 1795-96 by Oliver Wolcott, Secretary of the Treasury, and his staff. It re- 
mained in that tenancy until the removal of the Federal government to the city of 
Washington. 

Joseph Pemberton, son of Israel Pemberton, Jr., and his wife, Sarah Kirk- 
bride, born in 1745, married, June 2, 1767, Ann, daughter of Joseph and Ann 
Galloway, of West River, Anne Arundel county, Maryland ; granddaughter of 
Samuel and Anne (Webb) Galloway, of the same place; and great-granddaughter 
of Richard Galloway, who was in America about 1650. She was a cousin of 
Joseph Galloway, the famous Bucks county Loyalist of the Revolutionist. 

Though both Joseph Pemberton and his wife came of strict Quaker families, 
they appear to have renounced the plain dress of their ancestors, as attested by 
two handsome oil paintings of them now in possession of their grandson, Henry 
Pemberton, which show them attired in the height of the mode of their day. It 
was in their time, too, that the name of Pemberton first appeared on the list of 
the Philadelphia Dancing Assemblies. 

Issue of Joseph and Ann (Galloway) Pemberton: 

Sarah Pemberton, b. July 23, 1769, d. April 11, 1797, unm.; 
Ann Pemberton, b. Aug. 27, 1770, d. May 12, 1841, unm.; 
Israel Pemberton, b. Nov. 16, 1771, d. Nov. 29, 1784; 
Joseph Pemberton, b. Feb. 1, 1774, d. April 3, 1809, unm.; 
Charles Pemberton, b. Feb. 2, 1776, d. Jan. 29, 1788; 
Mary Pemberton, b. July 8, 1778, d. April 7, 1803, unm.; 
Elizabeth Pemberton, b. Dec. 27, 1780; m. Henry L. Waddell; 
_ John Pemberton, b. April 9, 1783; m. Rebecca Clifford; of whom presently. 

John Pemberton, youngest son of Joseph and Ann (Galloway) Pemberton, 
born April 9, 1783, died January 12, 1847; was, in 1812, the only male descendant 
of Phineas Pemberton, bearing the name. He was sometime Collector of the 
Port of Philadelphia. He married, July 15, 1812, Rebecca, born January 1, 1792, 
(laughter of John and Anna (Rawle) Clifford, of Philadelphia. 
Issue of John and Rebecca (Clifford) Pemberton: 

Israel Pemberton, b. May II, 1813, d. s. p., Sept. 13, 1885; 

John Clifford Pemberton, b. Aug. 10, 1814; m. Martha O. Thompson; of whom pres- 
ently ; 

Anna Clifford Pemberton, b. May 17, 1816; m. Samuel L. Hollingsworth, M. D.; of 
whom later; 

Mary Pemberton, b. Feb. 5, 1818, d. Sept. 25, 1820; 

Rebecca Clifford Pemberton, b. April 22, 1820; m. Charles Newbold; of whom later; 

Mary Pemberton, b. May 8, 1822, d. Dec. 13, 1848, unm.; 

Henry Segeant Pemberton, b. June 23, 1824, d. May 21. 1825; 

Henry Pemberton, b. Feb. 11, 1826; m. (first) Caroline T. Hollingsworth; (second) 
Agnes Williams; 

Frances Pemberton, b. Nov. 12, 1827, d. July 17, 1858, unm.; 

Sarah Pemberton b. Aug. 23, 1829, d. July 17, 1847, unm.; 

Andrew Jackson Pemberton, b. Aug. 8, 1831, was a member of the First Troop Phila- 
delphia City Cavalry, and served in the Civil War with that organization, afterwards 
obtaining the rank of Captain in one of the three-year regiments. During the latter 
part of his life he resided in New York City, but died in Phila., unm. ; 

Clifford Pemberton, b. March 30, 1835, d. May 6, 1897; also went to the Civil War as a 
member of the First Troop Philadelphia City Cavalry; he m. April 29, 1862, Helen 
Augusta Ann Fryer, and had issue : 



294 P EM BERT ON 

Helen Clifford Pemberton, b. March 18, 1863, d. July 17, 1896, unm. ; 

Rebecca Clifford Pemberton, m. Hobart A. Hare, M. D., of Phila. ; 

Mary Pemberton, m. Alfred Thornton Baker; 

John Pemberton, b. Sept. 14, 1873, d. Feb. 23, 1900, unm.; 

Augusta Pemberton, m. Harry Ellwood Keller; 

Frances Rawle Pemberton, m. Francis Cadwallader Dade, Jr. 

Lieutenant General John Clifford Pemberton, C. S. A., second son of 
John and Rebecca (Clifford) Pemberton, born in Philadelphia, August 10, 1814, 
died at Penllyn, Pennsylvania, July 13, 1881. He was appointed to the United 
States Military Academy, on his own application, by President Jackson, who had 
been a friend of his father. After his graduation in 1837, he was assigned to the 
Fourth Artillery, and served against the Indians in Florida in 1837-9, an d on the 
northern frontier during the Canada border disturbances in 1840-2. He was pro- 
moted First Lieutenant March 19, 1842, and was on garrison duty until the Mexi- 
can War, during which he served with credit as aide to Gen. Worth, receiving the 
brevet as Captain for gallantry at Monterey, and that of Major for services at 
Molino del Rey. At the close of the war he was presented with a sword by citi- 
zens of Philadelphia, and was thanked, with other Pennsylvania officers by resolu- 
tion of the Legislature of that State. 

He was promoted Captain, September 16, 1850, took part in operations against 
the Seminole Indians in 1849-50, and 1856-7, and served at Fort Leavenworth 
during the Kansas troubles, and in the Utah expedition of 1858. At the beginning 
of the Civil War he was ordered from Fort Ridgely, Minnesota, to Washington, 
and after his arrival there, in spite of the personal efforts of Gen. Winfield Scott 
to prevent him, resigned his commission and was appointed Lieutenant Colonel 
of Virginia State Troops, to date from April 28, 1861. He was intrusted with 
the organizing of the artillery and cavalry of the state and became Colonel on 
May 8, 1861. On June 15, 1861, he was made Major of Artillery in the C. S. A., 
and two days later Brigadier General. On February 13, 1852, he was promoted 
Major General and at the request of Gen. Robert E. Lee, whom he succeeded, was 
appointed to command the department that included South Carolina, Georgia and 
Florida, with headquarters at Charleston. Here he strengthened the harbor de- 
fences, planning and beginning Fort Wagner and Battery B, and planting sub- 
marine obstructions. On October 13, 1862, he was promoted to Lieutenant Gen- 
eral, and assigned to the charge of the department that comprised Mississippi, 
Tennessee and eastern Louisiana, with headquarters at Jackson, Mississippi. 
Pemberton's operations around Vicksburg and his defense of that city against 
Gen. Grant, are described in all histories of the Civil War of any note. After his 
surrender of the city and garrison of Vicksburg on July 4, 1863, he returned on 
parole to Richmond, where he remained until he was duly exchanged. After his 
exchange, finding no command that was commensurate with his rank, he resigned 
and was reappointed as Inspector of Ordinance, with the rank of Colonel, in which 
capacity he served until the close of the war. He then retired to a country estate 
near Warrenton, Virginia, but in 1876 returned to Philadelphia, which was the 
home of his brothers and sisters, two of the former having served on the Union 
side in the late conflict. In the spring of 1881 his health began to fail, and he 
removed, with the hope of benefiting it, to Penllyn, Montgomery county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he died July 13, 1881. 



P EM BERT ON 295 

Gen. John C. Pemberton married, January 18, 1848, Martha O., born 1825, died 
August 14, 1907, daughter of William H. Thompson, of Norfolk, Virginia. After 
her husband's death she lived some time in Philadelphia, and afterward in New 
York City, where she died, and was buried in South Laurel Hill Cemetery, Phila- 
delphia. 

Issue of Gen. John C. and Martha O. (Thompson) Pemberton: 

A son, d. inf.; 

Martha Pemberton, b. Jan. 14, 1850; m. (first) Jan. 7, 1874, John C. Baylor, of Norfolk, 

Va.; (second) Dec. 14, 1880, Isadore Bermann, M. D.; 
Mary Pemberton, b. Sept. 2, 1851, d. Sept. 9, 1853; 
John Clifford Pemberton, Jr., b. Jan. 31, 1853; 
William H. Pemberton, b. Dec. 15, 1864; m. Dec. 23, 1880, Jane Crowell, of Perth Am- 

boy, N. J., in which city they reside; 
Francis Rawle Pemberton, b. May 3, 1856; m. June 25, 1890, Josephine Stanard, b. Aug. 

19, 1865, dau. of Judge William H. Lyons, of Richmond, Va.; 
Anna Pemberton, b. Sept. 5, 1858. 

Anna Clifford Pemberton, daughter of John and Rebecca (Clifford) Pem- 
berton, born May 17, 1816, married, October 12, 1848, Samuel Lovering Hollings- 
worth, M. D., born May 22, 1816, died December 14, 1872, son of Samuel and 
Jane Porterfield (Smith) Hollingsworth. Some account of his ancestry will be 
given later in our account of the Shallcross ancestry of the later Pembertons. 
Mrs. Hollingsworth survived her husband and died June 28, 1884. They had 
issue: 

Clifford Hollingsworth, b. Aug. 20, 1849, d. April 20, 1853; 

Samuel Hollingsworth, b. Dec. 13, 1851, d. April 20, 1853; 

Rebecca Clifford Hollingsworth, b. Nov. 13, 1854; m. William Logan Fox, a member of 
Co. D, Gray Reserves, afterward Co. D, First Reg. Inf., N. G. P., and served with 
it in the emergency calls during the Civil War; they had no issue; 

Pemberton Hollingsworth, b. March 13, 1856; m. (first) Dec. 28, 1897, Marianna M. 
Morris; (second) ; 

Anna R. Hollingsworth, b. April 17, 1859, d. Dec. 23, 1862. 

Rebecca Clifford Pemberton, daughter of John and Rebecca (Clifford) Pem- 
berton, born April 22, 1820, died August 1, 1883; married, November 28, 1844, 
Charles Newbold, born August, 1816, died December 23, 1863. 
Issue of Charles and Rebecca C. (Pemberton) Newbold: 

Rebecca Clifford Newbold, b. Oct. 22, 1845, d. 1900, unm.; 

John Pemberton Newbold, b. Jan. 27, 1848; m. March 23, 1876, Ann Pauline, dau. of 
Albert and Sarah (Glentworth) Denckla; 

Elizabeth Ross Newbold, d. inf.; 

Charles Ross Newbold, b. Feb. 5, 1851 ; removed, sometime before his parents decease, 
to Chattanooga, Tenn., residing there and elsewhere in the south until the outbreak of 
Spanish-American War, when he enlisted in Co. G, Third Reg. Inf., N. G. P., April 27,